FB Twitter

Poole

Poole

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.8


Poole Cottage is a wonderful bolthole for those looking to relax and recharge. Sleeping up to four, the pretty hideaway dining room can easily entertain up to eight when booked with another holiday cottage for four.

Lovely stay in Poole cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable cottage, nicely decorated. Well equipped, warm and cosy. Lovely places to walk and explore. Our dogs loved being away in this dog friendly cottage.



Poole Cottage Feedback

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable stay. Cleanliness of bedroom carpet was offputting especially seeing it on arrival. Great customer service from Rachel, Oliver and Housekeeping. Comfortable beds, the leather sofa slippery and uncomfortable. The location was good but noisy people in adjoining cottage (Empress) for 2 nights. Good value for money. Wi-fi still extremely poor and television reception needs addressing. Overall a very enjoyable stay.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 116 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us in Poole Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had a very enjoyable stay with us, and we very much value your feedback from your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Amazing place!

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay will definitely be coming back! Beautiful location! Lovely place to stay with the dogs!!



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 228 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Poole Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Holiday stay at Poole

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Apr 2022
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We did have a good break in Cheshire, and our holiday stay at Poole was pleasant. It is marketed as a Premium product but felt quite ordinary. The beds were not comfortable and I am glad they were prepared as 2 doubles as the "twin" with only 2'6" singles would have been a de-selection criteria for me. Some of the other fittings were showing signs of wear and tear. It appeared that only Poole and Empress did not have outside tables/chairs which given the weather was a shame.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 277 days ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay in Poole Cottage. We are sorry to hear that the beds were not satisfactory for you. We are currently working to replace beds throughout our cottages, and your feedback is highly valued. Our maintenance team will also be working to remedy any fittings which are showing sighs of wear and tear. We are very sorry that the outdoor furniture wasn't available during your stay. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again.

First stay in this Combermere Cottage Poole enjoyable, spacious - relaxing.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Dec 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only gripe was TV is poor - not the main focus as the estate is so beautiful but does need renewing.



Wonderful cottage in a wonderful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage in a wonderful setting... Looking forward to returning on another occasion next year.



Wedding Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages are around a central courtyard ideal for socialising with other guests. My only concern was the single beds in our room far too small but for two nights not unbearable.



Poole Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would definately stay in this cottage again. Great location, very quiet and peaceful.

The reasons we marked down cleanliness is due to the amount of spiders throughout the cottage plus the cobwebs. Also the kitchen units need renewing or at least the doors as they felt sticky and unclean. The addition of baking trays and kitchen tongs would be useful.

Also, more than once nearly tripped over the runner (mat) outside the kitchen due to the curling up on edges.

No mobile reception in cottage - can you not get a booster to get a signal?

Addressing the above points would increase all marks to excellent.

Cannot wait to visit again but please address the spider and web issues.

Many thanks.




Disappointing stay this time . See below

Review submitted on Fri, 28 May 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Many great stays in Poole but not this time. Wifi didn't work DVD player stuck.Dirty spoons in Kitchen and clock not working two different confusing sets of recycling instructions and no manufacturers instructions as to how any of the equipment worked..Ensuite washbasin dirty and partially blocked As the price of a three day break has considerably increased from last year one would expect the property to be maintained to its former excellent standard Due to Covid 19 we did not report these faults until we left when we gave a list of the above mentioned faults to the house keeper. We await your response to the above comments.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay in Poole Cottage. We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay was not to the standard expected from your previous stays at Combermere Abbey. We will be investigating the issues that you have raised with our housekeeping team as a matter of urgency. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again soon, and to be able to provide you with a restored experience.

Relaxing weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 25 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a 2 night break in Poole Cottage at the picturesque Combermere Abbey. Have stayed previously about 12 years ago in Wellington Cottage (and Cotton before that) and had fond memories from those stays. We have now formed some new fond memories from our stay in 2021 and can recommend the woodland walk (wear good waterproof footwear if the weather is wet!) which we didn't do on our previous stays. Poole was very well appointed and very comfortable with a nice garden area to sit in. The condition of the cottage was very good although the kitchen cupboards and fridge are showing some wear and tear. The WiFi was not great and a bigger TV in the lounge would be welcome. These are minor gripes and overall we had a great stay and will be returning, hopefully sooner than 12 years.



