FB Twitter

North Wing - The Salamanca

North Wing - The Salamanca

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 87 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
5.0


The North Wing Bed & Breakfast is a stylish oasis where you can unwind and enjoy its historic landscape and mere in peace and quiet. Recently completely restored, staying in the award-winning North Wing will envelope you in its history and the stylish interiors by Nina Campbell. Guests are treated to excellent service and attention with nothing left to chance.

The Salamanca room, furnished with a luxurious super king size, antique silvered tester bed and decorated in tranquil shades of pale blue and silver, is completed by comfortable seating, flat screen television and full length mirror. The opulent en-suite bathroom features a marble clad bath, with spectacular views over the mere, full shower, toilet and "his and hers" basins.

Peace at Last

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a hectic Christmas, (I’m a Cof E rector), we arrived at Combermere Abbey. The north wing is a combination of peaceful retreat and a luxurious hotel. Set in an amazing location, with attentive staff, (nothing was too much trouble), and stunning walks and views. We will certainly revisit this hidden gem again.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 17 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your stay at the North Wing Bed & Breakfast. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your break, and that the North Wing provided a tranquil escape for you after a hectic Christmas. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wow! Just Wow! Absolute Perfection!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where do you even start with such a perfect stay! Firstly the drive up from the wedding with all the trees lit up and mist over the lake greeting us. The Salamanca suite is perfectly suited for a couple, it feels so peaceful and romantic. The bath is something special looking out over the lake placed in the centre of the bathroom. The breakfast next morning made us feel like a king and queen, the attention to detail by Blair was on another level! Before meeting him we were nervous about a butler experience but he made it feel so normal and special, we could get used to it! Hands down the best breakfast I have ever had. Blair perfectly suited to our dietary requirements too (vegan and nut free). We will be back for all special events in the future - anniversaries, birthdays, valentine's day, easter, thanksgiving....Fridays! Any excuse to come back!



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 44 days ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your stay at the North Wing. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you have a fabulous stay to celebrate your wedding night. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Absolutely stunning

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a night in the North Wing. We stayed in the Salamanca Suite and the whole experience was way beyond any expectations. The Suite is absolutely stunning and very well kept. I've never slept in such a comfortable bed! The standout feature for me was the bath, absolutely perfect. Stephan was so attentive; we could not have asked for a better anniversary weekend. We got married at Combermere 10 years ago so this was a really special getaway for us. We would highly recommend staying here for a special treat. Pure luxury.





Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 52 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay to celebrate your 10 year wedding anniversary, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing stay at the North Wing!

The building has been beautifully and sympathetically restored and is in a peaceful yet accessible location.

We arrived late on an autumn evening but the directions were very clear and the welcome from Blair was very warm.
The whole building was cosy too, despite having spacious rooms and high ceilings.

In daylight, the views are stunning and the first signs of life we spotted from the (fabulous) bathroom overlooking the lake were pheasants, just below the window.

I can’t take gluten and the choice of treats on arrival and the variety at breakfast was super. The table was beautifully set and the apple compote from the estate’s fruit tasted delicious. In fact even before arrival Blair had already contacted us about dietary requirements so we felt things were taken seriously. Thank you!

The pre and post travel communication with Rachel was also warm and efficient.

We left with very positive memories, would like to return, and would happily recommend to others.





Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 72 days ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay at the North Wing Bed & Breakfast. We are delighted to hear that you had a fabulous stay, and that you were able to enjoy both the stunning setting of the North Wing and also the incredible surroundings of the Estate. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A wonderful place to recharge your batteries!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently spent 3 nights in the Salamanca suite and it exceeded our expectations.
We had to cancel our original booking due to a bereavement and were told we could re book at any time over the next 12 months, which I thought was a generous gesture.
The North Wing is grand and beautifully furnished but at the same time feels cosy and welcoming.
We were well looked after by Blair who made the most delicious breakfasts for us...nothing was too much trouble.
The Salamanca suite is beautiful, comfortable, light and airy with huge windows that overlook the mere and knot gardens.The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom has to be seen to be believed!
We explored the gardens and enjoyed a long woodland walk during our stay.
We felt better in mind and spirit after our break and hope to return before too long.





Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 73 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent break at the North Wing Bed & Breakfast. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that the setting of the North Wing and surroundings of the Estate helped to restore you both, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A magical memory

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A night’s stay in the Salamanca suite in the North wing of Combermere Abbey was a gift to create a memory for my Dad’s 90th birthday – it surpassed all expectations.

In his words “The location was stunning especially with the sun shining on the Mere. The whole accommodation was immaculate, luxurious, and beautifully furnished. The breakfast was one of the best I’ve had in my 90 years ! “

A big thank you has to go to Stephan for preparing the outstanding breakfast which had lots of extra special touches and for being so attentive and welcoming and for making my Dad’s birthday a magical moment.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 77 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that your Dad had a wonderful stay to celebrate his 90th birthday, and it was a pleasure to be able to welcome him. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another 5 star review for your collection! Honestly there’s nothing I would change. If you’re reading this and thinking about booking here, just do it! You won’t regret it!



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 80 days ago
Thank you very much for your wonderful review following your recent stay at the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Salamanca suite

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay at Combermere, Blair was fantastic and the room was very big. All fixtures and fittings were top quality. A very relaxing environment with wonderful views from all windows in the room.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 80 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the relaxing surroundings on the estate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Outstanding

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed a single night in the West Wing but now wished we had booked for a longer stay. We would describe the Abbey as 5 Star + +.
Everything from the Estate Grounds, reconstructed Tudor Buildings, rooms and Furnishings, is superb.
The Manager Stephan welcomed us and explained the History of the Abbey and the extensive process to complete its reconstruction and conversion. In the morning breakfast was Michelin star.

We hope to stay again in the not too distant future.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 91 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at Combermere Abbey. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the beauty of the estate and the Abbey. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A brilliant stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing! So many gorgeous touches and the customer service was unbelievable!! We wished we could have stayed for longer and will be back very soon!



Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey has a special place in our hearts as we got married here, and have since spent time on our baby moon #1, on family breaks and this time for baby moon #2. We cannot recommend it highly enough and a stay in the North Wing is something else. It’s immaculate, beautifully decorated, in stunning surroundings and the customer service is excellent. A hidden gem




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 102 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your visit back to the North Wing. We are delighted to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy a lovely breakaway for your baby-moon! We very much look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

A wonderful find

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The website photos made the place look good. The reality was even better. The location and accommodation are superb. The service was faultless. Every detail was attended to. We cannot wait to visit again.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 102 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Weekend stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend away everything about this place is perfect the room was excellent, a lovely breakfast and Rachel was a great host and very knowledgeable about the building. We had a beautiful walk within the grounds we will definitely be coming back. Thank you



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 116 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing B&B. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful weekend away with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

The Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow..what an experience.
Had 3 perfect nights here ably assisted by Stefan & Gareth for local taxis.
Immaculate facilities & perfect breakfasts in a stunning location.
We'll be back.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 123 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A fantastic end to a wonderful wedding

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the North Wing in the Salamanca suit is one that really added the cherry on top of the cake which was Combermere Abbey. We had the best wedding and coming back to the Abbey for our wedding night was the best way to end the whirlwind of a day we both had.

The highlight for us was the beautiful bath that we had in the morning which overlooked the grounds of the Abbey, including the beautiful lake. A perfect way to cure sore heads!

The breakfast in the morning was delicious and offered everything we could have needed for our stay. Thanks to Rachel for a delightful spread and great company on our first morning as Mr & Mrs.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 150 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review for the North Wing following your wedding at Combermere. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and that it was the perfect end to your wedding celebrations! We look forward to welcoming you both back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing Lakeside Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were impressed from our arrival up the long tree lined driveway until our woodland walk prior to departure. Accommodation was beautifully presented and explained by Stefan’s personal and pleasant welcome. We enjoyed quiet and relaxing space set in a stunning lakeside environment. An excellent breakfast was provided next morning by Rachel and served with friendliness and efficiency along with information on the local area and other places worth visiting - we really wished we could have stayed longer.
I have somewhat complex dietary needs being both gluten and dairy free and Stefan and Rachel provided for this throughout our stay - from in room biscuits, afternoon tea and breakfast needs.
We will certainly be looking to stay again when next in the area and will recommend to friends and family.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 162 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the estate during your stay. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again soon!

Wedding night stay

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice , really pretty a fantastic place to stay for our wedding night. However, the hours you get to stay are rather short for the amount you have to pay. If the checkout was later (or check-in earlier) would present better value for money.



