FB Twitter

Moyard 357 Oak Lodge

Moyard 357 Oak Lodge

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.0


Oak Lodge is a three bedroom contemporary bungalow overlooking Ballinakill Lake which lies between Cleggan and Letterfrack in the town-land of Moyard. Just around the corner is the beautiful Ardkyle Beach, or Ross Beach as the locals like to call it. There is history in abundance here! Ballinakill grave yard is the resting place of Oliver St John Gogarty the famous poet and writer. The house itself was once rented by Garrett Fitzgerald who was Taoiseach from 1981-1987.
The house has been recently renovated and presents a peaceful and comfortable atmosphere nothing more relaxing than sitting watching the ever changing colours over the lake or taking the binoculars and seeing the otters playing and the fish jumping.

Christmas in Connemara.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here over Christmas in a family bubble. House was spotless with evidence of covid measures taken.
Location was fabulous overlooking a lake with Clifden and Letterfrack within easy reach.
Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable. The living room has a great stove for winter stays.
It would be hard to find a kitchen better equipped. Everything the most demanding cook would require was on hand.
We would love to return in the summer.
A super house.




Siobhan Bennett replied 18 days ago
Delighted you enjoyed your Christmas in Connemara so much & of course the house! Hope to see you again soon Siobhán

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This home was everything and more than we had hoped it would be, warm, spacious, well equipped and extremely clean. From the moment we walked in the door we felt welcome and relaxed.
The views from the house were spectacular and with every outing that we had, we looked forward to the scenic drive back to cosy in for the evening.
Communication was fantastic and everything was explained very clearly.
We are already recommending this beautiful sanctuary to friends and family, and we would happily book a return visit to this gem in Connemara!




Siobhan Bennett replied 18 days ago
So great to hear you enjoy your stay in the house so much and how you felt at home. Lovely to hear. Siobhán

Brilliant house,in a super location.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is bright,comfortable, spacious, warm ,modern and well equipped.
The location is perfect for exploring the wonderful coast of NW Connemara. Great walks,rambles,treks are within a short drive or straight from the front door.
Clifden,Letterfrack and Cleggan have well stocked supermarkets.
Would readily stay there,again.




Siobhan Bennett replied 18 days ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay & the house so much. Sounds like you guys really went out and discovered the region. Hope to see you again soon Siobhán

Wonderful week in Connemara

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful week in Oak Lodge. The house is very comfortable and well-equipped, close to beautiful beaches and a short drive to either Cleggan or Letterfrack.
Very good communication with the caretaker and rental company.
I hope we can return.




Siobhan Bennett replied 18 days ago
Thank you for your review Hopefully we will see you again soon Siobhán

Lovely house, nice area, pity about that fridge

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Oak Lodge is a lovely house in a pleasant and very quiet setting, just a few kilometres from the village of Lettefrack and the National Park visitor centre, and within driving distance of Clifden, Leenaun and several splendid beaches. The house itself is bright, clean, comfortable and very well equipped, with good wifi, a big colour TV and bathrooms upstairs and down. In short it felt not like a holiday let but more like a family home. Entry arrangements were very simple. No fuss.

The only hiccup was that the fridge-freezer had failed the week before our let but was not replaced until towards the end of our stay, which left us with an ineffective (not chilled) mini-fridge as our only stopgap. CCC explained that their electrical goods supplier could only deliver on Thursdays so the delay was not in their control. But here I have to say that, were I renting a family house in late Summer with no fridge, I'd have found a van and made it a high priority to get to Galway (< two hours away) to buy a replacement immediately. Anyway, that didn't happen, so I suggested a part refund and, to be fair, CCC readily agreed to this.

Setting aside the unfortunate business with the fridge - which is unlikely to occur again - this was a good experience in a lovely house and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.





Review

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
1.0
The property and location were great, but the service from ccc was far short of what I would expect.



Lovely renovated cottage set in beautiful Connemara

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself was lovely, very nicely renovated to easily accommodate 6 people. The location is perfect for a quiet get away and on a clear night I have never seen so many stars. The town of Clifden is just a 10 min drive and Roundstone and Westport are an easy day trip with two of the most glorious Irish beaches, Dogs Bay and Gurteen Bay on the Clifden road to Roundstone. The kitchen was well equipped but could have used a microwave. The rest of the house was comfortably furnished.
First let me say we loved our time in the cottage and were able to visit family and friends in the area because we had a car.
So my other thoughts were that people, especially anyone coming from abroad, need to understand it is a bit far from town to be without a car. The directions left for how to deal with trash, recycled waste and compost were not really clear. We did not find a fire pit for burning the trash. And for someone who has never been to Europe before it might help to have very specific directions regarding the electric switches and master switches. My daughter lived there for a few years so we understood the various switches but our friend who was with us did not.
Thank you for opening your lovely home.