FB Twitter

The Wain House

The Wain House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Accommodation Sleeps 6 in 3 bedrooms

Ground Floor

Ground floor kingsize double with ensuite, separate shower, basin and WC.

Kitchen/diner to dine 6

Sitting room to seat 6 with Smart LG 43″ TV with Freesat and Amazon Alexa.

First Floor

First floor double

First floor twin (can be super king sized double on request)

Bathroom with bath, separate shower, basin and WC.

Garden

Hot tub in patio area

Garden furniture toi seat 6

Would recommend

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the peaceful location. Had a lovely week away with family for my husbands 60th. Hot tub fantastic. Any query we had was dealt with immediately, don’t hesitate to ask . Kitchen quite compact.



Not the first time.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth time of visiting and not disappointed. Usually stay in turnip house so slightly different this time but still lovely.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic break with friends for two friends 58th birthday. Hot tub was a great add.
Service was second to none as a couple of issues with internet arose during our stay but this was dealt with immediately.
Clean and tidy with all those little extras that made it perfect




Lovely break with family

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location ideal for visiting Church Stretton, Ludlow and Craven Arms. Well equipped with everything you could need for a peaceful break. The games room, gym and hot tub fantastic. Manager Chloe excellent any problems sort quickly and efficiently. Myself and my family all had a wonderful time and will definitely be going back for another stay.



A lovely relaxing break.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Feb 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was done out to a high standard. Great location for walking, we did all the walks supplied in the cottage. Hot tub was fabulous after a day walking. Games room and gym an added bonus. Would highly recommend.



House not ideal for 6 adults

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Oct 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, well equipped, comfortable beds, good smart TV.
Kitchen layout difficult. Could be better lighting arrangements. Either too bright or too dark.
Needs sharper knives. Measuring jug has lost all graduations.
Occupants of downstairs bedroom can hear a lot of noise from upstairs.
Not great for tall people.
Better recycling arrangements and dog poo bin needed.




A stunning second visit

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at the wainhouse and it was as perfect as last year. Thank you to everyone who made our holiday simply perfect.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great holiday loved the hot tub the house was amazing very comfortable every thing you need, lovely country side ,very friendly staff



Mini moon with the family

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the wain house for 4 nights for a mini moon, myself, my husband and 2 children had not been away in so long so this was our first break. All I can say is what a beautiful place to pull up to. Check in was so so easy and exactly as the emails stated, there was no fuss whatsoever. My teenage daughter is autistic and going anywhere, even for the day can be a challenge for her. Westhope cottages could not have done more to ensure our stay went smoothly and as stress free as possible for her. All the amenities inside the house were amazing, the teabags, milk and cake were a welcomed surprise after the car journey here. The hot tub was also amazing, so clean and we all enjoyed using that every day we were here. The mattress in the downstairs bedroom where my husband and I stayed was a little less comfortable than we are used to but that is personal preference and would not stop me coming back here in the slightest. The whole house had been cleaned so thoroughly which made us feel safe in the current situation with COVID-19. Absolutely love love love and can’t wait to come back again!



Wainstone cottage stay

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is quaint and little touches home made cake wine bits essential s very good on arrival due to good way from shops and can be a bad travel round thin short winding roads for a few miles and if another car coming which do a lot and very fast can be a unpleasant experience would not do it in the dark. The area is beautiful but to go anywhere you need to travel for people walking/hiking brilliant but with small children wouldn’t advise not lots to do the cottage itself had lots of cobwebs dust a lot laid around pillows seen better days bathroom floor very slippy (dangerous) in fact on marble floor the bedroom s far to hot for a comfortable night sleep if u open the doors 100 of flies come in, fridge light didn’t work but we still had fun the separate games room is fab touch I would advise anyone staying there if wanting to go somewhere put in sat nav before leaving the cottage don’t get a lot of signal in the area means you go further to get to places until you find a signal



Lovely relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was so well organised by the management. It was very special to stay at Wain House where we stayed to celebrate my 80th birthday in May. Excellent accommodation comfortable beds, kitchen facilities were adequate when we invited guests to my birthday party. Look forward to visiting again soon.



our stay 2nd to 5th

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we have stayed here before Covid- they are coping remarkably well with all the restrictions
it's a very narrow single track road to the venue but the peace and quiet more than compensates
very well appointed and delicious cake on arrival




A lovely luxury retreat in the heart of rural Shropshire

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful sunny week with each day winding down in the gorgeous hot tub.
Excellent wifi connection. Would thoroughly recommend




Great location for relaxing family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable house, well-equipped and located in a beautiful quiet valley. Lots of fine walking on the doorstep and not far by car from the prime beauty spots of Caer Caradoc, Carding Mill, Long Mynd and Stokesay Castle. Also Ludlow within easy reach.
We were not satisfied with one of the mattresses but on reporting the problem a replacement was provided within two days,
The children enjoyed the hot tub and games room and the layout of the site made it easy for the children to make new friends from the other cottages.




Weekend break at Wain house

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Lovely welcoming gifts which was a nice touch ; would stay longer next time as there are lovely places to go nearby. The hot tub was amazing and really made our stay fabulous , great time had by all .



