FB Twitter

Little Walk Cottage

Little Walk Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 61 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Little Walk Cottage is situated near Thorganby Hall Farm. Set in the rural tranquillity of the Lincolnshire Wolds, this superbly converted brick and pantile range of stables, which sleeps 4, delightfully combines modern comfort with the charm of original features including a log burning stove and a stunning oak and glazed Garden Room. Enjoying glorious views across rolling countryside and surrounded by quiet lanes, it is a haven for walkers and cyclists. The Georgian town of Louth, Lincoln's cobbled streets and soaring cathedral, antique centres, bird reserves, farmers' markets and seaside resorts are all an easy drive away. The local pub is a mile away and the local shop in Binbrook is 3 miles from the property.

Second visit!

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very special place with beautiful scenery and wildlife which is also extremely peaceful and quiet. A great place to relax and unwind and escape from the chaos of modern life. Lots and lots of unspoilt countryside to explore with so many pretty villages, churches and historical heritage. Always sad to leave but hope it’s not too long before we return. Emma and James and family are so kind and thoughtful and make you feel very welcome. If you love the countryside and farming life and feel you need a complete break and change of scenery then Little Walk Cottage is the perfect place!



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really beautiful cottage, tastefully converted and well equipped. Warm and comfortable. Lovely peaceful location with good views. We had never visited the Wolds before but enjoyed exploring and found some great walks both locally and further afield.

Highly recommended.




relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had an enjoyable stay at Little Walk Cottage. A lovely, well equipped cottage, in beautiful surroundings. We will definitely return next year.



'Half-term break'

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Holiday utopia hidden away in the un-spoilt Lincolnshire Wolds.
The view from Little Walk Cottage is truly magical!
With the ravine in the woodland and the buzzards circling above, the Lincoln Reds grazing on the grasses, the trout-lake with it's geese, ducks and heron and the rolling plains of arable stretching to the horizon is a real eyeful.
The October sunshine was un-seasonally warm and the sunsets and the full moon a real bonus.
Fly-fishing on the lake provided several hours of therapy along with great results and I can highly recommend it to kindred fisherman.
The Cottage is spacious and airy with it's conservatory and doors opening on to the terrace and yet warm and cosy on a night with the wood-burner and the living kitchen space.
Everything was there kitchen-wise with complimentary wine and milk, along with plenty of logs and the heating is very efficient.
The bathrooms are well appointed and the bedrooms are very spacious.
It has been a very memorable stay and we are looking forward to our next visit.




Strongly recommended!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Little Walk Cottage is a converted stable block on a working farm, away from other buildings and with its own grassy area (ideal for children and dogs). At harvest time, the fan of the farm's grain drier is audible, but not disturbing. The interior is exceptionally comfortable - furnished to a high standard, and very well equipped. The local area, the Lincolnshire Wolds, is the most attractive part of the county, but shorter or longer drives are required if you want to see some of the places of historical interest, e.g. Lincoln Cathedral and Tattershall Castle.

The cottage's owners are friendly and helpful - and in two minor crises we had, involving a jammed car boot and a lost purse, we encountered local people who were real good Samaritans!




Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful extended stay in excellent facilities and surroundings. Everything provided and thought of



65

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Surroundings area of cottage for me is not good no shops no pub and roads in bad condition.Poor signage to find cottage .No Wi-Fi or GPS signal.



