FB Twitter

Cotton

Cotton

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 91 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


As you approach the restored Stables, Cotton Cottage and its romantic Jacobean style turret, mullion windows and private garden comes into view. This cottage was originally the Coachman's house and enjoys views over the rolling parkland.

Everything that Xmas should be

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It wouldn't be Xmas without a stay at Combermere Abbey, this was our fifth visit at Xmas and it was just as magical as the first. The cottages are set in a stunning location that afford a perfect way to relax and enjoy the time of year with family. The cottage itself is spacious and has everything you need for your stay. We will definitely be back.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 17 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay in Cotton Cottage for the Christmas break. We are delighted to hear that you had another wonderful stay, and that the cottage provided a perfect setting for you. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 6th visit soon.

Wonderful dog friendly cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay at Cotton Cottage. It was the perfect size for us and our golden retriever and we really liked the character of the cottage. The grounds are beautiful and it was refreshing to find somewhere which actually is dog friendly as advertised and the dog treats / welcome pack were a lovely touch.

Some tiny niggles which are easily fixed:
1. The courtyard door of the cottage is very sticky and I wasn’t able to manage it on my own. Fortunately there is a second door but I think this may be a fire hazard.
2. Stair gate doesn’t fit width of stairs and the brown supports have been installed at wrong height. We were only using this for the purposes of our dog so we made do but possibly not safe enough for children.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 80 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at Cotton Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay, and that the cottage was ideal for you & your golden retriever. Thank you for your feedback regarding the entrance door from the courtyard and the fitting of the stairgate, we will of course ensure that these are remedied. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Poor lighting, heating set too low, stingy hamper with 2 mini jam pots for three people.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We have been staying at cottages via Rural Retreats for more than 20 years and this is the first time we are moved to complain. The cottage felt cold even though weather actually mild, the lighting in the living room insufficient to read, the contents of hamper were cheap- unknown cereals put into jars with no information on allergens and two mini jam pots for three guests. Instead of showcasing local produce, it felt cheap. It is just as well that we were out all day because the heating was set to “out all day.”



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 81 days ago
Thank you for your review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment during your stay. Regarding the heating within the cottage, we have recently had new heaters installed throughout the property, which are pre-set to a timed programme, however they can be manually adjusted to increase the heat accordingly, and our team onsite would have been more than happy to adjust this for you. We are sorry to hear that you also found the quality of the cereals to be cheap unknown brands - these are all sourced from local farm shops, and presented in kilner jars. We will of course ensure that additional preserves are provided for guests to enjoy. Thank you for letting us know of the lighting quality in the sitting room, and our team will be looking into the lighting and lamps in place to be able to provide a more quality environment for reading. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again in the future.

Always a pleasure to stay here

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always (3rd visit) everything tidy and clean, a very pleasant cottage to spend a few days in.
Especially good for us the downstairs loo, both of us have mobility problems so an added bonus.
The idea location for trips to Conwy and beyond.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 116 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Cotton cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottages were perfect location for a wedding venue. Our room was a double, however it was two singles pushed together which made it not as comfortable, and the bath as a posed to a shower cubicle made it a little tricky to wash.



Wedding stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would definitely return to Combermere. The cottage was lovely we were very impressed. Everything you needed was provided even down to milk. We were told that we would get a continental breakfast hamper which I think must have been forgotten though. Luckily we had taken breakfast items as well so we had something to eat before the wedding.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 207 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

The most beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed after our wedding and wished we could have stayed longer. The cottage is beautiful and spacious and is so well catered for. Fresh fruit, milk, tea bags, pastries, bread, jams and more. I will definitely be booking to come back for longer next time.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 295 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay in Cotton Cottage after your wedding with us. We are so very pleased to have a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cotton Cottage Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great setting for a short or long break. The mattress on the four poster bed needs replacing, very uncomfortable and I would have liked to have seen pillow covers under the pillow cases.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 297 days ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful setting of the estate, and we very much appreciate your feedback regarding the bed & pillows in the cottage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Tranquility and Serenity

