FB Twitter

Achalic Beag

Achalic Beag

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Lovely stay in great cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay - the cottage had everything we needed, was warm and comfortable with lovely views.

Caroline from Macclesfield stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in April 2022


Cosy cottage and stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fantastic week’s holiday at Achlaic Beag. The location is just amazing with 360 views of the hills and field from every window in the house. Lambs and highland coos made it even more entertaining. Really well placed to go to some wonderful places such as Kerrera, Lismore and Easdale. The Barn is great for food and a wonderful welcome and it’s a nice easy 20 minute walk. The cottage itself was fab. The comfiest beds ever! Wood burner was lovely to have and made it even cosier. Furnishings nicely done and everything there.. apart from a Pyrex glass jug which would be very helpful for cooking. :) it was a wonderful cottage to come home to and we will most definitely be back! Thanks to Gemma for great communication and to Charlie the owner. See you next year!

Robyn from Lewes stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in April 2022


A great stay in a lovely comfy house. A really good place to stay as a base to explore the area.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely stay, comfy, clean and lovely and warm. A really peaceful place and such a beautiful valley to explore. It’s also a great base for exploring Kerrera and Lismore.

Heather from Keswick stayed at Achalic Beag for 5 nights in April 2022


Wonderful last minute stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had to make an unexpected, last minute dash up to Scotland for a few days, and we were blessed to discover this beautiful property. It's situated in a very convenient & peaceful position, down a lane yet close to Oban. It's much bigger on the inside than it looks on the outside, the beds are very comfortable, the property is clean and everything you need is provided for your stay. It's very warm & cosy and we hope to return. I also wanted to mention that West Coast Cottages are a fantastic company to deal with, Gemma was an absolute star in helping us arrange our stay. We had actually booked with another property company who was unable to provide an extra nights stay that we required, but their customer care skills were quite poor so we decided to look elsewhere for a different property altogether - which is when we found West Coast Cottages. You can tell they are a family run company who genuinely cares about the service they provide & the customers who contact them, they're lovely & super helpful. I would recommend booking through them - and I also wouldn't hesitate to use them to advertise & manage a holiday property if I had one to rent out - thank you Gemma!

Guest from Colwyn Bay stayed at Achalic Beag for 4 nights in March 2022


The perfect stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I originally planned to stay for 7 nights but I extended by 2 days because I just didn't want to leave.
The house is in a perfect location and is much larger than I had expected. The kitchen is excellent, fully equipped for every culinary opportunity and there is a large kitchen table that can accommodate 6 people easily.

The living room is very comfortable and spacious with a wood burner fire. I only lit it one night as it was just so warm, despite the rather changeable and cold weather.

There are so many places to visit within easy reach and I recommend this cottage for anyone who wants to enjoy a luxurious stay in an idyllic place.


Anne from Harrogate stayed at Achalic Beag for 9 nights in February 2022


JUST ABOUT AS GOOD AS IT GETS

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it a real gem, was truly so sad to leave. The owners provide a home to share and it felt like home from the moment we arrived the lovely smell of the Christmas tree, spotless clean comfy furniture, we just fell in love with the house, location and the heavenly peace.
Forgot to write a review in the guest book, a return visit without question with a promise to wax lyrical.

Best wishes for the New Year
Ann & Nick Cunningham


Ann from Enniskillen stayed at Achalic Beag for 9 nights in December 2021


Spacious House in Idyllc Location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable break. Ideal for our two dogs (large utility room fitted both crates!). We will be back!

Tim from Aberdeen stayed at Achalic Beag for 4 nights in October 2021


A lovely spacious house in a beautiful peaceful setting..

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achalic Beag is a lovely spacious house in a beautiful peaceful setting. It is very well equipped with comfortable furniture and lots of kitchen equipment. We had amazing weather and were able to eat at the outside table overlooking the valley, as well as feasting on red currants and blueberries out of the ancient fruit cages! ( with permission..)
We really enjoyed our week there.


Sheelagh from Sutton Scotney stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in August 2021


A very comfortable cottage ideal for exploring Oban area

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable holiday with our 2dogs, the cottage was very comfortable & well equipped in a great location for exploring the Oban area. Would definitely recommend to a friend.

Anne from Marlborough stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in June 2021


Lovely cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very relaxing week here and were fortunate enough to be there during lambing season!

The cottage was very comfortable and clean with everything you need. It’s located in a beautiful valley with plenty of walks straight from the door, but also just a short drive from all the amenities of Oban.