Emma Milligan-Manby replied 270 days ago
Dear John I was very sorry to read your comments regarding Little Walk Cottage. We have a pub in the village called the Click'em Inn, which is in fact a nice walk from the cottage and they serve good beer. There are plenty of other pubs a short drive away and all this is noted in the Helpful Information File. We also tell our guests before their arrival that there are no shops in Thorganby, so they should come prepared as shops in Waltham, Binbrook and Caistor require a short car journey. The wifi is generally very good. A phone call during your stay could have helped us rectify this if there were any network issues. We sent you travel directions with your pre-arrival information which normally leads our guests straight to the cottage. I realise that on this occasion the directions didn't work for you which we were very sorry to hear about. I absolutely agree with you over the roads and we do spend a lot of time grumbling to the Council about this. The Council have carried out quite a lot of work in our village over the past few months, which is helping to improve things. I do hope that despite these comments you enjoyed your stay at Little Walk Cottage. Kind regards Emma

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable property, very thoughtful hosts, milk and wine in fridge when we arrived.
It is a remote location but that's what we wanted, would recommend.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent quality cottage. Peaceful, beautiful location. Wildlife and birds at the door. Very helpful owners. We had a great fortnight.



Beautiful cottage in peaceful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our week at Little Walk Cottage. Clean, comfortable little converted barn with a lovely sunroom looking down a hill, between some trees to an oxbow lake. We saw the local barn owl most days, and a weasel even wandered past one afternoon, never seen one in the wild before. Open fire to relax by in the evenings, all wood provided. Plenty of seating and lighting. It's a bit of a drive to any shops, but thats part of the charm, it's quiet and secluded, and it's only about 25 mins to a large Tesco Extra, less to a co-op. The bedrooms are lovely, there's plenty of parking. Nothing to complain about at all, and I generally try to find something. Highly recommended.



We had a lovely comfortable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its a beautiful barn with lovely sunset views, the cottage was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. It had lots of wildlife that we enjoyed watching from the sun room. We had a wonderful stay with our dog.



Little walk cottage October 2017

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage in brilliant surroundings. It was a pleasure to stay, everything is high quality with Emma and her team on hand to solve any problems. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Highly recommended !!



IDYLLIC COTTAGE

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a lovely location with all the home comforts,and more, that you could wish for.



Lovely cottage, nicely furnished warm and comfortable.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Little Walk Cottage itself was very nice off the beaten track near the farm. Our only problem was that the whole time we were there the grain dryer was blasting away 24/7 in the direction of the cottage, and the drone was constant, which meant that we couldn't really sit outside on the terrace which would have been lovely as the weather was nice, but we did make a lot of use of the garden room which was not as noisy and also there was a terrific smell of manure around the cottage for about 4days, which was apparently the neighbouring farm. We may be more sensitive to background noise than most as we live in a rural location, but I did choose this cottage from the reviews that it was a peaceful location.....but not at this time of year obviously. Also We did not have any contact with the owners until our last evening as they said that they had been away for a few days but we felt that It would have been nice,knowing that the dryer was on, for someone to ask if it was a disturbance to us, which it was. I feel that for us what could have been a lovely cottage experience was spoiled by a lack of consideration to the paying customers and I did say when asked that had we been informed of the dryer when we booked, only a couple of weeks earlier, we would have reconsidered



Emma Milligan-Manby replied more than 1 year ago
Firstly I must apologise for not coming to see you earlier in your stay. The fact that I was on holiday is no excuse, I should have asked one of my team to pop in and visit you. Omitting to do this no doubt added to your dissatisfaction with the dryer issue. I have asked James to revisit a noise baffling system which we discussed the night before you left. Because the dryer noise isn't a consistent problem throughout the year, it has been overlooked, but I am grateful that you have mentioned it and extremely sorry that it spoilt your stay at Little Walk Cottage. I have taken your criticism on board and will try and do something about it. We always try where possible to resolve guest's issues during their stay and would like to mention to other potential guests reading this review and response, that I am only a phone call or text message away. In my absence I have an excellent housekeeping team, headed up by Alison, who is fully capable of responding to guests' concerns.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxed stay at the cottage. It had everything you could need and was well laid out. It had plenty of space for a family of four and one small dog.



Little Walk Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to relax and get away from it all. A rural idyll that isn't too far from town, if you still need to use one!i



Hard to think of a more beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely well equipped cottage in a lovely quiet setting with a garden room to bring the outside in even if it is raining.