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting is wonderful with woodland walks and many natural and architectural features within the grounds. Although mainly an event and wedding venue, it makes for a perfect setting for a short out of season break.
We have previously stayed overnight in the North Wing, which is ideal for two couples and on this occasion with our dog in tow stayed in one of the several cottages. The cottages are of varying sizes and therefore can accommodate all group sizes, whether as with us just a couple, or an event break utilizing the larger cottages, or multiples thereof.
Our cottage was full of character and spacious for the two of us + Luna the dog and would have also worked well for two couples. The kitchen is well fitted out, although the bathrooms were a little tired, albeit within the context of the tariff quite acceptable. There are minor matters which one could suggest improvements, but taken as whole the cottage was delightful and having its small private garden was ideal. The cottage garden wasn't used as much as we would have wished, but that was solely due to the late March weather.
The whole setting is ideal for those with dogs and most areas are open to pooches. The signage in general could do with updating, because there is a much of interest and in particular the Woodland walk is found through luck, or perseverance, rather than well positioned signs, which ironically are fine on the walk, once you have managed to locate it. That being said this was a minor matter and although of no great consequence is one which could easily be addressed.
There are several good hostelries in close proximity, all of which seem to be dog friendly. The closest one The Combermere Arms is 2Km, most of which is along the property driveway and makes for a pleasant stroll.
The information booklet is helpful, both with respect to the Abbey facilities and the wider area. Although we had little in the way of dealings with the staff, that was because there was no need, however, those who we did see were all engaging and helpful.
An ideal destination for a short break, although a longer stay would be time well spent and enjoyed.
Off season break offers are available which we took advantage of and believe represented excellent value.
We look forward to the opportunity to visit again.
Thank you for a most enjoyable break in the most tranquil and serene setting of Combermere Abbey.
Jeremy & Alexis.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 298 days ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy all of the beautiful surroundings that the estate & local area has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Reminiscing in Cheshire/Shropshire

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location for a cottage and central for us seeing family and friends.
There were a few issues with the cottage ( which shouldn’t have happened as this is described as ‘luxurious’ ) but most were resolved by the marvellous housekeeping team.

Housekeepers were second to none so thank you .




Weekend away with the family at Cotton Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful weekend away at Cotton Cottage with family and our cockapoo. Beautifully appointed, immaculately clean and the welcome basket was generous and delicious. Even Bear the cockapoo had his own welcome bag of treats, dog bowl, poo bags a blanket and dog towel. The Pleasure gardens were awash with snowdrops and made a delightful walk down to the lake. With the cottage being in the grounds there was no traffic noise, the stars shone clearly in the sky at night and we could hear owls at night and woodpeckers during our early morning walk. The housekeeping staff were so helpful and checked to make sure all was well soon after we arrived. Thoroughly recommended and we will be back.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 325 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy the beauty of the estate during your stay. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

a long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comberrmere is just how we remembered ideal, relaxing, quiet, and comfortable. The new piggery cafe is a bonus with good food
pleasant staff and dog friendly too. Looking forward to going again sometime.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 331 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the new cafe too! We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left everything about our stay was perfect. The location cannot be any better for an "away-from-it-all" break, allowing us to recharge the batteries away from the outside world. The cottage was clean, warm and had everything you could think of to make the time we spent there so enjoyable. We will definitely be back !!



Lovely stay on a wet weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Dec 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was a lovely stay but the cottage was a bit cold in rooms away from the wood burner.
The cottage was really clean, spacious and comfortable.
Arrived on a dark, wet evening and couldn’t find the key to get in. Would have been helpful if location of key was obvious in instructions sent prior to arrival but housekeeper kindly directed us when we telephoned.
Will be booking again next year.




Historic Beauty

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings. The silence from its situation was very therapeutic. Well kept gardens and grounds were a delight to explore.

It was a very interesting tour of the Abbey when we learned the fascinating history of the house and family.




Excellent location, beautiful property

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Being continually contacted by upfront reviews after having a great holiday via rural retreats puts me off booking with them in the future.



Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Cotton cottage was absolutely idyllic. The cottage was spotlessly clean and the staff clearly work very hard to ensure everything is perfect. Stunning grounds, so peaceful and relaxing. We really loved our stay here and can’t wait to return, thank you so much to everyone for creating such a lovely holiday experience. Just perfect in every way.



Wonderful stay in Cotton Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cotton Cottage is really spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Great kitchen and well-equipped. We loved sitting in its garden at the front of the cottage , overlooking the fields and the Abbey. The grounds of Combermere Abbey are huge, including the long, sweeping drive up to the cottages with fields on either side. It’s serene. My husband and our 15 year old daughters enjoyed the on-site forest walk and using the tennis court, which is set in stunning walled gardens by the cottages. We didn’t have time to swim in the lake but are looking forward to going back some time !



