FB Twitter

Stapleton

Stapleton

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The features of the original Tack Room, now cleverly integrated into Stapleton Cottage show off the oak beams, high ceilings and long windows. The staircase leads to an upstairs bedroom with a pretty wrought iron double bed and an en suite bathroom. Downstairs the hallway door leads onto the cobbled courtyard, and a twin bedroom with en-suite shower room, specifically designed for assisted disabled guests. Thanks to the width of the original stable doors, wheelchairs can navigate around the ground floor, and with appropriately positioned switches and sockets, our less agile or mobile guests can fully enjoy this cottage.

50th Birthday weekend.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation throughout and the kitchen is stocked well to cater for those wishing to cook.
Beautiful wooden beams throughout and high ceiling.
The only slight concern is that the double bedroom on the first floor has no door (only a curtain) separating it from the main living space so light sleepers may be impacted by noise.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied 72 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us for your birthday celebrations. We do hope you all had a lovely time, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A Perfect Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location for a get away from it all Christmas. Fantastic accommodation and beautiful scenery



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied 112 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us this Christmas! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful time with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

Return visit

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable stay,was really nice to return to Combermere and see how the Abbey and cottages have been further developed.
It is a lovely relaxing environment to enjoy. All staff extremely helpful and obliging .Will be the go to location for that area .




Beautiful short break

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I recently drove around the UK and we found Combermere through sheer good luck, as a break on our journey north from London. My husband is disabled and uses a wheelchair; we stayed in a beautifully adapted cottage with a bathroom with proper guard rails and an easily worked shower - not always a given in rooms that claims to be “accessible” in the UK, we’ve found! We were welcomed with a tray with tea and biscuits and in the morning had a breakfast hamper with lovely fresh food which I cooked in the well appointed kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and I luxuriated in the bath upstairs but the highlight for us was that the trails through the glorious woodland were level and well marked; the wheelchair rode them well and we spent a beautiful interlude on a bench by the mere, watching the fish jumping and reveling in the twilight. Wonderful. Hopefully we can go back some day - it’s definitely on our list. Thanks to the lovely staff and congratulations to all concerned with this beautiful location.



Perfect weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Combermere twice before we decided to share the experience with another couple. They were equally delighted with the standard of the accommodation. It was so inviting we dined in both evenings.Thank you for a lovely weekend.



Two weeks in a lovely cottage in the shropshire countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful courtyard cottage in a quiet rural location, with woodland walks & open fields. The cottage was spotless & we have been very warm & comfortable. The staff are very helpful & friendly which made the stay an absolute pleasure. I wouldn't hesitate recommending this location for a quiet break on the Shropshire/Cheshire border. Oh I forgot we also took Frank our little Paterdale!



Stapleton Cottage at Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I booked the cottage for my son, his wife and two children over the Christmas period - they were delighted with the cottage and its surroundings. Would definitely like to come again and certainly recommend it to their friends.



Good quality Accommodation in a quiet rural setting

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here over New Year. Quiet and warm. A well equipped kitchen, large bedrooms and a lounge full of character. The large lake and grounds are delightful though a bit confusing whether the whole area is open to cottage residents. Nevertheless we had a lengthy walk which was very pleasant. Tennis bats and balls and mountain bikes are freely available to use as is the games and DVD store.



Family wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing overnight stay here for a family wedding, wish we could have stayed longer! The breakfast hamper was such a lovely idea and was delicious!



Wedding stop over

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Identical review to Calander ideal in every respect both families enjoyed their stay very much thank you



Family birthday and get together

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was perfect, cottages were immaculate and the grounds were beautiful.
The cottage was perfectly equipped.
Lovely stay - thanks.




Excellent stay could not fault Stapleton

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was lovely, comfortable and very homely. The rest of the family were in Beckett next door so our meals where taken there, but the kitchen was perfect could not fault our stay !



Wedding Weekend - Stapleton

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, all my guests really enjoyed staying they were extremely comfortable. The cottage had everything they could need, it was a great weekend. Feedback from guests was check out time on the Sunday after a day partying at the wedding could be a little later if possible. However, I still can't recommend this cottage enough.



