FB Twitter

Tabernacle Cottage, Birdham

Tabernacle Cottage, Birdham

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.4


Tabernacle Cottage is a charming yet modern house in the popular sailing village of Birdham, just 4 miles from historic Chichester.

Need instructions

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage in super location. Unfortunately we were not give full instructions to put on the immersion heater, so cold showers!! (actually the instructions were confusing even when we got them)
Can’t fault the cottage though, fab place. Could only be bettered by adding a bbq.




Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied 25 days ago
Thank you for your review! We are sorry about the lack of hot water for showering, if we had been made aware of this we would have asked for a plumber to come out and fix this for you. We hope you enjoyed your stay at Tabernacle and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Excellent Location

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was excellent, wonderful views of Birdham Pool and the Marina just outside the door.
Easy to walk through to the amenities of Chichester Marina and fabulous coastal walks.
The house was very comfortable, modern and well furnished. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely outdoor space to the rear.
We'll certainly be back.




Very clean, modern and spacious property

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Tabernacle Cottage between house moves just before Christmas, and it was perfect for us as a family of four with two young children. The property is spacious, especially the downstairs open plan living area which is perfect when keeping an eye on two kids from the kitchen area. The modern high-spec kitchen was also great and we had pretty much everything we needed. The agent advised that the property did not have a high-chair or travel cot, so we brought our own - that's the only suggestion we would have in terms of something to add if staying with young children. Upstairs the bedrooms are both a great size, bathrooms really nice and very comfortable beds. We know the area well so took advantage of the nearby marina for walks and breakfast/coffee from the Boat House Cafe.

Overall a really lovely property which offers great value for money.




A brilliant property in a brilliant location

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here during lockdown when we were in between moving house. It was fantastic. The house was really comfortable, everything you could possibly want. Very modern, stylish and the location was as good as you could get.



Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 nights at the cottage in September 2020. It’s a relatively new conversion of a boat yard building and finished to a high standard and v much to our taste. Bright, open plan, warm, airy. Showers are v powerful and, although not strong, WiFi was good enough for videoconferencing. Easy parking.

The location is excellent for access to Chichester and the Witterings. Loads of walking on the doorstep (including a 10 mile circular route via the Itchenor ferry and Bosham. The excellent pubs in Itchenor and Dell Quay are en that route and well worth a visit! Book the Crown and Anchor in advance). Some easy cycling too on the Salterns Way. The Beat House cafe at Chichester Harbour is near and serves food all day.

I struggle to think of anything that wasn’t perfect other than not having a view out over the waterfront (which would probably have doubled cost!). The boatyard at the rear was v quiet when we were there but it is close.





Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you again soon. Henry Adams Holiday Cottages

Comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage in an area with many lovely walks around the estuary.
Walk across the lock to the Boathouse for food and admire the many boats moored and sailing.




Henry Adams Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future. Henry Adams Holiday Cottages

Tabernacle Cottage - August 2019

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was not easy to find (we drove past it twice) but Henry Adams staff helpful over the phone. Tabernacle Cottage was comfortable and well put together with good quality fixtures and fittings. Main issue was the bad drain smell in the upstairs double bedroom which was particularly noticeable over night when using the bedroom. This needs investigating and sorting out because it detracted from an otherwise good stay. Neighbours had a rather loud party on one evening which included loud music played until after 1am. Cottage is adjacent to a working boat yard and they start work early so be aware of associated noise. A lovely location close to the sea with lots of good public footpaths easily accessible. Overall a good stay and would recommend to others.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving your review. We do wish you had bought to our attention the bad smell in the double bedroom, we would have liked to of got this rectified as soon as possible for you. Tabernacle Cottage is advertised as being in Birdham Marina, so noises from the boat yard can happen, however, we have never had another guest mention this before but thank you for letting us know. There are plenty of lovely footpaths from Tabernacle Cottage and we are pleased you got to enjoy this during your stay. We do hope you book with us again soon.

Great accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good accommodation, we enjoyed our stay in tabernacle cottage. Approximately 10-15minutes from west wittering Beach



Another great stay

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Birdham as it’s so close to Chichester Harbour, the yacht club and it’s near our boat that’s moored in the harbour. The cottage offers a great base to cook and sleep (as we can’t all fit on the boat) and the house has real character as well as being very modern inside. A couple of fans in the bedroom would be good as it does get hot this time of year. Cycling is wonderful as is East Head beach and we managed a trip to the cinema which was really close by that also has bowling and lots of restaurants.



Great stay at Birdham

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family own a powerboat in Birdham but keen to sleep in a proper bed with some space to cook and relax I opted for a cottage. Tabernacle was a fantastic option, centred in the marina it had everything we needed. It was in pristine condition with some home comforts such as soft blankets for cold evenings, books and dominos. The kitchen was well equipped and it felt brand new. The beds were comfortable and heating easy to control. I’d definitely rebook again. It’s on the Salterns path and very close to the Yacht Club, I loved being so close to the water and lake with swans and wildlife. A third bedroom would be ideal but a sofa bed (in case needed) might be a good edition for an occasional extra visitor.