Splendid in every way

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from the weekend in Cotton Cottage where we met up with friends for a mini reuinion. I had spent hours researching the perfect place to stay and I have to say, from the moment we drove into this amazing property, we were bowled over and knew we'd made the right choice.

Everything about this place is simply perfect. The grounds are magnificent and we felt as though we were being entertained in elegant style. And the cottage itself -- located in the midst of this beautiful ground -- offers everything one could wish for.

Not only is it extremely spacious, the decor is splendid, the kitchen equipment all you need, and the bedrooms are comfortable and large. My husband and I won the coin toss and ended up in the larger bedroom with the gorgeous four poster bed which we loved, and our evenings began with cocktails at the outdoor table followed by home-cooked meals around the dining table (part of the large lounge area).

The cottage was well equipped with all we needed -- from hairdryer to kitchen appliances to outdoor umbrella and deckchairs to WiFi and flatscreen TV -- and we took several walks around the property, down to the lake, through the walled flower gardens and by the tennis courts.

Sadly, after two nights we had to leave. But this property will stand out in our minds as one of the loveliest we've stayed in for quite some time.




Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our eighth visit to Combermere & our third break in Cottons. A perfect place to unwind & relax,
Surrounded by wonderful countryside with great pubs & restaurants it is a very special place to stay & enjoy.

Heartily recommend.




First weekend break after lockdown

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location. spacious pretty cottage with our own garden Appreciated the wood burner. Shame we could not access the gardens.



What a wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well-managed large estate with nine properties in the converted stable block. Very good administration and organisation. The properties are quite well maintained but a few moonier points were reported. Excellent welcome pack. Delightful gardens available for recreation. Plenty of equipment and opportunities for recreation (post COVID!). Really nice place for a wedding which is an important business fro the estate.



Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay
The tv didn’t always pick up signal but didn’t worry us
Very well equipped, beds were very comfortable




Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay for three nights at Cotton Cottage. Well I say cottage, but the property was huge! Beautiful surroundings and so peaceful. The hamper provided was very generous too. Will definitely be back!



Perfect for a long weekend ... could have stayed longer!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I visited the property with my mother and springer spaniel and had a wonderful time. Check in was super easy, the property was spotless and nice touches like biscuits and a ready made up fire waiting for us added to the experience. That, and a call from the housekeeper to make sure we had everything we needed, made us feel very welcome. The gardens are stunning and beautifully kept as are the woodland areas leading down to the lake. We were there on a very rainy weekend but I can imagine picnics and lake swimming in warmer times. I was a little worried when I read the restrictions in the cottage book about dogs not being allowed off leads on the circular walk through the woods (it's a pheasant breeding area so fair enough) but there was an area where she could roam free and explore, with plenty of well laid paths through it so we weren't just walking around in a circle for half an hour. There was loads we didn't make use of (beauty treatments, tennis courts, bikes, food deliveries) so I may just have to go back! It's a beautiful spot, rural and tranquil but with plenty to keep you occupied. We loved our stay.



A good choice

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay at Cotton Cottage. It was very well equipped, with plenty of crockery and cutlery and of course a generous welcome hamper. The bedrooms were spacious and comfortable, and the estate has attractive gardens and pleasant walks. There is plenty to do and see in the surrounding area, and a number of excellent gastropubs.



Wonderful Week

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week's break at Combermere. A lovely part of the country to explore and we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the estate not to mention marvelling at the ancient trees and bird watching by the lake. The cottage was very comfortable and full of character, despite the problems with the TV which were quickly sorted by a member of the maintenance staff. Normally we would have been in Italy or France but this year dictated a staycation and we weren't disappointed - worth the long drive from Scotland!



Cotton Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very peacefull stay,in a well kept property.Cottage had everything required,for your stay.
Good walks and lovely countryside,and places near to visit.No complaints.




Fantastic Stay as Always

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay as always. All the cottages were full which was great to see however, distancing was still fully maintained. Great to explore more of the estate and surrounding areas. Will be back at New Year!



