FB Twitter

The Turnip House

The Turnip House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 32 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Turnip House: sleeps 6 in 3 Bedrooms

Ground Floor

Open plan Kitchen, Diner and Lounge

Open plan fitted kitchen with dining area to dine 6

Sitting room to seat 6 with TV/DVD, Freesat

Ground floor room super king-size double (zip/link, can be 2 singles on request), en-suite facilities with separate shower, basin and WC.


First Floor

First floor king size double with TV and DVD

First floor twin

First floor bathroom with bath, over head shower, basin and WC


Outside

Hot tub in patio

Outdoor garden furniture to seat 6

Idyllic country retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The turnip house is an excellent property on a great complex. You are aware that there are other rental properties in close proximity but this didn’t spoil our stay. It would be great if you had a large group who wanted to rent several properties. House was clean and well presented as well as being well equipped. The welcome package of wine and cake were greatly appreciated.

Communication wasn’t great as I sent a couple of queries via email before our stay and didn’t receive replies however my requests were taking into account so this wasn’t a huge problem.

Location was great but it was a 5-10 drive down narrow roads in all directions. This wasn’t a problem for us though, we loved the location. There were lots of good walks direct from the complex. It is very close to wenlock edge, literally 200m across a field opposite via a footpath. We enjoyed visiting Long Mind and several good pubs and farm shops in the vacinity. I recommend the steak from Wenlock edge farm shop, it was delicious! If you are arty there is actually an art college within walking distance in west hope which does some fun looking day and half day courses.

The hot tub was a definite bonus and this was regularly checked and serviced. House was comfortable a well equipped. The only quibble was the tv in the lounge which was a bit eccentric always turning on on sky news and you had to scroll through all the channels to get anywhere. But we didn’t come to watch tv so wasn’t a big problem. Shower downstairs was excellent with great water pressure.

I would definitely book again.




3 family holiday in two cottages ( also wain house)with dogs and all enjoyed!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 grandparents, 4 parents and 5 children aged 13 to 6 and 2 dogs: we all enjoyed Westhope Country retreats which are in beautifully and tastefully, also practical, farm buildings and all well maintained. Excellent parking too. The setting is rural and beautiful. Well equipped and the hot tub and the games room with an amazing number of activities were favourites. We loved visiting local countryside ( Caer Caradoc, Long Mynd, Stiperstones) and local attractions eg Acton Scott, Stokesay, Ludlow. Long narrow lanes but easy to get to places. Our one or two concerns were dealt with as soon as possible. Thank you .



A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, everything was perfect. Beautiful surroundings, fantastic accommodation, the little touches of wine, cake, chocolate and milk, thoughtfully provided by Marianne. We had a wonderful weekend and will definitely be back for another stay.



Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent

.




Great Break!

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Marianne and family for a great stay. The cottage is very well appointed and we really enjoyed the hot tub, games room and lovely walks near by.



Amazing cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at this cottage/barn conversion the accommodation was beautiful and had everything we needed! The wine, lemon cake and chocolate left by the host was a lovely touch! The Christmas tree was also a lovely surprise!
I would highly recommend a stay here and would definitely return! :-)




Really lovely little cottage in rural location with lovely hot tub

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time at the turnip house. It is a beautiful little cottage and in a great location near to plenty to do. The hot tub was a highlight too. We would be happy to go back and might try a bigger cottage for a bit more space!



Half term break

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at The Turnip House. It was a very spacious, clean and well equipped cottage. There was a delicious homemade cake, chocolate and milk on arrival which was great. The hot tub was easy to use and a lovely treat every day. The weather wasn't great so the games room was an added bonus which my children loved as well as many different board games and DVD's to borrow too. We did the Alpaca Experience which is situated next door which was lots of fun followed by an afternoon tea. A great birthday treat! We would definitely love to visit again.



Excellent weekend.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a fab weekend with family celebrating our daughters 30th birthday. It made up for holidays cancelled this year. The hot tub was brilliant.



Peace & quiet a long way from the bustle of life elsewhere

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The two weeks we spent at the Turnip House was excellent . We had comfort, and all the facilities one could wish for. The directions from Sykes were not helpful but those from the owners very good.



Lovely stay in Shropshire

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, plenty of space for four adults and two children. Everything we needed for a comfortable stay.



Fab week away

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage with an excellent hot tub that was enjoyed by all. Perfect space for the 6 of us. The alpaca experience is definitely a must. The wine and cake upon arriving was a lovely little touch. We hope to go back soon.



Perfect country getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at The Turnip House and really couldn’t fault it at all. The cottage was immaculate and everything you could need was catered for including a freshly baked cake on our arrival! The hot tub made our break even better and the English weather was good too! Situated in a peaceful rural location but not far from the towns and villages we enjoyed visiting during our stay. There are plenty of walks right on the doorstep which we enjoyed exploring every day.
Communication before our stay was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this cottage plus any of The Westhope Country Retreats - they all looked amazing!




Excellent 5 night break at The Turnip House

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic family break after being in lock down. Having had 2 holidays postponed we booked to go to Wales only to have that cancelled too. Determined to have a break we found this gem. From arrival to departure everything was perfect, no one wanted to leave. Exceptionally clean, comfortable and all the amenities you could think of. Friendly owner provided us with information felt more like a friend than the owner. We went on local walks including one with the adorable Alpacas, definately a worthwhile experience. We visited local national trust places and played in the games room. During the eve I v relaxed in the hot tub..
We were that impressed we will be booking a cottage with them early next year.