Beautiful peaceful cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a lovely stay in a beautiful cottage. We will soon return.
We have visited many times and never been disappointed. As soon as we go through the front door we immediately relax.




All excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was lovely
The cottage was lovely The countryside was wonderful
We had a lovely welcome




Last Minute Easter Break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky that they had a last minute cancellation, otherwise I am sure we would have had to have booked much earlier for our short Easter break.
Cottage was lovely & just as described with lots of nice touches such as wine & Easter eggs awaiting our arrival & a supply of board games to keep us entertained.
Thoroughly enjoyed our short trip to this beautiful part of the country - visited Louth & Cleethorpes where we sampled the local fish & chips & collected sea glass on the beach.




'Food for the soul'

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful family stay at Little Walk Cottage with our two children this week. My in laws were staying in nearby Lincoln and came to drop off my husband's telescope to have a look through during our stay and my FIL described the view perfectly as 'food for the soul.' Emma has put in lots of lovely touches in the cottage and some very useful ones too. Our little ones enjoyed walking to chat with the cows everyday and it was so peaceful to recharge our batteries. Thank you we hope to come back again sometime but we might try the beach cottage for our next visit to Lincolnshire.



A comfortable base for exploring North Lincs

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week here in March. The cottage is very tastefully furnished, warm and comfortable. It was a great base for exploring North Lincs, and a visit to Hull City of Culture 2017.



a lovely weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual we had a perfect weekend at Little Walk Cottage. We can't fault the location or comfort of the cottage and will be returning for our sixth visit soon.

Bob and Jill Neal
Kenilworth




Lovely Cottage set in a perfect location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose little walk for its location to areas we wished to visit, it was very inviting after a long drive, and so nice to have the welcome of the conservatory lamps, as it was very dark, such a nice thought. We had comfortable stay, very good facilities, and extremely comfy bed! Will definatly return one day, and certainly recommend little walk.



Made us want to try the Beach house

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property, surroundings and owner all delightful.
An enclosed garden would spoil this property but easier with two dogs, although ours do not tend to wander.
Not at all surprised to learn that an Interior Designer had been involved!




Quiet and cosy

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent quiet location on a working farm - but you wouldn't know it. Situated in its own plot away from any part of the farm so no cow pats or speeding tractors to worry about!!! It has its own access gravel driveway and plenty of parking space directly outside the cottage. The cottage is a converted farm building but you'd never know, it sits amongst mature flower planting, grass and hedgerow on a slope and commands a great view across to a lake and the distant countryside.
You enter the cottage and are straight into an airy and spacious beamed high ceiling living/dining/kitchen area. To the far left are the steps down to the conservatory which is a great place to sit at the end of a busy sightseeing day and if it's really good weather you can open up the doors and sit outside with the table and chairs on the large patio area, there is also a brick barbie to the side of this. Back through the living area there is a step up into a corridor with bathroom and seperate shower room to the right, another step up to twin bedroom on right and at the end is the large double bedroom.
It's a regular home from home with loads of crockery and glasses and more cooking implements than you could shake a stick at. Loads of electrical kit - washing machine, dishwasher, fridge/freezer, microwave etc etc - it's all there if you need it. Enough seating for five, large dining table and four chairs, decent TV, outgoing pay phone - which may be handy as mobile signals are very hit and miss as is the Internet which comes and goes as it pleases, but hey, you're on holiday!!!!
The twin beds are a bit springy but comfortable and the duvets have a mind of their own. The double is comfortable. On the downside the wardrobes are furnished with what I term as "car aerial" hangers, totally useless for hanging anything on, we nipped out and purchased some cheap wooden ones. Also there are no cleaning materials available e.g. Bath and loo cleaner.
If you go at harvest time the grain dryer will be operating all day and night but to be honest you don't notice it as the property is double glazed plus the noise is not that bad and merges into the background. As the property is in a dark sky area you can sit outside and do the "sky at night" bit.
To sum up this is very peaceful property for those who want an away from it all break miles from anywhere with the only neighbours being long tailed tits, hares, pheasants, owls and the odd passing buzzard looking for a snack in the surrounding fields. If you have any problems the friendly owners are at the end of the phone and only to willing to sort things out for you.
Highly recommended holiday cottage




Little walk cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was in a perfect setting for us & very tranquil.
The property may need to make guests aware of all the steps inside on different floor levels for those not so agile.
We would have liked tea towels in the kitchen &an apron to use but other than that the amenities were ample for our short stay.
We enjoyed the cottage & the pretty views.
The owners were very helpful.




