FB Twitter

YOB: The Brew House

YOB: The Brew House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.8


Charming city centre luxury apartment situated in this historic award winning brewery conversion. The wonderful high ceilings and large windows give the apartment a real sense of space and light. The master bedroom has an en-suite shower room, TV and king size bed. The twin bedroom on the mezzanine floor is served by the bathroom in the entrance hallway. A stylish kitchen and dining area leads to the delightful living space with TV, radio /audio system, telephone and ample seating on comfy sofas. With only the shortest of strolls to the Minster, the apartment couldn't be better placed for all the culture, entertainment, museums, restaurants and cafes that York has to offer. There is secure courtyard parking for one car. Complimentary welcome hamper of local produce on arrival.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice apartment, clean, comfortable and in great condition. Fabulous location with parking, just minutes from Minster and all of York’s many restaurants and cafes. A welcome hamper and courtesy phone call from owner were much appreciated. Definitely would return and recommend.



Christmas 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in these wonderful apartments and it did not disappoint. The location is perfect for exploring York; there is plenty to do and it is all on the doorstep. The apartment is very tastefully furnished and beautifully decorated, very comfortable, warm and well equipped. The hosts made us feel really welcome with a fabulous pack of treats and some lovely Christmas touches which were very much appreciated for our first experience away from home at Christmas, thank you! We loved our stay and would definitely like to return again.



Angela replied 189 days ago
Just delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Happy New Year!

A beautiful apartment in the heart of York

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was finished to a high standard. It was beautifully clean, warm and comfortable. The location is superb - just a few strides from York Minster. The conversion of the old brewery is elegant and stylish.
We were welcomed with a lovely food basket and there was even a lit Christmas tree.
We thoroughly recommend The Brew House, and hope to return soon.




Angela replied 203 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will visit us again.

Another wonderful stay in York

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Hop Store in March and wanted to return to York for the Christmas Market. This time we stayed in the Brew House. Nothing can be faulted about these beautiful apartments in the centre of York. The decor, fixtures and fittings are all first class. Once again the welcome basket was a real treat and the phone call from John checking that everything was to our satisfaction was well appreciated. We will certainly be returning and look forward to our stay at Fieldhouse Farm in April and June next year.



Angela replied 205 days ago
We're delighted you have found us and look forward to your stay with us at the coast this coming year.

Our home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed many times in this apartment and we always look forward to returning. It is so comfortable and well equipped and the location is second to none - central but so very peaceful. Have already booked to stay again in 2020. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in York except at The Okd Brewery.



Angela replied 241 days ago
We are always delighted to have you stay with us. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Short Stay in York

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time visiting these apartments, first time in this particular one though and loved it once again. Can’t fault any of it especially the location which could not be any better.



Angela replied 247 days ago
Thank you for your continued custom and your lovely review.

Long weekend in York

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful base to explore and enjoy York and Yorkshire. Extremely high quality accommodation right in the centre of the city. One problem we had was swiftly and satisfactorily resolved. Would love to live there



Angela replied 254 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed staying in The Brew House for a long weekend.

A happy holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual, the apartment was first class. Clean and tidy and warm. Perfect, central location for exploring York.



Angela replied 276 days ago
Thank you for staying with us again and for your lovely review.

Highly recommend.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location for visiting the beautiful city of York. Luxurious, comfortable apartment with the additional bonus of secure parking. Highly recommend!



Angela replied 289 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Wonderful Year After Year

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this apartment for a two week period during September for the last seven years. I guess you can surmise that we think it is great. And you would be 100% correct. The location--inside the city walls, a stone's throw from the Minster and all the great streets and shops in York--cannot be beat. Plus, a two minute walk from Goji--the best vegan/vegetarian cafe anywhere. The apartment is on a short quiet street, is spacious, with soaring high ceilings, great natural light and cross-ventilation, extremely well appointed and every appliance you could possibly need. The owners--Angela, John, and James--know how to run a truly first class operation. They are friendly and super responsive and accommodating. We are already booked for next year, and have given them our dates for 2021. In sum, we think it is a complete winner.



