FB Twitter

Caravan G (side facing on loch with large deck)

Caravan G (side facing on loch with large deck)

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


  • 28 x 12 foot, four berth caravan
  • One double room and one twin
  • Large decked area with fab view to Loch Creran
  • No Pets
  • Free Gas and Electric
  • Complimentary toiletries
  • TV with Freeview Box and DVD
  • Fully equipped kitchen
  • Beds made up for your arrival
  • Double Glazed
  • Wrap around seating to living room

Great location

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Oct 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The caravan is in a great location , and had it been a sunnier week, we would have made good use of the balcony overlooking the loch.The van was well provisioned. It was fantastic to see an otter fishing just a few metres from us.





Holiday review

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2023
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second year here, very relaxing, enjoyable holiday in a comfortable, well stocked caravan. Lovely views and good walks in the area.



A perfect peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday, the caravans are in a fabulous position with loch views and access to the water. The contactless check in is great, and the caravan made a comfortable base to explore the area. Would 100% stay here again. Thank you



Excellent small site, rural location beautiful views

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived late afternoon the key was as instructed, there was a small trolley for us to transport our baggage to our caravan saving us multiple trips, as cars are in a carpark visible from the caravan but not alongside. The caravan itself was very clean, well stocked with essentials & some board games, and an excellent book of very useful information
Beds were all made up for us which was appreciated after our long journey.
There is a little overnight traffic noise but not enough to disturb you
The views across the loch are spectacular




Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Aug 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from our caravan window was breathtaking. It was a great location for exploring the Scottish Highlands.



A comfortable base for our visit.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Appin Holidays were very accommodating and quick to answer any queries that we had. They are in a central location which fit our planned activities for our holiday. The caravan was clean and in a good condition. We were surprised given the age of the caravan and with it being a 'budget' caravan. Jim also was quick to provide us with drinking water when there was an issue with the water supply in the local area. We will definitely be returning in the future!



Enjoyable place for discovering the Scottish Highlands

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Jun 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well organized place with an utmost kindness from the side of owner of the property.
Highly recommend to anybody who would like to enjoy the calmness of that region.




Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little caravan park in a great location. Caravan G is a little tired now , we had a couple of problems which were sorted straight away by Aidan and staff.
Would definitely return to this park but would stay on one of the newer caravans over looking the Loch.




Love it!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not my my first time here.
I just love it here, next to the water, relaxing, beautiful views, lots of lovely walks.
My parents come here with their touring caravan too!
Cannot wait to come back




Another great stay at these caravans.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is another stay here for us. A well kept small site. A quiet getaway which is what we like. Helpful owners and a great wee chip van on a Friday and Saturday evenings.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to have a relaxing holiday. I liked the fact that the staff are around if you need them, but they do not bother you. So if you want a peaceful holiday with your family that is what you will have. There are lots of places nearby to walk and the loch and mountains are beautiful.



Quiet and peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in caravan G. Although it is a side facing caravan the views are still stunning across the loch.

The caravan was clean and warm and very inviting.

We would definitely stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.




Late holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely peaceful site right on the Loch. Would definitely stay again, but hopefully with better weather.



A further and better land.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed in Scotland for over fifty years and love every part of it, especially the West Coast, Highlands and Islands. We’ve suffered dreadfully due to COVID restrictions and concerns so it was such a relief to finally be able to visit again, especially self catering and near Port Appin which we love.
The information through the site owners was great and vey helpful. We knew the site and location which just cannot be bettered. Right at the side of the Loch and a very pleasant setting. The park home is well equipped and everything worked well although we fortunately didn’t need much heating. The price for our seven night stay was extremely good value, and the whole holiday was most enjoyable. Thanks Julie and Jim, we will be back…




Myy holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spot for a break also we had Disappointed with the bed as it was far too soft, the decking outside was very poor and dangerous also it was hard to lock the door from inside at night.



