FB Twitter

Maragdubh

Maragdubh

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 83 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


This secluded farmhouse with wood-burning stove is surrounded by fields and the hills are just behind it. A panoramic view of the glen with Schiehallion mountain dominating the skyline can be seen from the windows. This spacious house has two bedrooms, one has a king size four-poster bed and en suite shower-room, and the other has three single beds, two of which can be made into a super-king. The bathroom is downstairs and has large bath, basin and wc. The sitting room has 2 sofas and easy chair. There is a spacious dining room and a galley kitchen. The garden is enclosed. It is ideal for a family or a group of friends.

March 2024

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Mar 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful place for us to feel 'rested' - the owners were great with communication, and thought of all of the home comforts we would need. Thank you so much!

Aimee from Ely stayed at Maragdubh for 6 nights in March 2024


Festive Fun escape

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2024
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Maragdubh over the festive time for more years than we can remember. 15 plus anyway.
This year we were lucky enough to benefit from an extended stay and it was well worth it.
We also enjoyed the joy of a white Christmas when it started snowing on Christmas Day, Just so magical.
This visit we got in a number of walks one was up to the Feadaig Bothy on the side of Schiehallion. Lovely fresh day and plenty of f crisp snow. Sat at the Bothy watching the sun disappear behind the hills. Also at Allean Forest where it was deep snow and a number of trees brough down across the track.
As always we kept the bird feeders topped up and enjoyed watching the many birds that used them. Lost count of how many.
The Dunalastair Estate cottages are well equipped and very much home form home. As we say our escape to the country.
See you soon. Mike & Stu, Edinburgh


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 18 nights in December 2023


Beatrice replied 53 days ago
Great to hear you have enjoyed another Festive Period in Maragdubh and with a white Christmas too! Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Holiday in Beautiful Perthshire

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is well presented, clean and tidy. Ideally placed in the centre of Perthshire to visit all the tourist hot spots but still remote enough if you want a holiday away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. The local wildlife both feathered and furry are right on your door step. Not to mention all the great walks from nearby Munro’s to leisurely strolls through the Tay Forest Park and if you are feeling really adventurous you could try the nearby bungee jump or trips down the River Tay by various modes of transport.

David from Moffat stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in November 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Thank you for your nice review of your recent stay in East Lodge with us. You have summed up the activities you can do nicely.

November stay at Maraghdubh

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Maraghdubh. We were very lucky with the weather as it was dry so were able to enjoy the beautiful views, countryside and local walks. The house is very comfortable and well appointed with everything you need.
Customer service was excellent with very quick responses at all times.
Highly recommended


Rhona from Kinross stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in November 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Maragdubh and lovely to hear that the weather was kind for you.

October holiday Rannoch

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay in the this very comfortable, well equipped farmhouse which stands on its own in its own dog friendly grounds, with panoramic views of the glen and mountains especially enhanced by autumn colours.
Inclusion of all fuel for log burner a great bonus.


Gwen from Newport On Tay stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed another stay with us.

Wonderful location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at the Farmhouse. Everything is there that you need for your stay. The rooms are very cozy and warm. The view from the window fascinated us all the time. Through binoculars we could watch the deer. The contact was very nice. We will gladly come again for deer hunting. Thank you very much for the wonderful time.

Christel from Velen stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Maragdubh. Look forward to seeing you return in the future.

Getting away from it all

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely secluded farm cottage, comfortable with stunning views and a great variety of birdlife in the gardens. Very relaxing stay, away from everything, beware the nearest shop is a good 10 mins drive but is friendly and we'll stocked. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Michelle from Ilkley stayed at Maragdubh for 10 nights in August 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh and the birds put on a good show for you.

Maragdubh

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2023
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, quiet location with stunning views. A lovely, warm, comfortable cottage. Cosy log burner and plenty of logs. Secure, fenced garden for dogs. Plenty of wildlife, sheep, cows, and birds seen from cottage. Everything you need for a fantastic holiday. We loved it ❤️

Joanne from Mitcheldean stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in July 2023


Beatrice Tainsh replied 128 days ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed Maragdubh, the surroundings and farm and wildlife.

Your home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been visiting this area for over 30 years and always using Dunalastair Holliday Cottages. They are the perfect place to enjoy quality family time and getting away from the hustle & bustle of city living. All their properties have the amenities you will need.

Cannot recommend them enough!


John from York stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in July 2023


Rose replied 250 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is very much appreciated. I am so pleased that you enjoy staying in our cottages and for so many years. We are very lucky to live in this beautiful area and love to share it with all our many visitors. Looking forward to seeing you at Dunalastair Estate again soon.

Secluded and cosy house

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really nice house with an excellent view. Cosy and well maintained. Garden was great for our toddler.

Timothy from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2023


Beatrice replied 261 days ago
Nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh.

Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2023
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you don’t mind the Great British plumbing, this is a lovely cottage, fantastic beds and stove, great views and garden. The help was instantly available when needed, and everything was spotless.

Anna from Den Haag stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2023


Beatrice replied 296 days ago
Glad to hear you liked Maragdubh, the cottage is on a private water supply and not mains water so unfortunately the pressure can be poor.

Highland Escape

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2023
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed our Christmas and New Year break up here at Maragdubh for many years and always enjoyed our time there. It feels very much home from home for us. A great place to relax and escape life.

Unfortunately this time we had to leave the cottage early and return home, so sadly we did not get our usual full experience. We have however booked for Christmas and New Year 2023/24. Its good to have something to look forward to at the end of the year.

Thanks again to all the staff on the estate who always make us feel very welcome.

Mike & Stu


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 19 nights in December 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Sorry your Festive celebrations were cut short, you will have to make up for it next year. See you on your next visit.