A real gem off the beaten track!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Little Walk is a lovely cottage, perfect for a family of 4 in rural Lincolnshire. Situated on the edge of a farm, the cottage has super views from the timber framed garden room which gets the evening sun. The interior is nicely presented, rooms are spacious (bigger than they look online) and the bathrooms super. The kitchen has all mod cons and is spacious and comfortable. The sitting room area is also comfy and benefits from a woodburner which was lovely on the one chilly night we had. A few DVDs are supplied and the cottage has wifi and a mobile signal which was perfectly OK (given the rural location). Loads of local walking around and about as well as quiet lanes for cycling (hills not for the faint hearted!). We also found a few geo-caches locally. We visited Tattershall Castle and Belton House, both a bit of a drive but great for young boys. The swimming pool in Cleethorpes ticked the boxes in terms of slide and wave machine so again, boys happy! If you are dithering, just book it!



All very good

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location peaceful clean and cosy ,we had a disable person with us and managed very well ,Lot of thought gone into detail of fittings ,and presentation , we will be back .



A lovely lodge in the country

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful lodge, great log fire, clean rooms, excellent facilities and brilliant service. We'll be back for sure. Couldn't recommend enough.



Short stay in the Lincolnshire Wolds

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid isolation, peaceful, restful - a feel good few days in a lovely part of our fabulous country and a happy place for dogs to. Even the shortness of the days doesn't detract from the enjoyment of staying at Little Walk cottage.



A country hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely comfortable cottage in a very quiet setting - ideal for a "get away from it all" break. We felt it was good value for money and would have no hesitation in booking a further week.



Wonderful hoilday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in beautiful countryside. Has a well equipped kitchen, huge comfy bed and great views. It's well placed for visiting the coast, there are excellent walks from the door including one to a lovely local pub and the Lincolnshire Wolds has loads of pretty villages to visit.
The owner is friendly and welcoming. The cottage is on a working farm so there is occasional noise (we were woken by tree cutting one morning) but except for this one instance it's not intrusive. Completely peaceful and dark at night. Returned home feeling well rested. We had an excellent holiday!




A little Gem!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Little Walk cottage and we are already planning our next so I think that says it all!
A beautiful, comfortable cottage in a lovely location. A perfect base from which to explore the local area both by foot and by car (if you can tear yourself away from the cottage). It has been very well thought out by the owners so is equipped to a high standard with everything you need for your stay. Having visited this cottage in both the winter and summer months, I can honestly say it is fantastic all year round for all the family, including the dog.
The only disappointment was having to return home!





silence in tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really liked everything: the high standard of the cosy cottage with the lovely consevatory with ist view on the pond, the comfortable beds, our hosts...



Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable and excellent property, everything you could ask for. In a beautiful and peaceful location. Emma the owner made us welcome upon arrival.



Little Walk Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There is no feed back on my top scores, as there is no room for improvement. Cleanliness 3, there was an issue with some crows dirtying the windows and garden furniture.The owners were keen to address this when we mentioned it. There were a few dead flies in the summer house, that we found when shooing a bumble bee back out. Customer service 4,we had a welcome visit on the Tuesday and found the owner more than happy to address any of the minor issues we raised, and loan us some binoculars. The welcome pack was a bottle of wine which was nice, flowers or some local produce have delighted us at other properties, the personal touch.
Condition 4, the outdoor planters were broken and when pointed out the owner brought replacements before we left, it took away from our first impression. There was a ripped curtain with some hooks missing into the summer room, and trim loose on the bathroom blind. It's a shame to have these things to mention, it takes away from an overall good impression and can easily be fixed, attention to detail makes all the difference.
Value for money 4, see above.
The location is superb, it's just when the questions are asked these are my honest responses, I hope you find it constructive.




