FB Twitter

Kiloran Bay

Kiloran Bay

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 18 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.7
Condition
3.7
Location
4.9
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.2


This pretty cottage is located up a short track above the magnificent beach, Kiloran Bay. It has 3 bedrooms and 1 bathroom and is ideal for 4 adults or 4 adults and 2 children. It is adjacent to Uragaig cottage. Please note that the kitchen and bathroom are small and the cottage is south facing and has only glimpses of Kiloran Bay.

The Best Location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our fourth visit to Colonsay over 30 years. It doesn't change much and that is its charm. These two cottages are perfectly located to appreciate the full glory that is Kiloran Bay. Probably best rented as a pair, as we did but enough privacy to work if rented separately. Positives - Brilliant showers, effective heaters (our weather was mixed), cosy sofas around great fireplace.
Negatives - lacking a few basic kitchen items such as a casserole dish and a large frying pan.

We loved these cottages. There were eight of us in our group and we all managed to eat together which was very special.
We will no doubt return.




Kiloran Bay Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
the cottage was as described, and in wonderful location. Given our late arrival time and distance from nearest shop (opening hours fairly limited on some days) perhaps in future an arrival pack could be provided (and included in rental price?) also including loo roll, sponges wipes etc for cleaning kitchen. No tea towels or oven gloves provided, and only I extra blanket. Basically - cottage could/should be better equipped. That said - we had a magical week, helped by amazing weather. The Island is very special.



Outdated heating inefficient and ineffective

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The heaters in all the rooms are dated and extremely costly to run.
No indication is given as to what the cost per unit would be and no detail given on the invoice either.
Modernisation of appliances is badly needed to ensure costs effectiveness and to be environmentally friendly.
I appreciate it is in the countryside but saw no evidence of bait stations to ensure the property was vermin proofed. There was evidence of mice in the kitchen, bathroom and the dining room area. not good with a toddler.
Mentioned in comments left in house and no apology.
I have fond memories of this cottage and am sorry to see it in this condition.




Kiloran Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
2.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely location but cottage was not clean at all - cobwebs, insects and dog hair everywhere. Took us 2 hours to clean the kitchen and fridge to a state where we could use it on arrival. Dirty cutlery, glasses and crockery put back in cupboards.

Paid extra for coal and kindling - coal arrived two days late and still no sign of the kindling.




Very poor

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Aug 2021
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were bitterly disappointed in the accommodation. We had travelled from Morar where we had spent a week in a beautiful property 2/3 of the price of the Kiloran Bay one. On arrival I had to make up 2 beds, the level of cleanliness was not high, there was no warmth of welcome, just more information to tell us what additional charges would be when we left. Absolutely no charm at all.

We have stayed on Colonsay before in other accommodation, love the island and will return, but not to any Colonsay Holidays properties. At over £1000.00 it was extremely poor value for money.




Beautiful Place

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Plenty of room for 6 people and a well equipped kitchen. We'd go back.



We had a great stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice simple cottage we went as a couple it’s simply but comfortably furnished. Cottage is in a great location close to the sands at Kiloran Bay with great walks directly from the house. The cottage could sleep 6 but the living areas would be cramped. It was perfect for us as a couple and ideal for a family with a couple of kids. There are ample tables and chairs outside for sitting out. Steep stairs but one bedroom is on the ground floor. All in all we had a great holiday.



Kiloran Bay Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Kiloran bay was awe inspiring in the sunshine. Watched dolphins play in the bay and seals basking further round the coast. However views from the cottage itself are obscured by maturing trees.



A beautiful spot.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the cottage for 5 days in November and used it as a base for walking. There were only two of us which was perfect, 4 would be fine. 6 would be a squeeze.
Everything there you would need, although some hot water bottles or an electric blanket would have been good. Probably not necessary in he summer months.
An amazing location just a short hop to a stunning beach. An amazing island our second visit this year.




Wonderful but perhaps overpriced for this time of year?

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0

I do think the cottage was overpriced for this time of year. The cottage next to us was empty and the island very quiet. Wouldn’t it be better to lower the prices by £50-£80?
We had a marvellous time after so many wonderful holidays there in the 90’s. Magic




Could do with an upgrade.

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As far as value for money goes, you couldn’t fault it. In saying that, I would rather pay a little bit more, and have better accommodation. The beds were very uncomfortable, as were the sofas, after sitting on them for half an hour, you were beginning to go numb. The overall cleanliness could be a lot better, our cottage was full of cobwebs and a bit dusty. Forgetting all the above, the Island of Colonsay was out of this world, with its stunning scenery, and outrageous beaches that wouldn’t look out of place in the Caribbean. The walks were all rewarding, with non stop views at every point. The locals were very pleasant, and always accommodating. We will definitely visit again, and hopefully the weather will be kinder, but dress for the weather, and get out there and see for yourself. Trust me, you will love it, and won’t be disappointed.



This is a lovely pair of cottages and excellent value for a two family group

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little cottages overlooking one of the most spectacular beaches in Scotland if not the world.



June 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location of this cottageon this beautiful island is unbeatable, so hardly anything else matters. The cottage itself is tastefully restored and has all the comfort needed. The kitchen is well equipped and clean, the bathroom is small but the shower is excellent. The master bedroom is large, light and comfortable. The other rooms are fine too although some of the beds are better suited for young people. We used the downstairs bedroom as a boots room, which was handy. Entering directly from the terrace into the living room means space for shoes , coats and and beach utensils is sparse.
The downstairs living area is a bit dark as to be expected in an old cottage, but the fireplace works well. All in all well worth its money; we had an absolutely marvellous time.




Island cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The position of these 2 cottages Kiloran & Uragaig was perfect for us. Safe garden for little ones to run around. Walking distance of beautiful Kiloran Bay.

Only problem was the stairs - not good for little ones!




Great short break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The great thing about Kiloran Bay Cottage is its closeness to the biggest, most splendid beach on the Island, just five minutes walk away, down a woodland path. The access track is rough and steep, a bit of a challenge in a front wheel drive car on a wet day, but is rewarded by a good elevated view, though not of the beach, as it faces inland. The cottage is comfortable, though quite chilly in May, unless the electric heaters are on or the fire lit. An ash bucket would be good to take the ash outside, instead of using the coal scuttle, and the fireplace a bit tired, but I can’t complain as it all worked well and kept us cosy during our enjoyable stay, which we will doubtless repeat.



The ultimate getaway holidayy

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Colonsay is truly beautiful, quiet and unspoilt. Kiloran Cottage is so peaceful and remote yet right above the incredible Kiloran Bay. The bliss of no television is wonderful. During our most recent stay the weather was awful but we went prepared with books and jigsaws and still had the most relaxing holiday in years, walking the dogs on the beach every day in gales and rain! We will return to this cottage again and again I am sure.



A lovely peaceful cottage close to an amazing beach

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful place to stay. The air is so fresh, smelling of wild flowers that grow by the roads. So near Kiloran Bay we could put on our wetsuits at home & run down to swim at the beach. The newly done kitchen is really well equipped.



Cosy cottage near stunning Hebridean beach captivates customers!

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at Kiloran Bay Cottage as it is so close to the best beach on Colonsay, and we enjoy its traditional style, simple comfort and the recently updated kitchen and bathroom. It might not suit families with small children because of the very steep staircase and because there is now no bath (but a good shower). However we had many happy stays there when our children were tiny. We love having an open fire and the fact that the furniture is not too smart for relaxing when you come in from muddy walks and sandy play - however some punters used to super accommodation in mainland holiday cottages might feel the price is a bit high for the standard of furnishing.