FB Twitter

Ewen's House

Ewen's House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Ewen's House, Staffin, is a cosy detached cottage on the Trotternish Peninsula overlooking Staffin Bay and the Quraing. There is a twin and a double bedroom with a family bathroom, a snug lounge and kitchen / diner. It is perfectly located for exploring the Trotternish Peninsula with numerous walks in the area including the Old Man of Storr, the Quiraing and Rubha Hunish, the very tip of the Trotterish Peninsula.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So pleased to have found ‘Islands and Highlands’ as this was the best holiday we’ve had on the Isle of Skye over a period of 12 years!
Website information and property gallery is excellent and most informative. The detailed description is highly accurate and the process of booking/paying/receiving relevant documents and receipt etc, was so straightforward. An extremely efficient and friendly team made the transaction ‘a breeze’
Thank you so much, we look forward to booking our next holiday,




A good place for two/three people as a holiday base

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with my mother and it was the right size for us, especially as it was all ground floor. (Though it would help with accessibility if there was a handrail alongside the steps up to the cottage.) The view of Staffin Bay was wonderful and I wanted to take it home with me. In general, the cottage contained what we needed for a good stay (the heating/solar panels? were a little noisy) and it was clean and welcoming. The location is in the north of the island and took just over an hour from the bridge; day trips out did involve a fair amount of driving to reach some of the attractions, although this wasn't a hardship for us given the beauty of the scenery!



A trip to the lonely planet

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
In one word “Awesome”...me, my wife and my son wanted to explore Isle of Skye. We stayed for 4 nights in this beautiful cottage. It was extremely clean, well equipped and situated in a stunning location. We enjoyed every moment of our stay here and will definitely come back! We found little bit difficult to find the cottage but that is because we arrived late in the dark.



A wonderful home base.

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the cottage for a 4 day stay to act as a homebase to explore the Isle of Skye. It was a clean cottage that had all the amenities including a dryer. (It rained a lot on our trip). The view from the cottage was great and it was a nice location to explore the northern part of the island. The only negative thing was the beds were too hard for me and my husband. Otherwise it was a grat overall experience.



An amazing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful place to stay. Beautifully clean and well kept accommodation. Well equipped kitchen with everything you need to cook decent meals. Highly recommended



Excellent place to experience Isle of Skye, Trotternish Ridge and Quirang

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Ewen's House for a week (July 2018) after two previous stays at neighboring Alan's House in 2016-17. It is an excellent home/base from which to experience the Isle of Skye and the Trotternish Peninsula in particular, especially if you enjoy hiking out/about most of the time, like we do. There is so much to see, do and experience on foot from your front door or after just a short drive. And everyone we met was unfailingly helpful and welcoming particularly the housekeeper(s) and Tick, a local Australian Shepherd, who greeted me like a long lost friend and who I look forward to greeting again next year!



We had a wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really great stay at Ewens House. The service was awesome while the week. We had a little problem with the wifi, because of other costumers and at the same day the very nice housekeepers Steven & Carina visited us and solved the problem. Furthermore we booked directly via islands&highlands cottages and solved up to hundred pounds compared to regular booking sites. We definitely recommend the house and the service. Besides the location is 10 minutes away from the beach, where we were able to enjoy stunning sundowns :)



A fine nest

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewen's house was fantastic. A perfect location for a beach walk and getting to places in Skye. Rent it!



As always a wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house, wonderful location, friendly service and reservation for next year in preparation ;-)
I hope to see Stella again...




Great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our first trip to skye and Ewen's cottage was a superb place to stay, giving the opportunity to travel easily in all directions.
Double bed could have been a bit comfier and TV reception not the best and wifi sometimes problematic but all in all it was lovely and we'd go back.




Far from the madding crowd.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and warm cottage with first class views over Staffin Bay. Great place to stay for exploring the north of island.



I recommend for all comers.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a short holiday with my family. I made a booking called last minute and was not mistaken. The service that I received was consistent with the description and I'm completely happy.



An excellent holiday base

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The accommodation is very conveniently arranged and very well looked after. The views are superb.
There is a thriving community in Staffin, including the shop and cafe.
Thanks to Steve for showing me how to operate the microwave! I would have found a written note helpful.




Ewen's House, Staffin Bay. A pefect place for wildlife watching and walking.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Ewen's House. The property is close to the sea so brilliant for watching wildlife and we were lucky enough to see sea eagles, gannets, black throated divers, guillemots and an otter in Staffin Bay. Perfect base for exploring the Trotternish peninsula with the Quraing on your doorstep.



superb cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
All was on top during our stay. This is a very useful and clean cottage with à beautiful view and well situated.



A small but nice cottage with a wonderful location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With our family, four people, we were lucky enough to have chosen this cottage in Staffin. The location and the view just fantastic. The cottage itself seemed newly renovated, with a very nice bathroom. There was everything we needed. Even tea and sugar were available. We had 5 very nice days there and can only recommend this cottage.



Great house in a great location!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
It's all there for a great holiday. We were there with 3 people and the rooms were great. The internet works very well. The only weak points were the noisy noise of the heating and solar system, as well as the defective DVD player.



A good base for exploring

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ewen's house is true to the publicity photos, with a great view across to Staffin Island. It is spotless, compact and comfortable, ideal for a couple or a young family. It provides a good base for exploring Skye, particularly the North and for taking the island at a slower pace. On warm and breezy days, eating out on the terrace is a real pleasure.The caretakers, Steven and Carina, were very helpful when a small fault arose.
Suggestions for improvement: a non-slip bath mat should be provided and it would be helpful if information could be sent in advance about the local shops and the Coop in Portree, particularly for those arriving late after a long journey. Although we approve of the use of solar panels, the heating system tended to wake us up as the sun rose and triggered the system, which was very early in July.,




Beautifull views

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed a week in the cozy cottage. Heating was on and working well, although the one in the living room wasn't easy to adjust. We had a lot of good weather and could often use the ouside picnic table and enjoy the fantastic view. We also enjoyed walking to the sea shore. Cooking spaghetti (we are italian) wasn't easy as the pans provided were too small, but we experienced pasta cooking by microwave and that was fine. A weak point was the reception of mobile telephony and the lack of Internet.



I&HCottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving the review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will pass your comments onto the owners. Feedback is always appreciated so thank you again! The owners are trying to get internet into the cottage but there have been delays with this. Therefore we don't advertise the facility at the moment. However we hope this will change soon!