FB Twitter

The Stables

The Stables

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 43 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


A fabulous modern conversion of the ancient stables of historic Brinkburn Priory. Situated within the beautiful grounds of Brinkburn Priory near Rothbury in the Coquet Valley. this stylish self catering accommodation is perfect for a large family get-together, 2 or 3 families or couples holidaying together with their pets.

Time away with the Family and our two Dogs

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superbly renovated and maintained property in all respects, providing a quality break for us all !



Brinkburn Wedding

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect location and venue for our beautiful wedding. I couldn’t have asked for more. The surroundings, location, stables and staff were amazing. Thank you so much! We had the best weekend of our lives. We’ll certainly be back!!



Dreamy accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables was an amazing place for us to celebrate our wedding, everything was perfect! The house has the wow factor from the outside and inside. The welcome hamper was lovely and they even provided dog treats for our dog who was staying with us. The house is beautifully decorated and the bedrooms and bathrooms are very luxurious. It was an unforgettable experience for us, and added to our perfect wedding day as we had the venue exclusively for the 3 nights we were there. Just gorgeous!



This is a special place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Brinkburn team could not have been nicer, more efficient, or professional or welcoming. The Stables are beautiful - finished to a very high standard and also extremely practical, well equipped, and easy to live in. The location, by the river and the priory is extraordinary. There are lovely walks and interesting places to see nearby, but it's very easy to be beguiled by Brinkburn and just to stay put. We slowed down, relaxed and recharged: it was a perfect break.



Stay at the Stables

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the stables as part of a wedding weekend & from start to finish it was a beautiful experience. Cannot recommend a stay at the stables highly enough. Perfect get away in a magical location . Many thanks to the Brinkburn team Diana &Stephen x



Dreamy and beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 14 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well what can I say about the stables other than it is perfect! The decor is beautiful, it’s clean, spacious and is in a stunning setting.

It was an absolute dream stay and something we won’t forget. We will definitely be back to stay at the stables again soon! X




Time with my girls.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I currently stayed at the stables with my 2 daughters and they loved it. They each had a lovely room and we could cosy up by the roaring fire on a cold winters night after a walk along the river. We loved the kitchen space and enjoyed board games. We will definitely be back! Thanks to all at Brinkburn x



Perfect stay for our wedding

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Stables for 3 nights for our wedding at Brinkburn Northumberland. With covid restrictions in place, we both (bride & groom) spent the full 3 nights in the same room, along with some of my family in the same accommodation. The whole place is amazing! Kitchen is to die for. Bathrooms so luxurious. Snug room was exactly that! Lovely team.



Beautiful place fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a fabulous stay here. The property is beautiful and set in such a magical location. We enjoyed our stay so much. Mark, Emma and their team were very helpful and the Stables were beautifully prepared for our arrival. The peace of the location was amazing. We did not get to see any otters but heard them a couple of times. I would strongly recommend this holiday cottage and we hope we get the chance to return one day.



Fantastic!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners Mark and Emma were absolutely amazing. Their hospitality was fantastic. Such a beautiful location to stay at and the accommodation itself- well wow! It's stunning. Myself and my family didn't want to leave. We definitely will be back.



Outstanding house in stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding house in a stunning location. Had a wonderful time enjoying this beautiful home and swimming in the river. Would not hesitate to recommend and hope to return as we enjoyed exploring the Northumberland area.



Unique holiday let.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very characterful holiday let, with lots of style, space and comfort. Beautiful surroundings. Dog friendly. Would definitely return.



Tranquil hideaway

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful setting for a peaceful week away! The brinkburn team as always are so accommodating and helpful with local recommendations and knowledge of the area. The stables is such an amazing place with everything you could ever need, like a home from home and we didn’t want to leave.



Best wedding ever

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Held our wedding at Brinkburn in the white room and stayed in the stables for the Monday to Friday. The accommodation was fantastic, plenty of space and comfortable bedrooms. The kitchen has everything you need and more ….
Leah and Malcolm were superb with the wedding organisation and helped me get dressed and kept the boys right.
I would recommend this property for a lovely relaxing weekend or a full blown wedding venue its that's good.




Return to The Stables

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rustic yet luxurious hideaway. Superb riverside location within yards of Brinkburn Priory. Beautifully furnished.Logs provided and needed during minus degree period of visit. Our second week long stay during 2019. Induction hob urgently requires repair or replacement



The most perfect wedding in the world!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at the Stables on 05/10/19 as part of my wedding package, there aren’t enough words to describe how utterly perfect the whole stay was. The whole property was impeccably clean with those added extras that you always forget on a weekend away. The fresh croissants and brownies were a perfect addition for our arrival. The bedrooms...again very clean and comfortable with luxury added in. What made the weekend so perfect was the staff! Absolutely nothing was too much trouble, not one member of staff was seen without anything other than a smile and utter professionalism. I would not change one thing about my wedding and that was made possible by the venue, staff and gorgeous accommodation. The only thing I would mention to future guests is if you require taxis book well in advance and set (steep) fares are set, just to bare in mind. Thank you so much for the best weekend I could of ever imagined...I wouldn’t of changed one single thing!!



