FB Twitter

Wellington

Wellington

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 58 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Wellington Cottage, with its original mullion windows and pointed turret, was designed by Edward Blore and built for the first Viscount Combermere in 1837. The building gives a very romantic and picturesque impression as you approach it. The cottage name remembers the famous Duke, who was Lord Combermere's mentor and godfather to his eldest son.

Incredible

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have stayed in many places in my life, but nothing like Wellington Cottage, it was spacious, classy, steeped in history! Beautiful cottage for my family and I.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 39 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Wellington Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Wellington

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful surroundings in a private setting. Birdsong galore but still very peaceful. Had a wonderful stay.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 106 days ago
Thank you very much for your recent review following your stay in Wellington Cottage. We are pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay with us, and that you were able to enjoy the beautiful surroundings of the estate. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

A beautiful, calm and tranquil escape from the world.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere is a beautiful, calm and tranquil escape from the world. A truly stunning estate excellently looked after by the staff. It is worth every penny and I will certainly be returning.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 132 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in Wellington Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

February stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was absolutely stunning and we didn’t want to leave. The only thing I would say is it’s extremely dark walking to the front door at night and I would say needs more lighting. Also the cobble path is extremely slippery and my daughter fell on our last day when carrying something to the car.
Apart from that absolutely cannot fault it.




Wonderful new year stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully decorated and has everything you could possibly need for your stay

We arrived the day before New Years Eve and had a lovely welcome pack of biscuits - bottle of prosecco - dog treats as well as fresh milk. The cottage was also decorated for Christmas and had a large real Christmas tree - Wonderful!

The kitchen is really well equipped lacking nothing - you could even bake if you wanted to

Beds are comfortable and the main bedroom is really spacious again nothing to complain about

The location is amazing - for anyone wanting total peace and quiet, this is the place for you - there is literally total quiet apart from the sound of the wildlife!

We had an amazingly chilled time and would definitely return




Xmas 2021 at Combermere

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After the stress of the last couple of years this break was just what was needed. The location is a perfect, away from it all retreat. The cottage itself was everything you could ask for to allow you to time the time to relax and enjoy the Xmas break.



Only one issue

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was lovely, great location and easy to check in. Staff were waiting to direct us on arrival which was really useful. Breakfast hamper provided with fresh bread and croissants. Beds were very comfortable. Loved the Christmas tree in the living area - nice little Christmas touch! Only issue was that there was no hot water, therefore we were unable to shower the morning after our stay. Would not have been ideal if we were using the cottage to get ready for the wedding we were attending. Would expect hot water for the price you pay to stay there. Noticed a few other reviews mention hot water being an issue so once this is sorted out I would recommend to others!



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 217 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay in Wellington Cottage. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the hot water during your stay, and our team are investigating the hot water system to remedy this problem. We look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Mid week break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time at Combermere and would highly recommend it. Perfect self catering space to enjoy with our family. Beautiful scenery, quiet and peaceful - an ideal recharge



Pleasant stay in between a house move

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place.
Great views from the Wellington cottage.
Got every thing in the cottage you need car park is handy too at the side of the cottage to unload having 2 gates in to the property is good too lots of space to walk
The woodland walk needs better signs up got lost for a while it’s no good with a push either grass is far to long not been cut back I would say that bit was disappointing




Brilliant Bolthole

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a short family getaway and it couldn’t have been more ideal. Catering for different generations is no easy feat and Combermere Abbey does it brilliantly. The multiple cottages and vast grounds make it perfect for extended family and it’s all so well kept. The private garden space for Wellington cottage is lovely, overlooking beautiful grounds and there are BBQs and bikes to use, ideal for the whole family. You could easily spend lazy days at the property or venture out to plenty of nearby attractions and restaurants.



Lovely place

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place, very clean and welcoming.
The grounds are beautiful and the house is so lovely. We will definitely re-book again.




Amazing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another perfect holiday for me and my dogs at Wellington Cottage. Perfect location. Perfectly peaceful.



A special place for a short break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very enjoyable stay in a unique location.

Well maintained cottage and grounds.

Facilities available to guests (bikes, tennis court) could do with some minor upkeeping.

Overall, highly recommended.