Peaceful and Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay in the spacious Salamanca room in the North Wing was dream like! It is decorated in pale blue tones which lend to the sense of calm I experienced during my stay. The bathroom is enormous with a stunning view over the grounds and mere. The bath tub is out of this world! While I was a single person in the room, it is quite romantic, designed for two.
A delicious breakfast was served each morning down in the dining room by Rachel, a very helpful and friendly staff member.
I was fortunate enough to be there for a special tour of the home which includes tea with the owner. It was so fabulous to hear all the fascinating stories throughout history and learn about the many architectural changes and restorations that have taken place!
Walks around this property should not be missed as they will refresh your soul!
I cannot thank all those at Combermere Abbey enough for my peaceful and perfect stay!




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 189 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay at the North Wing Bed & Breakfast. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we were able to welcome you for part of your trip to the UK. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

A night to remember

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can appreciate that the nature of the reviews for this accommodation may only be purely wedding-related so it may be hard to describe this accommodation by its own merit, however, I will try. As part of the beautiful estate, the North Wing overlooks the mere and land above. The property is well-looked after and is material luxury, certainly not the type of accommodation I would normally stay in or be able to afford. It is an amazing addition to the wedding package and certainly made our day feel more grand so thank you. Also, a big thank you to the Estates Team (Rachel) and Stefan for accommodating us so warmly.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 207 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay in The North Wing. We are very pleased to hear that you have a wonderful stay to celebrate your wedding, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in the North Wing, Perfect way to end our wedding.
The breakfast was beautiful, and grounds.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 214 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review, and we are so pleased to hear that the North Wing provided the perfect place for you both to celebrate at the end of your wedding. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Accommodation on wedding night

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accommodation, Stefan is lovely, breakfast was great, it was a very relaxed morning. Just wish we could have had a little longer there



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 219 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your wedding & stay at the North Wing. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time in the North Wing, it truly is a wonderful setting to celebrate the first night of your marriage together! Please don't be a stranger, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Most unique place we have ever stayed!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey is just beautiful; the set up in the north wing is so unique and well thought out. We couldn’t have asked for more! The views from the room and the completely peaceful surroundings are simply wonderful and I hope one day we get to revisit.
The use of the lounges and breakfast in the dining room are excellent. Stephan was very welcoming and we enjoyed our stay very, very much. One of the best nights sleep in years!




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 242 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us at the North Wing B&B. We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A nights stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 1st visit but very well looked after by Stephan - lovely room and location.
I would recommend and visit again when in the area.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 245 days ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at The North Bed & Breakfast. We are very pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Our wedding day

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The north wing was truly amazing! It was the perfect way to end our magical wedding day - which was everything we could have dreamt of and more!
The breakfast in the morning was fantastic!

Thank you so much!




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 262 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the North Wing, and we are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay to celebrate your first night as Mr & Mrs! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

North Wing Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding. Beautiful setting, fabulous interiors, wonderful service. Perfect peace and tranquility.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 275 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at the North Wing Bed & Breakfast. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Excellent again!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect from start to finish. Staff fantastic, brilliant service, superb accommodation, a wonderful experience.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 283 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay in the North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

A perfect little escape

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A tranquil slice of heaven
Everything was above and beyond
Breakfast was delicious
We can’t wait to be back here for our wedding




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 291 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in the North Wing B&B. We are pleaded to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy a wonderful night with us ahead of your wedding. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Salamanca Suite exceeded expectations!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous in every way! Friendly welcome from Stephan, delicious breakfast from Jan and all in luxurious surroundings.
Huge bedroom with lovely views from every window, comfy bed. Pretty sitting room off bedroom and the most enormous bathroom, with big free standing bath, separate large walk in shower, two wash basins and loo - plus chaise longue and arm chair!!
Downstairs was beautiful dining room and particularly pretty sitting room overlooking lake.
There was a file documenting the complete renovation of the building, almost from scratch and it was obviously a labour of love.
A tranquil and peaceful place for a mini break, or even a one night stay - superb value for money.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 312 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in the Salamanca Suite of the North Wing B&B. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing from start to finish

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, the room was amazing the views of the lake from the bedroom/bathroom were stunning!! Stephen was lovely very helpful and his poached eggs were the best!. We Would definitely stay here again. Gorgeous place.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 332 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

You won’t want to leave the room

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my partner both agreed that it was the greatest place we have ever stayed (and probably ever will stay). The views were beautiful, rooms were incredible and our host Stephan could not have been anymore perfect if he had tried. We cannot stop thinking about Combermere Abbey, and have both agreed that we are definitely going to be coming back at some point in the future. Thank you again for a wonderful nights stay.



