FB Twitter

South Bells Shiel

South Bells Shiel

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 58 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


South Bells Shiel slps 2/5
One of our "fishing cottages" South Bells is well placed to enjoy our rod fishing. Sits on the river bank a "stone throw" from the water, with stunning views up and down the Tweed. You will be entertained by the amazing array of riverside wildlife...Oyster Catchers, Herons, Kingfishers, otters,deer,badgers to name but a few. It is accessed along a short private track, and has a fully fenced garden,garden furniture and barbeque.

A Magical place

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming many years to West Ord and find the cottage so peaceful and beautiful. Carol and Sandy are amazing hosts



Repeat visit

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay and chill. Basic but comfortable. Rustic and charming. I go for the fishing and my wife goes for the peace and quiet and wildlife




Another amazing week at West Ord!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to wonderful West Ord and second visit to South Bells Shiel. The location is just incredible right on the river bank of the Tweed with ever changing views, wildlife, skies and of course the weather! The Shiel is lovely and has everything you need and a great base to explore the wilds of Northumberland or just switch off, relax and enjoy what is on the doorstep!

We will be back again!
Thank you Carol




another excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't remember how many times we have been here, but it never fails to disappoint. Clean, comfortable, and right on the banks of the river Tweed, with some lovely beaches nearby. Carol and Sandy are the perfect hosts.



Carol replied 129 days ago
Thank you for your kind review David, and your follow up email of distress, that you said "never fails to disappoint", when you meant "never fails to please", it was kind of you to want to change it. As always it was great to see you and the family all back for another West Ord visit, and were delighted you all enjoyed it.

Amazing ❤️

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at South Bells Shiel was so amazing! We stayed here many times before and came back this year with all our kids and grandkids and had the best time! We loved seeing the Lang family again and all the beautiful places in the area. There is something really special about South Bells Shiel. We enjoyed it so much! Wouldn't change a thing! Can absolutely recommend it ❤️



Peace and Privacy

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to visit because my partner had grown up in the area and had stayed at the cottage many times before. He always talked about the cottage and the river with such affection and after a few hectic months, we both needed to recharge and just breathe! It was everything he had described and more. It was out of the way from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and it felt like we had stepped back in time. I really don't like to be surrounded by noise and people when I'm on holiday, so if you're wanting to mix and mingle with people, this really isn't the place to stay! Although, I made exceptions for the sheep - they are the most delightful companions and I could have spent all day just watching them go about their day. The cottage is stocked with everything you need - I had brought an iron as I wasn't sure they had one, but there is and a portable ironing board. The WIFI signal was brilliant, so I could listen to all my saved up podcasts and movies. There was a great stock of wood and kindling for the fire - although I could have lived without the lovely glow as it was a warm week, but it was lovely all the same. The bedroom is up a narrow metal staircase, so if you have mobility issues, you may struggle, but once you're up there, the views from the Velux window is sublime - we spent so much time watching the salmon going up and down - it was a real treat to see. The bed was huge, with lovely bedding and we slept soundly. The shower room is on the ground floor and was ideal for when we came in from the river dripping wet. If you've got kayaks or boats - take them with you, but make sure to check the tides. I didn't brave the boat this time, but did have a couple of swims - there really is nothing like it. We got to sit outside with our wine and watch the sun set and it was captivating. If you're looking for a quiet break with your beau - this is just the place - privacy and peace to enjoy being together. If you've got little people - they will love the proximity to the river and they will be safe, as the cottage is enclosed by a fence. Nearby is the beautiful town of Berwick and all of it's history - I didn't realise LS Lowry had stayed here - there's a great walk around the town taking in the places he stayed. It's a short car ride up to St Abbs and down to Bamburgh and Lindesfarne - and they have beaches that rival the best in the world. Thank you for such a lovely place to stay and we look forward to coming back soon.



South Bells

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week by the majestic Tweed went all too soon, it always seems this way when staying at West Ord. South Bells Shiel is like looking into the past, I could imagine weary salmon netsmen sheltering here, having boxed up dozens of salmon for the London train., and on to Billingsgate market.
We saw salmon running through the shallow waters outside the cottage. Catching them on rod and line proved very difficult. I enjoyed fishing every evening, after trips out to various local places of interest. This type of holiday beats a foreign break hands-down for me.




Fantastic location & very cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accomodation was spotlessly clean as always.
Everything you could ever need and more has been thought of and provided.
Peace and tranquility by the bucket full, just what we needed.
Great stay!.




I'm coming to South Bells since 1998 year by year ( Covid exception) Anymore questions?????

