FB Twitter

Woodside Cottage

Woodside Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms
A charming detached home in a rural setting in Sandford, near Godshill, providing spacious and comfortable accommodation. The large enclosed rear garden with lawn, shrubs and trees is a tranquil escape after a busy day.

Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we fell in love with the cottage. Well kept and extremely well equipped. The cottage was very clean with all beds made up ready. The only thing it doesn’t have is wi-do, if this was added it would be perfect. Have recommended to friends and would stay there again



Carol Morton replied 83 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Woodside. We are so pleased you found everything clean and in order and we do hope you return one day. We don't, however, have a phone line at the cottage so hence no wi-fi. If you have access to BT Hub you can normally pick up a connection that way which we find works adequately. Many thanks for your comments.

Almost perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent spacious cottage for a week babysitting our grandchildren. Lovely garden and the cottage contained everything we needed. My only criticisms are that we did not find the settees very comfortable and that the beds (particularly single) were also not very comfortable.



Carol Morton replied 88 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review of your stay at Woodside. We are delighted the cottage provided the space and everything you needed for an enjoyable stay with your grandchildren. We will, however, check out the beds and sofas following your comments as comfort is an important issue for all.

All arrangements worked very smoothly; the cottage was very spacious and comfortable.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent central location for exploring the Island. Cottage very well equipped and comfortable. Very good all round.



Carol Morton replied 96 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay at Woodside Cottage. This helps us, and the agents, know that what we are doing is working to ensure our guests have a good all round holiday experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Perfect week away

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect cottage to stay in with a family, there was plenty of room and also lots of extra activities for the kids. Would love to come back.



Carol Morton replied 96 days ago
We are so pleased to hear you and your family had a perfect holiday at Woodside Cottage and wanted to thank you for taking the time to write a review. This helps us to know that what we are doing at the cottage is working and being appreciated by all our guests. We hope to welcome you back one day.

Lovely accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Woodside was a lovely place to stay, it was clean and comfortable and the garden was brilliant, there were lots of extras for the children which we appreciated. It is situated in a very convenient place for exploring the island and if we were to return to that area we would certainly consider booking it again.



Carol Morton replied 88 days ago
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Woodside and even more delighted to see that you have booked again for next summer! Guests' comments are invaluable to us to confirm what we and our agents are doing is working, so thank you for taking the time to write. Our apologies for the delay in replying but we have only recently learned that we can respond.

Tired property

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very disingenuous the overall stated of the property, the whole place with the exception of the loft room needs a lick of paint, the garden furniture needs replacing as rust is coming through on all chairs ,the patio needs a complete make over as grass is growing thought paving slabs plus some need re pointing, the local agents did offer to rectify but this should have all been done before our arrival



Island Holiday Homes replied 181 days ago
Thank you for your feedback which has been noted and passed on to the owner. Whilst we appreciate some of the garden furniture needed a rub down and there were a few weeds poking through the patio this home has had many visitors and never a bad word has been said. It has had 5 stars reviews and repeat customers year on year. The owners are very attentive and we will always be on hand to rectify any problems the same day (where feasible). A few weeds and some rust would not be unexpected in the rural location that Woodside is set in and we would feel it would truly not interfere with ones enjoyment of the location and idyllic nature of the outlook and position. That said the owners have taken the notes on board and put the wheels in motion to address them where they feel it is required. Useful Tip: There can be a saving made on the purchase of Isle of Wight holidays if the buyer carries out a more thorough search, buying direct through Island Holiday Homes (and our website) would ensure a saving of between 5-18% as opposed to some of the more popular companies like Booking.com, Airbnb etc. Kind regards Island Holiday Homes Isle of Wight

7 day break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absoultely fantastic this was our 2nd stay at woodside and weve booked next year already. What can I say its a beautiful place to stay its home from home, my daughters loved the garden we didnt want to go home. I think we will be back every year we just cant knock anything about it ! Would like to make a suggestion maybe offer a 10 day break aswell as we would jump at the chance !!



Lovely peaceful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodside Cottage is a lovely place to stay, peaceful and with everything you need and more. We had a really relaxing week, helped by the excellent weather. We visited Newtown, and various coastal areas and everything was easy to get to.

We hope to be back.




Review

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage and garden are lovely. Shame the lane outside the property is single track which makes getting in and out of the drive very tricky.



Amazing cottage !!! Already booked next year, can’t wsit to go back

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only one suggestion just make sure the contracted cleaners put out clean towels the towels we had left didn’t smell clean, it’s like they had been used and left to dry so had to rewash them all, wasn’t an issue and certainly didn’t put a dampener on our holiday hence why we’ve booked again !



Exceptional holidayhome

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice clean house in a good location. Everything you needed was provided. Will try and book again in the future.



An Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect holiday was had by all. Loved every moment of it. Granddaughter loved it so much, she wants to go back. Tomorrow ! Thank you



Owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday and it is great for us to have your feedback about Woodside.

Lovely peaceful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful cottage with easy access to many of the island attractions. Great garden for sitting out in, barbequing and games of croquet.



Family holiday at Woodside

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Island Holiday Homes were very helpful and did all they could to help with our enquiries. Woodside Cottage was lovely and very true to the description. My 2 year old grandson loved the playhouse and the toys in the conservatory. Woodside Cottage is obviously a very well loved and maintained home - a real find. One small drawback was the road immediately in front of the drive. It did make taking walks with a young child rather 'hairy'!



Two weeks - August 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There were four of us (85, 58, 53 and 8). Very nice cottage in a quiet location. Pretty much everything you would need in the kitchen, TV is via Freesat. There is no WiFi in the cottage but BT customers can use neighbouring BT WiFi in some parts of the cottage. The garden is spacious and very pleasant, we played lots of football and cricket.
The en-suite upstairs is good but a little cramped if you are tall (I'm 6' 1" any taller would have been a problem.
Tricky turn into the property if you have a large vehicle and the turn from the lane to main road is also a little blind.
The location is very good for travelling around, most places we visited were within a 20 minute drive, only the far west of the island were longer, the Needles were around 40 minutes. Good food in Godshill at various locations.




Lovely cottage, beautiful garden, in a peaceful part of the island

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was well maintained and supplied with everything you need for home from home stay and very clean. All ages catered for. Although in a quiet area, which was appreciated by us, it is very easy to get to a number of beaches and attractions. Bus stop at the end of the road.



Woodside cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage excellent location for getting around the island.Children loved the garden with the tree house and table tennis.



Nearly out of season

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and i stayed with friends in this lovely,well equipped,nicely situated cottage. Although just about out of season if the weather was bad the cottage offered a large conservatory to relax in or a dinning room with table large enough to eat or play games ( supplied }



Great holiday home but not great lettings company

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Well maintained, comfortable and spotless home from home. Very well resourced, from garden toys and BBQ to kitchen items. Owners clearly want people to enjoy their home.
Management company lets it down sadly: wasn't ready until an hour after arrival time and keys had to be personally delivered or posted back at our expense at end of holiday. Had to provide all our own cot bedding. Blankets musty and not enough towels (6 between 7).




Beautiful home to stay in, lovely garden central to everywhere we wanted to go,

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay central for everything we needed , great pub just down the road kid friendly . We are sad we won't be back next year as we'll have a dog with us , but highly recommend the place for everyone to stay



Woodside Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property for a family holiday, peaceful location but only a short drive from a number of great attractions. Children are well catered for with plenty of games, toys, tree house, outdoor table tennis table (which the adults also enjoyed) and a safe secure garden. Would have no hesitation in recommending the property.