Michael from Prestwich stayed at Achalic Beag for 10 nights in April 2021


Gemma replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much Mike for your lovely review, always a pleasure having you :-) look forward to having you back at the end of October. All the best, Gemma

Best Christmas EVER

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided as a family of 4, 18 and 21 YO kids & 2 dogs to step away from the norm this year (prompted by covid and all extended family/friends excursions cancelled).
THIS IS THE BEST thing I have ever organised! Points to note when I hope you too go to stay here.
1. First of all -covid! We were booked to arrive 21 of Dec, two days from the country being advised to stay at home. We live in tier 2 so going to another tier 2 we thought was justifiable. We did not plan anything as we thought we would take whatever we can get and also very conscious to be considerate of the locals and their health. My in laws have a small holiday cottage in the north of Scotland and we know how the locals feel about visitors during covid. WELL OBAN was MARVELOUS. We went to The Taste of Argyle and the Fishmonger at the pier the first day to purchase as much provisions as possible. BOTH were welcoming and happy to see us. We visted Tesco and Lidl and again felt welcome. We had a meal out Christmas Eve and Cuan Mor which was great and we were welcome. The kids had a “sesh” on the 23rd in one of the local pubs and they LOVED it! We used Spice World for a takeaway on our first night and they even went to the shops to bring us drinks. IT WAS SO GOOD WE USED IT AGAIN ON OUR LAST NIGHT- Ask for Sonny!!! Oban was beautifully decorated- it felt safe and I cannot THANK the locals enough for their hospitality. We will be back but our kids fell in love with it and will most defo go back.
2. Gemma at West Coast was AMMAZZZZINGGGG! Throughout the entire covid/deposit worrys she made us feel safe with our money. Gemma pointed me to several shops/restaurants and most of all gave me contact details for the local vet as our dog is quite poorly. She was on hand within seconds for anything I could of wanted.
3. The cottage was PERFECT! Its much bigger than the photos suggest. Having two grown up kids who need space, wifi, playstation, and beers etc can be hard to accommodate. We had plenty of space. The owners/decorators have thought of EVERYTHING. From the utility room, space saving hooks, washer, dryer, dishwasher, windows, and linens I could want for nothing!!!! Two things guests should know are:
a) The water is tinted with peat. I read this in the reviews before so I was aware. I also live in Scotland and know this is not uncommon. We washed in it, we drank it. Its not a thing at all but if you are not familiar with it you should know so you know its ok. Just don’t wash your whites in it. :o)
b) The bath tub is fab, but its not a big relaxing adult aromatherapy spa bath. (the shower pressure in it is also poor- BUT the UPSTAIRS SHOWER IS A HYDRO WONDER SHOWER!) The bath worked for me after a long pour, to warm up from a long walk. It’s more a good size for a child but hey it does what it says on the tin! I’m not lying though, the shower upstairs is to die for!
4. My son met the owner on a dog walk one night and raved about how nice he was. We knew he was close by in an emergency but my husband, daughter and I never saw him.
ALL in ALL-
The cottage was PERFECT and well big enough for 4 adults and 2 dogs.
The garden is huge and totally secure.
The scenery is magnificent. Travel to Oban took less than 10 mins. Lots of walks from the door.
I am honestly a very picky person as I have worked in hospitality for many years. I usually have to move furniture even in a hotel room for one night. This was perfect in EVERY WAY!!! I cant praise it enough!!!!!!!! Please go and enjoy!!!!!!
We will be back and hope to visit The Barn which is near by (shut by covid) IT LOOKS MARVELOUS! AND HAS FAB REVIEWS!


Stacy from Aberdeenshire stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in December 2020


we enjoyed staying there, home from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what else can I add!! I love being at the West Coast and the Oban area is just beautiful. The wood burning stove was providing great warmth with a very efficient system. The kitchen is well equipped, if anything it lacks a lemon squeezer, yes, I know!!

The pictures on the walls were frequently squint, which will have come from cleaning the House in Covid Style and I started to wonder if the rules and regs say that one must clean also the pictures on the wall for this virus. It does, however not self-propel and maybe some rules and regs are a bit ott re this virus:))) We loved, however, being in this place. Thank you


Martin from Aberdeen stayed at Achalic Beag for 5 nights in December 2020


Gemma replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Martin, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, so glad you enjoyed your stay at Achalic Beag and we hope to welcome you back again soon. kind regards, Gemma

Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful break at Achalic Beag.
The cottage is so clean and well thought out.
If we needed anything we had a quick response from the manager.
It is in a great area for exploring - new to us.


Gerard from Aberdeen stayed at Achalic Beag for 4 nights in November 2020


Perfect quiet location

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, very quiet and great views out of every window. Had a lovely time in the area with sunshine most days. Found the cottage very clean, comfortable and warm. Very small thing no washing tablets or liquid which they did say would be provided and they didn’t seem to be a main house key left in the property so we used the key in the key safe.

Rebecca from Richmond stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in September 2020


Holiday Stay September 2020

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well appointed relaxing holiday cottage fully equipped in a quiet scenic location. An ideal base from which to explore the Argyll and Bute costal area.


Lindsay from Chorley stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in September 2020


Family week at Achalic Beag

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely week at Achalic Beag. The cottage is very warm, comfortable and extremely clean. The kitchen is well stocked, the beds are comfortable and the utility/boot room was brilliant for dumping boots and walking gear before entering the rest of the house. The location is great, less than 10 minutes into Oban but on an extremely quiet, rural road leading down to the Loch. It felt very secluded which is just what we wanted. There are wonderful views and the almost continuous call of buzzards overhead. Lots of deer to be seen on the drive down the road to the cottage and a short walk down the glen buys you beautiful Loch views as well. We had a great time.
Booking was very easy and efficient with all emails answered very promptly. Thanks West Coast Cottages, especially Gemma.


