FB Twitter

Birch Tree Lodge

Birch Tree Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and decked area.

Sleeping 2- 5persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Cot or fold up bed for extra child
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open plan
  • Fully equipped kitchen including kettle,toaster, microwave, fridge and utensils
  • 30” flat screen television with DVD player and Freesat
  • Deck Furniture

Pets are not allowed in Birch.

* Wi-fi access Full secure access is always available in the Games Hut/ Reception area.

Return to Appin

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Usual warm welcome from Julie and Jim, weather has been great, hopefully won't be too long until our next visit,



excellent cabins and location

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 4 nights in the birch tree lodge at appin holiday homes and were thoroughly impressed. The cabins are of a high standard with nice decor, and are very comfortable.
The location is beautiful, with a nice view from the cabin and easy access to Oban, Port appin, and other scenic locations




Fantastic holiday lodge with incredible views.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely lodge, we had a great time. Stunning views!! I will miss eating my breakfast on the terrace looking across the Loch and spotting seals. Kids loved the pool table and dvd selection in the games room. Good location for access to Oban and Fort William and so much to explore in between. We had a lovely warm welcome on arrival from Jim and everyone was very friendly.
Thanks.




Wouldn't have missed it!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were traveling from the US and after weeks in "big cities" welcomed the peace and beauty of this rural location -- without sacrificing style, comfort or the tremendous food and company of The Creagan restaurant/pub just down the street. Thank you Appin team for your hospitality (which included a supply delivery made with a smile despite the late hour request.) Your pride in and love of this property and its guests are exceedingly apparent. We will never forget our stay!



holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what a fantastic 4 days we spwnt here
the cabin had everything we needed was clean and the views to die far . We will def be back woild highly recomend for anyone coming on holiday this way
thankyou for a fantastic holiday




Great place

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay at Appin Holiday Homes regularly and continue to come back, the location is fantastic and the views are amazing. Everything is provided for a great stay. Brilliant



Lodge stay at Appin

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home comforts excellent when we arrived after a long journey the heating and lighting was on was very cosey.The lodge has everything you needed.Fantastic view overlooking the water.Jim and Julie are very friendly and helpful.Major towns easy to get to and plenty to see.All the rooms are spacious and lodge just been fitted with a lovely modern bathroom.Overall we had a great break.



An excellent spot

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back to Appin every year and it does not disappoint.

The cabins are excellent, Julie and Jim could not be more helpful.

Would definitely recommend.




Clean and cosy accommodation in a gorgeous setting

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Birch Tree Lodge. It was warm and cosy and had almost everything we needed. The views over the Loch are beautiful and the place is very peaceful. We climbed Beinn Sgulaird and visited Lismore - both within very easy reach. Also enjoyed cycle rides in the area, the Appin Loop is lovely. The Creagan Inn is great for a meal and we went to the Pacer Cafe a couple of times and would highly recommend. The only things I would change would be a bedside lamp in the twin room, we couldn't find a plug socket to move a lamp into the room which wasn't great for my mum. Also a bath mat in the bathroom would have helped as the shower leaks. Other than that it was fabulous, thank you.



First Holiday in Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Birch Tree Lodge was in a lovely location with lovely views overlooking the Loch. Very comfortable Lodge and everything in it you need.Our first time in Scotland and we will be back



Value for money holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a pleasant stay, lodge was very good, well layed out and well equipped. Would recommend to family and friends, thank you.



holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we certainly achieved what we set out to do,which was o have a relaxing break.Views from cabin were beautiful and different each morning.Would certainly go back.



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we've had a fabulous holiday. Birch Tree Lodge was lovely, very comfortable and clean and it provided everything we needed. Would definitely stay again




Lovely mini break

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful 2 night break with amazing views. The lodge had everything needed and more. So peaceful and nicely decorated.
Would highly recommend.




Lovely place to visit

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to relax, close to lots of places to visit in the Highland, including a return visit to the Highland Titles Nature reserve and a trip to Lismore via the passenger ferry from Port Appin. We'll be back.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the review its always nice to get feedback from guests. The Highland Titles Nature Reserve, my hubby has a wee square metre there had to stop him changing his paperwork to Lord Weir :) Glad you had a nice time

Beautiful accommodation in a glorious location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved every minute of our stay in Birch Tree Lodge! It is in beautiful condition, comfortable and clean, and fully equipped with all that you would need for a lovely holiday. The whole site is nicely maintained and very quiet and peaceful - the road across the front had little traffic, especially at night, and didn't disturb us at all. The lodge was well placed for expeditions to Fort William, Glencoe, Oban and the fascinating island of Easdale, as well as several lovely local walks, including the Fairy Bridge. (The Fairy Bridge looked as if it was closed due to an unsafe footbridge, but the map showed us the path from the other direction, which started from just along the road, so we made it up there after all. It's very pretty and worth the short climb.)
We ate once at the Cregan Inn, where service was rather slow as they were very busy, but we were sitting watching the sun set across the loch, and the food was good when it came, so it wasn't a problem. It was nice to have somewhere good to eat within strolling distance.
Sadly, we never acually met the owners of the Appin Lodge site due to the Covid-safe self- registration, but emails in advance of our stay were friendly and helpful. I know they were around and would have helped if we had had any problems. We would have no hesitation in returning to this fantastic spot. It was gorgeous!




Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate and thank you so much for the wonderful review you have left. We are sorry we did not get to meet you it has been crazy on site so busy and we are still doing our best to minimise contact. Glad you made it to the Fairy Bridge its a great wee walk :)

Wonderful place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful week in Appin. Birch Tree Lodge was so homely, the views from the deck .. amazing ! The kids loved it and so did we. Everything we needed and more.



Chill time

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent few days in a beautiful location. We enjoyed 3 different long walks during our stay with lovely scenery and we were lucky to get perfect weather. It was all just what we were looking for. Thank you - we will definitely come back.



Lovely Staycation

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a week in Birch Tree Lodge and found it very comfortable and cosy. The view from the lodges (and caravans) are amazing and the area is fascinating for wildlife, we had daily visits from woodpeckers and red squirrels as well as a variety of other birds. The area is beautiful at anytime but amazing when the sun shines......all this and so close to Oban. This was our third visit and certainly won't be our last. Thanks to all for implementing covid procedures that made as feel very safe.



A welcome break

Review submitted on Wed, 12 May 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely stay and accommodation and location, views are spectacular too.
we only stayed two nights wasn't long enough




Four night stay at Birch Tree Lodge Appin

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was very nice and comfortable with excellent views of Loch Creran.
The new bathroom was beautiful.
The facilities in the lodge were in the main very good but let down by a few items which I think should be rectified sooner than later.
1) The cooker was not clean and had a strong fish smell from it when heated. The dials were illegible which made it very difficult to set any temperatures.
2) The microwave was very rusty and should be replaced.
3) The mugs were black in the inside due to the glaze being rubbed off in use, and should be replaced.
4) The scart lead for the television is badly damaged and needs to be replaced (this was found as there was no connection to the television on arrival). The DVD handset had no batteries.
Apart from the items above the lodge was very clean and comfortable, and I hope to return some day.




Mini break

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful weekend at Appin Lodges. We have stayed here a number of times and would recommend, Ash, Birch and Oak.



Comfy lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very comfy lodge with everything we needed and lovely views. We loved the area and Oban is great for shops and eats - not far away. Enjoyed discovering old disused railway station nearby - amazing and historical.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time - lodges were fantastic - location was perfect - views tremendous -we will certainly be back.



Appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Appin holiday homes on many occasions. Perfectly placed between Fort William and Oban. Beautiful part of the world.
Jim and Julie are great and the cabins are all perfect for your stay.




A great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at our lodge. It had everything we needed and was in a really good location for exploring the area. And the view was magnificent! The owners were also extremely helpful.



As described

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely chalet very clean covid stuff all adhered to etc , bit of road noise but calms down early evening , handy situation for touring about



Warm welcome.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really warm welcome and the chalet was also warm! Very clean and comfortable. Super location! Very enjoyable stay.



Birch tree lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was lovely ,beautiful setting, the TV does needs tuning a lot of interference which puts you off having it on , shower very slow running water. I would certainly come back though lovely relaxing place to stay.



Our stay at Appin Holiday Homes

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Appin Holiday Homes for the last 5 years and have always had a fantastic time. The lodges and caravans are ideal for short stays and the location is excellent for trips around the West Coast of Scotland.



Return to Appin

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back again to one of our favourite places, usual welcome from Jim and Julie, (glad you enjoyed my game pie,) as usual everything was ready in the chalet, nice and warm, we would recommend this great site to anyone, great base for touring the area and a great pub within walking distance from the site,



Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great stay with beautiful scenery and great views from the lodge. Would definitely stay again.



Great place, lovely people

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this last minute and Appin Holidays were very accommodating and easy to deal with.
Lovely clean place, beautiful views.
Easy access to the whole Lorn/Appin/Barcaldine area with lots to do for all the family.
Literally right next to a great eatery (Creagan Inn).




