FB Twitter

Berthlwyd Hall

Berthlwyd Hall

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.7
Location
4.4
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.2


Berthlwyd Hall is a wonderful house with so much charm. Just 10 minutes drive from historic Conwy this fabulous Victorian property oozes charm and character with many original features as well as all the comforts of home and more. It is certainly a house for entertaining with its own bar area and pool table too! Each bedroom has its own ensuite which is great for group bookings.

Is great place for a large multi generation family to stay, we all loved the bar esp the 2 youngest

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and great for a large family
Best bits were the huge dining table and bar and three huge bedrooms well equipped kitchen and very helpful caretaker and the en-suite facilities with the large bedrooms.
Less good was the fourth bedroom and those windows that don’t close easily and the shared back garden.
We were lucky to have a week of blue sky and sunshine and the Hall worked very well for us.
Thanks to all at Great Escapes.


Guest from Wendover stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in August 2021


Amazing house set in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week at Berthlwyd Hall. House is huge and catered for our large family perfectly. Equipped with everything you need for a self catering holiday not that we did much of that as we found lots of lovely places to eat. Fish and chips in local villag were lovely. Would recommend Pizza at Johnny dough in Conwy too. Great location for touring North Wales will certainly be back for another stay!

Catherine from Strood Kent stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in August 2018


Brilliant for a Family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Berthlwyd Hall is a brilliant place for a relaxing family get together in a beautiful part of Wales.It is close to historic Conwy and the North Wales Coast. There are fantastic walks from the doorstep on footpaths which quickly took us high into the adjacent hills with commanding views over Conwy, Snowdonia, Puffin Island, Anglesay and the Irish Sea.
The accommodation included a very grand staircase, wood panelled walls, open fire places, period furniture and a bar with a pool table. Two of the bedrooms were particularly large with excellent views towards the sea and the Conwy Valley, and the gardens were large enough to play football and badmington and the like.
We had a great stay and will be hoping to return soon.



Neil from Walken stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in June 2018


Great Escapes Wales replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how your holiday went. Berthlwyd hall is a fab house isnt it. Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future. Many thanks, Ben.

Another brilliant holiday, this time in the spring.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glorious weather made our second visit to Berthlwyd Hall superb. Mid April and lambing season. Primroses growing profusely on the hedgerows created enchanting scenery along with golden daffodils and fresh greenery. Wall to wall sunshine, birds singing, mild April breezes - it was idyll. The Hall was once again perfect for our family. It is so homely, I cannot fault it in any way. The Wifi which was a bit hit and miss in January was great this time (though still only available in certain parts of the house (which is to be expected.) Will definitely return again at a different season. Friendly Agency and owners make the experience totally stress free, There was only one problem ..... we didn't want to leave!!

Hilary from Leigh stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in April 2018


A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Mar 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The rooms are spacious and the pool table excellent entertainment. In winter it may be useful to provide logs for the first night as the sitting room is very large and not warmed sufficiently by heating alone. The supply of throws was therefore very much appreciated.

Text communications prior to arrival were excellent however and receiving a Thankyou for leaving the hall clean and tidy was very much appreciated.


Steven from Kent stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 3 nights in March 2018


Feb half term

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the hall for half term, we took grandma and grandad with us and sadie and ektor, all 9 of us had a relaxing week, fires were lit all week, and the kitchen was open all week.
We have a caravan on Berthlwyd hall caravan park and its closed for feb half term, our 5 girls love being in this beautiful part of Wales, they chose the hall over a week abroad.
Lovely family holiday.
Thanks


Monica from Lancashire stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in February 2018


Like being in an Agatha Christie novel - superb

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic January stay in wonderful old house. No worries about it being cold it was great and with two open fireplaces to boost your comfort you won't feel the winter nip. Very spacious. Smashing lounge area with bar and snooker table and comfy seating for all. Nice touch of pub table and chairs near bar for game of cards, dominoes. Huge dining table in separate room as you enter the building, with additional chesterfield settee and open fireplace. Cloakroom off this lobby area. Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher. Downstairs utility room with washing machine, dryer and downstairs toilet. Grandiose staircase and landing (like being in an Agatha Christie novel.) Lovely linen and en-suite facilities in all bedrooms. Beds very comfy. Piping hot water and plenty of it. Views from front stupendous. Clear instructions for use of facilities/amenities.. Cannot fault the property in any way - except - sporadic broadband, which this day and age is nearly always essential - unfortunately! Will definitely return. Highly recommend.

