FB Twitter

BALMORE COTTAGE

BALMORE COTTAGE

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 75 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Balmore is a spacious cottage with sitting room looking out to fields and hills from the big picture window. Formerly two cottages but tastefully renovated to form one big cottage with two bathrooms and two bedrooms, it lies by a quiet road and is surrounded by stunning countryside. "We fell in love instantly, with the cottage, the countryside and the surrounding area alike. So much to see and so much to do - we plan to be back sooner rather than later..." A and D.

Christmas at Balmore

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on the 23rd of December to a beautifully clean, warm cottage, having stayed before we were not really surprised!
We had a lovely quiet stay, had a lot of snowfall too which made it very festive.
Beatrice phoned us on the Friday night to make sure we had got in OK and didn't have any problems, nothing is ever too much trouble.
Looking forward to a return stay in tbe near future.


Neil from East Kilbride stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 10 nights in December 2022


A highland treat

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I with my son Chris Scotland have visited the area and stayed on the Dunalastair Estate on a number of occasions. This visit was also with Chris’s wife Charlotte and 4 of my grandsons. It has been a very special experience made all the better for staying at Dunalastair. Thank you to the management team for making the trip memorable.

Ian from Chorley stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2022


Quiet cottage in the highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week at the cottage. The beautiful out of the way location was exactly what we wanted. Dunalastair cottages are always clean and well maintained with everything we need for a relaxing week in a beautiful spot.

Richard from Sandbach stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2022


Our stay at Balmore

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a relaxing two weeks in this comfortable and well equipped cottage. The cottage was warm and welcoming when we arrived and we appreciated the tea, biscuits and milk that were left for us to enjoy. Although close to a secondary road, there was little traffic noise and the enclosed garden was safe for our two dogs. We all enjoyed the wildlife close by including the hungry birds, the nosy pheasant in the garden and sheep in the adjacent field. As the weather was fair we were able to eat outside whilst enjoying the views of Schehallion.

The cottage is well furnished and decorated and has all that you need for a stay. Storage heaters keep it at a comfortable temperature and the log burner makes it very cosy in the evenings.

The local shop in Rannoch village provided for all our needs and we were able to get a delivery from Tescos on arrival.

Of note were our walks in Rannoch Station and the black woods of Rannoch. There are no walks from the cottage unless you are prepared to go on to the road.

A warm thank you to Beatrice who was most helpful and welcoming. We can't wait to return.


Guest from Shrewsbury stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in September 2022


Balmore

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the stay at Balmore apart from a couple of issues,both showers were fed from the bath taps and were very poor,the worst i have come across in any holiday accomodation,the water pressure is barely a trickle through them,and they are set really low for anyone who is tall,the settee and armchair in living room are really comfortable,but the arm chair for the fourth person is really small and narrow,and horribly uncomfortable,both easy fixes and would of made the stay all together perfect,i don’t think i would stay at Balmore again due to the proximity of the road which runs straight by the cottage,which i knew about,but didn’t think it would be as well used,apart from the couple of niggles i would happily try another cottage on the estate in a quieter location and with much improved showers.

Desmond from Berwick-upon-tweed stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2022


Beatrice replied 120 days ago
Good to hear on the whole that you enjoyed your stay in Balmore Cottage. I am sorry to hear of your problems with the showers we will certainly look into it. The small chair is fairly new and no one else has mentioned it, however on the next changeover I will try it out. Pleased to hear that these minor issues haven't put you off and look forward to seeing you return.

The best

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been there for a week and I found even more than what I expected. Thanks. Great! If you are looking for beauty and peace, I recommend it.

Gemma from Barcelona stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in August 2022


Beatrice replied 120 days ago
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

7 nights in Balmore 2 adults 2 special kids

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We've been three or four times now so I guess that says a lot about our thoughts about Balmore Cottage:-) It is definitely value for money and the overall environment is just awesome. There isn't anything bad to say about it.

Peter from Stoke-on-trent stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2022


Beatrice replied 120 days ago
Lovely to hear you have had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair, look forward to seeing you again.

Balmore cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Balmore. It is a delightful cottage in a superb location. We enjoy the peace, the views and the wildlife. Our dog has a wonderful time and is safe in the garden. Plenty to do in the surrounding areas. This time we brought our kayaks for Rannoch loch. No complaints and the Dunalastair staff are so helpful.
A little gem in Perthshire.


Flora from East Molesey stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2022


Beatrice replied 120 days ago
Great to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair. Maybe we shall see you again.

Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely peaceful week at this well equipped cottage. Loads of great walks in the area but could equally just relax in the garden or looking out of the large picture window at the numerous bird species that frequent the garden (especially if you keep the feed topped up!). Red deer spotted from the cottage every night as well. Use of the tennis court a short walk away was a welcome bonus too. Thanks to the Estate team for a great week.

Gordon from Northallerton stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2022


Beatrice replied 178 days ago
Lovely to hear that you spent an enjoyable stay with us in Balmore Cottage. Good to hear that the wildlife did not disappoint.

