FB Twitter

The Milking Parlour

The Milking Parlour

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 63 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Accommodation Sleeps 11 in 5 bedrooms

Ground floor

Open plan kitchen with breakfast bar.

Ground floor family room with TV, super king-size double and 1 single (zip/link, can be 3 singles on request) with TV, en-suite bathroom with overhead shower, basin and WC.

Ground floor twin with ensuite shower facilities.

Sitting room with dining area, dining table seats 12 and wood burner.

Ground floor basin and WC

First floor

First floor king-size double with TV and en-suite shower, basin and WC

First floor child’s twin (2 x 3ft single beds) with ensuite facilities shower, basin and WC

First floor super-king size double with TV ensuite facilities shower, basin and WC

Outside

Hot tub in patio garden

Outdoor garden furniture to seat 12

Fantastic family weekend - everyone loved it!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we first pulled up I though ‘there’s no way 8 adults & 3 kids will fit in there’. Boy was I wrong, 5 really spacious double bedrooms (our bed was massive). With a big longe with room for everyone. Everything was really high spec as well.
Most of the cottages adjoin but we never heard anything from any of the other cottages. Games room was good for the kids and they loved the space inside.
This is in the middle of nowhere, nearest shops/pubs are 3-4 miles away but there are some nice walks nearby. We picked up the Shropshire way for a short walk and it was so peaceful.
Before arrival you get loads of info and Chloe gets in touch with all the details you need. Freshly baked cake and bottle of wine were a nice touch.
We’re about to rebook for next year - would highly recommend.




Fabulous Break

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a most wonderful week at this superbly appointed property. The family all enjoyed the hot tub and the children especially enjoyed the shared games room. I did have to make contact at one point to report the pool table having stopped working, and it was corrected first thing the next morning which we were really pleased about. The pubs recommended were fabulous too. The surrounding area is so beautiful and the walking routes provided by the property were ideal for us. We will definitely come back. Thank you for a fun and relaxing break.



Great fir Gatherings

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent opportunity for family or friends, to enjoy comfortable accommodation and have both hot tub and games facilities for a chilled day on site when you need a break from all the fabulous walks close to location. Would have no hesitation in booking again.



Fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at the Milking Parlour and as previous years, it was superb!
The Milking Parlour is the perfect place for our group of 10 friends, to relax, have fun and go for great walks. The house has a great layout, it's spacious and yet still cozy with a lovely wood burner. The homemade cake as a welcome gift always tastes fantastic. Lauren, one of the hosts was super helpful and recommended a great pub, not too far for a nice outside lunch.
Thank you team Westhope Country Retreats, we can't wait to come back.




Great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great weekend stay with friends. Lovely to have a bathroom each. Very well equipped with everything. We would definitely return.



A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful cottage, clean, warm and welcoming. Plenty of facilities in the cottage for a large group and we all loved the games room.
The welcome gift on arrival was a lovely surprise. Have already booked for next year!




New Year

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The milking parlour has been restored to a high finish, with lovely huge beds and fully equipped kitchen (although a few spare main dinner plates would be useful). The children loved the games room however beware as on arrival we found out there's a 50p charge for each game of pool. The machine only accepted 50p's so make sure you take plenty! The hot tub has to be vacated by 10pm which is a little early and although we adhered to this rule our neighbours partied till 3am. The homemade cake, chocolate and bottle of wine on arrival was a lovely touch and very much appreciated. The toilet roll provided was a great trip down memory lane of the tracing paper toilet roll you got at school in the 1970's, lovely gesture however take your own. All in all a great property with every bedroom having either an en suite or private access to a bathroom. Over priced for Christmas and new year for what it is however non peak rates seem reasonable.



A lovely Christmas Week

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with our week in The Milking Parlour; there was everything we needed for a family of 9 and we cooked Christmas dinner with the wide range of pans, etc. The cottage was very nicely decorated for Christmas. Customer service was very good, and a special mention for Chloe who went above in beyond in resolving a problem with the main TV remote for us on Christmas Eve, and provided extra facilities for my Mum who has mobility issues waiting for us on arrival, and also very kindly gave us a little leeway on departure time to match our snails pace. The cottage is in a great rural location with some good (if muddy) walks nearby, with great views of Shropshire (on a clear day anyway) - our two dogs had a great time. The games room is excellent and we enjoyed ping pong and pool. The hot tub is very enjoyable too. Although remote, many great locations are in easy reach; our party separately enjoyed short trips to Stiperstones, Ludlow and Montgomery in the week we were there.



