FB Twitter

Squirrel Drey Lodge

Squirrel Drey Lodge

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 89 reviews
91% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Single storey detached lodge on our upper level with uninterrupted loch views and partially covered decked area.

Sleeping 2- 4 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One standard double and one twin bedroom
  • Large Shower Room & WC
  • Living and dining room open plan
  • Fully equipped kitchen including kettle,toaster, microwave, fridge and utensils
  • Flat screen television with DVD player and Freesat
  • Deck Furniture

Pets are not allowed in Squirrel

* Wi-fi access Full secure access is always available in the Reception area.

Disappointing

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2023
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
When we booked this holiday it stated on the website that this particular lodge had been refurbished with a new kitchen and furnishings, unfortunately this was not the case indeed it is actually in need of a refurb.
The bed in the main room isn’t a full size double and because of the position there are no bedside tables.
The twin room had no sockets which we could find and again no bedside tables or lamps.
The kitchen left a lot to be desired and I had to clean pots, cutlery and glasses before we could use them.
We actually cut short our stay which was a pity as the location is great but unfortunately the accommodation didn’t match the amazing views.




Amazing lodge. .

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
views were amazing from the lodge also very comfortable and clean. Ideal for both Oban and Fort William.



Perfect lodge for a few days!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2023
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge and a perfect setting. We stayed for five days, and there was enough to do. Hiking or peddling on Loch Leven. Make sure you visit the nice restaurant Pierhouse as well. The Lodge is fine; beds are so, so, but still value for money. I definitely would recommend this if you want to visit the area.




Good base for break with family & friends

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2023
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location & view of the loch. Small family owned site. Great games room for the kids. Lodge could do with some tlc but overall a good base.



Great stay in a beautiful country!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Appin holiday homes. It’s well equipped with everything needed for your stay. They provided loads of information about the area and it is a great base to explore from!

Would definitely recommend to other guest and hope to be back again!




Highland and Islands in Scotland to visit while having a base near Oban

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing self catering break in the highlands of Scotland. Having a veranda is a massive bonus as you can look out over the loch while having a meal or chilling. We will definitely stay again.



Old and Tired

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2022
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We booked x 3 lodges as my daughter was getting married in Appin and these were recommended to us
My husband and myself were in Squirel Drey which were appointed as we had our dogs with us , My daughter also had her dogs with her but her lodge and the 1 of the other wedding guest was far superior to ours including a dishwasher, heating far more kitchen gadgets more livable space , and in 99% better condition
Squirrel Drey is shabby to say the least we only had 3 plates 1 of with was cracked . the tea towel was very old and grey, the hot tap only dripped , the oven was clean but the pan inside was full of fat !!! The bathroom was useable but the bath plughole was full of hair and we had no bathmat . We did see the owner Jim on our second day but never again and had to just drop keys off when leaving in a reception
We have travelled the world and have never had written information stating that we needed to hoover the chalet and clean the kitchen and bathroom on leaving at the end of our stay I also removed the bedding to find what appeared to be a urine stain on the quilt
Unfortunately for us we were sandwiched between 2 families who were in and out of each others accommodation in the early hours and one family had a dog who they would leave outside constantly barking at 2 am
The decking is very slippery so be aware and the view that is used to advertise the lodges leads you to believe that you overlook
the loch !! YOU DONT there is a main road between the lodges and loch




Perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third consecutive holiday here and we didn’t think we were the kind of people who like to return to the same place when there is so much of the world to see! But Appin Holiday Homes feels like a home from home for our family and they provide the perfect base to explore the West Highlands and beyond! From here we’ve been on the Jacobite Steam Train, visited Oban, Fort William, Isle of Mull, Mallaig, Calgary Bay, Fairy Bridge, Ganavan Sands, Tralee Bay, Cuil Bay, Glasdrum Forest, Nether Largie Standing Stones, Atlantic Bridge, Glencoe Lochan, Sutherlands Grove, Glencoe, Seafari Adventures over to the Corrywrekan to name but a few! The grounds of the site and the surrounding area are also beautiful! It was a delight to look out of the picture window upon the Creran Loch every day! Every time we saw it, it was different! A beautiful part of the world!



Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay - excellent service - central location for all amenities Oban/Fort William, Glencoe etc



Summer Fun

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, relaxing holiday, in a beautiful place. Lodges are very cosy and well equipped. Thank you for a lovely stay.



Quote "Over the hills and far away to a happy highland holiday "

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its exactly as it says, it is a wonderful family business, we were so well looked after, anything we needed the family made sure we got or advised us what or where we could get what we needed.
We did mark one with a 4 because the banister on one side was loose coming up to the lodge, but nothing bad about the complex or the lodges.




Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfy lodges in a great location. Site is nice and peaceful with a great view. Lodges have nice and comfy interiors, some fixtures and fittings are a little tired but if anything it gave them a bit of character.

Good for exploring the Oban and Fort William area. Creagan Inn a 5/10 minute walk away is worth a visit for food and the Wee Chippy comes on site on a Friday and Saturday night.

Will definitely be staying here again when next exploring Scotland.




Fantastic location

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge is in a fantastic location and the views across the water are amazing. The lodge had everything we needed and the nearby Creagan inn was really good.



Family visit

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again, Appin Holiday Homes provided the right accommodation to suit our purpose in visiting family that live locally.



Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely place to stay, amazing scenery and good location for touring
Lodge has everything you need for a comfortable stay




Return visit to Squirrel Drey lodge was another great success for our family

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Squirrel Drey Lodge has now been the venue for 2 excellent family holidays. It is in an ideal location to explore this beautiful part of Scotland. This year we had superb weather and enjoyed 2 days at Tralee Beach, which could have been confused with the Mediterranean! The lodge was very comfortable, with suitable cooking facilities, (it had everything we needed). The patio was greatly enjoyed this year, and the parasol appreciated. We will likely be back again.



Lush!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for the first week in August. Good site, nicely laid out and lots of points of interest.
Squirrel Drey lodge itself has fantastic views - soul food scenery!! I wish I could upload a picture I took as an example.
It was also spotlessly clean, such a high standard of cleanliness - far better than that of a 4* hotel we stayed in as a stop-over. Sofa and beds were very comfortable, my father in law has issues lying down to sleep but said that the bed was so comfy, he led down and slept for longer and deeper than he has done for years at home. Neither of my in-laws wanted to leave.
We will hopefully return soon as it has zoomed straight in to number one on our Scottish sites list!!




Mixed

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jul 2021
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Key in door for arrival we were greeted with a trip on a loose slab before steps to the tired decking and rusted table and chairs . Opened door after a bit of juggling with the key . Lovely fresh decor/sofa and almost spotlessly clean . I fixed a loose door handle . Every utensil you would need ( maybe could do with buying a new clothes horse rather than gaffa taping it ) plus a tea towel / scour pad/ dish cloth wee sachets of coffee/milk which I thought was a nice/handy wee touch . Bathroom clean , great shower over bath a personnel touch with wee shower gel/shampoo . Toilet handle had to be held until flush ended . Beds were made and clean . Single mattresses were fine but double mattress was very uncomfortable, slept on couch for a few nights due to this . Scenery absolutely stunning ! Tidy grounds just the noise of the very busy road which spoiled it a bit . Laundrette did the job just machines a bit tired /rusty . Never met either owner over our seven night stay which was disappointing as heard such good reviews of Jim introducing checking guests were happy with everything. Mixed feelings about recommending this accommodation to other people without pointing out the bad along with the good points .



Great location let down by condition

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Jun 2021
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Squirrel cabin
Good: superb location, great views, nice decking area, good size lounge and decent kitchen facilities.
Not so good: cramped rooms, small beds, inadequate shelving in bathroom, plastic shower curtain, black mould on tiles, ill-fitting doors, poorly functioning toilet and kitchen hot tap.




Superb accomodation

Review submitted on Tue, 04 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very clean homes, excellent service and super friendly and helpful owners. We will definitely come back next year. Thank you.



Autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth visit to this lovely location.Cosy lodges in spacious grounds with great views.Situated between Oban and Fort William plenty of things to do and see



I would highly recommend Squirrel Drey Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our visit to Appin holiday homes. Our chalet was very comfortable, warm and homely. The kitchen was well stocked. The location was excellent for us. We enjoyed climbing local Munro's and a visit to Lismore Island.