A place to rest, relax and chill out

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my third stay at Combermere Abbey and l will come back again. It is ideally situated to explore the countryside
and visit lovely towns and villages near by. Lots of country pubs with good food. The staff at Combermere are friendly
and helpful. I unfortunately had an accident on the way to the holiday destination and a pheasant flew into and smashed
my windscreen The staff were sympathetic and kind. I have recommended Combermere Cottages to friends and
relatives and i will surely return.




we found it very restfull & relaxing ,

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we will go again, we wish we had been able to see the library in the abbey . the walk to the lake was to wet as there is no path that is suitable for shoes



Peaceful break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact that we have been coming here for at least 15 years speaks for itself. We love the peace and tranquility that it offers and hope that this aspect of it will remain the case .



excellent service.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nothing was to much trouble. We had booked Empress another ground floor cottage but found that it was not suitable for one member of our party. We were changed to Stapleton the next day. Everyone we spoke to was so kind and helpful. We will definately be returning to Stapleton.



Yet another wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another wonderful break at Combermere Abbey cottages. Comfortable and inviting cottage with helpful and expert staff on hand (if needed). Have been coming to Combermere for the past 20 years - look forward to the next 20!



Exceded all expectations

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location, accommodation and facilities were all outstanding. This was the perfect place to come to for a relaxing weekend in perfect comfort. There were no negatives and I would recommend Combermere Abbey without reservation



A pretty high standard of accommodation which with a few tweaks could be made near-perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As regular users of self-catering cottages we would rate Combermere Abbey/Stapleton towards the top end of accommodation we have used. It is well-equiped and spacious. Criticisms, which are minor really, relate to living room furniture and the en-suite bathroom for the double bedroom. We would add that these points apply equally to several of the places in which we have previously stayed. The sofas tend to be too big and heavy for our liking. Massive arms, and in one case surprisingly high sides, mean even a six foot tall person could not easily rest their arms on them. For those with shorter legs the seating is also too deep to be really comfortable. Perhaps lighter, quality conservatory-style furniture could be the answer.

The bathroom in question had a mixer tap/shower unit. However, it could not be used as a stand-up the shower as the bath fitted under a sloping roof and, more importantly, there was nothing to prevent the water splashing on to the walls and floor. As said above this latter situation is not unusual. In our experience proper showers regrettably tend to be less popular with the organisations providing the accommodation. It is often a case of style over practicality. Older people can find it difficult to step into a deep bath. By contrast, the en-suite wet room for Staplleton's twin bedded room, designed for disabled people, ticked all the boxes.

It would be of help if more information as to the exact nature of the bathroom features could be provided in the cottage information along with photographs showing clearly what is there.

None of the above criticisms are show stoppers but are points where an edge could, in our opinion, be gained.




Great Place

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent holiday at Combermere . No issues at all. Highly recommended.From the initial contact to our reluctant farewell the staff were superb.



family reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family of parents, four children plus partners, and assorted children plus dogs coming together to celebrate my parents 80th birthdays. The venue was ideal as the families could be together or apart as suited. We all ate together (15 maximum) for a couple of meals and were able to cater in Malbec successfully. The energetic played tennis and rode bikes whilst others sat and talked. A couple of trips out to the canal at Audlem and the Follies. A lovely time. Thank you so much.



Great escape

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived late and were delighted with our cottage, comfy beds crisp white sheets and a hot bath.
We were welcomed with a delicious breakfast hamper and were then ready to explore the beautiful park land. Acres of space for the children to run around, a lake to walk round, bikes to borrow or tennis to play.




family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
it was a wonderful place for a family party. the woods, lakes, and organic farm were lovely. and the gardens a real treat.
lovely to have bikes and tennis court to make it very sociable. it was great to be able to do our own parties in the big cottage.




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. It accommodated our four guests with ease, it was presented to a high degree of cleanliness and well equipped.
The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented and the shared bathroom and shower was adequate for the size of cottage.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



Excellent venue with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue with great service
Great location
very well fitted out
They think of everything - tea, coffee, dishwasher etc.
Great customer service.




Delightful stay at Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely delightful location, estate and cottages.

Stapleton was very comfortable and well appointed in the main.

We did give some feedback as follows

The DVD remote control back was missing
The CD player sound quality was very poor
The knives were blunt
The knife sharpener was rusty
The downstairs shower room was completely impractical to use in that there was no where to put toiletries near the sink or near the shower, the shower head was far to high for a disabled person using the seat, it would be much better to have removable shower head
The shower room sink tap sprayed rather than flowed

The upstairs bedroom wardrobe had a very unpleasant smell, so I did not use it and the chest of drawers handle fell off when I went to open the drawer, so did not use that either - perhaps time to replace both the wardrobe and chest of drawers




A five star experience.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent five star accommodation, location and staff. Came with high expectations and was not disappointed. Highly recommend Combermere apple juice, windfall apple marmalade, and gooseberry jam! Breakfast hamper was superb with a wide choice of food that helped to feed us for 2 to 3 days!