Christmas Break 2020

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for Christmas 2020 as a couple with our 1 year old labrador and it was the perfect escape! The enclosed garden of Wellington Cottage was ideal for our dog and the pleasure gardens and woodlands were great for him to explore on long walks. Wellington Cottage was a perfect home from home. The woodburner, window seat and Christmas tree provided a perfect reason to hunker down with a good book and a glass of wine after a long walk, and the well equipped kitchen made Christmas lunch a breeze! We will definitely be back to enjoy another break away at Comberemere Abbey.



Wellington Cottage October 2020

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at October Half Term 2020.

We have stayed at Combermere before but not in this cottage.

The cottage was lovely, perfect for the family of myself, my wife and two children (11 and 13 years old).

The cottage was very well kept, spotless throughout with lovely bedding and all necessary linen, towels and kitchenware.

There was a lovely log burner in the lounge as well which was on constantly!

The children love the freedom to roam around the grounds. We played tennis once or twice daily, used the free bikes daily, went on walks daily in the forest and walked to the lake daily. My son actually went swimming in the lake as well (very brave as it was freezing!!).

We went on short trips locally to Market Drayton and Whitchurch (about 15min away).

Would highly recommend this cottage and Combermere in general to families with children such as ours.

We will be back soon




Winter break

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy visiting Combermere cottages and this stay was no exception. Accommodation was warm comfortable and well equipped with good dog walks. We had a couple of minor maintenance problems (missing WiFi and an over sensitive alarm) and both were resolved very quickly by Combermere’s friendly, helpful staff. Looking forward to our next visit.



A Stunning Location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Combermere Abbey has beautifully maintained grounds, including a lovely walled garden and a woodland walk. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. All the staff we met were very friendly and helpful.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Combermere many times, simply wonderful. Peaceful and relaxing in these stressful times.



Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful surroundings. Very comfortable. A lovely peaceful retreat for the weekend. Easy access & all amenities available.



A slice of tranquility in difficult times

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful break from the normal abnormality of pandemic life. Our third stay at Combermere. The adaptations for Covid 19 are thorough and reassuring. The only negative is that the removal of loose cushions made the sofa a lot less comfortable. We used the kitchen extensively to prepare meals from scratch and appreciated the good quality appliances, esp. range cooker, dishwasher and fridge.



Enjoyable Christmas stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Wellington property along with other family members in other cottages at Combermere. The cottages were all very well equipped , well maintained, very clean and the beds were exceptionally comfortable. The Christmas decorations were lovely!

The customer service ahead of and during our stay was really great. The team are very accommodating and helpful.

I would say the Wellington cottage isn’t very suitable for anyone with significant mobility issues due to distance to car park and uneven path to access the Wellington , also steep staircase and a couple of steps down to the kitchen and up to the front door.

Highly recommend for anyone else!





Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Wellington Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful Christmas stay with us. Should you prefer a cottage that is more suitable for guests with mobility issues, we do recommend Stapleton Cottage, which offers a more accessible stay for guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Brilliant

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, views are amazing.
Perfect for a big family get together or for a nice quiet weekend away




Superb stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to the cottages at Combermere Abbey, and we had another fabulous stay. Our aim was to escape for a quiet family weekend, with plenty of time to read, play games and walk. Mission accomplished - we’ll be back!



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay with us in Wellington Cottage. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Wellington

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The reliability of the internet service was not very good - sometimes impossible to get a connection. We appreciate this is a rural location but such things are important in the modern world.
Whilst someone did phone us on Friday night to check we were OK, we found the lack of an on site member of staff to greet us on arrival ( at 4pm, as requested) was disappointing - in fact we didn't see any staff at all through out the weekend, although we did bump into the owner on Saturday who was warning guests about garden closures due to high winds. Our dealings with staff when booking the accommodation were very good - efficient and helpful - so the contrast with having no-one on site when we arrived was marked.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review following your recent stay with us in Wellington Cottage. We are sorry to hear that you experienced difficulties with the internet during your stay - we are currently looking into our internet providers, with a view to be able to provide a better connection for our guests. We are sorry that you did not see a member of staff during your stay, however we do have contact numbers provided within our cottages and also at our Cottage Office in the event that you may require assistance during your stay. We do hope that we are able to welcome you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Peaceful, quiet, relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Combermere Estate is really quiet and picturesque. There are lots of nice walks nearby. The cottages are surprisingly spacious. Good local pubs nearby. We had a great stay.



