FB Twitter

Crossley

Crossley

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 55 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Formerly a complete wing of the original stables, Crossley Cottage offers luxurious, contemporary accommodation. The perfect holiday cottage for a group of friends or two families, each of the five bedrooms has its own bath or shower room.

Our stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2023
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had two lodges the smaller one was good apart from whole in the door where it was freezing even with curtain drawn, crossley was a bit tired , bedrooms where fine , sofas and furnishings down where a bit uncomfortable and old looking , could not seem to get cooker ovens all working needs instructions for the ovens, fridge not sure was working 100% as things where not that cold. We only had one set of towels for a 3 night stay was not enough. We had a great time as we made the most of it as we always do.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 16 days ago
Thank you very much for your review following your stay with us for the New Year break. We are very sorry to hear that you found the comfort & condition of Crossley Cottage to be lacking. We undertake a rolling annual maintenance programme across our 10 cottages, and we aim to be able to improve the furnishings within Crossley Cottage for our guests' comfort. Our maintenance team will look into the ovens and fridge-freezer to ensure that these are working efficiently, and we are sorry that this caused you problems during your stay as we were unaware of any issues prior to your review. Thank you for letting us know that the number of towels were not sufficient for you - please do let us know of this ahead of your next stay, and we will be able to provide additional towels for you. We are very sorry that you found Stapleton Cottage to be cold throughout your stay. We are sourcing a replacement door for Stapleton, however as the cottages are grade II listed properties, and to maintain the historical nature of the cottages, this does mean that the creation of a bespoke door is required. We do hope that you were able to enjoy the new year celebrations with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Simply Wonderful Stay..... a fantastic Christmas in everyway!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three generations of our family stayed at Crossley Cottage for Christmas and it exceeded our expectations in every way. A Christmas hamper greeted us upon our arrival plus afternoon tea and mince pies laid out on the kitchen table, a lovely welcome and start to our four night stay. The cottage is beautifully equipped and cosy, beds super comfortable, bathrooms modern and spacious. The grounds of Combermere are beautiful and we had lovely walks with our two dogs who were also made to feel very welcome. Rachel was our contact and nothing was too much trouble, she was extremely helpful from start to finish. We feel very fortunate to have found this gem on the Shropshire/Cheshire border and will definitely return without question. Thank you Combermere Abbey for helping to make our Christmas such a special one :)



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 17 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage for the Christmas break. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey, and that the cottage and estate exceeded your expectations. It was a pleasure to welcome your family to the estate, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Beautiful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage within the Abbey grounds, is just the most perfect location for a large group. The cottage is extremely cosy, yet so spacious. Everything you will need is available, including interior accessories that make it feel even more like home.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 73 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a great stay, and that the cottage was ideal for your group. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wedding haven

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Attended son's wedding at Combermere and stayed in Crossley Cottage for 2 nights. Both the cottage and the wedding were excellent. Cottage was very well equipped and comfortable for 9 of us. The wedding went meticulously. The staff were brilliant, ensuring everything went off without a hitch, even when the registrar was late! What particularly impressed us was the way one person was allocated to ensure the bride and groom didn't miss out on the cancpes during the photo's. Everything was impressive, the venue, the food, the organisation and service. It's a beautiful venue, amazing gardens to walk in - can't wait to see the photo's.
I can highly recommend both the cottages and the wedding venue - couldn't have wished for a more perfect day, particularly after the rain lashing down the day before while we got everything ready.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 114 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us whilst celebrating Megan & Sam's wedding, and that you had such a perfect day! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Excellent venue, disappointment in the lack of breakfast hamper on the second morning

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottages, brilliant size bedrooms and ensuits, we had a room where the windows didn’t open which did mean it was exceptionally hot in the room and when getting ready. Was disappointed there was no hamper on our second morning and were told the first hamper was for two mornings. There certainly was not enough food for 10 people for two mornings, the milk was gone off by the second morning so unable to have coffee/tea making facilities. Other than that was a beautiful stay and beautiful venue



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 150 days ago
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage, and we're pleased to hear that you found the cottage to be a wonderful size for your group. I am sorry to hear that the breakfast hamper provided was not sufficient for your stay with us, and I understand that our team was able to provide you with additional milk and breakfast items for your second morning. We look forward to being able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey in the not too distant future.

Luxurious Stay in Beautiful Surroundings!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely well equipped and comfortable cottage which easily accommodated 7 of us for a long weekend, family get together. We could want for nothing in terms of cleanliness, self-catering equipment and comfort.

