FB Twitter

Renvyle 218 Little Killary

Renvyle 218 Little Killary

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.7
Location
4.8
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.5


Situated overlooking the Little Killary and Meelrea towering above is a charming stone cottage. This cottage offers peace and tranquillity in ten acres of mountain terrain set in mature trees. The small bay below the cottage is used by local fisherman and is an Ideal place to moor or anchor a small boat or negotiate the purchase of some fresh caught fish.

Little Killary cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location there are just a few things that should be sorted with the property. The house has damp on the inner walls in the bedrooms which leave a musty smell not good for people with chest ailments. The incline up to the gate badly needs repairing as there is a large pothole and a lot of loose gravel that cause the wheels to spin as you drive through the gate.The heating within the cottage needs to be updated it states on a laminated piece of paper on the wall in the kitchen that the fire heats the back boiler which it certainly doesnt. I found that out when the immersion switch went and couldn't be fixed for well over a day. I honestly dont think it was worth the 800 euro for the week. Other than that its clean and peaceful and the lack of connection to the internet is great.



Peaceful cosy base for exploring Connemara

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to this lovely cosy house in the trees. It is a complete break from everything, so tranquil and relaxing. Also not far from beautiful Glassilaun Beach, Tully pier for jumps and all the fab walks and adventures in the area.



Stephens cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay in Stephens Cottage. Very old world cottage in a beautiful secluded setting. Lots of beautiful local photography on the walls and plenty of excellent reading material. It is kept cosy with electric storage heaters, however the electricity costs payable at the end of stay are expensive.
The cottage could do with a fresh lick of paint and the grounds although beautiful would benefit from a few paths cut through the wilderness in order to enjoy.




Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely warm and cosy cottage. Very convenient for the Culfin fishery and very close to the beautiful Glassilaun beach. Perfect for hiking and the walk to the top of the hill to check your phone messages will keep you fit and healthy!



A beautiful retreat in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the cottage and had such a fantastic week there. Evelyn was so kind and obliging. The kitchen was very well equipped for elaborate cooking and the location was just stunning.
The only thing I would say is that maybe people should be notified in advance that there is absolutely no phone signal there. We didn't really mind and in fact we loved the break from technology and "always-on" contact but some people might be nervous about the fact that they have to walk a few minutes up / down the road to make a call, even in the event of an emergency.
The storage heater in the large bedroom didn't seem to work which didn't matter to us because it was very mild but if it were colder that room seemed like it might feel a bit damp and cold. It might also be worth investing in a water filter so the tap water would be drinkable.
All that said, it really felt like a home from home and everyone enjoyed the week. We were out and about ever day and it was a pleasure to come back there in the evenings for big friendly dinners and long, involved card games. The garden around the house was just beautiful and felt like a safe wilderness for the children to explore. A picnic table might be nice for sunny days.
We will definitely be back, and a week felt too short.
Helen




A quiet slice of heaven.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely cottage is set in a valley that can only be described as magical. Secluded, cozy, escape.



Connemara at its best

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location in beautiful Connemara where there are plenty of great walks from the cottage, the best beaches in the world and so many historical buildings and super small towns to visit. Afterwards it was always a pleasure to get back to the turf fire in this very cosy cottage.



A beautifully preserved cottage, equipped with everything you need and set in unspoilt landscape

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully preserved cottage, equipped with everything you need and set in spectacular unspoilt landscape



great location

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was comfortable and kitchen well equipped.
Unfortunately the coordinates on the site brought us to 2 different locations , both of which were several miles from the cottage.
We spent over an hour driving up and down roads , asking locals etc.. not a good way to start the hols.

On arrival we find a notice that although the property is dog friendly, we had to lock them in a porch.
Anyone who goes to the bother of bringing their dogs on holidays clearly wants them to be a part of it. Should at least be allowed in kitchen and living area, obviously not on furniture or bedrooms.
The bathroom with shower had alot of mould on walls an ceiling. This is just a matter of painting with mould stop paint etc .. wouldnt take much to rectify. The shower , clearly old as could not be directed downwards... only to the side.
And lastly, on arrival , another note saying the water is not drinkable. NO issue there except we should have been notified when booking so we could bring bottles .




Ideal spot to switch off

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great week in Stephen's cottage, helped by amazing weather! Ideally located. We kayaked in Little Killary, swam at Glassilaun and Lettergesh beaches (where we watched dolphins, a highlight of the week!), availed of the fantastic and free family activities in Connemara National Park, read books, played cards, switched off.
The house is comfortable and clean, obviously well loved by the owners, but could do with a bit of TLC very soon before it starts looking shabby. The fact that the water is not drinkable is not a problem in itself (common enough in isolated houses) but it would have helped to know this before arrival, so we could at least have brought enough to fill a kettle or brush our teeth! Minor irritants that did not spoil a lovely week but worth pointing out all the same!




idyllic seclusion

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really beautiful secluded setting, a true delight. Very comfortable in a homely way, we loved our stay there and hope to revisit in the future.
The addition of a picnic bench or similar outdoor seating is the only change we would want to see.
Many thanks for a great stay.




Holiday near the little Killary

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was a wonderful stay.
No TV, no WIFI and real relationships with the children.
The adress is : "Stephen Cottage" near Salrock and the Little Killary. We follow the Garmin and arrived at Tully Cross.
After Galway you must follow the informations of Connemara Coastal cottage .
It's early in the tourism season and the cottage was cold, after one day it was Ok . The Glassillaun beach was wonderful and Lough Fee, Lough Muck, Kylemore Lough, many activities and many differents landscape.
The people, Evelyn the first was patients, helpfull and really nice.




Spring time

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a beautiful time in Little Killary. As it was a very cold week, I can't recommand this time of Season to stay there with a Baby, the house was quite cold for her and only by the end of our stay, we managed to heat the house enough, what meant a lot of extra costs for the electricity. But the rest was perfect, great location and surrounding!



Needs money spend, not suitable for guests in current condition

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have to say I was very disappointed with the Renvyle 218 cottage. It was nothing like the pictures. I have stayed with CCC several times before and always found the standard very good but on this occasion we were extremely disappointed. The house was dated and needed a complete overall. The lamps in the bedroom were in fact a safety hazard and we were afraid to use them as the shade started to scorch when turned on. They were meant to be side lamps but not at all suitable. The shower needs replacing and the radiators were rusted and the one in the main bedroom did not work. The oven only worked when it was on full and this was noted in the guest book some time ago. Evelyn, the lady who looks after it, had the beds clean and the kitchen but there is only so much she could do as the house itself was very bad. The house is in a beautiful place but it really needs to have money spent on it. I had visitors from abroad with me and I was embarrassed to say the least.




pretty cottage in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is up a long drive in a grassy area surrounded by woods. The view from the cottages is of mountains. The Little Killary is a few hundred yards away. We mostly sailed a dinghy: there is a difficult slipway on the Little Killary, and a good one at Rosroe on the Killary only a mile away. The small shop a mile away has all the basics, including turf for the fire. No wifi, nor mobile signal, which for us was an advantage.



Lovely location.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is in a lovely location and was warm when we arrived late. It has plenty of character although needs some updating (e.g the hot water system) to make it really comfortable. We did appreciate what looked like new kitchen equipment.