FB Twitter

Tawny Lodge

Tawny Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 69 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Beautiful and quiet

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a quiet peaceful place to stay , the lodge was so clean, comfy and well equipped .
We will be going back.




Eighth visit as good as the first

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been coming to Rural Roosts since 2016 sometimes twice a year. Couldn't come last year due to health issues so when driving down the track with the rabbits and deer scattering it was wonderful to be back. Cabin was spotless as always and the grounds are perfectly kept. Lodge lake outside the cabin has matured over the years we have been coming and gives excellent sport with carp, roach and a large head of skimmers and bream. Lovely walks around the farm and a large "off the lead" excise area for our dog. Wragby a short drive away has excellent fish and chips and a very good Chinese. The Carpenters Arms about 5 miles away do very good pub food but for a special occasion try "The Magpies" in Horncastle for exquisite food, not cheap but well worth it. Rural Roosts is a totally relaxing environment and Katie and her team do a fantastic job. Have already booked for next year.



Peace and Quiet

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had to rearrange our originally planned visit dates due to serious illness. Katie could not have been more helpful in doing this for us and is much appreciated.

As usual, the cabins are in wonderful condition, well-equipped, extremely comfortable and spacious. The grounds are very mature now and the area is great for quiet walks. For peace and quiet, I can think of nowhere better. Thank you for enabling us to have a lovely stay.




Peace and Tranquillity

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As in previous years the peace and tranquility at Rural Roosts has left us ready to face another year of lifes machinations. It's like recharging a gradually flattening battery and feeling once more full of energy.
Although secondary to this the fishing is good and the fish fit and plentiful with enough to please the occasional angler and a reservoir with big fish for the more serious.
Add to this a 15 minute drive to Lincoln and all its attractions and facilities and there you have it.
Waddington RAF base provides weekday airborne entertainment with Typhoon and Jaguar jets with the occasional AWACS and you have for me the perfect holiday.
One last thing, try the butcher in Wragby, you will not regret it.




Peace and tranquillity

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was v.well equipped. The beds were comfortable. The setting was wonderful . Hope to return.



Another lovely stay...Needed the peace during a difficult time.

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stay in Tawny lodge since 2020, My Hubby and my dog Indie have enjoyed staying here for the lovely walks etc and lovely cabin. I find it so relaxing, This time was heart breaking for us as a week before our stay our indie who has been ill for a while was finally cancer which after along time trying to find out why she was so ill, This break was on the day of our 25th Wedding Anniversary so we wanted our family together so we hoping our dog indie could make it, so we was over the moon she came with us on her last holiday, and I always promised her when I was packing she would go to our lovely place that she loved. she made on day one, but next day she wasnt very good and we came home briefly to visit our vets and had to have her put to sleep sadly, we were heartbroken, and still are, We drove back to this lovely place and had our break away retreating and sobbing over our faithful dog, and this place gave us the peace and time to process the past few months. all in all this place helped us when times were so painful, and we are so grateful that when times get tough or we just need that time and peace this place is perfect as always. Thank you x



WOW first time stay at rural roosts and what an amazing place to stay already booked for next year

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to stay so peaceful and relaxing this is our first visit to rural roosts and have already booked for next summer lovely walks for the dog the wildlife is an added bonus spotless cabin has everything you need plenty of places to visit in the area this is the best holiday l have ever had and can`t wait till next year thankyou Katie Tim and all the team for making this place what it is



We love this place.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have found no better place to relax. As repeat guests over several years we are appreciating the way the site is maturing, providing regular and delightful encounters with wildlife. The risk of repeatedly providing glowing reviews might present more competition for booking availability. But, with bookings already made for August and October this year, we can live with that. Well done to all the Rural Roosts team for making the experience just as good as it has always been.



Excellent from arrival to departure, superb location and great Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High expectations before we arrived, exceeded all of those, fantastic place, already booked again



Lovely peaceful location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped lodges, peaceful site, good fishing. Grounds well kept and nice walks. Management checked everything was OK and were helpful.



Really nice time at Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our time at Rural Roosts a lovely location and a fabulous lodge very clean and tidy and well equipped with plenty of space.