Emma Milligan-Manby replied more than 1 year ago
Very constructive feedback thank you, as these issues are all easy to resolve.....except possibly for the crows! As my guests mentioned we managed to deliver new planters to Little Walk Cottage before they departed on the Friday, although they weren't actually planted up until after the guests had left. I have found some lovely fabric to replace the old velvet curtain with and the blind braid is being sewn back on tomorrow.

our week in may

Review submitted on Sat, 16 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location- peaceful and well equipped. Dogs loved the rural walks and we enjoyed visiting this wonderful area for the first time (rather than just passing through).
When an easterly wind blows I wonder if some form of windbreak on the paved area at the entrance door could be created?




A Special Place.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home in a stunning rural setting. Little Walk Cottage is a comfortable, quiet and relaxing place, nestled in a beautiful slice of Blighty. The only down side is that you have to leave. See you soon.



Lovely cottage in wonderful countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A neat conversion of former stables, with good sized bedrooms and benefit of separate bath and shower rooms, each with a loo. Kitchen well fitted out in all respects. Excellent views of surrounding countryside from conservatory, and although situated within a farm, the cottage was away from the activity at the end of a short track, with no farm traffic nearby or passing.

During our stay we were entranced by the activities of the local Barn Owl, which appeared in broad daylight almost every morning and evening to hunt in the area around the cottage, often within 20 yards, and we took dozens of photos! On the last morning it even flew nearby with its mate alongside. The hedge alongside the cottage was alive with birds (bring some peanuts for the feeders!). The road from which the farm is accessed has extremely little traffic, and is wonderfully open and quiet (in all respects - very few vehicles, and silence reigns), with distant views, making a very pleasant walk for as far as you want in wonderful peaceful countryside.




Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We, a family of 2 adults 2 teens and a dog, had a thoroughly relaxing stay here.
The quality of the cottage is super and I was impressed with the kitchen facilities which weren't pictured on the website (a nice surprise). There was plenty of space for us all and we enjoyed several family board games in the conservatory. We choose places which are off the beaten track and this fitted the bill albeit with the odd driveable trip out being within easy reach.
The dog and children loved having a mini-forest to play and build dens in.

We find it quite difficult to holiday in quality accommodation which allows dogs - so this was a real treat.




Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We, a family of 2 adults 2 teens and a dog, had a thoroughly relaxing stay here.
The quality of the cottage is super and I was impressed with the kitchen facilities which weren't pictured on the website (a nice surprise). There was plenty of space for us all and we enjoyed several family board games in the conservatory. We choose places which are off the beaten track and this fitted the bill albeit with the odd driveable trip out being within easy reach.
The dog and children loved having a mini-forest to play and build dens in.

We find it quite difficult to holiday in quality accommodation which allows dogs - so this was a real treat.




Lovely Little Walk Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a family cottage this really does tick all the boxes. Spacious, comfortable, quiet and with superb views. The cottage is well equipped and has everything you need and more. We would recommend Little Walk Cottage to anyone and plan to return.



Nice and quite

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Nov 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice and quite stay, only for a few days but felt relaxed and stress free!!. The only moan is that we ran out of wood for the wood burner after one night, and there was not any outside in the wood shed. Apart from that a great place to stay.



Emma Milligan-Manby replied more than 1 year ago
I was so sorry to read this Review as generally our guests telephone when the logs run out and James tops up the log shed. We are going to leave a note in the cottage to this effect.