Another gorgeous stay in Dunalastair

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our first time in Maragdubh but my third time staying in one of the Dunalastair holiday cottages. Just like the others, the cottage was perfect: clean and tastefully appointed, cozy and homely, and blessed with an amazing location with fantastic views - perfect for stepping straight out on beautiful walks, and coming back to enjoy home cooked meals and cuddle up by the fire. Thank you to our hosts from Dunalastair estate who are always friendly, responsive, and have a good touch in being proactive in checking that everything is alright and letting us know how to reach them, without being at all intrusive on our privacy or our holiday. Highly recommend and looking forward to our next visit.

Mark from Perth stayed at Maragdubh for 5 nights in December 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair look forward to seeing you again.

4th time here

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location if you want fresh air and numerous walks up mountains and through forests! As always the cottage is very comfortable and cosy with high quality furnishings and new kitchen appliances. The plentiful supply of wood for the very effective wood burner was much appreciated.
You can lie in the 4 poster bed and look out over the glen to the mountains beyond.
The dogs were certainly tired on the way home. We will be back!


Greg from Warwick stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in November 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you had another enjoyable stay with us . And great to hear that you managed to get out and about walking enjoying the countryside. Look forward to seeing you return in the future.

A great week. Wonderful cottage and location.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at MaragDubh. As usual, a wonderful week, this time my daughter and family joined us, and they thoroughly enjoyed it. Jim was very helpful with the boat use. Took everyone out on the loch and had a great time rowing about, even with a brief storm that came upon us cutting short the nautical adventure. This is certainly a special place, especially if you have Robertson in your ancestry.

James from Friday Harbor, stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in September 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you spent another enjoyable week with us here on Dunalastair.

Highland Escape at Dunalastair Estate Cottages

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yes, we class Maragdubh as our Highland Escape from city life. This was the first time we have stayed here in the summer and we were very lucky with the weather. We enjoyed a BBQ in the courtyard and sat out until after 10pm. Its great sat in the front garden watching the many birds at the bird feeders and the various bird song. Also spotted several rabbits in the garden.
We had friends staying for the weekend who I know enjoyed their stay here too. We also managed a drive along to Rannoch Station and enjoyed a visit to the tea room there. In fact the scones were just out the oven so we had very fresh warm scones, cream and jam. Can recommend these.
Its great looking out at Dunalastair water and Schiehallion and the changing weather and cloud line.
We find Maragdubh very much home from home and back in 94 days for Christmas and New Year. Not that we are counting LOL.
Big thanks to all the estate staff who help make the cottages so good to stay in.
Cheers from Mike & Stu


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in September 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you enjoyed your summer stay in Maragdubh. You were lucky with the weather and good you managed a BBQ, the courtyard is good sheltered area. Look forward to seeing you over the festive period.

Peaceful spot

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location, very off the beaten track. Beautiful views of Schiehallion. Great fire and logs, comfy beds and nice sitting room.
The property did need some cosmetic updating though - the downstairs bathroom in particular was gloomy and tired. Kitchen was pretty pokey and dark too. Woodchip wallpaper could have been replaced!


Matt from Manchester stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh here on Dunalastair. We will look at getting the woodchip paper removed over the winter and redecorated which should refresh and brighten it up. We take on board your comments of the downstairs bathroom and we will see if we can do anything about this soon.

Very peaceful place to have a wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is nicely located off the road, amidst sheep meadows. All amenities and facilities are provided, and with its modern kitchen and two spacious bedrooms, this was a great place to stay for our family of five. Superb views on the Schiehallion. Warmly recommended!

Wouter from Sint-niklaas stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in July 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Rose Cottage here on Dunalastair taking in the views of Schiehallion.

A great stay all round.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great views, spotless, good appliances in the kitchen, and well equipped.. Avery nice cottage in every respect. A shame there does not appear to be any radio reception, although TV was fine. It was worth our long journey from the South Coast despite a rather cold, windy week, but it is Scotland.

Vincent from Worthing stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in May 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Maragdubh. Radio reception can be a bit sketchy although you can get radio through the TV via the satellite dish.

Fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another amazing stay in one of the dunalastair estate cottages. Comfortable, cosy , warm and relaxing. Views are amazing. They welcome dogs which is a big plus for me.
The area is great, lots to do and see, even trying archery with Jerry on this occasion, which I would highly recommend.
Everyone at dunalastair estate are always on hand to help or advise you if you need anything.
Great holiday, fantastic time had and wonderful accommodation. Can't wait for our next visit to their cottages. We Have two more trips booked.


Lorraine from Bacup stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Maragdubh and nice to hear that you have had a go at the archery. Look forward to your next visit.

A lovely week with family. Lambs out the window. picnics and sun.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great week had with in-laws.
The house was perfect size for our two couples and two children. Comfortable and warm with all the kit one might need.
The kitchen had all amenities provided, and was so well decked out we were able to make bread and cakes.
The house is perfectly placed with a view over the glen and Schiehallion looming in the distance.
We managed some great walks around the local area as well as some car trips further afield to Glen Lyon and Aberfeldy.
As a bonus, our holiday arrived bang in the middle of lambing season so the children enjoyed some views of the newborns gambling around the field. (kitchen has a port-hole window mere metres from them)


Hugh from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in Maragdubh. Good to know that the sheep and the lambs did not disappoint and kept you entertained.

Well worth staying

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here on previous occasions and it doesn't change, always have a great time. Enjoy all the wildlife. Would always recommend and we have previously stayed in 3 of the other cottages. Can recommend the breakfast in the riverbank cafe in Kinloch Rannoch.
We will definately be returning.


Dorothy from Doncaster stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you have enjoyed another nice stay here on Dunalastair this time in Maragdubh. Good to know that you will return.

Cleanliness

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Paintwork needs clean. Doors need fitted better. Mousetrap found behind the couch. Downstairs toilet needed a good scrub.Appreciated good supply of logs. Warm and comfy beds.

