FB Twitter

Stapleton

Stapleton

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 50 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Stapleton Cottage has cleverly integrated features of the original Tack Room, showing off the oak beams, high ceilings and long windows. One of its bedrooms is on the ground floor with a contemporary wet room, specifically designed for disabled access, and thanks to the width of the original stable doors, wheelchairs can navigate around the ground floor, and with appropriately positioned switches and sockets, our less agile or mobile guests can fully enjoy this cottage.

Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jan 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stapleton was ok, hole in the door made it cold with curtain drawn, never used cooker so cannot comment , only one set of towels for a 3 night stay is my worst nightmare , we had a nice time.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 16 days ago
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay for the New Year break, however we are very sorry to hear that you found the cottage to be cold. We are sourcing a replacement door for Stapleton, however as the cottages are grade II listed properties, and to maintain the historical nature of the cottages, this does mean that the creation of a bespoke door is required. We do hope that you were able to enjoy the new year celebrations with us, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey again soon. Thank you for letting us know that the number of towels were not sufficient for your stay with us. If you are able to let us know of this ahead of your next stay, and we will be able to provide additional towels for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Beyond expectations

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful couple of days whilst attending a wedding. Cottage was perfect and very well equipped with quality furnishings . The staff were all very helpful and courteous.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 115 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Stairs

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stairs are very steep and the hand rails tho beautiful have gaps which would be very difficult
for an elderly person
The lighting in the sitting area is not adequate for reading in the evening
Beds very comfortable
The cottage was spotless
Great position
Glorious walks
Definitely will return




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 256 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage, and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at Combermere Abbey. Thank you for your feedback regarding the lighting, and we will look into the positioning of the lamps in the cottage to make the lighting better for reading. We are sorry that you found the staircase steep, and we do recommend the ground floor bedroom for guests with limited mobility to make navigation of the cottage easier. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A short Spring break in the Midlands countryside.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere has an excellent choice of holliday cottages. My break at Stapleton was my 5th visit. Its location suits my needs for a secluded and peaceful stay but not too far from places to visit. It is also dog friendly and has some lovely walks throughout the estate. It is just the charming getaway!



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 298 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a peaceful stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Superb

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as my 90 year old mother was celebrating her birthday. Everything was superb, attention to detail amazing, beautiful decor and wonderful surroundings. As a family group we took 5 cottages and they were all the same. From enquiry to booking nothing was too much trouble and we all left having had a wonderful time. We WILL be back. Thank you everybody



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in our Courtyard Cottages. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay to celebrate your mother's 90th birthday, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our stay at Combermere Abbey! It is ideally situated for visiting various interesting towns but is set in beautiful countryside. Our cottage, in a converted stable yard block, was thoughtfully furnished and spotlessly clean. Various goodies and useful items were provided for our dog and he had a marvellous time off-lead in the garden and woods. The staff were all most helpful and friendly - we even received a courtesy call on our first morning to check that all was well. We hope to return very soon!



Combermere Sept 21 Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for a long weekend in Stapleton. The place itself was lovely and clean. Very central to a number of locations. The cottage itself was exceptionally well equipped with everything you could need. The tv and WiFi worked intermittently but due to its location it was only to be expected.
The only downside was the sofas were in a state of disrepair and could have done with updating. Also the walks, within the grounds, could have been better marked out.
Other than that great stay at a great location.




Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay with us in Stapleton Cottage, and we are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay. Following your review, we are looking at installing an additional aerial for the televisions, and hope that this will improve the tv's, especially during inclement weather in the area. The sofas are also being upgraded within the coming weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Stapleton cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most spectacular cottage for a lovely relaxing stay after a stunning wedding in the most amazing grounds with the most helpful staff!



A beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were only at Combermere Abbey for a few days but it is the perfect getaway for an extended family break. The grounds are absolutely stunning and the cottages so quaint and well equipped - Stapleton has been sensitively adapted for those with limited mobility too. You could easily just spend a few days biking and walking the grounds.