There are some very good, recommended local pubs / restaurants reasonably close to Combermere Abbey if you fancy a break from self-catering.

The property sits in lovely grounds in the heart of the countryside, offering peaceful, relaxing walks and sight of wildlife and nature’s beauty.

All communications with regard to our booking were answered quickly as were a couple of requests that we made pre-arrival.

A great experience. Highly recommend.

Thank you everyone at Combemere Abbey.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 318 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the Estate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

wonderful accommodation !

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was amazing ~.everything you could possibly wish for and more. Super king beds and beautifully appointed bathrooms with complimentary toiletries; a well- equipped kitchen and a cosy lounge.
The cottage was very spacious and tastefully decorated with access to both front and rear courtyard and even provided a dog blanket and pet essentials.
The grounds were very beautiful some with snowdrop walks leading down to the lake.
All staff at Comberemere were extremely kind and friendly; nothing was too much trouble.

We were sad to leave and will definitely return again. Thankyou for our wonderful stay.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 331 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review for Crossley Cottage. We are so very pleased to hear that you enjoyed another wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A wonderful weekend with our friends in this lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were upgraded from Malbenc Cottage because of an electrical issue - this wasn't a problem at all. We were delighted with the cottage and it's worked out perfectly for us.
We were all up for my Grandson's Christening and it was so nice for us all to be together after time apart due to Covid.
The welcoming hamper was delicious. The whole place was incredibly welcoming with perfect touches throughout.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the beds were glorious - as were the pillows. Often these can be a disappointment but these were not - soft, yet supportive.

We were so happy to spend two nights in this truly marvellous cottage in beautiful surroundings. We are all well travelled and rate this as one of the best places we've stayed in for a long time.

Thank you.

Lotte x




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Crossley Cottage, and that it provided a perfect setting for you all. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A really comfortable and homely cottage that was perfect for a family Christmas

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was beautifully clean and well prepared for our stay. The cottage had everything we needed; comfortable, spacious bedrooms and bathrooms, well equipped kitchen and very nicely decorated with tree and other decorations for Christmas. There was also a very generous welcome hamper.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay for the Christmas Break, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wedding stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recently stayed for my Friends wedding, the cottage was beautiful and such a pleasure to stay. The cottage was clean and very cosy. Would love to return again another time.



Lovely cottage & pretty location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very fortunate to stay at Crossley for half term with our three children and one set of grandparents. The cottage is beautiful, feels very homely, beds are exceptionally comfortable. We had a very relaxing stay, spending time exploring the grounds and swimming in the lake. Locally we found some lovely pubs/restaurants. Will definitely return :)



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was excellent the fixtures and fittings were first class.
The only down side was the garden that was supposed to be enclosed but it is not secure for a dog and not big enough for the size property.




Staycation heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we needed just for the short break away and we don't live far away so easy to get to. The grounds are extensive so got lots of fresh air and walked the dog. So much to look at .. we will definitely be back.



Great holiday for the whole family

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and clean. We enjoyed the woodland walk. Perfect weekend away for the family.



Just perfect.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a fantastic family weekend spent in Crossley Cottage. With 6 adults and 4 children we needed plenty of room and we certainly had that. With 5 en-suite bedrooms and two lounges it was ideal. Every room was beautifully decorated and there was ample space to seat us all around the dining table in the very well-equipped kitchen. The outdoor space for children to play and the Woodland walks were a bonus. I think this will be the ideal location for our annual family get together. The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The only downside was the tennis court which required some TLC, but it did not detract from our enjoyment. I am sure we will be back



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, views are amazing.
Perfect for a big family get together or for a nice quiet weekend away




What a beautiful place!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent last weekend at Crossley Cottage, Combermere, with our 3 children, their partners and our 3 grandchildren. What a glorious place to stay! The cottage is superb. Each bedroom is ensuite. There are two adjoining living areas, which gave us all plenty of space and the kitchen is beautifully equipped and has a dining table that comfortably seated all 11 of us.