Fab weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful weekend stay. Almost Everything was great. Just a few comments that I hope will be seen as constructive. The shower is an old electric Mira unit and is slow to warm up. It does get hot but the internal pump or fan sounds like a jet engine on full thrust at close quarters- which of course you are in a shower cubicle! The weather board on the front door is rotting quite badly and needs replacing. Check in is not before 5pm to give time for proper preparation in COVID times. Understood, but after a long hot journey and bad traffic on a Friday afternoon having arrived 50 minutes early - nearly always difficult to judge when arrival will be - and even though the key was in the cottage door - an indication that it was ready for occupation - it was not good customer relations to be told we had to wait until 5pm! Check out by 9 am is also too early. Hopefully this will be revised post COVID.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay in our Courtyard Cottages. We are sorry to hear that you experienced issues with the shower unit, and our maintenance team will be looking into this & also the weatherboard on the front door. We are very much hoping that we will be able to return to our usual arrival and departure times soon. Sadly, the current situation does mean that we have had to introduce restricted times for arrival and departure, in order to keep our guests and staff safe. We do hope that you had a wonderful stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to Combermere Abbey Cottages and just as good as the first. Well equipped cottage in a peaceful location with excellent customer service meant a very relaxing weekend break.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful relaxing break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Family weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gorgeous estate, characterful cottages, and friendly service. Unusual and thoughtful decor with an Indian theme. Unfortunately Storm Dennis rattled the old windows and the oil heating didn’t really cope so it was a bit cold and draughty this weekend. Also the old style furnishings scared the kids, who then opted to sleep next door in the much warmer and cosier Crossley cottage with our extended family. I’d definitely visit again, but I wouldn’t choose Cotton with kids.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us in Cotton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, despite the severe weather we were faced with over the weekend. Hopefully the little ones were able to sleep better with your family in Crossley Cottage! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Quality Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has all the necessary essentials you need for a super holiday, very well thought out items.
Good quality towels, bedding and toiletries always a favourite White Company.
Would recommend Combermere Abbey accommodation to everyone.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cottage Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A superb place to relax & unwind

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere is our home from home,we have stayed many times & have recommended to friends all of whom have loved it as well.
"Cottons"is lovely & has a small garden which is super in summer for sitting & enjoying a glass or two.
If you have stayed here before you will know what I mean,if you are yet to visit you are missing out on a truly wonderful place.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage! We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

We had a great stay at Cotton Cottage. Some very thoughtful touches but the cottage needs updating.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jan 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this cottage to meet up with family staying in the larger cottage over Christmas. There were lovely thoughtful touches in our cottage. We had our dog with us on holiday and when we arrived we found lots of ‘doggy extras’ such as treats, a towel, and a dog bowl. These were much appreciated. The cottage was well-equipped with everything we needed for our stay. The only negative was a large stain on the lounge carpet and generally (especially compared to the larger cottage of our extended family) Cotton Cottage looked tired and a bit in need of redecoration. I would recommend staying at Combermere but perhaps in a different cottage.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your recent review of Cotton Cottage following your stay over the Christmas break. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we have passed along your feedback to our team to look into regarding the decoration in Cotton Cottage, and also the stain on the carpet. We do hope that this did not detract from a relaxing stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Sweet little cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was also booked as part of a large family stay, comprising of 3 cottages. In this one, me and my partner stayed in the master en suite bedroom and my brother and his partner stayed in the second bedroom. The only issue we had right off the bat was that we requested the beds in the second bedroom to be joined as a double but they were left as a twin. Not a huge problem as we pulled them together ourselves. The cottage was very pretty and had a very distinct country feel with a Middle East twist to it, which was unique and lovely. The views from the living room were stunning and the beds were very comfy. We did have a slight problem with a noisy neighbour on Sunday morning but this is not fault of the owners or cottage. It was a lovely stay and we can’t wait to come back next year!



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your recent review of Cotton Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that the bedroom wasn't set up correctly for you when you arrive, and we will be looking into this with our housekeeping team for you. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Cotton Cottage, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey next year.

Heating was a problem

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The instructions in the manual did not seem to apply to the heaters and the bedrooms were very hot contrasting with the lack of heating in the kitchen and bathroom



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the heating during your stay. Our maintenance team are currently investigating this to ensure that the control panels for the heaters are working correctly to ensure that the heating can be adjusted as required. We do hope that you were able to enjoy your stay at Combermere Abbey, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A fantastic getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our recent stay at Combermere Abbey. It is a very peaceful setting, and the cottage was amazing. It's the little things that hep make it great; everything has been thoughtfully provided as well (fully stocked kitchen including a proper cafetiere, milk in the fridge upon arrival, lots of wood provided for woodburning stove, etc)
I would highly recommend for anyone looking for a place to relax.




Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Brilliant find

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quick welcome.
Provision of additional items in the cottage was excellent.
Look forward to returning.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We do hope that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Oct 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very good, have been back several years now, and always good whatever the weather. Cotttages are quiet and peaceful for a great break



A lovely cosy retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very lovely cottage with great facilities, clean & comfortable. The breakfast basket was good & a suggestion would be to add yoghurts & fresh fruit.



Lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful set up. Comfortable and immaculately clean. Lovely walks, grounds very restful and you can even swim in the lake!

We stayed as a family with our dog. Boys loved the place, dog loved the open walking areas and the little bag of treats.

Combermere Arms pub down the road does great food.

All in all a great place to spend a few days. We will definitely be back.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Cotton Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we are to enjoy the beautiful surrounds of the Estate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Combermere in nine months and nothing changes. The cottage is exceptionally clean and comfortable, set in the most glorious surroundings.
All the staff we have met are welcoming and friendly




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage! We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us at Combermere Abbey, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Overall

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location. Great facilities. Highly recommended . The walks in the morning were breathtaking.



Wonderful stay in a perfect cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot praise Combermere enough - the cottage and the grounds were just beautiful and so well maintained. We loved being able to walk in the estate and very much appreciated the work to keep it looking so lovely. All the staff we met were more than helpful and friendly; they really went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. We were particularly struck by the thoughtfulness that had gone into every detail in the cottage so that visitors would lack for nothing. An outstanding place - and we have stayed in many, many cottages.



Fabulous short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to all at Combermere, very well presented cottage and grounds, all staff have an eye for detail in the cottage and the grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and loved the wildlife and quiet time away from the hustle n bustle



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Simply Magical

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful relaxing stay. The properties are so well equipped and comfortable. The location is second to none we especially loved the walks and the gardens. Everyone at Combermere is friendly and helpful making our stay extra special. Hope to return soon.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Combermere Abbey Estate. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Quiet,Comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage so well equipped-have stayed in them all now over the years and think I like this one best.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Tranquil times

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Combermere and I’m glad we’ve found such a delightful haven. Combermere is so peaceful.
The accommodation has everything you could need....home from home....and the kitchen is so well equipped, with all needs catered for.
The grounds make for beautiful walks... and Combermere is a great base from which to visit many places .
And if that isn’t enough of a selling point ....the cottages are dog friendly....with bowls, towel, blanket and treats left for our four legged friends.
I can’t recommend Combermere and the friendly staff there enough.
An excellent mid week break to recharge!




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Christine, Thank you very much for your lovely review of Cotton Cottage following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Combermere Abbey Estate, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Rachel

Not to be missed

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It’s a lovely property and the only option if you are in the area. Cosy fires, comfy beds and extremely well equipped kitchen.



Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was recommended to us by a friend who has stayed previously, as it is suitable for dogs. So we wanted a quick trip away, & this is far enough to feel that we were “away”, but less than an hour drive from home.
We booked a cottage type accommodation in which dogs are catered for, & it had everything anyone would need for a self-catering stay. As there are 2 fantastic “foody” pubs very close by, we only used the self-catering facilities for relaxing breakfasts.
The accommodation is within immense grounds, with nearly a mile from the from the main entrance gate to the cottage. Perfect for dog walking in peace & quiet.
Lots of interesting walks, a huge lake, & stunning garden features




Wonderful Combermere

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are absolutely five star, although classed as self-catering you only need to bring yourselves, everything you needed was provided. We ordered a breakfast hamper which was amazing value and full of locally sourced goodies including Combermere apple juice. The staff on the estate were always happy to stop and chat, pass on their knowledge , nothing was too much trouble, you felt really welcome. Close to the market town of Whitchurch and the beautiful city of Chester a great place for exploring. Not forgetting the Combermere estate with its beautiful, gardens, lake and woodland walks.



Superb

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a fabulous holiday at Combermere Abbey. Couldn't have asked for more the cottage was excellent and contained everything we needed and all to a very high standard every member of staff we met was happy in their work that says a lot. Tour of the Abbey is a must very knowledgeable guide overall can't wait to return



Suggestions only

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for a very pleasant stay in Cotton Cottage. We thoroughly enjoyed the location and the comforts of the holiday cottage on Combermere Abbey.

