FB Twitter

Cruachan Cottage

Cruachan Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 76 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Private south facing garden and kingsize double bedroom in this 4 star cottage.

bathroom

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would like to see a soap dish in the shower, a coat hook on the door and a towel rail by the sink to save walking to across the room to the towel rail. Only small things but would make a big difference

Robert from Liverpool stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in May 2019


Fabulous!

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had the most fabulous week in Cruachan Cottage.

The location is perfect for days out and shopping but so beautiful and quiet when you need R & R. Our 4 year old daughter was able to be mostly feral for a week! The Barn is welcoming and friendly and we particularly enjoyed a Sunday afternoon drink with some traditional Scottish tunes! Lovely walks and great people. My only criticism would be the uncomfortable double bed!! Beautiful, newly fitted bathroom and all other facilities were fab. Thank you for having us, we very much hope to be back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The service was always lovely. The food hot and tasty, some lighter choices would be welcome but the staff were always accommodating if they could be.

Claire from West Byfleet stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Try somewhere else, very dated and in need of refurbished. A nice view does not make up for ugly uncomfortable furnishings .

Guest from Leven stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in October 2018


Happy customers

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been going to Cologin for years and still love the area
Close to Oban and great for travelling around the west coast

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good



James from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2018


Cruachan Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was comfortable but felt furniture and furnishings could be updated..had a slightly jaded look.
The garden furniture was poor and the grass hadn't been cut for a while.
A bush could be trimmed away from kitchen window,
Compared to the rest of the site it felt neglected.
Having said all that i had a lovely meal and super few days.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent meal



Patricia from Dunoon stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in June 2018


A nice stay in a nice place

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting, peace n quiet what more could you ask for. Done the hike to the loch and was disappointed we saw no wild life. Probably the fact that 2 fishermen were about 100yds in front of us. The barn served us some fine meals the 2 nights we decided to eat there

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Nice place nice food n drinks very sociable staff



Joe from Liverpool stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in May 2018


May holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been returning to Cologin for about 10 years and have always had a excellent time. It is ideal location, not far from Oban, and also the convenience of the Barn for food and drink. It also an ideal place for our dogs with great places to walk.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent



Guest from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in May 2018


Wonderful central cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay here with our 3 dogs. The cottage was spotless and very cosy and it had a great enclosed garden for the dogs. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Comfy bed, warm and had a log burner which was great. On site bar and restaurant and is approximately only 3 miles from Oban. Highly recommended.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
N/A



Caroline from Blairgowrie stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in April 2018


Great location and service: some tlc needed.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a family holiday during the last week in March with others staying in 2 chalets.
Cruachan is in an ideal situation overlooking the site and was lovely and warm - heating being provided by a quirky heating system which could be enhanced using a wood burning stove.
All the rooms were lovely and large, with plenty of storage space. The Bathroom has a fantastic shower but some of the electrical equipment was not working. We were told that the steps up to the front door would soon be refurbished.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and dealt with things very efficiently.
Wifi access was intermittent in the cottage and The Barn - but we went to Cologin to get away from that!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great staff, food and drinks. The service was excellent and quality and value of the meals was very good.

Peter from Chorley stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


We will be back

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, far enough away from Oban to feel like ur in the middle of no-where but close enough to drive in if you wanted to do somethibg. We will certainly be back, the garden was amazing for our dog. Great communication before we arrived too.
Thank you

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The barn had a great choice of food, dog friendly and very helpful



Gemma from Paisley stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in March 2018


Perfect for our needs.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for our needs. We stayed in the apartment /chalet at the back of the big house, it had a fenced in garden for the dog and lovely French doors so it was easy to keep an eye on her. Everything was clean and comfortable. The area has lots of pretty places to explore and Jim was very welcoming, many thanks to him and his team.

Rosie from Isle Of Skye stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in January 2018


Great week long stay with toddler and dog.