A wonderful experience

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coming back to Combermere Abbey was a real treat for us. It’s such a lovely place to relax & unwind, and the attention to detail (provided by Stephen) was second to none.
We love the ambience and attention to detail. Breakfast was also fantastic.




A perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the North Wing is perfect.
So comfortable, clean and well presented with special little touches from the staff.
We wish we could have stayed longer and will certainly be back.




Splendid break

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in The Salamanca, Combermere Abbey. The accommodation was very grand and luxurious with breathtaking views of the wonderful estate, gardens and lake. We enjoyed watching the birds, pheasants, swans and other wildlife in such a beautiful setting . Our room was magnificent, comfortable roomy bed, lovely furnishings. The bathroom was amazing and we had our own sitting room again both with wonderful views. The little touches like bathrobe, slippers, chocolates and bottled water added to the luxury feel.
Breakfast was perfect and plentiful served by Stephan who was friendly and informative but not intrusive. We loved the cake which was there on arrival to enjoy with a fresh one provided each day.
Finally we loved visiting the local Cheshire villages and countryside.




Shangri la

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit, even better than I remembered. The wing, the grounds, the breakfast, Stephan, all beyond perfect. A beautiful building restoration, furnishings so tasteful and luxurious. Next time we are definitely coming for longer!



A luxurious short break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved my stay at Combermere, I joined my parents who were staying for my mums birthday. Stephan did an excellent job of making us all feel welcome with cake for the birthday and being available as necessary during our stay.
My suite was beautiful with so much space and the bath is super special.
I enjoyed a swim in the mere with advice from Stephan.
Already booked my return visit this time with my husband.




Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Combermere Abbey for the first night of our honeymoon and we so pleased we did! Our room, Salamanca, was breathtakingly beautiful with amazing views. The attention to detail was beyond our expectations and our host Stephan looked after us so well. I cannot praise him enough…especially for cooking our breakfast! We will take away happy memories of an all too brief stay…



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous room with beautiful rooms. We were made to feel very special. Can’t wait to visit again!!



Faultless

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect in every way
——————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————————-




Wow factor

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent stay, Stefan and Janet made us feel very welcome and our room and surroundings were beyond expectations.
The bed a little on the hard side & would be more comfortable if it had a mattress topper. Apart from this we cannot find fault. We will definitely revisit.




North Wing Wedding Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay on the night of our wedding, it was very comfortable. The staff were very good and attentive. The only negative would be the lack of dairy-free alternatives provided at breakfast, despite being notified in advance of the bride’s dairy allergy.



Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most magical stay at Combermere Abbey - the place itself is beautiful, and the attention to detail in every aspect is breathtaking.
The service we received was impeccable, especially the wonderful hospitality of Stefan.

We look forward to returning!




Incredible place

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an absolutely outstanding venue, every single guest was amazed by the venue and the staff. The whole wedding and stay was faultless. Thank you very much



Fantastic luxury venue

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay. Wonderful views over landscape. Very comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast prepared by Stefan. Would love to stay again.



Honeymoon stay for 2 nights

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say, our 2 night stay was just magical, I have stayed at combermere for many years and the Salamanca North wing was just breath taking! Staff were wonderful and helpful, the breakfast was perfect. The views were beautiful and we were blessed with wonderful weather. We will definitely staying again in the near future.

Jess and Simon




Wedding Day Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had such a wonderful stay from start to finish! Staff are the loveliest group of people and they all made our day run so smoothly. Amazing bathroom with great views and a great breakfast too!
Thank you all!




