FB Twitter

The Buchanan

The Buchanan

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 86 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


The Buchanan sleeps up to 6 in 3 ensuite bedrooms with SuperKing beds, some of which can be made into twins. Large hot tub, great views, the perfect place to unwind. Reduction for two people.

A 5* stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful lodge with anything you could possibly need in the most picturesque setting. 5* for every aspect! We will certainly return.

Guest from Stockton On Tees stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in April 2019


Very relaxing!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as an adult family and all had a fantastic time. The lodge was very well equipped, hot tub looking out at fantastic views was very relaxing after a day of sight seeing in the Borders. Location very good to use as a base or for a few days R and R. Our only small issue was we ran out of hot water for showers a couple of mornings as there were 5 of us.
The owners were very helpful and friendly. We plan to return and would recommend Air Houses.


Julie from Aberdeen stayed at The Buchanan for 6 nights in April 2019


Carol replied 71 days ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. Please do let us know, if you come again, if there is a problem with hot water or indeed any problem. The Buchanan is for 6 people and is set up as such so there should never be any issues with water. However, on the Tuesday morning all the water was being tested, filters changed and lots of checks carried out which may have caused a delay in water coming through. Again many thanks for your feedback ad we do hope you will visit Airhouses again

Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to Airhouses on many occasions and it never disappoints! Great location and all the lodges are like home from home.

Fiona from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in March 2019


Magnificent.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply wonderful in every regard.
Thank you.

Five Star.




AG


Alex from Banbury stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in February 2019


Home away from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge itself was beautiful, very comfortable set within in an idyllic working farm, with views of the animals and fields.
The owners are lovely, very accommodating with lots of knowledge of the surrounding area and animals, within the lodge there is a little shop set up by the owners which is open 24 hours, they run an honesty box as staff aren't on site all the time, this was a lovely touch.


Ewan from Stirling stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in January 2019


Fantastic Christmas break in the Borders

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was fantastic - comfortable, spacious and very well equipped, with amazing views over the country. Interesting animals on the farm were really good for the kids to get involved with. Hot tub was amazing - sitting in it gazing at the night sky (which we did every night) was wonderfully surreal. Edinburgh 40 minutes away - beautiful coast and castles - 40 minutes in another direction.
Everything was incredibly well organised and polished. We will be back soon !!


Tim from Solihull stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in December 2018


Excellent stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to relax. Extremely clean and well equipped lodge surrounded by beautiful countryside and walks. So close to Edinburgh but lovely and remote too and plenty of fresh air!
Highly recommend this place!


Julie from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2018


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would just like to say that we were made feel welcome, Martin takes some time out to speak with us which I think is wonderful.
Martin also informs you of all you need to know about the area with the local history. Everything is special from start to finish, this is the second year we have gone and stayed in the Buchanan, my wife and family all love it and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Thanks very much.

Paul.


Paul from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in October 2018


family trip to the borders

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
At first I was surprised just how far out the accommodation was - it seemed in the middle of nowhere! But, it is worth it for the views and the peace and quiet!
The welcome breakfast pack was absolutely fantastic. I had ordered haggis instead of black pudding by accident, but it was a happy accident! The bacon and sausages were such good quality! I haven't had bacon like that since I was a child!
There was also a welcome pack with toiletries and a scented candle which was a lovely touch.
The accommodation was top quality, the two double rooms were perfect. the baskets for clothes is a good idea (I have been on many a holiday where there are no drawers - just hanging space and a couple of shelves). En-suite was lovely with a great shower. The towels are huge and so thick and soft! The upstairs twin bedroom was fine - my 2 adult daughters shared this, and apart from having to stoop to dry their hair at the mirror there were no real issues. It could be different during the summer as I imagine this room would get very warm.
We used the oven and the microwave - please note it took us till the next day and a bit of hunting to find the instructions! They are in the bottom drawer in the Nespresso book! The microwave really taxed our brain!
There are videos and board games as well as books. We could not get the video to work but this was not a real issue!
To the hot tub - could take or leave a hot tub previously - never having used one outside before. I am now a convert! Sitting in the dark looking at the stars and just sitting in the warm water was so relaxing, especially after a day driving and wandering round the border country.
Only issue I had was the that stairs were not lit - although there is a yellow strip I do feel that there should be more lighting at that point. Perhaps we had missed a switch or something!
We used the barbecue one night (sorry, but I think we forgot to clean it out) buying steaks from Shaws Fine Meats in Lauder. Excellent! We also went to Carfraemill for a meal on one night. Food was excellent, most had steak pie and I had sea bass. No complaints from anyone!
There are walks around the lodge and the farm with lovely views and although our party was all adults they were quite taken with the animals. Especially the farm cat Rolo. He is a wee sook and a scrounger. If you like cats that's fine I am sure he will leave you alone if you don't want him around. We were all quite sad to say goodbye to him, felt like he had become part of the family!

All in all I would happily recommend this and the other properties to anyone. We were very lucky with the weather. It was crisp but clear and sunny most of the time. In summer I think you would need to close the curtains during the day to avoid over heating. But that is a minor problem.


Louise from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in October 2018


Great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just go & relax, enjoy all the comforts. The Buchanan lodge was stylish & comfy but the views and hot tubs were the stars.

