FB Twitter

Badger Lodge, with hot tub

Badger Lodge, with hot tub

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Badger lodge perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, stunning, tranquil, perfection....
Welcome pack upon arrival. Comfy bed. Lovely luxurious hot tub.




Badger Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very relaxing place to stay, the lodge has everything you’d need. The hot tub is a real treat. We would love to return.



As good as last time

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Rural Roosts a couple of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. This time was even better as the fishing produced good results and the accommodation was just as clean and comfortable as before. I would highly recommend Rural Roosts to anyone wishing to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside.



Coming back

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a beautiful peaceful place there is not one fault and we will be back next year the fishing was excellent so our men were happy and myself and Alexandra went out daily exploring the countryside and villages



We have stayed in a few of the cabbin s all well looked after and spotless

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love staying at rural roost so peaceful and our 6 yr old loves fishing with her daddy plenty of places to see nearby and our 2 boxers love to chill out nice walks



Badger lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay, very relaxing with everything needed in the lodge, hot tub was lovely, with beautiful views, shame about the lakes outside the lodge no luck with catching any fish due to a lot of weed coverage. Would definitely recommend this to friends & family for a lovely relaxing break!



Another excellent and relaxing weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again Rural Roosts lives up to its outstanding reputation. the fact that we have made several return visits shows how highly we regard the excellent service given by Katie and Tim to whom nothing is too much trouble. We have further visits booked in August and October.



Can’t wait to come back.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to Katie and her team. Had amazing holiday and can’t wait to come back next year for the 4 th time. We all had a lovely chilled time.



weeks holiday at Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Monday to Friday stay, and we had booked the 2 bedroom Badger lodge. It is superbly appointed with everything needed for a self catering holiday kitchen wise. Lovely touch by Tim & Katie, with milk, bread, tea, coffee on arrival, and a delicious lemon drizzle cake! (when we left, wanted to buy some to take back, but none left, so check at Roost hut during stay and get some before end of holiday if you do).
The bed was super comfy, excellent nights sleep. lodge has lots of electrical points and heating if needed. Ladies there is a table and mirror. the bathroom shower was very lively with great water pressure, just turn it on slightly and leave the mixture central.
We had a hot tub outside, not all lodges have them, but it was really good! as my wife would testify, I did go in, and it is good. follow the instructions closely, which are with the towels by verandah doors.
It is very quiet and peaceful, we have a dog and followed the farm walk notices, one place only to let a dog off though.

I fished whilst there, about 6 3 hours sessions, and being a general fisherman, I managed to have several bream directly outside the lodge. fishing 'the method feeder, halfway across, using a single red 8mm pellet on a band or bayonet hair. no ground bait allowed, but I cast in often, to build a layer of stiki pellet and catapulted in 8mm red pellets over top. I also float fished a waggler, 2 rod lengths out, pellet and meat, had some results, but slow. tried maggot, again slow, even catapulting maggots in every 30 seconds and dropping on top, still didn't bring regular bites. They had removed a lot of lilly pad beds, (and were still removing the debris, so might have upset fish.
I also used the method feeder up the far end past and over the bridge into the bay, and cast towards the tree line/wall off the last concrete block peg. had lots of bream, a very nice roach and a few carp. 2-3 pounds. if no bite after a minute, reload feeder and cast in again, and fire loose pellets over the top.

Didn't fish the reservoir, but other anglers said its good. fish a feeder or ledger, large carp in there. also catch more on maggot on here according to another angler who was with his son. its deep though I was told.

there is a tackle shop on a local caravan site, 5 minutes by car. see the folder.

please read the folder as it supplies a lot of local information, grocery shops etc

if like WW2 aircraft, see Lincolnshire Aviation museum at East Kirby, about 25 minutes away. Well worth a visit, check their website , as they have days when their Lancaster bomber and a Mosquito taxies.


I will be going back, probably next year now, for the fishing mostly, and hot tub, and as it VERY relaxing.

hope all helps.

thanks to katie and tim.




The perfect place to recharge

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The log cabin was so nice and warm we could live in it. The hot tub was the icing on the cake. Really nice walks and it is the perfect place to escape from everything. We will definately go again, and again, and again. Truly a special place..



