FB Twitter

Roundstone 338 Ocean View

Roundstone 338 Ocean View

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
71% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.6
Comfort
3.7
Condition
3.6
Location
4.9
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.4


Sweet traditional cottage at the foot of Errisbeg Hill and a short stroll away from Dogs Bay Beach. Located on the Wild Atlantic Way, this three bedroom cottage is a find in any sense of the word! It is affordable and the views are amazing. There is a nice compact drive way into the cottage, which is Traditional Irish style with red roof.

Excellent views from this lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a great location opposite dogs bay. Ellie is a lovely host, very welcoming and happy to help. She provided lots of peat for the fire. It’s a great place to stay.



A little in need of work

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved the location and the owner couldn't have been nicer. But the property was damp and in need of upgrading.



The views save this cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful views of beach and good location, great for dog lovers and safe for older kids. Really cute cottage that needs work. Drafts in every room. Beds really old and uncomfortable. Insects everywhere especially spiders and webs. Could do with a deep clean, pans etc were dirty. No bbq and says there is one.



Disappointed

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
When I booked the cottage the website said it was basic which I didn't mind.I do mind a dirty cooker . A unusable kettle. ( I have thrown away better ones) old rusty fridge . Rusty items in the bathroom. The rest of the cottage was ok . Lovely views and walking distance to the beach.



Traditional Irish cottage with fantastic views.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful landlady. Cottage is a traditional Irish homestead and as such, renters should not expect 21st century sleek. Location is amazing, across the road from two wonderful beaches, convenient for roundstone, ballyconneely, clifden, and lots of connemara walks. Turf fire useful for damp connemara evenings. Lots of extras to make you comfortable - storage heater, hot water bottles, electric shower, bath.



A cottage for a mixed week in Connemara

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good no frills cottage, excellent location. The peat fire was nice. The owners might attend to pest proofing the bathroom!



An absolutely fabulous holiday, in a stunning location with superb hosts. Loved every minute!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is delightful and fully functional whilst retaining it's rustic charm. What it lacks in modern conveniences like a dishwasher, walk-in power shower, sky tv and internet is far outweighed by the outstanding views, quaint turf fire and simple unspoiled way of living. The cottage is warm, clean and comfortable with everything you need including a fully set, ready to go turf fire for your first night. You are told when booking the property what to expect and that is exactly what you get. Ellie and James are wonderful hosts and If your type of holiday is to relax, unwind and get away from it all then this is the place to be. A short stroll to picturesque Dog's Bay Beach with or without your dog in tow and your spirits are immediately lifted by the unspoiled beauty and fresh sea air. Connemara is, in our opinion, one of the most stunningly beautiful places in the world and many a short scenic drive takes you to some fantastic and interesting visitor attractions like Derrigimlagh, Kylemore Abbey, Omey Island and the Clifden Sky Road Loop. Not forgetting the outstandingly beautiful Roundstone Bog Road and Ballynahinch Castle Estate. I could go on but the list is endless.

We could not have hoped for a better fortnight and only wish it could have been a month or more instead.

Thank you Ellie, James and Connemara for making our 2018 holiday so special!




A cute cottage with an authentic Irish feel, sea view and two good beaches

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in this cottage for a week in August.The owners, who run the B&B next door, were friendly and on-hand to help us when we needed it. The cottage was clean, the 3 bedrooms and sitting area are a good size and the beds are comfortable. The kitchen is small and the gas cooker and fridge are antique but everything works. The bathroom has a good electric shower. For the price, it is good value for money and the fact that it is not super-modern adds to the charm of the place. We felt like we were staying in an old Irish cottage. Even in August the cottage is quite cool at night and we made use of the storage heaters and the electric blanket on the double bed. There was a peat fire but we didn't use it. There are lovely views of the sea from the kitchen door and the garden. The garden is private with a pretty fushia hedge around it and the picnic bench meant we could eat outdoors. Two fantastic beaches, Gurteen and Dogs Bay, are a 10 minutes walk down a lane (15 back up) from the cottage.
Although there are beds for 6 people, the table in the sitting area really only seats 4 comfortably and then you need to pull it away from the wall. We were 3 people so it was no problem.
There is space to park one car in the driveway but as it is quite difficult to see when reversing out onto the road we chose to park in the lay-by in front of the B&B.
The cottage is out of town and it is a fair walk down the unpaved road to Roundstone so I would only recommend this cottage if you have a car. There is a small supermarket in Roundstone but we did all our food shopping in Cliften. By the end of our stay we had become quite fond of the cottage and we would stay there again.




Satisfied with property

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was good and suited us for the weekend. Thanks for the professional organization of it, i have no complaints.



Dog days on Dog's Bay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in Ocean View Cottage last year, I was delighted to rent it for a short stay at this time of year. Clean, comfortable, great location overlooking Dog's Bay where we took the dogs for early morning walks on the empty beach. My guests, first time visitors, were blown away by the beauty of Connemara in the sunshine.



Ocean view cottage review

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location across from Dog Bay and Lady Bay (even nicer a small secluded beach). Cottage was in a perfect location beds were clean and freshly made up but the rooms were a bit dusty and the matresses a bit springy!! House is dog friendly which we were happy with but the couches were a little grubby. Oven would need replacing it has seen better days! We ate out in Vaughan’s most evenings which was perfect. Outside was contained for the dog but the eating area is disappointing as it’s on a slant you can’t see the view unless you stand at the gate as the hedges are quite high. Overall good value for money fabulous location but house could do with a good spring clean!



Tired cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There are some nice aspects to this cottage, it's location for one as well as accepting dogs for another. Access to a great beach is easy and the cottage is only a mile or so from the small and attractive village of Roundstone. However, as I understand from the owner, the cottage has been rented for about 35 years and some of the fixtures and fittings are clearly of that age or older. It is described as basic, which it is; the fridge and washing machine are old and the gas cooker even more so. There is a problem with damp in one of the bedrooms which results in a rather unpleasant smell. Some of the mattresses are worn out and uncomfortable, and we were unable to get one of the storage heaters to work. It is time that this cottage had a refurb to address the above issues. But its location is great.



Beautiful cottage, excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is really charming, located on a beautiful beach, while close to all of Connemara's stunning landscapes and sites.



Our short stay overlooking Dog's Bay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ocean View Cottage, overlooking Dog's Bay and the Atlantic beyond was just what we expected. Quaint, cosy , clean and comfortable. Our two dogs felt very much at home! The only caveat I would enter is: if you have an active ,inquisitive dog you'll have to tie him to a longish rope. there are gaps in the hedge that allowed my young dog to escape onto the busy road. Other than that we enjoyed being able to light the real turf fire in the evening when the rain lowered the temperature. Our hostess, Ellie Conneely, was lovely. There if we needed anything, but left alone otherwise.