Elspeth from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2018


Peaceful and relaxing, beautiful views

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was spotless and very comfortable. Hot tub was much used, especially good to have something outdoors to do in poorer weather. Views were amazing and lovely to feed the animals - deer visited two evenings much to the childrens’ delight! Very peaceful and relaxing location. Kitchen very well equipped and nice touches to have the gift bag, slippers, and food items.

Belinda from Rayleigh stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2018


A wonderful holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After staying at The Lamont last year which was wonderful, we thought we would try The Buchanan this year and we were not disappointed!
A beautiful lodge with amazing views. We all enjoyed feeding the animals and enjoyed the hot tub too.
We visited Edinburgh for the Fringe Festival on many days.The journey into the city was fine as we used the Park and Ride as recommended.
Airhouses is the perfect place to return to after a hectic day!

Thank you


Sandra from Shrewsbury stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2018


Lovely family holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a lovely relaxing family holiday, the lodge was clean and very comfortable and had the most beautiful views. The children loved being on the farm and feeding the animals and we even took one of the shetland ponies out for a walk. Airhouses provided a wonderful welcome basket with all you needed for a great breakfast and other tasty bits and pieces included as well. The hot tub was well used, the children loved it too. Thanks to Martin and Carol for a lovely stay.

Anthony from Darlington stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2018


Carol replied 308 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed the Buchanan and everything Airhouses has to offer. Your positive review is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Airhouses very soon.

Family holiday but unfortunately not with entire family as expected!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well appointed property in Beautiful surroundings. BUT!! Please be aware that the property owners do not allow visitors to the property, which would then make numbers exceed the total number of adults the property can sleep, even though visitors are only coming for a meal or BBQ. I have never experienced this proviso anywhere else we have stayed and it was not made clear when booking. We had intended to invite our two adult children and their partners to a BBQ, as they live locally, but with there already being 3 adults and 2 children staying in the property this was not permitted and we had to make alternative arrangements. As this was one of the main reasons for choosing the locality of this property it spoiled the experience.

Owners check PH and acidity levels of hot tub at regular intervals and had informed us when this was to happen. I had not expected then to actually add chemicals to hot tub while we were in it though. Quite disconcerting!


Guest from Stonehaven stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in July 2018


Carol replied 322 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Buchanan Lodge and our lovely surroundings. However our Terms and Conditions, which you sign up to when booking, and indeed our whole booking process clearly indicates that the numbers of guests on the booking form must not be exceeded either during the day or overnight. Airhouses unique selling point is “peace and quiet” and if each of our lodges had 4 additional people, over and above the number allocated then there would be an additional 24 people. Our septic tank, never mind the peace and quiet, would be unable to cope! It is a legal requirement and also for your own safety, that the hot tubs are checked at least twice a day. We do advise you of the approximate time of day these checks will take place and if chemicals are low then Chlorine is added. It is quite safe for you to be in the hot tub when the checks are taking place or when Chlorine is added, and we do also advise that if you prefer to get out of the hot tub, then we will wait. There are leaflets in each lodge about this and Health and Safety in general when using a hot tub. If you decide to return to Airhouses and your guests will be more than 6, then perhaps you would like to consider the Capercaillie which takes up to 10 guests. Again many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Birthday Treat

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You won’t want to go sight seeing views are stunning from the lodge. Animals so friendly and engaging and walks afford even greater views of wildlife and surrounding landscape. Local produce was excellent and Martin goes extra mile to assist your holiday being what you want it to be

Ian from Angus stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in June 2018


Carol replied 321 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you enjoyed the Buchanan and Airhouses in general. Many thanks indeed.

Just perfect!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely weekend at Airhouses. The lodge was absolutely perfect, spotlessly clean and very well equipped. The later check out time was a bonus too. We hope to return very soon.

Andrew from Dunfermline stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in May 2018


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Buchanan. We always offer a late Sunday checkout on a Friday to Sunday booking so that you can have a more relaxing weekend. We hope to see you again sometime. Many thanks indeed.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Taking 4 teenagers away for the weekend could have been disastrous! However, it was wonderful. We all had space to come and go as we please. We all loved the hot tub - obviously, and being able to wander around the farm feeding and talking to the animals was brilliant. So relaxing and just what we wanted.
Thank you.


Fiona from Stoneyburn stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in April 2018


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We do hope you will visit us again. Many thanks indeed.

Beautiful lodge, very well equipped. Loved the relaxed atmosphere and surroundings.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this lodge to others, everything you could want in a relaxing holiday.

Vikki from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in April 2018


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Buchanan Lodge and we do hope to welcome you back soon. Again, many thanks

Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Buchanan lodge. It had excellent facilities and all the necessary mod cons. The lodge was very clean and the owners had added lovely touches to add to our comfort such as dressing gown and slippers. Importantly for the kids, the WiFi worked really well!
The view from the lodge was stunning particularly from the hot tub. There are lots of animals to feed which the kids loved doing.
The complimentary breakfast basket contained some lovely local produce.
We arrived when there was a lot of snow and the owners had provided sledges for the children which was greatly appreciated.
All in all a great place to holiday. The owners were helpful, friendly and kind.