Just a couple of suggestions and this is not a criticism...

A hand towel to wipe your hands on would be good
A heat cloth near the log burner as like all burners they get very hot on the handles when loading up with logs.
A table cloth for the dining table so as any minor spills dont affect the polished surface.
The feather filled cushions of the sofas dont offer much support, especially if you are elderly and have difficult hips.

Kind regards
G Hedgecock




Comfort and Tranquility

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed my recent 2 night stay, as did the dog! Very comfortable accommodation with carefully thought out little touches which make all the difference: milk in the fridge; a selection of wines and freezer food on a trust basis; free video hire; a tray in the hallway for dirty shoes; very efficient wood burning stove; 4 poster bed and a very well equipped kitchen. Only very slight problem was that the subtle lighting in the siting room was not quite bright enough to read a newspaper, but I'm nearly 70 and managed to mitigate the problem by moving a table and lamp, although the cable could have done with being a foot or two longer. I have stayed in this cottage before and would be very happy to do so again.
The two and a half hour walk around the estate was wonderful : bright blue skies with the biggest rainbow I've ever seen; varied terrain of woods, lakes and open countryside and wonderful views of the lake and Abbey in parts. Pheasants, foxes and hares in abundance!




Just idyllic!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 13th year of visiting Combermere and it still holds it magic for us. The perfect rural retreat for blissful peace and quiet .



Wedding stay at Combermere

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Cotton for our sons wedding, in fact all the cottages in the courtyard were occupied by wedding guests. We had a fabulous time ,got to meet guests we did not know in the barbeque we had in the courtyard the night before the wedding. This meant that the ice was well and truly broken for the wedding day itself. The accommodation was superb as was the location. It all made for a perfect wedding in a perfect location. Even the weather played ball. Thank you to everyone at Combermere.



Returning Visitor - Not Dissapointed

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first stayed at Combomere about 18yrs ago and returned at least once a year over the next few years.
Our latest stay came after a break of 10 years.

Cotton Cottage is very well proportioned and quite grand.

The kitchen is very well equipped with quality fixtures and fittings and was spotlessly clean.

I can't fault the overall accommodation, but would say that the sofas in the lounge were unsupportive, very uncomfortable and definitely not ideal for those with a history of back surgery such as myself. I think they need upholstering or changing.

The tennis court and grounds have also been vastly improved and it's easy to see why Combomere is a popular wedding venue.

If you've not been before, I would encourage you to go as its excellent value for money.




A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped, comfortable and beautifully designed cottages on a lovely country estate with woodland walks by the mere. There are thriving small towns in the vicinity and NT properties to visit. Highly recommended.



Tranquil spot

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall exceptional. You should advertise more that you supply frozen meals. Unfortunately only ice cream in the freezer. A way should be found to possibly pre-book food. Overall fantastic stay and we will return



Cotton Wedding weekend review

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning cottage, which sleeps 4 in total - a twin room and a double. The cottage was beautiful and extremely comfortable, the kitchen had everything you needed. I can't recommend this cottage enough for others.



Recent stay at cotton cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been visiting for the last 9 years, and the setting is peaceful and relaxing. The roads have become increasingly busy around Shropshire but some lovely walks available.



Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have made 20+ visits to a variety of cottages - and at all times of the year - speaks for its self.

The icing on the cake was the great weather.




Wonderful relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I never sleep well when not in my own bed, until now! I slept brilliantly from the first night, Cotton has an amazingly calm energy about it. My 2 kids loved the accommodation and loved exploring the grounds, they didn't want to leave!



A dip into the past

Review submitted on Sat, 07 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Cotton Cottage because back in the seventeenth century our family were farmers on the estate so we were excited to be in the area. The cottage was a perfect base for our explorations and provided warmth and welcome. We lapped up the history and the beautiful location thank you.



A fab short stay in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Combermere Abbey cottages, and we had a great time. The cottage was spotless and well-appointed, with plenty of room for our family of four and a dog. The kids enjoyed using the bikes and playing tennis, while we all enjoyed family walks by the mere & through the woods (not to mention playing board games in front of the log burner). There were even bowls, a blanket and treats for our dog. The cottage wifi also enabled us to keep up with emails. Evening trips to the Combermere Arms were a real treat, as were the locally-sourced goodies available from the cottage shop.
We had a very relaxing few days, and are already looking forward to our next stay.




Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent our wedding night in cotton, the cottage was spotless and very comfortable. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will be returning again. The staff go above and beyond to ensure you're stay is perfect



Country comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter and her family loved their Christmas present, which was a weekend at Combermere cottages. They lit a cosy fire in the sitting room and loved the big bed bedroom with its comfy fourposter. My granddaughter, aged 4, decided she would like to live in the Cotton cottage and was sad to go! They loved walking in the ancient wood and the beauty of the lake.



80th Birthday holiday celebration!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times in various cottages here and it never disappoints. This cottage was large and comfortable with pretty views and all the amenities you would expect. The Combermere estate itself is a joy to wander and explore . Great location around 5 min drive to Whitchurch or Nantwich and the local pub Combermere Arms serves excellent food .
The friendly staff are ever helpful too.

Will be even better once the abbey has been restored and visitors are allowed access.

A relaxing and rejuvenating holiday that my mother celebrating her 80th birthday very much enjoyed.




Couldn't have asked for a nicer place to be

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From checkin to checkout we felt welcome. The cottage was stacked full of home comforts and our dog was treated as a valued guest too. We'll return for sure.



Wonderful place... Will be visiting again soon I hope :)

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and so cosy.. We were fortunate enough to have the place to ourselves which was lovely for complete relaxation.

I would definitely recommend to people who just want to close the door put some logs on the fire and get away from it all.

The dog also enjoyed himself running around the pleasure gardens and walking through the woods.. He is still tired now :)





Better than expected

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Surpassed expectation! Particularly good for family / group stays with a number of cottages booked.".....".....".................................................



Wonderful place to relax

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three nights were not enough - we had a wonderful stay, everyone was so helpful and friendly. The cottage was roomy and very comfortable. It had all of the facilities that one could need. We enjoyed some lovely sunsets down by the mere along with numerous geese and swans.
Combermere is ideally situated for so many places to visit and the local hostelries are excellent - no need to cook!

Thank you to everyone for making our stay so enjoyable - we will be back to visit again.




great place to chill out

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
yet again another wonderfull stay at combermere ,kept to there good standards as normal ,the cottages are fab every thing to give you a good stay ,nice to wander around the estate with dogs ,will be back very soon hopefully



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely time was had by all. Houses immaculate and really beautifully decorated and comfortable. Location excellent and grounds good for exploring. Nice tea tray to welcome you on arrival and kitchens well equipped. Cotbeds that had been preordered were missing and but resolved fairly quickly and found by helpful lady.

Beware of midges and bugs biting in woods we all woke up with horrid bites after a walk on the woodland trail - which needs better signposting!!

Bikes could do with maintenance or replacing as some are unrideable. Some of sports equipment is also tired and needs updating. If you are offering the option to do these activities it should be provided properly not look like you are using stuff that other guests have left behind.

Overall really enjoyed our weekend. Hope to come back and try another cottage!!




A delightful stay at Cotton Cottage/ Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Friend and I were fortunate to have a fantastic 5 day stay at Combermere Abbey in Whitchurch during June 2014, we stayed in the beautiful Cotton Cottage which was absolutely delightful and setting and had everything on offer for a very relaxing break, beautiful gardens, woodland, its very own Mere, private garden with the cottage and furnished beautifully with all the luxury mod cons! Everything has been thought of in fine details and even a laundry room and shop where you can purchase fine organic prepared individual meals and delicious ice cream and even borrow a DVD , with only a short walk away from the Combermere Arms a delightful village pub serving great food! the joy of waking up in the morning to find cows grazing in the field opposite our cottage, this makes a beautiful Weddings Venue, special receptions and fantastic leisure breaks and a great get away from the city! we will be returning again very soon.

Michele Brooks




Fabulous!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful couple of days & will certainly recommend Combermere to our friends. Our welcome on arrival was warm & efficient - all staff were friendly & approachable.



Review of Cotton

Review submitted on Tue, 06 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fab place. If you want peace and tranquility this is the place. We stayed for 3 nights over the Easter break and thoroughly enjoyed it. The kids played on the bikes, we went on walks around the grounds mainly down by the river, it helped as the weather was lovely. The cottage was well equipped and had been freshly painted - this cottage also has a lovely garden that is enclosed - great for the kids. We went to Ironbridge and Chester Zoo on a couple of the days which the children really enjoyed. All in all a really good break.