A much needed break!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to The Wain House twice before, last years visit was cancelled so this year was so much more enjoyable. We will be back again. Not just the cottage but the lovely peaceful countryside nearby as well as easy access to The Long Mynd for stunning scenery and great walk. Also, the local town of Ludlow is wonderful.



Wonderful relaxing place to stay - home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 4 days, beautiful location (quite remote), excellent, homely accommodation. Host was just so lovely. Welcome pack on arrival, much appreciated. Would definitely recommend.

I would recommend going down to Craven Arms and then back to Westhope rather th turning left at Church Stretton




Wain House

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We booked this property because with the games room & hot tub it looked perfect for our 3 teenage children.
We were very disappointed not to have been able to move the date, as due to covid restrictions only myself & partner could go, as 2 kids were in lockdown at uni and 1 was told by school to self isolate.
Consequently we didn’t use the facilities & left on Sunday morning to get back to isolating teen hence I don’t feel we had value for money.





Great respite

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Upon arrival we were welcomed with cake wine and chocolate which was a very nice touch and straight away made me feel relaxed.
The Wain house ticked every box that we required for our stay with our dog.




Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our stay at The Wain House. The wine, chocolate and home made cake was a lovely touch and the cake was delicious! The cleanliness of the house was superb, especially given these troubling times. I would recommend this place to anyone who’s looking for a nice break from the city or even just to get away for a few days for a change in scenery.



Staycation

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here as a group of two adult couples in September 2020. We had a great time and enjoyed ourselves, making full use of the hot tub and the beautiful countryside around. Couple of downsides, it is quite far out in the middle of nowhere which was ok for us but might put some people off. Also we would recommend the owner puts some coasters on the living room and provides some fly spray as there were flies everywhere, particularly upstairs. Otherwise a very lovely stay and we would love to return.



Leaving the madness behind

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we approached the wain house what a wonderful sight a country house in the middle of nowhere
Creature comforts with the countryside around us
Beautiful




Very clean and well presented cottage loved the hot tub and views

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage great views clean and well presented with lovely hot tub and excellent games room for kids and adults to enjoy would definitely recommend this place to anyone superb



Family weekend together.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location. Very tastefully decorated and furnished. Private garden with hot tub was super. A nice surprise welcome cake and wine on arrival was a lovely personal touch. Within easy distance of Ludlow, Craven Arms and Church Stretton.



50th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an amazing weekend celebrating my husbands 50th birthday. Lovely house, location and hot tub.



Value for Money.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good quality fittings, excellent support from the management, full range of cooking utensils, and equipment. The central heating and bathroom facilities, very good.

The only misleading information, was the distance to the nearest public house. It was a 15 minute DRIVE away.
I have given an Excellent rating for the directions to the property, but I used a road atlas!!!




Short getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved it. The house is beautifully decorated and the little extras were a nice touch- especially the lemon drizzle cake. It was amazing. Thankyou



Amazing!!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing gem of a place.
We all thoroughly loved our stay.
My daughters loved the hot tub especially.
Location is brilliant for easy access to all amenities (need to take the car)
Owner was great too and when we reported the hot tub controls was broken it was repaired within 24hrs.
We even got cake and wine on arrival.
Can’t wait for our next visit.
Also beds were so comfortable and cottage so well equipped.
Thanks for having us.




Fanfastic

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very quiet, hard to believe that there are 3 other cottages in same location. Will be back next year



Perfect for a big group of families

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 4 of the houses for a big group of families and it was perfect. The houses themselves were all spotless and very nicely finished. There were lovely touches like a home-baked cake and a bottle of wine left in each house. The location is amazing - lots of places for long walks and beautiful rolling countryside all around. I highly recommend a stay!



Birthday break away

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous week away with you celebrating our 30th. The stay was so relaxing and enjoyable. The surrounding areas are so beautiful with lots to see and do. Thankyou we will be back



Good place for a family get-together.We

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We looked for somewhere suitable for a family get-together for 3 generations gathering from Kent and West Yorkshire. We wanted somewhere a bit special as we were celebrating our Golden Wedding Anniversary. The Wain House proved ideal. The hot tub was popular and the games room was used by some family members. The location was ideal, the scenery stunning and there were interesting places within easy reach.



A comfortable getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable getaway in beautiful countryside yet within reach of Ludlow. The cottage was beautifully clean and full of character. The welcome package was most appreciated as was the hot tub at the end of a hectic day.
Watching the Alpacas each morning was such a treat.




Recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very pleasant,plenty to do if weather is not in your favour, what with the games room and gym, hot tubs a great idea and very soothing, didn’t get to go out with alpacas as we were working.The cottages are well laid out and would recommend to anyone to book with you if they got the chance



Good accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable cottage. Minor problems were quickly sorted. Everything needed was provided.



A second visit to this wonderful cottage.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quite delightful cottage deep in the Shropshire countryside yet only 10 minutes drive from the town of Ludlow. One of the highlights is the unspoilt, starry night sky as viewed from the lovely hot tub. This really is a gem of a cottage.



Wain House stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is lovely.Marianne made us very welcome and there was a homemade cake,wine and chocolates on our arrival.The hot tub was the best ever.It was a lovely place to go walking from,we liked the quiet secluded spot.
Although pubs & shops were a car journey away we did not mind that,it was a lovely stay all round.