Morag from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in February 2018


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and particularly feeding the animals. The snow certainly added a different dimension but it was good that you all enjoyed it so much. Again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review and it is very much appreciated. Kind regards Carol and Martin

Fantastic place

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing time this weekend at the Buchanan.The views are spectacular from the lodge and the hot tub. The The lodges cleanliness was of a very high standard making it a very comfortable stay. It was lovely to feed the animals.

Nicola from South Queensferry stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in January 2018


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit at Airhouses and we hope you will be back. We have a great housekeeping team and I will pass on your remarks about the cleanliness to them. Again many thanks for taking the time to write a review and it is very much appreciated. Kind regards Carol and Martin

For my friend's 18th birthday

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is fantastic and lovely scenery. At that time the roads were really bad due icy but guy who works
there came gave us a lift to lodge which is very kind of him. Also very good communication using phone texts as we were deaf. Hot tub was excellent! Very good service. We will be coming back again. Love this place!


Guest from Fife stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in December 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to meet you all and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We hope to welcome you back soon and again many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Kind regards Carol and Martin

Another relaxing family break. Perfection.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Buchanan in August 2011. Back then it was just us and our 10 year old daughter. The holiday was perfectly suited to our needs back then and we always promised ourselves that we would return one day.
Fast forward to December 2017 when we (eventually) returned with my 70+ year old Mum, our 17 year old daughter and her boyfriend of the same age.
As it did previously, the property, location and facilities suited us perfectly despite our 'advancing' years. Airhouses is definitely the place to make fantastic memories. Thank you Carol and Martin!


Julie from Clacton-on-sea stayed at The Buchanan for 6 nights in December 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It is lovely to hear that Airhouses is a place to make memories and we hope you will not leave it for 6 years before you come back again!. It was great to see you all and many thanks for writing a review. It is always appreciated. Kind regards Carol and Martin

Best friends 40th

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning lodge with first class fittings, facilities, furniture and fabrics. Lovely and cosy even with -3 degree C outside. The hot tub was amazing with plenty of space for all six guests. Breath taking views with plenty privacy between lodges. The welcome breakfast of locally sourced produce was delicious and the welcome pack added that extra special touch. Would recommend and return without hesitation.

Ashley from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in December 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write one. It is very much appreciated. Glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast. We are very lucky with our local butcher, Shaws, in Lauder. We hope you will all be back again at some time in the future. Kind regards Carol and Martin

Relaxing Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with husband and family for weekend. Loved the place, even had a Christmas tree up and fairy lights on the balconies. Amazing countryside walks on your doorstep. Loved meeting and feeding the animals on the farm. Great to be able to jump in a large hot tub after a nice walk or at night to watch the stars. Pretty magical.

Pam from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the Buchanan and we do hope you will be back again some time. Again many thanks for your review. It is much appreciated. Kind regards Carol

Ladies weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked the Buchanan for 6 ladies. Lovely welcome from mr and mrs Houghton. Our accommodation was beautiful. Spacious, with breathtaking views. Every thing we needed was supplied. Robes and slippers for the hot tub, and a very well equipped kitchen. Every room had its own bathroom and the beds were very comfy. 30mins into Edinburgh and 45 from beaches. A lovely stay. Would recommend

Heather from Brighouse stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend. It is always lovely to receive a review and it is much appreciated. Kind regards Carol and Martin

A wonderful relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a wonderful autumn break in a beautiful place. The lodge and hot tub were exactly as described. There were plenty of home comforts, including an excellent welcome breakfast pack. I thoroughly enjoyed feeding the animals, watching wild deer and pheasants and just relaxing. I would highly recommend this and fully intend to return at a future date.

Donna from Shetland stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in October 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
There are a few families of deer around all the lodges especially in the early morning and at dusk and they are lovely to watch. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be back again. Many thanks indeed. Kind regards Carol and Martin

5 nights stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lodge was fantastic with all modern amenities like wifi etc included which is a must these days. Only thing missing was a better selection of tv channels but as we had wifi it wasn't too much of an issue.

John from Greenock stayed at The Buchanan for 5 nights in November 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do have a lot of tv channels but we are unable to get Sky in view of our location. However, there is NOWTV in the Buchanan which means you can access a lot of the Sky channels, box sets, iplayer etc. Again, many thanks for your lovely review. Kind regards Carol and Martin

Wonderful short break

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning ,luxurious lodge absolutely loved everything and our granddaughter loved the pigs and the horses. Fantastic host well looked after, even the pillows were super comfy. We shall definitely return and have recommended to friends and family.

Fiona from Cambuslang stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in October 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Buchanan and hope you will be back again very soon. Kind regards Carol and Martin.

Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time back with our son (3) a fantastic time had by all - a wonderful, relaxing holiday. Lots of homely touches made the stay very pleasant. Thanks again.

Kathryn from Kirriemuir stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in September 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We hope to see you all back again soon. Again many thanks

A little Gem

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place , immaculately clean as I am a fusspot , plenty of space , stunning location . Enough crockery to feed an army!! Lots of special little touches . Wifi better than at home , we even had good phone signal !! Will be going back in February 2018.