A wonderful relaxing stay in a beautiful corner of the world

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation, a home from home thank you.Lovely clean accommodation with nothing left to look for .




Squirrel Drey Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great weekend - 3rd time we've stayed here and it never disappoints! Beautiful location and spotless accommodation all contributed to a fabulous weekend - we''ll be back!



Paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying there - it never fails to impress. We were lucky with the weather this week and actually had to go and buy suncream! That's a first in Scotland! Am more than happy to recommend Appin Holiday homes and we will certainly be back again, and again!



Xmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at Xmas. Lodge is ideally located for visiting family. It is comfortable and well appointed with great views. Planning to visit again later in the year.



Hogmanay Break

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were looking for a change of scene to take in the new year and after having stayed in the Appin area before, we decided to check out self-catering accommodation for Hogmanay.
We knew where Appin Holiday Homes were located and booked online back in January. Check in info was clear and when we arrived the chalet was cosy and welcoming including Christmas tree etc.
Jim popped in to check all was ok and reaffirmed that we just had to let them know if we needed any further assistance at any time.
We had such a relaxing and enjoyable break, I'm sure we'll be back!
Many thanks.




Fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic week with Appin Holidays, they provide fantastic value for money accommodation with a friendly nothing is to much trouble service. Always sad to leave and glad to return.



A quiet ten days

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
In general everything was as expected. Minor hiccough in that the towels we’d booked hadn’t been provided and we didn’t get these until the day after we arrived (they came with an apology!). Otherwise, clean, lovely site, good condition



Fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location to discover the surroundings. Near the main road, but calm enough and beautiful view. Landlord is extremely friendly and helpful. Best vacation ever.



Comfortable lodge in beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodges are set in beautiful surroundings with lovely views of the loch and hills. We really enjoyed having breakfast on the terrace and watching the wild birds. Although the main road is just below the site, we were not disturbed by it, as the bedrooms are at the back of the lodges. We also enjoyed walking along the old railway track at the back. We loved our visit to Port Appin and the sail over to Lismore. Inside the lodge, the couches and beds are comfortable and the kitchen is adequately equipped. However, the kitchen area is tiny, making meal preparation a bit of a challenge. I would advise visitors to collect a good supply of shopping in Oban on the way to the lodge, as grocery shops are scarce. The Creagan Inn is very good for eating out and we enjoyed a lovely lunch in the cafe above Castle Stalker. We were a family group with ages from 3 months to 64 and everyone enjoyed the holiday thoroughly.



Fabulous stay. Would recommend!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was fabulous. What stunning views. Excellent location. Our cabin was lovely and clean and the beds were comfy.

Had a meal at the Creagan Inn. Which was super!




Well worn and torn.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a wonderful stay here about 12 years ago with no complaints and lots of praise. Returned May 2019 with visitors from Wales and was very disappointed at how much the place had deteriorated through lack of some T.L.C. The condition of the property outside and in did not justify the price charged. I am sure at some point the proprietors will address the issues requiring attention.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Hi there, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay this time around. However we think we offer great value for money and in this instance you paid £20 per person per night. The local hostel in Oban is more expensive for a bed in an 8 bed dormitory! We are aware that the outside of the lodges could do with a repaint but they are pretty full until October when we have the painter booked in - dependant on good weather. We were hoping to do a couple in March but it was rained off. We do appreciate that you found the location excellent as well as the cleanliness.

Welcome Break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little site in excellent location. Great views across the water and very convenient for area we wanted to explore. Enjoyed our stay very much.



Our stay in Appin.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent base to explore from in a beautiful area. The owners are friendly and helpful, and the site is well maintained, we had a very enjoyable week, with excellent weather!



All you need is there in the lodge - and the view us simply stunning!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we were only there for 3 nights, we had an amazing holiday. The lodge had all we needed domestically and the surrounding mountains and loch were stunning. We loved the cycle path - in either direction we were met with incredible scenery and the most friendly people. Back at the lodge, it was only a short walk to the pub, The Creagan Inn, which was beautifully situated at the edge of the loch and staffed by friendly people who made you feel very welcome whether just having drinks or a meal. We definitely want to return to Squirrel lodge.