Superb Location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with the cottage and felt so privileged that our COVID-postponed visit coincided with the wonderful bluebell display. Our little dog thoroughly enjoyed exploring the woods and was made very welcome with the provision of blanket, towel, feeding bowl and his treats which were especially appreciated. The one tiny negative regarding comfort was because I suffer with my joints and I found the beds were too hard for my total comfort. I would also like to suggest that a grab handle fitted on the right at the turn of the stairs would be really helpful. However, these niggles would by no means would prevent us from returning.



Another peaceful stay at Combermere

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely short break in Poole cottage. Another cosy cottage at combermere and we loved walking down by the lake, curling up in front of the fire and exploring the gardens.



Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay in beautiful surroundings. Well equipped cottage comfortable and spotlessly clean. The staff are so friendly and helpful. Perfect location to visit other areas but spending at least a day on the estate is a must to soak in the beautiful views and do the woodland walk. Will definitely be returning.



Beautiful location with delightful comfortable cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed 3 nights in Poole Cottage with family and Cavapoo Ted. The grounds are stunning, with a beautiful lake and woodland walks. The cottages are beautifully furnished all with individual character will be returning again soon just to discover the delights of another cottage at Combermere. Brilliant relaxing stay with local good pubs just a few miles down the road.



Beautiful stay within stunning grounds

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was such a lovely experience to head back to Combermere, I used to visit when I was a child and haven’t been for 15odd years. Memories of swimming in the mere and woodland walks came back to me. My husband enjoyed his first stay here and couldn’t get over how beautiful the place is and had a lovely time swimming in the mere with our daughter. The cottage is a lovely size and has a lovely corner garden. Such a great location to get out and do day trips with most big attractions less than an hour away. We will definitely be returning as a family to build upon our memories. Thank you for a wonderful stay.



Good place some improvements

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely clean cottages and staff are very helpful and friendly .
A couple of gripes
The mattress on my bed was completely gone and this should have been picked up when the bed was made - awful first nights of (no) sleep . That said mattress was changed the next day
Cottages have no/ poor phone reception - our cottage phone and WiFi were not working . Again WiFi was fixed the next day but For some reason they were not able to or didn’t have time to fix the phone . Since I had my elderly parents at home this was a problem as they could not contact us .
Also poor knowledge on walks etc on the estate by the staff




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us in Poole Cottage. We were sorry to hear that you experienced some problems during your stay, however, we are pleased that our housekeeping team were able to help you during your stay. Due to the rural location of Combermere Abbey Estate, phone signal is quite patchy. We have been able to replace the landline phone within the cottage to ensure that this is working correctly. We will also be working with our team to ensure that they are all able to help answer questions regarding walks throughout the estate. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Poole cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing few days away in a beautiful cottage in a superb location. Everything we needed and spotlessly clean. Will be back again to sample a different cottage next time.



Cotton Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were guests of Steve and Jo Cotton so I am unable to comment on the Value for Money. Lovely walks and facilities.



Another lovely break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely break in gorgeous surroundings. We will be coming back for more! We would love to visit in every season to enjoy the beautiful grounds.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Poole Cottage. We are so pleased that you had another wonderful stay with us here at Combermere Abbey, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Short pre xmas stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic - we got married here and it was good to come back and be able to take in more of the beautiful surroundings. This will be something of a sanctuary for us from the chaos of day to day life and we will be back next year!



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Poole Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful return stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Very clean and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was beautiful. It was very clean and comfortable and an ideal place to stay fir the wedding. I highly recommend it!



Good all round stay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good all round stay. Nothing more to say. Why do I need to use a hundred characters when a few will do.



Glorious midweek birthday break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've lost count of how many times I've stayed at Combermere Abbey, but this was the first time we've stayed in Poole Cottage.

It was perfect for two people, and offered a tranquil view of the gardens from the living room window - even the kitchen looked out over the woods. We were blessed with great weather, taking the woodland walk in warm sunshine - most unexpected in March.