Absolutely stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here the night of our wedding. It was just perfect. The bedroom is lovely and the views from the big bath in the bathroom are breathtaking. Staff were very attentive and we had a fab breakfast the next morning. Wanted to stay longer and definitely will be back to stay again! Thank you all



Short stay at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Combermere Abbey is in a stunning location, the North Wing was very luxurious and brilliant service



Superb accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing overnight stay at Combermere Abbey. The quality of accommodation was outstanding. The 3 rooms were extremely spacious, especially the bathroom! There were beautiful views of the garden, lake and the surrounding countryside. We had a delicious and carefully prepared breakfast, with every attention to detail, including flowers decorating our plates. We cannot fault the standard of service, which was friendly and helpful.



Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the ease of the booking process to the very informative booking confirmation, we were already excited for our stay.

As you drive up to the Abbey, you take in the wonderful surroundings. We were welcomed by Janet, who provided a lovely tour of the North Wing. We enjoyed afternoon tea on a picnic blanket on the grass on the banks of the lake, before visiting the local Combermere Arms pub a short distance away for dinner.

We had a fantastic overnight stay in the Salamanca Suite, with every little touch thought of. With our breakfast options chosen the night before, we went down to breakfast to be greeted by the wonderful Stefan who ensured our every need was catered for and was very hospitable.

We can’t wait to return soon.




Relaxing break!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to lockdown, this was our first break for 18 months. We booked a 2 night stay for a relaxing break. We weren’t disappointed. The Salamanca suite was fabulous, and we were well looked after by Stephan. The breakfast was tasty, and there was plenty of choice. The grounds were lovely to wander around and it was so quiet. We used a local pub for our evening meals which was only a mile and a half away (most of which is the drive from the property to the main entrance). All in all we had a lovely break



Tranquil paradise in quintessential England

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were recommended to stay at this little Gem by friends. Well worth a visit to this beautiful part of the world. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Abbey and Jan our hostess was very welcoming and accommodating. Our rooms were clean and spacious. The Abbey had undergone major restoration to a very high standard.

Jan the breakfast was fantastic.




Magical place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stephan is a welcoming host and the facilities and locale are magnificent. A real treat if you need a break.



A Dream Getaway!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to book Combermere Abbey for our 1st wedding anniversary and it didn’t disappoint! From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like royalty, Stephan was amazing and couldn’t do enough for us! The North Wing was beautiful and the views were to die for!

We would highly recommend this to anyone looking for somewhere special to book!

Thank you again Combermere Abbey for making our stay so wonderful!




Lovely accomodation and surroundings. A very pleasant and enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay with you in the Salamanca, accomodation and surroundings is beautiful.

Lots of stunning photos taken and cant wait to book to visit again some time.




Pretty well perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 20 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place to stay. The attention to detail in the restoration of the building is amazing and even better was the welcome and help of the wonderful Stefan who serves a perfect welcome treat on arrival and cooks an excellent breakfast next morning. The views over the mere and its swans are timeless, as is the whole atmosphere. WIth only two rooms in the whole wing and two sitting rooms (morning and evening sun) its a difficult place to fault. We'll be visiting again and again.



Exceptional service, venue, location and value for money. Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stumbled on Combermere Abbey, after searching on Google for "luxury hotels in Shropshire". I was looking to surprise my fiance for our anniversary, but, given current restrictions, knew that it would be sensible to not travel too far from home. Combermere Abbey immediately caught my attention by its stunning architecture, and when I looked into it further, the venue seemed almost too good to be true.
I chose to book the Salamanca suite in the North Wing, as I knew that my fiance would be particularly appreciative of the bath, which stands in the centre of the bathroom, overlooking a waterscape. I contacted the Abbey the following day to secure my booking, and the lovely girl on the phone was very welcoming, friendly and enthusiastic about our stay.
When we arrived, the breathtaking views along the drive alone won us over. However, it was the service from Stephan, the Abbey Manager, who firmly secured our desires to stay again. From the moment that we parked, we were greeted in person, shown around the stunning interior of the North Wing, and offered an unexpected treat of afternoon tea gift boxes, with a bottle of fizz. Stephan was unobtrusive, offering enough attention to allow us to feel comfortable, yet then letting us settle in to explore our suite and the beautiful neighbouring rooms on our own. Nothing was too much trouble, and Stephan acted almost like our personal butler to make sure that everything was catered for - even setting up a dinner service for us, once we had popped to the shops to get a few bites for the evening.
After a wonderful night's sleep, Stephan greeted us in the morning with a cooked breakfast and continental selection of pastries, fruits, yoghurts, etc. We ate in the dining room, looking out onto the grounds, and Stephan regaled us with the fascinating story regarding the meticulous (and extensive) renovation of the property. The family who owns the Abbey clearly adore the history and architecture of the original monastery, which clearly shows in the no-expense-spared attention to detail with which the building has been restored.
After a relaxed breakfast, we headed out for a walk of the grounds. Being lucky enough to be the only guests there on the day, we walked and explored the woodlands in complete peace and quiet.
Combermere Abbey is an absolute credit to the family and Stephan, who have painstakingly restored it with the highest level of respect and care. My fiance and I agreed that we haven't received better service in many of the 5 star hotels that we have stayed in (both in the UK and abroad), and cannot recommend our stay enough to friends and family.
We would like to thank Stephan for his fantastic welcome, and we very much look forward to returning to Combermere again.