Second Time in Squirrel Drey Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was the 3rd time we have used the cabins at Appin Holiday Homes and each time we have found them very clean and welcoming with a most convenient location for us. We will probably be using them again later in the year.



Much smaller than looks onine

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Disappointed that the busy road was between the lodge and the loch. Disappointed with the space inside the lodge...think the photos make it look mcu bigger than its actually is which was disappointing and left us feeling it was a bit overpriced.



Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great views over loch creran and mountains
Very good pub just 200yds away with good food and drink
Very good local walks




Friendly small site with great location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the Squirrel Drey Lodge as 3 adults and a teenager. Lovely warm welcome from the owners. Excellent location not far from Oban and other attractions. Great little lodge with amazing views of the the Loch and the mountains. Weather was good whilst there but could see the lodge would still have been comfortable in poor weather. Good facilities, shower could be more powerful but that’s being picky, plenty of hot water. Quiet location but the games room had a pool table and Nintendo Wii as well as internet which we seemed to be able to connect to from our lodge. Lovely area for walks. Pub a 5-10min stroll with friendly service, great views and lovely food. Will definitely be visiting here again and recommending to friends and family.



Holiday at Appin

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Appin Holiday Home was a perfect holiday home. The location and views were stunning. The rooms were spacious and all the amenities were provided. I would recommend to anyone. It has easy access to both Oban and Fort William and is at almost equal distance to both places of attractions. Again the views were far reaching and changes throughout the day. To have a cup of tea or relax in the evening with the company of the nature it’s the ultimate experience. I would love to go again. There is lots for kids to do and we would go again.



Nice holiday park

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice park, nice location, the house was ok , clean , the beds are very good
Oban is a very nice place to visit , and the sealpark




Great hosts, great view

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, well equipped. Comfy bed, best sleep in ages. Views amazing from the decking area, helped by the great weather. Family are very good hosts and very helpful. Within walking distance of an excellent restaurant/bar.



Squirrel Drey Lodge 3 Night Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Lodge was Clean, Tidy, Comfortable and Well Located with a good view of the loch. It was used to serve as a base during a visit to undertake a few days winter maintenance on our boat located near by. We would use it again.



what a lovely stay we had, and we even had snow which made it all the better.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely holiday in Appin, the lodge was nice, clean and warm. We stayed there before and hope to come again.Thank you



Excellent location for a few days away

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely view... Quiet site with an exceptional pub half a mile away which does fantastic food and offers a really warm welcome! Each lodge even has a torch provided to allow you to find your way home! A car is essential for getting about but loads to do and see. The guide to walks is an amazing touch and they even give the kids a treasure hunt and guide to den building.... Fantastic!



Great short break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had four days in a very wet October in a very cosy lodge. Jim and Julie were very friendly and helpful. Our kids loved the stony beach across the road, and we loved the short walk to the Creaggan Inn. Lots of info in the lodge about things to do, but our favourites with 2 young children was the Sea Life Sanctuary, and the amazing waterfalls at Sutherland's Grove both about 15mins drive away. We definitely hope to go back as there's lots still to see and do.



Amazing in every way

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is comfortable tastefully decorated. Views are incredible. Outdoor area is nice with bench and garden furniture on the balcony.
There was a games room and outdoor chess which the children enjoyed.
Very clean .highly recommend




Weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is great as a Base...it has everything you need and is clean..great location and there is a fantastic pub that serves food just a 5 min stroll away...would definitely recommend this place



Another great visit

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have visited and I don't think we will ever tire of the fabulous views and great facilities. The great weather was an added bonus. Hope to be back soon!



My stay in Squirrel Drey Lodge.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My stay was enjoyable and could not fault the comfort and
cleanliness of the lodge.
The only thing I would pick up on was the non provision
of towels and, as a smoker, perhaps an ash tray on the table
outside.
All in all I enjoyed my stay.
Thank you.
Margaret Blake.




5 nights stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very nice stay , comfortable and clean . Great location.

Good facilities , but flakey Wi fI , not a real problem though !




Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The host are soo helpful and wonderful. The area is peaceful and just wonderful staying here. Lot to do in surrounding area.