What a great find!!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked 3 properties with Westhope Country Retreats; The Milking Parlour, The Turnip House and The Old Cowshed for my wife's 40th birthday. My party consisted of 19 family members ranging from 3 to 73 and two dogs. Every single member (including the 3 year old) commented on how much they loved the properties. Each property was clean, pleasantly furnished, fully equipped, warm, cosy, welcoming and ideal for families. The kitchens contained all of the appliances and utensils you would expect and more - it's not often you find kitchen foil, cling film and seasonings provided by a holiday accommodation. There were lots of nice touches ranging from the welcoming Christmas trees, mince pies and mulled wine to the little doggy treats. There was plenty of activities to keep the family entertained with the hot tubs, a generously equipped games room and a small gym. Whilst there was no treadmill in the gym, there was enough equipment in there for a good workout and the beautiful countryside provided plenty of opportunities to stretch your legs. The final icing on the cake would have to be the staff who were warm, welcoming and hugely accommodating. There is no cellular signal in the area which can be a pain but the provided WiFi is strong and sufficient for internet calls. I thoroughly recommend these properties and will certainly be rebooking.



Third visit to the Milking parlour with family.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is perfect for our family with three generations together over the weekend. Loved the mince pies on arrival with the mulled wine and you cannot fault the facilities supplied. Everything you could want is available. Lovely countryside and no streetlights or traffic. Fantastic



Family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all enjoyed our stay. The hot tub was a great hit with all age groups. Walking in this beautiful area was both an invigorating and restorative experience. We didn't feel the need to explore too much by car as nature is all around you at this venue. Just one or two suggestions for the cottage. We found the lighting in the lounge rather glaring. A little more ambient lighting would have aided relaxation. Also,there were no beer glasses!! The men had to buy there own from Ludlow brewery!! ( A good excuse for a visit!!)



Lovely holiday home

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely holiday home, it was really clean and everything there to make our stay comfortable. The house was perfect for our extended family stay (4 generations).




Fantastic house for a family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd visit to the Milking Parlour for a family get together. The booking process and subsequent correspondence is very efficient and any queries are addressed promptly. The house with all its bedrooms and bathrooms is great for a large party. There are plenty of sofas to relax in and the living space has a very sociable layout. The games room provided great entertainment for the younger members of our party and I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend the accommodation to others.



We had an absolutely wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful time at the Milking Parlour, such a beautiful property in beautiful surroundings. The hot tub was a great bonus, and I had the most wonderful time away with my friends and family for my hen do. Would definitely recommend.

In a very rural location but it had everything we needed to have the best weekend. Thank you for making it so memorable.




Photos and directions

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Sep 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Photos of outside slightly misleading. Looks as though there is grass next to the property when the field is other side if road.

Note needed to not use postcode for property in sat nav, as this takes you to a farm.




Highly recommended. Fantastic place to stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, spotlessly clean. They have thought of everything you could possibly need and topped it off with a delicious welcome cake and bottle of wine. The hot tub was an added bonus to a lovely house. We had an elderly grandparent and a disabled person with us and the property was very accessible to them having two downstairs rooms with two bathrooms. The additional shower stool was much appreciated.



Great Place for a Family get together.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week at the Milking Parlour was the hottest of the year so far. That meant we were able to enjoy the outdoor facilities in the courtyard type garden to the max. Most of the evening dining and a lot of the cooking were done there, making full use of the outdoor dining table etc. It was quite secluded and private despite there being an adjoining property and it was secure enough to prevent the dogs from escaping.
The bedrooms were nice and the beds comfortable and there were ample washing and toilet facilities for a large party.
The lounge easily accommodated us all seating wise and the indoor dining table was ideal for game sessions at the end of the day.
The kitchen was quite well equipped but tight for space which made it difficult for everyone to muck in but apart from that it was grand.
The area itself is very rural so ideal for walks and a slower pace but there are plenty of things to do within a 20 mile radius and numerous historic towns to visit, so something for everyone really.
We did have a couple of issues we needed help with but the response from the management and support staff was excellent and ensured we had a relaxing carefree family break.




weekend 2nd to 5th /july

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have stayed here before Covid- they are coping remarkably well with all the restrictions
it's a very narrow single track road to the venue but the peace and quiet more than compensates
very well appointed and delicious cake on arrival




Very nicely done!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nicely fitted out, lovely furnishings and bedding. Hot tub was wonderful! A delicious Victoria sponge and chocolate bar provided to welcome us! Hosts were very helpful in resolving our one little problem and were very pleasant. Everything you need is provided for and the local area is very explorable. A thoroughly good week away!