Chris’s review

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Rannoch with our dogs, for over 20 years. When planning a visit this is the first cottages availability we check.

This cottage is Comfortable and clean with excellent facilities. Tranquil and surrounded by wildlife, yet not to far from the village.


Christopher from Worcester stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in July 2022


Beatrice replied 178 days ago
Great to hear that when you are looking for a cottage in the area Dunalastair is your first port of call. Lovely to hear you had a good stay and another enjoyable trip to the area.

A most relaxing and enjoyable 2 weeks, half a world away from our home in western Canada

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our over-riding positive feelings about our stay were rooted in the peace and tranquility of the place, reinforced by the abundant wildlife that visited us constantly, and the beautiful, rich old deciduous trees and wildflowers all around.

Apart from a bathroom fan that failed early on, and a couple of kitchen utensils and frying pans that need replacements, the only ‘operational’ downside was the lack of water pressure at either shower. This is a significant negative, especially for folks from North America used to line-pressure daily showers, and for us was the only real disappointment.

On the ‘suggestions’ front we have only one. Given the location of Balmore, it would be really nice if there were an evident path, (+ sign), across the fields our back, in the direction of The Old Post Office, so as to bring ‘walkers’ like us, safely and easily out just across the road from pedestrian access to the Dunalastair water-side grounds. Walking the roads isn’t the greatest!


Sydney from Calgary stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in June 2022


Beatrice replied 213 days ago
Good to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay in Balmore and great that the wildlife did not disappoint. It's a shame you didn't let us know about the bathroom fan while you were here, just picked up the note you left on departure and on investigation the unit had to be replaced and this was done by the Saturday. The kitchen items were replaced following your notes on the questionnaire. With the cottage being on a private water supply I am afraid not a lot can done about the water pressure, it is never going to be as strong as mains supplies.

Back to Balmore our country escape

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Again we were at Balmore, second time this year. Catching up for lots time over last 2 years. As always the cottage was ready and the welcome tray is ideal for a cuppa when you arrive. The weather was not brilliant this time, but we still managed a couple of BBQs and sat enjoying the log burning stove .
Made sure the bird feeders were filled and its great watching the various birds that appear.
Yes the cottages on Dunalastair Estate are our escape to for relaxation.
Thanks to all the staff who help make these cottages first class. Cheers Mike & Stu


Michael from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2022


Beatrice replied 213 days ago
As usual lovely to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us and look forward to seeing you soon.

A beautiful cosy cottage in a tranquil location.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite being located on a road this cottage was perfect for peace and tranquillity. We have stayed in this area many times but this was our first time in a cottage. Our week was spent walking, cycling and fishing and the location of the cottage was excellent for these activities and also the booking provided us with a free fishing permit. The weather was not terribly kind to us but our accommodation was warm and had the added benefit of a log fire which we put on most nights. Plenty of hot water for long soaks in the bath and all the usual mod cons. We ate out most nights but found our usual local hotels were only catering for residents due to the acute shortage of staff so we ended up driving into Pitlochry for food so unless you are eating in most nights it would be wise to take this into consideration. The bird feeder in the garden provided us with plenty of entertainment as did the cows and visiting deer. We would definitely use this cottage again.

Janis from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2022


Beatrice replied 246 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Balmore Cottage and happy to hear that you enjoyed it. It is a shame that the local hotels are currently having staffing issues but hopefully this will be resolved soon.

Home from |Home and back to Dunalastair Cottages - Restful and relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed another fantastic week at Balmore Cottage. We have stayed there more times than we can remember. Its such a great place to relax, chill and unwind. Nice to see the local coos and sheep and lambs wandering nearby. Yes its country life. The views from the garden are lovely with Dunalastair Water glistening in the sun and Schiehallion in the distance looking majestic .
We were lucky and had a warm spell of weather and sun, yes it does come out In Scotland. In fact spent a lot of time sat in the garden. Also great fun watching the various birds at the bird feeders. Also the cock pheasant parading around with his harem of hens in tow.
After the last 2 years of lockdowns it really is good to feel that life is slowly resuming and what a great place to do this. Back soon. Yes its very much out home from home in the countryside.
Cheers all, Mike & Stu, Edinburgh


Michael from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 9 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied 262 days ago
Lovely to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair and you were lucky to have the good weather. Sounds like the birds and the farm animals kept you entertained over the week. See you on your next visit.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore is a beautiful cottage in a lovely area. Very comfortable and so well equiped. A safe enclosed garden for the dogs and lots of birds to watch on the feeder. I would certainly recommend a stay there.

Edith from Waternish stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied 262 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. And nice to hear that the birds put on a show for you.

And breathe…

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An opportunity to relax and take in the beauty of nature. Dunalistair Estate provides the opportunity to achieve that.
Each cottage ideally located.
Thank you.


Thomas from Clydebank stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in March 2022


Beatrice replied 262 days ago
Lovely to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair . Looking forward to your next visit.