Beautiful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend, great lodges with a great location. Views are incredible we will definitely be back and recommending to friends and family



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks a lot for your review we are so glad you enjoyed the lodge and its view. Hope the wedding went well!

90

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Vue sur le loch superbe et inoubliable, accès aisé, situation entre Oban et Fort william excellente et assez centrale, confort agréable, bon contacts avec les 3 générations des propriétaires, malgré la route assez proche pas de bruit ni jours ni nuits. Liberté totale de circulation dans la propriété, Salle de jeux avec énormément de loisirs accessibles, vidéo films, livres, jeux TV etc.



Cosy

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was very comfortable with nice furnishings and pictures. Thought has gone into how the lodge looks and feels.
We were very happy with our stay. Kitchen items ample for breakfast and snacks but cooking a dinner for 4 might be a challenge, but then why waste your holiday time cooking when there are good restaurants and pubs in the area.

We found it a lovely place to use as a base - the view from the patio has to be seen to be appreciated.
We are looking forward to going back again




Lodge review

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good standard accommodation in a beautful location. A bit pricey but it was ideal for what we wanted.



Christmas chilling in Appin.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the Christmas period in the lodge. Which was very warm comfortable quiet & homely. The location is stunning lots of lovely walks to take in the views. I imagine in the summer there is even more to enjoy with boot trips etc. There's a folder in the lodge with very good & detailed information of the area. To us it was Obviously that it's a remote area and so we took everything with us that we needed. The nearest supermarket is a good drive away in Oban app 15 miles. which you'd expect for this kind of location. We did lose our phone signal for 3 days due to a mast issue, and you'd be lucky if you get anything more that a 2G connection, However that wasn't a concern for us. There is a wooden lodge thats a play room come social area. Free wifi is provided it's not the quickest but it works.The family that run the site are genuinely lovely. Nothing was to much trouble. The kitchen was well equipped. We would definitely recommend this site. Great holiday!



ten out of ten..Appin Holiday Homes

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect accommodation for myself, husband, daughter, granddaughter and dog. Well equipped with welcoming coffee, tea, hot chocolate etc.Only one small detail.. take towels as we didn't realise they were not included and had to purchase some.
Parking next to chalet. Games room had wi-fi which is not available in chalet. Lots of suitable toys in games room for our 1year 2 month old granddaughter which was a nice surprise.
Views from chalet to die for especially at sunset.
Nearest Restaurant/bar a short walk away..remember torch if dark.There is a torch in the chalet.
Lots of things to do and see in surrounding area which are well documented in folder in chalet or if you just want to chill and enjoy the views from chalet ..:):)
All in all would definatley recommend. ten out of ten We will be booking in the near future again this time staying for longer.
Thank you guys for a most enjoyable time :):)




Beware self catering

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Oct 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
No towels no bed sheets, 1 roll toilet paper poor cooking utensils. When we asked for towels we. were told this is a self catering resort. they were friendly and of course brought some towels, shampoo etc.. When we're going to bed we realized no sheets.... ughh. Too late to wake up the owner, so did without...a bit strange. No wifi in the unit. Killer good location and sitting on the deck at sunset was spectacular. It's a hike to get groceries so shop before you come. Jim the owner very nice and helpful



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Hi there sorry to see that you did not enjoy your stay in our lodge. The lodge was booked for 2 people with no mention of a second bed needing made up so it was just the double bed that was fully made. You were provided with towels when you asked for them not sure what you mean re poor utensils as we have a full size cooker, fridge, 4 ring ceramic hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, enough cutlery, plates and glasses for 6 people. Steamer pot, 3 additonal pots, frying pan etc etc. perhaps you could clarify. Wifi is free and is provided in our reception hut free of charge 24/7. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed the location however.

Squirral drey

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I will definitely be booking this back up. Beautiful cabins and beautiful location. I would definitely recommend to anyone going up get the best views.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely reviewit is much appreciated.