Another lovely stay at Rural Roosts!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Rural Roosts several times in the past we were looking forward to a week of tranquillity and comfort and we weren't disappointed. From the welcoming lemon drizzle cake (delicious) to the fluffy towels everything was as perfect as ever. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful, and the farm setting is idyllic. The kitchen is well appointed with everything you could need if you want to cook, the is TV huge and the sofas comfortable. I can't comment on the fishing, although the other guests appeared to be enjoying this quiet pastime, we just visit for the peacefulness - time to recharge our internal batteries. I would thoroughly recommend a visit and we will definitely be back again soon.



Perfect yet again!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Tawny Lodge again with my hubby and our furbaby Indie, She loves coming here and she really did love the Roast Dinner treats, which was a lovely surprise. I have a physical Disability which means I need to good access and this place is perfect, which makes me able to use my mobility scooter around the site and inside with comfort. Night before my stay here this time I was struck down with a injury to my back, We still continued to try and go for our break there, so got painkillers etc and we set off, Because it is easy to get around,yet again, We have an enjoyable holiday and was able to enjoy the scenery whilst dealing with the pain.. Coming to the end of our holiday I was in least pain and able to move around, This place helped me during this time and as always, very peaceful, Cant wait to book again, Thanks Katie and Tim. x




10/10 stay once again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited rural roosts numerous times and stayed in many of the lodges. Our stay was again 10/10 we always enjoy a visit both for fishing and a well deserved break. Our little girl loves it as does our dog. Wouldn’t go anywhere else for a holiday like that.



Beautiful retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to take my son fishing. Superb accommodation and setting. And really helpful, friendly hosts and team.



Idyllic

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit and it was as peaceful and relaxing as usual. The lodges are always so clean, not a speck of dust anywhere. Everything you could possibly need is in the lodge. First time we have stayed for a week and the washing machine was much appreciated this time. It is nice to have your own machine in the lodge instead of a shared one. The only thing we could find fault with is that the sofa seats are a little saggy now and we would prefer something firmer. On saying that it did not spoil our stay but would have made it that little bit more comfortable. The setting of the lodges is perfect. Even when all the lodges are full the site is still so quiet. Husband had a great time fishing, he caught the most he has ever caught at Rural Roosts. Overall another wonderful holiday and we cannot wait to return.



A great week away

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need for a relaxing break, comfy and clean in a rural location with good fishing and guests



Excellent accommodation and location

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal for my grand children to come to stay, for them to go on country walks, visit to Rand Farm and a visit to East Kirby Air Museum to see the Lancaster bomber.



Disappointing

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Sep 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is not as comfortable or as clean, as others we have stayed in at Rural Roosts. It is tired.



A lovely weekend in an idyllic spot

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'd booked a long weekend as a birthday present for my husband who is a fisherman and we weren't disappointed. The lodges are in an idyllic rural location and really well appointed. My husband loved being so close to the central pond and reservoir and the shed provided to store fishing tackle meant that he could be out on the water in 5 minutes. He even managed to squeeze in an hours fishing on our final morning before we checked out!

Katie was really helpful during booking, especially as we added our daughter - back from Uni - to the booking at the last minute. A text on the first evening to make sure we had arrived safely and offer help if needed was appreciated and we found The Roost (info hub and mini shop) really helpful when we discovered I'd forgotten to bring milk.

All in all a lovely break. We would recommend and hope to visit again in the future. Thank you




Relaxing fishing holiday in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have returned to Rural Roosts and numerous occasions because of the high standard of accommodation and beautiful location. We have stayed in a number of lodges and brought along both our children and grandchildren- all of whom have enjoyed their stay. My husband and sons love the fishing and this year had a really successful time, mainly on the reservoir. We have already booked our Summer 2022 holiday but may well take a weekend before then.



3rd Time, Amazing as ever!