Lovely stay- thanks

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed my stay. My only suggestion would be that some guests might like to arrive before 5pm in winter so that they don’t have to drive in the dark. For me this was fine though as my train was arriving in the evening anyway. Thanks and hope to be back before long

Guest from London stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in December 2021


Beatrice replied 337 days ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Over the winter period if the cottage is ready earlier we had been letting guests know by text on the day. We hadn't for you as you had already advised us of your later arrival time. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Great place to relax

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Dec 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth visit to Dunalastair, 2nd visit at Balmore. Great location and excellent cottage. Had all we needed for 5 nights. Dogs loved the garden and rolling in the snow. Long walks from the cottage or from a short drive away. Looking forward to going back in the spring of 2022.

Tracy from Kinglassie stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in November 2021


Beatrice replied 337 days ago
Very happy to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair, and even managing to get some snow. Look forward to welcoming you back in 2022.

Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Balmore is a fantastic cottage to stay in , it has everything in it and is very clean and spacious. The panoramic window is a bonus we saw so much wildlife roaming around. The only one thing I would complain about is the showers there is hardly any water coming out but I suppose when you are staying out in the country you can expect that. This was our fourth time staying in this cottage and there will definitely be a fifth time in the future

Louise from Burntisland stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2021


Beatrice replied 337 days ago
Pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay here on Dunalastair. The cottages are mostly on on private water supplies and sadly I'm afraid the flow as such is not the same as being on mains. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cottage in Autumn

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderfully situated cottage, well provisioned and beautifully quiet. We had the extra joy of being here in early Autumn, with all the colours starting to change. The weather was kind but when we needed any heat, the cottage was lovely and warm. It was wonderful watching the birds on the feeders outside the window and listening to the calling stags. Much to see and do in the surrounding area, including a fascinating walk around the old Dunalastair Castle and the estate. We highly recommend staying here if you want to get away from it all.

Nick from Tamworth stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2021


Beatrice replied 337 days ago
So pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair. Happy too that the Autumn colours did not fail to disappoint, with lots of trees in the area it does make for a colourful stay. Perhaps we will see you return in the future.

Sweet cottage in The Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really well laid out cottage with two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Fantastic windows looking out both ways in the sitting room. Welcome milk, tea, coffee etc and even two dog biscuits was really nice. Also great that you provide dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. Thrilled now that the logs are included in the cost as it was a bore before going to buy them. We love the area and it is so peaceful. Very helpful with information and providing cot and highchair.
Thank you Beatrice for always being so helpful


Caroline from Netheravon stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2021


Beatrice replied 337 days ago
So pleased to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair. Look forward to welcoming you back.

An oasis of calm

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fifth visit to the estate trying various cottages out, never disappointed with the hospitality each time we arrive. The views and watching the wildlife helps us to unwind from our busy lives. Dunalistair Estate is a reminder of how beautiful Scotland is and no holiday abroad can replace that.
Looking forward to our next visit.


Thomas from Clydebank stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to have had you return to Dunalastair and nice to hear you have enjoyed yet another stay. You are working your way around the estate. Look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Great value comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore is a lovely cottage ideally suited for those wanting to get away from it all. There is also a lot to do in the area so this makes for a great holiday. This was our second visit and I wouldn’t hesitate booking again. Beatrice’s warm hospitality makes our stays so simple and straightforward which is just what we are looking for when on holiday.

Emma from Hunton stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 15 nights in August 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. And good to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us.

Excellent cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There can be no faulting the efforts of the Dunalastair Estate team who were responsible for all the measures taken to keep us all safe from the covid 19 virus.
Even in normal times everything is always kept clean and updated.
The cottage is situated in splendid surroundings and easy to reach not only local amenities and attractions but also to visit many places further afield.


Ray from Sheffield stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in July 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair. With the Covid crisis we have implemented protocols to keep everyone safe.

Superb cottage nestling in Perthshire Mountain range

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
BALMORE was a delightful cottage providing a grandstand view of both wildlife and local farm animals.

All our everyday needs were met in the comfortable and elegant rooms which were much appreciated after long days out exploring the local area and beyond.

The cottage was exceptionally clean and beautifully presented. Our welcome phone call on the first evening was reassuring and welcoming.

We truly loved our holiday in Kinloch Rannoch and can't wait to return.

The only fly in our ointment was the awful single bed nearest the door in the twin room. I have slept on floors, in yachts and trenches but that mattress was indescribably appalling. After 2 nights I resorted to comfort of the living carpet and slept through the night.


Nikki from Yaxley stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2021


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind and useful review and I am glad that you enjoyed Balmore and its surroundings. But I am extremely sorry that you found the single bed so uncomfortable. It is always a good idea to contact us immediately something like that goes wrong so we can fix it while you are there but, anyway, we will hasten to replace the mattress as soon as we can, and thank you for drawing our attention to it. With all good wishes and we hope to see you back at Dunalastair Estate in future. Rose

Fishing stay over

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The estate staff were very accommodating and helpful. The cottage was clean and well position for the loch for fishing and there are lovely walks around the area. We saw lots of deer and birdlife. Excellent place to stay if you want peace, quiet and nature.