The Big Family Getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited the Milking Parlour for a week at the start of June for a big family get together as lockdown restrictions eased. In total, there were 11 of us - 6 adults and 5 children, with ages ranging from 4 to 14.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Westhope country retreats. We arrived with everything ready and waiting for us, including a lovely baked cake and a bottle of wine. Everything we needed was available at the cottage, but obviously bringing the food, condiments, spices we would need for the week. The hot tub was fantastic, along with the bbq which include a cleaning kit and a bbq lighter kit. We did need to bring our own coal for the first time we used the bbq but the hosts do kindly provide a small amount. The children loved the games room which had a fussball table, pool table and ping pong table with numerous board games and books.

The nearest pub is a 3 mile walk and, if you have young children, it is best to walk or find the local public pathways as the roads can get busy. We stopped by at the Sun Inn for some locally brewed ale and then popped to the Crown Country Inn for a lovely lunch. We did need to plan ahead and book for tables but this was most likely due to COVID restrictions.

The surrounding area is fantastic with Craven Arms and Ludlow a short drive away and i would highly recommend visiting Acton Scott farm if you do have a young family.

All in all, a fantastic stay and we would definitely visiting again!




A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. Beautiful surroundings, fantastic accommodation, the little touches of wine, cake, chocolate and milk, thoughtfully provided by Marianne. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitely be back for another stay.



Excellent holiday at Westhope

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spend a wonderful mid week break at Westhope renting both the Milking Parlour and Troopers Barn. The photos don't do the place justice and both properties were beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The setting is beautiful and quiet and the dogs loved all the amazing walks nearby and the kids enjoyed the games room and of course the hot tub!
Marianne was extremely friendly and very helpful with lots of local knowledge. It is a fantastic set up for a group of families or friends who would like to be near each but have their own place. We will definitely be back and raved about it so much that my sister and her family booked one of the cottages just hours after we returned!




The Milking Parlour a beautiful renovation.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Dec 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place as you walk in it takes your breath away, very clean well equipped everyone has a bathroom, the Christmas tree all decorated was a special touch,and cake and wine delicious, in the lovely quiet countryside of Shropshire.



Relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property, perfect location for a total chill out . Very well equipped kitchen with everything you might need or want . Plenty of comfortable seating in the lounge which is good for bigger groups , would highly recommend.



Beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm, comfortable, well equipped and clean. Can highly recommend. The hot tub was beautifully maintained.



Our small group of 4 adults had a very comfortable stay at The Milking Parlour.

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in a larger property that offered limited bedrooms due to COVID-19 constraints - so was excellent value for money for 4 adults instead of the usual 10. The cottage was furnished to a high standard and beds were very comfortable. The games room was useful for rainy days at the start of our stay.
The cottage was spacious for 4 adults but some of the bedrooms and one en-suite were a little cramped, and the kitchen area was small - for a full group of 10 people, space would be tight.
Mobile signal was very poor in the area and the WiFi was limited - as this is a rural location, not surprising but something to be aware of. Overall we had a lovely stay in a very comfortable cottage!




Weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous weekend break in this beautiful cottage.
Everything you need for a relaxing short break. The hot tub was fantastic and the cottage itself was really comfortable and cosy with everything you need.




A wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Milking parlour for my Mum’s 70th weekend. There were 5 adults 2 children and a dog. The cottage was huge, well equipped and spotlessly clean. The garden was beautiful and the hot tub fab. We wanted for nothing the whole weekend and would definitely go back. We loved it. Thank you.



Lovely family break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The milking parlour is a lovely place for a relaxing family break. The facilities we're over and above whats needed for a family of 7. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hot tub was enjoyed after some long, relaxing walks in the local area. And we would recommend the Alpaca walking experience! Would definitely stay there again. Thank you.



Lovely accommodation in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, spacious accommodation with plenty of room for our party of nine.

The kitchen was modern and very well equipped - had everything we needed. The milk, bottle of wine and huge cake on arrival were a lovely touch.