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage for a week long stay with a toddler and a dog. Beautiful garden which would be fantastic during the summer. Had everything we needed and having the barn bar next door was a bonus.
A couple of minor issues such as light bulbs not working and the heating wasn't working when we arrived. We popped into the barn bar and they called someone out to resolve the heating. Would be helpful to have some welcome notes / information laid out on arrival.
Would recommend to others and as we visit Oban a lot we'll likely stay again.


Alison from Whitehaven stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in December 2017


100

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came up to Oban for a ruby wedding celebration. The standard. Of the accommodation was amazing and we could not have enjoyed it more.
A big thank you to all

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Yes it is amazing



David from Bradford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in December 2017


Our 5th stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
For the last 5 years we have booked the cottage, my partner myself and our wee dug we have enjoyed the peace and quiet and dark skies and the fact that the mobile phones dont work so no one to bother you.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good food and a nice log fire and the staff are also very good



James from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in November 2017


Great stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place to stay! It’s cute, cosy and very well equipped. It was a perfect few nights for a young couple and baby!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great food and drink at reasonable prices.



Shona from stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in October 2017


Short Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, short drive into Oban. The cottage was ready and cozy and warm when we arrived. The descriptions were very accurate. We had a couple of questions and the owner promptly arrived and answered our questions and made sure everything was to our satisfaction. The restaurant and bar is small but staff very friendly.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The staff at the bar were very friendly, checked us in and advised us of where everything was. Later the first evening we had rinks in the bar and again were made to feel at home.



Catherine from Ashton stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in October 2017


Best place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming here for many years , we would not go anywhere else , it is such a lovely place to be , will be back

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great food , great staff.



Raymond from Northleach stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in September 2017


Cruachan Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm reception from staff; peaceful location; accommodation good; easy parking; wet weather made walks in forest too messy; good for dogs with totally enclosed lawn; made one attempt to access Wi-Fi, without success.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Booked table during a busy evening; meal was disappointing; bar service good.



Robert from Stranraer stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


65

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Extras not included were more towels to be charged and had to pay for the electricity used no wifi for the whole week !!!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
No



Gail from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


So many lost opportunities!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is the first time we have visited this part of Scotland and regret it deeply that we have missed out on exploring this incredibly beautiful place. The cottage was superb every morning and every night looking at dramatic views and skies. The situation of the cottages meant that there was easy access to Oban and the ferries to the islands. Whether we turned right or left there were amazing beaches to discover and hidden lochs. Next year we will return and make up for lost time.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We ate on our first evening and thought there was a wide choice on the menu and the food and service good.



Moira from St Helens stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I are mid - late twenties and we stayed here for 3 nights. I thought it was a wonderful place. We stayed in cruachan cottage which was big; nice kitchen and living room as well as a private garden. Very clean and pleasant overall. Short drive to oban. There's a nice bar on the site which does excellent pub grub as well. Would love to come back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good quality



Nick from Gorebridge stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in July 2017


Long weekend to unwind and relax

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Could do with better signs to help locate. Excellent cottage great big bedroom large enclosed garden for dogs and The Barn restaurant and bar right around the corner and we were able to take the dogs in while having a meal and drinks. A welcome pack with a map of the site and facilities would have been helpful. A small shop or store with some basic supplies would be nice. We forgot to take butter and the following day we had to drive 2 miles into Oban to get some. We will definitely be back and will recommend to family and friends. Loved our time there.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and service

David from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in July 2017


cruachan cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great size for 2 people. Comfortable stay with great views. Staff lovely and very friendly. Great bar and food on site at the barn.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
great staff, lovely atmosphere, food and drink great



Guest from Calderbank stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in June 2017


Another great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super holiday will return next year. Great location with plenty to do and see nearby. Marvellous place for our dogs with Cologin woods to walk in. So handy to be able to go to the Barn for a meal or drink.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent



Annette from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in May 2017


First time stay near Oban

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thought it was high time we explored the Oban area. The link on Cologin's website to the virtual tour of the cottage didn't work for us but in spite of this we booked this cottage principally because we have a dog and from the property details it sounded like this cottage would be perfect for us. As it turned out it was all we could have wished for. It was comfortable, clean, warm, reasonably private, has a good shower etc etc.

