FB Twitter

Tawny Lodge

Tawny Lodge

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 33 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.8
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to rural roosts , and 3rd time staying in tawny lodge . We have seen every season here and no matter what the weather we still find it the only place we can truly relax . 'Sonny 'our dog finds it just as relaxing as we do and never wants to leave .
On this stay we had very heavy rain with lots of flooding of the surrounding fields. Although this didn't have any impact on our stay it must have been a busy and worrying time for Tim and Katie and we appreciated being kept informed of any problems that may have occurred.
We are already looking at dates for 2 visits next year and can't wait to return .




Tawny Lodge - Oct 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely break in a lovely location
Fish not biting in Lodge Lake but success with larger carp (8/10lb) in superb reservoir
Thank you for all you hospitality and congratulations on a lovely resort
Kevin & Julia




This is a fantastic place so relaxing it's hard to have to leave

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here several times now, it's so relaxing and comfortable has everything you need.Katie, Tim and the team are excellent.
We have stayed in a few places in Lincolnshire, but nothing can beat Rural Roosts.




Excellent midweek break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would say Rural Gem !.... arrived on Monday afternoon to spotlessly clean lovely lodge....a really nice touch was the welcome pack of fruit, cake,milk, bread & butter. The whole site is extremely well maintained & flower pots and hanging baskets add to the charm. The fishing was supprisingly good for the time of year.... what else could you possibly want...... great time....we will be back....:)



An excellent weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our short stay exceeded our expectations. Comfortable and quiet and very well placed for seeing the Wolds and the historic sites of South Lincolnshire.



Fantastic Rural roosts

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second visit to rural roosts.You are well catered for from the moment you arrive, with coffee tea milk cake butter etc all waiting for you.The lodge is clean,very comfortable,has a well equipped kitchen, free WiFi and a beautiful view over the lake.
Highly recommended.
Pete and Anne.




Just Fab

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love this place! It's beautiful and relaxing, this was our second visit and definitely won't be our last. The lodges are the cleanest and we'll maintained you will ever find! A big thank you to the housekeeping team. Thank you to Katie and Tim for the lovely welcome basket and yummy cake. Can't wait to come back.



Beautifully kept lodges with fantastic surroundings. Very comfortable quiet and relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed from Friday to Monday which was a fishing present for my husband. We booked late so no choice but our 2 bedroom lodge was perfect. So quiet except for the swallows nesting above verandah but they were very entertaining. Plenty of space for 2 or 4 people and dogs are welcome.

The fishing was not great as.they weren't biting however the reservoir nearby had a good stock. The main lake was beautiful and as the weather was very good most of the day and evenings were spent outside.

WiFi is available but it is very very slow as everyone else thought so don't go hoping to stream anything. Quality of everything was very good including cutlery and crockery.

We did venture to local shops and fishing tackle shop too but we did have a loaf or bread milk fruit and a lovely lemon drizzle cake waiting for us when we arrived.

Someone is always about if you need anything and the added bonus of a very small shop for milk bread and ice-cream was well received.

If you're looking for a fishing holiday right on your doorstep then this is it. Very relaxing but there are walks about too.

We will be back and maybe plan it better so that we have one with a hot tub.




Another wnderful week and Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another superb week at the lovely Rural Roosts. Our 5th or 6th visit and they have all been excellent. Cannot rate this place highly enough for the peace and quiet, the standard of the accommodation and the lovely location. Ideal for visiting Lincoln, with it's fantastic Cathedral and shops, Horncastle, nice market town, and Louth, another small market town.



Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Rural Roosts and enjoyed a very relaxing weekend. The Carping Anglers we’re very happy catching plenty of carp in the reservoir lake. Already booked another stay later on this year!



Fantastic lodge and lake

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tawny lodge is lovely and has everything you need. The view to the lake is just lovely and the farm walks are great. My husband and daughter enjoyed the fishing and managed to get some big fish on the top lake. We will be back!



Excellent retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous to relax in beautiful surroundings Information book invaluable for visiting local amenities



Sheer perfection.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rural Roosts team have absolutely nailed it. Another wonderful stay made even better by the beautiful Spring weather. Swallows nesting in the eaves of the decking provided welcome entertainment from the kitchen sink and the deck. Not long till we are back in October and I think we will manage a Winter booking too this year.



Rural Roosts Hol 22-29th March 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was absolutely fantastic. A delightful complimentary cake, fruit, bread and milk. Home from home with everything supplied as required. The walk to the lake was short approx 20-30 fishing was hard but we caught anyway We wanted to fish the reservoir but was too cold and windy with no cover. Absolutely fantastic and wanted to go back later in the year but fully booked. We are going back in April 2020 with some other members of our family and cant wait.



3rd time there will keep going!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice stay as usual, myself girlfriend and dogs had a very pleasant stay, so quiet and peaceful, away from any noise. Brilliant for a little get away.



Peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our second visit to Rural Roosts we found it to be just as wonderful as the first time. Impeccably presented and really comfortable accommodation with a few well chosen welcome goodies. Our two dogs were visibly disappointed to return home, such was their enjoyment of the immediate farm walks and stimulating change of scenery. The net result was two very chilled adult guests who will be checking diaries for another return visit.



A Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for peace and quiet and a place to relax and unwind then Rural Roosts is for you. The attention to detail is excellent they have thought of everything you might need for your holiday even down to the welcome pack containing a yummy lemon drizzle cake. Beautiful views from the lounge area across the lake and enjoyable walks around the surrounding countryside. Highlight of holiday was watching the Kingfisher who put on a show for us most days.



5th time at Rural Roost

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay here. Can't fault it.
Lodge immaculate as always. Peaceful and relaxing. Can't wait to return next year




Tawny Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place to stay for a relaxing break. Lodge was lovely and you are provided with all you need.



Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at Rural Roosts with a high standard as usual. Home from home comforts with some good fishing thrown on. See you again next year.



Relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a long weekend at the last minute and what a pleasure it was. Fantastic lodge in a great location. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff and the Lemon Drizzle cake is to die for. We took our 2 year old cockapoo and i was really impressed with the walks and how dog friendly the whole place was. Even had a small fenced meadow specifically for exercising you dog. Highly recommend this place to anyone who would like a quiet relaxing break.



Lovely Facility

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting; well-equipped; staff were extremely friendly and helpful and provided excellent customer service. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Patti




so relaxing - Katie and Tim always make sure you have a wonderful time

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our most favourite holiday place - we love it. It is so peaceful and relaxing - you are guaranteed to have your batteries totally recharged. The scenery is stunning - you can sit for hours just watching the birds and squirrels all having a good time. It is well worth a visit to Rural Roosts - you will not be disappointed - there is also a lovely little treat waiting for you upon your arrival - mmmmmm



Fishing Trip

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the third year in a row that my mate Norman and I have stayed at Rural Roosts, twice in Woodpecker and this time in Tawny Lodge. The site is located in beautiful countryside and from the moment you arrive the hosts Katie and Tim make you very welcome. The lodges are superb and although in the same area around the smaller lake they are very private. Everything you need is provided to the smallest detail including tea, coffee, sugar, cleaning materials, towels etc and the welcoming pack of bread, butter and their famous lemon drizzle cake is most welcome.
There are a number of local villages, 10 mins away with shops and some good places to eat or you can self cater as the lodges are as mentioned fully equipped with a proper cooker, microwave etc. In summary the place is exactly as described on the web site.
We were there primarily for the fishing on the big lake which is absolutely full of big carp yet hardly fished and both of us broke our personal records with the biggest carp at 19lbs and a lot of double figure carp. Note: this is not a fishing camp and big groups of the same sex are not allowed. This is a place for couples and families with the odd lodge being used by fishermen like ourselves.
Try it because you will love it!!




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Still impressed after 5 visits. Will be returning next year. Excellent accommodation, setting and fishing.



A good find

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing quiet and serene good fishing will return in October to experience a lodge with a hot tub



A retreat from the world

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Tawney Lodge at Rural Roosts at rather short notice when we realised my husband could fish there. The weekend break was fabulous, the weather was superb and Tawney Lodge suited us both down to the ground. I simply wanted to get away for a rest and to chill after a difficult year and my husband, who doesn't do 'rest', wanted to fish. Rural Roosts was ideal for us both - peaceful, quiet and very picturesque. I loved the generous welcome pack at the lodge, the spacious rooms in Tawney Lodge and the tree-lined farm walks with our dog. It was a joy to wake up there in the mornings. Stuart loved fishing the lake and was pretty successful on both days landing 8 on the first day and 9 on the second. He was very happy with that especially, as he caught a couple of large fish. We really loved the farm, the lodge, the setting, the walks and the whole area and definitely want to come again.



wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
from the minute you arrived and saw the lovely log cabin, you knew you were in for a real treat, warm friendly staff, everything you could possibly want was there. excellent cake made by the owner and a lovely welcome pack awaited us when we got there. there was nothing at all to fault. anyone who wants to give this destination a try will not be disappointed



Lovely relaxed holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing holiday , my husband loved the fishing and myself and our two dogs loved the scenic walks around the farm and lakes. A total break from a busy life. The lodges are so comfortable and like home from home . Our daughter, son in law and grandson also stayed in another lodge and loved their time too . Our second visit and not our last as we will be back again x



letter

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
rural roots is a very nice to be we liked it very much
also very peaceful and restful and we had a pleasant
walk around the lake




Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love it here so relaxing and peaceful the lodge and the surrounding area are spotless, beautiful new road way leading to the lodges and new lighting around the farm walks, fantastic place for dogs and good fishing lake. The staff are very helpful shop onsite is a gem, and the lemon drizzle cake is to die for we always take one back home with us. Looking forward to our next stay in July.



We love it

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit to rural roosts having stayed in little owl Lodge (twice) and Swan Lodge previously.
We have busy lives so we come to rural roosts to get away from it all for some peace and quiet and to relax and rural roosts never disappoints. It ticks every box! You can do as much or as little as you want, on this visit, apart from walking the dog we did nothing.
We have already booked to come back in October for a week, can't wait!




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodges, idyllic surroundings, 're charge your batteries. Lovely greeting pack. Lodges are so well equipped lovely and warm.