FB Twitter

Fox Den Lodge- Pet Friendly

Fox Den Lodge- Pet Friendly

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Single storey detached lodge with uninterrupted loch views and large decked area.

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open plan
  • Fully equipped kitchen including kettle, toaster, microwave, fridge, and utensils
  • Flat-screen television with DVD player and Freesat
  • Deck Furniture

Pets are allowed in Fox

* Wi-fi access Full secure access is always available in the Games Hut/ Reception area.

We'll be back

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love staying here, the accommodation is spot on, the view is wonderful. The owners Jim and Julie are really friendly and helpful. Can't fault anything Can't wait to return .



Quiet & peaceful

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jul 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant location, lovely site, close to a decent pub and good dog walks. We had a brilliant week and look forward to going back



Lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location relaxing holiday will be back and good staff Will highly recommend and no overly priced



Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We usually stay in the area a few times a year, so thought we'd try the lodges having driven past so many times.

Beautiful location and lovely to be able to walk along and explore the old station and go a bit further with pavements or off road paths for miles around.





Lodge with a view

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, warm, dog friendly lodge with fantastic views of Loch Creran.
Plus points- bath with shower over, huge L-shaped sofa, well equipped kitchen, spacious enclosed and sunny deck with comfy chairs, easy access to dog walking, walking distance to pub!
Negative points- double bed very soft, bed linen and cushions a bit tired & dated, had to provide own towels.




Wonderful views from the veranda

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very clean lodge with fabulous views. Perfectly big enough for 3 or 4. Very handy covered veranda which provided good protection from the rain and sufficient space for bike storage. Well placed for the traffic free cycle path. Beware if visiting during the English October half term that some cafes will be on winter opening hours (we knew this so it didn't bother us).



Very basic

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately we found the lodge very tired and in need of updating. We stayed in Fox Den lodge which is one of the pet friendly lodges and although it didn’t smell of dog it did have an unpleasant smell. The bathroom felt cold and damp and there was very little water pressure from the shower. The wooden steps to enter the lodge were very slippy and in need of repair. The electric heater in the lounge was very rusty. The beds were ok but just very old. All in all we wish we would have paid more money and stayed somewhere nicer as the accommodation we stayed in prior to and after this were lovely.



October break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good accommodation. Owners nearby if needed. Part of disused railway just behind, very handy for short dog walks. Some problems with hot water system, quickly sorted by owner but failed again. Heating ok but would have liked to be able to boost it at times



Fab rental space

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fox den lodge was a great place to stay. There was 3 of us and a dog and the size and layout was a great fit. The fully enclosed decking with the gate was particularly good for our dog and our piece of mind. The lodge was warm and cosy and the heating had the place toasty in no time. The views were stunning and the large front window allowed us to enjoy it all day long. Loads of great places to eat near by and only a short drive to Oban. Plenty of places to walk from the lodge and access to the Oban to Fort William cycle path. Correspondence with the owners was great. Would definately recommend.



Nice, may have struggled with entertainment if it rained all week!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay. Cabin a little tired but all worked ok. Beautiful views, the road is busy and noisy during the day and did slightly detract from the relaxation. Good central location.
Possibly a little more could be provided for the kids in the play area, the Wendy house was damaged and not safe for young ones, however the grounds were great to explore and the near(ish) beach was fantastic. Neighbours were all friendly and quiet. We did love it as the weather was fantastic, we may have struggled with games to amuse us if it had rained all day. A book library or jigsaw exchange would be a good idea.




Fox Den Lodge - Stunning View and Dog Friendly

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jun 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although we visit this area every year this is the first time we have stayed at Appin Holiday Homes, Fox Den Lodge has everything you would require for your self catering time away. This lodge is dog friendly which is why we booked, maybe also why a few areas need attention inside but the scenery from the cabin is just beautiful and makes up for any shortcomings inside and we would stay again ! Also the immediate surrounding area is great for walking the dog.

We stay self catering as we like to eat out at different places for dinner, a few local ones we tried were:

The Old Inn - Great if you are a steak lover, not much else on menu though. The steaks however are amazing although a bit expensive - £38 for a T-Bone.
Creagan Inn - Menu wasn't very inspiring did not tempt us to try, although great for a drink outside relaxing with that magical view, and just a short walk away.
Fish & Chips at Tralee bay were fantastic, well worth the drive to collect.