An eclectic piece of history

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful Grade 1 Listed building set in a beautiful estate, superbly restored 5 years ago. The detailed recorded refurbishment programme is well worth reading through.
We stayed in the North wing which comprises two bedroom suites at first floor (the Salamanca being far more generous) and a spacious open plan living, dining & kitchen area area on the ground floor; all accessed by a private entrance hall. Fine period furnishings set the wing off well, yet selected to ensure comfort and usability.
We had the wing to ourselves which was excellent but you must be prepared to share the ground floor facilities with another couple. Ideal for two couples wishing to explore the area together.
The general area is not special, but the North Wing at Combermere Abbey is a delightful place to stay, with excellent service by Stephen and a good base to explore the surrounding areas within Shropshire and Cheshire.




We had a wonderful two night stay at Combermere.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed two nights in the Salamanca Suite at Combermere. The North Wing is beautiful, as was our suite. Immaculate, comfortable, everything we could have wanted. Tasty breakfast each morning served in lovely surroundings. Many thanks go to Stephan for ensuring our stay was amazing.



Really memorable stay in beautiful suite, great hospitality

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in the North Wing. The house is set in the middle of a quiet and beautiful park. The Salamanca suite is fantastic, with giant bedroom, patterned Tudor timbering to sitting room, and a bathroom where you can lie in the freestanding bath and look out of double aspect windows over the mere and parkland to the woods beyond. Stephan is an excellent host, great cooked breakfasts and a veteran of the major restoration of the house. This was a really memorable visit and we would strongly recommend the North Wing to anyone....



Beautiful, peaceful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at Combermere for our anniversary. Everything was perfect and attention to detail was incredible. Wonderful room, views, setting and service.



A Bank Hols Staycation

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and myself were looking for a relaxing weekend away, given the COVID situation we wanted to stay within the UK. Combermere Abbey was the perfect location for this. Away from the hustle and bustle of the city and set in absolutely gorgeous surroundings, this trip was everything we were hoping for. Stephen the Abbey manager was fantastic and we were so impressed with his professionalism and attentiveness. We definitely will be staying again at some stage.
Many thanks Stephen Et al




special treat

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic stay. From the stunning drive up the long driveway. To be greeted by Stefan at the front door ,he was so attentive during our stay. The North wing & Savannah suite was beautifully presented with such tastefully decorated rooms. super comfortable bed. All completed by the fantastic views of the mere & parkland from the suite. topped off by the lovely walled garden. In summary we had a most enjoyable stay. We would definitely recommend a visit.



Perfection!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely wonderful stay, luxurious, comfortable and sparkling clean with impeccable attention to detail. The grounds, location, room and the entire abbey were all perfect. We will most definitely return for a longer stay and have already told numerous friends and family about this incredible gem!



Somewhere special

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a retired hotelier now operating my own boutique experience I have a critical eye for detail and It was a pleasure to stay here made even more special by the hospitality afforded by Stephan
Well done to all those who’ve made a tremendous effort to make this such an experience to behold
Thank you
Peter Groves
The Lodge at Ruddington




A comfortable stay in historic rural surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant evening and morning in a relaxed atmosphere and a very good full English breakfast served by Stephan who is so helpful.