Last Minute Summer Break with the Kids

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay, the accommodation was clean and comfortable with a view to die for. 1st visit to the West Coast of Scotland for our girls but they really enjoyed it and the location of the Appin Holiday Homes was an ideal base for exploring the local area. Thank you



Ben Nevis excursion

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cabins are clean and tidy and met our every need. Kids were free to run around, play games and generally be fun loving children.
45 min drive to Ben Nevis.
Good pub 5 min stroll away.

Opportunities for improvement include:
Although Wifi in games room could have had filtered wifi in cabins I.e. No video streaming but could access news websites.
A mop to clean floor.




Urgent renovation required

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Deeply disappointed, was very expensive, dirty. To be avoided. Location is maybe the only good thing, but there is a road right in front of the cottage, it does not show on the pictures. The pub nearby is the only good thing. The stay was a rip off.



Cabin with stunning view

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The alpine style cabin has a large window and a balcony to look out at the stunning view across Loch Creran. It has basic facilities but perfectly adequate and very good value for money. The family who run the holiday homes were extremely friendly and helpful. The Creagan Inn at the head of the loch is a short walk where we enjoyed good pub grub with an amazing view down the loch. We would have liked to have stayed longer.



Short stay at appin

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly host.
Magnificant vieuw over the lake.
Good beds.
Bathroom is rather poor, no place to put anything away.
Kitchen was ok, there could have been more knifes, forks, glasses and plates.
No wifi in the house.
A nice place to stay.




Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, great view, kids loved to play outside. :-)
Between Oban and Fort William...very good located. Would come again!! :-)))))))))))))))))))




Very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would recommend Appin Lofges for a good value break amongst beautiful scenery. Lodges are well equipped and comfortable. The bedrooms are quite small but the beds are comfortable. The grounds are lovely although we only used it as a base for touring. The owners were very friendly and welcoming.



great place

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners are very helpful and friendly. Cabins are good with great views across the loch. Loads to do on site and so much to visit in the local area. 2 nights was not enough. Can't go wrong with this place.



For a short stay this was perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful view and location, would definitely return, we only stayed 2 nights which wasn't
long enough as there is so much to see and do around Oban.




Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfull time in our lodge. Great lodge, superbe views, fantastic people. Good base to make trips and adventures. Greagan Inn at the loch hasj great food and as all Scott, very friendly people



Nice place a little overpriced

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely setting, lovely view over loch lochen? (Might not remember that right!)
Helpful owner, reception area has wifi and good info for area, as does cottage itself. DVDs, games etc, all good.
Cottage nice, TV/couches etc, bed could be a little more comfortable, kitchen etc functional doesn't really scream stay in and cook for a self-catering place (we stayed in a self-catering place in Loch Lomond with BBQ etc and stayed in a couple of nights).
Good location, less than half hour from glencoe village, fort William about an hour away, access to the islands so a good base for 4-5 days. Castle stalker right beside.
Really nice sitting outside in morning if weather good and beautiful view. A small number of midges about in evening but what are you going to do (pest spray, head covers).
Would I recommend? If they had BBQ facilities and you felt more like cooking in there a couple of nights of your 4/5 night stay, then definitely as great view and great base. As it is, probably yes still but I'd look at options. Price a little on the high side.




Happy in Appin !!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The sofas were not comfortable,slippy with no support and woke up with a bad back sometimes.overall holiday was fab.the location is the best.we were fortunate to have lovely weather and so glad we returned after 25 years.(we celebrated our honeymoon here and now our 25 th anniversary).it was better than we remembered.



Heaven on earth

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place, great views, friendly & helpful owners. Love that it's dog friendly. Creagan inn within walking distance, great food & friendly staff:-) Perfect place for a relaxing break



Craig's Appin break

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Appin Holiday lodges, great location so friendly couldn't have been more welcoming, definitely going back.
Thank you
The Craig's




What a location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last minute booking as the cottage we had booked was flooded. Met by Jim who was very friendly and helpful. Location fantastic, comfortable, warm and cosy. Could not stop looking out of the window for the view. Was meant to be and loved it. Will definitely be back.



Comfortable accommodation with stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Recently returned from a two night stay in Squirrel Drey lodge. The location is excellent with stunning views. We had a 5 year old with us who loved the playground and just the freedom to explore the old railway station and grounds around the lodge. Some beautiful beaches not too far away and the Creagan Inn a good place to eat. look forward to a return visit hopefully next year.