The gardens and grounds are stunning. We enjoyed walking through the woodland to the lake, biking, playing tennis and, those more active members, jogging. Tennis racquets, a croquet set and a selection of bikes were among the equipment available to us. We had a really lovely weekend.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us in Crossley Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you all had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the Estate during your break! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Crossley cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 10 stayed at Crossley cottage for a long weekend to celebrate an 80th birthday, everyone ranging from 5-80 years old and the dog had a fabulous time. The cottage was beautiful and had everything you could wish for. The grounds were great for morning and evening dog walks round the woods by the beautiful lake. We loved the bikes and the honesty shop. The Abbey is in an excellent position for great pubs and there was a lot to do to suit everyone, we visited Beeston Castle, ice cream farm, Nantwich, Audelm. A wonderful weekend, thank you



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Crossley Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey, and that you were able to enjoy so many of the local attractions! We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Palls Reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the cottage was of a high standard, the garden is delightful, the Woodland walk was full of interest.



A weekend in crossley

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, so well equipped and so tastefully appointed. We loved the kitchen and the large table was a perfect shape for our gathering.
It was incredibly comfortable and suited our family needs perfectly.
We love staying at Combermere and the staff are incredibly helpful and lovely.
The visitor shop was perfect and walking around the estate was idyllic. We will be back!




Rachel Newton replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, we are absolutely delighted to see that you all had a wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey over the weekend. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon. Kind regards, Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator

Family get together

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Combermere Abbey Cottages in Feb 2018 for a 70th birthday celebration - It was such a beautiful location and all 22 of the family/friends that came enjoyed the accommodation and surroundings. We rented Crossley, Beckett and Malbanc cottages and had the best time! All the rooms were beautiful and the space was actually bigger then you expect (which is unusual these days). We were able to accommodate 8 families: 3 with 2-3 children each (all kids got a real bed), 3 couples and 2 singles.

The cottages are all joined and have access to a courtyard at the front so moving between them was easy. It was perfect to be able to have your own sleeping space and many lounges for teens and younger kids, but still be able to meet up for the party and food around the big dinning table in Beckett. Followed by after dinner games in Malbanc and older kids enjoyed chill out time during the day in Crossley's lounge. There was also ample cooking space, utensils and crockery to cater for our party! The courtyard store was well stocked with DVD's and we loved the idea of the 'mini-bar' baskets with wines. If you do stay take home a bottle of Combermere Abbey Apple juice it's delicious!

Combermere staff were very accommodating and made sure there were enough dining chairs at our big table for the whole group. We arranged for a supermarket delivery which had arrived ahead of our first guest, but had been kindly placed in our kitchen. Staff were incredibly polite and helpful in all the emails, phone calls and preparations prior to arrival, and directions were great. Onsite we enjoyed the woodland walk, rode bikes, enjoyed the gardens and played tennis - the perfect relaxing weekend. We would all highly recommend this place and would hope to return.





Wedding weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most perfect weekend at combermere cottages for our wedding weekend. The cottages were amazing, and the staff could not have been more helpful and kind. Definitely went above and beyond for us. I would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend to anyone.



New Year's Celebration with Friends

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fabulous location. The accomodation was comfortable and warm and the rooms were all clean for our arrival. The staff were friendly and welcoming.
As we were leaving the conversation was centred around booking again for next year.
Highly recommended.




Christmas 2017

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Chose this for a family gathering with youngsters as well as 2 little dogs. Fantastic welcome hampers and special gifts for the dogs. Loads of food storage and large stove. Did have a problem with dvd player which had seen better days but everything else was really lovely. We enjoyed the walk to the mere. Wish we had more time there.



A family gathering

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Combermere for a get together with all the family
The location means it is convenient for everyone from north and south
It is expensive - but we think it is worth it
We stayed in Crossley and Stapleton - both were immaculate, very comfortable and had everything in them we could possibly need - even blankets and treats for the dogs!
My 83 year old, slightly disabled mum was very happy in Stapleton with its downstairs bedroom and accessible shower
Everything we needed was right on the doorstep - no need to go anywhere else during our 3 night stay
We enjoyed walking around the grounds and playing tennis and the family croquet tournament might have become an annual fixture!
If I were to find fault I would just say the surface of the tennis court could do with a freshen up




A wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at Crossley on a number of occasions so had no hesitation in booking it for a family reunion post-Christmas. Our guests were absolutely thrilled with the property, the estate and the facilities, despite the inclement weather. The only thing that could have been better was if there had been a fire or log burner in the living room. Even so, we were very comfortable and I hope to return soon.




Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is of a very high standard and is perfect for a large group. There were lots of really nice and personal touches that made the stay even more memorable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. The one thing that could be improved is the patchy wifi, but only a minor issue against and overwhelmingly positive review



A splendid place for a family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely family weekend at Crossley and Malbanc with a total of 16 guests aged between 10 and 82 and 2 dogs! There was plenty to do for everyone - we particularly enjoyed the tennis and the croquet and the dogs enjoyed the woodland walk and swimming in the lake! Cottages were both very comfy - which meant it was easy to relax - and well equipped which meant it was easy to cook and enjoy meals altogether. It's not often that all 16 of us are able to all sit around a lovely dining table at the same time! We are already thinking of booking again for next year's family reunion.



My husbands 50th birthday celebrations!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It simply was perfect!
The cottages are set in such a beautiful location and the 14 friends who joined us there to celebrate my husbands birthday,
couldn't have agreed more!
Every detail is thought of to make your stay as easy as possible.
The breakfast hampers were superb and as soon as I can think of another reason to go I shall be booking again!




A "first class" base.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Combermereabbey proved as wonderful as the first. Supremely comfortable and so very well equipped, Combermereabbey was an excellent base for our weekend. We were a group of 30 occupying several of the cottages with Beckett providing a superb venue for a "get together" on Saturday evening. From booking to the smooth running of the actual weekend, the Combermereabbey staff could not have been more helpful or supportive.



Combermere Abbey Wedding Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Crossley as part of a wedding package.
Every cottage at Combermere is worth staying in. The place is a true delight, location, accommodation and staff.
Every cottage is unique, decorated to the highest standards and well worth every penny.
We Will be back.




Fabulous location for relaxing team enggement

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a couple of days as a team just relaxing and engaging with each other as part of our wellbeing. Could not have picked a better location. Staff were lovely and Crossley Cottage felt like a home from home. We all really relaxed, made ourselves at home and chilled out. Had a BBQ , went for a beautiful walk in the woodland walk and enjoyed wellbeing treatments from My Personal Sanctuary. Can't wait to go back



Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of the cottages at Combermere are stunning. They provide everything you need, the customer service levels were amazing from booking, email communication and throughout our stay. Each cottage is decorated differently but all to a beautiful high spec, the beds are huge and sooo comfy. We are definitely looking into going back.
The only reason I marked a 4/5 for cleanliness was for a few cobwebs, other than that the kitchen and bathrooms were gleaming. The kitchen cupboards were stocked with glasses and plates and the breakfast hampers are to die for!




Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All of the cottages at Combermere are stunning. They provide everything you need, the customer service levels were amazing from booking, email communication and throughout our stay. Each cottage is decorated differently but all to a beautiful high spec, the beds are huge and sooo comfy. We are definitely looking into going back.
The only reason I marked a 4/5 for cleanliness was for a few cobwebs, other than that the kitchen and bathrooms were gleaming. The kitchen cupboards were stocked with glasses and plates and the breakfast hampers are to die for!




Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is lovely and spacious, the bedrooms are particularly nice - all have an ensuite and the beds are really comfy. We had a problem with the hot water but this was sorted straight away from us. Only criticism would be that we chose the cottage as it had a downstairs bedroom as we had some in our group with mobility issues, however, there was a bath in the ensuite rather than a shower which made it difficult to use.



A beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage furnished to a very high standard. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. It is in a beautiful setting. Highly recommended and we hope to stay again



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and every detail had been taken care of to the names of the people staying in the rooms to the delicious breakfast hamper!! Can't wait to go back.



Wedding weekend in Crossley Cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing wedding weekend when we stayed at Crossley cottage. Everything was excellent and our whole party did not want to go home. The cottage exceed expectations and the staff could not have been more helpful. We would definitely recommend this property to others.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely time was had by all. Houses immaculate and really beautifully decorated and comfortable. Location excellent and grounds good for exploring. Nice tea tray to welcome you on arrival and kitchens well equipped.

Beware of midges and bugs biting in woods we all woke up with horrid bites after a walk on the woodland trail - which needs better signposting!!

Bikes could do with maintenance or replacing as some are unrideable. Some of sports equipment is also tired and needs updating. If you are offering the option to do these activities it should be provided properly not look like you are using stuff that other guests have left behind.

Overall really enjoyed our weekend. Hope to come back and try another cottage!!




An accidental fabulous find!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were working at the Open Golf at Hoylake whilst staying at Crossley, which was a bit of a trek, but it was just divine knowing that we were coming back to the peace, tranquility and comfort of the house. I didn't know the area at all, which made it quite hard to get a suitable space for us all. So what a find! Such a unique place. Loved the mini shop with emergency supplies,and everyone was so helpful and nothing was too much trouble. My booking was so last minute (actually the day before we came!) and the house was turned around for us all to stay in (5 girls and 2 boys). I can't recommend it enough and on the back of our stay, 2 of the girls are going to book a holiday here.
It is unique,serene and welcoming. Just the ticket after a 12 hour day of work. My thanks to everyone there for a lovely few days.