Gordon from Ellon stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in June 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us on Dunalastair.

Wonderful

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was provided that you could possibly need. Even down to cling film and foil. Bottle of milk in the fridge too. The wildlife that came into the garden was very tame.there was a wood pecker eating at the food station and all sorts of tits. We had 4 pheasants came and eaten the bird food at your feet. The only sounds were the sheep bleating in the fields and all of the birds. It was like heaven! We were lucky to have the best weather too ! We had the best time.

William from Kettering stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us here on Dunalastair. The large picture window makes it easy for folks to take in the abundance of birds that visit the feeders and nice that they did not disappoint.

Lovely traditional cottage opposite Schiehallion

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Kinloch Rannoch but had never stayed at Balmore Cottage before. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we have already rebooked for next year. The traditional stone-built cottage is very well equipped, cosy and comfortable, with a modern kitchen and a separate bathroom for each bedroom. The sitting room has a big picture window from which you can watch birds using the bird feeder in the garden. We just loved all the wildlife around the cottage (woodpeckers, cuckoos, willow warblers etc). It's a great base for hill-walking and for enjoying the quiet beauty of Loch Rannoch and Dunalastair Water,

The cottage is next to the small road going over to Trinafour but the road is very quiet and didn't bother us, even though we're normally sensitive about noise. We didn't have small children or dogs with us but the garden/drive looked sufficiently well-fenced to stop small people/dogs running onto the road. The view of Schiehallion would be more beautiful without a pylon in the way, but otherwise the location of the cottage is perfect.


Mary from Tunbridge Wells stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to here you enjoyed your recent stay with us here on Dunalastair. And that you enjoyed Balmore Cottage, it looks like that going forward it may be your preference. See you next year.

Balmore Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage and location. Dunalastair staff really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is perfect.

Maureen from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here on Dunalastair.

Escape from the City and Countryside joy

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a long and well overdue visit to the Dunalastair estate and Balmore Cottage. Because of Covid travel restrictions we had cancelled 2 previous planned visits. When we were allowed the freedom to travel and stay overnight it was excellent timing that Balmore Cottage was available. We were right in there and got booked up right away. All done and dusted in a matter of clicks on the computer.
It was a lovely relaxing week and change of scenery. Got the log stove burning and we sat enjoying the views of the trees, Schiehallion, the hieland coos and baby lambs in fields next to the cottage.
The cottage is very much home from home in a fab setting.
Covid guidance was well notified and what was needed to be done on departure. Nothing major to our usual departure routine. Many thanks to the estate staff for their help with our return to Balmore. Back soon. Mike & Stu


Michael from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in April 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was great to have you back after our second Covid lockdown. Good to hear you enjoyed your stay once again. Till the next time.

Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage is great for a get away. Plenty of wildlife. Good area for Walking and cycling. Lovely when the cows come to visit.

Alison from Glasgow stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2020


Lovely cottage in stunning area

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage set in beautiful location. Plenty outdoor activities close by. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to escape to the countryside.

Stuart from Kirriemuir stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in September 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your short stay with us and sounds like you packed a lot in whilst here.

Balmore Cottage - A Cottage with a special charme

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would stay in Balmore Cottage anytime again. Just loved it. It was very well organized, clean, cosy and comfortable. There's lot of space and a nice big garden with a table and benches. The view and scenery are stunning and it's not far away from Loch Kinloch / Kinloch Rannoch. You also can easily spend a nice day in Pitlochry, a beautiful little place, which is about a 30 mins. drive away.

Melanie from Emmelshausen stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in September 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore Cottage and to hear it met all your requirements.

lovely cottage in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
despite the wet weather we enjoyed our holiday and were out every day. I went fishing a couple of times on the loch but didn't have a touch. the cottage was very comfortable with all mod cons. It would have been nice to meet the owners but with 9 cottages to manage I guess it would have been difficult. It's a beautiful part of the country just a pity it's so far away for us in Cambridge.

Peter from Cambridge stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in August 2020


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. In normal times we visit guests when they arrive but owing to the Covid crisis we are advised not to do so and to telephone instead. I am sorry about this but unavoidable. If you return, and I hope you will, we would very much hope to visit if, by then, its allowed.

Summer stay

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 10 days at Balmore and had a fantastic time. The location and opportunity to spot wildlife is amazing. The cottage itself is very comfortable, we all slept well with very comfy beds. Rose and Beatrice were also helpful, both before and during our stay.

Emma from Hunton stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 9 nights in August 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair. Sounds like the wildlife kept you entertained during your stay.

Ideal vacation cottage in Scotland

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful two week stay in Balmore cottage in Highland Perthshire. We are repeat visitors and enjoy the wonderful location of the cottage to get away from it all and rest in tranquility in the midst of beautiful nature surrounded by mountains, rivers, farmland and wildlife.