Extended family visit

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked two properties - Turnip Cottage and Troopers barn for 17 people. Including 9 children. All excellent. I cant comment on the location - storm Dennis and the rain meant we didnt go out much! Only criticism - poor selection of games. Usually in these sort of holiday lettings (we do this a lot!) there's lots of games/dvds etc. so I dont take much and we enjoy something new. Otherwise everything was excellent.



Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our week there very much, it was a clean and very comfortable. The hot tub was brilliant and the grandchildren loved the games room. Would stay there again.



Christmas 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Dec 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fresh mince pies and a Christmas tree on arrival! Hot tub was lovely after a cold walk! Lovely place the games room was good fun and the alpacas were too cute! We visited some lovely neighbouring villages, Church Stretton and Ludlow. Highly recommend if your seeking some relaxation away from the city



Great stay in a cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, much larger than expected. Visited in winter and were so surprised at how warm it was. Excellent kitchen facilities, would definitely recommend.



Family reunion

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 5 staying in Turnip, it was cosy comfortable accommodation. As we were part of a large party of 24 staying at Westhope, Turnip gave a little bit of pease for those who wanted a little down time from the little ones.

The bedrooms were well provided with cupboard space, bathrooms great. The bedrooms upstairs were in the eves and so for the taller people in our party it took a couple of bumped heads before they learnt to duck!!

This barn works very well if you just want a property for a few of you or like us part of a large group. It works well in that you can connect to the milking parlour next door by opening the back gate which makes going between the two barns easy.




Turnip house

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely stay on the whole. Spacious clean attractive warm accommodation. A few niggles: no instructions for the oven, the microwave turntable doesn't turn. the upstairs toilet flush is faulty, upstairs twin bedroom, bed opposite window is lumpy, We didn't seek to get these put right, just wanted to get on with our holiday. If the owners had visited us on the first day we could have told them.
Grateful for the treats supplied on arrival, very nice touch.
Would return.




Good Facilities and Comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really good 3 night break with 14 family members in various cottages
Lots of space and good layout.
Cake and other provisions appreciated
We would have liked a bath robe or another towel for the hot tub
Shampoo and shower gell would have been a nice touch
The cupboard under the stairs had a strange smell to it and we had problems getting the oven to work properly( may have been operator error) but instructions would have been good.
We are likely to book again




A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautifully restored cottage which myself and 5 friends had the pleasure of for the weekend. Cottage was clean and spacious and the hot tub was awesome - a great weekend had by all!



Perfect set-up for big groups of families

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 of the houses for a big group of families and it was perfect. The houses themselves were all spotless and very nicely finished. There were lovely touches like a home-baked cake and a bottle of wine left in each house. The location is amazing - lots of places for long walks and beautiful rolling countryside all around. I highly recommend a stay!



Just what was needed

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect place for a large family celebration. Lovely to have a hot tub and well equipped cottage. Plenty of parking too. Lovely for walking and sightseeing. Games room an added bonus.



Home comforts

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot fault anything about this property.Had the most amazing long weekend with 5 pals.Made to feel at home and nothing too much trouble.All came home feeling fully revived and relaxed. Looking forward to visiting again soon and will recommend to all.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Come back year after year 10 years now,always a pleasure. Peace and quiet in lovely accommodation in a beautiful rural location.



First class break at a perfect getaway location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous stay and wish it could have been longer. Wonderful fully equipped cottage in a beautiful location. Tasty lemon drizzle cake included in the welcome pack was lovely and plentiful for the party. Marianne was very accommodating with our party needs and anxious to ensure that we had all we needed for my disabled husband which was much appreciated. Everyone loved the hot tub too. Would definitely go back.



Excellent for families.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the third cottage we hired. Excellent for families. Everyone enjoyed the accommodation and the group of cottages together we're ideal for a large group with ages 11months to seventy!



Holiday stay with home comforts

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent from booking our stay to arrival adding the extras cake wine and chocolates.on our arrival Marianne called in to check all was ok and showed us how to use the hot tub and guide us on how the oven worked. Chloe on booking even measured the entrance step as my mother has limited mobility. Having the shower chair and commode allowed mum piece of mind at night. The walk in shower was the same as home so she had no worries there.
We will recommend and return.Thank you Marianne and Chloe for a lovely relaxing stay




Early week to start year

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay on all fronts!
Accommodation lacked nothing in the cottage.
Paved private patio very good, kept our small dog safe and secure. By all accounts a fantastic hot tub and shower out there.
Inside, spacious bedrooms, two bathrooms, tv’s with crystal clear reception. The list goes on.
Definitely recommend to anyone.
The final touches where Mrs Manley has welcomed us with complementary wine, home made cake etc. capped it!!!




Our week-end country retreat.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoying complimentary red wine, lemon drizzle cake and maltesers, relaxed me and Denise within 15 minutes after moving in our belongings! Feeling totally relaxed is a tremendous tonic and love the Hot tub! Love this secluded country retreat.
Allan.




Beautiful place in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic weekend had by all of the 15 ladies in my party.
The venue was second to none, finding it in the dark was a bit of a challenge though! ;-)
I would most definitely recommend this Westhope. The owners were very helpful and the property was clean and comfortable.
If you are wanting to stay connected to the outside world I would say this is not a place for you but if you want to get away from everything to relax and recharge your batteries this is most definitely the place to come. The hot tubs also helped with this :-)