The bathrooms were also modern and clean.

The owners couldn’t have been more helpful. They quickly responded to emails before our arrival and pointed out local walks of various lengths etc.

The cottage is in a lovely, peaceful area and there is plenty to do nearby. Shrewsbury and Ludlow are definitely worth a visit.

The shared games room and mini gym were well maintained and clean.

The alpacas across the road were gorgeous.

We would definitely recommend The Milking Parlour and the extra cleaning that was carried out before we arrived was reassuring during the current climate.




Had another brilliant stay at The Milking Parlour

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All you need for 10 ladies to have a great weekend. Lots of kithenware to do lots of cooking. Lots of bedrooms and bathrooms, so we are not waiting around for showers in the morning. The hot tub is a great asset and we used it loads. The alpacas next door were so cute



Wonderful place for a family gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Mar 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed for 3 nights with family for my 70th birthday. Everyone had their own room and own bathroom which was great. The whole place was clean and plenty big enough. Having a downstairs bedroom with ensuite was great for my husband who cannot climb stairs. The hot tub was a joy for the grandchildren, though in February it was a bit too cold outside to tempt the older people!
Plenty kitchen equipment and fabulous big table to cater for us all. The only negative was that some of the beds were a bit too soft and the sofas were also very soft. But having said that it was a very minor negative with stacks of positives.




Rain couldn’t spoil a lovely homiday

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Although it rained constantly for the week we still enjoyed ourselves. The hot tub kept the children and teenagers amused. We loved the games room. My table tennis has improved but I still got beaten every time by my husband. Lovely dog walks up into the woods and over the hills and lots of space for us and then. Thank you for welcome gifts and essential supplies. Loved the beams and the quantity of toilets and bathrooms! Ann



A superb 50th birthday weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb property - ten of us spent a weekend at the Milking Parlour for my wife’s 50th. Lots of thoughtful touches on arrival (such as milk, wine and a very nice victoria sponge), great layout and fantastic facilities. Dealt with Marianne and Chloe at the site before arrival, their support and advice was spot on regarding taxi and pub recommendations. Overall, very impressed - thanks for a great weekend!



Annual friends weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a group of 8 friends who were seeking a relaxing weekend away...our comments are...wonderful, well equipped, self contained property set amongst beautiful countryside... lovely to relax in the hot tub after walking the Shropshire hills...lots of space to eat, sleep and relax...good communication with owner...



Perfect Christmas house

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the milking parlour over Christmas for a family get together. The countryside is lovely and the cottage was really pretty, complete with Christmas trees.
It was always warm and had plenty of hot water. The kitchen was very well equipped and the owner even provided extra baking equipment when we mentioned that one of our party enjoyed baking. The beds were all clean and comfortable. The hot tub was lovely, very well cared for, even being checked on Christmas Day!
We would highly recommend it and hope to go back again in the future.




A family reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
24 of us stayed at the Westhope retreat. We used the Milking parlour as our “Party House”. It was excellent. There was enough of everything and we managed to produce two evening meals and a Sunday roast for us all.

The bedrooms were excellent, all the doubles were spacious, most had en-suite and the twin rooms were great for the little ones in our party. The games room was an added bonus to entertain the youngsters when the weather changed.

Would recommend a stay here.




Fantastic, beautiful accommodation, in rural Shropshire

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've now stayed here 4 years running and I can highly recommend the Milking Parlour. Beautiful, comfortable, clean rural retreat. We've already booked for next year.



Beautiful property

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at The Milking Parlour. Very comfy, plenty of bathrooms to accommodate everyone, enough sofas for all to sit and a great hot tub. Would highly recommend!



Family Celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our recent stay at Westhope Country Retreats was excellent. Stunning location and extremely helpful & friendly ! I would highly recommend a stay here.



Rental of the Milking Parlour

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in all respects. Veru good indeed. Why MUST i type more than 100 characters. How many superlatives do you want. This is just plain daft but I will gladly fill up the space for you

OK?!!




Reunion weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property worked very well for our party of 7 adults with each couple/individual able to have their own bathroom. Had our 8th member been able to come the 5th bedroom was rather small, but it would have been fine for children.
We ate in and found the kitchen to be very well equipped.
One small inconvenience was that the lighting in the upstairs double bedrooms was rather poor, especially for those who like to read in bed. Reading lights affixed to the headboards would have helped.