Martine from Preston stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in September 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses. We very much look forward to welcoming you back next year. Again, many thanks.

Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I just love getting out of the car when arriving at Airhouses and immediately I feel relaxed. It's so quiet and tranquil. He Buchanan is so well appointed and I love the deep red kitchen. Sitting at the window enjoying the view is better that any TV programme. It was lovely to catch up with Carol and Martin and hear all about the new piglets! The new hot tub was wonderful with relaxing jets wherever you sat. A fabulous weekend topped off with a great roast dinner at The Black Bull in Lauder. Thanks again Airhouses!

Laura from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 5 nights in September 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. It was lovely to see you again and thank you.

Amazing!

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous weekend at The Buchanan.
The lodge is situated in beautiful, peaceful countryside with great views.
The lodge itself is spotlessly clean.
The kitchen is very well stocked with every dish, utensil & piece of cutlery that you could wish for and the breakfast basket is full of delicious local food.
The beds in each room are so comfortable and the linen is of very high quality.
Most of our time is spent in the hot tub (recently renewed) and this is very well maintained, the water being checked twice daily.
A thoroughly enjoyable lodge and location.
Thank you Airhouses.


Nancy from Hamilton stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay in the Buchanan and hope to welcome you back again some time in the future. Again, many thanks indeed.

A wonderful place

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had a fabulous week staying at the Buchanan . Wonderful accommodation , perfect for a bit of luxury for us as a family of four with older children. Clean, spacious and very well equipped. Hot tub a total hit too. Highly recommended .

Charlotte from Shrewsbury stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed the Buchanan and the hot tub which is fairly new and has lots of jets. We do hope you will visit Airhouses again.

Relaxing family holiday.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing location with fantastic views. The lodge was spotless on arrival and contained everything you could need and more. We were made to feel very welcome all week.
To see Deer wondering past the window in an afternoon was brilliant. A thourally relaxing family holiday, highly recommended.


Gareth from Grantham stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in July 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay a the Buchanan Lodge. The 'wild' deer are becoming very tame and enjoy company. We hope to welcome you back to Airhouses and again, many thanks indeed.

Surprise 50th Birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After looking for weeks for a lodge which had en-suites in every room we stumbled across Airhouses, and I'm so glad we did! The break was for our friend who was celebrating a special birthday. We were warmly welcomed by Carol who directed us to the lodge, on arrival we found fresh fruit, a substantial Scottish breakfast pack, bread and all the essentials. Would highly recommend booking and will certainly return. Many thanks Carol and Martin

Lorraine from Anstruther stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in July 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
It is always difficult throwing a surprise party and we are so glad it turned out well for you all. Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will all visit us again at Airhouses. Many thanks

A Very Special Place!

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On entering 'The Buchanan' you are greeted by a warm, spacious and inviting space. Everything has been organised and thought through to the finest detail. The views across the farm are spectacular and the Spa is a welcome treat from a long journey. If only we didn't live 10,000 kms away we would be here again sooner! The White Family. Sydney Australia

Michael from Sydney stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in July 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted you enjoyed our little corner of Scotland and of course the Buchanan Lodge. The animals, particularly Apple, are missing Alex. Again, many thanks for taking the time to write a review.

Ideal country venue for family or group holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in southern Scotland within 2 miles of the main A68, the lodge was easily accessible by road, with the nearest rail station about 20 minutes by car. Very quiet location. Very high quality facilities and decor. Very clean and well managed. The highlight for us was the large hot tub outside with superb views across the rolling countryside. Ideal venue for us (family party of 6 with toddler). Several easy and interesting walks around the area. The many animals on the farm (ponies, pig, hens, Alpaca and Llama) proved irresistible to our young grand-daughter, as did the purpose-built play-house with a huge selection of toys and books. The cost was probably at the higher end of the accommodation scale, but it was justified by the high quality facilities and overall design of the Buchanan. We would love to return.

Christopher from Stonehaven stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in June 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and positive review. The animals and the playden are loved by children and we are so glad your little grand daughter enjoyed them. Many thanks indeed and we hope to see you all again at some time in the future.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks for the lovely time we had.as a family we enjoyed the lovely spaces and lovely lodge.will recommend to everyone looking for a peaceful time.

James from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in June 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Buchanan especially when it seemed to be a week of rain! However, the views are lovely even on a wet day. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you all again sometime in the future.

First class

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous property in outstanding location, from the reviews we expected it to be good but it exceeded our expectations. It's a good central location for exploring the Borders, within easy of the coast & Edinburgh. Great hot tub from which to watch the wildlife and the views, a real sense of peace & tranquility. The lodge itself was well maintained, very comfortable indeed and everything worked!

Highly recommended, can't wait to go back.


Robert from Timperley stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in June 2017


Excellent Border Retreat.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quality throughout!! Excellent facilities, Wi-fi, Hot-tub and every item of domestic equipment you could possibly require. Beautiful surroundings, Peace and quiet with some very good walks around the farmland,
Convenient for trips to Edinburgh and all of the other Border attractions.
What more could you want?


J Colin from Sunderland stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in May 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review - many thanks indeed. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Airhouses and especially the walks we have put in place on the farm. We do hope you will return. Many thanks.

Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at the Airhouses. The lodge was clean, spacious and very well equipped. The kids loved the animals and walks around the farm. The welcome basket was lovely. First trip to the Scottish Borders did not disappoint.

Guest from Bromley stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in May 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. We are delighted your enjoyed your stay in the Buchanan and also that you enjoyed our first visit to the Scottish Borders. We do hope you will be back as there is so much to do in the Borders as well as Edinburgh. Again, many thanks indeed.

Perfect lodge & hottub holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be our 5th time at Airhouses and once again a perfect holiday. Carol & Martin make you most welcome, the lodge is 5 star and the welcome pack is generous. Feeding the animals is the highlight of my grandchildrens holiday. If you are looking for first class accommodation and not to far from the capital city look no further.

Rita from Dundee stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in March 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your lovely review. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Airhouses again and that your lovely grandchildren had a great time. We hope to see you all again soon.

Amazing Venue

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for 2 nights for a girls weekend. Lovely lodge with hottub would definitely recommend to others!

Megan from Glenrothes stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in March 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you enjoyed your weekend. It was lovely seeing you all wandering around looking at the animals and obviously so relaxed. Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive review.

Weekend Break in Early March 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! Well off the beaten track, quiet as could be, stunning views and a hot tub to die for!
Grandma, granddad, mum, dad ,and two grandchildren were well impressed by our stay in The Buchanan.
Accommodation perfect, loads of crockery - pots and pans for a banquet - bed rooms and bathrooms - five star.
The upstairs bedroom is a little low for grown ups but not a problem for little people.
"Best hot tub we've been in" from those who had been in them before.
Kids had fun with the ponies and enjoyed the walks around the farm on the treasure trail.
The sitting area was great but could do with a couple of standard lamps each side of the main window which could enhance the cosiness whilst around the coffee table and what about some larger mugs for well earned drinks and possibly a salad spinner in the kitchen - that would be nice.
Overall The Buchanan is stunning ,morning ,noon, and night and we would not hesitate to return.


Stewart from Ashby De La Zouch stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in March 2017


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so very much for your positive review and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed the Buchanan and the walks, animals and views. We do hope you will come back again. Many thanks indeed.

Boomerang

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We keep going back to Airhouses because it's fantastic. We love the place and the owners are fantastic.

Thanks for another wonderful stay!


Russell from Oxford stayed at The Buchanan for 6 nights in December 2016


Another truly amazing stay at Airhouses

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After our super break in the Summer, my husband and I wanted to come back in December to celebrate his birthday and we had the most relaxing, memorable time again. The Buchanan Lodge is simply exquisite - we arrived to a beautiful Christmas tree and lights on the decking which made us feel very Christmassy straight away. Everything was faultless and geared for comfort just like The Lamont and I cannot recommend Airhouses enough. Thank you again to Carol and Martin for a magnificent stay, we will be back! We would recommend visiting Firebrick for a meal too and if you like to view the wildlife, open the blinds quietly in the mornings and you may see the deer outside. You will also experience the most amazing sunrises and sunsets.

Judith from Falkirk stayed at The Buchanan for 8 nights in December 2016


Luxury in the Country

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place with fabulous hosts in Martin and Carol. A fantastic luxury break where you can relax and unwind in comfort with many special touches to make your stay truly memorable. We will most definitely be rushing back....

David from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2016


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a fabulous time at the Buchanan Lodge. Everything was catered for to cover our stay and the photios showing the Lodges do not give true justice to how good they are. When you then add the location with the stunning views, animals to feed, wifi that works and the hot tub you can see why people return for further visits. We certainly will be.

Tony from Braintree, Essex stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in October 2016


The perfect idyllic retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third lodge we have stayed in and my fourth visit. The Buchanan was the same high standard as the others.
The location is perfect and ideally placed for trips into Edinburgh or the Borders. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and all the finishing touches like The Nespresso coffee machine, excellent toiletries and sumptuous large towels with additional
towels for the hot tub, books and games and even plastic glasses for the hot tub make it a luxury stay. The lodge was extremely well equipped with plenty of crockery, pots and pans for the six of us. The breakfast and welcome pack was fantastic local produce and I was delighted that cleaners and dishwashing tablets etc. we're all eco friendly like home. The view was superb and so calming and relaxing and the resident animals and birds chirping in the morning were a delight. Airhouses is idyllic and it was a wrench to go home.
We will be back again next year. My sons, wives, my husband and myself love Airhouses. It's perfect.


Tina from Currie stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2016


Best of times in the Buchanan

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival we noted that the lodge had everything we needed, even food in the fridge. We had a great stay and the animals were fantastic. We fed them every day.

Phil from Oldham stayed at The Buchanan for 6 nights in September 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Buchanan and do hope you will come back again. Many thanks

Another lovely visit

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit to The Buchanan, thoroughly enjoyable as always.
Lodges very well stocked, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast basket, owners always on hand for help if required.
The hot tub remains our favourite relaxation and is very well maintained.
Thank you.


Nancy from Hamilton stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are glad you found the beds comfortable as they have all recently been replaced so that is good to know. Shaws the butchers in Lauder provide most of the content of the breakfast baskets and our guests do seem to enjoy all the local produce. Again many thanks and we hope to see you back for your 5th visit.

