FB Twitter

Letterfrack 106 Pier View

Letterfrack 106 Pier View

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.4


Cottage overlooking Ballynakill Bay and the Twelve Ben mountains. This cottage has stunning views and is the perfect location for total relaxation and enjoyment of the best of Connemara. It is ideally located only a short distance from the villages of Letterfrack and Tullycross, where you could enjoy an evening meal or go horse trekking.

Our impressions

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall, we enjoyed a very comfortable stay here. The heating was very good and worked a treat while Storm Bella raged outside!

The only criticism we had was that the mattresses, pillows, duvets and bed linen could do with replacing.

Warm regards,

Pat and Barbara
Dublin





Peaceful & Picturesque stay at Letterfrack Pier View

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, to the moment we left, everything about our stay at Caoimhe Cottage was perfect. We couldn't have enjoyed our stay any more then we did. Perfect location, peaceful and outstanding views. We had everything we needed, all mod-cons and a comfortable bed. We would highly recommend staying at Caoimhe Cottage, there are many beautiful beaches in close proximity and its only a stones throw away from Connemara National Park where you can climb Diamond HIll. Local shops close by and the locals are lovely.

Thank you for a wonderful break away from the city! We hope to be back soon...




Beautiful and well located cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a weeks stay in the beautiful cottage about 7 mins drive from Letterfrack. The cottage itself is lovely and holds a breathtaking view of Derryinver pier. The cottage comfortably sleeps 8 but maybe a bit tight for meal time in the lounge. The kitchen is small but very functional. Separate toilet and bathroom is located on the lower floor and worked well for a group. The garden is fenced in but keep an eye out for the rogue sheep. Overall this is a little gem in stunning scenery. Kylemore Abbey is a short drive away also.



Stay in Aug

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house in a great location with an amazing view. Very clean and well equipped. Stairs difficult for kids. Bathroom was clean but could do with a refresh. Other than that we loved our time here.



Excellent location with stunning views

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week here, with 2 adults 2 kids and our dogs.
The location is brilliant, 5 mins from beaches and shops/pubs, the view from the front of the house are absolutly stunning, wont find better anywhere. Unfortuntely you dont really get the full benefit of the view from inside the house as small windows.
The cottage living space is quite small, with small but functional kitchen. The bedrooms are comfortable and the single bathroom downstairs is perfect for a single family. Two of the bedrooms are upstairs without any bathroom, no problem for us but could be an issue if they are both occupied.

Would recomment this cottage for familys.




A comfortable cottage in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely stay here again. It suited us perfectly. The location for those that love walking, cycling and wildlife is perfect. If you are not active the changing, stunning views from cottage and a book may be enough. The cottage was clean and well equipped. Although it sleeps eight, it could be tight with only one bathroom. A good shop, places to eat and pubs are nearby. Perfect all round



Letterfrack 106 Pier View Review

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 4 persons and had an excellent week. The cottage was ideal for us and the location perfect. It was well-equipped for our needs and the rooms clean and comfortable. Certainly no complaints! However, there were some minor imperfections. Several light bulbs required replacing and there were no spares provided that fitted; the cooker light was broken and we could not remove the metal casing. The cooker, while working perfectly, is tricky to operate without clearer instructions. The lounge night storage heater controls were broken, so it was inoperative. A wine glass in the above-cooker cupboard was severely cracked and was discarded; some others were chipped around the rim. Otherwise - perfection! Thank you.



Pier cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful location. So peaceful that I slept the sleep of the just. It was warm and cosy at night and by day the light for reading is superb. I will be back.
JD




Nice little cottage, excellent view

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice little cottage
Well equipped kitchen
Cosy living room
Sleeping rooms functional
Very narrow and steep staircase to upper floor
Large outside area




Fabulous location for a real feel of Connemara

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is in a stunning location and we loved admiring the views and wildlife and this alone makes it worth staying. The accommodation is well equipped and there are nice touches like providing binoculars. Although sleeps 8, the living accommodation is a little small and there is not enough room to seat 8 at table. The twin bedrooms are up a small but very steep staircase which would be unsuitable for anyone with mobility problems and the bathroom is quite a distance from these bedrooms. We really enjoyed our stay here and it is a true taste of Connemara.



A stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage in wonderful location. Connemara is fantastic and we enjoyed long drives and walks in the countryside. Only downside was cleanliness of the cottage.



Lovely views but extremely poor standard of accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
* Unlike some cottage agencies, Connemara Cottages does not have a "star" rating. No way could the condition of the cottage when we stayed be considered a "high standard" as described on their website. If they really did know all the properties personally, as stated, they would have been aware of this.

* Connemara Cottages told me there was a dishwasher before I booked. I emailed the day we arrived to say there was not and they apologised.

* The written advice provided in the cottage was to close the gate on the drive when leaving but the gate was broken. It was left open leaving free access for sheep and therefore we had to pick our way through sheep droppings every time we went to and from our car.