Perfect family get together

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Provided the perfect location and environment for our family to come together to celebrate a golden wedding. Ideal room layout for ourselves with our children and grandchildren. Well equipped kitchen for food, and the hot tub and games facilities provided ample and well used enjoyment for the younger and not so young ones. Plenty of pubs in the area providing great food. Not to mention a really lovely post of the country that deserves another visit to explore more thoroughly. Together with the other cottage conversions within the group on site this provides a unique facility in the area for large group holidays from 2 to 50 odd people.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired out the milking Parlour and Turpin house for the weekend as a suprise for my Nan and grandad 50th wedding anniversary and we can not fault a single detail! Everything was absolutely perfect! It was immaculate, there was a lovely treat waiting in each house for us when we got there on top of making sure there was tea and coffee sugar and milk for us as we arrived and plenty of other things also already for us in the cottages to save us having to worrie we didn’t asked they just provided everything, they thought of absolutely everything and I mean everything! , the place was absolutely beautiful in side and out and around , we had the dogs with us so they also loved it and there was plenty of walks for us to take them on , the hot tub was lovely of course, each bedroom and on suite was fantastic! .... we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return with our hesitation, Chloe was fantastic and lovely and helped us with everything we needed to no and was just at the other end of the phone if we needed her , thank you ever so much! We all had a wonderful time and most of all my nana and grandad was in love with the place and enjoyed every minute so thank you very much xxx



Beautiful House

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab stay for our friend Hen Party.
We didn’t have time to go for a walk/cycling but this would be the perfect place to stay for a walking weekend, there was even a tray for your muddy boots at the end of the day.

Wonderful welcome with a freshly made cake and bottle of wine of the table. Made it feel very homely.




An absolute gem

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the fourth stay at Westhope Country Retreats, and each stay has been fantastic. I have stayed at many lodges over the years, however Westhope are the best I have come across.
The cleanliness is excellent both in the house and also the hot tub. Marianne is a fabulous host and the nice touches such as the hot tub being pre-heated for our arrival, a freshly baked cake and bottle of wine do not go unnoticed. It’s also great that we can bring our dog as she loves to stay and enjoys the local country walks. There is a really lovely 5 mile walk to Flounders Folly that Marianne recommended which is definitely worth doing. Thanks again for a great stay - we will be back!




Perfect place for a family/group getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Milking Parlour is a perfect location for taking your family or group on a getaway from it all break down a long country lane to the village of Westhope. Our group of 9 adults had a wonderful time. There was plenty of space for us all to sit round the dining table and relax in the comfy sofas in the sitting room. The hot tub was a huge hit. Our hostess was very friendly and efficient. We had chocolate, wine and a fabulous Victoria Sponge waiting for us on arrival. The house was beautifully clean, lovely and quiet and well equipped. The alpaca neighbours were a delight and we were unaware of the other parties at the property. A brilliant place to spend a weekend break to celebrate a special occasion. We all wishes it could have been much longer.



Perfect for a big group of families

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 of the houses for a big group of families and it was perfect. The houses themselves were all spotless and very nicely finished. There were lovely touches like a home-baked cake and a bottle of wine left in each house. The location is amazing - lots of places for long walks and beautiful rolling countryside all around. I highly recommend a stay!



Excellent stay in the milking parlour

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hot tub fantastic. Beds lovely and comfortable. Loads of room for 10 of us. Flies were a pain but cant be helped. Games room facilities could do with a bit of TLC, table tennis bats were all worn, kiddies snooker one ball was missing and the rest just rolled into the middle so impossible to play, there was no football table even though there was one in the pictures, and should state 50p a game for adult pool as we could of stocked up on change as none was available in games room. Alpaca walk was really good and ladies were superb.Still had a great time and would definitely stay again if visiting that area.



Big Birthday Party

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a huge party of all ages and no one needed for anything. The kitchen was extremely well stocked. Provisions left such as toilet rolls, bin bags, cloths etc were ample and the linen was beautiful.
The hot tubs were easy to use and topped up and treated daily which we all appreciated.
There was one ‘dodgy’ chair which caught out one of our guests but there were so many others available it didn’t matter at all.
The young members of the party really enjoyed the Games Barn which was cosy but only because we were such a big number.