Houdini [our dog Lizzie] managed to escape from the enclosed garden having sussed out there was a gap in the fence between Cruachan Cottage and the Farmhouse next door. [But you can only see the gap from Cruachan Cottage side of the fence if you look in the bush under the kitchen window.]

An added bonus is the Barn on site which serves good food and drink. The Jarl on draught is fantastic. And the staff and locals are very welcoming / friendly.

Would I go back? I certainly would.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
I couldn't fault anything. Nice people. Good food. Good Beer. Dog friendly. Convivial atmosphere. What more do you want?

Brian from Kinross stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


Great Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the Easter weekend in the cottage on site and had a lovely time. The enclosed garden was a great addition as our little dog loved running around. We dined in The Barn quite a few times and the food was very good. The staff were very attentive and helpful. The only issue was the seating in the living area was quite small and my only suggestion would be they add a comfy chair as the chair there was not overly comfortable for sitting in for any length of time, However, this certainly did not spoil our holiday and prevent us from returning.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good and staff excellent.

Lorraine from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


A great wee place!

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this as a last minute trip away and everything was extremely easy and straightforward. The cottage has everything you need and the bed is very comfy. The fire was a nice touch as well.

Thanks for a really enjoyable stay.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The staff at the Barn were really friendly and remembered us from the night before. Excellent food too!



Janey from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Best place to relax

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just love it at the Cologin site, on this visit the stay in the Cruachan was excellent, it is just the right size, it is kitted out with all that you need. With us having the dogs, the private Garden area was fab, they could go out and just wonder around.
The staff on site are Fab, very friendly and always happy to help, that includes the Barn Bar pub that is on site, the atmosphere and food is brilliant.
We will definitely be going back for another visit soon!!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
We love the Barn Bar, food and the atmosphere are top notch.



Roy from Renfrew stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in February 2017


Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous holiday so much we stayed on another night and have rebooked it for later this year .

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Customer service was excellent and friendly atmosphere



Donna from Aberdeen stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 5 nights in December 2016


september weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall good quality and dog friendly. I do not understand why I cannot submit this review without using a certain amount of letters/words.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good food and service.



Frank from Milton Of Campsie stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in September 2016


3 days at cruachan cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
another excellent break at cologin our fourth visit will not be our last a beautiful peaceful location weather awful but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent food and service



David from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in August 2016


Pleasant Surprises

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners delightful. Staff the same. Surroundings stunning. Great central location for boat trips, Highlands and so on. The Barn Bar lives up to its reputation and, if you are as lucky as we were, you'll enjoy the local Scottish music jam sessions!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good!



Linda from Rickmansworth stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Peacful

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is out 4th year staying at the cottage, and again it was as expected very quiet and restful, great location for traveling to other parts of Argyle and Bute, our only very small grip is we would like to see the kitchen utensils and pot and pans updated.

Although a rural location I would have liked the Wi-Fi to be better even if I am on holiday I still need internet access to run web sites and social media.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Droped in for a beer and noticed a good few improvments which is a good thing



James from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


My review of Cologin Chalets

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The area was beautiful and scenic. The accommodation was good and the owners were extremely helpful. The food at the Barn was excellent. I certainly would go back. The wi~fi was poor, but this was due to the area being so remote this was good because we sat and spoke to each other more than at home

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
A great meal at a reasonable price



Julie from Carnforth stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in June 2016


nothing but Praise

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You would be very hard pressed to find fault with the whole scenario, from accommodation to location this place is first class for a home to home holiday. A bonus being the on site Barn Restaurant which offers a wide selection of v good meals from late morning til late evening

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very good



Guest from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


May Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, super cottage with lovely garden for the dogs, great amenities, very friendly. As always we look forward to returning every year.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great food and drink, very convenient and very friendly



Annette from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in May 2016


My stay at Cologin.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Cologin for about the sixth time in the last five years and find it an excellent location for anyone wishing to discover and tour the Oban area.










