FB Twitter

Furlongs

Furlongs

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Fabulous weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning property in a fantastic location, beautiful top notch bedding and extremely well equipped kitchen, totally lived up to our expectations. Would recommend and hope to go again.

Carol from Woodbury stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in October 2021


Just superb in every way

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The purpose of our short stay was for a family celebration of a significant birthday, so there were 6 adults and 3 young grandchildren and the property and its location were absolutely ideal. Lots of space, comfortable beds and very well equipped so Luxury Dorset Cottages had thought of everything you might need. Lots of walks in the vicinity without having to get the car out and plenty of space outside for the children to run around. We have stayed in many self catering properties both in the UK and elsewhere in the world and this has to be one of the best, if not the best.

Derek from Weymouth stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in October 2021


Wow!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When you book a holiday you always hope that the reality will live up to the pictures and description you see when booking.
Well, Furlongs certainly did, it didn’t disappoint!
When we pulled up on the drive we were just stunned as to how beautiful the location and cottage were.
Furlongs was very well equipped and you could see that no expense had been sparred in the quality of the fixtures and fittings. The pillows were amazing!
Lovely space available to either mix with family or take yourself away for some peace and quiet. What a great garden to!
Just a couple of suggestions, minor ones really, my elderly parents came with us, staying downstairs in bedroom 2, I think the addition of a grab handle in the shower would help as they did find it a little slippery.Also we didn’t use the BBQ as it didn’t look the cleanest.
But other than these 2 very minor things what a wonderful holiday it was, we did look at booking again for next year, but in a selfish way were most disappointed to see the times we could go booked up! Maybe we will look at 2023!
Thank you Furlongs, hopefully see you again.


Shaun from Newport stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in September 2021


Another lovely stay !

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to this wonderful place. Has everything to make a great holiday. Third visit already booked !

Carole from Eastleigh stayed at Furlongs for 4 nights in September 2021


A fabulous and spacious house

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In a Great location in centre of village, would highly recommend for large family groups and friends.

Guest from Worksop stayed at Furlongs for 14 nights in August 2021


The most luxurious house we’ve ever rented - it will be difficult to top it.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our stay in this beautiful property from the matriarch of the family aged 75 to the youngest grandchild aged 9. A wonderful garden where we enjoyed the quiet - except when playing family games !!

Guest from Sittingbourne stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in July 2021


Extended Family Holiday for Children & Grandchildren with Special Needs

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the property very spacious to suit our extended family. Ground floor was good for wheelchair access

Robert from Bristol stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in June 2021


A family weekend in Dorset

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in Abbotsbury staying at the Furlongs . It is a home from home , well decorated , good kitchen , nice outdoor space with interesting views. We would recommend this house and have booked another stay next year

Jonathan from Winchester stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in June 2021


A gem of a place

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stay at Furlongs is a wonderful opportunity to relax and connect with the beautiful country setting of Abbotsbury in Dorset. The property is light, spacious with everyone you could possibly need for a comfortable and peaceful stay. It's close to the beach, the swannery and the tropical gardens with the convenience of the village right on the doorstep.

Quite honestly it's a heavenly place.


Kim from Claygate stayed at Furlongs for 5 nights in December 2020


Perfect peace

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Furlongs is set on its own as a farmhouse but not far from the village. There's a village shop at the end of the track, a couple of pubs nearby, you can walk to the Chesil beach (pebbly), walk up the hill to the chapel for amazing views and the simple peace and quiet is wonderful.

The house itself is spacious and the open plan kitchen area is quite superb. A walled lawn area is great for children and it's bug enough for football etc.

All the equipment provided is top notch. My only issues were very small and no more than you'd have at home.

Thoroughly recommend to all


Graham from Chilbolton stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in December 2020


Beautiful Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved all the comfortable sofas to enjoy a good book. Was so nice the children could have their own space and the adults some quiet time. We loved all the walks from the door which was great not having to get in the car. Also the shop in the village was a short walk away and we could get all the day to day provisions from them. Will definitely be back

Amanda from Badminton stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in October 2020


A stunning property in a truly stunning location ! A tiny piece of heaven !

