FB Twitter

South Bells Shiel

South Bells Shiel

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


South Bells Shiel slps 2/5
One of our "fishing cottages" South Bells is well placed to enjoy our rod fishing. Sits on the river bank a "stone throw" from the water, with stunning views up and down the Tweed. You will be entertained by the amazing array of riverside wildlife...Oyster Catchers, Herons, Kingfishers, otters,deer,badgers to name but a few. It is accessed along a short private track, and has a fully fenced garden,garden furniture and barbeque.

Stay at Bellshiel

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t wait to go back . It’s the best location I’ve ever been to . You can have perfect peace and privacy or within 10 mins your in the lovely town of Berick on tweed . Best of all worlds . I am looking forward to my next visit . We both enjoyed our stay enormously



Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic location. Smart decor. Comfortable and full of character. Wildlife and sheep everywhere. Good walking



Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a special place, in a great location right on the banks of the River Tweed. Comfortable cottage, lots of wildlife and lots of things to do.



Superb

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay every year in this beautiful cottage as a means to escape our busy lives. Its very peaceful and submerged in nature, Carol is a fantastic host



A jewel by the Tweed

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place to take time out from the busy world. Views to die for. A little jewel by the River Tweed.

You can spend hours watching the wildlife.
Stunning sunsets to enjoy along with the fresh clean air.

South Bells is very cute and cosy. The fire is a roaring delight.

A perfect treat for a break away.




home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying at West Ord Cottages for the past 13 years. I have never been disappointed in the accommodation hence my yearly visit.



Fantastic cosy cottage on the banks of the River Tweed

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at West Ord, and it was every bit as good as the first. Highly recommended.



A very relaxing break!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at West Ord having been recommended by friends who have stayed on many occasions. I have no criticism and the couple of issues we raised were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Our host Carole was welcoming and helpful with lots of local knowledge.



Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every year we stay for a weekend and still absolutely love it. We never tire of the scenery or cosiness of the cottage. We'll all be there again next year



The ultimate experience

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What makes West Ord Cottages so special is its unique location right at the bank of the river, the surrounding nature, the comfortable, well-kept and perfectly equipped cottage and the lovely hosts, who help and assist in any way to make your vacation the ultimate experience. Is there anything better than sitting at the fire with your beloved ones after a day of flyfishing, all exhausted and still excited about the next day‘s adventures?



fishing dream

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
love this been a few times now never changes has the same effect , its so peacefull you don't need to be fishing to enjoy your stay its the hole package whatever your pleasure



Nice Location on the banks of the Tweed

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed stay and for September the weather wasnt bad really. Stunning location on the river saw otters fishing on the gravel banks as the tide turned. Never tried the fishing as only had sea fishing tackle with me but looked promising and will be better prepared next time. Cottage was more than adequate for our needs was clean and tidy with plenty of bedding etc. 100's of seabirds turned up every day, just a really nice secluded spot to relax and recharge the batteries.If you go out of season like we did gets a bit chilly on a night so log burner was a bonus.



Tranquil setting

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to this property set in the most beautiful and peaceful location.
The River Tweed is upon your doorstep, salmon and trout leaping, heron and Egret fishing and if you are lucky otters dipping and diving...
The property itself is a charming fishing shiel well equipped for a layed back holiday or the fishing enthusiast.
Carol and family are welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Set 3 miles from Berwick-upon-Tweed, with it's amenities, supermarkets and history.
Highly recommended.
Karen & Ben from Suffolk.




Peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful place to stay.
First thing we noticed on arrival was how clean everything was. Spotless. We took 3 small children and they were very safe by the river with the fencing.
We will be visiting again.




south bells shiel

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely excellent location both to stay at and also explore the surrounding areas. We have stayed here a number of times and every holiday has gone far too quickly. The fact that their are no neighbours and you are much closer to nature make this a perfect spot for relaxing. Carol Lang, Sandy and Jim are the easiest people to deal with and they do all they can to make you stay as comfortable as possible. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at south Bells to anyone, you will not be disappointed and if you do go please say hello to the otters for us.



A great spot

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is comfortable and in a fantastic location on the banks of the River Tweed. The open fire in the evenings was very welcome, as the weather was quite cold. The owners are very friendly and helpful.



A hidden paradise in the North East

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The website doesn't do this justice, the cottage is stone walled, stone floor, beams upstairs and down stairs an original wood burning fire all set in a beautiful location. Tranquil an escape from everyday life a place to recharge your batteries. Carol is very friendly, she explained about the area and information leaflets are in the cottage.I thought the flowers when you walk into the cottage is a lovely touch. The cottage is very clean and well equipped everything is there to make your stay perfect.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Mandy thank you for taking the time to review us, it was lovely to meet you and your family, and I am delighted you all enjoyed your time at West Ord.

The sound of silence.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break in October, the only thing that broke the silence in four days was the practise runs of the geese prior to migration. What a sight at dusk hundreds of them in tight formations, wave after wave. A superb cottage in a superb location.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Graham and Norma, it was lovely to see you again after so many years, and delighted you enjoyed your time at West Ord.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adore this place and have been coming for over 20 years. Every year sees the same excellent standard. It's a real gem



our favourite place

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location alongside river. Plenty of birdlife along river. Close to Berwick. A great place



A wonderful break!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had been told what a wonderful spot South Bells Shiel was and it more than fulfilled the recommendation. I have never stayed in a more beautiful spot with the water right outside the front door, the birds on the water in the mornings, the sheep in the field and a terrific feeling of peace and tranquillity. The cottage was very comfortable, very well equipped and the whole week's holiday just was a marvellous way of re-charging batteries after the hustle and bustle of day to day living. We had a fantastic time and would love to return before too long. Thank you for a great escape!



Tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and relaxing, away from it all although much to do in the surrounding area.
This our sixth time to this beautiful place.
Friendly and helpful hosts.

Karen and Ben from Suffolk