Little Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wow this is a little gem.
This was a wonderful location and the cottage is really comfortable.
We would strongly recommend this lovely place to anyone.
The places to visit are vast, but if you just wanted to relax their are also plenty of walks.
The history of the farm is very interesting and Emma was lovely.
Our dog who is 18months old was in her element.
We would certainly like to visit again.
Thank you to Emma & James for allowing us to stay.




Luxury cottage in the Lincolnshire Wolds

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a long weekend at Little Walk cottage, all our needs were catered for in this very charming stable conversion. A very nice touch was that a bottle of wine was waiting for us when we arrived. It is very rural but still a perfect location for getting to all the local amenities and historic towns such as Louth. For walkers, there are plenty in the surrounding area and several from the door step of the cottage. My brother-in-law spent a few hours fishing on the lake in the grounds and came back with a very nice sized rainbow trout. We can highly recommend Little Walk cottage to others.



Weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 16th visit to this wonderful cottage since 2006,the perfect cottage and a really peaceful location.
We can't praise it high enough and will be coming back again soon.




Dream cottage in idyllic peaceful location in the Lincolnshire Wolds

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definetely recommend Little Walk cottage and we would certainly book again if visiting the area.
Very cosy, well maintained, and well equipped cottage, home from home with amazing views and facilities ....fishing and tennis court too within a few minutes.
Great base to explore The wolds for walking, running and further afield.
Thank you for a great restful holiday.




Little Walk Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
little walk cottage has been a very special haven and I would certainly like to return again. lovely welcome from Emma makes you feel special. Thank you.



Lovely cottage spoiled by generator noise from barn throughout

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Sir/Madam,

The cottage itself was of a very high standard and lovely in every way. It was well equipped and had a lovely conservatory and terrace.

However, during our stay there was an almost constant generator type sound of a reasonably high volume coming from a barn (cooling harvested goods?) on the farm. Emma (owner) acknowledged when she visited us on Sunday evening that the noise was louder than she would have expected. The noise was almost constant throughout our stay (until 8.30pm Friday night, from early hours on Saturday morning - . ongoing until when we went to bed on Saturday and in the morning on Sunday on going until the we mentioned it to the owners who visited us of Sunday evening and then from about 7.00am Monday morning).Although we were aware that the cottage was on a farm we had not been warned that there would be such a volume of constant machine generated noise throughout our stay. Nor were we consulted about times the machine generator could have been perhaps switched off to allow us the peace we had expected (e.g. to sit outside on the terrace without the constant drone coming from the barn). Indeed on Saturday evening we expected the noise to end at 8.30pm as it had done so on the Friday evening and planned our time so as to be able to enjoy sitting out on the terrace from 8.30pm. however, on Saturday the noise carried on all night.

This did have considerable negative impact on our stay and for this reason we think it reasonable, given what we have outlined above, to request some form of financial compensation for what would otherwise have been lovely weekend.

We look forward to hearing your response as soon as possible

Best wishes

Sarah




Emma and James Milligan-Manby replied more than 1 year ago
We were pleased that you liked Little Walk Cottage, but were obviously disappointed with your comments regarding the fan. It was unfortunate that we were unaware of it being a problem until your last evening. An earlier phone call to us would have helped us resolve the situation. As soon as we knew it was a problem we turned it off. There is no doubt that the fan was noisy, partly because the door was left open in error and partly because of the still conditions. Little Walk Cottage is situated on the edge of a working farm. You were possibly unlucky that the fan was on at all, but harvest has come early this year, cooling and drying rapeseed or grain is an essential part of our farming operation. In this instance, had we known sooner, it would have been possible to turn it off each evening. Sometimes it is important to blow all day and night. Conditions obviously vary from year to year. However Little Walk Cottage has been running for 10 years now and this is the first official complaint. We can only reiterate our previous apologies and express our regret that your stay was spoilt by the fan.

A Haven of Peace

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were on a commemorative trip with RAF Bomber Command veterans to visit some of the many memorial sites in the area. There was no better place to return to than Little Walk after some very emotional days. It is a haven of peace and tranquility and a perfect location to unwind at the end of a day.