Anita And Jim from By Larkhall stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I'm sorry to hear that some aspects of the cottage did not meet with your expectations. Some of the cottages have not manged to get a bit of a break as it has been pretty full on but when we are quieter it will get a good spring clean. Being in the countryside we do have to apply mouse bait boxes to deter them.

Beautiful setting and everything you need

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful setting and base to explore Perthshire and beyond. Friendly and helpful host. Would love to stay again!

Benjamin from Kinross stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in March 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Maragdubh exploring Perthshire. Perhaps we will see you return.

Get away from it all

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed before at Dunalistair and we love the location and space. The house was very warm, cosy (and we had snow whilst there) and very comfortable. Kitchen has everything needed and it is really good to have a separate dining room. So good to have a plentiful supply of logs. Fantastic views, peace and tranquility in abundance. Lots of wildlife and lovely places to walk.

Caroline from Netheravon stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in February 2022


A wonderful get away with amazing views

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a great few days away. Maragdubh is a wonderful spacious farmhouse which was nice and warm on arrival. The house was very comfortable. We would love to come back at some point.

Colin from Prestwick stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in February 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your short break in Maragdubh and nice to hear that you would like to return.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful, clean and warm cottage with amazing views of sheihallion. Great value for money and ample parking

Tom from STOCKBRIDGE stayed at Maragdubh for 5 nights in February 2022


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh.

Festive Escape 2021/22 to Maragdubh

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Maragdubh a fair number of times and it feels very much like home for home for us. Our recent visit was just special because our previous Festive escape in 2020 was cancelled due to Covid travel restrictions. This was our first return in 2 years, so missed the place.
We love the location of the farmhouse set on the side of the hill with fantastic views over to Schiehallion and Dunalastair water, This visit we found a number of new walks to explore and all good walking tracks in the area.
Christmas day was lovely, out for a walk before Christmas dinner to work up an appetite. After the past two years of numerous restrictions it really was nice to escape to Maragdubh and shut the world out for 2 weeks.
The farmhouse is cosy with a nice log burning stove to keep you warm in the living room along with fitted storage heating. Kitchen is well equipped.
Yes it was sad to leave but knowing we will be back soon helped.
Big thanks to all on the estate, Rose, Beatrice and Jim who help make the cottages a great place to stay.
All the best from Mike & Stu, Edinburgh


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 18 nights in December 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to have you return to Maragdubh for your regular festive visit. It wasn't the same last year with no Christmas lights visible. Great to hear you were glad to be back at your home from home and see you on your next trip.

Perfect place to recharge your batteries. Excellent location.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
.The fact that we come back every year says it all, our little piece of paradise. Beautiful views. Perfection

Alana from Burntisland stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2021


Perfect Hideaway

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived after a ten hour journey … Maragdubh immediately felt inviting, a home from home in the Scottish countryside. Wrapped inside it’s comforting walls it was very easy to have a good nights sleep whilst the weather tried it’s worst against the thick walled exterior sited well back from the Trinafour Road up its own gated driveway.
Everything was clean, warm and tidy, well suited for a secluded week away from the modern hustle and bustle of daily life.
Glided in and out with no unnecessary intrusion from the Dunalastair Estate owners… only a phone call away if anything isn’t perfect .. as for us this year it was just that, perfect.


Timothy from Eastbourne stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2021


Very good

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location brilliant holiday will be come back to area and many be this cottage just working out next years holiday

Stephen P from Horncastle, Lincolnshire stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2021


Sensational views and total peace

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect house for us with family, we also took Balmore. Wonderful views of Schiehallion and perfect to be away from the road, even if only a minor quiet road, with the dogs. A real break and get away from it all. We were lucky with the weather and sitting out in early evening looking at Schiehallion was dreamy. The house was cosy and comfortable and welcoming. Great to have milk etc on arrival. We love the area and we spent a fantastic two weeks there. Discovered several new walks and loved seeing the red squirrels. We have now tried several properties at Dunalistair and they are all so nice. They go out of their way to be helpful and react very quickly to any queries or requests. Thank you

Caroline from Netheravon stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in September 2021


Dunalastair at its best

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is set back from the road with a commanding view of the estate. Unlike other cottages we have rented it does miss out on visiting red squirrel and deer but that was made up by House Martins nesting under the roof and a resident buzzard in the field out beyond the front garden. But the most unusual visitors to come into the house were two different frogs, tiny little creatures less than an inch long, both safely returned to the garden.
The kitchen was small but well equipped with a large dining room and sitting room both with views over the estate and to Schiehallion. The bedrooms are both spacious and comfortable with an en-suite shower, a little small and a bathroom downstairs with a wonderful free standing bath. Be careful when filling bath as it will use all the hot water up very quickly.
It was lovely to use the garden for morning Pilates and walks and runs in the area are plentiful. We did use the boat hire one day to row and fish on the loch but it was more a work out than a fishing experience, but definitely worth the effort.
We have been visiting for many years and have rented 4 of the cottages now, we always look forward to returning as we feel well taken care of and love Dunalastair and Perthshire.


Sue from Old Woking stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in September 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Maragdubh I am glad you enjoyed another stay with us. The hot water can always be boosted there after using, but I suppose it does take a wee while to reheat and it is a big bath.