A lovely cottage for a getaway break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere cottages provide wonderful luxury self catering accommodation. They are tastefully decorated and have everything you could want or need during your stay. The grounds are beautiful and we had a very relaxing and enjoyable break. We will definitely be returning in the future.



Disappointing

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I have contacted Combermere directly to point out several issues.
Wrong instructions for cooker ,TV screen kept freezing, Weak Wi Fi signal ,Inadequate window coverings in bedrooms




Combermere cottages

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere is the most perfect location this is our 7th visit. The cottages are fantastic and so well equipped. It is such a beautiful, peaceful location. Extra covid measures are in place to make you feel safe which we did. We had a wonderful time again and always recommend Combermere to family and friends.



Wonderful weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely long weekend at Combermere Abbey with friends. Weather was superb enabling us to take advantage of the forest walks, swimming in the lake, and beautiful surrounding countryside...an oasis of calm. As we were well stocked with provisions we didn't use the car at all..



Another visit but this time in a different cottage, which more than lived up to expectations!!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed at Converters on several occasions and have enjoyed every visit, keep up the good work, it's a fabulous place to stay, thank you



Christmas at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful Christmas in Stapleton cottage with everything you need for a perfect break included. Thank you to everyone at Combermere and we'll see you next year.



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Weekend stay for Great Grandsons First Birthday Party

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was everything I had hoped for. I wanted our small family to be together to celebrate a first birthday. We are new to the area and cottage was in a excellent position to travel around.



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are so very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us to celebrate with your family! We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Brilliant

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, views are amazing.
Perfect for a big family get together or for a nice quiet weekend away




The peace and beauty of the abbey

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every aspect of our holiday at the abbey ,the comfort of the cottages and their cleanliness,the kind and helpful staff and of course the peace, serenity and beauty of its gardens.We all thought it was quite magical and are looking forward to coming again and would highly recommend that abbey to anyone.



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Stapleton Cottage. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

An incredibly peaceful and relaxing holiday ( even with children!)

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The long winding road through the estate with sweeping views over the estate fields and woods was a portent of amazing things to come. We arrived at the cottage which was beautifully equipped and spotlessly clean. The supplied provisions ( biscuits, tea , coffee, milk etc.) were a welcome touch and much appreciated after the drive and we sat outside in the sunshine on the patio furniture to the sound of ... silence. The children's constant drone of " are we there yet?" had been replaced with " can we have a go on the tennis court?" and " lets go for a walk in the secret woods" which we did and which helped tire them out for a good nights sleep. The next morning we woke to the sound of bird song. the supplied bicycles were a great addition and allowed the children to learn to ride on the grass play area. The location was good with lots of nearby stores and places to visit. Apedale mine is definitely a worthwhile visit - inexpensive to go on the mine tour, staff really friendly and the food in the cafe was delicious and inexpensive ( the pie and chips is well worth tasting! Lots of other places also worth visiting - Dagfields Antiques is huge! We had a fantastic week at the cottage and definitely intend returning!



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Stapleton Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you that you had a wonderful stay, and that the children were kept entertained throughout your stay with so many activities to do on the estate. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Brilliant stay for our sons wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought staying in Stapleton for our son Paul and daughter-in-law Jess was wonderful, comfort was home from home. We were left a wonderful breakfast hamper with fresh bread, butter, croissants, cereals and milk.


We would not hesitate to recommend Combermere Abbey to friends and family.

Regards

Doreen Hurst




50th Birthday weekend.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation throughout and the kitchen is stocked well to cater for those wishing to cook.
Beautiful wooden beams throughout and high ceiling.
The only slight concern is that the double bedroom on the first floor has no door (only a curtain) separating it from the main living space so light sleepers may be impacted by noise.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us for your birthday celebrations. We do hope you all had a lovely time, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A Perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location for a get away from it all Christmas. Fantastic accommodation and beautiful scenery



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us this Christmas! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay,was really nice to return to Combermere and see how the Abbey and cottages have been further developed.
It is a lovely relaxing environment to enjoy. All staff extremely helpful and obliging .Will be the go to location for that area .




