FB Twitter

The Old Cowshed

The Old Cowshed

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.8


Accommodation Sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms

A sofa bed is available to sleep 5.

Ground Floor

Ground floor twin (can be superking sized double on request)

Ground floor twin ensuite facilities, large shower, w.c. and washbasin.

Kitchen

Dining Room with dining table to extend to seat 6


First Floor

First floor king-size double with TV

Sofa bed on first floor landing

First floor Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC.

Garden

Hot tub

Garden furniture to seat 6

Wonderful memories of a lovely family holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely cottage in a wonderful location. Immaculately clean and very comfortable. Welcome package much appreciated and I would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone. We asked for some mobility aids that were in place when we arrived again very much appreciated. Brilliant service.



Toilet Rolls

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Toilet Rolls would be very much better if they were of higher quality. They were far too thin and a false ecconomy as you used more sheets .



3 night stay in April 2022

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely perfect! They have thought of everything to make a stay as enjoyable as possible. The accommodation was well designed, spacious and spotlessly clean. The hot tub was the icing on the cake and much appreciated after long walks in the hills. The location is glorious and there looks to be a network of footpaths to explore so we are determined to come back again !!



Perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really recommend staying here it's beautiful place super clean and in a lovely location for peace and quiet.

We stayed for 2 nights with some friends and our baby. The owners were so helpful before texting in regards to having baby essentials. Everything was there we didn't have to take anything with us (even baby gates if needed). Sending maps for the walks so we could pre plan before we arrived. There was a lovely cake and bottle of wine on arrival.. it was just the perfect stay. The hot tub was the cherry on top of the cake made the stay perfect! We are so grateful




A great find!!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked 3 properties with Westhope Country Retreats; The Milking Parlour, The Turnip House and The Old Cowshed for my wife's 40th birthday. My party consisted of 19 family members ranging from 3 to 73 and two dogs. Every single member (including the 3 year old) commented on how much they loved the properties. Each property was clean, pleasantly furnished, fully equipped, warm, cosy, welcoming and ideal for families. The kitchens contained all of the appliances and utensils you would expect and more - it's not often you find kitchen foil, cling film and seasonings provided by a holiday accommodation. There were lots of nice touches ranging from the welcoming Christmas trees, mince pies and mulled wine to the little doggy treats. There was plenty of activities to keep the family entertained with the hot tubs, a generously equipped games room and a small gym. Whilst there was no treadmill in the gym, there was sufficient equipment for a good workout and the beautiful countryside provided plenty of opportunities to stretch your legs. The final icing on the cake would have to be the staff who were warm, welcoming and hugely accommodating. There is no cellular signal in the area which can be a pain but the provided WiFi is strong and sufficient for internet calls. I thoroughly recommend these properties and will certainly be rebooking.



Fireworks escape

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was all it promised to be, Mr Dudley our Dalmatian has developed a fear of fire works in his later years and this location was ideal. Not a single fire work was heard. The owners even put a message out saying fire works were banned.



Family Gathering

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to meet friends and family. Fresh air and countryside to walk in right on the doorstep.
We’re happy to return next year.




A short stay in the beautiful Shropshire countryside

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in The Old Cowshed - very comfortable, clean and warm! From our doorstep we were able to go directly on long walks. But it was the peace and tranquility that hit us most - on our first day we went for a 3 hr walk and saw 2 cars!! All we could hear was bird song - a total joy.



Choose this accommodation. You won’t be disappointed

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for 6 nights. The company itself are highly professional and provided detailed information and followed-up, in stages, as the date for our stay drew closer. The videos and photos provided were wonderful but reality of the beautiful accommodation super ceded. Extremely spacious, well-equipped, lovely and warm (even without the heating on), light, airy, clean and homely. We had a chance to speak with the a housekeepers, who were so helpful and allowed us to look around another property, which had been vacated. During the warmer months, the lovely patio area, provides outdoor dining, BBQ and privacy. The file of further information on the surrounding area is up-to-date and includes, restaurants and other amenities within proximity, as well as farther afield. There is even a number for a local mechanic, should you need one! Above all this, it’s the tiny details, too many to mention, that have been thought about. Trying to think of some little detail or item that had not been provided, almost left us beaten….. perhaps a shoehorn for boots Thank you Westhope, for a wonderful stay. We thoroughly recommend you and we shall certainly be returning.