It's hard to understate just how peaceful the cottage location was. There's nothing better than waking to the birds singing, and spending the day just pottering around the grounds, or sitting out in the courtyard with a glass of wine as the sun sets.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us in Poole Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a truly wonderful break, and that you both enjoyed Poole Cottage too! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Peace and tranquility in luxurious surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit... Poole was most relaxing, with a delightful dining area Leading to lounge.
Kitchen well equipped with everything you could need.
Bedrooms and bathrooms beautiful, with mattresses, duvets and pillows that are SO comfortable.

Again, the staff from the Estate that we met were as charming and helpful as ever.

Combermere is a sheer delight to stay at....enhanced by being dog friendly.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent visit back to us. We are very pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey Estate, and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed cottage in the most idyllic location. The estate was immaculately kept, so peaceful and tranquil.



The most perfect place to stay in north west England

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd trip to Combermere Abbey cottages. The cottages and the grounds are a delight. We will be back for sure. We live in Canada and are counting the weeks when we can enjoy this delightfull place yet again. kid egards.



New year stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Combermere over a number of years. It’s set in a beautiful and peaceful location.
We didn’t feel Poole was a particularly cosy cottage and the 1980s looking cream leather sofa seemed at odds with the rest of the sitting room decor.
The kitchen is really out of date and needs an overhaul. One of us burnt our hands on the the very old electric hon which you can’t see if it is on/off or hot/cold. So it’s a bit of a safety hazard. The oven is really old and cooks unevenly. The work surfaces are all very tired and electrical appliaces such as the blender is really old.
Bedrooms and bathrooms are lovely . As is the dining area.
There seems to be less access to areas for walking which is a loss. And it appears the majority of weekends are given over to weddings so weekend break availability is limited.
The housekeeping team are fantastic. So helpful and friendly.




Overall very good

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Combermere and standards were as good as ever. The location is superb as is the staff's attitude and service.
Unfortunately there was one negative which was the rusty outside furniture. Our disappointment was heightened as we were able to see other cottages with much superior furniture. I suggest this needs urgent attention.




Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time as always. Pretty rural setting, lots to do and see, delicious local places to eat.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time catching up with old friends here and the cottages were just perfect - very comfortable and lots of room for everyone. Very spacious rooms with luxurious bathrooms and a lovely safe courtyard for the kids to escape too. Highly recommend this to anyone.



Relaxing and tranquil, with lots of hidden extras

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Poole Cottage for a week, and loved it. It was a 'home from home' place with lovely added extras; lavender sachets in the bedroom drawers, lovely toiletries, plenty of towels and bedding, great amounts of hot water and heating. 2 things let it down - practically non-existent wifi in the cottage, and limited outdoor lighting from back door to car park. Otherwise, the stay was perfect. Our 6 year old loved hunting for conkers and pine cones - just about as brilliant a Sunday morning as you can have, and she learned to ride a bike without stabilisers, after borrowing one of the bikes from the bike shed. She gained the confidence she needed, and by the end of the stay you couldn't get her off it!
We would LOVE to stay again, given the opportunity. It was so quiet at night, and very cosy inside.




Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at combermere abbey. The cottage was great, and very well equipped. We look forward to going back one day!



Yet another wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to Combermere many many times, and stayed in a number of the cottages, which are all wonderful. We usually choose Poole, it is just great for the dogs, being just on the edge of the garden and lake area. The grounds are kept in fantastic condition with many intersting trees and plant. The lake is beautiful. We will be back without hesitation.



A family christening., 12 uncles aunts and cousins and 3 small children!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great venue, lots of places to walk bikes to ride, (Perhaps better tyres with more air in would be good)
Houses were warm inviting and beautifully furnished, you could not have asked for anything better




A luxurious country home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were visiting family and came to Combermere for our 3 rd stay, a testament in itself ! The staff coulnt be more helpful and friendly and the accomadation very good . We had a fabulous Hamper being Christmas and even the dog had bowls and blankets provided as well as treats ! All very well thought out . Would most Definately highly recommend for any age !



Great stay at Poole

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a short note to say how much we enjoyed our stay at Poole cottage. Excellent accommodation, excellent facilities, great location. We attended a wedding and we will never forget it. Book it now!!!!!!!!!



OUR STAY

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
NOT VERY HAPPY IT IS THE THIRD TIME WE HAVE STAYED WITH YOU. HOWEVER THIS TIME WE FOUND POOLE TO BE VERY DARK SO MUCH SO THAT THE ONLY PLACE I COULD READ WAS BY THE STABLE WINDOW LOOKING OUT ONTO THE COURTYARD.