Emily from Riding Mill stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in August 2020


holidays 2020

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous cottage in the middle of Lerags Glen, fair distance from the sea, and not really swimmable. The local area is stunning with plentiful wildlife, we saw eagles, deer, oystercatcher, herons without trying. Hiking access is a little uncertain, as lots of closed off pastureland. All in all a relaxing peaceful place to rest and recharge, weather is of course Scottish.
The few problems we had were swiftly remedied by charlie, thanks


Richard from Bridgend stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in July 2020


A truely wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This would have been our second visit. Unfortunately this recent visit was cut short due to CV-19. We will be back without fail. A truely special place.

Charles from Bath stayed at Achalic Beag for 14 nights in March 2020


Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like peace and quiet but don’t want to be too far away from Oban this is the place for you. Beautiful cottage, well looked after with spacious bedrooms and living accommodation. The kitchen is well stocked for self catering and the utility room is a godsend for drying wet boots and clothes in the unpredictable Scottish weather. It is well placed to explore the beautiful west coastline. We ate at the barn bar one evening which was lovely but cooked for ourselves most of the time. There is also a barbecue which i don’t think is mentioned on the website info. There are several supermarkets 10 minutes drive away. There is a washer and dryer in the utility but one thing to point out is that the water is quite discoloured (brown), which is explained in the information available in the cottage, so not good for washing light coloured clothing which I found to my cost. We would definitely return if visiting this area again

Janet from Sedgefield stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in July 2019


Achalic Beag

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage. Well appointed and comfortable. Stunning views from every window. Ideal location to explore Oban, the islands and the lochs and glens of Argyle and Bute.


Louisa from Bexhill On Sea stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in June 2019


Two Day Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely property surrounded by beautiful scenery . Pretty secluded, great for a short break. Would recommend.

Peter from Edinburgh stayed at Achalic Beag for 2 nights in May 2019


Great location, comfortable cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and i stayed for a week with our 2 year old son. The cottage is spacious and beautifully decorated, with wonderfully comfy beds, lovely furniture and a cosy log burner. It was a home from home - we had everything we needed, including washing machine and tumble dryer, and lots of practical things for staying with a toddler (high chair, bath mat, nightlight) as well as a fab selection of bedtime stories.
The kitchen is well resourced and we could easily and comfortably cook meals at the cottage.
The location is the really amazing thing - we could walk, jog or cycle along the quiet road past fields of lambs and horses, down to the marina, or go for walks in the hills from our door. The local pub is a half hour walk away over fields, and does pub grub. Even though we felt we were in the middle of the secluded countryside, we were just a 10-minute drive from the centre of Oban, which has great seafood restaurants, supermarkets and shops, and ferry access to the islands - we went on a day trip to Mull. A brilliant, active, comfortable family holiday spot!


Fiona from stayed at Achalic Beag for 7 nights in April 2019


Idyllic Highland cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Achalic Beag is a beautiful cottage with plenty of space and a fabulous setting. The bedrooms are both very spacious, the master in particular, and the kitchen had all the bits and pieces we needed for a week of cooking (in terms of equipment I mean). The stove is lovely to have in the living room too and was really nice to snuggle up in front of. Would recommend staying to anyone.

Hannah from stayed at Achalic Beag for 1 nights in March 2019


Cottage by beautiful sea loch

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A bit of a find! Remote and beautiful cottage, sheep all around, but town and shops (M&S Food, Tesco, Aldi) an easy 10 mins drive, local bar and restaurant up the road (walkable). Particularly like the large boot room as you walk in can sit on a pew and leave walking boots here, put any muddy things straight into the washer. Also excellent WiFi = everyone happy. Very spacious sitting and bedrooms, log stove, kitchen stuff high spec and lots of it. V comfy beds, blackout curtains and blinds, some wild weather one night but very cosy inside. All in all highly recommended.

Lynda from stayed at Achalic Beag for 14 nights in February 2019


Perfect, spacious, clean and warm cottage in a stunningly beautiful spot.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in this fabulous holiday cottage – beautifully situated in a quiet spot yet just a few minutes to town for daily essentials and a few luxury treats! The cottage is deceptively spacious with large bedrooms, kitchen and lounge and is very clean and comfortable. The furnishings and beds are very good quality and luxurious with thick curtains making for a restful night’s sleep. The kitchen is very well equipped and has nice personalised touches which make the place seem quite homely, unique and special. Another highlight is the nearby Barn Bar, which is an easy walk away for a drink or supper – particularly lively on a Friday night! All in all a great place to spend a week or longer as there’s lots to do in the local area and the cottage is a great place to just sit and unwind by the fire. We had a great stay and will definitely be back next year – we can thoroughly recommend the place.

Chris and the Wilson family, Perthshire


Chris from stayed at Achalic Beag for 9 nights in January 2019