Stunning

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful cabin, spotlessly clean, everything you need inside. The views are stunning, the sight itself is very clean, neat & tidy. Wouldn’t hesitate on returning again.



Weeks break

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at Appin holiday homes, the first time we had been away from home for over a year. The lodge is very comfortable and cosy with lovely views over the Loch. We enjoyed it so much we have booked another weeks stay next month.



Fox Den

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent short break in a beautiful area. The lodge was very comfortable and afforded excellent views across the Loch.

Hope to return at some time in the future.




A perfect place to stay in the Western Highlands with a lockside view

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Fox Den Chalet with three others and a dog. The area was perfect for both ourselves and our pet with lots of walks and plenty activities in a small radius .There are two places to eat out in the immediate area and we sampled both finding them to be excellent, We first went to this site 30 years ago and will certainly be back. The only complaint is the lack of accesable electricity sockets due to the way the furniture has been sited.



Pet friendly stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge. Great location for access to Oban, Glencoe and Fort William. Lodge was pet friendly which suited us with our West Highland Terrier. Had a really relaxing stay, and on recommendation of owners visited the Old Inn for a lovely steak meal. Port Appin and Castle Stalker also close by, would definitely stay again.



Happy holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the lodges. It had everything you could need . The bathroom could do with an update but the rest of the lodge was very well equipped. We had lots of nice walks . The view from the lodge was spectacular I could have watched it all day . We will definitely be going back .



A fabulous stay at Appin

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful lodges with fabulous views and everything you could need for a comfortable stay. Will definitely be back.



Gorgeous view, spacious but a little tired

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really covid compliant so we felt really safe. The customer service was excellent, the location is brilliant and the site is really nice - lots of space, the railway line really interesting and so close to a great pub!

The lodge (fox) was spacious and comfy, we just felt that it was a bit tired for £320 for x2 nights. The living room had a lovely big sofa and the beds comfy duvets, the huge terrace was fantastic, but the kitchen and bathroom felt very ‘caravan’ and in need of an update.





Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely lodge fantastic views and the owners couldnt do enough to help
The surrounding areas are amazing, there is so much to do around the area




Beautiful view

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed in the Fox Den Lodge for a week in September with our dog.
There is a walk on the old railway line behind the lodge which is handy for the dog and
It is a short walk to the Creagan Inn which serves very good food .
The best thing about the lodge is the great views.




Perfect in relation price and location

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We travel in family (15 people). We took 4 lodges and was very good everything. The best was the view.



Another holiday in Appin

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back again to Appin, usual cheery welcome from Jim and Julie, they even managed to get the sun out for us, we recommend this to everyone, well sited for touring or just being lazy, Creagan Inn within walking distance for good food and drink, give it a go sometime



Family break at Appin Holiday Homes

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from a 3 night stay in Fox Den Lodge. Perfect location for a short break with lovely views over Loch Creran and Glencoe only a short drive away.
Jim was very helpful when we asked his advice regarding walking in the area.
Very pet friendly and safe for my daughters dog who was able to spend most of her time on the decking area as it was secured with a gate.
Would definitely return.




Great dog friendly place

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay, was very comfortable and had everything we needed. The owners are very helpful too, we're looking forward to our next visit.



May holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in comfortable, well equipped accommodation. The whole site is well kept and maintained. The only minor negative was the mattress on the double bed was too soft for me , but my partner thought it was fine. We found the site quiet well managed and will definitely make a return visit.



Cabin was spot on

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cabin was brilliant. Location was spot on plenty to do and see. Castle stalker is worth a vist Owners were nice and freindly also. Defo be back



Great last minute getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommended. Close to Oban, lots to do and see nearby. Great if you have a dog and fantastic view from the well-equipped cabin.



Great wee escape!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodges to escape to. Everything you should need for your stay. Cosy & warm with lovely views.



Wonderful holidays in the Appin holidays home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything is perfect: the house is great, the landscape is impressive and Jim is very nice and kind.