Lovely spot for exploring

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location on the Loch with great views from the veranda when having breakfast or dinner. Caravan has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Decking getting a little tired, but it does the job. Lots to do in surrounding area,.plenty of walks and cycle paths. We enjoyed a visit to Oban, a trip to the Isle of Mull , Glencoe, gondola ride up the Nevis range and a walk to find the Fairy Bridge. Also lovely along the Caledonian Canal and the kids enjoyed Ganavan Mr Obam and Calgary bay on Mull. Inveraray Jail a good half day out too..just an hour away.
Had a meal out at The Pierhouse Restaurant in Port Appin...it was delicious although a bit pricey.( But worth it)

Creagan Inn a 5 minute walk away....bit he prepared for midges if you are outside!

Well organised little site with lovely hosts.




Appin Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of Appin Holidays was fantastic with many interesting and beautiful places to see nearby. I would recommend Kilmartin Glen, south of Oban, for a walk through a great prehistoric landscape. We used the accommodation as a base to climb Ben Nevis. Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from Appin holiday park having had an incredible time. The weather was the hottest is has been for many many years. This obviously contributed but the caravans are situated in an idyllic spot with plenty to see and do around.
We had three caravans and put our eldest boys in this caravan since it was the oldest and the price reflected this at only £470 for the week. It was just fine for them. However It could do with a wee bit of updating. The patio furniture was quite literally on its last legs and they had problems shutting and opening the door. Again it lacked in kitchen and ovenware. Neither did two of the vans have Hoover’s and the hoover in our caravan L didn’t work. However the caravans were all clean on arrival and quite comfortable. The site is well maintained and we would definitely return. The owners Jim and Julie were very helpful before our arrival and we knew where they were if we needed them.




All round great stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Took our 3 month old baby for her first holiday here and it was great. The grounds are lovely and well kept. The caravan has great views of the loch. Everything you need is provided.



scenic and peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very quiet site with amazing views over the lake with mountains in the distance The caravan was clean and tidy and with a no contact check in / check out was very covid friendly small issue with television was rectified straight away only down side was not being able to park next to caravan and no wifi but all in all very relaxing and would return without doubt











Caravan G (side facing on loch with large deck)

Review submitted on Tue, 18 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Usual Spring stay at Appin Holiday Homes, Caravan this time, we also use the lodges.
Caravan G, is starting to show it's age a bit. Hot water is by instant water heater, gas powered, so there's a delay while it warms up. Jim fixed the tap which had a bit of a drip, always mention any issues to him and he'll see to it. View of the loch from the deck area and view of the fields from the front lounge window which faces west and gets full sun in the afternoon.
Makes a great base for us and we will be back next year.




Perfectly adequate stay in lovely surroundings but a bit basic.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We knew in advance that the caravan would be one of the more dated models and we knew that it only had a partial/sideways view of the loch but it was all that was available for our dates. The caravan seemed clean although it did smell a bit damp on arrival. Perhaps this was due to the covid 'fogging' of the soft furnishings. It had basic cooking/eating equipment provided plus washing up equipment and a tea towel. I did not realise that we needed to bring towels but luckily had swimming towels we could use, but it did mean we didn't have a bath mat with us. The caravan isn't very well insulated so it was difficult to avoid condensation and damp. Needed to use the heaters quite a bit. Storage was good. We didn't meet the owners but they sounded friendly on the phone - couldn't get through as requested on the phone to tell them that we had left on the day of departure (message box was full), so had to email. Booking confirmation email was slow to arrive and I don't think we got an email to tell us about the arrival procedure or what and what wasn't provided. The owner seemed surprised we hadn't received this. The price per night seemed high compared with friends who were staying in a log cabin on the same site at the same time. They seemed to be paying only £10 more per night from what they said. That would make a log cabin much better value. The log cabins are much nicer too, have more space and have a lovely view being higher up on the hill. We did have a lovely time however and didn't lack for any of the basics, and the site seems well looked after and in a beautiful area. The site is on quite a busy main road.



