FB Twitter

School House

School House

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.2
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.3


School House, Dunan is an historic semi-detached cottage on the waterfront on the Isle of Skye. It has a double and a twin bedroom, family bathroom, a well appointed kitchen and a superb lounge. The views over to the Isle of Scalpay and along the coastline are stunning. There is access to the pebble beach from the garden and there is private parking.

Fantastic views!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House has a nice location (seaside) and a good terras. Condition of the house is fine but it lacks a coffeemaker. The kitchen is a bit small to sit with 4 people. Minor ‘problems’.



Wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have a wonderfull time at the school house, everything was there and it was save for the dog.
The setting is beautiful we loved it




What a beautiful place!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really great time at this lovely, cozy, charming and comfortable old School House! We especially enjoyed the great location which was central on the island, near the main road which you didn't hear that much. There's a steep hill to drive to access the property, but it's manageable. The beds were comfortable and the House had almost everything we wanted and needed (except for a coffee machine/french press). We were really impressed with the great service of Islands & Highlands. Our highlight of this house is the amazing view over the Loch that you can enjoy all day! Thank you so much for this great cottage, we would love to come back someday!



A few issues, but promptly dealt with

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Being near a main road and only about 15 minutes from the The School House is in a great location for seeing the sites of Skye and the mainland.
We did have a few issues with the cottage while we were there, most of them niggles (like a drawer front coming off), one of them the fault of Scottish Water, and we really struggled with the steep, gravel track in our little 1.2l car. However, I understand that the track is due to be tarmaced this summer. Once that's done I'd be happy to go back - but until then, I think it would be best to park at the top of the drive.
Islands and Highlands were great at sorting out our issues and I would have no hesitation in booking another cottage with them.




Honeymoon on Skye

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the School House for our daughter and her husband for their honeymoon. As a family we had holidayed on Skye for numerous years during our daughter's childhood. The owner and the staff of Highlands and Islands couldn't have been more helpful before whilst we were trying to sort things out for them - they really did go above and beyond - and on their arrival they found a bottle of bubbly and a congratulations card waiting for them, which was a lovely touch. Thank you!

They were both very pleased with the condition of the cottage, it was very clean and tidy, the bed was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked (utensil wise - which can be a downfall of some holiday homes!). The location is just beautiful, with a gate out onto the shoreline and stunning views from inside the house. It is in an ideal situation to tour around Skye, just minutes from Broadford for any provisions you might need, and they managed to visit lots of familiar haunts, including Camus Malag, Torrin, Portree and the Waternish peninsula, amongst others.

They would stay here again without a doubt. And we can't recommend Highlands and Islands staff highly enough for all their help.




Great location and picturesque maybe not quite polished

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location very picturesque and in the centre of the island. Not many places you can get the best of the mountains, exploring, wildlife and the sea. Also near to the main route across the island but you can't actually really hear the road. We live normally in a quiet house and the nearby road didn't bother us in the slightest. Good layout inside the house. One twin room and one double room. Very nice new bathroom although shower could be better. There were a few things missing like the grill grate for the oven and the racks didn't fit the oven properly. Also I think it is the colour of the doors and the one locked "private" door that gives the house a bit of a spooky feel?!
These last bits really aren't major points and after an issue with the bed breaking the agent and owner VERY quickly arranged it to be fixed and promised to look at the oven etc. A very slick relationship.
We were very chuffed with our choice for the week and think you will be too.
After a long days exploring we struggled to find a cafe or pub to just chill and enjoy the views so we went back to the house, turned the chairs round so they looked over the loch and chilled out there. Perfect! Not many houses could do that!




lovely house in lovely location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really enjoyed our stay. The house is comfortable and cosy, in a lovely location by the shore, great for watching passing wildlife. Saw seals, herons, curlew, oystercatcher, shag ,goosander.Beautiful views from living room and bedroom.
However, some issues with cleanliness : hair in bath plughole, mould growing on plate in microwave [the interior of which also needed cleaning due to food spatter], dirty kitchen cupboard by fridge , which had numerous mug rings. Not sure how such things can be missed...
We also felt the kitchen lacked a few basics, ie handwash, kitchen roll, a drainer for plates, cutlery etc, as it felt a little precarious balancing washing up.




I&H Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your kind words Julie. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the School House. Your comments in regards to cleanliness and lack of a few kitchen basics have been taken into consideration and the owners appreciate your feedback very much which helps improving the cottage.

A week in "sunny" Skye in a beautiful cottage in a super location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is in a stunning and well centred location for exploring the whole of Skye, which we did.
Facilities of cottage were excellent everything you needed was provided except for maybe an axe to cut the wood as was too large to fit in multi burner stove. All rooms had a view and the view from the beach was brilliant. Was told from previous entries in guest book about wild life you can see but the best we got was herons but we were out exploring Skye more than we were in the cottage but I'm sure they are (otters)
We will deifinately be back next time we are up in the area. (feel free to share this review in the guest book as we never had a pen to fill in an entry)




A stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a very comfortable cottage in a stunning position and well located to tour Skye. A little more attention to detail would have made this perfect.
Well equipped and really quiet.
Would highly recomend.




Room with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a nice week in Old School House, situated directly on the sea. a very calm and comfy place. Inside and outside you find erverything you need. Beautifully furnished. From each room (beside the kitchen) you can see the sea.