Stayed at Cologin for about the sixth time in the last five years and find it an excellent location for anyone wishing to tour and discover the Oban area. Cruachan cottage is a great place to stay for a couple ...in my case with their dog. Great forest walks are available and the occasional sighting of wild deer and other wildlife adds to the good feeling factor of Cologin.







If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent menu and a well stocked bar. Staff are friendly and mix well with lowlanders like me from Glasgow.

Charles from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Maureen Gellatly, Cruachan Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great 4 day break, Cruachan ( Cologin) Slightly but not too remote from the everyday bustle. Cottage slightly ageing but very clean and comfortable with good facilities.
Bar and restaurant very good value, good food and a well stocked bar and great staff.
My old Labrador and I made use of the hill at the back of the cabins, her just for exercise, myself to walk off the excess calories.

A very pleasant break indeed.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent



Maureen from Perth stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in April 2016


A brilliant family break at a gem of a find.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We don't normally holiday in Scotland but our stay at Cologin has changed that. Staff at Cologin extremely customer focused and nothing too much trouble. Our stay was thoroughly enjoyable and the food in the barn was first class. If we had to find one thing to change it would be table and chairs in the garden as a bit old and rusty. When we booked the owners called us and offered the 2 bedroom cottage as they thought this would suit us better as this was a one bedroom and there were 3 of us plus a dog. We wanted the enclosed garden as our dog is still very Young so they gave us a z bed with blankets etc which was brilliant and really fulfilled what we needed. The call came within 30 mins of us booking. A definite find and somewhere we look forward to returning in the future.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Fantastic food and nice cold beers following a long day of walking.

Caroline from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in April 2016


Short Break

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booked this at short notice and they were very accommodating. Had everything ready for me as I was late arriving and cottage was warm and comfortable - have been hear many times and love the quiet but also the Barn if and when I want to.
great location. Dog loves it too:)

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Great service and food.



Linda from Falkirk stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 5 nights in March 2016


A cosy cottage near Oban

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our short stay in the cottage. It was warm ,well appointed and with a fenced garden ideal for dog owners.
Probably better value than the wooden cottages around it. A modest charge for electricity used.
Oban is only a short drive away .


Dave from Melrose stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in March 2016


Relaxing short break

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I really enjoyed our long weekend at Cologin. The facilities, location and accommodation were superb and having the Barn Country Pub was the icing on the cake. Warm welcome, good food and cosy and comfortable cottage. All good. We will be back.

Linda from Gourock stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in March 2016


Lovely - even in the winter.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Feb 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We recently returned here for a long weekend. The weather was really bad, with sleet, snow, hailstone and strong winds. We had a journey of over 300 miles and almost didn't go - so glad that we did!

The drive up to the site was fine - even with a weather warning in place. The roads from Glasgow to Oban are very well maintained. If I can manage the drive in the snow then anyone can.

The one bedroom cottage that we stayed in was truly lovely. It was very spacious, whilst feeling cozy at the same time. There is a woodburner with logs provided but the central heating is more than adequate.
The views out of the patio doors are outstanding. There is a small, private garden but we didn't venture out due to the poor weather.

One of my favourite things about Cologin is the water. It is straight out of the loch and it even smells nice. No poisonous fluoride here.

Was made to feel very welcome by the owners who are both very nice people.

We will return very soon.