Excellent location, let down by the weather

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Arrived at the site early afternoon, instructions on checking in, where the keys would be etc. was all setup beforehand and everything was as we expected. The location of the caravan was perfect, although it was side on, we could see the loach shoreline from two sides and the caravan in front did not spoil the view.

Caravan was setup really well, everything was clean and tidy. Some supplies were left out i.e. toilet roll, tea towel, washing liquid etc. to get us started. Plenty of storage space and a large fridge for the supplies that we had brought.

Living areas laid out nicely, with the living room having plenty of space and open plan to kitchen and dining areas made this feel more spacious.

Both bedrooms laid out nicely, with some nice touches in choice of bedding (Stag and Tratan theme). Bathroom was suprisingly big for a caravan and it led into the master bedroom as well as main hallway. With respect to the bed, and this was the only thing, the mattress showed its' age and use as it gave way to easily negating a comfortable nights sleep, however having a spare room solved this problem.

While everything was well presented and well thought out some minor things, carparking is only enough for one car per caravan and the spaces are quite tight that if one car is on the boundary, it makes it impossible to use the space. The caravan is one of the older ones on the site and it has been well kept / maintained, but has minor signs of general wear and tear - something that if the weather was better we may not have noticed (however cannot blame the weather on anyone person).

Location wise, there is a lot going on, whether you are cycling, hiking, walking or if you are looking at the West Coast in general with Oban, Glen Coe, Fort William within a short driving distance. If you are looking at good food, this is within walking distance or a very short car journey from the Creagan Inn a short walk along the shore line for all day dining / drinks, to Castle Stalker view for an afternoon cuppie, to the Pierhouse to sample some excellent sea food dining.

All in all and enjoyable time, but could have been so, so much better if it weren't for the Scottish weather... A great little site by the edge of Loch Creran...





Creagan Static Van at Appin Holiday Homes

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The site is well kept , lochside access,convenient for Oban up to Fort William. Good range of eating places within 5 to 20 mins. Static Van G was clean, adequately equipped, as described, but a little dated and needed a few running repairs and some documentation. Covid arrangements were good but meant site contact was minimal.



Great location for the water and views

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks for the friendly emails and great cleaning ethic for Covic-19. Great way to stay away from the crowds for sure and a very well maintained site. Pack some warm clothes though as can be exposed here right on the loch.





Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great views, lovely pub down the road. Well maintained static caravan. Enjoyed exploring the area around



Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The caravan was very clean, well equipped and spacious. The site was beautiful, peaceful and well maintained, with a stunning view over the loch. The caravan is perfectly situated for exploring the surrouding area. Some nice reataurants nearby. Unfortunately, the nearest supermarket was more than half an hour away (in Oban). Jim and Julie are perfect hosts. They are very friendly and more than happy to help.



Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The logement was good, only I would like to have some towels on the bathroom and could be more cleaning products. The dryer didn't work properly. The location is really nice but plenty of mosquitoes so it is no possible dinner or playing outside the caravan.



Nice loch-side location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a nice stay at Appin Holiday Park. The loch-side location was very picturesque and the owners were friendly. The caravan was generally in good condition although a little dated. The only slight issue was the proximity to a busy road where you could sometimes hear traffic at night and in the mornings. Appin is in a really good spot to visit the Highlands, close to Fort William, Glencoe etc and close to Oban for taking ferries to the islands.



A great base to discover the area

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely (if slightly soggy) week at Appin Holiday Homes. Our caravan was clean and fresh for our arrival. With the front windows looking out onto the grassy area our son could play happily with us able to keep an eye on him when prepareing dinner etc. But also with cracking views of the loch when sitting snugly in the corner.

While the weather was, shall we say, changeable, we had good family times catching crabs, skimming stones and paddling in the loch. The grassy area was great for playing all sorts of games and cycling round. We also borrowed a set of boules from the games room.

