FB Twitter

Gitcombe House

Gitcombe House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub!

Accommodation Overview:

Gitcombe house sleeps 12 + infants in five bedrooms and seamlessly blends period features and furnishings with modern essentials and family friendly extras to create the perfect, country bolthole.

Guests enter into a large, flag-stoned entrance hall with coat store and turned staircase leading to the generous first floor landing with armchair and full length mirror.

The generous, kitchen/breakfast room (5m x 5m) has bespoke kitchen cupboards, full 'batterie de cuisine' and ample catering space for large family groups. There's an oil fired Aga along with a conventional electric oven and hob, American style fridge-freezer, walk in pantry, digital radio and Bose iPod docking station. For casual meals there's an in room dining table, chairs and pew bench. The handy utility room is accessed via the kitchen and has a washing machine, tumble drier, sink and drying area.

For more formal dining or special occasion meals there's an elegant dining room with an extending mahogany dining table and chairs. There's a beautiful, french chandelier, open fire place, CD player and antique rocking horse.

The spacious drawing room is an ideal for relaxing after a busy day making most of the grounds. It has sash windows and original shutters to two sides overlooking the front garden and wider estate. There's comfortable sofas, armchairs, an open fire with fender, 47" flat screen digital TV, Blue -ray DVD player and Bose sound dock.

There's also a cosy snug room on the ground floor which acts as the perfect 'chill out' room for little ones with a wide screen TV, DVD player and selection of DVDs and games.

Bedroom one is a fabulously appointed, large proportioned master bedroom with en-suite. It has a super king mahogany sleigh bed, wardrobe, easy chair and writing bureau. There's a TV and space for a cot. The en-suite has a bath with shower attachment, WC, basin and heated towel rail.

Bedroom two is a spacious family room (5.5m x 4m) with super king bed (sip and link beds can be made up as two single beds on request) and a further single bed. There's a huge wardrobe, cast iron fireplace, TV and space for a cot.

Bedroom three is a compact twin room (can be made up as super king on request) at the front of the house with TV.

Bedroom four is another large double room, it has sash windows to two sides and overlooks the front garden and grounds. It has a white forged iron, Victorian style 'And So To Bed' super king bed and space for a cot.

Finally bedroom five is a further large double with mahogany king size sleigh bed, cast iron fire place and room for a cot.

Each bedroom has luxury pocket sprung mattresses and blackout blinds.

The house has four bathrooms in total including the master bedrooms en-suite. On the ground floor there is a shower room with drench head shower, toilet, hand basin and heated towel rail. On the first floor there is a generously proportioned family bathroom with cast iron slipper bath, separate shower with french head, hand basin, toilet and bidet. There is also an additional, separate toilet located across the landing with original and working 'thunder box' WC.

Outside the house has an enclosed garden to the front with lawn, flowers and shrubs. A wrought iron gate leads to parking, grounds and outdoor swimming pool. The enclosed rear garden overlooks the grounds and has a wooden dining table, chairs and BBQ. The rear gate leads out to the grounds and lesuite facilities.

The house has parking for 2/3 cars directly in front of the house and space for further cars in the general parking area.

Two traditional, wooden (assembled) cots are available in this property. Additional pop up style travel cots available by prior arrangement.

Wonderful Family weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved the property and the many facilities. The Pool/Spa area was fabulous, it was extremely clean, warm and welcoming. The whole family from 1year old - 91 year old loved it.
Tennis courts and outside childrens adventure area provided great fun for all.
We stayed in Gitcombe House - An absolutely beautiful Georgian Mansion with masses of space for our party of 9 adults, 2 children and 3 toddlers. The kitchen is very well stocked with all the equipment and utensils you could ever need and the rest of the house is filled with books, dvd's toys etc....
I would definitely recommend visiting the estate which has around 8 properties - cottages etc..
Our family would most certainly return to Gitcombe.


Karen from Farnborough stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in February 2020


Gitcombe House is a absolute treat!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most lovely relaxing week staying in the Gitcombe House.
It’s a beautifully presented house, they have provided everything needed and more.
The grounds and facilities are 5*. Despite the wild weather we all thoroughly enjoyed the stay. It was an absolute pleasure to stay in such a fantastic house. Thank you


LESLEY from Milton stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in February 2020


A perfect weekend to get off the world

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of ladies celebrating birthdays stayed at Gitcombe House in January 2020. Not all that easy to find but once there, a truly exceptional property, designed and finished to an exceptional standard. Whilst retaining all the character of the Georgian era, it had every mod con and the attention to detail was outstanding. The owners father looked after us like kings (well, queens!) and nothing was too much trouble. The indoor pool together with the sauna, steam room and the outdoor hot tub at the top of a small hill was just glorious. I am sure it is beautiful in the summer but the lovely open fires and cosy rooms were a real treat at this time of year. it is expensive but the quality cannot be faulted and we couldnt recommend it highly enough.