Emma from St Helens stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in January 2016


New year stay

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All great accommodation,pub ,food and all the staff including kitchen staff whom I am sure are enjoying the sun in Australia , and thanks again to Jim and Ian hospitality excellent
Thanks from Peter and Barbara will be back
Happy new year to all


Peter from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in December 2015


Fantastic accommodation, awful customer service

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Dec 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We stayed in a 1 bedroom cottage which was really well-equipped, spacious & comfortable! The location is pretty remote, but still within a short drive from Oban. The glen has stunning views & a great woodland walk. Although we had no phone signal, there is a wifi connection allowing you to do the basics.
Unfortunately the customer service is severely lacking! Upon arrival, the staff were uncertain about which cottage we were meant to stay in. The welcome pack left in the cottage mentioned that a brunch could be arranged between 10:30 - 12:00 in the on-site restaurant/bar with a day's notice. The staff in the restaurant were quite abrupt & refused our request for this. We also asked if we could check out later (approx 11:00 instead of 10:00) - this was refused just as abruptly almost as if we were making a ridiculous request.
Upon leaving at 10:00 Sunday morning, there was no staff to be found anywhere! Eventually, at around 10:20 someone showed up. Seeing as how we had to pay for electricity used during our stay, we couldn't just leave the keys & go. Despite being told that we had to check out at 10:00 sharp, there wasn't a single person on duty to facilitate the check out!
I would certainly stay in the cottage again as it really suited us well; however, I now know not to expect any customer service!


Mariza from Glasgow stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in November 2015


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
I am so sorry the Barn Bar staff did not provide their usual friendly and caring service. I have obviously investigated this matter further and the manager has reported that unfortunately your check in was handled by a temp who had been brought in to cover staff absence. She should have asked for help from another member of staff rather than show you to the wrong property and as she is no longer working at the Barn we won't know why she didn't. This is of course not an excuse and I can only apologize for letting you down in this way. It was certainly not the first experience of Cologin that we would wish you to have. I am pleased that this unfortunate experience has not put you off coming to Cologin again - I do hope this time you will be met on arrival by one of our own team - and for next season we will make sure that Barn Bar staff have the correct training to be able to check our customers in without mishap. Please be assured we do value customer service and we appreciate your feedback.

Lovely spot and ideal if you have dogs

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was lovely, and it was fabulous that there was an enclosed garden, making it ideal if you have dogs with you.

While comfortable, the shower was in a poor state and needs some tlc. The bed is exceptionally comfortable! And it is lovely to have the wood burner in the lounge.

The weather did its best to thwart our comfort while we were in the cottage, but we managed to stay toasty and warm during our visit.


Guest from stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in November 2015


Cruachan Cottage holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good stay after an absence of some years. Accommodation very good standard. Beautiful situation. Barn Bar a superb facility - excellent food and service.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Outstanding. Great food and value.



Allan from Skelmorlie stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Another Holiday at this Great Location

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just stayed for 2 weeks at this property. Enjoyed our stay and even the weather was good. The property was clean and has a new front door this year which has improved the temperature in the whole property. Only downside is the lack of some kitchen equipment such as jugs, knives etc which did not effect us but may put off other guests.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very Good food & friendly staff



John from Crewe stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in September 2015


Crunch an Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable accommodation, excellent views and great facilities. Second visit here and well worth returning to. Highly recommended, especially barn bar.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and atmoshere



Guest from Newark stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Our 4th Time

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very well presented and clean as this was our 4th stay in the last 5 years we are very use to the problems with mobile phones and internet however that is one of the reason we stay there, this year we had internet which in my view should be improved as the connection was slow and dropping off.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good selection of ales and the food is good also, made very welcome.



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


peace and quiet, and lovely accommodation and staff.........

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with the site overall, which has a fairly remote location despite its proximity to Oban. Therefore it was very quiet at nights, which is lovely for city dwellers like us. The Barn bar and restaurant on site was very handy, snd served good meals and a great range of malt whiskies. The atmosphere there was relaxed and friendly, and a source of helpful advice, too. We took our dog, as did many others, and she was made to feel very welcome. One of the barmen kindly kept an eye on her when we were out for the day.
The cottage was well equipped and the problem we had with the heating was quickly resolved. The wood burning stove in the lounge was very handy on cool evenings.The bed was very comfy and overall the place was spacious for two adults and one large dog.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Always welcoming, good food and drink (especially the haggis) and a great range of malt whiskies.

