FB Twitter

Cashel 129 Prestons Cottage

Cashel 129 Prestons Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
79% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.2
Location
4.8
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


An idyllic situated seafront cottage with panoramic views of the bay and surrounding mountains. You can swim and fish from the bottom of the large front garden and explore the seashore for miles. Seals and otters are frequent visitors. A pleasant coastal drive leads to picturesque and lively Roundstone and its stunning beaches.

Rural hideaway, stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, coastal cottage with well sized bedrooms and good facilities. Stunning location and great base to explore the area - Roundstone, Clifton,
and many attractions. Swimming from end of garden at high tide.




Beautiful location, unforgettable

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the web-listing we were excited to have found our perfect hideaway for a week with the kids but the photos actually don't do this place justice. It's the perfect combination of location, charm and modern convenience. We were simply blown away by the location and the house itself. The location was perfect for an exploration of the area and the house was both comfortable and provided perfect vistas of the surrounding coast and mountains, and also facilitated swimming/kayaking right at the bottom of the garden. Could not recommend highly enough. Would 100% come back.



Off the beaten path

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is at the end of the road. There is no traffic noise, no sounds at all other than nature. The perfect getaway spot or family time away from all distractions.
Lovely comfortable feel the place and has everything you would need to cook or relax and play games or read a book.
The caretaker was a lovely woman who was accessable when needed.




Prestons cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I'd just like to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in preston cottage .It has a much loved old world feel to it with modern heating and washing facilities,the sea washing up at the end of the garden overlooked from the kitchen table.The very clever extension at the back of the cottage with two extra bedrooms and utility meant there was loads of room for all 7 of us.The only thing we missed was a tumble dryer .thanks Jude



Breathtaking

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pictures of the cottage do not begin to give the place justice. It's much larger and homier than I anticipated. Everything about our trip to Ireland was magical including the cottage. The stunning views cannot be described, everywhere you looked was beautiful. To sit at the kitchen table with the French doors open in the morning was a little piece of heaven. The cottage was well equipped with everything needed to sit back and relax and enjoy the wondrous beauty and peace. My recommendation would be to tell incoming renters to bring all your food and drink needed for your stay and never leave except to take walks.



A magical place

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent at the cottage only two nights and I had a wonderful stay. The agency provided us with very clear directions to get there and once arrived the caretaker welcomed us. The cottage was amazing, very clean, traditional but with all comforts.
The nature around was just breathtaking.
We really enjoyed and we highly recommend this cottage.




Lovely house but it has some basic hygiene issues

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is a lovely house in a stunning locations however there were some issues that need attention.

There is no bin outside the property and we were told we had to keep the bins inside the house as rodents/foxes could get at them.
After a week we had to go to the caretaker who was very helpful and informed her the bins need to be moved elsewhere as the stench was making us feel ill. The bins were kept in the utility room which is between the kitchen and the children's Bedroom which is not suitable.
This property urgently requires an outside bin to store refuse.

There are two showers in the property which weren't working when we arrived. We had no access to showers for the first five days until one of them was fixed. The other shower was still not working when we left. This is not acceptable especially for a family of five.

The caretaker was very helpful to us during our stay but the owner needs to sort out these issues for future holiday tenants.






Cashel 129

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely remotely located cottage. We liked the location and the cottage is modernized and so shows well. What's lacking is comfort really. The bathrooms are lovely but lack any shelves or hooks for towels or combs. The kitchen lighting is too dim over the sink to be useful for washing dishes. But mostly the sofa's are very tired futons too hard to be comfy, and the pillows are also old and tired.
The cottage was pretty damp when we arrived (despite the caretaker boosting the heating prior to us arriving). It took several days for the bedding to not feel damp.

We loved the thrush hunting for grubs right in front of the kitchen/dining windows, and the tides flooding and ebbing. Midges prevent much outside time (in this July at least) but it was a lovely location. It would need more practical comforts however, for me to recommend it to others.




Holiday in Cashel

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location and the enjoyment of being close to the sea and country was lovely. However, when we booked we stipulated two main points that we required for our stay. One was to be close to the beach which was achieved. The second, was to have a totally "enclosed and secure" garden for our two retrievers which we were bringing, and was mentioned upon booking. The rep we spoke to on the phone insisted that the cottage had a enclosed garden for our dogs. When we arrived what we found was a two foot brick wall and a wooden pallet planks blocking the side exit. This was NOT a enclosed and secure garden for any dogs no matter what the size and was a misrepresentation of what we asked for. Also because there was no enclosed garden the dogs were put on a long lead attached to our car. There were cowpats around the grassed area which was unfortunate as we kept on having to keep the dogs away from them. We can understand that the local cows were using the pasture, but to have domestic dogs on the same patch of ground as farm animals for the time we were there isnt biologically hygienic and could have given the dogs digestive issues. As i stated before if we had a secure area for our dogs behind the property the issue wouldn't have arisen.

When i speak to reps of any rental company when we book a holiday it is so important to be totally honest and truthful about what you are renting and what is suitable for your stay. Although we were disappointed, we continued to enjoy the time we had and it didn't overall affect our stay and we never mentioned anything to the hosts at the time.

My second point which was surprising to me as we have stayed in many rented cottages over the years, is the condition of the mattress in the front bedroom in which me and my husband slept and the couch furniture in the front room. The mattress was very very soft and gave me alot of back ache especially waking up. My husband who also suffers from back pain anyway was also in alot of discomfort daily. The settee/couch in the front room was also uncomfortable to sit on and was very soft..

I understand that rental properties don't have to have the best of equipment and standards due to the nature of the useage over a period of time, but surely two two main pieces of furniture that are used should at least be satisfactory for purpose and enough to be able to use comfortably and without any issues.

Having said the above please don't take this review negatively. It is a constructive viewpoint and only to serve the owner and hosts favourably and to be helpful and not unkind. We had a very good time and it didn't spoil our enjoyment but i do want to make these points so that future clients will get even more enjoyment out of the property.

Rgds,

Kay and Nick Palmer




Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a wonderful location. Sofa's could be more comfortable though!!
The kitchen was very well supplied and 2 bathrooms are ideal for larger groups of people.




Bien... avec des améliorations

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Endroit agréable près de la mer. Isolé et reposant.

Pour que l'endroit soit très bien, il faudrait prévoir des améliorations:
- Un réfrigérateur beaucoup plus grand (pour 7 personnes) avec un congélateur (Il faut 1h30 de route aller-retour pour faire ses courses à la ville voisine)
- Trouver une place plus commode pour le four à micro-onde (il est quasiment par terre)
- Des rangements et tablettes pour poser ses affaires de toilette et serviettes dans les salles de bain ainsi que des patères pour vêtements: actuellement, rien n'est prévu
- Un peu de mobilier de jardin pour profiter du soleil quand il y en a.




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Loved the cottage and location - perfect for a noisy family (no neighbours to disturb!). Lay out of the cottage was great for us. We were there in peak season so payed the top rate which was expensive for us - to find that toilet paper and soap weren't provided (OK there was a few sheets left on a previous visitors roll) I found rather mean, particularly when the cottage is about 8 miles from nearest shop. Even providing a pint of milk might be a nice gesture for incoming visitors....



Excellent cottage and location

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is situated in a tranquil location with fantastic sea and countryside views.I would recommend the cottage highly.
Cleanliness was also of the highest order as were the facilities on site




Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location and cottage was well equipped. Only negative comment is that living room seats were not particularly comfortable and, despite being advertised, no garden or outdoor seats were provided