Wellington cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb break in an idyllic setting with fabulous hospitality. Staff couldn't do enough for us and there were some lovely touches for the festive season to greet us (Christmas crackers, decorated tree, picnic hamper).
Cottage was beautifully appointed with lots of space, very clean and tidy.
Grounds were excellent with a wonderful woodland walk, bikes available if needed and peace and tranquillity in abundance!!




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your stay with us over the Christmas break. We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Combermere Abbey, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Rachel

weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As returning clients we knew what to expect and we were pleased as always If you want a relaxing break in comfort near to some of the best of Cheshire then this is the place.



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Wellington Cottage following your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you had such a wonderful time at Combermere Abbey Estate, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Wishes, Rachel

Wellington Cottage Feedback

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous location, staff could not have been more helpful. Superb peaceful location with easy access to many interest locations. Only marked down cleanliness, comfort and condition due to the number of spiders and mosquitoes in the cottage. The settee was very uncomfortable and thicker cushions could have helped. Would we return - definitely.



Wonderful 2nd stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a fantastic place. Wonderful location, excellent accommodation, (lovely big, comfy bed) great team members and a really good base to sightsee from. It is our dogs favourite place! Lovely woodland walk and amazing beautiful lake. Many very good places to eat locally, the Combermere Arms very close and dog friendly. Look forward to next visit.



Very peaceful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week here at Wellington. The facilities were very good- bed very comfortable, lovely and clean house, nice touches such as milk in fridge, tea and coffee available. We would definitely consider coming back.



Combermere cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location a perfect holiday and cottage the staff were always friendly and willing to help will definitely be going back



Cleaning

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The kitchen floor was not clean. The staff came and cleaned it right away. Our stay was amazing. We will come back again.



Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very, very late booking but it couldn't have been more trouble free. The cottage was gorgeous and the staff were absolutely lovely- helpful, professional and kind. Also the children seemed very welcome. Will most certainly try to go again and will highly recommend to anyone.



one nights stay for two families

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent. only thing that would have made it a little easier would have been some milk, butter and bread to go with the complementary tea and coffee and biscuits



Wellington Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Combermere, a place of wonderful peace and relaxation - we'll be booking again shortly.



New Year Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After getting married at Combermere last in 2015 we felt that New Year would be a great time to return. We were right! The stay with friends in our cottage was wonderful and the Christmas decorations were a brilliant touch too.
Winter walks and country pubs whilst returning to the comfort of our cottage. The staff were was as always and nothing was ever too much. Cannot wait to return.




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit , and once again not disappointed . Cottage very well equipped . Hamper , which contains local produce is of good quality . We will be back .



Another great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
another 'oscars' weekend at combermere now a regular feature when friends gather in what has become our favourite place for peace tranquility and comfort
It has that serene warmth about it at combermere and we relax the moment we enter the grounds being surrounded by beautiful things
Could do with an upgrade of tv and dvd but then we do purposely go over the oscars weekend and watch films and catch up friends




Review submitted on Sun, 20 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay here. Will recommend to others. Hamper was well received. It was an ideal venue for us all to be together for this wonderful occasion



And relax

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a thoroughly relaxing time at Combermere and left with our Oak sapling which survived the return trip. This is turning into an annual family event which I sincerely hope carries on for many years.



What a Treat

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a real delight to stay at Combermere Abbey, what beautiful surroundings and cottages you have. All the staff were incredibly friendly and I only wish I could have stayed longer.



Another happy stay at Combermere

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 6th visit to Combermere but our first stay in Wellington and as always we were not disappointed. We will undoubtedly return - maybe to try another cottage - but would happily stay in Wellington again



Lovely, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to Combermere Abbey and our first stay in Wellington cottage. As with our previous visits, we found the cottage to be comfortable, tastefully furnished and well-equipped. Our children loved exploring the surrounding grounds and enjoyed the play area and tennis facilities. I would particularly like to commend the friendly, helpful staff. The extras (this time we sampled the breakfast hamper, wine, cider and ice-cream) are all of excellent quality. I am sure we will visit again.