I MENTIONED THIS TO THE LADY IN THE OFFICE AND SHE WAS SURPRISED AND SAID TO PUT THE LIGHTS ON, BUT IN AN ECO FRIENDLY DEVELOPMENT YOU SHOULD NOT HAVE TO PUT LIGHTING ON DURING THE DAY. WHEN LOOKING AT YOUR WEB SITE, I NOW SEE THAT ALL PHOTOS WERE TAKEN WHILST LIGHTS WERE ON AND CANDLES WERE LIT.

I FEEL THAT THE QUALITY OF ITEMS IN KITCHEN WERE POOR AND THE COOKER SUB STANDARD, AND SOME FURNITURE HAD MARKS AND STAINS. WE STAY AT COTTAGES WITH RURAL RETREATS 3 OR 4 TIMES A YEAR AND FEEL THAT THEY GIVE MORE VALUE FOR MONEY AND QUALITY.

WE WILL NOT BE RETURNING..

REGARDS SUZANNE BELBIN




Combermere Abbey Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Poole cottage. We really do appreciate guests feedback as it allow us to continually improve our facilities and service. Poole cottage's lighting was updated earlier this year so your feedback is very useful to us and as such we will be conducting a review of the cottage. We will be in touch directly to discuss your stay in further detail. Kind regards Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review of Poole - Bethany Nash (Guest)

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage. Really great breakfast hamper. We really enjoyed the visit. The cottage was set in great surroundings. Truly a lovely place. We will be back.



Holiday stay this july

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed several times over the last few years and it is the most peaceful place to be.
It is just disappointing that we can rarely find a date to stay as weddings now take priority to holiday guests.




Poole Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Mar 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was fine but the stay was somewhat marred by being woken at 6.30am each morning by the departure of occupants of other properties - apparently working on the solar farm , according to the lady in the office I saw when returning our key on the last morning.

We also found the noise from the bathroom extractor in the adjacent property , operating at 6am before the workers left for their day, to be disturbing. We thus swopped from the double to the twin room in the property where the noise was not so intrusive.

This has led to our assessment of value for money as "OK" above - you advertise 5 star luxury accommodation so we were surprised to be surrounded by workmen staying in other properties - whilst they were not in any way unpleasant, their very early departures did spoil an otherwise good break. If we could be sure that this would not be the case during another stay, we would book again. In the circumstances, I would recommend the property to others but with that caveat.






Wonderful Place

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cottage had been refurbished since our last visit and was in magnificent condition. grounds were ideal for the grandchildren. not sure how the new heaters work.



Surpassed my expectations!

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this as a last minute stay, we had a lovely time, the cottage was beautifully presented and very well equipped. We stayed for 3 nights and didn't feel the need to leave the grounds (which are a complete pleasure) as there was lots of relaxing, walks, playing in the woods and gardens, and paddling in the lake to be done.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, but also left us to our own devices, they have the balance of attention just right.
I would happily recommend it, and will definitely consider revisiting.
I think my only very minor quibbles would be that the towels had been laundered and starched so beautifully, that they had lost their absorbency, and a slightly lower tog duvet in the warm weather would've been nice, it was very toasty!




anniversary and birthday treat

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Aug 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
we have stayed in many 5 star locations and thus we base our review as an honest comparison.We arrived during a power cut and were offered a hot drink a nice touch,we loved the location and the grounds were beautifully kept,but overall we were disappointed with poole cottage,the kitchen is tiny and the fittings so dated,generally this cottage needs up grading to meet 5 star claims,carpet in lounge frayed,hall mat filthy,tv remote did not work despite us being furnished with new battery.The garden furniture was so rusty that one of the seats wouldnt open there is no way anyone can sit out comfortably on that furniture not even a parasol to shade from the sun.If you are an animal lover then sleep with the huge spiders in the twin bedroom.This room did not appear to have been dusted for some time and have 5 star owners given up ironing bed sheets ours looked like they had been slept in before! What we must agree is great value is the breakfast hamper,lovely fresh food,we enjoyed it very much,fortunately we took our own butter and it wasnt until the morning we left that I found the country life butter in the fridge thankfully we didnt try it because it was out of date on 14 june 2014 almost 6 weeks ago!!!We would have brought all these concerns to combermere staff on checking out but the place was deserted all helping with the big wedding,so we left keys and money we owed and a note with the rancid butter and left .The least we expected was an e mail to apologise for the mistake of leaving out of date food but we didnt even get that.We did not think we had good value for money compared to other 5 star accommodation we have stayed in.How much does an ice tray cost pennies but not one in poole cottage.These comments will form the basis of our trip advisor review.