Across the road (which is the main road between Oban and Fort William, I hadn't quite appreciated this until we arrived. It's a fast road, but not too busy. Children should be accompanied when crossing though) the games room was well stocked with dvds and books, a fusball table and a couple of games consoles. Ultimately we used it for the Wifi. With most of the Highlands mobile signal can be very patchy depending on your network so having internet access was great to help with planning adventures when the weather decided that tomorrow probably wasn't a day for the beach. And going by the huddles of parents in the games room after the children's bed time, we weren't the only ones who appreciated it.

The caravan was adequately equipped for our stay, kettle, toaster, range of pots and pans, oven trays. A full size under counter fridge with small freezer compartment, microwave and gas cooker. Everything you need for basic caravan cookery. And for the nights when you don't want to cook the creagan inn is a 10 minute walk away and comes highly recommended along with fish and chips from the Tralee chip van (check opening days, nothing more disappointing than expecting a chippy tea only to find it closed).

The pink shop in Benderloch is great for the wee forgotten things. I placed a Click and Collect order with Tesco in Oban on our arrival day meaning we were set to go from the minute we arrived. Tesco don't deliver this far from Oban.

All in all we had a great holiday here and will come again.




Appin holiday homes.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I had a great time. Beautiful area to explore. The caravan was clean with all we needed for our stay.
Great value for money, cannot fault really.
Many thanks.




Caravan G Appin Holiday Homes

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Appin Holiday Homes, and we can't wait to come back again. Everyone is so welcoming and friendly, and the accommodation is fantastic - clean and comfortable with plenty of room for all our kit! We would highly recommend staying here.



July 16

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Caravan is located on the shore of Loch Creagan and is ideal as a base for exploring the area, as stated, the main view is over the communal park area and grass fields, though there is a fair view over the loch as well, the caravan is very spacious, beds were made and everything was extremely clean, the kitchen is fully kitted out and you could easily cook a full evening meal if you wished.
There are no restaurants on site, but i can highly recommend the Creagan inn, an easy 10 min walk, 2 min drive round the bay, the nearest shop is around 3 miles away at Port Appin, though must admit to not using it, the nearest main shopping is Oban and Fort william.
We never had reason to contact the site owners, but if you did need them they are easily accessible as they live nearby / phone, Jim, one of the owners is usually to be found maintaining the site, i found him to be very friendly, likeable, and extremely knowledgeable regarding both the local and wider attractions and areas.
All in, I would highly recommend this site and will definitely be returning in the near future

David and Joyce




Beautiful Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 4 nights and would definitely return again. Superb location and our caravan was very clean, very comfortable and positioned with a great Loch view. The owners Jim and Julie were very nice and nothing was too much trouble. A wonderful get away!



A peaceful and relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Appin Holiday Homes. The good weather helped and the caravan came up to our expectations. It was peaceful and in an ideal location for relaxing or visiting nearby attractions(by bicycle or car).

Unfortunately we didn't get to meet the proprietors of the site as we were out and about visiting the attractions in the area. However that can only be a good thing as we had no complaints to make and all our questions were answered in the information pack in the caravan and at the reception.

Having stayed at a variety of holiday homes at various locations in the UK, we would certainly return to this site in the future.

Gareth and Jackie Roberts




Nice caravan in good location - couple of maintenance points need addressing.

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the caravan for 2 of nights. It was great to be near the shore and the site was nice. The games room and wifi were useful.

The couple of maintenance issues were that the auto light on the gas fire didn't work (probably needs cleaned) and ,on the cooker, we couldn't get the grill nor one of the rings to stay on after releasing the knob. I guess the owners would have fixed this but we were only there for 2 nights and couldn't spend time on it.




Caravan G

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
No mattress protectors and bed linen could be updated. However, overall excellent location and value for money. Owners extremely helpful and accommodating.



Heaven on earth

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place to go to unwind and relax but adventure opportunities on the doorstep for cycling, fishing, sailing or just weakling the many highland walks with scenery that will inspire any artist or writer.