The cottage is very well equipped with everything we need to cook our own meals, watch TV, read next to crackling fire, watch birds through the picture window, do our laundry, ... and of course with easy access to hiking trails and historical places in the area.

It truly feels like our home away from home, which is why we keep returning.

Thank you, Beatrice, for making sure each of our visits is a lovely one.


Katie from Erpeldange stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair albeit in strange times. Hope to see you again in the future.

break away

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great break at Balmopre cottage the weather was not the best - but - everything else was - really good

Douglas from Pencaitland stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed your break with us here on Dunalastair, sorry the weather didn't play ball for you.

Home from home in the Highlands

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore Cottage has fabulous views and we have stayed before for a reason. The cottage is on one level, clean and comfortable, and with cosy touches to make you feel like you are
home from home. It’s ideally located to soak up the Highland air and meet the local wildlife.


Guest from Bury St Edmunds stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed another visit to Balmore, sounds like the wildlife did not disappoint.

Bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly wonderful house in all respects. Lovely scenery and lots to do. A gem of a place - highly recommended and a real treat to have been there.

William from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in March 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your recent short stay with us.

Balmore

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super views from the cottage. Specialy in this time of year, winter.Very cosy with a warm fire.
Had a great time.


Guest from Amsterdam stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in November 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Blamore and with the time of year you felt cosy and warm.

Perfect place for our time in Rannoch

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is wonderful - surrounded by beautiful scenery and very well located for all the places we like to visit in and around Rannoch.
Also exceedingly well equipped. Can’t wait to return.


Alexandra from Hawkhurst stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Balmore Cottage and great to hear that you will visit again, see you then.

100

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage on a wonderful estate. I have been staying on Dunalastair since the early 1980s so nothing more to say.

Robert from Dagenham stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us.

An ode to Lochs Tannoch and Rummel...

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
‘‘Twas the 3rd Saturday of September when we landed at the door,
Frazzled and malnourished by the long journey north.
“Och, I still have the wee lawn to mow” sang the little man at the gate, welcoming us all.
The four poster bed, the well laid grate, could we have wanted more?
Clean and tidy, expansive view, the encircling Silver Birch crowning it all.
As darkness fell, the Milky Way embraced the starry sky,
While the Faeries of Caledonia, like us, slumbered firmly in their beds.


Graham from Grange Over Sands stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely "ode " you have composed reflecting your recent stay in Balmore Cottage, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the area.

Stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If Carlsberg did holiday cottages then this is it,as with all the other cottages on the estate.Be back soon


Fiona from Kendal stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very pleased to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us here on Dunalastair Estate, and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

August break

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed staying in Balmore Cottage. It was so well equipped and comfortable and peaceful. The location was excellent for walking trips and the wildlife in the garden provided endless interest. We were sorry that it was only a short break as it would be lovely to spend longer at the cottage.

Jacinta and David Heydecker


Jacinta from Stockport stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent short break in Balmore Cottage. We are in a good central location to get out and about and sounds like you took advantage of this as well as enjoying the wildlife visiting the garden. Perhaps we may see you again.

It was again 2 wonderful weeks in this cosy cottage, really peacefull, nice surroundings, good walks

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and homely house. The weather was mixed but did not spoil a nice holliday. We had great walks in the Tay Forrest, Loch Errochty, Aberfeldy and Rannoch moore. And on rainy days, we visited Dunkeld, Perth, the Stone Palace and Kenmore. The Roast Lunch in Rannoch Station was very good. In Birnam we had a good Dinner.

Ingeborg from Pullach Im Isartal stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 14 nights in June 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you have had another enjoyable stay with us in Balmore Cottage. You certainly seemed to get out and about to explore the area.

Beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third time staying at Balmore. The location is fantastic for exploring and relaxing amongst the wildlife.
Hope to back next year.


Vivian from Pitlochry stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable stay in Balmore, look forward to seeing you again next year.

Comfortable cottage with fabulous views

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This dear little cottage sits in a wonderful location with fabulous views of Schiehallion and the surrounding hills.
The cottage is cosy and there is plenty of hot water, which is an absolute essential after all those hill walks. The double bed is extremely comfortable.
There is a good washing machine and separate dryer plus a boot room at the rear of the cottage.
The garden is enclosed with low fencing and will keep most well behaved dogs in. Beware squeezy holes though for smaller dogs as there are sheep in the neighbouring field. We did have to shore the fence up a bit in order to keep our whippet in.
We didn't get to use the garden much as, true to form for Scotland, there was a lot of rain. There is a nice large patio table and spectacular views. There is a pylon very close to the cottage which might put some people off but didn't spoil it for us.
The local village has a good "corner" shop and post office and a lovely welcoming (dog friendly) cafe offering great home cooked lunches.
The walk beside Rannoch Falls in the village is worth doing for the Vista over the loch and Queen's view, a short way back along the road to pitlochry and also with a great cafe, is well worth a visit.I
Don't leave the area before first taking a gentle drive along the Schiehallion road. If the weather is nice, take a camera and a picnic!
The manager, Beatrice, was very friendly and helpful on our arrival, including lugging logs to block a whippet sized gap in the fence.
The cottage rental includes rowing boat hire on the loch and fishing.
All in all a very good stay. We will be returning in order to climb Schiehallion.


