FB Twitter

Wastwater Cottage

Wastwater Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


A 400 year old grade II listed barn conversion, this splendid 3 bedroom 2 bathroom cottage has an enormous and stylish 30ft living room with baby grand piano, high ceiling and exposed trusses.

Perfection

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay. Everything about it was perfect. Highly recommended. Would definitely like to revisit again.



Wonderful family break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, excellent equipped in an idyllic setting. Will definitely return again! Greg and his team were looking well after the guests to ensure a great holiday. Thank you.



Absolutely Bootiful stay in Lake District!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at the cottage alot. The cottage set up is absolutely beautiful and comfortable, the piano and toys cuddly bear provided were brilliant. The tea milk and biscuits was so thoughtful and appreciated.

Boot is absolutely gorgeous and the people are friendly making this whole trip very enjoyable for us as it's our first time coming to Lake District and we were mesmerised by the scene, we live in an Urban Quarter so it was a complete contrast to where we come from.

Thank you very much for everything.




A perfect venue for a family reunion.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a family of octogenarian parents and four globally scattered sons we could not have chosen a better venue for our family get-together.
If it had rained all week we could happily have spent the time enjoying breakfasts cooked in the clean and well equipped kitchen and eaten at the adjoining table; sitting chatting in the comfortable settees; playing board games round the spacious coffee table or enjoying music played on the baby grand piano. I cannot comment on the TV as the week was so full we never felt the need to switch it on - a week of blissful escape from the cares and troubles of the world beyond.
In fact the sun shone and we were able to sit out on the pleasant lawn and enjoy the peace of this tiny Lake District village, far from the madding crowds of Ambleside and Windemere. The village shop just across the road from the cottage provided ice cream and sandwiches if needed.and we only had to walk a few yards to indulge in the good cooking and friendly hospitality of the Boot Inn. Not to be missed was a visit to the Eskdale Mill, literally on our doorstep, where its history and ingenious mechanisms were clearly explained to us by the friendly volunteer guide
In short, Wasdale Cottage offered everything promised in the brochure and more besides.




Splendid stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was magnificently located. The area we were in was beautiful. The cottage was really elegant and clean (there was a Piano and a humongous teddy bear ).
The kitchen was marvelously equipped. The back garden with the stream is brilliant.




Greg Poole replied 99 days ago
Dear Khalid, Many thanks for your kind review and lovely words. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous location, as well as the unique features of Wastwater Cottage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm Cottages

Lovely stay in the Lake District

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Boot is a magical location to enjoy beautiful scenery and walks: mountains and lakes, babbling brooks, woods and waterfalls - a true escape to the countryside. We were blown away by the variety of stunning walks in every direction from the cottage and the charming Eskdale steam railway - which we took to the coast at Ravenglass - enjoying scenic views along the way. We enjoyed the close proximity of the Boot Inn, which was very welcoming and served us two very nice quality meals.
Wastwater Cottage itself is a comfortable cottage, set in a row of holiday cottages, along a cute cobbled street. It has a great open plan living area, which was a comfortable area to chill out after walks. It is a well stocked cottage and we liked that basics are provided - especially as shopping is a trip to the next town. We found the beds/bedroom/bathrooms comfortable - if a little small and dark downstairs.
The shared gardens are delightful and I can still picture myself sitting in the sun in the picnic area soothed by the Stanley Ghyll brook rushing past. We liked that the bird feeders attracted lovely birds such as Yellowhammers and enjoyed watching them come and go. A slight niggle is that the peace was disturbed for us by the renovation on the mill across the river - on times this meant that we couldn't fully enjoy the garden in peace but mostly we were out walking. While this is temporary, I would recommend checking out whether there is any building work going on. That said it wasn't a big issue and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and definitely plan to come back. I would add also that the booking arrangements and care of the team was exceptional - every attention to detail being taken to ensure we had a great stay. Thank you!




So happy that we immediately booked a return visit

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was an excellent location for our Perfect 10 Wellness Weekend. Our next booking is for a week.



A beautiful location and excellent comfort.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately I was given the wrong code to get my key when I arrived. After some panic I was given the correct code by Mark who happened to be at the Farmhouse. That wasn’t a good start- I also needed assistance to get the TV to work properly in both cottages. But the service was excellent and all resolved ver quickly.this is the fourth time I’ve stayed at these cottages. I love the location and the general comfort of the cottages is excellent. So overall, I wouldn’t hesitate in recommending the cottages to friends and family, both here in England and in Australia. This time I came from Australia just to be in Boot and at these cottages. I wasn’t disappointed. I’ll be back.



Greg Poole replied 99 days ago
Dear Margie, Many thanks for your lovely review and kind recommendations. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the cottages and we were glad Mark managed to resolve any issues you experienced upon arrival and that everything else lived up to expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Boot again soon! Best wishes, Greg and the team at Bridge End Farm