Excellent

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very very clean couldn’t go wrong it was a great place to stay well worth the money would totally recommend it to everyone
Thank you




Angela replied 308 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review. We look forward to your next stay .

Brew House with everything on tap

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying in the Old Brew House for a weekend in York.
The location was perfect with the Minster literally around the corner and everything within walking distance.
The building itself was secure as well as the onsite parking.
The apartment was clean, fresh and welcoming.
I would definitely return for another visit.




Angela replied 319 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we do hope you return again.

It’s the little things

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our stay at the Brew House was Great for location & generally a great apartment. But unfortunately there were a few things that could have been better before we arrived. A small cupboard door was not attached & was left leaning against cupboard, the noise from the boiler & other services on the mezzanine bedroom was quite loud at night, the shower head in en-suite kept sliding down when wet which was a bit annoying. These are little things & to be honest did not spoil our holiday.
The one thing that was annoying was the noise from people in apartment above walking about especially at night, i’m Sure it was the same for apartment below (sound insulation between floors not the best) On our last night stay the apartment below played loud music which eventually stopped at midnight. I banged on the floor to no avail. I did not confront them as would have wound me up & then would definitely not sleep & it was our last night.
These points are relatively minor but it’s the little details that can make the difference.
Overall a Great place to stay if you want to see York




Angela replied 353 days ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post your review for The Brew House. We confess to be a little puzzled by your comments about a 'cupboard ' door being unattached. We can only think you are referring to a blank kitchen panel with a spring-type fitting which occasionally seems to invite the more curious guests to see what it conceals. My guess is that this popped out - it was certainly attached when the housekeeping staff left just before you arrived, as our son went through the property to inspect it, prior to your arrival. A simple push to the spring clip secures it easily. The combi boiler was replaced this Spring and is on a manual setting to allow guests to choose their preferred temperature. You also mentioned noise from the apartment above and the one below and this has surprised us. Since we began holiday letting in The Old Brewery (from 2011) this issue has never really arisen. We have ourselves stayed in all three apartments and have found them to be quiet - occasionally one can hear a few footsteps from the apartment above, but this is unusual and perhaps part of apartment living that has to be expected and most of us can tolerate. We are sorry that you found noise to be intrusive during your stay.

Fantastic apartment in a great location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Old Brewery. The apartment was very easy to locate and parking was fine; spaces were wide enough to actually get out of the car and unpack the boot without any trouble. Having a lift to the first floor was perfect for my elderly mum. The apartment itself was spotlessly clean, spacious and airy; we particularly liked the Juliette balcony which was a real asset in the warm weather we had during our stay. My daughter and I slept on mezzanine level, which was a good size space. There are curtains and blinds to block out light in the lounge/kitchen area and a screen to pull across to provide privacy if required, so sleeping on mezzanine level was just like being in a ‘proper bedroom’ really. There is en-suite in the master bedroom and the main bathroom has a full size bath and shower over the bath. The lounge area is bigger than it looks in the photos and the sofas are comfy. A lovely welcome pack awaited us and there was plenty of information about things to do in York. Ogleforth leads to the Minster and is an historic lane. It’s so close to everything, but very quiet. As you walk out of the Brewery gates and bear left (to the Minster), there’s a left turn at the end of the road and an intriguing and very old hotel ‘Grays Court’ which offers afternoon teas. We didn’t try it, but it’s top of our list for next time! We mostly ate out at ‘Little Italy’, which is a right turn out of the Brewery gates and left at the end of the road. Excellent food and very reasonable prices. All in all, our stay at The Old Brewery surpassed expectations and it is definitely top of our list for where to stay in York. I



Angela replied 361 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in our apartment in The Old Brewery.

Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend in York in this great apartment. The location is brilliant, literally a 3 minute walk to the Minster but on a very quiet road. The place itself was spotless and with everything you could need. Plus a very nice welcome hamper. Would heartily recommend!



Angela replied 361 days ago
So glad your stay in our apartment was a success. Thanks for the recommendation.