What a gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Don’t hesitate - book it now! Stunning location on the Brinkburn Estate, next to the River Coquet. The Stables was perfect for our family of five. Beautifully decorated, well equipped, comfy beds, and fluffy towels. A lovely welcome basket of fresh produce, along with chilled wine was perfect after a long drive. The owner & team were very friendly, & ensured all was well with us.
The location was perfect for exploring the wonders of Northumberland - Alnwick, the beaches, and national park are all within 30 minutes.
We would not hesitate to return. A very special place.




Our wedding day ❤️

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stables is a beautiful place to stay and of course ideal for our wedding day, with the huge kitchen to have a wonderful pre wedding gathering to the 4 bedrooms for us and the guests to enjoy.

Lovely kept gardens with the most amazing flowers makes the stables so pretty and the smell is gorgeous!

We had the most amazing wedding here and would highly recommend this venue, not only for the most magical settings but the team are sooo good - there’s not one thing we would change.

Overall and amazing stay and the best wedding we could ever have asked for.

Emma and Dom
& the Cobb family. Xxx




A note to Upfront Reviews

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am happy to review our stay (which was glorious) but I am not prepared to write a 100 word review. That is a lot to ask of guests: esp as we booked two cottages (ie I don’t want to do it once let alone twice)
We had a lovely time: we wrote our thoughts in the guest book.
I suggest that you review your system so that people can quickly give you ratings (all positive in this case) without being compelled to write anything. Making the latter a required element will almost certainly reduce your return rate.
Yours
Caroline




Heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A little piece of heaven tucked away in idyllic surroundings. Absolutely spotless. The rooms are spacious and comfortable whilst the kitchen has all amenities that you could wish for.




Stunning.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We missed/needed the following not supplied items:
Bowls (e.g. Pyrex) with lids for microwave steaming/cooking
Spoons (wooden or plastic) for liquid stir during hob cooking and more formal large spoons for serving vegetables etc at the table
A soup ladel
A more comprehensive, alternative TV programme tuner selection e.g. Freesat. The Sky option installed without a paid membership access was limited
Instructions on use and or connection of sound streaming e.g. Spotify via a laptop, iplayer, smartphone etc, to the installed built in room speaker system.
A note in the information file to say the light switch for the snug standard lamps is located/hidden behind the table lightshade in the dining room and the switch for spotlights illuminating the family portraiture oil pantings is located/hidden behind the dictionary/thesarus section of the wall bookcase!




Wonderful Christmas week in Brinkburn!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables is an exceptional accommodation - beautifully restored with a fascinating and tasteful combination of old and new. We had everything we needed from basics like washing powder to logs for the fires. The space is vast and we had 22 people for a meal one night! The kitchen and dining area have huge windows looking out onto the fields and River Coquet. There is a cosy ‘snug’ room for TV or games. The bedrooms are also beautiful and the bedding is so comfortable ( sometimes I find accommodations look better than they actually are, but in The Stables everything is as good as it looks). The place was spotlessly clean. It is the best holiday property we have stayed in.

The Stables looks onto a charming and fascinating Augustan Priory and derelict home. These weren’t open as it is winter but we’d love to return when they are. The walks around the property are stunning.

The hosts are very helpful and we highly recommend staying in any of their properties (our family stayed in other cottages and that are all also delightful).

We visited Lindisfarne, castles and coastal walks and Northumbria is such a great place to visit. The people all seem very friendly and welcoming. A perfect escape from hectic city life!





Amazing Secluded Family Hideaway

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The expansive and jmpressive accomodation in the Stables at Brinkburn is the perfect place the get the family together for a few nights of seclusion. The beds are extremely comfortable, the facilities are fab and the staff were lovely. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and will be returning.



Stunning Location

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been here for a wedding before, booked back for a family holiday stunning location and great property. Simply a must to stay in.



10th time in ten years

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing location for a family break in a stunning property. We have been coming almost every year since it was opened.



Stunning house in a stunning location!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to everyone at Brinkburn for making our stay so special. Such a hospitable and hardworking team. The house and its location are just stunning. A very special place...we will be back again soon!



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location for a wedding and to relax afterwards. Cosy and comfortable, such a lovely atmosphere.

Only downside was there was a strange smell on the second day all around the area, possibly from the septic tanks? But this did not ruin our stay.