Beautiful short break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I recently drove around the UK and we found Combermere through sheer good luck, as a break on our journey north from London. My husband is disabled and uses a wheelchair; we stayed in a beautifully adapted cottage with a bathroom with proper guard rails and an easily worked shower - not always a given in rooms that claims to be “accessible” in the UK, we’ve found! We were welcomed with a tray with tea and biscuits and in the morning had a breakfast hamper with lovely fresh food which I cooked in the well appointed kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and I luxuriated in the bath upstairs but the highlight for us was that the trails through the glorious woodland were level and well marked; the wheelchair rode them well and we spent a beautiful interlude on a bench by the mere, watching the fish jumping and reveling in the twilight. Wonderful. Hopefully we can go back some day - it’s definitely on our list. Thanks to the lovely staff and congratulations to all concerned with this beautiful location.



Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Combermere twice before we decided to share the experience with another couple. They were equally delighted with the standard of the accommodation. It was so inviting we dined in both evenings.Thank you for a lovely weekend.



Two weeks in a lovely cottage in the shropshire countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful courtyard cottage in a quiet rural location, with woodland walks & open fields. The cottage was spotless & we have been very warm & comfortable. The staff are very helpful & friendly which made the stay an absolute pleasure. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this location for a quiet break on the Shropshire/Cheshire border. Oh I forgot we also took Frank our little Paterdale!



Stapleton Cottage at Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked the cottage for my son, his wife and two children over the Christmas period - they were delighted with the cottage and its surroundings. Would definitely like to come again and certainly recommend it to their friends.



Good quality Accommodation in a quiet rural setting

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here over New Year. Quiet and warm. A well equipped kitchen, large bedrooms and a lounge full of character. The large lake and grounds are delightful though a bit confusing whether the whole area is open to cottage residents. Nevertheless we had a lengthy walk which was very pleasant. Tennis bats and balls and mountain bikes are freely available to use as is the games and DVD store.



Family wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing overnight stay here for a family wedding, wish we could have stayed longer! The breakfast hamper was such a lovely idea and was delicious!



Wedding stop over

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Identical review to Calander ideal in every respect both families enjoyed their stay very much thank you



Family birthday and get together

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was perfect, cottages were immaculate and the grounds were beautiful.
The cottage was perfectly equipped.
Lovely stay - thanks.




Excellent stay could not fault Stapleton

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely, comfortable and very homely. The rest of the family were in Beckett next door so our meals where taken there, but the kitchen was perfect could not fault our stay !



Wedding Weekend - Stapleton

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, all my guests really enjoyed staying they were extremely comfortable. The cottage had everything they could need, it was a great weekend. Feedback from guests was check out time on the Sunday after a day partying at the wedding could be a little later if possible. However, I still can't recommend this cottage enough.



A place to rest, relax and chill out

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my third stay at Combermere Abbey and l will come back again. It is ideally situated to explore the countryside
and visit lovely towns and villages near by. Lots of country pubs with good food. The staff at Combermere are friendly
and helpful. I unfortunately had an accident on the way to the holiday destination and a pheasant flew into and smashed
my windscreen The staff were sympathetic and kind. I have recommended Combermere Cottages to friends and
relatives and i will surely return.




we found it very restfull & relaxing ,

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we will go again, we wish we had been able to see the library in the abbey . the walk to the lake was to wet as there is no path that is suitable for shoes



Peaceful break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have been coming here for at least 15 years speaks for itself. We love the peace and tranquility that it offers and hope that this aspect of it will remain the case .



excellent service.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing was to much trouble. We had booked Empress another ground floor cottage but found that it was not suitable for one member of our party. We were changed to Stapleton the next day. Everyone we spoke to was so kind and helpful. We will definately be returning to Stapleton.