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place for me is much more than beeing off for Holiday.some kind of rural magic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DEfenitly



A week by the river

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South bells shiel has many positives and few negatives. I have visited the same place on and off over fifteen years and can say that over this time it has not changed much and also I would not have returned so many times if I had not enjoyed my visits. This is due to the effort that the owners have put in to keep the inside as it looks outside on the theme of a "small cottage by the river". Therefore to anyone who is interested in this cottage I would say that the negative points may be that; the beds (except for two) are sofa beds which may be an issue for some. The cottage is quite basic but still completely adequate for a week or two. There is also the fact that it is on a farm and so that may also be an issue for some. The positives and there are many are that it offers a degree of isolation and therefore privacy. The clean fresh air that comes from being near the sea. The opportunity to see and be near to wildlife and nature. In summary of the value for money which is an issue in these troubled times, I would say that the majority of people who stay here would say that it offers very good value for money because of its location and its proximity to many places of interest and things to see and do.



Comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The first thing that catches your attention as you approach the accommodation is the beautiful location. On the banks of the River Tweed, some distance away from other houses and cottages, we saw only the occasional walker or fisherman on the river and the rest of the time were kept company by the sheep which graze around the cottage. The internal accommodation was cosy and we found the beds comfortable – we used the double bed and the sofa bed in the bedroom. Furnishings were as you would expect for a cottage in a country location with clean but rather basic kitchen area being the only minor inconvenience. The owners were friendly and helpful, despite us arriving late to pick up the key. There are many lovely places to visit within a driving distance of about 30 minutes. A boat trip around the Farne Islands from Seahouses was a highlight for us but Bamburgh Castle and the beach in front of it are worth a visit too. However, the setting of the cottage itself is so pretty that we felt that wherever we had been during the week, returning to our accommodation was still a highlight. We will certainly hope to visit again.



A stay by the river

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at 2 of the other cottages before and had seen this one on the side of the river and decided to book. This trip was delayed from 2 years ago.
Easy to book with a very good web site and details of the cottages.
Very comfortable with everything you would want including a log fire.
Very peaceful looking at the wildlife along the river including many different birds and a seal!!
Lots to do in the area or just read a book by the river.
Thanks again , Carol, for a wonderful stay in an amazing area.




Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at West Ord farm many times, it feels like you're coming home. Always a warm welcome, and lots of peace and quiet. Our son loves the area, especially fishing on the Tweed. We can't wait to book our next stay.



South Bells Shiel

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most relaxing break in a great cottage. Super location and if solitude is sought, this is the cottage for you. Carol and Sandy were excellent hosts and are nearby to offer help and advice, if needed. We really enjoyed our week.



Peace and Tranquillity

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very peaceful location, with lovely walks beside the river, a great place to unwind and relax and enjoy. The cottage is very cosy with very comfortable chairs/sofa, including the most comfortable bed that we have slept in for a long time.
The old open fire was great and just added to the ambiance and feel of the cottage, also great to have an endless supply of wood.
In all, a very welcoming homely cottage, would fully recommend.




Lovely few days away

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a lovely few days stay at South Bells Shiel cottage on West Ord Farm. The cottage was perfect, very clean and all the facilities you need are provided for your stay. The location is amazing, right on the verge of the River Tweed. Carol Lang the owner is lovely and so helpful. She also recommended some lovely places to dine out too. Would definitely recommend a stay here. We will definitely return.



Fishing on your doorstep

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for an idyllic break. Carol and Sandy are great hosts. A converted fishing shiel which is comfortable and welcoming. Stayed 3 times so far and will be back again. Salmon fishing on your doorstep on a tidal stretch of the Tweed with some great water between tides.



Fantastic as ever

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have lost count of the number of visits, and everything was perfect, as usual. Sandy and Carol are the perfect hosts.



Wonderful holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had another amazing holiday in South Bells Shiel, it was cleaned to a very high standard had everything you needed while away, Carol and Sandy are always on hand to help of you need anything, and the Shiel is in such an amazing location right at the side of the river so relaxing, we can't wait to go back again next year thank you.



Fantastic break.

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival I noted the cottage had been cleaned to a very high standard.
Everything you could ever require was in place and I could not wish for anymore.
Beautiful surroundings and enjoyed a really peaceful and relaxing stay, upstairs bed was lovely, lay in till 9:15 am Sunday, definitely not me!.
Will be booking for next year.
Arthur.




Lovely cottage in amazing location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our holiday in this wonderful location on the banks of the Tweed. Enjoyed sitting outside watching the wildlife and going for walks along the riverbank. Cottage very comfortable for two, but any more would be a challenge. Thoroughly enjoyed it and would come again.