Lovely location

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The view from the chalet is outstanding. We enjoyed our stay. The bed linen was beautifully fresh and the kitchen is well equipped.
The bathroom decor in the chalet is a bit tired with an old wiffy wiff... but hey everything can't be new all the time.




Lovely site and great location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great views with beach nearby. Nice lodge on a great site - situated on an old railway station. Lodge was furnished to a good standard. A big U.S. Point was the brilliant views from the very large front window, overlooking the sea. A few small things that didn't significantly impact on the enjoyment of our stay... When we arrived the bin hadn't been emptied after the previous occupant. Difficult to use the oven as no oven glove provided. Disapointed with the children's play park and games room which were extremely run down. With some basic improvements these facilities could be a great addition to the site. We had a very enjoyable stay and would be happy to book again and to recommend to friends and family.



Lovely views.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always fined this a lovely place to stay with lovely views over the loch. The site is well looked after tidy and clean. All lodges are well maintained.



Happy in Appin

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay here, perfect views out over the loch and was a good central base for us to go out and explore the area from Oban to Fort William and beyond. Accommodation was lovely, well furnished and comfortable. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to others.



Nice house with perfect view

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice house with pretty lake view. The outside facade of the house looks a little bit old but inside everything is renovated. We (family with 2 children: 9 and 13) were fully satisfied with staying there 3 nights.
15 miles to Oban – perfect seafood. Close to beautiful Glencoe – I highly recommend a visit.
0,5 km to Restaurant.




Fabulous week

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I are just home from a very enjoyable stay in a comfortable lodge. The location is spectacular. Even the weather couldn't spoil it. Brill



Definitely room with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This lodge was ideally situated and the views are stunning. The lodge was fully equipped with everything necessary, however in some areas was beginning to look a little tired and in need of an update. The site was quiet, just as we expected, but was very different to the website information. The site in places looked scruffy, especially the games room which was in need of a refurbish and the old Creagan Station, which was stated as renovated and suitable for a picnic, was anything but. It was unfinished, with no picnic area.

Whilst we had a fabulous holiday, with views to die for, we found it very expensive for facilities provided.





cosy cabins in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cotttage is on the lakeside with a beautiful view. the weir family are great hosts. a place to relax and enjoy scotland.

the cabin is a perfect alternative if you are traveling with children.




cosy cabins in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the cotttage is on the lakeside with a beautiful view. the weir family are great hosts. a place to relax and enjoy scotland.

the cabin is a perfect alternative if you are traveling with children.




good place nice and clean for a good vacation.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
positive
Nice place and location.friendly staffs.well presented home with all required facilities especially kitchen.
Negative
Slightly over priced.no towels in bathroom.no mats in bathroom.was told to pay electricity bill initially though they didn't charge while checking out.




Beautiful location, disappointed with the condition of lodge and customer service.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jun 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Excellent location but lodge needs a bit of refurbishment. Very poor customer service. Did not see anybody on arrival or departure or for the 3 days while we were there. Basic amenities missing.



Julie Weir replied more than 1 year ago
Really disappointed with this review. A note was left in reception with our telephone number on it (we live on site) with instructions on how to get to lodge there are only 10 and have their names on them so not difficult. The lady obviously found note as I received a telephone call to say they required towels as they had not brought any. These were duly taken up to lodge. I was then informed that any hotel they had stayed at had provided towels I reminded them we were not a hotel and was then told there was nothing to wash hands with when I pointed out there was shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and body lotion in the bathroom the lady was still not satisfied as there was no liquid soap. Offering to get her some from my house she stated no dont worry ill get some tomorrow. There is a fully personalised welcome folder in each lodge with clear instructions on where we live. So the comment about not seeing anybody is completely untrue. We are glad she liked the location as do all our guests we have 60% returning customers year on year so aren saddened to hear she did not like the lodge.

Bit reluctant to say as I don't want it to be booked up when we want to go again!

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really well equipped lodge in a great and surprising location. We had never been to Appin before but would love to go again. Could not be bettered really. Very relaxing time with friendly help from Jim, the owner, if we needed anything. Tremendous value for money, we will go again and tell others about it.