Thoroughly enjoyable

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My only concern was that the bedroom windows did not open wide enough to be an escape route so if there was a fire in the front of the lodge I can't see how you would get out. Bear in mind I have a very bad fire phobia having been in a fire when I was a toddler and I am sure fire regulations are adhered to. I over came the problem by taking the fire extinguisher to bed with me! It was a beautiful setting and I really liked the fact that the owners left you in peace while being very accessible should you need them,



Fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Appin Holiday Homes excellent customer service as always.
Can't beat the location scenery or local amenities.




Wonderful location. Splendid break away...

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful location. A simple but very comfortable lodge in which to relax. A splendid break away from the hustle and bustle of London life. September is perfect time to visit if you want to avoid the midges. Just three months to go until my return to Appin. I can't wait!
Thanks and regards to Julie and Jim. See you in December. :o)




Too shorter visit

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, ideal for travelling around. Accommodation was lovely, very friendly and helpful owners. We wish we had stayed much longer. We hope to be back very soon.



Another Visit

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second time staying at Birch Tree, and although the weather was not to kind this year the location is excellent for getting to know the area. The lodge is an ideal base with all the basic requirements to make ones stay comfortable and welcoming. Jim and Julie are both very friendly and helpful should you need them, but they do not push themselves into your space. Local pub serves good quality food should you not feel like cooking your own. Should you be like me, nearly 60 beware of the rope swing could have been a disaster for me LOL.



New Years break at appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to find a wonderful warm cosy lodge in a beautiful location
Away from the city. Will be back.




A hidden gem...will definitely come again

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfectly located, Appin Holiday Homes is a hidden gem in the highlands of Scotland offering a truly peaceful retreat with spectacular views on all sides. The owners Jim and Julie couldn't have been more helpful, and all the locals, from the lovely woman at the coffee/gift shop in Port Appin, the staff at Creagan Inn (just a short stroll away) and the different neighbours we met, were all friendly and gave good ideas on where to go and what to do. The accommodation was everything you would need for a self catering holiday, (warm clean and well stocked with cutlery and crockery etc) and sitting out front on the balcony overlooking the loch was just so relaxing. Perfectly located for Oban or Fort William, with all the other interesting places to visit in betweeen, means that you never have to be bored at Appin. But we enjoyed just taking in the beautiful countryside on all sides of the park, walking around Crearan Loch, and spotting deer on the walks up the hills behind. The park is beautifully maintained and the games room well stocked with DVDs and seemed to have enough games for families with young children. We would definitely recommend this park to anyone wanting to visit Scotland, and we hope to come back ourselves very soon.



enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a lovely stay in Birch Tree Lodge, very clean and tastefully decorated. Stunning view from windows of Loch. Easy access to lots of great walks. Visit to lismore island lovely. Host very helpful.



Lovely location and area.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
On first arrival I thought we had made a Bo Bo, but as the saying goes never judge a book by its cover. The lodge was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped with all you would expect from a holiday home ( One exception a small pot would be useful as there were only 2 of us )

Jim is very friendly, chatty and laidback, as he drives around on his Kubota cutting grass and going odd jobs around the well maintained site.

The site itself is in a beautiful location overlooking the loch and the hedgerow is full of wild life. We were fortunate on our visit that a lot of the birds had just fledged and we were treated to young Blue tits, Great tits, Chaffinches, Pied Wagtails, Blackbirds and Doves being fed on the grass in front of the lodge.

The surrounding area around the site has lots to offer in both scenery and activities for both young and old.

One final point the Chaffinches love Ritz crackers and will even sing for them if not supplied frequently.




in need of TLC but offers VFM

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Probably not the fault of the owners - more likely the previous occupants - but all kitchen utensils were filthy and needed washed before use. Overall chalet could do with a bit of TLC, but generally not bad at all



Appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was very well equiped, location was fantastic and owners very friendly. Only negative comment is that we could have done with our outside bib being emptied during our stay as we had witnessed a bin bag had been attacked by woodland creatures leaving refuse all over the place.



Great lodge in a beautiful location.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location overlooking Loch Crenan. Lovely lodge - clean, comfortable and excellent value for money. Very good base for exploring the area. Perfect for a family holiday!



weekend break at Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another holiday at Appin, weather wasn't the best this time but still enjoyed the break. Got the usual cheery welcome from Jim and Julie, chalet nice and warm for our arrival, good to know the pub is open again, hopefully won't be too long until we return,



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely review and we are glad you had another nice holiday with us.

Cabins

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The owner was very nice he made us feel welcome , I think the cabins could do with a bit of repair work, the front door fit badly very draughty , one dining chair was broken and the three piece suite was uncomfortable , I did expect more for the money we paid but it was high season. I do not think we would go back to the cabins again not until repairs had been done .
I must say the grounds were beatiful and the people lovely.