Louise from Backwell stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in January 2020


Family get together

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The main house was big enough as a base for all family members, although we rented other properties on estate we all congregated in main house.

Karen from stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in January 2020


Fantastic New Year Family break at Gitcombe House

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic New Year break at Gitcombe House, there were 11 of us covering 3 generations and everyone thought it was a lovely place to stay. The house was very big and provided lots of space for everyone, beds were very comfortable, it was a pleasure to cook in the lovely kitchen. The leisure facilities were used by everyone, we had a family treasure hunt around the grounds and used the pool, hot tub and soft play every day. Peter was very helpful and friendly if we needed anything. We explored the area, we went to Dartmouth, the panto at Torquay ( one of the highlights of the holiday), Paignton for fish and chips, Blackpool Sands for a walk,Sportsmans Arms for a very good meal and the Garden Life Garden Centre for breakfast on our way home. Loads to do but also the most relaxing place to stay. Will definitely be back.

Carole from Plymouth stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in December 2019


Our Annual Stay at Gitcombe House

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family, friends and I have stayed at Gitcombe House annually for several years. The house is very grand, with large, light, warm rooms and fantastic views over Devon’s rolling hills.
All of the amenities are immaculately kept. The pool is warm, the hot-tub is in an impressive location with steamy-breathtaking views.

Gitcombe stands out above the rest... Its location is in a quirky undulating scape of natural waterfalls, steep hills and visually rich valleys.

The short walk to the local pubs will satisfy even the most adventurous walkers.
One pub being a ‘Proper’ local pub, and the other being an excellent dining experience with great views over Bow Creek.

We look forward to our return all year, every year.


Toby from Cholsey stayed at Gitcombe House for 5 nights in December 2019


Fantastic Time !!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property for myself and a group of friends to celebrate my 60th birthday. The house, grounds & facilities are exceptional. There are other cottages on site but there were very few others staying, so we had the large indoor swimming pool, sauna & jazucci, and tennis court all to ourselves. It's an amazingly peaceful place, tucked away in a valley at the bottom of the steep driveway. The main house had everything necessary for self-catering. The dining room was beautiful, fantastic for a special dinner. We only left site once to go out for Sunday lunch, but hurried back to lounge around the log fire.

Peter, one of the owners, was so very lovely. We met him when we arrived and when we left, but other than that we didn't see him, we just felt like the place was "ours" for the weekend, turns out he was in the property next door !!

The surrounding countryside is spectacular, peaceful and spacious.

If you want to go somewhere special go here. It might be a few pounds more than other places but at the end of the day you get what you pay for and this was worth it. We had a the most amazing time and I would definitely recommend and want to return !!


Julie from Bristol stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in November 2019


Fantastic Location, Facilities and great host

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family stay at Gatcombe House for my father's 80th birthday exceeded expectations. The House was stunning and furnished to a very high standard. The large rooms meant we were all able to socialise together. The leisure facilities are excellent - we enjoyed playing water volleyball in the indoor swimming pool. We enjoyed the steam and sauna rooms and had a great time in the outdoor hot tub. The grounds are breathtaking and everything is maintained to a very high standard. Our host, Rodney was so helpful and very welcoming - a true gentleman. He should be very proud of what he has achieved at this complex. We are now looking to return in the summer months n order to experience the outdoor swimming pool and tennis courts and would highly recommend this accommodation. It's a great location, with excellent accommodation and facilities - ideal for large groups to enjoy together,

jacqueline from stayed at Gitcombe House for 2 nights in November 2019


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week stay at Gitcombe. Pluses great facilities, lovely grounds, beautiful house which was very clean and comfortable. Towels and linen really nice. Very rural but still close to Dartmouth. Only slight negative is that the WiFi didn’t work in the property and little to no phone signal however, this was actually a real positive for us! Overall a wonderful stay and would come again

chris from stayed at Gitcombe House for 4 nights in October 2019


Wonderful house for family birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe House was a perfect home for celebrating a special birthday gathering for family of all ages. The house provided a beautiful, spacious, comfortable base for exploring the local area and coastline. Also it was great for hosting special birthday suppers. The facilities were appreciated by the toddlers and the tennis court well used by us adults. Overall a special house in a great location.