Happy times

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a lovey peaceful beautiful place fantastic view fully equipped and super decor . would defiantly stay again



Great site to use as a base with wonderful views over the loch and nearby hills /mountain.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was perfect for a couple and had wonderful views at the front. There was a veranda at the front of the lodge with modern outdoor furniture and everything was clean and in working order. The owner was very friendly and helpful. A great location for touring and walking.



Dog Friendly Visit To Appin

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed a week in Fox Den Lodge.
Owners very helpful and friendly without being intrusive.
Lodge was very clean and comfortable but was looking a bit dated. Would benefit from some upgrading..
Excellent location for walking and touring.
Food and service at Creagan Inn very good.
We will return.




Foxden short break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, fantastic dog friendly accommadation. Lodges could do with a bit of an update, but did not affect our stay.
Great location for Munro bagging, cycle track from Oban to Fort William. Fantastic pub (Creagan's Inn) superb hospitality , great food and also dog friendly within easy walking distance. We were fortunate to have great weather during our May stay, decking was a great suntrap, with fantastic loch veiws.
My husband bagged the three local munros, whilst I enjoyed the sun. Will definately return, cafe at Castle Stalker View also worth a visit does good food, with great views.




A week in Scotland

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing location, the lodges are a few years old but nonetheless are comfortable and offer most of what is needed for an enjoyable time. There is plenty to see and do in the local area.
Owners of the site are very friendly and there when needed.
Beautiful views of mountains and shorelines are guaranteed.




Short family holiday with dog

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for a dog friendly family break, our second time here and we will be back again. The owners are very friendly and welcoming too!



Relaxing break in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing week in Appin.

The lodge was very comfortable and had everything you could need during your stay and the view from the sitting room area was beautiful in autumn colours. The outside deck would be a lovely spot to sit on a summer day.

The location was great for a number of reasons - great views and lots of lovely walks all round the area, especially good when you have your pet with you. The lodge is located between Oban and Fort William so there are loads of things to do, see and visit in close proximity.




Fab holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely base for exploring the West Coast. Lodge was perfect, comfortable, had everything we needed with gorgeous views. Highly recommended x



Excellent location

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely location. Perfect for visiting fort William, glen coe and Oben.
Would recommend this accommodation to others.




Warm, friendly service and great location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb views across Loch Creran and easy access to places such as Glencoe and Western Isles. Jim was a friendly host - provided very helpful travel and sightseeing advice. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - recommend the nearby Castle Stalker View café.



Lovely views

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Spent a lovely week here. Perfect accommodation for us and our dog. Good walks close by. Can highly recommend.



Another short break in Appin.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Again, a wonderful few day's in gods country. Weather great apart from 1 day and we have again enjoyed staying at the Fox Den Lodge at Appin Holiday Homes. Great location and at an affordable price, all you need for a short break in the area. Will be back again.



Wonderfull Stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time. The House was really comfortable and had an amazing view. The service was very nice and helpful!
We're looking forward to coming back. :)




Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice lodge with direct view on the loch.Perfect like every time.We'll book another year.




Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely review and so glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thanks also for the lovely gifts you left at reception.

Great accommodation fabulous setting

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi we stayed at Fox Den for 3nights.The accommodation was freshly decorated, very clean,compact but very adequate.The area was excellent with access to cycle path 78 on the doorstep excellent for dog walking.The staff were very friendly and seemed to enjoy their business.Winter opening hours for shops and hotels would be good additional information as Creggan Inn was shut mid week and shop at Port Appin closed at 1.



It was just OK

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I have stayed in better self catering for less money. It was ok but not brilliant. No towels when we arrived and none appeared until the evening after we had checked in, by which time we had gone and bought some so we could have a shower. We were compensated for this with a written apology and a couple of mini packets of cheap biscuits. The location is nice but i dont think i would stay again. Having done self catering in lots of countries i do think Scotland does not score well in terms of value for money.



sitio muy agradable

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Todo bastante bien . Un poco apartado de fort William pero la zona donde esta también muy bien y agradable.falta servicio de limpieza . El restaurante de al lado muy bien



For the quality of the lodges are they rather expensive: rather old, could use an update

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good location, beautiful view on the loch, rather expensive and old lodges which could use an update. We only saw Julie a few minutes, never met the caretaker/owner. Nice suggestions in the information booklet, with great descriptions (stoeiers in faxt!) of walks.