Relax or Not

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
South Bells has a lot to offer, whether its a sanctuary or a spot that's just a bit closer to nature than most. The town is a short drive away and there are plenty of things to do and see in striking distance to make your holiday complete.



very pleasantly surprised that wi-fi was also available. Delighted with everything.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything needed to enable us to enjoy our stay was provided, including hair dryer, iron, towels sufficient bedding and much more. Exceeded our expectations, thank you.



Fabulous location!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really enjoyable week (2 adults and 2 children) at the cottage. Fabulous location with lovely walks along the river, Berwick close by and many other places to see within a one hour drive. Would definitely recommend!



Wonderfully relaxing break

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stay in this charming little Shiel with stunning views of both the countryside and the river was just the tonic we needed after being ‘confined to quarters’ at home during this last strange year. Lovely walks and places to visit nearby. We did, however, just enjoy time spent sitting in the garden with a glass of wine whilst watching sheep, birds and the river. You can also spend time fishing just yards from the cottage. The shiel contained everything we could possibly need and was immaculately clean. Carol and Sandy Lang are the perfect hosts - friendly, helpful and full of local knowledge. We will return.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
So lovely to see you both back again, and thank you for taking time to review your stay. Delighted it was a tonic after "lockdown", we do indeed have plenty of wildlife to entertain, as you enjoy the river bank.

Location, location, location!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to West Ord and it did not disappoint. Super cottage in such a fabulous location and Carol is a great host! We most certainly will be back again!



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us again Emma, so lovely to see you back at West Ord, l wish the weather would have been a bit warmer for you though. Hope to see you again.

Another great stay at West Ord

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another outstanding stay ( I think this was our fifth time at South Bells Shiel.) The cottage and the whole experience was fantastic, as ever. Many thanks to Carol and Sandy.



Lovely as usual.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weather, lovely cottage, South Bells sheill was as beautiful as ever and a bonus was the cool evenings which meant we could have the log fire going. Would absolutely recommend.



excellent week

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
as usual cottage and location excellent.and owners very helpful.unfortunately fishing was poor but that was due to river conditions at the time.



A relaxing week

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at West Ord - beautiful scenery, walks and wildlife made it a relaxing stay.



Week in South Bells Shiel

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, spotlessly clean and all covid rules applied. Enjoyed the traditional atmosphere the cottage provided with warmth and comfort.
Fantastic hosts and I would strongly recommend a stay at West Ord cottages.




Excellent South Bell Shiel

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had the most amazing two weeks at South Bells Shiel, from arrival to departure, the cottage was obviously cleaned to a very high standard with everything in it you need, very comfortable very welcoming it felt like home from home. The view from the cottage is just simply stunning we loved sitting in the garden watching the river and wildlife, we did not want to leave and will definitely be back again thank you West Ord.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Sarah Jane, you are a great customer to have, along with you lovely family, it is always a pleasure to have you staying with us, and we delighted you enjoyed your recent stay in South Besll Shiel, looking forward to seeing next summer.

A perfect escape

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful location for a post lockdown getaway. Ideal if you don't want to be bothered by anything but also only ten minutes from Tesco and Berwick-upon-Tweed. Carol and Sandy will give you a warm welcome and do their best to make your stay a memorable one. I spent most of the week fishing and had some good sport. Being tidal water it is only fishable for parts of the day, which changes daily.
This was our second stay and there will definitely be a third




j ridge

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
beautiful river location and wonderful cottage everything you need . lots of wild life and great walks and beaches near by.



west ord cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay, cottage situated right next to the river, clean tidy, very friendly and helpful.
Thanks




Relaxing week away

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. So peaceful.
Carol and Sandy are wonderful hosts, we are really looking forward to our next visit.




Stay at Bellshiel

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can’t wait to go back . It’s the best location I’ve ever been to . You can have perfect peace and privacy or within 10 mins your in the lovely town of Berick on tweed . Best of all worlds . I am looking forward to my next visit . We both enjoyed our stay enormously



Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic location. Smart decor. Comfortable and full of character. Wildlife and sheep everywhere. Good walking



Another fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a special place, in a great location right on the banks of the River Tweed. Comfortable cottage, lots of wildlife and lots of things to do.



Superb

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay every year in this beautiful cottage as a means to escape our busy lives. Its very peaceful and submerged in nature, Carol is a fantastic host



A jewel by the Tweed

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place to take time out from the busy world. Views to die for. A little jewel by the River Tweed.

You can spend hours watching the wildlife.
Stunning sunsets to enjoy along with the fresh clean air.

South Bells is very cute and cosy. The fire is a roaring delight.