Georgina from Bristol stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in September 2019


Celebrating Golden Wedding

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gitcombe House with our 2 daughters, son-in laws and 2 grandchildren. Loads of space in the house although we didnt use the formal dining room. The house is equipped with everything you need, plenty of china, glasses, pots and pans etc.
The 2 pools were great and we also used the tennis court daily. Children absolutely loved it. Surrounding area beautiful although satnav took us down some of the smallest roads ever! Only small criticism, the ensuite bathroom is not the same standard as the other bathroom which was disappointing. Would love to come back.



Sue from Bethersden stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in August 2019


Wonderful holiday had by all

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a multi-generation holiday at Gitcombe from 3 years to 91 years and the facilities where excellent for everyone. Beautiful properties in a beautiful location with excellent facilities and a friendly helpful welcome.
Many thanks for our holiday.


Claire from Stansted stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in June 2019


Brilliant family location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was great. Plenty of room for adults and children. The garden was greatly appreciated. The pool and soft play were spotless and well used. A great week.

Trish from stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in June 2019


Amazing location and house

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will stay again everyone loved the house and location - very peaceful and team help with everything you need

Christina from Birmingham stayed at Gitcombe House for 2 nights in June 2019


A very enjoyable holiday in a stunningly beautiful site

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a wonderful stay in Gitcombe house. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the house beautifully decorated and furnished and we loved the indoor pool and tennis court.

Claire from Norwich stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in April 2019


A family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay celebrating ours sons 30th birthday with our whole family. We used the marvellous swimming pool every day, having it mostly to ourselves, walked into Tuckenhay along the river, used the spectacular dining room every night and visited some lovely local beaches and eateries. The house is a wonderful size for everyone to have their own space or all be together

jonathan from Northam stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in March 2019


Just fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ages 2 to 68 we all had the most fabulous time. Our welcome was magnificent as everything was so well thought through. The facilities were excellent and the peace away from traffic was super.

We would return here again and again.

Thankyou Peter Emma and Team.

P.S Just to say we had food prepared for us by Elaine for 2 nights while we were here. Ask Gitcombe for her details - outstanding meals.


Colin from Exeter stayed at Gitcombe House for 2 nights in February 2019


A wonderful week with three generations of our family.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The extra special touches helped us to feel that Gitcombe House was ours - a call from Emma who realised that we were in the area earlier than the 4pm entry time, suggesting that the house was prepared and we were welcome asap. - Beautiful fresh flowers in the building. - The warm aga, made me realise how much I miss the one which we had in a previous house....

The only disadvantage was connected with poor/ unreliable WiFi , which was not a problem for the older folks but it was for the one person who was continuing to make contact with his own business and the other who had to continue receiving work emails in order to prepare for a business trip. Our bad planning really- folks who just cannot take a week off work, modern society!

We were so fortunate to have sunny warm weather with no rain.
Location problem- narrow lanes, impossible to change, we were prepared.


Gill from Box stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in October 2018


A slice of heaven in Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a wonderful stay! You are a slice of heaven away from the busy hustle and bustle. We connected as family and friends and had many moments of bliss and joy. We loved the log fire, the kitchen, the huge sash windows, the history, the detail in a home away from home, the tennis court, the land, the views, the pool and last but not least the staff. You made our stay so memorable and I can not recommend it enough. If you have the chance to go, take it! Thank you Gitcombe House, we will be back soon !

Bernie from stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in October 2018


Short review

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
16 members of the family cane together for a 70th party. Gitcombe House set the path for a happy, fun weekend. Everyone loved the house, they felt pampered. The house is big enough for everyone to move around at ease even with toddlers and small children running around. If quiet was needed then the small children head up to the swimming pool or the wooden playground. All the feedback was positive and many asked how I’d found Gitcombe. So all in all a success. I would certainly stay there again.

Sally from Reading stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in September 2018


Great family get together

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gitcombe House itself for the first time having stayed in two other properties at Gitcombe in previous years. It is a special house and worked well for three generations staying together for a week. Plenty of use of the pools indoor and out, the hot tub and the tennis court. We used a caterer (Nina from www.devoncooks.com) for a wonderful celebration dinner in the fabulous dining room and the kitchen was very well provided to cook for ten when we needed to. Great location for all that South Devon has to offer.

Roz from Haddenham stayed at Gitcombe House for 7 nights in July 2018


Amazing house

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the house for 3 nights and cannot fault it. Location sndvuews were amazing. Will use again

James from stayed at Gitcombe House for 3 nights in July 2018


Great stay at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed celebrating our parents 30th wedding anniversary in the comfort of Gitcombe house. Peter was really helpful on arrival and with any questions we had throughout the weekend. The facilities onsite are great and we had a lot of fun in the outdoor pool. The kitchen was well equipped and really easy to find your way around. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

Natasha from stayed at Gitcombe House for 2 nights in June 2018