Another outstanding holiday at Airhouses

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just stayed for our third time at The Buchanan Lodge, Airhouses. The excellent standards set by the owners have been continued over the years. We were again thrilled at the cleanliness and luxury provided by the accommodation. The outlook and position remans stunning. It's remote, private and peaceful and yet the excitement of Edinburgh is only a half hour drive away. The owners have ensured that there are lovely walks around the farm- plenty to look at, animals to feed as you go and wildlife to spot. We saw foxes, deer, hares and owls. The lodge has everything you could want, it's very comfortable indeed. It's worth getting the BBQ if the weather is up to it, we enjoyed several meals outside. The hot tub is lovely to relax in and is top of the range. We understand that a new one is comng in the autumn and that's one of the impressive things about Airhouses. It's always being improved and updated so that we, the customer will always have an excellent holiday. We will be returning.

Tonwen from Uckinghall stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It was great to see you all again and we are delighted you saw so much of our amazing wildlife. We look forward to your next visit. Again, many thanks

Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the buchanon was a great place for a family vacation. It was clean and very comfortable - especially the beds. The location is great with lots to do in the area and we loved feeding to polo mints to the ponies.

Joanne from Toronto stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in June 2016


Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Airhouses at short notice when another booking we made at a different location fell through. We were very pleased with the lodge, the location and the service of our hosts.The lodge was very comfortable and of a high standard. Everything we needed was provided and as we expected based on the websites (Airhouses and Embrace Scotland). In fact we felt the view from the lodge far exceeded our expectations. We especially liked the gorgeous views from the large windows, the comfortable bed, shower and bath towels, The welcome food basket/toiletries/cleaning supplies were thoughtful and useful (we arrived late in the evening) as was the information provided on the lodge, farm and local sites.Overall we had a lovely experience at Airhouses and would highly recommend a stay here. One specific point to mention: the second cattle grid on the track to the lodge was a little tricky to negotiate with a couple large holes in the track.

Alec from Sharjah stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in July 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again.

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was beautiful and peaceful place to stay, such a lovely location in Scotland couldn't of asked for better. Plenty of outdoor space for children to play without having to worry about them. The animals are a great attraction.

Gemma from Barrow-in-furness stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in June 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay are Airhouses. The animals are very popular and some on the ponies love to be taken for a walk. Again, many thanks and we hope to see you again at Airhouses some time in the future.

Lovely experience

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying at Buchanan, would definitely stay there again. A beautiful place in beautiful surroundings. The welcome breakfast basket was much appreciated as well as the fact that the property is equipped with everything we needed for a 5 star self catering experience.

Elize from Pretoria stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in June 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast basket. Shaws in Lauder provide the sausages, bacon, haggis etc and we are very lucky to have such a good local butcher. We hope to see you at Airhouses some time in the future and again, many thanks

The Buchanan Lodge at Airhouses

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th time at the Buchanan lodge and again everything was perfect. The lodge is spotless, it is comfortable,Carol & Martin make you very welcome and my grandchildren just love the animals. We have been to a few lodge / hot tub holidays and Airhouses is by far the very best ( by a mile ). We will be back next year as my daughter is already asking if I have it booked yet! If you are looking for a lodge/hot tub holiday they don't come any better than Airhouses.

Rita from Dundee stayed at The Buchanan for 8 nights in April 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write such a positive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Airhouses and that your grandchildren had fun with the animals. The animals certainly enjoy seeing children, particularly if they have an apple or carrot with them! Again, many thanks indeed and we hope to see you again.

Great Weekend!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time and would definitely stay here again! We would also recommend the airhouses to our friends. The hot tub and the animals on the farm were our favorite parts.

Mallorie from Glasgow stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in March 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Buchanan. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Again, many thanks.

A truly gorgeous place

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely - downstairs the two bedrooms had beautiful en-suite facilities and huge comfy beds, however, the 3rd bedroom (upstairs) was really not suitable for adults due to the very steeply sloped ceiling. It would have been a magical place for kids but definately wasn't easy for adults. I did feel slightly upset that the lodge was sold to us as having accommodation for 6 people - which I assumed would be adults - but found, on arrival, that it was really more suitable for 4 adults and two children.

Having said that, it didn't spoil our weekend at all - the facilities were great and the hot tub was fabulous. We spent lots of time in the water and thoroughly recommend having a midnight dip on a bitterly cold February night - the star watching is so much better from 38 degree water!

We had a lovely, relaxing weekend and would recommend to the owners that they make the style/situation of the 3rd bedroom clear so that anyone booking in future won't be disappointed when they arrive. It's a beautiful lodge in a fabulous setting and we all came home feeling refreshed and relaxed and wishing we'd booked for a week instead of a weekend!


Fiona from Dunoon stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in February 2016


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay but sorry the upstair bedroom was a disappointment. It is the first time since we altered the bedroom to include an ensuite bathroom in 2012 that anyone has found it a problem as it is such a spacious room but low at the sides. We do point this out on our web site but perhaps we need some up to date photographs as well. The height is 6ft 4 inches in the middle. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Again, many thanks and we hope you will be back again.