Perfect break away

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Fox Den for a weekend and the lodge surpassed our expecations. Clean, modern and comfortable in a quiet and beautiful location. Jim and Julie were fantastic hosts through out and we will most definitely be back soon.



Tip top

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Schöne Häuschen mit guter Einrichtung und Lage. Kann weiterempfohlen werden. Einzig die Toilette sollte man anschrauben und die Brille richten. Ist ein bisschen wackelig. Aber sonst top.



No time to get on the deck

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the place we had in the upper cabins. We didn't get any time to get on the deck, as the Scottish climate endured - with the rain.

The view from the cabin was beautiful, overlooking the loch and the hills beyond. Even the sheep provided great background noise.

I would recommend staying here. I'm "OK" on comfort - the beds are great, but the two couches are not very nice to sit upon.

Hope to return.




wonderful location, stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Close to Oban and ferries. Excellent places to eat. Friendly owner. Wonderful views. Accommodation clean and very cosy. Good cooking facilities. Comfortable beds.



A great location from which to explore the highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay albeit we only really slept and had breakfast at the lodge, we were too busy climbing Ben Nevis and exploring. The lodge is a short walk to the highly recommended Creagan Inn.



fox den lodge..

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay at appin lodge.
great location and we will be returning for sure next year.
exellent views from the lodge perfect for breakfast in the mornings.




nice house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
House is clean, lovely and just near the sea.



70

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a great holiday some aspects of the property could do with upgrading,the view was excellent.The hotel&bar was nearby, and the food was very good.We could'nt find anyone when we arrived to let us into our chalet,so had to wait,we ended up going to look for them, I think that could be improved.



wonderful views from comfortable 'lodge'

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we had a wonderful week-the lodge had all we needed ,all provided in first class condition. we would dfinitely go there again if we visiting the same area



Comfort and beautiful views.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a very pleasant week next to a loch and with beautiful views.
It was perfect !
No noise except birds songs...
We arrived late and Jim Weir was there excepting us.
Thank you very much for this welcome!
We booked 4 times the fox den and we'll do it again!




Great location great value for money

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay we were very lucky with the weather and enjoyed the first real sunshine of the year
You can't fail to be impressed by the stunning loch views
Our cabin was clean comfortable and a little home from home
We plan to return next year and have already ordered the weather




Short break in Appin.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a lovely location and the weather we had just made it extra special! If you are looking for an excellent place to chill out for a few day's and you are lucky enough to get the weather too then, this is the place to be! Lots to do and see in the local area and Oban and Fort William are just a short drive away!! Make sure you take in the Creagan Inn, just a short walk away, and the Peirhouse hotel in Port Appin, the food in both is just first class! The view from the Lodges is second to none, we will definitely be back!!



Excellent service

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent customer service and excellent views from the log cabin. If you have any problems there quick to respond. If your not sure what you want to do or want ideas of what to visit there's a folder of good local things to do in your holiday home. There's good local walking areas and also a pub less than five minutes away.



Fab views

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a great location with good accommodation. The local pub just a short walk away served good food, unfortunately it was closed during the best part of our stay so might be mindful to check if you are thinking of eating out during your stay. We did eat at the Pier house a couple of times in port app in, really good and recommend a try! The lodge was clean and had everything you needed the best views you can wake up to, we will certainly be returning! Thank you



Sad & unloved!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
This was a last minute booking so there was little choice. Although I would say the interior has had a recent refurb it has been done in a slap dash and hurried manner! There was paint on the sofa and lamp shade from the paint job and the curtains hadn't even been ironed ! Although it wasn't dirty it was unloved and way below my standards. There were dead flies on the windowsills, and the bathroom tiles were in need of a good bleach which I treated them to and came up lovely! The toilet seat was obviously new but was too small for the toilet.The shower was a pathetic trickle. On arrival one of the beds in the twin room had a very tired and stained duvet cover and no sheet on the bed. The owner did promptly rectify this. However, I also mentioned that there was only one out of three light bulbs working in the kitchen which was also seriously covered in cobwebs. He said he sort it out. He didn't! The bathroom was ,like the rest of the place compact with no where to put anything. It was just uncomfortable. It did have amazing views but for someone who lives on a pedestrianised street way too near the main road with heavy goods vechiles waking me from 5 am! The exterior was also in need of a good clean down. Covered in all sorts with the light above the door being an inch deep in dead things. Yes I'm in the country but there really is no excuse. We had warned our girls that there would be no wifi but even I would have liked it without having to walk to "games room" just to look up local information etc. In this day and age it really is a must have!



great wee break!