A perfect treat for a break away.




home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been staying at West Ord Cottages for the past 13 years. I have never been disappointed in the accommodation hence my yearly visit.



Fantastic cosy cottage on the banks of the River Tweed

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at West Ord, and it was every bit as good as the first. Highly recommended.



A very relaxing break!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at West Ord having been recommended by friends who have stayed on many occasions. I have no criticism and the couple of issues we raised were dealt with quickly and efficiently. Our host Carole was welcoming and helpful with lots of local knowledge.



Fantastic weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every year we stay for a weekend and still absolutely love it. We never tire of the scenery or cosiness of the cottage. We'll all be there again next year



The ultimate experience

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What makes West Ord Cottages so special is its unique location right at the bank of the river, the surrounding nature, the comfortable, well-kept and perfectly equipped cottage and the lovely hosts, who help and assist in any way to make your vacation the ultimate experience. Is there anything better than sitting at the fire with your beloved ones after a day of flyfishing, all exhausted and still excited about the next day‘s adventures?



fishing dream

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
love this been a few times now never changes has the same effect , its so peacefull you don't need to be fishing to enjoy your stay its the hole package whatever your pleasure



Nice Location on the banks of the Tweed

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed stay and for September the weather wasnt bad really. Stunning location on the river saw otters fishing on the gravel banks as the tide turned. Never tried the fishing as only had sea fishing tackle with me but looked promising and will be better prepared next time. Cottage was more than adequate for our needs was clean and tidy with plenty of bedding etc. 100's of seabirds turned up every day, just a really nice secluded spot to relax and recharge the batteries.If you go out of season like we did gets a bit chilly on a night so log burner was a bonus.



Tranquil setting

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to this property set in the most beautiful and peaceful location.
The River Tweed is upon your doorstep, salmon and trout leaping, heron and Egret fishing and if you are lucky otters dipping and diving...
The property itself is a charming fishing shiel well equipped for a layed back holiday or the fishing enthusiast.
Carol and family are welcoming, friendly and helpful.
Set 3 miles from Berwick-upon-Tweed, with it's amenities, supermarkets and history.
Highly recommended.
Karen & Ben from Suffolk.




Peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful place to stay.
First thing we noticed on arrival was how clean everything was. Spotless. We took 3 small children and they were very safe by the river with the fencing.
We will be visiting again.




south bells shiel

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely excellent location both to stay at and also explore the surrounding areas. We have stayed here a number of times and every holiday has gone far too quickly. The fact that their are no neighbours and you are much closer to nature make this a perfect spot for relaxing. Carol Lang, Sandy and Jim are the easiest people to deal with and they do all they can to make you stay as comfortable as possible. I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at south Bells to anyone, you will not be disappointed and if you do go please say hello to the otters for us.



A great spot

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is comfortable and in a fantastic location on the banks of the River Tweed. The open fire in the evenings was very welcome, as the weather was quite cold. The owners are very friendly and helpful.



A hidden paradise in the North East

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The website doesn't do this justice, the cottage is stone walled, stone floor, beams upstairs and down stairs an original wood burning fire all set in a beautiful location. Tranquil an escape from everyday life a place to recharge your batteries. Carol is very friendly, she explained about the area and information leaflets are in the cottage.I thought the flowers when you walk into the cottage is a lovely touch. The cottage is very clean and well equipped everything is there to make your stay perfect.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Mandy thank you for taking the time to review us, it was lovely to meet you and your family, and I am delighted you all enjoyed your time at West Ord.

The sound of silence.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break in October, the only thing that broke the silence in four days was the practise runs of the geese prior to migration. What a sight at dusk hundreds of them in tight formations, wave after wave. A superb cottage in a superb location.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Graham and Norma, it was lovely to see you again after so many years, and delighted you enjoyed your time at West Ord.

Excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We adore this place and have been coming for over 20 years. Every year sees the same excellent standard. It's a real gem



our favourite place

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location alongside river. Plenty of birdlife along river. Close to Berwick. A great place



A wonderful break!

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had been told what a wonderful spot South Bells Shiel was and it more than fulfilled the recommendation. I have never stayed in a more beautiful spot with the water right outside the front door, the birds on the water in the mornings, the sheep in the field and a terrific feeling of peace and tranquillity. The cottage was very comfortable, very well equipped and the whole week's holiday just was a marvellous way of re-charging batteries after the hustle and bustle of day to day living. We had a fantastic time and would love to return before too long. Thank you for a great escape!



Tranquility

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful and relaxing, away from it all although much to do in the surrounding area.
This our sixth time to this beautiful place.
Friendly and helpful hosts.

Karen and Ben from Suffolk