Guest from Fakenham stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Balmore Cottage on your first visit to Dunalastair. We have added an extra post into the fence now so hopefully no slender dogs should be able to escape. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at the Balmore Cottage was just as wonderful as always. There's simply nothing we could possibly complain about - we love the cottage, its rural setting, and the beautiful nature surrounding it. There's always something to do around, and fauna and flora to observe. The pheasants are a welcome addition to the area behind the house, we spent so much time just watching these funny birds strut around - and of course we enjoyed the hairy coos and lambs and baby deer as well.
The cottage itself is wonderfully cosy and well equipped. Simply the perfect place for a calming holiday away from everyday stress. Can't wait to be back!


Katie from Erpeldange stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 13 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay in Balmore, you had fantastic weather during your visit. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Brilliant holidays!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in a Dunalstair cottage and it was even more beautiful than the first one which, to be honest, was very hard to beat. What a beautiful place to stay, especially when you ate traveling with dogs!

Tim from Oberhausen stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear you had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair along with your dogs.

Mr scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent accomodation, well equipt comfortable great location. look forward to returning many more times

John from Kelbrook, Barnoldswick stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in February 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore Cottage and good to hear you are looking forward to your next visit with us. See you next time.

A relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Last time I had stayed in Balmore cottage with my teenage son, and afterwards gushed about the cottage so much, my husband was intrigued and wanted to experience it for himself. So this time it was him and me, one week over the Hogmanay period, in Balmore cottage. It was just as amazing as the first time.
My husband fell in love with the cottage just as I had done, and we both enjoyed each day of our stay - the warm and inviting interior, tasteful decor, thoughtful touches (a fully decorated Christmas tree!), and the peaceful surroundings.
Our firm favorite was of course the picture window, with endless opportunities for bird and wildlife watching.
Beatrice came to check up on us and was very sweet.
The local area is well worth exploring and there are so many places to see and things to do, we’re already planning our next trip to Dunalastair estate in the Spring.


Katie from Erpeldange stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in December 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your second stay here on Dunalastair and your husband too enjoyed it. Being the festive period we do try to en-capture the spirit and make it homely for our guests. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Xmas break at Balmore

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time to Dunalastair, having stayed previously at another cottage on the Estate. Found the cottage to be very clean and warm on arrival. In addition to the usual welcome tray, we received a very nice Xmas present of local food produce and a bottle of fizz. Once again we received a personal visit to ensure that everything was satisfactory. The cottage had everything we needed and we found it to be very cosy and comfortable. The cottage is located approx 3 miles from the village of Kinloch Rannoch with wonderful views of Schiehallion and lots of walking available in the vicinity. Very impressed with our stay at Dunalastair again.

Shona from Aberdeen stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in December 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your second stay with us here at Dunalastair.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time of staying in Balmore cottage. What a find.!! The cottage was very comfortable and well equipped. The perfect place to relax and each window you looked out gave stunning views of the countryside. Enjoyed filling the bird feeders and sitting in the bay window watching the many birds that visited.
It was a nice gesture to leave flowers and a welcome tray, and Beatrice popping in to see that we were ok was reassuring.
The week went by too quickly but would love to return sometime.


Gillian from Bognor Regis stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Balmore Cottage. It is a cosy cottage with a great picture window where most of our guests including yourselves just like to sit and watch the array of birds and wildlife. Perhaps we will see you again

Lovely comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Balmore, The cottage was a home from home with everything you could ask for.

Margaret from Bo'ness stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you both during your recent visit to Balmore and I happy to hear that you enjoyed it.

Nice personal touches

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had received very good directions but I didn’t follow directions very well. Rose had stopped by to greet us and was concerned, left fresh flowers, tea, milk, and a note. She checked in again in the morning to make sure all was well. We couldn’t have been taken better care of. Beautiful countryside!

Susan from Maryville stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in August 2018


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you arrived safely and enjoyed the surroundings of the area whilst here.

Balmore Cottage stay June 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage first week in June 2018 . We had never stayed on the Dunalistair Estate before but we were really surprised by the lovely cottage and the wonderful area it is in. The cottage was well appointed and very clean and comfortable. We are keen on wildlife and photography and found the area really good for this. The little extra touches provided in the cottage were very welcome. ie, Not having to bring kitchen roll or kitchen foil and condiments was very useful. It was also good to know that the owners and management were easily contactable and near by. Been welcomed by a member of staff to check all was well was very re-asurering . We also on our travels in the week saw some of the other Dunalistair properties and feel sure we will return and give on of the others a try.
Many Thanks for a pleasant stay.