A very enjoyable week in July. Plenty to do, loads of activities. House in a beautiful position.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a week at Maragdubh in mid-July 2021. The house is very attractive, in the middle of farmland and with a great view of Schiehallion, great bird life and red squirrels in the garden. Kinloch Ranoch is very central for all kinds of activities. Black Wood and MacGregors Cave great for shorter walks. Amazing views of the ruined Dunalastair House from the latter. Plenty ot of Munros on hand - we climbed Ben Lawers but of course Schiehallion is closer. We did bike rides, including Rannoch Station and a visit (actually two!!) to the absolutely fantastic tea rooms on the platform there. Also had a very up-market meal at the Moor of Rannoch Hotel (close to the station). Further afield, the wildlife park at Kingussie was well beyond expectations with polar bears and snow Leopards and lots of other interesting animals. We did also take a bot trip to the Treshnish Islands and Staffa, very long drive to Kilchoan, but well worth it for amazing bird experience - walk among puffins, shags, razor bills. kittiwakes, guillemots etc and Figalls Cave is so impressive. Then there is the House of Bruar at Calvine. Wonderful week in a great house.
Thoroughly recommended


David from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in July 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and managed to pack in such a lot during your week while you were staying in Maragdubh here on Dunalastair.

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect property in idyllic surroundings with access to plentiful walking/cycling/swimming opportunities. Great holiday!

Jane from Menstrie stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday here on Dunalastair.

Amazing farmhouse in an fantastic location

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A friend recommended the estate years ago and it took us until now to try it. We were not disappointed. The location is incredible and the views outstanding. The farmhouse stands on its own up a private drive. You can see one house and have clear views of the mountain. Accommodation was as expected, very clean, rustic (as in farm house style) and fully equipped. Estate staff were fab with queries and a bonus to have the boats and tennis court to use. Location wise the estate is perfect, walks and activities galore. We are already planning to return.

Claire from Polmont, Falkirk stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us in Maragdubh and to hear that you were not disappointed. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Lovely week

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in spite of the mixed weather.
Location is great and away from road. Fabulous views from front of cottage, we spent a lot of time out there looking at the mountains and also the birds visiting the feeders (take sunflower hearts and peanuts) siskins, chaffinches, greenfinch, woodpecker etc plus a red squirrel. Cuckoos on the telegraph wires, a flock of whimbrels in the field and of course the sheep and their lambs.
House was comfortable , nice fire, kitchen well equipped. Would we visit again? Yes I think we would.
Places worth visiting Highland Wildlife Park, Rannoch Moor station and surrounding area with views over to Glencoe. Loads of walks nearby, we ran out of time to do everything on our list.


Debbie from Stockport stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in May 2021


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you had a lovely stay in Maragdubh taking in the views and the abundant wildlife that came to visit during your stay.

The most wonderful place!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words can't really describe how magical the farmhouse is. My fiancée and I stayed for 4 nights and wish we had stayed longer. Beatrice and Rose were amazingly helpful from the start and we couldn't have asked for more from them. The farmhouse has everything you need, a fire, a big dining room table, puzzles and a really cosy living room. It even has it's own private track up from the main road which made you feel like you were away from civilisation, which is exactly what we wanted for the time we were there. We had the pleasure of waking up to the most amazing views of the mountains across Dunalastair Water, along with deer and sheep roaming. The area is perfect, lots of amazing lochs (a roaring boat you could use courtesy of the estate), but also just a short drive to a few main towns (Aberfeldy & Pitlochry were our favourites).

Our main highlight, out of many, many highlights, was the ability to get up early in the morning, walk out the house and hike up the hills behind - the most incredible views with sheep and deer roaming everywhere.

We will 100% come back - we had the perfect holiday.


Freddie from Palmers Green stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in October 2020


Great Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely Cottage located back from minor road, with cows and sheep as friendly neighbours. Ideal location to escape Town living and breath fresh air. Plenty walks to enjoy after a short drive. Great time playing family games on an evening with a glass of red.

Guest from South Shields stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in July 2020


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here on Dunalastair.

Spring holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful few days in Maragdubh. Beautiful scenery . Snow covered hills so lovely from windows. Cosy and very comfortable so will definitely be back.

Gwen from Newport On Tay stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in February 2020


An enjoyable stay in a great location.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, clean, spacious and with a well equipped kitchen. On the hillside with a great view this farmhouse is in an excellent location if you want peace and quiet. Kids enjoyed playing in the snow and watching the jays. The tea making facilities and logs were very appreciated. This is the second year we have booked with Dunalastair Estate and the first time we have stayed in Maragdubh. We wouldn't hesitate to book again.

Colin from Kirkcaldy stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in February 2020


Our escape to the country - Maragdubh it is

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 10th New Year at Maragdubh which Im sure speaks for itself. We love going to Maragdubh and its very much like our home in the country and our chance to escape for some peace and quiet.

Maragdubh is set on a lovely location with great views over Dunalastair Water looking up to Schiehallion. The cottage is very cosy and the kitchen is very well equipped and we love the log burning stove. Nice to toast the crumpets on.

Over the festive period the cottages also have Christmas trees, real ones, which add to the whole spirit of the time there.

The staff on the estate are all very helpful and excellent customer support. Many thanks to all on Dunalastair estate.


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in December 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you have had another enjoyable festive visit in Maragdubh, see you again Christmas.

Fabulous pre Christmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time in this wonderful farmhouse. Beautiful frosty weather made the already fabulous views even better. Already booked again for Feb!!

Susan from Newport On Tay stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in November 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh, the frosty weather made for picturesque days. Look forward to seeing you in February.

Maragdubh, Dunalastair EstateGreat

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house and location it's also a good base for touring and visiting towns in the area, or for walking as the scenery is stunning.

Anthony from Glasgow stayed at Maragdubh for 4 nights in November 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you liked your stay in Maragdubh, we are indeed in a good central location for visiting the local area.

Home from home...

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to find even if the entrance and drive are a little challenging from the Calvine A9 junction.
The house is very welcoming and well maintained .... warm and comfortable with very good interior fitments and attention to providing all kitchen and bathroom needs.
Thoroughly recommend a trip... we drove 595 miles to absolutely love arriving and our whole week in Scotland.
Tim (Hookham)


Timothy from Eastbourne stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Maragdubh. We are quite central so as you say good for touring and getting out and about.

excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in maragdubh on 10 occasions.
As always, it was perfect for us. The dogs love it and view it as a second home. Lots of hunting for mice etc in the fields.
we hope to return.