Comfortable accomodation well placed for walking on wenlock edge.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage was very clean and comfortable,as the weather was very hot,maybe management could think of less heavier duvets,
13.5 tog in hot weather is too much!!!




Great holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage with ample room and everything clean and fresh. Nice little peaceful garden area. Really enjoyed our break



Lovely for small families

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Cowshed. Perfect property for a small families. The games room has everything you need, plenty of games to keep you entertained.



Well equipped house

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cosy house - lovely furniture, well equipped kitchen and excellent bathroom facilities. We will book again.



Lovely cottage, great stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and excellent facilities. Greatly enjoyed our stay including cake and bottle of wine on arrival.



Good location for walking

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable and spotless cottage. Great walking on the doorstep. A good welcome package made us feel very welcome



Our Second Visit

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Apr 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As before, a friendly welcome and we had a great four nights. It's an ideal place from which to explore the beautiful local south Shropshire countryside on foot and by bike. There is a safe place for the bikes and care taken to provide boot scrapers and a tidy place to store them. Being there in the Spring was very refreshing; we were so lucky that local pubs were opening up too.

Everything worked well and a way has been found to retain the homeliness and comfort but not compromise Covid safety requirements. The cottages feel as if they are well managed and their design makes the most of old beams, woodwork and bricks.

It was great this time to sit out in the evening sunshine and enjoy a glass of wine - a nice contrast to the christmas lights when we visited in December.




A perfect countryside, dog and child friendly break.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Detailed information provided before the holiday, we were quite clear about what we needed to take and what was provided. Easy to find the place and once we were there we were very impressed with the cottage we had booked. Extremely clean and has everything we needed. It was perfect for us, three adults, two children and two dogs. Everywhere was very clean and there was cake, wine and chocolate waiting for us. A great base to explore the surrounding area. Highly recommend.



And a Poinsettia too

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely welcome on a grey mid December afternoon. Not only a twinkling Christmas tree but a beautiful red leaved poinsettia too (and that was not all).

The cottage was beautifully appointed with everything we needed and so warm. Covid aware, but in a sensitive and sensible way.

Lovely countryside to walk and cycle with, even in ‘Covid times’, pubs and restaurants with good fare and ales on the way.

Curious alpacas in the fields across the way to pass the time of day with and a great host, Marianne. Thank you.




Good location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was beautiful, spotless, comfortable and in a great location. Great welcome pack. We will return as soon as we can. Thank you to Marianne who was so helpful.



Lovely weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a great weekend that would have been enhanced with a hot tub in the garden. The property was beautiful.



Perfect relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was beautiful set out well with everything you need, the area was wonderful the dogs loved it, it was very clean the owner should be proud of what she has achieved, she is friendly and very pleasant to talk to, we will be going again next year



Excellent stay. The property was more spacious , and better equipped than we could have hoped for.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks for an excellent stay. The property was more spacious , and better equipped than we could have hoped for.



Amazing place!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, decorated to very high standards and has everything you would need. Nothing has been forgotten here.
The welcome baked goods and chocolates made you feel at home from the minute you arrive.
Peaceful, nice surroundings and lovely nearby towns.

Would book this again without a doubt!





Just perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect little cottage, warm, cosy, clean and comfortable. Such lovely touches like the tasty lemon drizzle cake and the wine made the visit. We hope to be back again.



A wonderful and peaceful time at the old Cowshed

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful and peaceful time at the old Cowshed, very comfortable, warm and lovely furnishings throughout. The owners have done a great job and were friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend these lovely cottages



A weekend visit

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean welcoming and very well equipped.
The countryside is beautiful and we had dry weather so we’re able to get out . The games room is a great feature for those wet days.




Craft holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic as always so comfortable
Quality top notch
very comfortably
Value for money
Looking forward to our next visit




The Old Cowshed

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect stop over. Spacious and well equipped. Lovely walks. Wish we could have stayed longer. Quality furniture and fittings.



Ideal for families with young children

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The family really enjoyed the open plan living rooms. Ideal for 2 and 4 year olds. This was a light and bright and comfortable cottage.



My Happy Place!

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful location in a very beautiful, quiet part of Shropshire. Lovely accommodation with all home comforts and welcoming staff. Dog friendly, with great walks. This is our third return visit and is highly recommended.



Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used this as a base for walking the Shropshire hills. It is a brilliant cottage in a superb location, very comfortable and spacious.