FB Twitter

Altvaid

Altvaid

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.6
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.3


Altvaid, Harlosh is a three bedroom traditional croft house with stunning views of MacLeods Tables on the west of the Isle of Skye. There is a cosy lounge with log fire, a well appointed kitchen, family bathroom and a double room on the ground floor. Upstairs there is a double bedroom and a twin room. The holiday home is surrounded by a mature garden which has superb views.

A no- go for vacation!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This cottage is in a very desolate condition, in each room! And on top dark bed-clothing and towels to cover.



I&HCottages replied 14 days ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are getting in touch with the owners and housekeeper to make sure everything is OK for future guests at the cottage. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is apprecaited.

Fantastic little cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and well equipped, lovely views. The location is great - a good base for exploring Skye. Comfortable beds, kitchen has all we needed. We were left bread, milk, butter and teabags which was a really nice touch.



Wonderful base to explore Skye

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Altvaid with three children and two adults. There was enough room for all of us. The cottage was well equipped and the view spectacular. We were very surprised to find bread, milk and butter in the fridge. Thank you very much!



Quaint, Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Altvaid with another couple. The value was amazing compared to other properties we looked at through Airbnb, B&B’s and hotel searches. The cottage was very clean and comfortable. There was plenty of space for four adults to visit but also have privacy. The fully equipped kitchen was nice to prepare our own meals, especially since the cottage is some distance from a market or restaurants. The bathroom and bedrooms were also really comfortable. The land surrounding Altvaid is stunning! We loved walking the hills and watching the sheep graze. The prettiest sunset we saw was from Altvaid, overlooking the ocean inlet. Lastly, we rented the cottage through Islands and Highlands Cottages and I can’t speak highly enough of their company. They provided lots of information before we arrived and arrival and departure were seamless. I will absolutely be checking with them first for our next Scotland stay!



Skye cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our week at Altvaid! It was comfortable, clean, had all the basic amenities we needed and a spectacular view of MacLeod Tables.



Lovely week in a beautiful part of Skye

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We travelled with 4 adults and 2 dogs. The dogs loved the big, fenced off, garden and we loved the location of the house and the views over Macleod's Tables. It was so quiet and peaceful, only sheep and birds were heard and the occasional car but with the road being a -more or less - dead end meant that there was very little traffic. We lit a fire most evenings and found the house spacious enough for 4 adults. Six adults would feel a little cramped. Bedrooms and bathroom were very clean and we appreciated little details such as dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid, washing powder, cling film, loo rolls, hand soap, books, games, Xbox etc. The kitchen cupboards felt very greasy on the outside and when we were looking for a lost item and took off the sofa and chairs' cushions we found a treasure of 'stuff' hidden underneath. An appointment card dated 2015 told us that these cushions probably hadn't been removed for a good while. The previous tenants had left some dishes unclean and the coasters in the living room were stained but over all these were just small things - although we'd preferred them to be clean of course. The location was perfect for exploring the far end of Skye but Portree and Carbost were within easy reach too. We'd have loved to stay longer!



I&H Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and will look to rectify and keep these comments in mind. The house has recently gone through some building work and the owners would like to apologise if any minor cleaning details were overlooked. Thank you for your visit and we are pleased you had a good time in Harlosh.

Nice location but...

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Several issues regarding our stay at Altvaid, the major one being rats which was confirmed by pest control during our stay. Even tho the owners refunded us £200 at the end of our stay we feel more could have been done to improve our holiday. Generally in a poor condition with easy fixes (eg rotten floor in bathroom, oven grill knob not working, hoover not working to name a few) could be made to improve the holiday home. Would be cramped living conditions if 6 people were staying, we were a party of 4 which felt comfortable.



I&H Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Altvaid. The owners have dealt with the issues raised and the property is currently having a new bathroom installed along with a general upgrade. The suspected rats turned out to be a pine marten who has now vacated the property. Thank you very much for making us aware of this so that we could resolve it quickly. It was greatly appreciated.

Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed this cottage. It's cosy, nice, properly equipped, it has everything you may need or even more. The beds were really comfortable.
WiFi is much better than expected at such a distant location.
It's really in the middle of nowhere, but this is not a problem, it just gives the place a unique atmosphere.