Morag from Fort William stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
So happy to hear you have had another enjoyable stay in Maragdubh look forward to seeing you return.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay very much in this cosy cottage. Well equipped kitchen - however very small, when two people are "chiefs" are preparing the food.
Wonderful view from all windows.
We kindly recommend installing a drying cabinet as we and many others outdoor-people need to have clothes dried after rain etc.
We found the bed-madras in the dbl.bed very hard.
Are looking forward to stay in Maragdubh another time.


Aff from Fredensborg stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in October 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Maragdubh. We will look into the possibility of putting in a drying cabinet but perhaps at a central location on the estate. We had the mattress in Maragdubh down to be replaced this year and this has been done now.

Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second cottage we have had on the Dunalastair estate and as expected the location and cottage far exceeded our expectations. Easy to explore the surrounding area .Dog friendly enclosed gardens.

Philip from Scarborough stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in September 2019


Rose La Terriere replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are delighted that your expectations on the cottage were exceeded. We strive to provide what visitors would like and our questionnaires and the reviews are very helpful in making plans for improvements.

A simple cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Originally a cottage for a tenant farmer this is basic accommodation. The house is very compartmentalised but means it is very soundproof. The living and dining rooms are a good size for a family of 4. The kitchen is a narrow galley one but well equipped and next to the dining room. The two bedrooms are large with nice views. We found the place smelt strongly of dogs, damp and drains when we arrived but this improved/or we got used to it.
The main attraction of this cottage is the location which is wonderfully secluded up a long track overlooking the fields and Schiehallion. Abundant bird life, roe deer and very few people. The village store in Kinnoch Rannock provides a range of basic provisions but shopping is best combined with excursions to avoid too much travelling.


Erika from Cambridge stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to review the cottage. I am sorry that you found the cottage ‘simple’. This does not appear to be the view of other residents, however. But of course it is always subjective. It is indeed a Victorian farmhouse but it has been fully modernised with full double glazing, pocket sprung mattresses and very well equipped kitchen amongst other things. There had been no dogs in the house for a month before your stay and it is cleaned very thoroughly so I am not sure why you would find it smelt of dog, or drains either. The porch could be slightly damp because people come in that way and due to the wet weather this summer, the floor could suffer a bit from damp boots. We will certainly take account of your comments.

Absolutely wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting, thoroughly provisioned cottage, super helpful support, great value, one of our favorite places.



Elizabeth from Lincoln stayed at Maragdubh for 8 nights in July 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh, not your usual cottage.

The perfect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve been visiting the estate for 19 years now and had the privilege of staying in 4 of the wonderful cottages available, Maragdubh is our favourite, the cottage and location is perfect for us and our 2 dogs. the cottage is well equipped extremely spacious and very comfortable with an air of romance, the views are stunning, it’s our perfect retreat

Tracy from Mabletherpe stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in March 2019


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and nice to hear that you have had another enjoyable stay in Maragdubh. It is a good cottage for the dogs with the secure garden. Look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Our favourite Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Dunalastair Cottages over many years and always love to return to Maragdubh.
Fabulous place to relax and to take in the views.
If walking or just taking a few books this is the place to be,it is
Cosy,pristine and very comfortable with an abundance of character.
Look forward to visiting again.
Highly recommend.
Thank you.


Guest from St.Helens stayed at Maragdubh for 5 nights in March 2019


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you have had another enjoyable stay in Maragdubh here on Dunalastair. Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Lovely cottage, great experience

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely spot! Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there !
One tiny suggestion would be for some basic cooking herbs to be supplied.


Claire from Manchester stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in February 2019


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Maragdubh Farmhouse. We only provide salt and pepper in the mills we have in the cottages.

Heaven in the Highlands...

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely old farmhouse absolutely has the best view of Schiehallion - quite Magnificent! It's a joy to stay in the wilds of Highland Perthshire and the very beautiful loch of Rannoch where wild beauty abounds at every turn. The house itself is very comfortable and warm and has everything you need. Unbeatable!

Juliet from Chippenham stayed at Maragdubh for 16 nights in February 2019


Beatrice Tainsh replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay in Maragdubh Farmhouse. and it had everything you needed.

Maragdubh is like Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Maragdubh many times and in fact this was our 10th New Year. That alone speaks volumes. We also managed to spend Christmas there too in 2018 and loved it. The farmhouse is in a wonderful setting with spectacular views out towards Dunalastair Water and the Munro Schiehallion. You can spend all day just looking out at the changing view depending on the weather. Also watching the birds feed from the feeders in the garden.
The welcoming touches are great too. A tray with tea, coffee and biscuits awaits you. Cut flowers on the table. The kitchen is well equipped, the living room is very cosy once the log burning stove fires up. Bedrooms are very cosy as are the beds. Very comfy.
Some wonderful walks from the house and some not too far away by car. Kinloch Rannoch is a friendly village and great tea room.
The staff at the Dunalastair Estate are very helpful and help make sure you enjoy your stay.
Already counting the months, weeks days until we are back.


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in December 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Great to hear that you have had another enjoyable festive period here on Dunalastair and look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Beautiful, cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely week at Maragdubh. The cottage is cosy and comfortable, with plenty of space. The log burner is great! It has an enclosed garden which is perfect if you're holidaying with a dog or young children. The setting is absolutely stunning, beautiful views and so peaceful. We loved it and are hoping to go back asap!