A beautiful place to spend some time

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have spent time in quite a few cabins for short breaks but rural roots has blown us away such attention to detail that makes you feel welcome , it is such a beautiful place to spend time relaxing, a calming experience, all the wildlife to watch and listen to and the fishing was great to ,we will definitely be returning soon ,you should be very proud to have built such a beautiful place.



Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I highly recommend rural roosts to stay, I've been several times with family and we have always had such a lovely time. The lodges are always clean, tidy and welcoming, with all the basics provided. We love the lemon drizzle cake on the table when you arrive. The hot tub is always clean and regularly tested by staff . It's so relaxing watching the wildlife and people fishing on the lake. The children love it every time we go they cant wait to go back!



Badger Lodge with hot tub

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved it here so did the dog! 5* we will definitely be returning in the future thank you Katie and Tim



A relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay, fishing and dog walks, so many different birds to se.
Lincoln near so shopping if you prefer.
Great pub nearby 'The Ferryboat' would recommend.
Yes would come again setting is beautiful.




Relaxing

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we’ve stayed. The new Dog exercise area & the fenced decking was perfect bringing dogs.



Wonderful peaceful retreat. Excellent value for money.

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Relaxing, peaceful break. Lots of walks for the dogs straight from the door. Welcome pack really useful and is just what's needed on arrival. The Lemon Drizzle cake is especially yummy! Katie is always around to offer help and advice but is not intrusive. Fantastic Hot Tub and a great place to stare gaze. All in all a wonderful peaceful break. Just what's needed this time of year to recharge your batteries. Will be going again.



Wonderfully relaxing short break in peaceful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit, with old friends, excellent accommodation, all needs anticipated and catered for - thoroughly enjoyed every minute!



A peaceful, idyllic retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at this peaceful, idyllic retreat. Everything you could wish for to escape from a busy, hectic lifestyle. Lots of walks straight from the door. The dogs and children love it! The welcome pack is the best I've known and allows you to chill from the moment you enter the lodge. Warm, comfortable lodge and a pleasure to return to. Hot Tub just ends the day perfectly. Couldn't speak more highly of this home away from home. Will be returning soon.



Birthday night away

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved this place came here for my 27th birthday it was amazing ! Will definitely be coming back xxx



Birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much more than we expected - very comfortable, very warm, lovely fluffy bath towels, comfortable bed, loved the hot tub and watching the birds, quiet as only a few other people there. Wouldn't like to be there in high summer with loads of kids around!!
Ideal location for exploring the wolds and going into Lincoln. Couldn't have asked for more.

Only two points to make - better lights in the bedroom for reading in bed would be good and cleaning dog hairs of the rug in the drawing room would be good especially if one is slightly asmatic.




What a find - a hidden gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Heartily recommend Rural Roosts! It’s beautiful & peaceful. Cabin fab, well equipped. Amazing service



Badger Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Badger Lodge. The accommodation was beautiful and cosy too. The whole site was very well maintained and the setting was peaceful and picturesque. We would love to visit again very soon!



A fantastic relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Rural Roosts, was recommended by a friend 5 years ago. I suppose its not for everyone but if you want a relaxing break in a fabulous log cabin with everything you need to hand then its just fantastic. The log cabin is excellent, very comfortable, immaculately clean, all mod cons and to top it all a lovely hot tub to relax in. The welcome pack is much appreciated (lemon drizzle cake is to die for). Will be returning next year.



Heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location and accommodation are quite simply stunning. The lakeside setting is abundant with wildlife. The most peaceful holiday we’ve ever had.



Our Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always a beautiful lodge in stunning surroundings. Katie is an excellent host and nothing is too much trouble for her. The lemon drizzle cake is to die for and sampled a few while we were there.
The only issue we had was the fishing, the 2 lakes need a lot of work doing to them and out of 10 I would mark the fishing as a 1, it was such a shame, thankfully the weather was amazing which helped.




Tim and Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and comments, we always appreciate our guests feedback so we can make improvements and try to rectify any problems. As you could see during your stay, as soon as we were alerted to the problem of the underwater weed in the lodge lake we took action. We are continuing to try and remove as much as we can to improve the fishing conditions and prevent further problems. The extreme weather conditions we are experiencing have had an impact on the fishing, particularly on the lodge lake, as I hope you can appreciate this is unfortunately out of our control. However, the reservoir has been producing some lovely catches lately.