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd stay and still amazing, Love the lemon drizzle cake, love the lodge. Everything is so clean and its so quiet even in August. My hubby and I took our dog Indie around the walks like we do when we come to stay, and seen lots of Dragonflies, different colours, sizes etc, Lots of wild life to see. We Truly Love this Place and are hoping to come back in the next couple of months. Thank you again to Katie,Tim and the team. x



Return Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Rural Roosts many times the lodge and facilities were of the usual high standard. The staff are always very friendly and approachable.



Excellent again

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tranquil environment in well maintained and well equipped lodges. Our second visit this year and we are also booked in for September - we obviously love it :-)



Stayed 25 June to 2nd July

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge and surroundings were all as described and were excellent. We had a wonderful stay. The fishing on Lodge lake was difficult at times and in my opinion would benefit from being deeper which would help prevent weed growth. The site is situated in an area that allows visits to lots of attractions.



Brilliant holiday for the whole family

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic family holiday destination- you've got something for everyone including for the family dog if you have one.
Instead of travelling for hours by plane and going through all the hassle of going abroad you've got something that feels like a European woodland holiday right here on your doorstep. Go ahead and book a stay, you won't regret it.




Bad weather but lovely Lodge and stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tawny Lodge was very clean and spotless upon arrival it had all the amenities ever needed for a self catering holiday and the kitchen was well stocked with utensils and Katie had left a lovely lemon drizzle cake as a welcome.
The Lodge is bigger than photo's suggest so plenty of room for four people although there were only two of us and access was really good. The heating was excellent and kept us warm and cosy as we had a terrible week with the weather having everything thrown at us bar snow. The only slight downside we found was the suite was rather low and well used so not quite as comfortable as we would have liked.
The view of the Lodge Lake from the veranda was stunning and we saw lots of wildlife including a Robin who came to visit every morning.

As for the fishing the Lodge lake was very weedy and impeded fishing the week we were there Tim the owner did try however to remedy this with a morning spent cutting the weed down. To add to that with the blustery winds rain squalls and hailstones the fish were not feeding so fishing wise a little disappointing for me.

I'm sure in the warmer summer months it would be a totally different experience and to be honest none of this was the owners fault they can't control the weather so we will certainly return for another stay later on.






Relaxing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Apr 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting. Amazingly spacious lodge, fully equipped. Had a lovely weekend. Walks around the lakes really safe and lovely views.



Second time here just as amazing as the first time.

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is just a wonderful place, Loved Tawny Lodge, Went with my Hubby and Dog Indie again and the walks around this place and views are amazing. Very peaceful apart from the birds, which we loved to hear. I really didnt want to come home just yet but we will be returning in August. So very tranquil you will be so relaxed, in comfort and confidence as the katie and the team do an amazing job.



Blissful relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There can be few locations or venues that provide a safer retreat in these difficult times. The Rural Roosts experience is just as impeccable as in pre-COVID times, but there is an added reassurance at this time. Our recent stay in Tawny Lodge provided sublime relaxation. This was supplemented by remarkable wildlife encounters. The highlight was the unexpected show provided by hundreds of roosting starlings disturbed from the reservoir reed beds at twilight. We are looking forward to our next booking.



Our first visit here was amazing!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just come back from staying in Tawny Lodge at Rural Roosts and i have got to say this place is amazing, from the moment we arrived we settled into a very clean lodge, perfect scenery everywhere you look, Our dog Indie loved it too, she was like a puppy again, lovely walks, wild life, Katie the owner has got this perfectly right, spot on, very helpful, and clear information on local info, everything you need to know about everything about your stay. Whilst we were there, the lodge next to us was having a clean from the last occupants and the young girl who was cleaning spent alot of time disinfecting everything, she was there for awhile, puts your mind at rest with the current situation. the only thing we did struggle with was the firm mattress, but that's a personal preference with both my husband and i having bad backs. The kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need. The rooms are big enough as well which come in handy with my mobility scooter. Everything about this place is just wonderful, in fact it is the best lodge/site we have ever stayed at. We can't wait to come back!



Superb stay

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In this current social distancing/Covid environment received instructions via email regarding hygiene procedures prior to stay. Kate also telephoned first evening of stay to check everything was ok.