Hilary from Leigh stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in January 2018


A lovely spacious old house perfectly adapted for multi family occupation.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This house is just right for a large family gathering. Well equipped for self catering. The bar and pool table are the icing on the cake.

Bill from Gobowen stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in December 2017


Family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice relaxing week .
Children loved the pool table Rooms nice and big for large family group .
A little out the way up very narrow lanes but nothing that spoilt the holiday.


Andrew from Stevenage stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in August 2017


Nice place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quiet and peaceful setting, the hall was full of period features and detail.
3 of the 4 bedrooms were of excellent size and all were ensuite.
The garden was large and on 3 levels.


Guest from Worcester stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in May 2017


Berthlwyd Hall

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Is an excellent venue for a large family with the cosyness of the open fires. The bar and pool table are a great asset a good way to break the ice and for the whole family to enjoy

Grant from Ely stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in December 2016


A BEAUTIFUL FIND.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the house in OCT 2016 and on our arrival we were taken away with the sheer grandeur of the property. There was ample parking also which was a bonus. The house reminded us of many of the National trust properties we have visited and was great for games of hide and seek with the children. The bar was brilliant fun as the children stocked up on crisps and nuts and served the adults and loved playing "shop". The pool table was also a lovely addition to the stay. On the more practical side the bedrooms and washing / bathing facilities were great as watch the kitchen and all the amenities (freezer / tumble dryer / washing machine/ ample plates / cutlery etc). The house did look tired and could do with a bit of TLC but I guess the tiredness of the house added to the character. It did not at all put us off.
The house is a short drive from Llandudno. The house is walking distance from Conwy some two miles away also. We visited the local Church in Conwy for the Sunday service (St Marys) and we were made to feel really welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the ambience of this ancient Church. The walks from the house are steep but well worth the views. All in all a brilliant find and I would recommend it very highly for a holiday as the house is just so unique !!!!!!!!


Emma from Stoke on Trent stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in October 2016


Great walking holiday.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place, plenty of room, fully equipped, gardens, easy parking, helpful people, quiet and near some beautiful walks and scenery. Our group of 8 have been arranging walking/sightseeing weeks once a year for 17 years and this was, for us, one of the best.

Jenny from Chippenham stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in September 2016


Spacious Old Hall Ideal for a Family Gathering

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Berthlwyd Hall dates from the 1800's and is full of period features and charm. There is a lot of space for a family holiday and a fully equipped modern kitchen. It was lovely to have a big dining table in the hall with the lovely sweeping staircase, ideal for all the family to sit down together to eat. The teens missed their WiFi access, which would have been useful for booking days out. However, the lounge contains a bar (unstocked) and pool table which kept all generations of the family amused in the evenings. There is easy access to Conwy which is beautiful as well as many other places to visit. Overall would definitely recommend, bearing in mind that it is 'old'. Great in the summer months, expect it would be very cold in the winter!

Julie from Croydon stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 8 nights in August 2016


A wonderful old building, in a great location. Lots of activities within easy travelling distance.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Hall has seen better days. Windows were rotting, floor tiles were loose and rugs were stained. But it had character and was great value for money. Lots to do in and around the area.

Sarah from Kimbolton stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in July 2016


Family holiday in Wales

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time at the Manor house with the whole family. Enjoy are stay in Wales visiting slate mine, Welsh Mountain zoo and walking up snowdon. Only down side was no WiFi and not a good phone signal making planning days out a lot harder. We had a couple of problems while at the Manor house we text Kay and she sorted out straight away. (That's the number who text you on day of arrival).