Well run cottages.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay with husband, 7 year old and 10 year old. Very clean and well maintained. Housekeeping staff very helpful. Freezer with food on site very handy. Good DVD library and games for rainy days. Pretty tennis court and lots of rackets. We were hoping to bike ride but bikes provided were not in good condition.



The perfect way to spend a birthday. or two.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0






Our stay at Wellington was perfect. A joint 30th and 1st birthday gift to my daughter and granddaughter. The hampers, the chocolates, all lovely. Then the cows were such a big success.




Wonderful cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Wellington was perfect for an autumn weekend away with the family. Luxurious, comfortable accommodation, the abbey grounds were great for grown ups and kids alike, and a great part of the country with lots to do. the extras made it so luxurious too - five star details in the cottage, a hamper... we can't wait to go back!



Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful and every detail had been taken care of to the names of the people staying in the rooms to the delicious breakfast hamper!! Can't wait to go back.



Our stay at Wellington - Sept/Oct 2014

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Wellington was very pleasant and very peaceful. Being fortunate with the weather we were able to sit outside in the front garden drinking coffee in beautiful surroundings. The cottage was clean, comfortable and I would fully recommend it to anybody.



Dated/Dark/Pokey

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
In comparison to all the cottages which we were fortunate to inspect we felt really let down. Really dark. Tiny rooms. Not as welcoming as all the others.




Great Break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location away from the roads in the centre of the estate. The lake is beautiful and we really enjoyed swimming in it. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the welcome pack and breakfast hamper were excellent. There was plenty to do on the estate and it was very relaxing. An enhancement would be to have a walk that went right round the lake and it would also be good if there was a boat you could take out on the lake. We would recommend the cottages and we have already booked a return visit.



Mark and Claire's Wedding Weekend (Wellington - Penny and Steve)

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Steve and I had the most wonderful cottage with everything, I mean everything you can think of to make our weekend stay memorable. Nothing was too much trouble from the Staff, fabulous hamper delivered with fresh produce for our breakfasts with fresh milk, bread, croissants, eggs, bacon, sausages, tomatoes etc. Fantastic walks, outside furniture to sit quietly taking in the views. All in all to be recommended. The other cottages in the Courtyard were stunning too and lacked for nothing. Just the venue for approx 50 friends. Lovely pub nearby who coped with us all exceedingly well.



Wellington Cottage - Before Easter 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our break in Combermere and Wellington Cottage was perfect for us (a family of four with two small children), particularly with the addition of a stairgate at the top of the stairs. The surroundings are beautiful and we enjoyed playing tennis and exploring the woodland walk. We took a couple of bikes with us and borrowed one (understandably a little bit rickety) and cycled a little way along the track that leads to the Woodland Walk - it would be great if that could be promoted as a family cycle trail.



Lovely w/e

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
TERRIFIC ACCOMMODATION IN A WONDERFUL LOCATION. BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH. IS THAT ENOUGH CHARACTERS? OMG ANOTHER 38! BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH BLAH PHEW!



Three little blots on an otherwise very clean sheet

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an excellent accommodation in almost every respect. There were three little problems, one that I told housekeeping about on our departure that concerned a smell in the main bedroom. Fortunately the smell was present only on the first day of our stay. The second is very minor. I thought that the Wifi access could be improved by having the user insert a pass key as is almost uniformly common. Your approach - no password on necessary - actually meant that the user had to start from scratch every time the user's device was turned on. The common approach makes that unnecessary, once the password has been entered, it is not needed again. I appreciate that you must have an elaborate system with each 'cottage' having its own 'network' - a nice idea - and it may not be possible to adopt the more common approach. The third is the absence of a light above the sink in the master bedroom. The ceiling light there is inadequate as an assist to shaving.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. The accommodation worked really well for a family as we were able to fit a child's cot into one of the bedrooms and the single bedroom was adequate for a young child; all bedrooms were tastefully decorated and presented. The mix of showers and baths allowed individual preferences.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



exellent standard as you allways do ,as i have said before houw can you improve on the high standard

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
,you provide very nice cottages to a very high standard and try to think of every thing to make the best stay any one can have
we have stayed in a few over the past 12 months and can not fault any of them ,or the staff at any time ,the only problem is we have to leave to go home , thanks yet again for a wonderfull stay