Emma from Lincoln stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in November 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us in Maragdubh. Very pleased to hear that it met with all your needs and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Quiet location in superb environment

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose this cottage because of its solitude and space. The view from the cottage is outstanding, the ride from Pitlochry should not be underestimated, the bumpy and curly road takes about 40 minutes, but the scenery is outstanding. Colourfull trees (it was late October) and views over Loch Tummel.
The housekeeper came the same evening we arrived to check if everything was OK and we needed anything. Well, it was perfectly OK and we did not need anything.
The house was nice and warm with a stove ready for lighting. The house is big enough for the four of us, and has everything one needs in a self-catering cottage. Well equipped kitchen, nice beds, a good shower and a bath!
And then the view: Schiehallion dominates, and we were lucky to see first snow on Friday 26, like someone powdered the mountain. And on depart, the snow (very lightly) reached the valley and I had to scratch the ice from my car!
Lots of things to do, but don't underestimate the time/distance. We visited Pitlochry (nice shopping town and a nice COOP supermarket) and Aberfeldy (do visit the old watermll bookshop!).
Karelia house (for wool, our daughter is hooked on crochet), Cluny House Gardens and the Crannoch Centre should not be missed.
And of course there's walking. We went to Rannoch station (just walk into the moors besdies Loch Laidon, great scenery), Carie (great walks through the woods) and Kinloch Rannoch (where we went up Craig Varr, with outstanding views).
The house has a decent internet connection, so we were able to view our favorite series on Dutch Television)
Don't forget to buy some seeds for the birds!
All in all a very nice spacious place to stay, we loved the quietness, and we will keep this place in mind whenever we decide to go back there.


Auke from Wijdewormer stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here on Dunalastair in Maragdubh. It is a spacious cottage with great views of the local Munro Schiehallion. Sounds like you had a jam packed itinerary with lots of walking and sightseeing. Perhaps we will see you again in the future.

Schönes Cottage mit toller Aussicht

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maragdubh ist ein schönes Ferienhäuschen mit wunderschöner Aussicht. Die Küche ist sehr gut ausgestattet, auch die beiden Schlafzimmer. Der Garten war ideal für die Kinder und unseren Hund, man hatte viel Platz zum Spielen. Einzig die Sofagarnitur war etwas sehr weich, d.h. ältere Leute haben sicherlich etwas Schwierigkeiten, vom Sofa wieder hochzukommen. Die Lage des Cottages ist prima für diverse Aktivitäten, wir sind viel gewandert, haben uns so einiges angeschaut (Schlösser, Whisky-Distillery, Rannoch Station, Loch Ness,die Städtchen Pitlochry, Dunkeld usw. und natürlich haben wir uns Highland Games angeschaut) und konnten die Natur von Herzen genießen.

Christina from Wiesloch stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in August 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your visit to Maragdubh. It is indeed in a good spot to take in the views and the nature around it. Dunalastair too is in an ideal location to get out and about to explore the area which you obviously did and packed a lot into your stay.

Maragdubh

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy, well equipped cottage in a perfect setting with a splendid view of Schiehallion. Tranquil surroundings, soothing atmosphere.

Cecilia from Birmensdorf Zh stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Maragdubh, you have summed it up perfectly and it does indeed make for a tranquil retreat.

What a loverly location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Honestly if you want to get away from it all, this is the place. Booked for my 40th with my family and it was everything I hoped. Amazing views with lots of nature around, very little people about which is a welcome break due to my line of work.
Owners are amazing and very very helpful, we will be returning to this beautiful part of the country.
Farm house is just so cozy and warm with good facilities and large bedrooms.


Mark from Barnsley stayed at Maragdubh for 6 nights in February 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your recent 40th birthday celebrations in Maragdubh, here on Dunalastair. And very happy that it fitted your needs and you had time to relax and get away from it all.Looking forward to seeing you again in the future.

Return to Dunalastair

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent week at Dunalastair. We shall be returning again as soon as possible. Thanks once again.


Stuart from Leicester stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in March 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to hear you enjoyed another stay with us here on Dunalastair and we look forward to seeing you again.

Gorgeous winter break

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived in the evening, after dark, lamp lit, cottage warm, fire laid and ready to light. Spacious cottage, very comfortable, well equipped and very quiet. Deer watching from the ensuite bathroom, mountain watching from the bed, glorious walks (black wood of Rannoch, Craig Varr, Rannoch Moor), buzzards, fantastic weather. I would highly recommend Moor of Rannoch Restaurant for a special meal - wonderful food and drink, amazing value, excellent service, and very friendly. The local Dial-a-Bus service is great and means you can sample the huge range of whiskies on offer at the restaurant....
The whole experience was an excellent antidote to modern life and we didn't want to come home. Looking forward to our next visit.


Lisa from Reading stayed at Maragdubh for 5 nights in February 2018


All the seasons in a week

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Friday to a nice covering of snow by Sunday we had a good foot of snow which looked brilliant but made getting around a bit difficult, we were grateful that we had a 4 wheel drive vehicle other wise I think we may have been grounded which was not a problem as we were well stocked with food and logs in a very comfy farmhouse, however by Tuesday the snow was fast dissapearing and the magical scenes turned into rather dreak and wet scenes. Our only problem during our week was the fact that bullocks in the field adjoining the house were fast turning into a muddy morass by Thursday, but we were staying on a farm after all so a good week in warm well equipped farmhouse thank you. Reminder to anybody thinking of a winter visit don,t expect many places to be open to eat out at night, so stock up well before you arrive.

John from York stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in January 2018


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of your recent stay in Maragdubh. I am glad you enjoyed the cosy cottage itself sitting around the log burner and taking in the beautiful scenes, at least whilst the snow was here. You were here during quite a snowy time and we do try to keep the tracks clear for our guests. Sadly with the rain and snow melt that followed added with the young cows in the field did make certain areas along the track muddy. the cows are rotated around the estate as much as possible.

Great trip

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely couple of days on the hill hind stalking so very nice to come back after a long exhausting day to a cosy house with a wood burner going set just below the hill surrounded by nothing but cattle and silence!

