FB Twitter

Glenside

Glenside

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


A relaxing 3 bedroom cottage with a wonderful design and panoramic outlooks for guests.

So well thought out

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You can tell how much thought and attention to detail has gone into everything. We all loved the pool and the hot tub, the little thoughtful extras, like the cake and the bubbly were very welcome on the first night!
Thank you so much




Great stay for some tricky customers

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group (20+adults & 12kids & 3dogs) staying for a long weekend in October. We had done a lot of searching a year in advance to find the perfect spot before we settled on Wallops Wood.
We weren’t disappointed.
The cottages were set up exactly as we had specified for dogs/children etc but the addition of doggie welcome baskets and little gifts for the children in their cots was an extra special touch that everyone really appreciated. They had also given us extra table space for our group meals.
The cottages were fantastically well provisioned with plenty of dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid etc and treats such as Nesprrsso capsules and home made cake. All the necessary kitchen utensils and pans were clean and there was never a moment when we wanted for a piece of equipment and found it to be missing.
The pool was a wonderful addition to our stay and on a very wet afternoon was a great way to help the kids let off steam.
Fanstastic cottages, beautiful spot, excellent customer service. 5* all round from a group of well travelled (and sometimes quite picky) gang of friends.




Great facilities and EVERYTHING you need in a comfortable cottage - loved the hot tub!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the quality of the bedding on the comfy large beds to the cake on the side and milk in the fridge, wallops wood have it covered. Surrounded by masses of walks on the doorstep or a short drive away, and always able to organise a half way pub stop, this is the perfect place for a break. Good layout and well equipped.



Emma, Wallops Wood Cottages replied 221 days ago
We are so pleased that you had a good stay with us at Wallops Wood. The walks all around the area in the South Downs National Park are great and many a friendly pub to stop in and quench your thirst! We do hope to see you again soon.

Our favorite place of our whole trip

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 weeks traveling around England and our Wallops Woods cottage was our favorite place we stayed by far! We thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities, from a well-appointed kitchen, to comfortable beds, to the "grill with a view," and of course the hot tub. Our daughter probably would have spent our entire stay in either the pool or hot tub if we'd let her! I especially appreciated the incredibly thorough binder of area activities. Thanks to that guide, we had some lovely walks, went to an activity farm, rode a steam train, and enjoyed meals at several local pubs. The hosts are thorough, friendly, and very used to dealing with frazzled parents who might need a little last-minute help. I heartily recommend this getaway spot to anyone seeking a relaxing retreat in a beautiful slice of countryside.



Fran At Wallops Wood Cottages replied 253 days ago
Waow! Thanks so much for such a glowing review! We certainly loved having you here and we are so happy that our extensive information on what the area has to offer was really useful. We are in the process of loading this onto Facebook, so that all info is available at the touch of a button! Please do come back again and don't forget to avail yourself of a 5% discount when you quote your booking number! Best wishes Fran and the team at Wallops Wood

Well stocked cottage in great location. Loved the pool

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a large family group we took 3 cottages. All of the cottages are well stocked with plenty of room. A bathroom each really helped keep everyone happy, as did the hot tubs and pool. The team at Wallopswood were quick to respond to requests and very helpful. They checked on us the first evening to make sure everything was Ok. The tea and cake were also a lovely welcoming gift as we'd all had long drives. They also accommodated an early check in to one of the cottages as some if our party were coming from America and needed to sleep on arrival. This place is great for family groups and we'll be retuning.



Fran from Customer Service replied 290 days ago
Hello - thank you so much for your fantastic review. We are particularly suited to welcome large family get togethers and friends and having your own bathroom is definitely a must! We were pleased to have helped with your early arrival from America, we always try to accomodate guests' requests. Glad the welcome baskets were restorative after such long drives for all of you. We look forward to welcoming you all back and don't forget you can avail yourself of 5% off your next booking, just quote your booking number! Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Delightful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week in Wallopswood. The cottage was extremely comfortable and very well equipped. We spent most of our time sitting and eating outdoors enjoying the wonderful view.



Fran at Wallops Wood Cottages replied 253 days ago
Thanks so much for your fantastic review of our self catering cottages. We are so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside we are so lucky to have here in the Meon Valley. Please do come back and visit us again, we would love to see you! Don't forget you get a 5% discount on your next holiday, just quote your booking number! Best wishes Fran and the Wallops Wood team

Fab break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
14 if us spent a great weekend, really enjoyed the hot tub in the snow and the log burner. Have already recommended to friends and will definitely return



Tub with a view!

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the view and the location, didn't like the slippy leather sofas but did love the arm chairs. Great log burner for the cold February nights, made a lot of difference to us to have the sense of a real fire. Hot tub in front of the blazing evening sky was special. Super clean, super well equipped.