* The kitchen sink was coated with grease - as well as being filthy around the taps and draining board. Grill and oven pans were filthy and utensils had been put away without being washed. The key had been left for us but we called the caretaker to come and deal with what we noticed on arrival. After contacting Connemara Cottages, they told me to ring the caretaker with any other problems but we were using a UK mobile which is expensive and not a workable arrangement every time we needed something cleaned. I suggested that they visit to inspect the property for themselves but they did not do that until after our stay.

* There was a foul smell in the washing machine. This did not disappear after a wash cycle (without clothes) so I had to wash clothes by hand. The washing line from the property links to a low fence post and can only be used for a couple of feet in length because of the sheep in the garden. Drying hand-washed clothes was not easy.

* The property was heated by night storage heaters but they were turned off on arrival. The weather was bitterly cold and so was the property. The house should have been warmed ready for us. We lit the peat fire that was laid for us but this did little to heat the living room with its 2 storey high ceiling.

* The night storage heater in the living room was not working so we needed the oil filled radiators from the bedrooms to heat the property. Since there were few power points in each room, appliances were connected to them via multiple socket adaptors and extension leads. The oil filled radiators added to this and posed a trip hazard particularly for people with mobility problems. This should be pointed out in the information about the cottage on line. If the intention is that the peat fire is lit each evening, then firelighters should be provided for the whole stay. We were using only one bedroom so we were able to heat our room, the living room and kitchen using heaters from the other bedrooms. The bathroom had a wall heater.

* It was only on arrival after a long drive that we found out from the cottage information provided that the water was not safe to drink and that we should buy bottled water. That should be made known before booking. The caretaker got some from a spring assuring us that it was safe to drink and we bought water when that was finished.

* The cottage information stated that we had to buy our own refuse sacks. We could not even find one in the property. The little refuse and recycling we accumulated, we took with us rather than buy a number of sacks just to use one.

* The towels needed replacing. Even the best available were in poor condition.

* The cottage was in need of general updating and a thorough clean. The wooden floors were in a poor condition and needed re-sealing. The bathroom needed modernising. It was grimey and filthy particularly in corners including a collection of dead woodlice. The tiles and grouting needed a good bleach. The bath was badly stained.

* The door of the front bedroom (the room with the only good view) would not close because of a problem with the hinge, leaving a gap of 3 inches.

* Initially Connemara cottages said that given the issues, they would reimburse us for water and refuse sacks. After visiting they said they would take up the issues we raised with the owner and reimbursed us 50 euros - not a lot of money given that I would not have booked the property if I had not been told by them that there was a dishwasher.




Connemara Coastal Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are sorry that you feel you didn’t enjoy your stay and feel need to write this review. We feel strongly that we need to respond to your review . We do not star our properties because we have a very close contact with all our owners and clients and can respond very quickly to any issues that may present themselves being a local agency. We take on board the issues mentioned in your review and these issues are now dealt with IE gate now opens more freely, storage heater, door closes and we are pleased to say there is a new wood burning stove fitted and property has been decorated. Regarding the sink in the property it is a dark grey colour and has stained effect but it is not dirty. There were many towels in the property and we checked these and felt were suffice but suggested owner buy new ones to have more of a supply. Once we received your email after your arrival we sent caretaker down to go through any issues you felt you had. She did so and She also kindly provided you with 5 litre drums of spring water and would have done so for duration of your stay but you had suggested to her you had felt it unsafe to drink and preferred to buy bottled water. You could have asked for more to be done at this time should you have felt more needed to be done. Bathroom has grey grout and may appear it needs regrouting but this is the colour of the grout. We are not in control of the bad weather and unfortunately the refuse situation in Connemara is the way it is. Guests are informed in information that they must buy refuse sacks. They are not provided. Firelighters are provided for first fire but it is not stated they are provided for duration of your stay. The colour of the water and quality varies all over Connemara and because of this we have noted this in our terms and conditions. This is in our terms and conditions upon which you must read and agree upon before proceeding to book .We apologised for our mistake for stating there was a dishwasher. It was not mentioned on the website so it could be assumed there was not one. We did offer a gesture of good will and we were prepared to discuss this further with you. We feel that the review you have given us is unfair given that you received a large discount before booking as booking was for only 2 guests and we responded immediately when you raised issues. Anybody wishing to book this property in the future should not judge this cottage on this one bad review as this cottage has great charm and is in an amazing location. This property has been enjoyed by many guests before and since this your stay. We are confident that future guest will have a great Connemara experience.

Beautiful location.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Loved the setting.House comfortable, though there was no water till the saturday evening of a weekend stay. The host did endeavour to get it fixed when notified of the problem.



great place

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent house in lovely scenic location. Its very quiet and quite isolated which not everyone would want but was exactly what I wanted. Would highly recommend this house