Our second home for four nights

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What more can I say but already booking for next years visit which will be our 6th time so that should really say it all.
Excellent holiday. Lodge has everything you could want. We only leave the lodge while we are there to feed the pig and all the other animals. Hot tubbing at night in the snow an experience. We go back to our work so relaxed.


Alison F from Musselburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in February 2016


Great break

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third time staying in The Buchanan.
We return because it is in a beautiful location and the lodge itself is also beautiful, spotlessly clean and extremely well stocked.
The hot tub is amazing and is also very well maintained.
The farm animals are good fun and this time we had the added enjoyment of being visited by some deer and pheasant!
We will return again!


Nancy from Hamilton stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in February 2016


Weekend Break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time at the Buchanan Lodge while celebrating a special Birthday. Lodge was spacious, views lovely, peaceful with the options of walking and visiting the farm animals. Would definitely like to visit again.

Carol from Musselburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in January 2016


wonderful accommadation and location

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful retreat, The kitchen was well equipped, everything was provided and well thought out , A superb welcome pack in the fridge and fresh fruit was a really treat.
very comfortable beds and living accommodation,
We would definitely recommend.



Samantha from Stonehouse stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in December 2015


Pre-Christmas Break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family of 4 plus our Golden Retriever had a relaxing pre-Christmas break. All our batteries are now fully charged & geared up for our manic week ahead

David from London stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in December 2015


Buchanan Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay had by all. Lodge was spotless and comfortable. Showers were brilliant. Breakfast food, milk, bread, coffee and cleaning products all left for our use. This was a nice surprise although we didn't expect this as it says on the website there would be a charge and so we purchased most of this before arriving at the lodge and it was wasted. The lodge had a Christmas tree and lights up for our arrival which was lovely. The only thing we found frustrating was that check in was at 4 but check out was as early as 10am. We had to leave the property tidy as we found it and pack to go home yet had to be out as early as 10am.

Julie from Hockley stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad you have an excellent stay. Apologies if you found the web site confusing, but the Welcome Breakfast Baskets are as they say, "welcome" and therefore complimentary. There is absolutely no charge. We do offer a choice of menu in case there is something you particularly don't like but again, no charge. Our prices are inclusive of everything you would need for a self catering holiday and more. In line with most other self catering properties, we need a 10.00 am check out to turn everything round by 4.00 pm check in. As you said everything was spotless, but this does take time and an excellent team to do this. We do hope to be able to welcome you back to Airhouses at some time in the future.

fantastic lodge in fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fanatastic stay in the Buchanan Lodge. Accomodation was excellent, kitchen was fully equipped with everything you could think of. Great location, and of course the hot tub was amazing.
Stayed with a group of friends, but would also recommend for a stay with children.


Mairi from Edinburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in November 2015


Perfection!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked at short notice due to personal circumstances. We were not at all disappointed, the lodge was excellent and every conceivable need was catered for. The hot tub was simply amazing despite the poor weather.
The lodge was immaculate, clean, warm and well appointed and the hosts extremely helpful. The location is on a working farm, but there was no machinery noise nor any of the usual aromas. For children, and some softie adults there are animals to feed, a very large pig and two smaller ones who eat up all the scraps, Shetland ponies and a lama, as well as two alpaca.
Overall a brilliant place to stay: the five stars are well deserved! No expense has been spared in the design or preparation of this holiday home!


Andrew from Stockton On Tees stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in November 2015


A lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at the Buchanan, we are a family of four including a 10 and 17 year old, we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay, kids loved the hot tub and our youngest loved all of the animals. Location is excellent for our needs, cabin is very spacious and very comfortable. Views are great, plenty to do for all.
I am sure we will return in the future
Thanks to Carol and Martin for another enjoyable break.


Julie from Hull stayed at The Buchanan for 5 nights in October 2015


Airhouses no other can match

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've visited Airhouses twice now and the standard and service is second to none we have stayed at other various cottages in Scotland but always compare them to Airhouses and none of them beat the high standard

Donna from Wrexham stayed at The Buchanan for 14 nights in October 2015


Weekend Retreat!!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutley perfect! The lodge itself was spot on. Not one thing to fault! 3 spacious bedrooms, lovely bathrooms and beautiful views! Hot tub was the icing on the cake! A little bit pricer than most lodges for the weekend but once there it was easily justifiable! Will be returning in the near future!
Thanks for the great hospitality... And also the butter!


Adam from Falkirk stayed at The Buchanan for 2 nights in October 2015


Outstanding views, Excellent amenities, Picture-perfect vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Buchanan was an excellent property with 5-star amenities and comfort and outstanding views of the idyllic Scottish countryside. We had an enjoyable stay: the kids thoroughly enjoyed the farm and the animals and us adults the hot tub.

Krish from Milpitas stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2015


The Buchanan

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent another great weekend in The Buchanan - we've been once before.
The lodge remains very comfortable, well equipped & spotlessly clean.
The hot tub is very well maintained, the water being checked twice daily.
Location is ideal for peace, quietness and a completely relaxing break and the animals are great fun.