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Furlongs is a stunning property - spacious and luxurious while still feeling homely and comfortable. The kitchen was well stocked with everything you could possibly need. The rooms were of a good size, all decorated to a very high standard - comfortable sofas and chairs. The upstairs rooms were the same, the bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up ! And the views were to die for - you are surrounded by beautiful green farmland in all directions as far as the eye can see, with the sea in the distance - the local church (with church bells on the hour) and St. Catherine's Chapel at the top of the hill. If it's peace and quiet and tranquility you want, then this is the place. Also, a huge enclosed garden for the dogs where they can run round safely. The local shops are a 5 minute walk away (there aren't many, but enough to keep you going) - and The Old Schoolhouse Tearooms is a MUST !
I hate to be negative about this property, but just for feedback reasons (and to be helpful) I would say the following : bcause of Covid-19 we were warned that all the information / instruction booklets had been removed from the property - this proved a slight problem as the hob was very "hi-tech" and we had to google the instructions as we couldn't work it out on our own ! We also had problems with the thermostats in each room, for example the heated towel rail in one of the bathrooms was red hot at times, and we had difficulty getting it to turn down - again, we couldn't quite work out how to re-set the thermostats. And the only other thing I would say is that although we found the property very clean, it became apparent that the windows hadn't been cleaned downstairs as when the sun shone on them we could clearly see marks on them (which looked like a dog had had his nose pressed up against the glass - it wasn't our dogs, as we noticed it when we first arrived). The last thing to mention was that one of the doors on the downstairs bathroom wouldn't shut properly without force, as the bottom of the door was scraping on the floor.
None of these things caused any real problems. We all thoroughly enjoyed our week at Furlongs, I would definitely come again (I hope to one day!) - and I would absolutely recommend it to others who would like a week of luxury and tranquility.


Jackie from Haywards Heath stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in September 2020


Lovely location and superbly comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week here. The house was really well appointed and beautifully finished. The location is beautiful: a stone’s throw from the sea and with many good walks from the door. In terms of shopping I would highly recommend the Bride Valley Farm Shop in Abbotsbury.

Kate from Lechlade stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in August 2020


A beautiful and peaceful place for a larger group

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is beautifully furnished and equipped with great quality furniture and comfortable bedding. The kitchen is a dream too.
Plenty of pretty walks on the doorstep too.



Hazel from Aylesbury stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in August 2020


A splendid holiday home

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and location are wonderful, everything well thought out. Only two suggestions:- a wok and another large saucepan and frying pan for the number of people being catered for and a swivel or spray attachment on the kitchen sink would make it easier to clean. Apart from that, we had a great time and have booked again for next year.

J from Stanmore stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in July 2020


A fantastic property for all the family!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovingly restored barn conversion to a very high standard. Plenty of room for all the family to do things both together & apart if they wish, We were staying there as 8 adults & one youngster in February - the very large enclosed courtyard / garden plus all the available outside amenities must make this a beautiful location in the summer months too, The property is set in such a stunning location with everything you need close at hand - especially the lovely quaint shops and cafes of very nearby Abbotsbury with the local store & pub just a stones throw away! There are some lovely walks down to Chesil beach too, and the famous Abbotsbury swannery, tropical gardens, and the lovely children’s farm, which are all open spring through to late Autumn.

W e can’t recommend this property enough - our week went by so very quickly - despite “storm Dennis!”


Ann from Alton stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in February 2020


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for leaving us a 5 Star review for Furlongs. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the property despite Storm Dennis! We very much hope that you are able to visit again during the summer months and enjoy all of the lovely outside space that the area has to offer.

A Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely fantastic cottage is a stunning location. We stayed in the midst of Storm Ciara so we just hunkered down and made the most of everything Furlongs has to offer. Very comfortable beds with top notch bedding, a superb kitchen and no less than three separate sitting/relaxing areas which makes it great for a little multi generational time out. The walk up to St Catherines is lovely and the view from there amazing. We didn't explore the village but it looked lovely with pubs and the essential village store. Would I recommend it? Yes (but only as long as it doesn't get fully booked so we can return!) We've stayed at some great places but Furlongs is right up there with the best.

David from Torquay stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in February 2020


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review for Furlongs. We are so pleased that you got to enjoy your holiday despite the absolutely awful weather and that you found Furlongs to have everything that you needed for your stay. We very much hope that we are able to welcome you again on a sunny day when you have the chance to explore the lovely treasures that Abbotsbury has to offer.

Fabulous property in perfect location

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a weekend at Furlongs with friends. Furlongs is located perfectly on its own on the edge of the pretty village of Abbotsbury. We didn't use the cars the whole time and just enjoyed the house and its surroundings with lovely walks up to the chapel and beyond to the beach. The house has so much space inside and out and is furnished to a very high standard with gorgeous and very comfortable beds, lovely kitchen and bathrooms and views from every window. Probably one of the best rental houses we have stayed in and we have already booked to come back in the Autumn.

Jacqui from Eastleigh stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in January 2020


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind words about Furlongs, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time in Abbotsbury. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the Autumn.