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great 2night break here, warm welcome, comfy lodge, stunning scenery. Lovely walking area. Highly recommended and hope to be back next year!
We also really recommend Appin Boat Tours. Excellent day out.




Weeek of touring

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
V good location , very quiet and great for dark sky stargazers went to isle of mull which is great but watch out for high ferry fares we went from lochaline which is cheaper



Good stay in Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good value for money.
Lodge was spacious and practical.
Jim at reception really very helpfull and friendly.
The location is great between oban and glencoe. Only thing the road A82 a bit noisy during the day.




Lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin holiday homes are in a fantastic location and the views of the loch are spectacular. We literally just slept at the chalet for a few hours over two nights as it was a whirlwind visit to Scotland solely to climb Ben Nevis. Due to distance we had to travel we did not arrive at the chalet until well after the booking in time had passed. A quick phonecall to Jim the owner however and he was very understanding. He explained where the chalet was, opened it up and turned the lights on for us. The chalet itself was clean and seemed quite nice. If you are looking for a self catering style place in a good location then Appin are well worth checking out.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin holiday homes are in a fantastic location and the views of the loch are spectacular. We literally just slept at the chalet for a few hours over two nights as it was a whirlwind visit to Scotland solely to climb Ben Nevis. Due to distance we had to travel we did not arrive at the chalet until well after the booking in time had passed. A quick phonecall to Jim the owner however and he was very understanding. He explained where the chalet was, opened it up and turned the lights on for us. The chalet itself was clean and seemed quite nice. If you are looking for a self catering style place in a good location then Appin are well worth checking out.



The Fox Experience

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely location, though the main road was the 'fly in the ointment'.
Easy access to good walking, climbing and sightseeing. The local hostelry was OK, food was tasty but we thought it expensive for size of portions.
Only downside of 'Fox's Den' was the close proximity of the toilet to the bath. With six feet + family members it was a challenge.
Overall though a good time was had by all.




excellent location

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of Fox Den is excellent.Wonderful views and easy access to Fort William and Oban. The lodge was fine with adequate crockery, pots and pans etc. We ( 58 and 60 yr old) found the beds and settee were not very comfortable and there was insufficient leg room between the bath and toilet. There was no internet access.



A truly wonderful and dog friendly place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I found Appin Holiday Homes whilst searching for dog friendly accommodation in the area. I didn't expect it to be so perfect and in such a beautiful and magical location. We loved it and didn't want to leave! We even found a little friend in the shape of cheeky little Chaffinch knocking on the window asking for scraps. We had a wonderful and friendly welcome and the lodge was a perfect little home from home. I would recommend Appin Holiday Homes 100% and would love to return for a longer stay in the future.



Excellent Location and Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really delighted with our stay at Appin Holiday Lodges, we were looking for somewhere to stay close to Barcaldine Marina, where we have a boat. The views from Fox Den over Loch Creran are fantastic. The weather was superb



good holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable holiday - comfortable accommodation, spectacular view, well located for walks and cycling, handy for the dog etc. (we did benefit from brilliant weather and relatively minor midge torment)



Fantastic place to stay xx

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The chalet was comfortable and warm and the service Julie and him provided was excellent. Always willing to help and only a call away. The games room was well used and Jim's knowledge of cycling routes and the best place to go was endless and most welcoming. Highly recommended xxxx



Great stay at a great lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin Holiday Homes provided us with a great lodge which was perfect for our stay. Lovely views, grounds and lodge were so clean and well cared for. The kids loved the tree swing, the dog loved the walks and we loved the peace and quiet! Great location with the water for the dog to swim and the kids to explore. We will hopefully be back!



Beautiful Appin keeps us coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been returning to Appin Holiday Homes for 30 years and hope to do so for many years to come. Accommodation and setting are perfect for us. We have never been disappointed.