Nancy from Hamilton stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in September 2015


Faultless

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The fact I've headed this review faultless says it all.
The views from the lodge are stunning, the food hamper is yummy, the kids like interacting with the animals & the icing on the cake is the hot tub.
Love this place


Shirley from Great Yarmout stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in August 2015


More than excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. This cottage is the best equiped we've ever come across. There's plenty of wildlife within walking distance making it unique.

Guest from Nieuw Vennep stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in July 2015


The Buchanan Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was stunning, lovely views from the lodge and the ponies,pig and alpacas were an extra attraction. There were lovely walks round the farm and it was very peaceful and beautifully kept.

The lodge was fantastic, very clean and had everything we needed for our stay. The Welcome Hamper and extras were amazing. The hot tub was checked twice everyday and was always at the right temp.
Everyone was very helpful and friendly at Airhouses. We all enjoyed our stay very much and it is the best self catering lodge we have stayed in. Would recommend it and will book again.



Guest from Dundee stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in July 2015


Fantastic Quality Lodges in a Beautiful Setting

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in the Buchanan Lodge at Airhouses exceeded expectations. We have stayed in a number of lodges over the years but none have been so well maintained and equipped as this. The views from the lodge are amazing, especially while relaxing in the hot tub. Our two kids loved the animals they could pet and feed. This holiday was the best of both worlds for us as a family; beautiful, relaxing lodges within easy driving distance of all the attractions that Edinburgh has to offer. Fantastic holiday!

Guest from Banff stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in July 2015


Buchanan

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Breathtaking views,great location for touring the Borders,relaxing hot tub and very comfortable lodge.
Well equipped with everything you could possibly require and more!
The welcome pack on arrival was really appreciated.
The Careframill Lodge hotel 5 minute drive served great food all day, light bites to full meals.
We preordered a couple of meals with Airhouses and they were waiting for us in the freezer.
The standard was excellent (surpasses M&S and Waitrose)in terms of quality.
I would highly recommend this service.
In short we will return and that is the best compliment I could pay!


Guest from Grangemouth stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in June 2015


Long Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family weekend (6 adults, 1 infant). The lodge could hardly be better. Even a small selection of basic food in fridge. Plenty of space, comfortable beds and top quality shower rooms.

Guest from Lochgilphead stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in June 2015


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault this place. Perfect: position, equipment, hot tub, views, customer service, beds (from an insomniac!!). It was also all the little things: groceries in fridge, plenty of crockery etc, shower gels etc, treasure trails for kids and adults, ponies and a not so small pig. Looking forward to returning one day.

Maria from Lutterworth stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in May 2015


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault this place. Perfect: position, equipment, hot tub, views, customer service, beds (from an insomniac!!). It was also all the little things: groceries in fridge, plenty of crockery etc, shower gels etc, treasure trails for kids and adults, ponies and a not so small pig. Looking forward to returning one day.

Maria from Lutterworth stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in May 2015


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't fault this place. Perfect: position, equipment, hot tub, views, customer service, beds (from an insomniac!!). It was also all the little things: groceries in fridge, plenty of crockery etc, shower gels etc, treasure trails for kids and adults, ponies and a not so small pig. Looking forward to returning one day.

Maria from Lutterworth stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in May 2015


Fantastic Place!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Buchanan over the recent bank holiday weekend with another family. Wow what a place everything was perfect, the lodge itself was beautiful, every item you could think of was available and it was exceptionally clean. The view was amazing and the hot tub went down well with everyone! Beds were comfy and the facilities were fantastic. The children loved the upstairs room. I cannot praise Airhouses enough, we will without doubt be back.

Guest from Wath Upon Dearne stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in May 2015


An enjoyable time spent well at Airhouses.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Buchanan was an excellent choice for my girlfriends and I to have our annual gathering. It was spotless and done to a very high standard - enough to please four discerning ladies, which is something! We loved the walks and the animals equally and would recommend anyone to stay here with no hesitation.

Guest from Kilmarnock stayed at The Buchanan for 3 nights in May 2015


The Perfect Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at this lodge ( and not our last ) and I must say again this lodge is Perfect. Carol and Martin make you most welcome and the Buchanan is five star. My three grandchildren love the hot tub and animals. We have stayed in a few lodges with hot tubs in Scotland but this is the very best that we have stayed in. I would Highly Recommend Airhouses to friends and have done so.

Guest from Dundee stayed at The Buchanan for 7 nights in April 2015


Amazing!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved our time staying in the Buchanan. The lodge is beautiful with amazing scenery and the hot tub is pretty cool.
We loved the animals and loved that we could feed the alpacas and ponies.
We came here for a short break to de-stress after our wedding and didn't want to come home - it was perfect.
Mr and Mrs Houghton were lovely and very helpful.
We highly recommend Airhouses and will definitely be returning.


Elizabeth from Johnstone stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in March 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We hope you will return to Airhouses and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So good booking our fourth stay at Buchanan. That should say it all Everything is 5 star. Love being able to feed animals right at our door. Lovely views and walks. Welcome pack contains excellent quality produce and much appreciated.

Alison from Musselburgh stayed at The Buchanan for 4 nights in February 2015


Carol replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. It is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed the Welcome basket and all our lovely animals. We hope to see you again at Airhouses sometime soon.