Beautiful and tranquil

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed celebrating our recent wedding at The Stables, the venue and staff were excellent and the accommodation was amazing, providing everything we could ask for. I will certainly be back for a future anniversary!
I would certainly recommend the Stables as a place to stay. The setting was beautiful and very tranquil. All of our guests commented on how amazing it was.




Wedding stay

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect venue and day for our wedding! Only minor comments would be extend the check out time from 10am to 12pm this was far to early after a wedding, no WiFi was available and no mini toiliteries were available. Other than that we had a great time and would definitely stay again and recommend.



Beyond Expectation

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were blown away with the location and with the cottage. Perfect holiday location for Northumberland and surrounding areas , with the comfort of a cottage with everything you may need. Customer service excellent.



Bliss at Brinkburn

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit to The Stables at Brinkburn & it won’t be our last. It is the perfect place to relax, wind down & recharge the batteries. We have particularly enjoyed just sitting and watching all the river wildlife. It is good to find quality accommodation where we can take our dogs.



Wedding Eve/ Day

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I stayed here with my Bridal Party the night before my Wedding - it was the perfect setting for a gathering of our size. Very spacious, clean and tidy. However, unfortunately I wasn’t made aware that the accommodation WiFi wasn’t in use prior to coming. This made me some what anxious as a few of my suppliers hadn’t been to Brinkburn before so I wasn’t able to keep in contact with them in case of emergency. As a result of this my hairdresser was half an hour late in the morning which had a knock on effect. We also had a problem with the hot water/ heating the night before and morning of Wedding which also caused some problems. After speaking to the owner, they advised there had been a circuit trip and they came straight away to fix it :) overall the stay was really nice but was let down with the above mishaps. Both I’m sure were one offs so I would happily return!



A special Christmas Outing.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and 2 daughters with 5 friends had a wonderful afternoon, we enjoyed every minute and thought it quite magical.

We are all ready to to come back next year.!




A very good venue for business meetings.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We used the venue for a series of business planning meetings and found that the facilities were a good fit for the purpose; the venue was quiet, undisturbed and located in an idyllic situation.The Stables would have been ideal for our purposes had there been better internet access (internet access was weak at best and unavailable at worst).



A Fantastic Hideaway Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stables is a fantastic place to get away from it all. Great accommodation in a beautiful location, with a great team on hand should you need anything!



Loved it.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great few days spent with friends. A beautiful house. The Brinkburn Team were helpful and friendly when we needed them to be. Otherwise we were left to our own devices and were very happy with that.



Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was very good thanks, would reccomend staying there to anyone ......................................



Beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Stables is located in a beautiful and quiet location in the grounds of Brinkburn priory. The Cottage is fitted out to a high standard. Beautiful large kitchen, 2 cosy log burning fires, 3 large double bedrooms and 2 large bathrooms. We travelled as a family and all ages enjoyed the Stables and the surrounding countryside. The service and helpfulness of the team was excellent



A wonderful relaxing Christmas in a beautiful location and stunning accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the stables over Christmas and had an amazing time, the accommodation was beautiful and spotlessly clean, extra touches like like the festive decorations, bread, croissants and brownies on arrival and lovely robes made the stay even more perfect. This is one of the nicest places we've stayed, cosy whilst also being luxurious and nothing was too much trouble (despite our many questions). The location was truly stunning - the stars at night were amazing. We can't wait to return soon.



A stunning property and excellent surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this magnificent place at least 8 times since it was started and its always fabulous.the accommodation is so well thought out and centres on the amazing kitchen and snug.All the family or friends can be together round the biggest island I've ever seen.Soft cream sofas at the end and a log burner is just a part of this placeEverywhere you look there is attention to detail and its super clean.The surrounding area river and actual priory have to be seen to be believed .I can't recommend this highly enough.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
keep up the high standard -

outside drive lights would be usefull - unless we missed them !!!!!!!!




Autumnal Family gathering at Brinkburn

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Brinkburn The Stable during October 2016. We were a family with Grandparents visiting from Australia and with 3 children who loved the 2 staircases, toys and books provided and exploring the grounds of the Priory and collecting leaves from the colourful Autumn trees. We saw 2 deer... (twice!), despite our 4 yr old blowing raspberries during the riverside walk they didn't seem to be put off too much! We loved the fires and cosiness of the Stables. The layout and design is stunning with both the modern and the old married together. The boot room and laundry for muddy boots, hats and gloves was ideal for the surroundings and we had a fabulous time exploring the area. Can highly recommend Alnwick Castle but more so Cragside.



Two day stay for 7 of us plus our dog

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beds so comfy we could have stayed there forever! Nice little touches such as brownies and prosecco waiting for us on arrival. No worries about letting our dog out in the area immediately around the property - big gate provided safety for him and privacy for us. Two log fires that heat the whole property in no time at all. All things considered, a very happy time had by all!