Fantastic short break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey cottages are the perfect place for a relaxing break, away from the hustle. Very well equipped with gorgeous grounds. - Recommended.



A fabulous Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for a dogfriendly cottage for our family to celebrate my wife's birthday and came across Combermere Abbey Cottages on the Dogfriendly website. Online booking was easy and we were able to tailor our stay when the Abbey team contacted us to confirm. The information pack sent with the confirmation was excellent.

Poole cottage itself was a home from home. It was tastefully decorated throughout, comfortable and well-equipped. It was also very close to the lake and woodland areas, where we could exercise our dog off the lead. There was plenty see and do and during our stay we made use of the on-site tennis courts, bicycles, games, walks and DVDs. We had expected to make excursions to other attractions during the days but ended up staying mostly around the cottages, only leaving to visit the nearby (and excellent) Combermere Arms for a couple of meals.

The staff at the cottages were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - they really went out of their way to make us welcome. Most of the other people we met who were staying at the cottages had visited many times before, and that came as no surprise to us. We had a fabulous stay at Combermere Abbey Cottages and would recommend them wholeheartedly.




Plumbing

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The plumbing was extremely noisy probably when the toilet(s) flushed. We tried to work out what caused it. I mentioned it to a member of staff and she said she'd put it on the list.
Also, the dishwasher wasn't working the second day (OK the first day) - I emptied it and washed everything by hand. (Think my daughter may have mentioned it when returning the key).
Otherwise a lovely place to stay: beautiful buildings and surroundings, thoughtful touches and friendly staff.




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. The living accommodation was perfect for our four guests
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented, the 'gothic' style windows added character to the double room
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



Poole Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay at the Combermere Abbey Cottages complex,but our first stay in the Poole cottage.
We enjoyed our stay at Combermere, but found that Poole cottage was not to our taste. We new this as soon as we walked through the door into the place.We tried to change to another cottage straight away but the other ones were not ready as they were having a deep clean for Christmas.
Poole basicaly looked better on the web site pics than it was and because we had stayed ther in other cottages we new that the other cottages were far more of a superior quality.
Also to top it off there was no WiFi working in this cottage and as part the plan for this break was for my partner to finish her nursing quals off in a qute peacful enviroment while i went off walking etc and she would join me if the weather was reasonable.
So as for WiFi not working, it was making it imposible to do her study, and yes i was getting the blame for all of this as well as picking the wrong cottage.
The staff did kindly offer for her to go and sit in another cottage to use the WiFi, but it would be uncomfortabe for her to sit in a different cottage in comfy slacks or pyjams and take a flask for a brew it just not practical to do.
Also the freezers on site where you can normaly buy food from were not working so there was no food source on site. Which normaly it is stocked with a good healthy supply of food and ice cream etc. which saves you bringing food or having to go out all the time.

Poole Cottage may suite other peoples taste but if youve looked inside at the other cottages you would change your mind?
I would really really recommend a short break at Comberemere the place is of outstanding beauty the cottages are lovely. We just think Poole is ready for a make over if compared to the other cottages.

P.s i must mention Phil head gardner and Ben from the gardening team, whom both were amazingly helpful and towed my vehicle for me as is had got stuck. top lads!




Excellent venue with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue with great service
Great location
very well fitted out
They think of everything - tea, coffee, dishwasher etc.
Great customer service.




A great family weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magnificent stay at this wonderful venue where everything came up to expectations. We were impressed with the thought that had gone into providing all essentials needed, such as pleanty of tea coffee and milk.

The only problems with this cottage was the poor wifi signal which didn't affect us as we also had booked other cottages which had good signals and the poor lighting in the lounge difficult to read by in the evening

Overall a great stay