Perfect escape to a hidden gem.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to finish this was a truly amazing experience.
Rachel was so helpful during the booking process and Stephan was wonderful, we enjoyed chatting with Beth (I think her name was but apologies if not ) on our last morning.
The North wing is beautiful, we played a game, if you could find fault with anything what would it be ... well we couldn’t as it’s simply perfect! Beautiful fabrics and wallpapers, super comfy bed, luxurious bathroom, pretty ornaments, tea tray, carrot cake, we didn’t want for anything.
We arrived fairly tense due to work stresses but gradually wound down almost to a standstill we felt that relaxed. We walked, read, chatted, laughed and ate far too much from the freshly prepared sumptuous breakfast.
The local pub did us proud and we ate there on both evenings.
Stephan is an absolute treasure and we enjoyed his stories and company. Very rarely do you find a hidden gem like this, our last was in Cadiz a couple of years ago. We are so grateful to Sarah for sharing part of her beautiful home with us and look forward to our next visit. A very special place indeed.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were really able to make the most of your break! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wedding night

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the north wing is beautiful and the inside if the property is just as stunning. There is so much space it is amazing and really feels luxurious. As we stayed after our wedding we weren't actually in the suit for a long time. The bedroom is very comfortable and bathroom is again stunning. The breakfast prepared and cooked for us as part of the wedding package was lovely. Only negative was that the boiler had not been turned back on after the chritmas break and so there was no hot water until almost checkout time. The staff did there upmost to sort this out as soon as possible, and it is the staff at Combermere that made our stay amazing they were patient and kind natured, had a good sense of humour and as beautiful as the place is it is them that are the reason it feels 5 star. Thank you for having us. Xx



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The North Wing following your wedding day with ourselves. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time celebrating the start of your marriage here at Combermere Abbey! We are very sorry to hear that you experienced problems with the hot water, and we will of course be looking into this with the team. Wishing you both a huge congratulations, we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

So special

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here on the night of our wedding, and wow it is amazing. Even the hallway and entrance make the place feel so special, and that's before you even get to the room! The bedroom is amazing, really spacious and just stunning views out onto the mere. The bath is incredible and we made sure we got up early to get a bath each and enjoy the beautiful views. Having breakfast here after the best day of our lives really did just finish the weekend perfectly. Couldn't recommend enough, and we will definitely be back to stay again. Thank you for having us :)



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely reviews of The North Wing & the cottages! We are so very pleased to hear that you had an incredible wedding day with us, and that you were able to enjoy everything that Combermere Abbey has to offer! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Sublime

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous location, beautiful accommodation, fabulous breakfast... what more could one desire?! Thanks



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing to celebrate your wedding anniversary with us! We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely incredible, cannot wait to stay again.
The food, the location and the staff. The staff are amazing and truly make this place




Brilliant! Delighted with our stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceeded our expectations...every member of staff was so polite and helpful....special thanks to Rachel and Stephan.
Six stars, fabulous place and a fantastic team.




Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of the North Wing following your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Greg & Lizzie’s Wedding 5th July 2019

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most perfect stay on the evening of our wedding! We couldn’t have asked for anymore! The room and bathroom were stunning! The breakfast was delicious and the best service ever!
Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! :)




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of The North Wing following your wedding day with us. We do hope you had the most wonderful day, and it was all that you dreamed it would be! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

100% good

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most beautiful place we have stayed at, with luxurious comfort everywhere, with excellent Stephan who looked after all our needs superbly, we were so lucky to have such a wonderful man, and he did breakfast superbly.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay in The North Wing B&B. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place, wonderful stay will definitely be back, would recommend anyone to go and stay, walled gardens are also well worth a visit



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place, location and room. We'll worth the money. Highly recommend the Salamanca and the Abbey generally.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Overnight stay for anniversary

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place! The location is so beautiful and very peaceful. We were made to feel immediately welcome by Stephan who looked after us and was very helpful and informative. The suite was beautiful with the views to match, overlooking the mere. The grounds are large and very pretty and we were served a tasty breakfast with produce from the estate. We will definitely return!