Andrew from Barton-upon-humber stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was nice to meet you both during your recent stay in Balmore and I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the area good for wildlife. The picture window makes a good viewing point for the birds and squirrels that come to the feeder. Perhaps we may see you again in the future.

Stunning location and very comfortable well appointed cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Balmore is comfortable and well equipped, in a stunning location. We received very good instructions and directions and we appreciated that Beatrice made a special effort to check we were okay on the Saturday morning as we did not arrive until late Friday evening due to bad traffic on much of the journey.

The pack of bird seed provided was really good for attracting 'Eric' the pheasant and his partner into the back garden and the bird feeder attracted many different types of bird including ciskins, blue, great and coal tits, greater spotted woodpecker and chaffinches. The picture window in the living room meant we had fabulous views of the birds feeding.

From a purely personal point of view, here are few things would have made our stay more comfortable: Sharp kitchen scissors- the pair in the kitchen were extremely blunt and pretty useless at opening food packets. The pillows in the double bedroom are soft and we would have preferred firmer pillows. The duvet was a very heavy winter weight one and a much lighter summer weight duvet would have been much more comfortable for sleeping. These are personal preferences and I am sure that other guests would be happy with the pillows and duvet provided. A larger teapot (as the cottage is to sleep four and the current teapot doesn't hold enough for three mugs of tea) and a few more larger wine glasses (there were only two) may be worth providing.

A less personal part of the feedback: It may be time that the bathroom was refreshed, with a shower provided, as I don't think many people would be too enamoured with having to use the shower spray. We were very used to it having been without a shower for many years but I think most people would probably be taken aback by this. There were a few stains on the enamel bath which were not dirt but wear and tear to the surface. Again I think this would put quite a few people off using the bath, especially if they are used to a shower.



Mary from Sheffield stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. On the whole I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore and you enjoyed being entertained by the many types of birds coming to the feeders. I am sorry to hear the pillows did not meet with your requirements, if you had said something at the time we could have tried to find firmer ones for you, and we have replaced the scissors. We will certainly look at what we can do with the bathroom to try to improve it in the future, however there is the separate en-suite shower in the twin bedded room.

A gem of a place.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore Cottage is a gem of a place. Our stay was the perfect retreat in stunning surroundings and wonderful wildlife. A great base to explore the beautiful are of Loch Tummel and Loch Rannoch. We’ll be back!

Jane from Menstrie stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Balmore Cottage taking in the wildlife and scenery. Looking forward to seeing you on your return visit.

A comfortable stay in an idyllic rural setting

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the Perthshire area, and we chose the Dunalastair Estate for its central yet secluded location. The booking process was straighforward, and the website provided ample information on the cottages and their facilities.
The driving directions were easy to follow and the cottage was just as we had expected.
I especially enjoyed the large picture window - the resident pheasants are an entertaining lot. We saw various birds and once even a red squirrel.
The cottage had everything we needed, and was well equipped, with instructions on recycling rules and amply information on the estate itself and the surrounding area.
One week went by so quickly, and we're already hoping to be able to book another holiday in the same cottage.
It was the perfect place to relax and disconnect from the stresses of everyday life, I admit I slept like a baby - the four poster bed was sooooo comfortable!


Katie from Erpeldange stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased to hear you enjoyed your fist visit to Perthshire here on Dunalastair. The birds, wildlife and especially the pheasants do appear to put on a show in front of the picture window and I am happy to hear they did not disappoint. A week does seem to fly past and perhaps we will see you again here on Dunalastair.

Loved it !

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay at the cottage. Everything neded was there. The children loved the picture window. And when it snowed, the views were magical - not something us city dwellers get to see often. Customer service is excellent. Thank you.

Manika from Hounslow stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us on Dunalastair. I think you saw all seasons while you were here and nice to hear you enjoyed taking in the snowy views.

Total peace

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have never seen such a variety of wildlife before. Red squirrel, pet pheasant, Amazing!!
Do need a new mattress in the big bed though!
Cottage warm and cosy and clean. Will definitely be back.


Rhoda from Sunderland stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay here on Dunalastair. I am happy to hear that the wildlife kept you entertained whilst sitting in the cosy cottage. We shall certainly look into your comment regarding the bed.And look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really welcoming experience when arriving, cottage was warm and inviting and some tea & coffee and milk was provided. Nice touch.
cottage outlook was great for observing some of the wildlife especially through large picture window to rear of property which had seating in it.
cozy and comfy cottage with everything you could need included,
would certainly return. well done Dunalistair :)


Jim from Larkhall stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in March 2018


Balmore cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home. Rannoch stole my heart when I was 11 and I’ve been visiting ever since. The cottages in Dunalastair are truly lovely. I couldn’t t recommend enough.