Guest from Stoke On Trent stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Tired.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I feel that some aspects of the cottage is a little tired and needs updating and perhaps a new more comfortable sofa would be a good idea.
Also the heating was difficult to get switched on,and the idea of paying £300 for 4nights and then having to pay for separate electricity and central heating on top is a little old fashioned.
That aside we did enjoy our stay.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The meal we had we cannot fault and was good value.



Guest from Leeds. stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Linda Battison replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your rating of 4/5 for cleanliness and service. We are aware that the cottage is looking a little dated and we have new white wooded internal doors just waiting to be hung which will improve things without spoiling its charm. However, it is a popular property and we probably won't be able to get in to do this until the Autumn. We monitor electricity use in all properties at Cologin and our overseas agencies request that electricity is charged separately for environmental reasons. We do make this clear on our website and in the summer it really should not be more than a few pounds a day. I am glad you enjoyed your meal in the Barn. We hope to welcome you back to Cologin in the future - we offer return customers a 10% discount on our rental rates.

Stunning location - home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy and tranquil cottage with stunning views of beautiful countryside but only 5mins drive from the bustle of Oban town centre. A perfect location with a friendly and welcoming on site bar if you don't want to venture too far from your door. We would recommend it to anyone and hope to be back sometime.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Nice food. Good choice.



Ruth from Barrhead stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in May 2015


Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always - a great holiday - very welcoming - beautiful place and great for the dogs, lovely woodland walk. Super location close to Oban but in the country.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent



Guest from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in May 2015


A very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cruachan is a comfortable, spacious cottage with its own character. It was presented in a clean and tidy condition but it must be acknowledged the cottage is not a pristine new-build. It is obviously well used and there are aspects which could be afforded some refurbishment. (Contrary to previous reviews we found the king sized bed to be confortable and privided an excellent night's rest.) There is sufficient space for two adults, two dogs and plenty of holiday / walking gear. The enclosed garden was very well appreciated by our dogs as a space where they could stretch their legs whilst my partner and I enjoyed an end of day aperitif in the sunshine. We will certainly be considering a return at some time in the future.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The Barn Bar was an excellent place for a meal. Whilst the menu was a bit limited it was more than adequate for a couple of meals during our week stay. The food served was excellent and very tasty. Sitting outside in the sunshine enjoying a drink after a long day walking was a great bonus. Also a bonus was the ability to take our dogs with us when we had a meal.

Guest from stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 6 nights in April 2015


Fantastic stay - a proper holiday, very relaxing!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent time staying in this cottage. The cottage was comfortable for our requirements and the whole site had a very relaxing atmosphere. The food at the Barn Bar was delicious and we can highly recommmend it.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Excellent food and staff - highly recommend it!



Guest from Kirkby Stephen stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Feedback

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a fairly comfortable cottage, but not terribly well equipped (2 plates, 3 forks etc...seems to be various odds and ends)
Could also do with a couple of oven dishes for cooking/serving.

By the time you pay for the cottage, wi fi, the electricity, logs and kindling....it is pretty expensive for what's on offer. Maybe a few wee touches like a welcome tray with teas/coffees would be nice on arrival.

Having said that, the staff at the barn were very friendly and the food excellent. The secure garden for the dogs was also very convenient.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
as above

Guest from Dalmally stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in March 2015


Awesome Place

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner had a lovely time at Cruachan Cottage,we loved the wood burning stove it made the whole cottage very cosy and relaxing. The views from the cottage were beautiful too. Lovely place overall would recommend to my friends & family to go. X

Guest from Forfar stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in March 2015


stay at the barn

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Mar 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
had a great time, would go back again very relaxing and enjoyed going to the barn bar had food which was delicious and some hand pulled beers
did have some problems with internet connection


Guest from St Helens stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Time for Relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and enjoyable stay at a quiet time of year, but enjoyed my time and the fact that the dog is made welcome too. The Cottage had everything I needed for my stay, warm and welcoming.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
made to feel comfortable as a single person with dog and food was great - service good.



Guest from Falkirk stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in February 2015


great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Log burner was superb! Kept us warm to the point of having to open doors. fantastic location for Oban and surounding area. Barn provided excellent food and drinks. cooking in the accommodation was easy. plenty of room for two.
Booking was easy.
Will be going back.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
excellent



Leyton from Bristol stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 9 nights in October 2014


Really enjoyed the location, will be back;-)

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely little Cottage, great location just a 10 minute run from Oban. Very clean and comfortable, the wood burning stove was well used during our stay. The added bonus of the Barn for a good hearty meal and a relaxing evening with good range of real ales on offer, all made for a delightful long weekend away.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good hearty food, reasonably priced, well kept real ales on offer and all supported by friendly bar staff. It was an added treat to be entertained by the locals with very good folk music.



Guest from Leeds stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in October 2014


Short stay at Cruachan Cottage, Cologin Country Chalets and Lodges

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Cruachan Cottage, our dog also enjoyed his stay with plenty of great walks in the surrounding countryside. We also enjoyed some lovely days out in Oban, Fort William, Inverary and other local attractions too.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The Barn has a great atmosphere and good food as well.



Guest from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 5 nights in September 2014


Very relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed in the cottage which was a little tired looking but had everything we needed and the bed was very comfortable. It was in a beautiful spot with views across the hills. We chose to stay here due to the wood burning stove. When we arrived, there were no logs or matches as promised but we found some logs and borrowed a lighter from the bar. Once the fire was going it was really cosy and the stove kept us very warm. Staff in the bar were very friendly and helpful when we asked for anything. We couldn't get a wifi signal but it didn't matter as we were there to switch off. There was a nice walk to the loch and you can take the rowing boat out. This place is very laid back and in a lovely spot just a short drive from Oban.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Very friendly, good food

Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in September 2014


Another brilliant Scotish holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed two weeks and the location was brilliant with hot sunny weather in September. With two dogs plenty of room in property and they enjoyed the Barn as much as ourselves. Hope to return next year.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
Good food and a good pint of real ale



Guest from Crewe stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in September 2014


Fantastic !!!!

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family had an amazing stay at the cottage. I would become the accommodation at anyone & the food, service & excellent atmosphere at The Barn was a terrific bonus. What a great holiday :-)

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?
The Barn is fantastic



Lee-ann from Alexandria stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 5 nights in August 2014


Basic

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fairly basic accommodation, some kitchen utensils and the curtains had seen better days. Fishing - well it's a 20min walk up a steep muddy path. But quiet location with lovely views

Guest from Middleton stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


A few little points from Potty.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Aug 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was really ok, but kitchen utensils were really basic, the only thing supplied for cleaning, was one
Jcloth, not even a pan brush, one cooler day I was going to light the log burner only to find it hadn't been cleaned out from previous occupancy,
so I had to do it, so in log box, 2 logs and an old newspaper..approach to cottage and stairs up to door was covered in weeds, so overall not too bad just a few little niggles..so a bit more thought and a general tidy up would help to make this cottage a bit more appealing. ...I did approach the owner about my complaints, so next day log fire was cleaned and laid ready to light, , but as some form of compensation I was let off with paying any charge for the electricity , which I would have grudged after paying a total of £505...

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Jeanette from Jedburgh stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


9th May to 24th May

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant holiday with no problems - a great place to stay. We have 2 dogs and the secure garden was ideal especially with the patio doors opening on to it. The forestry commission walk just up through the field is so handy. The Barn provided good food and it is lovely to speak to the local people who come into The Barn, we have made some good friends over the years we have been coming.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Belford stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 14 nights in May 2014


Lovely Cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at Cologin. The location is lovely and conveniently located only few minutes away from Oban. The cottage is well equipped, clean and comfy. We particularly enjoyed the fully fenced garden for our dogs and the fire place. We will definitely return soon!

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Chloe from Fettercairn stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in April 2014


Cruachan Cottage Review

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our family stay at Cruachan was very pleasany this past weekend. Would recommend it again for anyone who would want to stay in the Oban area. My only recommendation would be to include the power charges in the rate or clearly fill out the meter cards. We thought that we were having to pay 7x the actual rate due to misunderstanding. Thanks to Jim this was cleared up quickly.

Thanks,
The Roche's

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Aberdeen stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in April 2014


Execllent weekend - Peaceful, comfortable and cosy

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent weekend of R&R. The cottage was well equipped, clean and tidy, With lots of wildlife just on the doorstep, Private and cosy - and the log burner was just great. Having a bar and restaurant on the doorstep meant we could chose when to eat out and when to stay in without worrying about taking the car and parking. A short drive into Oban for some retail therapy. Everyone very friendly.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Bridge of Weir stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 2 nights in March 2014


Away from it all at Cologin.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Mar 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our third stay at Cruachan Cottage which suits our purposes perfectly with its fenced garden for our dog and beautiful views of the surrounding hills.
We ate two excellent meals at the Barn but the well equipped kitchen means eating in is also an option.
The addition of new patio doors and a sofa to the property added to the comfort.
We arrived at Cologin earlier than anticipated but were able to move into the cottage straight away even although it was 2 hours ahead of the entry time.
Some small cosmetic improvements could be made to the outside of the property to improve first appearances. The front door of the cottage is in need of attention and some tidying up could be done to the garden in particular the paved area.
We will definitely be back for a fourth visit.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Falkirk stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 4 nights in February 2014


Just Right for our weekend!

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Feb 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The overall feel of the cottage was homely and comfortable, however the d

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?



Guest from Golborne stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in February 2014


Lovely scenery

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was fabulously clean but in need of a bit of TLC with wardrobe doors hanging off the runners and curtains falling off rails/ hooks. It was disappointing to be charged for electricity and walk in to find the tv left on and heating on 'all day' setting however we didn't challenge it or alter the readings that had already been taken as we were shattered on arrival, so it's just one for future guests to be aware of! Log burner was a saviour for reducing heating costs (chargeable on top of electricity use) but we were only left with 3 matches - to get more they charged for a box of matches at the barn - take a lighter! (Just seemed a bit tight to us!!)
It is a lovely area and Oban town centre is quaint, nice restaurants down on the edge of the bay - the people all very welcoming!
If going for dinner in The Barn ensure you reserve a table as this seems to be the norm but no-one lets you know!
Food in the barn is not great - it's ok, just not great!
The barn bar/ restaurant is small and if you're going in peak season bare this in mind, service won't be quick and the bar area itself is small (felt congested when only one deep and many people just stay at the bar as there's nowhere to go for 'just drinkers') with only apx 7 tables in there for diners - there is an annex/ glorified 'lean-to' but I'm not sure id wanna be out there to eat (personal opinion only).
As a base to explore the hills it's ideal.
10 minute free wi-fi was sufficient for us but there was no phone reception.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Grantham stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in February 2014


Peaceful and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Feb 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had booked a Hebridean Lodge and were luckily relocated to Cruachan Cottage, the facilities were more than adequate for our stay. The views of the glen from the windows and garden were spectacular and i,m sure they will be even better in good weather. Jim, Linda and all the staff in the barn were welcoming and friendly, added to the fresh cooked excellent food we enjoyed in the barn ( the venison burgers are the best we have tasted ) made for a very enjoyable stay and my partner myself and our two german shepherds Pella and Lenny look forward to visiting again. I would definately recommend Cologin for a holiday or short break as i returned home feeling more relaxed than i have in a long time.

If during your stay at Cologin you visited the Barn Bar for a meal or a drink please give us your feedback?

Guest from Polmont stayed at Cruachan Cottage for 3 nights in February 2014