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay celebrating your anniversary, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Our trip from Canada

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit we just love Combermere . What an amazing place everything was perfect as always. Stephan was excellent so friendly and helpful,We travel from Canada and we are looking forward to our next visit. Thank You



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey is an exquisitely perfect place for those seeking tranquility views, beautiful surroundings, a bit of modern luxury mixed with the traditional and excellent personal service. The whole experience was of an elusive quality not easily found. I would, without question recommend the North Wing at Combermere Abbey. Will definitely be returning.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful and tranquil setting of Combermere Abbey. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

Our grand stay following our wedding day

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The North Wing is in the most gorgeous setting, not only is it in the middle of the beautiful British countryside but it also has a fantastic view of the mere which when opening the curtains the next morning is just breathtaking!
The bed is comfortable and helps for a good nights sleep.
The bath also has a view over the mere and is a lovely treat with the bubble bath provided.
There is also a large closet of the Salamanca room where all luggage was stored away and also hooks available to hang up the wedding dress & suit.

On the morning after the wedding a ‘Butler’ was available who was very kind and made us both a lovely cooked breakfast that we ordered the night before!

All in all a fantastic stay as our first away as Mr & Mrs! We would definitely return not only to relive our wedding day but also to enjoy more of what Combermere Abbey has to offer.




An unbelievable night following the best day of my life!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The NorthWing is one of the most outstanding places I have ever stayed! The history of the Abbey is oozing from the walls and the views. An honourable mention goes to the best bath I’ve ever had! Being 5ft10, it is near impossible to find a bath that I can relax and lay in without being screwed up in a ball. This bath is not only big enough for me to relax in, but the views are outstanding!

Our lovely butler, that made breakfast for us, was extremely helpful and even helped pack the car when we had a million and one things to do.

We will be booking to stay here (hopefully) for our first anniversary next year!




Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used the accommodation as a stopover on a journey from North Scotland to Devon. We would certainly repeat the exercise for the same or similar journey.

We had an excellent dinner at you recommended local pub,Combermere Arms. We did not ask but a taxi service would have been the icing on the cake.

Regards

Lynn




Excellent - Little piece of luxury!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely outstanding!
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, excellent staff - nothing was too much trouble, polite, courteous and attentive.
Breakfast was beautifully presented.
Room beautifully presented with luxurious decor, furnishings and linens.
I cannot describe how beautiful the grounds and the abbey are...
We will definitely be returning for another stay.




A perfect three night stay in The Salamanca.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The moment the car stopped the extremely pleasant house manager was there to introduce himself and to provide an introductory tour of the North Wing which revealed comfortable and elegantly furnished and decorated interiors complementing the Gothick style of the house, provision of the visitor's every reasonable need, and scrupulous cleanliness throughout.
The Salamanca is a suite comprising an airy and very comfortable well furnished bedroom with views over the lake, an ensuite bathroom with modern fixtures, again views over the lake, and, unexpectedly, a sitting room. You cannot but be delighted.
The dining room downstairs, which has another sitting room, thoughtfully provides self service tea with cakes in the afternoon, and of course the famed breakfast which is a generous spread of fruit, yogurts, honey, preserves from the estate and traditional English breakfast cooked by another delightful member of the staff.
You are welcome to walk in the magnificent park in areas designated for your safety, dream that all this is yours, and then eventually, the worst part, leave.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing, Combermere Abbey. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

A luxury overnight stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent just one night at the North Wing in The Salamanca which is a stunningly beautiful room. It was a trip down memory lane as we got married at The Glasshouse at Combermere Abbey and it was lovely to walk around the grounds and down to the lake. The North Wing has been renovated to an incredibly high standard and makes the most of the glorious views. The room is spacious and comfortable with lovely touches such as home made biscuits, complimentary coffee machine and cake in the lounge downstairs. The personal greeting both on arrival and service at breakfast is exceptional. Would love to return for longer next time, the peace and tranquility is priceless.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay at The North Wing B&B. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and that you were able to come back to a place that holds such special memories for you! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

just perfect- a delightful experience

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a wonderful stay over provided by Stefan our host with his meticulous attention to detail.

The accommodation was stunning and the facilities exceptional.

The breakfast was amazing especially the presentation and catering for a vegetarian. It has to be the best setting to be in. I can't wait to return with my family. Thank you so much! It was a shame it was a work stay over. I was sad to leave.




Such a beautiful location. We loved everything about it!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to stay. The best way to see in the new year. The attention to detail was amazing and we had the best breakfast! Nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful from start to finish!



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us at The North Wing! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Absolutely perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have a genuinely delightful time at Combermere, and we hope to be retuning soon. Everything was beautiful, tasteful, and the staff were amazing and accommodating,



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us at The North Wing! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel