FB Twitter

Sundew

Sundew

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


A comfortable 3 bedroom cottage with a fantastic layout and panoramic views for guests.

A great cottage and stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was extremely comfortable and decorated to a very high spec. This was a perfect stay for our family and 2 dogs which we enjoyed greatly. We had peace of mind that our pups could not escape from the garden, as it was all secured. There was also a big field beyond the garden which was all enclosed which was great to exercise them (in between long leisurely walks in the area).
Overall a great stay and we would highly recommend to anyone.
Many thanks




Wonderful!!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Six of us stayed at Wallops Wood earlier in February. The accommodation was spotless and extremely comfortable. Everything you could need was provided. The welcome hamper was extremely good. The facilities were superb. One of our party is returning with her family this Easter and the six of us have re-booked for next February. Need I say more?! 10/10!!



Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place, its home from home with all the amenities needed for a self catering stay. We stayed in Sundew and it's very roomy for 5 of us and our dogs, with big beds and each room having an ensuite and TV, means you have your own space and privacy. We love the private hot tub, it allows you to sit and take in the beautiful views. This is our second time staying at Wallops Wood Cottages and we have another break booked in Spring. No doubt we will be back again, as we really enjoyed swimming every day in the new pool too.



Family event

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wallop Wood is in an ideal location with star accommodation . It offers all the best comforts of life anyone could wish for. The accommodation is spacious and of a very high standard. Great thought has gone into the daily needs of your holiday. From
the minute you open the front to the time you retire to bed you will be impressed by the quality of furniture and fittings. My only thought of improvement would be someone to welcome you on the first day of arrival to just say "Welcome if you need anything we are here to help you" Saying that everything you might want to know about the accommodation and local area is provided in written format in the cottage. A great place to stay especially for people with daily life disabilities.




Emma replied 163 days ago
Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the high standard of the cottage and all the bits and pieces provided- we always want to make sure that our guests' holidays go as smoothly as possible. As a matter of course, we visit new guests in their cottages in the evening of their arrival to make sure that they have everything they need, but don't want to intrude so just knock on the door once or twice. If there is no answer we try to catch guests during their stay- we are sorry if we kept missing you. Don't forget your 5% discount for returning guests- we would love to welcome you here again.

Wonderful view

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely rural location. Cottages beautifully maintained, equipped and laid out. Welcome hamper was all very good produce.
We had fantastic sunny weather so were able to enjoy wonderful views from the cottage and also to use the outside space as well as the indoor swimming pool.




retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
wonderful service, terrific location , superb accommodation , dog friendly , amazing extras and friendly staff



Great spot for some tricky customers

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a large group (20+adults & 12kids & 3dogs) staying for a long weekend in October. We had done a lot of searching a year in advance to find the perfect spot before we settled on Wallops Wood.
We weren’t disappointed.
The cottages were set up exactly as we had specified for dogs/children etc but the addition of doggie welcome baskets and little gifts for the children in their cots was an extra special touch that everyone really appreciated. They had also given us extra table space for our group meals.
The cottages were fantastically well provisioned with plenty of dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid etc and treats such as Nesprrsso capsules and home made cake. All the necessary kitchen utensils and pans were clean and there was never a moment when we wanted for a piece of equipment and found it to be missing.
The pool was a wonderful addition to our stay and on a very wet afternoon was a great way to help the kids let off steam.
Fanstastic cottages, beautiful spot, excellent customer service. 5* all round from a group of well travelled (and sometimes quite picky) gang of friends.




Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped cottage in a great location for exploring both countryside and coastline. We intend to return.



Emma replied 197 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review Elaine- your ladies looked like you all had a wonderful time staying here last week. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wallops Wood again soon.

Wonderful!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Sundew for a week in August and cannot recommend it highly enough. The cottage itself was lovely and very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped and we prepared several meals with ease, thanks to the thoughtful inclusion of so many little essentials.

It was fantastic to be able to use the indoor pool, which was always warm and although we saw other guests there, it was never too crowded. The views were beautiful and having a field behind the cottage made for a feeling of space.

There were great places to eat nearby, particularly the Baker's Arms in Droxford, which is a short drive away.

All in all, we had a lovely family holiday and would definitely consider staying here again.




Fantastic cottage with all that you you need.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time visiting and once again had a fab time. The views are so beautiful. The cottage was so comfortable and an added coffee machine was much appreciated. The facilities for the disabled were excellent which meant mother in law could get around the property very easily. With a swimming pool being added will definately make us return next year.