Lovely place to stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful time at Combermere Abbey. 25 of us came for my hen weekend . The weather was nice so we made the most of our gardens. The large dining room was fantastic for us all to dine together.
We used MPS to provide treatments in the cottages on the Saturday and on the Saturday evening we enjoyed a night of cocktails and dancing in Nantwich.
We will definitely be returning!




Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful conversion, beautifully spec'd, layout thoughtful, and will definitely be back. It suited us amazingly well as the bride/groom and immediate family as suited is immensely - other guests were accommodated within the other cottages.



Fabulous as always

Review submitted on Mon, 05 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love Combermere, have returned time after time. First stay at Crossley, beautifully decorated and well equipped. However disconcerting to see prices creeping up.



Mundsley Crew

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of 10 who go away for a long Weekend every year, mostly early on. We have been to several places arround the country. We found that the size of Crossley specially the bedrooms was by far the largest so far. The kitchen was very nice and spacious but have been in bigger. One setbvack was that the second oven door did not close. This did not stop us as we cooked a very large Turkey on the Sunday. We biked, played Tennis and did the walks. The setting was glorious, and we had some fairly good Weather. We went to Audlem and walked along by the Canal. We also walked the Walls in Chester. What a lovely setting for a Wedding.



Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great surroundings with a beautiful courtyard and the amenities included were excellent. Very comfortable and a well stocked kitchen. Wi fi worked well too!



Breathtaking

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely luxurious accommodation and glorious setting. Great way to both mix with others or spend private time alone. V well equipped and appreciated the hairdryer on hand. Lovely powerful shower but water could have been a bit hotter



Crossley weekend accommodation - 14 - 17th Feb, 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This review is in respect of an extended weekend which my wife and I spent in the Crossley cottage at Combermere Abbey with a large group of friends.

In an attempt to give a balanced assessment I would have prefered to be able to give a few suggestions for improvements but in all honesty, I am struggling to find fault with any aspects of the holiday weekend. The location is beautiful and the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. The accommodation was spacious, comfortable and spotless. I would be more than happy to return for another holiday and will very likely do so before long.

Roger Jackson




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. We were able to accommodate many of our younger guests including the bride and bridesmaids which allowed for ease of wedding preparations on the morning of the wedding.
The double room downstairs was perfect for the bride with ease of access from the carpark for the delivery of the dress etc!. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



8 friends getting together

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
8 friends getting together for a 50th Birthday. We had a superb stay at Combermere in the Crossley cottage. We all had en suites which is why we booked this cottage. Very comfortable although one of the couples wished they had a mirror on their dressing table and we all would have like a TV in the main lounge. We understand that other tenants had liked the separate TV room but we would have liked the option to watch TV in the main lounge.

We enjoyed walking around the grounds and using the free bikes to cycle around the estate. A stroll down to the Combermere Arms (1.5 miles approx) was well worth the walk, superb pub, lovely decor, fab food and attentive staff.

Definitely will return.




feedback - Crossely

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
really good values, rooms were amazing, great kitchen facilities and staff were really helpful prior to the day and on the day

Crossley kitchen facilities was great and big for us the make our food.

thanks




Outstanding holiday accommodation.

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Crossley is a beautiful holiday cottage, it is a large but still retains a cosy feel and has every luxury you would expect. The only downside is the lack of private garden to the cottage although I believe this is being addressed. It wasn't too much of an issue though as the beautiful estate gardens are very close. We've stayed at Combermere somewhere in the region of 18 times but this was our first time in Crossley, it's definitely our favourite.



Birthday Celebrations!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable, spacious cottage most suitable for our occasion, with every facility for our family. Loved the kitchen table!
the children in the family had a wonderful time on the bikes, and also the library was ideal for them to chill out with a DVD while the grown ups chatted in the sitting room. Would definitely like to return.




amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a group of 12 for a hen weekend and we were blown away from the second we arrived. We had 2 cottages next to each other they where stunning lots of space, welcome pack and everything you need towels etc. Jean helped me organise beauticians to come to property and advised me on a local company that provide fresh meals ready for the oven. The surrounding area was breath taking, we have got some fantastic memory's thank you to everyone for making it so special.