A Perfect Rural Retreat!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in 'Cotton' cottage at Combermere Abbey. Everything's provided - and more. There's even a log box full of logs in the lounge, so you can have a real fire every night, if you want.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet, the Woodland walk (bit muddy but I'm sure it's lovely later in the year, particularly when all the bluebells are out), the cows in the field across the lane from our cottage and the wonderful Combermere Arms pub, which is just down the road and where we ate three times!

We took our dog on her first holiday and she loved it. We'd love to go back and introduce more friends to the delights of Combermere.




wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have lost count of the years we have been going to Comberemere.
Every visit has been wonderfully peaceful relaxing.
Would recommend it to everyone.




brilliant

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a wonderfull stay very nice weekend,cottage to the very high standard combermere keep to on every visit we have had there faultless ,look forward to our next visit there ,thankyou
jan & barry




Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We got married at combermere 10 years ago, and returned for our anniversary. The cottage was still lovely, immaculately clean and well equipped. The cottage was beautiful, but unfortunately the bedroom and en-suite windows leaked quite dramatically during heavy rain! Because of the poor weather the lakeside walk was closed, which was a shame. Overall though, combermere is still a magical place to stay, and we will definitely be back!



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was beautifully furnished to an excellent standard. The lounge area was magnificent with a lovely window seat set into a casement window which gave picturesque views over the surrounding countryside, mere and abbey
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and the large four poster bedroom was particularly stunning in terms of size and decor. The twin room with separate bathroom was perfect for two of our elderly guests.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Cotton for our wedding at Combermere Abbey. Even though we didn't book Stone Lodge, the staff still dressed our room as the Bridal Suite. Everything was better than we had hoped it would be from the initial booking to the wedding day itself. I really felt the wedding team genuinely cared that we had everything as we wanted it to be. We loved it and so many of our guests said it had been 'the perfect day'. Thank you Combermere!



A very special holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Reasons why we return to Combermere cottages every year:

1) The location is just stunning. Lots to do in the local area with excellent pubs.

2) We have stayed in most of the cottages over the years and they are all beautiful.

3) The standard of decoration and furnishings is outstanding.

4) The cottages are always pristine with fresh towels, crisp linen and sparkling bathrooms. The kitchen has everything you need.

5) Ready meals from the Freezer Room are delicious and easy.

6) Staff are so helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and when they say ' your dog is welcome' they really mean it!

7) Combermere is unique. It is possible to shut off from the rest of the world.To be private, rest, read, eat delicious food, and walk your dog through beautiful countryside totally undisturbed. We hope it never changes.




Smith saty w/e 24th Nov

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay, very relaxing and a stunning location.

Second bedroom looks very tired as did kitchen but overall it was fantastic venue and would revisit,





Cotton Cottage, Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit to Combermere - so far we have stayed in 4 different cottages and have never been disappointed. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday is on the doorstep, including ready cooked meals. We will definitely be returning again!!



Birthday Celebrations!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal cottage for our party together with Crossley. Lovely little garden with beautiful views. Very large bedrooms, cosy lounge.
The furnishings were most unusual, with an interesting theme.




Fabulous 5 star Holiday Cottages at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey is located in a beautiful country setting. Converted from Victorian Stables, there are nine individually designed cottages set around a courtyard with parkland views. We stayed in Cotton, which had superb Indian décor with authentic furnishings. A very comfortable fourposter bed and lovely warm comfortable lounge in this spacious cottage. A well equipped modern kitchen and a most delicious breakfast hamper was left for us. Cotton accommodates 4 people but some cottages are for 6 -10 guests. The Abbey is a private family home situated in many acres of grounds There are tennis courts, beautiful gardens, a unique fruit tree maze, woodlands to explore, bicycles can be borrowed, and a large mere for swimming in summer. In the walled garden there is a large glass house and pavilion where weddings are held. Amenities on site are a well stocked pantry shop with locally sourced food and drink and a good selection of games and DVD's to borrow. Excellent staff are there for you in the Estate and Housekeeper's office. Car parking is close to the cottages. Situated in an historic area of Cheshire, with interesting towns nearby and very good restaurants and pubs to visit, there is something for everyone here. Highly recommend for a peaceful, relaxing break.



Wonderful break.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a perfect place to get away either with family,friends or for a romantic break. The accomodation was outstanding. The staff were helpful and friendly from the booking right through to departure. The outdoor facilities and equipment provided free of charge could do with upgrading.