William from Halesworth stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in January 2018


Christmas and New Year Break - heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Maragdubh more than a few times, in fact lost count. We have enjoyed New Year at the farmhouse for at least 8 years and managed to fit in a couple of breaks to include Christmas too. Already thinking/planning our return for the next festive season.
Maragdubh now feels very much like home from home. Its location is fantastic with a wonderful view looking towards Schiehallion and overlooking Dunalastair water. We enjoy it because of the remote and quiet location and gives us a place to escape to and recharge.
The staff at Dunalastair Estate who help look after the cottages are all very helpful. There's always a welcome tea tray waiting the log stove set just ready for lighting. For a Christmas visit there's a good local Christmas tree just waiting for presents below it.
Many thanks to all who help make theses cottages a joy to stay in. Cheers Mike & Stu


Mike from Edinburgh stayed at Maragdubh for 12 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad to hear you enjoyed another stay here on Dunalastair in your favourite Maragdubh. It is indeed a good place to relax and recharge before heading back to city life. Looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Beautiful family dog friendly escape

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazingly well located old farm house that gives perfect views of the valley. The house is comfy clean and has all you need. We've stayed in a lot of self catering cottages all over the UK this has been the best so far for location and home comforts. There is so much to do and will be 're booking for next winter. Golden Eagles over the house, Red deer stags just behind and Roe deer feeding all around every morning. The dog was in his element and the kids embraced a good old "real" winter. There is everything you need and every one was friendly. I don't believe we met one grumpy Scott's man. Thank you Beatrice for our warm welcome.

Benjamin from Shrewsbury stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in December 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here on Dunalastair in Maragdubh. You certainly saw a lot of wildlife on the doorstep, don't think I've seen an eagle, I will to look more closely. Looking forward to seeing you in the future at some point.

Lovely, cosy accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maragdubh is a great place to stay. Lovely accommodation in a wonderful setting and great views to schiehallion. All the comforts of home and plenty to explore in the local area.

Fiona from Aviemore stayed at Maragdubh for 5 nights in November 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your your nice review of your recent stay in Maragdubh. Very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay taking in the views across the valley to Schiehallion.

Peace and quiet - pure bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic clean and comfortable farmhouse set in a perfect quiet and remote location. Water was from a private water supply but don't be put off it was the best water ever for making a perfect cup of tea, no additives here. Bottles of water are also supplied if needed but we didn't use them. Lovely views from the front door, ideal for watching the early morning sunrise with stags roaring in the distance (we weren't lucky to see them near the house but spotted lots on the night return journey from Rannoch Moor train station)and is also a remote area with no light pollution, perfect for late night star gazing. Rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Will definitely be returning soon. Thanks Beatrice

Sharon from Macclesfield stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay in Maragdubh. Glad you enjoyed your additive free cuppas while you were here. The views from Maragdubh are great with it being elevated and the weather was fairly good while you were here giving some nice sunshine enhancing these. Hope to see you sometime in the future.

Half term holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very comfortable. We had 3 small children with us and it was very suitable. Fantastic views and very rural. Will certainly stay on the Estate again.

Julia from Harrogate stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in October 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your nice review of Maragdubh. Happy to hear that it met your needs as a family and that you enjoyed taking in the Autumn scenery. Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Highland Escape

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely property in beautiful location, highly recommended.
Colour of water disconcerting, but plenty of bottled water provided for drinking etc.


Roger from Chelmsford stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in September 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed Maragdubh Farmhouse here on Dunalastair. The majority of our holiday cottages are on private water supplies and not on the mains. The water takes on the colour of the peat which it comes through, making it look brownish, this is common throughout Scotland. The water is however tested on a regular basis.

A great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maragdubh is one of several cottages belonging to the Dunalastair Estate just outside Kinloch Rannoch, and is reached via its own lane from the road to Trinifour and Calvine. It's in a really great private location surrounded by open countryside in an elevated position looking across to the magnificent Schiehallion that dominates this area. The property consists of two large bedrooms, one with an ensuite shower room, and a decent size lounge and dining room. The kitchen is small, and if you owned it you would probably extend it into the adjoining outbuilding, but it has all that you need and there's a utility area with plenty of room for your coats, boots etc. Outside, there's decent storage space, room for two, possibly three, cars, and a nice lawned area with tables and chairs to enjoy the view. You get a visit on the first day or so to check that you are OK, and any issues are dealt with immediately without fuss. The wood burner is great, and you get an initial supply of logs included in the rent. There's two general stores within a short drive, and two larger towns not that far away. We did not use the boats and fishing at Dunalastair, but that's another free option, and the area has plenty to offer, all of which is described in the guide material provided. Overall, it was an excellent stay, and a wonderful property.

Alastair from Liskeard stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for lovely review of Maragdubh. Happy to hear that enjoyed your stay there taking in the superb views from the cottage across the valley to Schiehallion. Perhaps we will see you again in the future.

A perfect week in a perfect place

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Dunalastair but our first stay in Maragdubh. The cottage is perfect, wonderfully cosy and comfortable with stunning views of Schiehallion. Having decent WIFI was an added bonus since my husband works for himself and so needs to stay in touch with clients plus we had two teenagers with us. In fact we loved our time at Maragdubh so much that we've already booked it again for next year! Lots of lovely walks from the cottage, we especially enjoy walking past old Dunalastair house, it must have been a wonderful sight in its time and it's easy to imagine carriages pulling up outside the front door before heading off to the old stables. There were cows in the field around the cottage when we were there but they are beautiful creatures and cause no issues whatsoever, even our two dogs ignored them. I certainly wouldn't hesitate to recommend Maragdubh to anyone who enjoys a peaceful setting and a comfortable cottage.