Fran at wallops Wood Cottages replied 253 days ago
Thank you for returning to us - so lovely to see you all again! We love our new Nespresso coffee machine and the frother, so pleased it was useful! Our accessible facilities are great for anyone with impaired mobility and we are very happy that your mother-in-law was able to get about easily! We hope to see you very soon, don't forget about your 5% discount when you return, just quote your booking number. Best wishes, Fran and the Wallops Wood team

a second visit

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Sundew in the last couple of years.
The cottage is well equipped and the additions of a welcome cake and bottle of wine are lovely touches as was the large decorated Christmas tree.
We had a small problem during our visit which was quickly attended to by the owners and they even gave us some red wine as an unnecessary apology.
The bedrooms are large and comfortable and all cozy due to the under floor heating.
Look forward to sampling the new indoor pool next year




A beautiful and relaxing trip

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at a lot of holiday homes and none have been as well stocked or thought-through as this one. The homemade cake and provisions when we arrived were incredibly welcome after a very long trip with 4 small children. It is a fabulous location and despite all the homes being connected we never heard anyone else (and I hope they didn't hear us). The hot tub was the icing on the cake! Thank you for making our holiday stress-free (well as stress-free as possible).



The Best

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You've stayed at the rest now stay at the best.
Nothing is too much trouble for them, from asking for a slow cook to dog towel being provided.
This is our second stay and we will be back.




Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are simply perfect in every possible way. They are well thought out in beautiful surroundings. This was our second visit to the cottages and they are extremely good. Would recommend anyone to visit as both holidays were a delight.
Thank you and look forward to visiting again.




Fantastic gen of accomodation

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we were looking for accomodation for a break away we needed disabled facilities as well as somewhere which would allow dogs. Sundew cottage was perfect!! Beautifully decorated , spacious with everything anyone would want for a break away or even a home environment!! We were able to request disabled aids ich were left in the cottage for us at no extra cost. The cottages were beautifully rural however close enough to towns etc to have fun days out. Mum and Dad had a wonderful break and our dog did too!! With beautiful countryside, and fab dog walks. Everything had been thought of, down to a welcome pack for humans and dogs alike. The individual garden with hot tub was that extra luxury that you wouldn't get in other holiday accomodation with so many other extras. Highly recommend!!!



LOVELY STAY AT WALLOPS WOOD SUNDEW

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Wallops Wood previously, we knew what to expect and we were not disappointed. The cottage 'Sundew' was spotless, everything you could possibly need is there. The hot tub was excellent and very well maintained. The only suggestion I would make is to ban smoking on the patio and garden area as second hand smoke entering your cottage or whilst you are eating outside is not acceptable, there is plenty of open space outside in the playing field. Overall the holiday was excellent and you cannot fault the property or management.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would definately recommend Wallop Wood. Having a mother in law who is not very mobile, the bungalow catered her every need. She could enjoy the stay as much as we could.



Peaceful Hampshire

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So well equipped and comfortable. Easy reach of many places of interest as well as the Hampshire coastline.



Large famiily holiday for 50th Birthday

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently hired out two of the apartments for a large family holiday (14 of us) . 8 of us in Hedgehunter 6 in Sundew. Both lovely apartments finished to a high standard. En-suites were just right to save the rush for the bathroom in the morning. A very well equiped kitchen - also provided all your essentials, tea, coffee, sugar, tea towels, washing up liquid, salt, pepper and a lovely welcome gift of bread, cake, wine etc. Views from the hot tub are amazing and well sheltered from your neigbours by the bushes in between.
Slighly of the beaten track so most places are a car journey away, but a nice lunchtime walk to the pub is also possible, but not after dark.
The whole family loved it from young to old and would highly recommend it to anyone




Excellent for a family get together

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all five cottages in the main block for a family celebration. The manager, Liz Horn, was very helpful, arranging for an extra table in Hedgehunter for the party buffet. Everything was perfect and I would have no hesitation in recommending Wallops Wood - in fact I already have. The hot tubs were a great success! I only wish we could have stayed longer.



Excellent !!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I've been at Wallops Wood for five weeks now (the last two at Sundew) and have nothing but praise for the whole set-up.

Everyone is helpful and considerate, all the goodies are fantastic - who could ask for more?




A great few days at Sundew.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a wonderful few days at Wallops Wood. The location was stunning and sitting in the hot tub watching the view or the stars was so relaxing. Sundew was clean and well resourced and they even provided a bed for the dog. Our only niggle was that the mattresses were a little hard so we had a few nights uncomfortable sleep. That is down to personal preferences though so other people might find that a bonus. We would love to stay again and explore the area further as there is lots to see,
A great few days. Thank you.




Lovely, modern, comfortable.....

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed two nights with colleagues for a business meeting and had a very nice few days. Very well laid out and comfortable. Would most certainly use again. Thanks!



Fabulous

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're thinking of booking wallops wood..I suggest you just do it..it's amazing..and unless there is something wrong with you..you won't be disappointed..the owner and staff were brill..and the home cooked lasagna and cottage pie were delicious and much appreciated after a exploring the wonderful sites in and around Portsmouth.



Sundew cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Sundew for a long weekend and had a super time.

The cottage was kitted out to a very high spec but also included welcoming homely touches like milk in the fridge and a home made cake. There were even some doggie treats left for our pet.

The hot tub in the garden was lovely and warm and was a real treat especially in the lights at night.

The bedrooms were all a good size with almost all en-suite