Another gray stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second year running we have stayed here and it was great again. Very good lodges with hot tub, excellent all round



Beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable accommodation with all modern conveniences. The welcome hamper was much appreciated and included lots of basics and goodies too.The hot tub was great for relaxing evenings. Lot's of good pubs within 15 minutes drive serving great food.



the jones family

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Glenside for a week and found it very comfortable with lots of room for everybody particularly in the bedrooms, it was also good to have an ensuite bathroom for each bedroom. The showers are powerful and effective.
We had the family dog with us so access to the field for daisy to have a run round was handy.
the local area is good for families with lots of thing to do including sightseeing, days on the beach, shopping and eating out.
We had a couple of friends staying nearby and were encouraged by the owners to invite them round to eat and spend evenings with us which was very nice.
W e would love to return and look forward to a swim in the new pool.




A Hidden Haven of peace and tranquillity

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we expected from the description on the website. Comfortable and welcoming with Wine, Ale and Cake on arrival! Sitting in the hot tub, surrounded by idyllic countryside, listening to the owls and a fox and watching the lights twinkle in the distance whilst the black sky above is sprinkled with stars. Heaven!



August stay 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place, a relaxing escape with wonderful views. Definitely plan to visit again.
Perfect for the whole family, including Echo the spaniel.




Wallops Wood Rest & Relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! Beautiful cottages equipped to a high specification. Wine, and home made cake welcome package added that extra touch. We took our large dog and found the doggy extras (blankets/towel/ poop bags/treats and complimentary toy)to be a wonderful welcome for him too! Plenty of information on local visitor attractions was available. Ending the day, taking in the scenery and watching owls whilst relaxing in the hot tub was just perfect. Highly recommend these beautiful cottages and will definitely stay here again!



Great for both adults and children

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable week at Wallops Wood. Having all the equipment for babies and children provided made a huge difference to us. Good selection of toys, as well, and the kids loved running around in the big field behind the garden.

For the adults, the beds were comfy (and being mostly couples, we appreciated the zip link beds giving us the option of double or twin), we loved the hot tubs, and the kitchens were well equipped.

Our only concern was that we'd have liked cupboard locks in the kitchen, and a way to have the doors open without the babies escaping, since it was a hot week.




Family Break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3 generations of our family plus 2 dogs stayed at Wallops Wood. We had a wonderful relaxing time. The cottage was beautifully equipped and furnished with lovely views across the fields and sea in the distance. It was in good proximity to some lovely little villages and a short drive from Portsmouth and Winchester. We had some lovely walks right from our doorstep which the dogs particularly enjoyed. We made use of the visiting spa facilities and chef service during our stay (as it was my birthday) and I would highly recommend both of these. The service we received was second to none I had experienced previously in terms of arranging the holiday and the added extras waiting for us at our cottage such as toys, cot, high chair and pushchair for the baby and dog beds, crates, bowls, treats, toys etc for the dog, all at no extra charge and all in as good as new condition added a special touch and saved a lot of packing and space. There were also some goodies for us! I would however like to offer some advice to dog owners, whilst the small garden included with the cottage is fully enclosed the fence is pretty low, I have one dog that likes to 'escape' particularly when surrounded by the smells of the countryside and he easily jumped the gate and fence which was a little worrying particularly at night as it is pitch black outside, once outside the small enclosed area the land is pretty open, we managed to keep him in check with a long lead attached (just in case)! This did not spoil our holiday and we would definitely go back, we will just be more prepared!



my long stay at Wallops Wood

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have now stayed in all but one of the cottages at Wallops Wood
the last of which was Glenside. As usual the standard is fantastic and I must congratulate the cleaning team - they do an
amazing job! Well done girls.




Couldn't fault the cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 nights in Glenside and found the cottage to be warm on arrival - it was February. The rooms were spacious and tastely furnished/decorated. There were ample utensils and crockery and everything was very clean and to a high standard. We appreciated the food and drink items left for us including homemade cake. Our dog Leo was spoilt with his basket including blanket, towel, toy, doggy walk maps, and treats. Also the dog bed supplied was so helpful and saved us bringing one away with us. We loved the hot tub, garden and access to the field at the back of the cottage. Would highly recommend.



The Thorne family getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed somewhere to escape for a few days & this was perfect. Close to Southampton, Portsmouth & Winchester but in the middle of nowhere. Lovely bonus that we were able to take our dog & everything we needed was catered for & all to a high standard.



50th celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I went here in August with my family, three couples a seven month baby and our dog. The cottages are well decorated and equipped. The owners cannot do enough for you, from providing toys equipment for both the baby and the dog. The setting is beautiful and it's a great view from the hot tub. There is plenty do do in the area too. Great that there is three bathrooms so we all had our own. The kitchen is very well equipped too. Could not find any faults. Would certainly go back again.