Regarding Tawny lodge, very clean, spacious and well equipped. Sanitiser at door and all necessary cleaning equipment and instructions available to ensure yourself and future guests feel safe. Plenty of storage area inside and great to have outside shed for fishing gear and cycles.

During our week stay the weather was superb and it was lovely to relax in the sun. Lovely views of the lake from lodge and great walks around the farm. Found fishing very difficult in lodge lake , fared slightly better in reservoir.

Had a fantastic week and already booked for next summer.


,




Tawny Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very relaxing week at Rural Roosts. Excellent lodge with all home comforts. Hard fishing in the lodge lake with a few bream and carp caught. Over 11 carp caught in reservoir all between 15 and 18lb. Already counting down the days until we return.



Welcome break

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to be able to make our third visit to Rural Roosts. Instructions for following hygiene and health procedures were received in advance of the outward journey.
Our stay at Tawny was superb. The weather, fishing and socially distanced social interaction with other visitors really lovely.
All necessary cleaning apparel provided to wipe surfaces and clean hands on arrival/during visit/departure from lodge.
We’ll be back.




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing holiday. Spotlessly clean and everything covid 19 secure . Only problem was the abundance of weed in the lodge lake making the fishing very difficult the owners are aware and I’m sure they will get on top of it .
Will certainly return




Even the weather cannot detract from the experience.

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have grown attached to Tawny Lodge, with its unrivalled views along the full length of the fishing lake. Our latest visit co-incided with some really poor weather, but this served to confirm just how cosy the lodges are. The whole set up at Rural Roosts fits perfectly with our needs, and those of our dogs. After a week, we were truly relaxed and the dogs were really chilled. I'm not sure they are too happy to be home. I've tried to explain we'll be going back in a few weeks. The provision of frozen meals for purchase on site is a positive step, with the Moroccan Chicken Casserole particularly recommended.



Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 6th visit to rural roosts , and 3rd time staying in tawny lodge . We have seen every season here and no matter what the weather we still find it the only place we can truly relax . 'Sonny 'our dog finds it just as relaxing as we do and never wants to leave .
On this stay we had very heavy rain with lots of flooding of the surrounding fields. Although this didn't have any impact on our stay it must have been a busy and worrying time for Tim and Katie and we appreciated being kept informed of any problems that may have occurred.
We are already looking at dates for 2 visits next year and can't wait to return .




Tawny Lodge - Oct 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely break in a lovely location
Fish not biting in Lodge Lake but success with larger carp (8/10lb) in superb reservoir
Thank you for all you hospitality and congratulations on a lovely resort
Kevin & Julia




This is a fantastic place so relaxing it's hard to have to leave

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here several times now, it's so relaxing and comfortable has everything you need.Katie, Tim and the team are excellent.
We have stayed in a few places in Lincolnshire, but nothing can beat Rural Roosts.




Excellent midweek break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would say Rural Gem !.... arrived on Monday afternoon to spotlessly clean lovely lodge....a really nice touch was the welcome pack of fruit, cake,milk, bread & butter. The whole site is extremely well maintained & flower pots and hanging baskets add to the charm. The fishing was supprisingly good for the time of year.... what else could you possibly want...... great time....we will be back....:)



An excellent weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our short stay exceeded our expectations. Comfortable and quiet and very well placed for seeing the Wolds and the historic sites of South Lincolnshire.



Fantastic Rural roosts

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second visit to rural roosts.You are well catered for from the moment you arrive, with coffee tea milk cake butter etc all waiting for you.The lodge is clean,very comfortable,has a well equipped kitchen, free WiFi and a beautiful view over the lake.
Highly recommended.
Pete and Anne.




Just Fab

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely love this place! It's beautiful and relaxing, this was our second visit and definitely won't be our last. The lodges are the cleanest and we'll maintained you will ever find! A big thank you to the housekeeping team. Thank you to Katie and Tim for the lovely welcome basket and yummy cake. Can't wait to come back.



Beautifully kept lodges with fantastic surroundings. Very comfortable quiet and relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed from Friday to Monday which was a fishing present for my husband. We booked late so no choice but our 2 bedroom lodge was perfect. So quiet except for the swallows nesting above verandah but they were very entertaining. Plenty of space for 2 or 4 people and dogs are welcome.

