FB Twitter

Ye Olde Cottage

Ye Olde Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Sleeps 5 + 1 in 3 bedrooms
This 17th Century, Grade II listed, 3 bedroom stone thatched cottage enjoys a wealth of character and charm such as exposed beams and inglenook fireplaces to snuggle up by is situated in the pretty village of Niton.

Lovely location and cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage to stay in. Really well equipped with lots of added extras. Comfy beds and warm and cosy. Good value and excellent location.

Was a little disappointed that the large oven didn't work (the small thin oven did, but no good for cooking a large pizza!) also was really very dusty - lots of ornaments which probably doesn't help!

We would return though!




Janet Alderman replied 72 days ago
Thank you for your review. Can only apologise for the dust, the quite major refurbishment works on the lilac bedroom were finished the previous week, I dusted and polished extensively on the Sunday before you arrived on the Friday but having seen things again this weekend it is still dusty! Will endeavour to fight the dust extensively again. Really wish you had got in touch with either myself or the letting agent to report the problem with the large oven as it was not broken just needed the clock setting so that it would work. Can only apologise for this and will update the instructions accordingly to inform guests that if the power supply has been interrupted to the cooker, the clock flashes to signify this, then the large oven will not work until the clock has been set. So pleased to hear you would return, will look forward to you staying again.

a cottage to return to

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Ye Olde Cottage which we went to for Christmas week. The owner had decorated it very nicely indeed for the holidays. It was well supplied with everything. The cottage has a lot of character, sensitively restored, and its position right in the middle of the charming village of Niton was perfect. We would like to return.



Uncomfortable sofas

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The 2 seater sofa and the 2 seater chaise-lounge were both very low, with thin cushions meaning we found it difficult to get comfortable in what was a lovely cottage. The location was great with pub and shop very close by, though the cottage and it's garden seemed a little hemmed in with other properties overlooking the garden. Great parking (if you have a small car) but it was very tight getting my 4x4 through the initial gap so I generally parked in front of the gate. Very comfortable bed, lovely kitchen, many attractive period features. Very clean (Which must be difficult to achieve with so many quaint nooks and crannies)......Just let down by the sofas, which need replacing. Niton is a great location



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent again xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday in this idyllic country cottage. If you like tranquillity this is the place for you. The garden is so pretty it looks like something you'd find on a jigsaw and the welcome pack was the best we've had. The cottage felt like home from home. We appreciated all the extra personal touches. Close to amenities and local attractions. Large village shop selling a range of hot snacks within easy walking distance. My children particularly enjoyed that and the Wi-Fi. We sadly can recommend the GP surgery as well - our daughter was stung by a weever fish ! A lesson learned.

We thoroughly recommend this cottage but if you have very small children there are lots of within reach ornaments and the stairs are very steep. We have a child with additional needs who loves exploring but has a lot of complex issues Information such as this is helpful it should not be seen as a complaint. We had a great holiday in a quintessential country cottage! Thank you




Ye Olde Cottage Niton

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very good stay at Ye Olds Cottage Niton with very good weather
*****************************




One of the best cottages we have stayed at .

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equipped, well laid out and comfortable; would use again if returning ot the Isle of Wight - or having another go at the Ultra Challenge.......



Ye olde cottage niton

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good.

Xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx"xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx,,,,,xxxxxx,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,




We had a great holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was just right for us and the attractions we wished to see. We also chose it because there was a shop and pub close by and both were better than expected. There are low beams but that was fine for most of us.



Beautiful cottage and fully equipped with all we needed

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely and we found it certainly had more than we needed for our stay. Gorgeous character and fabulous garden too! However our mattress (green room) was not comfy and definitely needed changing. We would love to stay here again and would definitely recommend cottage if the mattress was new so that we could have a good sleep whilst enjoying holiday and cottage! Otherwise we loved it!



Ye olde cottage August 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, well equipped and in a good location. Plenty of space for the family. It had everything we needed and was close to amenities. We loved the charm and character of the cottage.



very comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about this cottage is excellent. The welcome pack has all the essentials. Its like home from home. The lounge is comfortable, the stairs are a bit steep, but you get used to them. Spacious bedrooms, lovely old place. The garden lights up at night, lovely outside area to sit. We will definitely re book again.