FB Twitter

The Stoep

The Stoep

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


The Stoep

A beautifully remote & cosy log cabin

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this cosy log cabin which has been decorated to perfection. The views out towards the woods and the hills were stunning and it felt like we were outside, even when we were indoors! Hugh and Jude were great hosts and provided us with everything we needed to cook our fresh mackerel from Aberaeron on the open fire pit right outside the cabin. Highly recommend!

Eloise from Bristol stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in August 2021


A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location and accommodation. Ideal for birdlovers and walkers and close to many interesting places to visit.

Helen and Jack from stayed at The Stoep for 2 nights in July 2021


Good to be back!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful few days at The Stoep. I’ve stayed at Wildernest before, but this was my first time at The Stoep and it certainly did not disappoint!
The expansive glass front made me feel I was outside, yet I was warm and cosy, enjoying the comfort of a dwelling thoughtfully designed with an eye for detail.
Hosts Hugh and Jude were welcoming while still adhering to COVID regulations.
The extensive meadows and woods at Wildernest are home to a host of birds and wildlife...the whole experience is a delight.
I would have liked to stay for longer, but I’ll be back!


Mair from Llangollen stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in May 2021


Glorious hidden retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wildernest is a beautiful secluded sheltered spot. Run by great hosts Hugh & Jude, lovely couple with great local knowledge on brilliant walks.

The Stoep is a fantastic place to unwind, rest and enjoy the bird song. I stayed for three nights all though felt that wasn’t enough time. Wished I stayed for more :) as you wouldn’t want to leave the well equipped hay cabin.

Wildernest is set in a great location close to the beaches and all the see side activities along the Ceredigion coast.

Diolch Hugh & Jude


Mared from London stayed at The Stoep for 3 nights in April 2021


Spring Break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in The Stoep at Wildernest last October, and had a peaceful and relaxing time, we knew what to expect and, I'm pleased to say, were not disappointed. I'm not one for writing fulsome reviews on anything, I'm afraid, but just to say that my wife and I (and her sister who came with us this time) thoroughly enjoyed our few days break, watching the bird life, knitting (not me) and supporting the local economy. No TV can be a real blessing for those of us with little self control (although we caught up with Line of Duty as soon as we got in the door back home) but there is good wi-fi to keep up with the world if you feel the need. Hugh and Jude are very friendly and gracious hosts, and we look forward to returning to Wildernest in the not too distant future.

John from Stourport-on-severn stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in April 2021


Peaceful tranquility with a real sense of getting away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a place where we could unwind. Forget the city, work, and life's general fast pace. Wildernest delivered in abundance. The design and fabric of Stoep itself help you settle into a different life for those few days. Wood and simplicity with the important things still laid on, such a great shower and comfy bed. The glass front and verandah mean that you make the most of the spectacular view; fields and trees and the odd farmhouse in the distance.
We made the most of the surrounding area, taking in beaches and the local National Trust. And settled in the evening in front of the wood burner, after a glass of wine by the firepit.
Perfect! Highly recommended.


Rebecca from stayed at The Stoep for 5 nights in April 2021


Beautiful, peaceful, inspiring

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Mar 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were awed by the love & attention that had clearly gone into this place. Beautifully crafted, such care & thought for the environment... And for visitors! It's gorgeous to look at, cosy & warm & all the little details are a joy... Everything you need for a cosy fire, even down to the eco friendly firelighters... Binoculars & a torch were a lovely little touch too. Kitchen was fabulously kitted out & the bed was super comfy. Sitting on the stoep in the evenings listening to nature & staring at the sky was absolutely perfect. The stillness & closeness to nature was so healing. Our hosts were absolutely wonderful too!

den from Herceg Novi stayed at The Stoep for 7 nights in March 2021


A Covid Break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our mini break in The Stoep at Wildernest. We wanted somewhere out of the way, to recharge our batteries, that was quiet and in the countryside, and Wildernest fit the bill. Our hosts were there if we needed them and The Stoep was fully equipped for a comfortable stay for two. We will most definitely look to return.

John from Stourport-on-severn stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in October 2020


Peace and tranquility....

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful short break, I loved the peace and tranquility and the feeling of being embedded in natural world. The Stoep was warm and comfortable and had everything that I needed. Being a straw bale and larch building it had a special quality which is hard to describe. It’s very special to be able to have your morning tea in bed and watch the dawn break, after some very good night’s sleep!. I used the time as a solitary retreat and it was perfect for that. Thank you!

Roberta from Shrewsbury stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in October 2020


Beautiful surroundings, comfy accommodation + a wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time at the Stoep! The perfect place to escape life for a few days and unwind. Beautiful and private location, comfy bed, all things you'd need for a few days in the kitchen and the option for a delicious home cooked meal. We'll be back!

Florence from Shrewsbury stayed at The Stoep for 3 nights in August 2020


Beautiful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The stoep was lovely and warm with beautiful views. Its was clean, the breakfast hamper was great. Really quite and relaxing

Daniel from Taunton stayed at The Stoep for 3 nights in September 2019


A very good choice

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice house. Very quit, great view and a lot of privacy. We reserved a diner meal and a breakfast for the first day which were very good. So in total a perfect stay.

Paul from Leiden stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in September 2019


Secluded rural setting within easy reach of the coast

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place for a quiet rural get away. The Stoep is a well designed, environmentally friendly cabin with all comforts, overlooking hay meadows. Ticks many boxes for sustainable tourism. Walks along the Cardigan Bay coastline and little towns of New Quay and Aberaeron are within few minutes drive.

Kay from Nottingham stayed at The Stoep for 4 nights in June 2019