Family break

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our time at Wallops Wood and would definitely recommend to others. The cottage was very clean and equipped with everything you could ever need. The hot tub was lovely to go in and relax after a long day.



Our week in Hampshire

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Glenside. Accommodation was perfect for our family - very comfortable and modern. Every detail had been thought through. The children particularly enjoyed the hot tub and playing in the lovely field behind the house.
The adults enjoyed the BBQ and excellent kitchen facilities and comfortable beds!
A relaxing week away from our busy lives in London.




Good family weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0

We had a lovely weekend with our daughter and grandson who had the freedom to run around from the enclosed garden onto a field with no worries as was completely safe for him with the bonus of other children to play with. We were delighted by the spaciousness of the cottage, everything was thought out to give it the feeling of home from home. The hot tub was an extra bonus as was enjoyed by all. Would definitely return.




Everything you could need!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The people behind Wallops Wood have thought of everything. Glenside was one of the best equipped holiday properties we have ever stayed in and the quality of the fixtures and fittings were excellent. They have even gone to the trouble of filling a huge folder with information on local places to eat and places to visit, all complete with very good directions.

First impressions can be so deceiving. We looked at the long barn-like building and thought that the cottage couldn't possibly be big enough for our extended family; how wrong we were! It is a veritable tardis! High ceilings and spacious open areas, each bedroom with it's own sparklingly clean ensuite shower/bath room and a beautiful view from the living area. It was the perfect place to hold a special family celebration for my daughter's graduation.

The kitchen was very well equipped, though I did find some of the cupboards a little high. I am certain though, if asked, the lovely Liz would make arrangements for everything to be at a more accessible height for anyone who may struggle. Nothing was too much trouble and the customer service was second to none.

The beds were extremely comfortable and there was plenty of storage space, electric sockets etc.. The light switches are all at easy to reach heights too. There are TVs in every room, but we didn't watch them more than once or twice, preferring to enjoy the view.

The hot tub on the patio was something we really looked forward to and we were not disappointed. It was, without doubt, the cleanest hot tub I have ever been in. Unobtrusively maintained several times a week by the site team, it was the perfect way to relax. At first, having this running under the bedroom window was a little irritating, but it very soon became 'white noise' and really didn't bother us at all.

If there was one suggestion I could make, I would say that a ceiling fan or floor fan would have been very welcome when we stayed as the weather was extremely hot and the cottage seemed to hold the heat, even with all of the windows and patio door open. I imagine it would be very cosy in the winter with the log burner.

I would have no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending Wallops Wood. It was fabulous!




A very enjoyable stay..................................

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good quality accommodation with lovely views.....................................................................................................................................



A wonderful week at Glenside Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely lovely place, views for miles from it's hilltop position. The cottages are very well equipped and you would want for nothing even down to the small things like washing up liquid, hand soap at basins, cling film are all supplied and a lovely cake upon arrival, plus a starter pack of groceries. All the crockery and cutlery are spotlessly clean and of a very high standard. The cottage itself was exceptionally clean and the staff are fantastic. The hot tub in the garden was great. Not quite sure why it is only rated as 4 star, as I really don't know what else could be done to achieve 5 star. We will be back and I can highly recommend a stay at Wallops Wood.



Fabulous Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous cottage, would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a rural retreat but close to civilisation if you want it! Thanks to Katherine and Liz for the Christmas Tree and cake on arrival, most festive and much appreciated!



Girly weekend away

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend away at Wallops Wood. Beautiful location with lovely view from cottage and especially the hottub watching red kites and a kestrel hunt over the fields whilst drinking our morning coffee. Excellently equipped kitchen. Bathrooms and bedrooms very high spec. Cottage very roomy for our group of 8 girls. Nice added touches of multiple hair dryers. Would not hesitate to stay again or recommend. Great pub 5 min drive away 'The Hurdles''.



Beauty in the Countryside

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
How can I start? How about what an awesome cottage the welcome was outstanding, the accommodation was out of this world it does say that it is 4* but believe me when I say it is 5* plus.
Everything was there and I do mean everything. We had the time of our lives and if you know the area it makes it even more fun, with loads to do 1 hour from south coast, add a further half hour and you are in the New Forrest. With the underfloor heating we did not need to use the Log Burner this would have turned the cottage into a sauna. As for the hot tub what a lovely experience and we even managed to get our 82 year old Uncle and 78 year old Aunty in and boy did they enjoy that as it was their first time. All we can add is if you fancy a bit of piece and quiet then make your way to Wallops Wood Cottages. The local pub (The White Horse) does a great meal both English and Indian.