Lovely flat with location that can’t be beat!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the Brew House. The flat was nicely decorated and well appointed. The location right behind York Minster was easy to find and navigating the old city streets was a breeze. We highly recommend this flat!



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay. As you say, the location of our apartments in The Old Brewery, is unbeatable.

Excellent flat for centre of York

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The owners have made an effort to ensure the flat was cleaner than last year but there was still a little fluff here and there. The rating of ok for service was awarded on the niggles we had with booking. They were 1. They wrongly assumed that we wanted only one bedroom and towels for one couple. As we were there for as week we need both bedrooms and towels. In fairness they did let us keep the low occupancy discount to compensate (talking about towels we were surprised that only one tea towel was provided for a week. 2. The BACS code was changed so making the final booking caused extra work to sort out. 3. Well after I made the final payment we got a another request for payment. None of these niggles were serious but they were wearing away our confidence in the operation. It was a relief on arrival that things were ok.
We will probably want to stay at the flat next time we visit.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review posted today. I am sorry that our service did not live up to your expectations. We endeavour to make a stay in one of our apartments as pleasurable as possible. Following your comments:- We take great trouble to ensure our apartments are presented in the best possible way for our guests. We have developed a reliable system of a follow-up check, prior to guest arrival time, once the cleaners have left. On the day of your arrival, James and John went into York to do the checks, but as you had arrived early and had settled in, this check was not able to be fully made . James spoke to you in the apartment but realised a full inspection would disturb you unduly and he wished to respect your privacy. Had he done the usual full check, the 'niggles' you referred to would have been rectified. We always provide a full set of towels for four persons, no matter what the occupation is- four bath sheets and four hand towels are placed in each apartment for each visit. James would have ensured they were placed at the foot of each bed. He would have done the same check on the tea towels - there are always spares in a kitchen drawer and the hall cupboard - he would have checked that there were two in the kitchen and, if necessary, vacuumed or mopped the floors. I apologise for the confusion over your Bacs payment. Between 2018 and 2019, although retaining the same bank, we merged our two accounts into one. All our documentation was altered to show the changes - online/ emails /letters, and we were under the impression that all our guests were aware of these changes. Unfortunately, you sent your final payment to the defunct BACS account. This was subsequently returned to your bank . We advised you of this, requested that you checked the returned amount and respectfully asked for you to resend the balance to the altered Bacs number. This you did. We thank you for your patience and cooperation when this occurred. I am aware that internet transactions can be a cause for some concern, especially when details of the receiving account alter. You mentioned two requests for final payment - this should not have happened and only did so because your first payment was returned to your bank. (Your additional request for payment was automatically computer generated by our system until the final payment reached the correct BACS account.) I hope this clarifies things and addresses the concerns you have expressed.

Excellent accommodation in excellent location, strongly recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every aspect from booking, through to our arrival and stay, was 1st class, a very sincere thank you!



Another lovely stay at York Old Brewery apartments

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love these apartments.
Fantastic location, clean and modern.
Great for a weekend break
Hope to be back soon




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We hope you will be back too. thank you for yur lovely review.

Perfect stay in a perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a four night break over the Easter bank holiday. The location is central - ideal for walking into town yet easily accessible by car.

The accommodation is on the second floor but there is a lift if needed. The main lounge is large and airy and very well finished as is the whole apartment. Both the beds and settees are comfortable and good quality. The kitchen is well equipped and the welcome hamper is a really nice touch on arrival - there was even fresh milk in the fridge!

The WiFi has a good strong signal and the TV worked well. Both showers were good and hot.

Lovely as the apartment is we didn’t spend that long in it as York has so much to do and is literally just around the corner. That said it was so relaxing to be able to go out, do some shopping and be able to drop the purchases off and go straight out again!

The secure on site parking is a real bonus and makes this a potential touring base if you ever tire of the marvels within walking distance!

I can unreservedly recommend these apartments, the owners are good people to deal with and we hope to stay here again.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We're truly delighted you so enjoyed your first stay in our apartments in York.

Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely home from home this apartment was. Very well equipped, comfortable and we loved the fact we could set the temperature in the rooms individually. Set in a quiet area but a short stroll away from the action. Thoughly enjoyed our stay both in the apartment and York. Highly recommend.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the trouble to post a review. We're delighted you enjoyed your 1st stay with us and hope you will return in the future.

Short visit to York

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are returning clients, but this was our first visit to York Brew House. As expected the apartment was first class.
Excellent location in York, quiet area but easy access into the centre. We parked the car in the allotted parking spot on site and it remained there until we left.
Highly recommend to anyone wanting to visit York as independent travelers.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed our York apartment as much as our cottages here on the coast.

Superior apartment in a prime location

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first Christmas in York but our third in properties owned by John and Angela. The apartment was as we expected, of a very high standard, comfortable and well equipped. On a par with the excellent High Barn near Sewerby.
The welcome pack was full of high quality goods and the Christmas tree added to the lovely atmosphere. John called us to check all was ok, much appreciated.
The location in the centre of york with parking, which is at a premium in this city, is fantastic for just stepping out and exploring all the sites. I would particularly recommend the brew house to first time visitors. There are a wide variety of restuarants nearby and supermarkets round the corner.
We had a lovely Christmas and would strongly recommend this apartment for a York stay at any time of the year.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Just delighted you enjoyed yout Christmas stay in York in The Brew House

Great city centre apartment

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our short stay here and would recommend this apartment to our friends and relatives in both England and Canada.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
This review was posted on behalf of Canadian relatives who stayed at the apartment and gave me their comments to post.

Fantastic location in York!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic location right in the centre of York, easy walk to all the shops, restaurants & amenities. Great to have free secure parking, the lift access was useful. The apartment had everything you needed and the welcome pack was very good.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. We did try three times to contact you on the apartment telephone to check that all was well, but we never caught up with you. We slipped up here and should have used your mobile. Apologies.

Enjoyable at York Brew House

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super apartment situated in the heart of York. Comfortable and well equipped. Nice place to chill out.



A replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Chilling out in the centre of York is what our breaks are all about!

City break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, apartment has everything you could want or need for your stay and so close to the city centre, an absolute gem.



The Gold Standard of Self-Catering in York--A Total Winner

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have stayed in this property each of the last five Septembers, the years before this under different owners. It was fantastic in every respect with them and I am happy to report it is equally fantastic with the Field House Farm folks. This apartment is modern, spacious, with great natural light and ventilation, soaring high ceilings, well appointed and with every appliance you could possibly want. The location is out of this world--inside the York city walls, a two-minute walk from The Minster, all the fun York streets and shops right at hand, and yet on a quiet, residential street. Plus, the wonderful Goji Vegetarian restaurant is a stone's throw away. How you can beat all of that, I know not. The owners, Angela, John and James, were all friendly, extremely helpful and accommodating, and immediately responded to the only problem we encountered during our stay (the internet was balky on our arrival and they had someone out to fix it in the blink of an eye). We have been in York every September since 1996 and have stayed in three or four 5 star self--catering properties over all those years. This one though takes the top prize and we wouldn't even consider looking for something else. As I said in the title of this review--it is a total winner.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
What can I say? I'm overwhelmed by your ringing endorsement of our apartments . Thank you so much. We look forward to your next stay in September 2019.

Lovely apartment and location

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brew House. Booking was easy, the owners were friendly and helpful, the apartment was clean, comfortable and stylish, and the location peaceful yet very central (just a stone’s throw from the Minster - maybe that should be a “scone’s throw” - Crumb’s Cupcakery just around the corner has amazing scones!) The welcome hamper was excellent, right down to the milk in the fridge so that the holiday could begin with a good Yorkshire brew! There’s loads to do in York, and all easily accessible on foot from the Brew House. There are also public transport links reasonably nearby. Oh, and I must mention that there were some excellent street performers around the city when we visited in August.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Have never thought of ourselves as a 'scone's throw' but love the idea! Anything to do with cakes has our family hooked. So glad you enjoyed your stay in The Brew House and hope you will return.

Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay at the apartment. Couldn't fault it. Spotless, great location, quiet, comfortable beds, and a lovely welcome hamper. Would definitely return.☺



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and we very much hope you will return

Fabulous apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brew House is ideally located close to the Minster and is so peaceful and quiet.
The apartment is spacious and comfortable with everything provided that you would need for a short break. It is exceptionally clean and the owners provide a lovely welcome basket for guests.
We will certainly be returning.




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We think our three apartments in York are fabulous and it's great to know our guests do too!

A pleasant journey in the middle of York

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartement was very luxurious, we found everything we needed. It was very quiet although it was in the middle of the city. We only can recommend this apartement.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us

July 6th to 15th 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really comfortable stay during a busy and very hot week in York. Howm from home on my return from the many concerts I was working at. Thank you, Angela and John!




Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay Anni. From what you say you had a very busy time. I hope you managed a little rest too.

Midweek city break in the Brewhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a glorious midweek break right in the heart of the City under the Cathedral towers. The apartment is superb in every respect with gated parking and a lift if you don’t fancy the stairs. The location is very peaceful and quiet despite being in the middle of a bustling city. The hospitality and customer service is great and the welcoming box of goodies is a real treat, I am still nibbling away at the peanut butter chocolate shards as I write.I have also stayed in the Malt house and Hop Store and they were superb as well, so I will keep coming back for more. 10/10 Excellent.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us 10/10 Excellent. I'm so sorry I have taken so long to reply. I thought I was keeping up with all our reviews, but a quick glance through this morning has shown me I have missed reolying to several like yourself. Apologies.

A liitle more attention detail needed

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
John and Pam from Basingstoke. we have used the flat for several years and have never found any reason to complain about it. It is in a great location,so close to the Minster and centre of the city yet quiet. This time it was not quite up to the standard we have been used to. Thre was a drainy smell which the owners' acknowledge, the ledges were dusty in parts and one of the face cloths was dirty. We raised these points with owners and they promised to deal with them. We expect to return.




John Foster replied more than 1 year ago
Dear John and Pam Thanks for posting your valuable feedback after your stay at The Brew House. I'm sorry that, on this occasion,we were found wanting. We are on a bit of a learning curve with the acquisition of a third apartment. We need to learn how much time it takes to turn it around and learn about any unique peculiarities. Thanks to you, we now know that the water barrier in the 'u' bend of the washing machine is prone to evaporate and allow vapours to creep into the hallway. We now put the washing machine on to a rinse cycle when we change the apartment and this should keep the barrier intact. You also found a used flannel after a guest had, rather bizarrely, after using it, rolled it up and placed it back with the clean flannel making them both look unused. Changing all towels regardless is our normal policy but on this particular changeover the girls had left the Brew House until last and, under a lot of time pressure, found that it needed a great deal of work. I suspect that, given that they were running out of time, they left the flannels alone because they looked unused. We now know to allow more time to properly cover that apartment and so if you do, hopefully, return you will find it back to the standard that you expect.

Fabulous weekend stay

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is beautifully decorated and very comfortable with everything you could possibly need for a short break. It is very centrally situated just a few steps from York Minster but is in such a quiet position that a good night's sleep is guaranteed. We loved it and are returning again in July.
We had lovely sunny weather and a recommendation is to enjoy a drink in the garden of Grays Court Hotel which is located just around the corner from The Brew House - also walk the city walls for great views that you wouldn't usually see from strolling the streets.
Sunday lunch at The Guy Fawkes Inn is also recommended.
I can't recommend the apartment more highly - the best that we have stayed in at York.




A perfect place

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brew House is a perfect place for a stay in beautiful York. It is centrally situated, near the Minster, with designated parking space. It’s only a short walk to the shops and many places of interest so the car can stay where it is. The Brew House is extremely comfortable and very well equipped with thoughtful attention to detail. We enjoyed our stay - thank you.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for a really lovely review.

Lovely, comfortable flat in a great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely flat, very comfy, clean & warm in a great location, with parking. Fantastic welcome pack & very helpful owner.



Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.