The fishing was not great as.they weren't biting however the reservoir nearby had a good stock. The main lake was beautiful and as the weather was very good most of the day and evenings were spent outside.

WiFi is available but it is very very slow as everyone else thought so don't go hoping to stream anything. Quality of everything was very good including cutlery and crockery.

We did venture to local shops and fishing tackle shop too but we did have a loaf or bread milk fruit and a lovely lemon drizzle cake waiting for us when we arrived.

Someone is always about if you need anything and the added bonus of a very small shop for milk bread and ice-cream was well received.

If you're looking for a fishing holiday right on your doorstep then this is it. Very relaxing but there are walks about too.

We will be back and maybe plan it better so that we have one with a hot tub.




Another wnderful week and Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet another superb week at the lovely Rural Roosts. Our 5th or 6th visit and they have all been excellent. Cannot rate this place highly enough for the peace and quiet, the standard of the accommodation and the lovely location. Ideal for visiting Lincoln, with it's fantastic Cathedral and shops, Horncastle, nice market town, and Louth, another small market town.



Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at Rural Roosts and enjoyed a very relaxing weekend. The Carping Anglers we’re very happy catching plenty of carp in the reservoir lake. Already booked another stay later on this year!



Fantastic lodge and lake

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tawny lodge is lovely and has everything you need. The view to the lake is just lovely and the farm walks are great. My husband and daughter enjoyed the fishing and managed to get some big fish on the top lake. We will be back!



Excellent retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous to relax in beautiful surroundings Information book invaluable for visiting local amenities



Sheer perfection.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rural Roosts team have absolutely nailed it. Another wonderful stay made even better by the beautiful Spring weather. Swallows nesting in the eaves of the decking provided welcome entertainment from the kitchen sink and the deck. Not long till we are back in October and I think we will manage a Winter booking too this year.



Rural Roosts Hol 22-29th March 2019

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place was absolutely fantastic. A delightful complimentary cake, fruit, bread and milk. Home from home with everything supplied as required. The walk to the lake was short approx 20-30 fishing was hard but we caught anyway We wanted to fish the reservoir but was too cold and windy with no cover. Absolutely fantastic and wanted to go back later in the year but fully booked. We are going back in April 2020 with some other members of our family and cant wait.



3rd time there will keep going!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice stay as usual, myself girlfriend and dogs had a very pleasant stay, so quiet and peaceful, away from any noise. Brilliant for a little get away.



Peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On our second visit to Rural Roosts we found it to be just as wonderful as the first time. Impeccably presented and really comfortable accommodation with a few well chosen welcome goodies. Our two dogs were visibly disappointed to return home, such was their enjoyment of the immediate farm walks and stimulating change of scenery. The net result was two very chilled adult guests who will be checking diaries for another return visit.



A Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for peace and quiet and a place to relax and unwind then Rural Roosts is for you. The attention to detail is excellent they have thought of everything you might need for your holiday even down to the welcome pack containing a yummy lemon drizzle cake. Beautiful views from the lounge area across the lake and enjoyable walks around the surrounding countryside. Highlight of holiday was watching the Kingfisher who put on a show for us most days.



5th time at Rural Roost

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay here. Can't fault it.
Lodge immaculate as always. Peaceful and relaxing. Can't wait to return next year




Tawny Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place to stay for a relaxing break. Lodge was lovely and you are provided with all you need.



Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at Rural Roosts with a high standard as usual. Home from home comforts with some good fishing thrown on. See you again next year.



Relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked a long weekend at the last minute and what a pleasure it was. Fantastic lodge in a great location. Spotlessly clean. Very friendly staff and the Lemon Drizzle cake is to die for. We took our 2 year old cockapoo and i was really impressed with the walks and how dog friendly the whole place was. Even had a small fenced meadow specifically for exercising you dog. Highly recommend this place to anyone who would like a quiet relaxing break.