Gary from Stockton On Tees stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay in Maragdubh. Happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay on Dunalastair taking in the views and the walks around the estate. Looking forward to seeing you again next year.

A warm cosy spacious cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was one of the best equipped we've ever had since renting cottages in Scotland (we started renting in 2007).
Very spacious, also very clean, the beds were very comfortable, the garden was well fenced off, but since there was no cattle in the field, our dog enjoyed the daily walks to the gate and back up again. She could run and sniff around everywhere.
The tumble dryer is also a big bonus.
We used the stove once on a wet and cold da and it burned really well and gave a comfy warmth.
The Henry did an excellent job with the doghairs!
We really enjoyed this cottage, it was very quiet, no neighbours, no streetnoise, no tractors, ... lovely to wake up with the view onto the Shiehallion.


Sofie from Kapellen stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and very happy to hear you all enjoyed your stay with us in Maragdubh, even your dog, who had the freedom of the field to play about in, sounds like she had a great time! You did a great job with Henry, you wouldn't have known there had been a dog staying..

It was the first time we visit Scotland and we fall in love with it.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything in the house was more than fine, very complete, we make daytrips to Inverness en Edinburgh. And off course toLochness. We loved the country and the people. And we visit Scotland nex year again.

William from Tegelen stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in August 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you have enjoyed your first visit to Scotland and your stay in Maragdubh. We are a central location making it possible to do day trips quite easily. Maybe we shall see you back on Dunalastair next year?

Lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location excellent and the welcome from Beatrice was really appreciated. Would recommend to anyone looking for peace, great views, lovely wildlife. Cottage comfortable but could do with a little TLC.

Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
It was nice to meet with you and happy to hear you had a nice peaceful week here on Dunalastair taking in the views and the wildlife around. Maragdubh is scheduled for some maintenance over the winter period which should spruce it up.

Beautiful scenery but ....

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Safety issue: the estate manager placed a bull in the field which has the access track (not fenced off) to the cottage and two gates to open and close. Hope that this never happens to anyone else. Had to complain but will say that the estate was prompt in giving a full refund.

Guest from Orpington stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2017


Rose replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review. We did apologise to you for a new staff member having made the mistake of leaving a bull in the field with the cows. You also complained about there being cows in the field surrounding the house but we do make it clear in the description on our website that this is sometimes so. The garden is quite secure so there is no danger from them. You booked through a farm holidays website so I assume you expected it to be a working farm.

Absolute Delight

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have lost count of the number of times I have stayed at Maragdubh over many years and it remains as delightful as ever.

Alan from Sevenoaks stayed at Maragdubh for 14 nights in July 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Good to hear that you had yet another enjoyable stay in Maragdubh and hopefully we will see you back again next year.

Fabulous Views

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views from Maragdubh are fabulous and the position of the farmhouse and the surrounding garden make it absolutely ideal for visitors bringing dogs. If you like watching birds fill up the feeders in the garden and put bird food on the front garden wall, you won't have to wait long. A whole variety of birds will keep you entertained. The house itself has a well equipped kitchen, comfortable sitting room and a master bedroom with those wonderful views to Schiehallion.

The only negative is the house could do with a bit of sprucing up here and there, but honestly that is a minor issue and It wouldn't put us off visiting again nor recommending it to others.


Carolyn from Inverurie stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in June 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Maragdubh does indeed have commanding views of the surrounding countryside and is well suited for guests with dogs having a secure garden. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the birds kept you entertained during your stay.

Maragdubh cottage at Dunalistair

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a fantastic relaxing week here with my husband and two grandchildren, and our dog Benji. Everything was fantastic and the boys loved the freedom. The scenery and wildlife are just breathtaking. You have everything provided for you, fully equipped kitchen, bedding,towels and even two starter bags of logs for log burner. Every bit of information you could ask for is at hand and if you need anything you just have to phone either the manageress or Rose the owner, phone numbers are given with booking. We visit regularly and have stayed in most of the cottages, each and every one of them have their own great aspects and can definitely say we have never had any problems with any of the cottages, we even take bird feeding stations with us to leave at cottages for the enjoyment of bird watching. Would definitely recommend a stay at Dunalistair a great getaway for everyone.

Wilma from Glasgow stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Very happy to hear you had another enjoyable stay here on Dunalastair taking in the scenery and the wildlife and look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

A week of peace

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
3rd time here. Comfortable and warm, views of mountains. Good base for the Highlands. Wifi worked well too! Perfect again!

Greg from Warwick stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in April 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Happy to hear that you enjoyed another visit to Maragdubh. It is a nice cottage to unwind and de-stress taking in the great views across the valley.

Staying at Maragdubh

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage and surroundings. Plenty to do without leaving the area. good access for drives out of the area.

Robert from Dagenham stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in March 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
I am happy you enjoyed your stay at Maragdubh, it is a lovely cottage with great views. Good to hear you didn't have to venture too far to find things to do.

Cozy cottage in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week at Maragdubh. Perfect location for beautiful walks with gorgeous scenery. We will be back.

Debbie from Broxburn stayed at Maragdubh for 7 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you enjoyed your week in Maragdubh, the weather was good for you most days letting you get out and about. I look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Brilliant rural escape

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and its secluded location with walking from your doorstep. The kitchens is really well stocked in terms of utensils allowing proper cooking and everything was very clean. It was perfect for us, our kids and the dog.

The wood fire and cosy sitting room were much enjoyed as were comfy beds and large old fashioned (deep) bath!

Little touches like milk in the fridge and tea bags on arrival, useful local info and a hello visit from Beatrice to check everything was OK were great.

We are very much looking forward to returning.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Maragdubh for 3 nights in February 2017


Beatrice replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. I am glad that you all enjoyed your stay in Maragdubh. It was nice to meet you all and I look forward to seeing you in the future.