Very happy there

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Found everything very good the kids loved the hot tub and games room the cake left made you feel very welcome.all my party enjoyed there stay there was 10 of us in total



A perfect place for a special birthday celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent perfect.family home and location shame about the rain but loved every minute of the location



A very enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The furniture at theMilkingParlour was all clean and comfortable, the kitchen was well equipped, and the hot tub much appreciated. The lounge is very spacious and the dining table can easily accommodate everyone. The Victoria sponge cake on arrival with a bottle of wine was a great start to our few days stay in early June. We would definitely recommend the Milking Parlour to friends.



Pleasantly surprised in a massive way

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 11 and usually are cramped in the places we go.

Not in this place however, a generous size place with baby gates on the stairs allowing for the children to run free. Plenty on choices for room size and ample toilets for everyone.

Everything was clean, tidy and well equipped.

Upon arrival we were very thankful for the small welcome pack which made the move in very easy to deal with.

The place isn’t too far from Ludlow and what a place to go exploring! A must for anyone who chooses to stay here.

We were very lucky to have three fields full of sheep and alpacas meaning the children had masses of fun watching.

The out doors is well keep and plenty of room for the children to run about. The jacuzzi was a nice way to unwind after the children had gone to sleep.

Would recommend this to any group sizes.

The postcode on the map takes you about 1/2 a mile past the place so just keep that in mind when following the satnav




One of the best cottages I have ever stayed in!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Milking Parlour was the perfect setting for my sister's hen do. It was outstanding in quality with careful attention to detail that is often missing. The size, layout and space was perfect for a large group. We liked the fact that every bedroom had its own bathroom or ensuite, the beds and sofas were all very comfortable and the hot tub was massive! The group of cottages is in a beautiful, rural location yet within easy reach of towns like Ludlow and Shrewsbury. They even offer Walking with Alpacas and afternoon tea experiences.
From the point of booking the owner, Marianne, and her manager were extremely helpful and responded quickly to my emails. The personal touch of coming to meet us once we had settled in was much appreciated.
I cannot recommend Westhope Country Retreats enough and hope to return soon with my husband, family and our dogs.




Perfect stay for family and friends

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a week to celebrate my ‘Special’ birthday. A rotation of family then friends were able to join us. My grandson loved the games room and the hot tub and although he wasn’t quite sure about the alpacas it was interesting to see them at close quarters. We appreciated that the barn is very well equipped and that the facilities were just as we would hope to find. All in all - a very enjoyable and successful stay.



Alpacas!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a happy week with the family over Easter, helped by marvellous weather.
The alpaca farm was a bonus, as one of our granddaughters is crazy about them.




Great weekend break with friends

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we stayed at the Milking Parlour. It’s such great place to stay when you’re with a big group. There was 10 of us and there was ample space! The kitchen is well equipped, all the beds are comfortable, plenty of bathrooms and the hot tub was again the ultimate to our weekend! Thanks!!! We’ll be back.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weekend at The Milking Parlour. The owner was very friendly and came to great us personally. She recommended a circular walk from the house which was lovely. Amenities in the house were great as well as the games room. The beds were very comfortable and the place is very tasteful and clean. It’s a great location not too far from Ludlow.



Excellent location , great facilities , good support

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a group of eight , the facilities were excellent. 4 bedrooms with en -suite facilities were just what we needed. Cleanliness of facility was excellent. Hot tub and gym were enjoyed by our more adventurous members. Plenty of parking space. Overall good value for money



The Milking Parlour

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A good spacious property with plenty of bathroom facilities. Very warm and cosy, lots of activities, and an excellent hot tub. A warm and friendly welcome and welcoming “goodies”.



Beautiful place in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic weekend had by all of the 15 ladies in my party.
The venue was second to none, finding it in the dark was a bit of a challenge though! ;-)
I would most definitely recommend Westhope. The owners were very helpful and the property was clean and comfortable.
If you are wanting to stay connected to the outside world I would say this is not a place for you but if you want to get away from everything to relax and recharge your batteries this is most definitely the place to come. The hot tubs also helped with this :-)




Fantastic house in a beautiful location which was well equipped and with large hot tub.

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
House was well equipped with lots of added extras inc. cake and wine to welcome us. Tea, coffee, sugar, teatowels, dishwasher tabs, washing up liquid, etc so this helped. Hot tub was large and great. Beautiful location near alpaca farm. Rooms were comfortable and plenty of bathrooms/toilets. Living room was large and comfy. Will definitely be going back.