Lovely Facility

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting; well-equipped; staff were extremely friendly and helpful and provided excellent customer service. Enjoyed our stay very much.
Patti




so relaxing - Katie and Tim always make sure you have a wonderful time

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our most favourite holiday place - we love it. It is so peaceful and relaxing - you are guaranteed to have your batteries totally recharged. The scenery is stunning - you can sit for hours just watching the birds and squirrels all having a good time. It is well worth a visit to Rural Roosts - you will not be disappointed - there is also a lovely little treat waiting for you upon your arrival - mmmmmm



Fishing Trip

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the third year in a row that my mate Norman and I have stayed at Rural Roosts, twice in Woodpecker and this time in Tawny Lodge. The site is located in beautiful countryside and from the moment you arrive the hosts Katie and Tim make you very welcome. The lodges are superb and although in the same area around the smaller lake they are very private. Everything you need is provided to the smallest detail including tea, coffee, sugar, cleaning materials, towels etc and the welcoming pack of bread, butter and their famous lemon drizzle cake is most welcome.
There are a number of local villages, 10 mins away with shops and some good places to eat or you can self cater as the lodges are as mentioned fully equipped with a proper cooker, microwave etc. In summary the place is exactly as described on the web site.
We were there primarily for the fishing on the big lake which is absolutely full of big carp yet hardly fished and both of us broke our personal records with the biggest carp at 19lbs and a lot of double figure carp. Note: this is not a fishing camp and big groups of the same sex are not allowed. This is a place for couples and families with the odd lodge being used by fishermen like ourselves.
Try it because you will love it!!




Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Still impressed after 5 visits. Will be returning next year. Excellent accommodation, setting and fishing.



A good find

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxing quiet and serene good fishing will return in October to experience a lodge with a hot tub



A retreat from the world

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Tawney Lodge at Rural Roosts at rather short notice when we realised my husband could fish there. The weekend break was fabulous, the weather was superb and Tawney Lodge suited us both down to the ground. I simply wanted to get away for a rest and to chill after a difficult year and my husband, who doesn't do 'rest', wanted to fish. Rural Roosts was ideal for us both - peaceful, quiet and very picturesque. I loved the generous welcome pack at the lodge, the spacious rooms in Tawney Lodge and the tree-lined farm walks with our dog. It was a joy to wake up there in the mornings. Stuart loved fishing the lake and was pretty successful on both days landing 8 on the first day and 9 on the second. He was very happy with that especially, as he caught a couple of large fish. We really loved the farm, the lodge, the setting, the walks and the whole area and definitely want to come again.



wonderful

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
from the minute you arrived and saw the lovely log cabin, you knew you were in for a real treat, warm friendly staff, everything you could possibly want was there. excellent cake made by the owner and a lovely welcome pack awaited us when we got there. there was nothing at all to fault. anyone who wants to give this destination a try will not be disappointed



Lovely relaxed holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing holiday , my husband loved the fishing and myself and our two dogs loved the scenic walks around the farm and lakes. A total break from a busy life. The lodges are so comfortable and like home from home . Our daughter, son in law and grandson also stayed in another lodge and loved their time too . Our second visit and not our last as we will be back again x



letter

Review submitted on Wed, 02 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
rural roots is a very nice to be we liked it very much
also very peaceful and restful and we had a pleasant
walk around the lake




Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love it here so relaxing and peaceful the lodge and the surrounding area are spotless, beautiful new road way leading to the lodges and new lighting around the farm walks, fantastic place for dogs and good fishing lake. The staff are very helpful shop onsite is a gem, and the lemon drizzle cake is to die for we always take one back home with us. Looking forward to our next stay in July.



We love it

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th visit to rural roosts having stayed in little owl Lodge (twice) and Swan Lodge previously.
We have busy lives so we come to rural roosts to get away from it all for some peace and quiet and to relax and rural roosts never disappoints. It ticks every box! You can do as much or as little as you want, on this visit, apart from walking the dog we did nothing.
We have already booked to come back in October for a week, can't wait!




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful lodges, idyllic surroundings, 're charge your batteries. Lovely greeting pack. Lodges are so well equipped lovely and warm.