Lynn from Dumfries stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you have had yet another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

A lovely week with snow and sunshine

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Balmore with snow and sunshine. We were a party of four with two in their eighties. The cottage was warm - often it was too hot to light the stove - and very comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and there was a choice of either a shower room or bathroom.
The directions were good - and the Tesco delivery driver had no trouble finding us.
The countryside was wonderful with deep snow on the hills and views from the cottage in all directions.
We enjoyed watching the birds on the nuts including regular visits from a woodpecker.
We will hopefully return for another visit in early summer.


Rosemary from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in February 2018


Exceeded our expectations .

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in Balmore Cottage for 4 nights and we had a lovely relaxing stay. Although we were snowed in so couldn't venture out we had all we needed to enjoy our holiday. The beautiful scenery in the snow was amazing to watch. The dogs loved running around the grounds bounding in deep snow. The cottage itself exceeded our expectations it was so big and so comfortable and cosy. We have stayed in 3 different Dunalastair cottages now and each one we have been more than happy with. I did prefer this one for it's size although hubbie's favourite it Tuim Cottage being by the river for his fishing. We will be booking again soon for the Autumn.

Shona from Denny stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 4 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Balmore and by the sound of things you stayed in the warm. We had a lot of snow during your short stay with us but I'm glad you still enjoyed it, it does make everything look very pretty. Look forward to seeing you again later on in the year.

Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been to this cottage three times
Love it amazing views
Clean and tidy
Would recommend this to any one


Andrea from Winchburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 5 nights in December 2017


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Balmore and it met your expectations.

Very much surprised - much better then our time share

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used to stay in our time share in the area for more then 30 years. Due to a change of our activities we booked this cottage and were pleasently surprised. We will certainly book again.

Felix from Alzenau stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Balmore and pleased to hear your comparison to your timeshare. Look forward to seeing you again on Dunalastair.

Just Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage in a great location for exploring. Facilities were superb and the cottage itself was very cosy. Staff were very professional and courteous.
The wildlife was in abundance and we especially enjoyed hearing the stags beginning to roar. The trees were beautiful in their autumnal colours.
Will be back again next year.


Vivian from Pitlochry stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of Balmore Cottage. Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us taking in the wildlife and scenery in and around Dunalastair. See you again next year.

Perfect home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Balmore Cottage in late June and it was perfect for us and our dog - peaceful, cosy and everything we had hoped. Lots of places to visit in the surrounding area and good restaurants and coffee shops too! The weather could have been kinder, but that didn't matter because the Cottage was very cosy. We particularly enjoyed relaxing while watching the birds feeding, either from inside through the huge window, or outside. If you're looking for peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings, this does the job.

Debbie from Nr Olney stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in Balmore. You certainly seemed to enjoy your visit with us exploring the area, and being fairly central in location it is a good base to get out and about. The birds too seemed to keep you entertained during your week.

It is a nice stay for different tours , walking, bike, drive to castles or gardens, to see the lochs

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is also good for a family. All equipment you need is there. It`s nice to sit outside. Also with a dog it is a good place.


Ingeborg from Pullach Im Isartal stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 6 nights in June 2017


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. However, we will take up the cleanliness with our staff as it was apparently not up to our usual standard and we apologise for that.

Another wonderful stay at a Dunalastair cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in 4 of the cottages now and as always have had a wonderful stay! Balmore was comfortable, clean, well equipped and so peaceful. There's not a single negative thing to say! Loved it and will be back again and again.

Colette from Edinburgh stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay in Balmore and good to know you will return, look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Lovely stay in Balmore Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in wonderful setting, we had a very good stay. The cottage was clean and comfortable and was perfect for our stay.

Fiona from stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 3 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay in Balmore. It is a cosy cottage to sit back and enjoy watching the wildlife through the picture window.

A magical place.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Balmore Cottage is set in a wonderful location with superb views.
From the kitchen window,the "Fairy Mountain" - Scheihallion is an imposing sight.
From the lounge window you'll see the birds on the feeders,squirrels,pheasants,sheep,cows etc. depending on the season of your visit.
Situated in Dunlastair,you can find plenty to do and places to visit locally, or you can strike out in any direction to see however much of Scotland you wish.


Ray from Sheffield stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in May 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Balmore is indeed lovely and sits in the ideal location. Good to hear the wildlife kept you entertained and you found plenty to do in and around the area.

Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt very well in this cottage. We like the typical Scottish cottage in beautiful nature. It is an wonderful place to relax.
Unfortunately it is not completely suitable for disabled people because of the shower. The only suitable cottage at Dunalastair Estate is Old Laundry, but it only has 2 sleeps - not for a family.
We like, that dogs are permitted, because our next trip will be with our dog. It is very difficult to find an accommodation suitable for disabled people and where dogs are permitted.
We´d like to come back again.


Siw from Zeulenroda-triebes stayed at BALMORE COTTAGE for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am happy to hear that you found Balmore comfortable for your stay here on Dunalastair. We will investigate the possibility of changing the shower there in the future,however it depends on how the pipes are set out but it is something we can look into. We look forward to your next visit to Dunalastair.