Yet another wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another wonderful break at Combermere Abbey cottages. Comfortable and inviting cottage with helpful and expert staff on hand (if needed). Have been coming to Combermere for the past 20 years - look forward to the next 20!



Exceded all expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location, accommodation and facilities were all outstanding. This was the perfect place to come to for a relaxing weekend in perfect comfort. There were no negatives and I would recommend Combermere Abbey without reservation



A pretty high standard of accommodation which with a few tweaks could be made near-perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As regular users of self-catering cottages we would rate Combermere Abbey/Stapleton towards the top end of accommodation we have used. It is well-equiped and spacious. Criticisms, which are minor really, relate to living room furniture and the en-suite bathroom for the double bedroom. We would add that these points apply equally to several of the places in which we have previously stayed. The sofas tend to be too big and heavy for our liking. Massive arms, and in one case surprisingly high sides, mean even a six foot tall person could not easily rest their arms on them. For those with shorter legs the seating is also too deep to be really comfortable. Perhaps lighter, quality conservatory-style furniture could be the answer.

The bathroom in question had a mixer tap/shower unit. However, it could not be used as a stand-up the shower as the bath fitted under a sloping roof and, more importantly, there was nothing to prevent the water splashing on to the walls and floor. As said above this latter situation is not unusual. In our experience proper showers regrettably tend to be less popular with the organisations providing the accommodation. It is often a case of style over practicality. Older people can find it difficult to step into a deep bath. By contrast, the en-suite wet room for Staplleton's twin bedded room, designed for disabled people, ticked all the boxes.

It would be of help if more information as to the exact nature of the bathroom features could be provided in the cottage information along with photographs showing clearly what is there.

None of the above criticisms are show stoppers but are points where an edge could, in our opinion, be gained.




Great Place

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent holiday at Combermere . No issues at all. Highly recommended.From the initial contact to our reluctant farewell the staff were superb.



family reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of parents, four children plus partners, and assorted children plus dogs coming together to celebrate my parents 80th birthdays. The venue was ideal as the families could be together or apart as suited. We all ate together (15 maximum) for a couple of meals and were able to cater in Malbec successfully. The energetic played tennis and rode bikes whilst others sat and talked. A couple of trips out to the canal at Audlem and the Follies. A lovely time. Thank you so much.



Great escape

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived late and were delighted with our cottage, comfy beds crisp white sheets and a hot bath.
We were welcomed with a delicious breakfast hamper and were then ready to explore the beautiful park land. Acres of space for the children to run around, a lake to walk round, bikes to borrow or tennis to play.




family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
it was a wonderful place for a family party. the woods, lakes, and organic farm were lovely. and the gardens a real treat.
lovely to have bikes and tennis court to make it very sociable. it was great to be able to do our own parties in the big cottage.




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. It accommodated our four guests with ease, it was presented to a high degree of cleanliness and well equipped.
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented and the shared bathroom and shower was adequate for the size of cottage.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



Excellent venue with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue with great service
Great location
very well fitted out
They think of everything - tea, coffee, dishwasher etc.
Great customer service.




Delightful stay at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely delightful location, estate and cottages.

Stapleton was very comfortable and well appointed in the main.

We did give some feedback as follows

The DVD remote control back was missing
The CD player sound quality was very poor
The knives were blunt
The knife sharpener was rusty
The downstairs shower room was completely impractical to use in that there was no where to put toiletries near the sink or near the shower, the shower head was far to high for a disabled person using the seat, it would be much better to have removable shower head
The shower room sink tap sprayed rather than flowed

The upstairs bedroom wardrobe had a very unpleasant smell, so I did not use it and the chest of drawers handle fell off when I went to open the drawer, so did not use that either - perhaps time to replace both the wardrobe and chest of drawers




A five star experience.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent five star accommodation, location and staff. Came with high expectations and was not disappointed. Highly recommend Combermere apple juice, windfall apple marmalade, and gooseberry jam! Breakfast hamper was superb with a wide choice of food that helped to feed us for 2 to 3 days!