A week of relaxation

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First stay at Rural Roosts and l am sure it won't be the last. Beautiful lodge in a beautiful location.
Such a relaxing week. Everything was perfect. It was lovely just sitting watching the wildlife, will
definitely recommend.




Great weekend, Definately stay a third time

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely weekend, second time we've stayed at Rural Roosts, peaceful, Beautiful Lodge and Location. Plus hot tub was amazing, everything kept neat and tidy, lakes are great and quiet.



our stay in badger lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
badger lodge and rural roosts is a fantastic place to relax and chill, our two dogs chaz and molly absolutely loved it, this is our 3rd visit to rural roosts and it won`t be our last, the little extra`s by Katie and Tim are a really nice touch and the lemon drizzle cake is to die for.



Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful peaceful surroundings, lovely lodge clean and tidy, food essentials on arrival a kind gesture, friendly staff, fishing good will definitely rebook for next year. Thank you Rural Roosts for a lovely holiday.



Another faultless performance

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If it is your wish to completely relax, with approachable thoughtful people to attend to even you slightest concern then look no further. A bonus that the lakes contain healthy (and not too easy to catch) fish. After a day doing nothing, or visiting Lincolnshires many attractions just clean up and relax in a hot tub. Sleep in the ever comfortable beds and dream of coming back another time.



4th visit

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a very enjoyable stay as usual, which is probably why we be back again in the future,pity about the fishing didnt catch a thing, but that was probably down to us.
regards j saunders.




Wonderful 5 day break.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking this holiday..customer service great...called back when they said they would. Upon arrival..lovely welcome pack..very nice. Lodge, excellent, clean, welcoming. Owner called around on first day to check every thing okay...nothing was to much trouble. Fishing great..lovely walks...lodge area well maintained. Highly recommended



Short break in affordable accommodation and a hot tub to die for after a long hard days fishing

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the very best log cabins we have ever stayed in (and we've stayed in loads ).A very friendly greeting on arrival, very much the best experience of relaxation we have ever had.
Clean and very tidy and the lemon drizzle cake is to die for, exceptional service and highly recommend this location to anyone who wants to just unwind. And the fishing was top class well worth a visit.




First Class

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay at Rural Roosts with everything spot on. Fantastic location, peaceful and quiet and a bit of luxury with the hot tub. Lovely homely touches for when you arrive. (i.e milk, tea, coffee, cake, fruit). Everything is beautifully clean and well looked after. Would highly recommend and will definitely be rebooking.



Spring holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Rural Roosts is excellent. Everything we needed for a wonderful break. It was that good we have booked for next year.



Badger/ swan lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. Great place to come for a nice relaxing break. We came for two days stayed in Badger lodge. It was a lovely cabin everything you need is there. Katie and Tim are lovely and can’t do enough to make your stay a good one. We had to stay a extra night as the weather was really bad with the snow. This was not a problem for Katie she can’t have been any more helpful. She had guests coming so we moved in to Swan lodge for one night again a beautiful lodge. This is our second time and we will be back. Many Thanks Dave and Laura.



Peaceful

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Repeat customers and there is a reason for that. The location is second to none, it is peaceful and spacious. Beautiful lodges, exemplary customer service - nothing is too much trouble. Local produce available. Wildlife all around, different farm walks and amazing views.



Wonderful little hidden gem

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was an absolutely beautiful, luxurious and stunning lodge in a superb location. It was clean, well equipped and honestly the nicest Lodge we've stayed in. Everything about this little break was perfect and e will definitely be back!! I can highly recommend.



The best Christmas ever

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing Christmas we had at Rural Roosts. The place was fantastic and offered such great services.
We had such an amazing time that we are already looking at our calendars of when we can next visit!




A long weekend with old friends to celebrate my 50th birthday - absolutely perfect!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class all round - tastefully decorated, extremely comfortable, everything thought of, we all thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. Only minor suggestions of improvement would be to have a small, separate cloakroom/toilet and to have a light over the hot tub! (there are two on the decking area but none round the corner where the hot tub is, which made it a bit tricky to uncover and get into, in the dark!) Overall, though, a lovely and restful place to stay - will definitely be booking stays again throughout the year. Many thanks.