Beautiful house in stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved the newest addition to your portfolio. What a stunning house - spacious, very comfortable, beautifully decorated and generously appointed. It was perfect for our family holiday. The position, at the foot of St Catherine's Mount, means breathtaking views are only steps away. We have already booked our next stay!

Romilly from Old Windsor stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in November 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Romilly, it is always a pleasure to have you stay! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time at our largest property and found the views as breathtaking as we do. I look forward to being in touch for your 2020 booking.

Wonderful property

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Furlongs is a gorgeous property. We were 5 adults and 3 children and there was more than enough space for us to relax and not be on top of each other. The electric car charger was a bonus because we have an electric car. If I was forced to find any downside, provision of a couple of large saucepans and additional small towels in the bathrooms are the only minor things I can think of.

The property is finished to a superb standard with neutral decor, the sheets deserve a special mention, they were fabulous! All in all a great stay, highly recommended!


Gillian from Royston stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in October 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your 5 star review of Furlongs, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to make use of the electric car charger. Thank you also for your comments regarding saucepans and small towels which we are looking into. We do you hope you will stay at Furlongs again.

Furlongs

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An elegant, hi tech barn conversion in the charming village of Abbotsbury. Facilities are excellent with three en-suite double bedrooms and two doubles sharing a bathroom. The living space is open plan but offering three separate sitting areas. The kitchen is beautifully laid out with a cooking island and is so well equipped - with everything from a lemon squeezer to a wine chiller. The furnishings are delightful, in particular the beautiful curtains. The outside space is walled and am sure will see many BBQs as there is a large covered area to pop into on that odd rainy day! It’s location is perfect for outdoor lovers with walks from the front door, the Swannery, the Children’s Farm and the Tropical Gardens a stone’s throw away. A really lovely property, well managed and in an area of outstanding beauty.

Sue from Wilmslow stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in October 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your kind and detailed 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first stay at Furlongs! We look forward to seeing you at Clayhanger Lodge next year.

A great place to stay and enjoy the local area

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the accommodation for family attending my wedding in Abbotsbury. I didn't stay there myself but the family couldn't be more complimentary about the property. Thank you so much.

Ian from Weymouth stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in September 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and we do hope that you had the perfect wedding!

What a fantastic house in a fantastic location !!!

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 2 weeks in this fabulous house.
You cannot dream of a better place to spend holidays in the wonderful Dorset.
Just perfect in all details.
We’ll be back !!!!
Pat & Peter Knauff


Peter from Temple Grafton stayed at Furlongs for 14 nights in August 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review of Furlongs, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and find the location a fabulous as we do! We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

An excellent rental property

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every year, my family of ten, including four grandchildren, enjoy one break where we are all together. This accommodation, availability, "The Furlongs" was found on line at very short notice and far exceeded our expectations.

Over the years, the family have rented Villas and cottages in both the UK and Europe and none have come even close to matching the quality of Furlongs. Yes, agreed, it is indeed fairly new, but beautifully clean, loads of space, a superbly equipped kitchen, plenty of technology if that is your interest. I also found the number of knickknack's were ideally kept to a minimum, which was perfect for me, if you have grandchildren who occasionally start to let off a little steam. ?

As a country boy, I just loved the rural location, a couple of minutes walk to the village, a nice pub which was family friendly for meals, several attractions including the famous Chesil Beach within a 30 minute walk and if you want to leave your car at the cottage, there is a fairly good bus service to both Bridport and Weymouth.

What more can I say, except that Furlongs for me was absolute perfection and I would certainly go back there again.!


Brian from Mitcham stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in August 2019


Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Furlongs for the weekend of our wedding in July, 2019. The staff were so helpful and accommodating from the beginning, and allowed us to check in early on the day of arrival. The property is absolutely stunning, and the interior design is obviously well thought out. The rooms are all an excellent size, with comfortable beds and the bathrooms are so smart, modern and clean. The kitchen is perfect for entertaining and cooking, with everything you could possibly need. The outside space is great for socialising, and the view is unbeatable. Everything is so photogenic. Would highly recommend this property, possibly the nicest place we have ever stayed.

Anthony from Southampton stayed at Furlongs for 3 nights in July 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are delighted that you chose to spend such a special time with us. We very much hope to welcome you back and wish you all the best

A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a family stay in the Furlomgs (6 adults and 4 young children). It’s is the most outstanding property in the most wonderful location. We have stayed in many holiday let’s but this is by far the best. Would highly recommend a stay there.

Carole from Eastleigh stayed at Furlongs for 7 nights in July 2019


Jasmin replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your 5 review and for being our first review for Furlongs!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed the property and we very much hope that you will return.