Jason from Grimethorph stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in July 2016


Holiday June 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We where welcomed by beautiful views and a wonderfully large house. Plenty of space for a large family and lovely shared gardens for the children to play in. The house has a real old world feel about it and is certainly memorable. Plenty to see and do in the surrounding areas, and we had some lovely day trips in and around the Welsh valleys. The old Hall has seen better days and could do with some maintenance work, loose floor kitchen tiles, broken windows etc. But all in all still an amazing place to stay in .

Vanessa from Wallasey stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in June 2016


Great holiday in atmospheric, spacious old Manor house.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic views from large bedroom windows. A couple of the bedrooms could do with decorating and ensuites updating. Three of the bedrooms were very spacious. Beautiful wooden staircase. Well stocked kitchen. Useful to have washing machine and dryer. Could have done with chalk for the pool table but it still got lots of use. Good sized garden. Would definitely recommend to others.

Margaret from Harpenden stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in June 2016


Easter break 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The size of the hall was really good for a large family, 6 adults. a 6 year old, 2 year old and 18 month old, Plenty of room for them to run around and for the adults to escape them if needed! Our only real issue was the heating. The weather wasn't particularly kind and it was very cold. There are three heating systems which come on at different times of the day, unfortunately the hour changed on our first weekend, and the timings weren't quite right. Obviously as the hall is very big it takes a long time to heat up and we feel that even if the heating was left on all the time it would only be just enough to keep it warm and cosy. Using the log fires is essential.
The outdoor area would be a great asset in good weather, plenty of room for the kids to play and a lovely paved area to sunbathe and sip the odd glass of wine.
Despite the above, we did have an excellent stay.


Howard from Stoke On Trent stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in March 2016


Berthlwyd Hall half term break

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3 generations spent a wonderful week here, the character of the Hall is beautiful as are the surroundings. It is only a short drive from Conwy but so peaceful with amazing views. The space in the building was great for the children, the bedrooms were beautiful and spacious. We had open fires each evening as it was Feb. and they added warmth and atmosphere to our evenings. Loved it, as especially the weather was so kind to us and was very sunny, though very cold. Trips to Anglesey, Llandudno, Betwys-y-coed. We only had one day of rain ! Great time. The only confusion was different websites were offering various things which weren't available, I.e full sky package, colour t.v.and tea and coffee in rooms.no complaints though it was brilliant!

Winifred from Rochdale stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in February 2016


Nice house and location

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house and location are great, with many attractions near by and the whole of Snowdonia easily reached by car. The weather whilst we stayed was awful, but the size of the house allowed many options for entertaining children. The house itself is lovely with all the amenities that are needed. Despite its age it is very cosy and a lovely place to stay

Anthony Ralph from High Wycombe stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in December 2015


A place like no other

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fantastic experience for us all, a great place to relax and get away from it all. The building is full of character and the rooms are
so amazing. We would love to go back.


Louise from Altrincham stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in October 2015


Full of character

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at Berthlwyd Hall. It's a superb location, surrounded by amazing scenery and there's such a lot to do in this part of Wales. It's a good size (we were 2 families - 8 people in total) and has all the basic facilities you could need. It's full of character - the children had a great time running riot in a 'stately home', and the bar and pool table were big favourites. It's showing its age a little - definitely shabby rather than smart and you get glimpses of its obvious former life as a country house hotel. There were a couple of niggles - loose floor tiles, a SKY box which didn't appear to be connected to anything, and a slightly less than sparkling bathtub. However, nothing approaching something we'd ever bother reporting or raising as an issue. I don't want to give the impression that we didn't like the hall - we absolutely did love it, but I think the old girl is showing her age a little!

Overall - comfortable, not 'dressy' and a quirky, convenient place to stay. We had a great time.


Guest from Singapore stayed at Berthlwyd Hall for 7 nights in August 2015