Little Walk Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent accommodation in the stunning area of the Lincolnshire Wolds. If you enjoy the countryside and wildlife then this is the place for you. Dog friendly. Just be aware that there are steep steps within the cottage & patio.



Lovely!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, in a beautiful location. Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Well suited to families. Our girls ( aged 6 & 4 ) loved staying here. They especially loved the sun room and adopted it as their play room!




An ideal short stay highly recommended

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a lovely pleasant cottage, simply effect is all that can be said!!!!
Sooooo nice.
Will be booking again without doubt.
Thank you so much for the pleasure.




Beautiful cottage.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and immaculately kept. It's extremely well equipped and very family friendly - even for our two small boys (2 & 4). The views from the cottage were splendid. We would definitely visit again and hopefully for longer.



Little Walk Cottage Stay April 2014

Review submitted on Sun, 04 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is warm and inviting, well equipped and the additional garden room/small terrace really makes this a delightful area to take in the sun - a peaceful and quiet location - if you want to get away from it all then this is the cottage for you. Great location as well if you want to go walking or antique hunting. Highly recommended.



Simply beautiful

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come to Little Walk every year and every year we come it simply gets better and better. The cottage is in the most amazing place. We come to relax and that's what we do. We shall be coming again soon. This place is amazing. The cottage is clean, the family and workers who help keep this place going are always happy to help. I can't praise this place enough.



A good place to desconnect and have a break

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We found Little Cottage a delightful place for a break. The beds were extremely comfortable and conducive to a deep and repairing sleep. The place had all necessary appliances and had a cozy feel to it.There were only a couple of glitches to it. The first one was that one of the toilets did not work, which would have been a bit difficult if we were four people rather than two.. And the rubbish for the bins was not clearly explained and updated on the instructions booklet.. The internet connection was bad but there was a paying phone that could be used in case of an emergency or instead of the mobile phone, so that was well covered for it..We enjoyed some beautiful walks and had the majority of meals in Cleethorps, although the Ship Inn, which was recommended in the booklet was excellent! We would definitely recommend it.



Emma Milligan-Manby replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your Review. I like the idea of you being able to disconnect at Little Walk Cottage, although this does become 'literal' when it comes to the broadband. Unfortunately our broadband speeds are slow due to our rural location. Super fast broadband is being rolled out across the county over the next two years and we have been promised our upgrade in July 2015, so fingers crossed things will improve. The second loo is obviously now mended. We do rely on our guests pointing these things out to us, so I am sorry if there was a communication crisis on this subject. I have also updated the information in the Helpful Information File, to explain why we now have to leave the cottage wheelie bins in our yard rather than at the cottage. Our dust bin men won't drive down the little lane to the cottage to collect the rubbish any more. We feel we can't expect our guests to drag the wheelie bins up the lane to the yard, so we leave them in a place where our guests drive past them on their way in and out. Thank you for recommending us.

Relaxing Holiday with two terriers!

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cozy comfortable clean cottage in a lovely setting. Would stay again and would definitely recommend. If you go out of season be prepared to take packed lunches with you as very little village cafes/shops are open and not many pubs accept dogs in the bar whilst you eat. However, the plus side is that the roads are quiet and the area feels like stepping back in time. A wonderful relaxing break.



An Oasis of Rest

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfully relaxing and peaceful stay at the cottage, it was exactly what we had hoped for. Cottage and surroundings are perfect for a getaway, beautifully appointed with everything you need. The walks are right on your doorstep and the cottage is welcoming. We spent most of our time reading and enjoying the beautiful scenery seen from the sun room.

Thanks so much to Emma and James for making us feel so welcome.

Steve & Carolyn Kennedy




Fabulous short break

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Discovered by chance whilst browsing, we enjoyed a really lovely and relaxing break. Everything we could possibly need was provided and the cottage and surroundings were delightful.