FB Twitter

Woodpecker Lodge

Woodpecker Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 83 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


16 years at Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2023
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Rural Roosts, a beautiful lodge in peaceful surroundings, lodge immaculate as always, this place never disappoints which is why we return year after year. Thank you as always Katie and team and Happy New Year to you all



A winter wonderland

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant few days at Rural Roosts everything was wonderful and the Xmas tree made it a lovely pre Xmas event.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another brilliant holiday Katie and the team make everything special and nothing is too much trouble will be back again soon



Excellent Again

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here over 8 times now and have booked again, always relaxing and superb for the dogs , very friendly hosts couldn’t ask for more.



Woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2022
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once again a fantastic time at rural roosts. Fishing was great (as always)...of course , we will be back



A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice quiet place to stay, very relaxing holiday, Katie and Tim very helpful and friendly.View over the lakes lovely, fishing good.
We have stayed many times and have already booked to return again twice next year, Thank you Katie,Tim and team.




Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fabulous stay at Rural Roosts. Accommodation is home from home and setting is idealic. This week was very relaxing for mind and body. Husband got a personal best on the fishing front with a 20lb carp!



All good

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot say anything more about it than the stars I have given.it's a smashing quite place where you can relax and no noise apart from the birds.



A very good breeak

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had aweeks stay in Woodpecker Lodge.everything was as advertised.The fishing was a bit slow but the sun was shining all week,you cant have have everything.Going back next may.



Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second holiday at Rural roost both times excellent can not fault the venue in any way, fishing very good,




Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been to Rural Roosts lots of times and absolutely love it. It is a beautiful place to go and unwind and do a spot of fishing. We caught plenty of carp on the reservoir lake, up to 15lbs this time.
There are 8 lodges situated around a small lake. Although all the lodges were full, there is plenty of space and it is still very quiet and peaceful.
Lodges are large and comfortable and fully equipped and Katie provides a lemon drizzle cake on arrival, which is a firm favourite of ours.




Lovely time in fishing lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rural retreats is nicely secluded and has just 8 lodges. We had Woodpecker Lodge which is a beautiful 2 bed-roomed cabin, that is very comfortable, spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The kitchen window framed the lake presenting a lovely view whilst food was prepared. We were allowed to take a dog and the professional owners had even created a fenced woodland walk to exercise the dogs on site. Overall an excellent facility. Two matters reduced my scoring: a) the fishing lake was heavily choked by weed and on the day we left we saw a specialist organisation launching a boat to remove the weed and advise the proprietor on any preventative action that could be adopted - the fish I caught were however in wonderful condition. b) One of the single beds was rather uncomfortable.
Would we visit again - most definitely.




Woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jun 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge as always perfect for relaxing in comfort, fishing in lodge lake was best ever but reservoir mixed this time due to spawning I would think but still caught a 14lb mirror, highly rate this place to stay we will return.



Excellent place

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was excellent in every way.
Everything was provided. Good fishing . A bit weedy, but it didn't stop you catching fish of good quality.
Going back next year.




Relaxing Break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely stay with Rural Roosts. Lodge was very comfortable and includes everything you could need. Very peaceful location and great fishing. Had a lovely visit to Woodhall Spa. Returning again in September



Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent stay at Woodpecker Lodge, fishing good and the Lodge was in excellent condition very clean and home from home. Great to sit on the balcony overlooking the lodge very peaceful what more could you ask for. Great holiday again thank you very much Katie and Tim. We are looking forward to our return again in September.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect weekend for a wellbeing break to clear the mind. Lodge was home from home and location just near the lake was idealic. Back again in May!



Quiet Relaxing Retreat.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely place if you want peace and quiet to relax. Ideal for fishing with all cabins around the lake, also secure for children and pets with a lovely fenced in decked area.



Brilliant break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another amazing stay at Rural Roosts as always everything was impeccable will be back in March thank you Katie and the team



Peaceful New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely peaceful week in a beautiful lodge, one of our favourite places which is why we keep returning. Nothing is ever too much trouble. Thank you as always Katie & staff



Usual delights - plus a Christmas tree!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are absolutely sold on Rural Roosts. For us the main attractions are solitude and guaranteed relaxation. This was our first break in December and it did not disappoint. The unexpected Christmas tree in the lodge was a nice touch and a pleasant surprise. Another pleasant surprise was the bird feeder installation close to the lodge. Wildlife is never far away at Rural Roosts but the abundance of bird species feeding close by throughout the day was a joy.



wonderful relaxing cabin

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, comfortable cabin, with beautiful views across the lake. Very well equipped. Watching the wildlife around the lake was relaxing . This was our second visit and will be booking a third .



Recent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous as always. Really nice break. Geoff enjoyed the fishing as usual. Great weather too. Hope to see you again next year.



Pond weed

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The pond weed needs taking care of you could not fish in allot of places due to it making fishing poor.



Review

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Very spacious lodge in beautiful surroundings. The kids loved the zip wire! We would definitely recommend.



A great find!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed an excellent stay at Rural Roosts. The lodge was spacious and very well equipped. The setting is beautiful and very well maintained. Fishing was enjoyed in both lakes with some great catches. Information provided before the stay and in the lodge was really useful. We would highly recommend and will definitely be returning.



Roosting again

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well done to Katie and her crew - another lovely holiday and I still didn't do the Farm Walk !! too busy watching fishermen/women/children - fascinating. The addition (since last visit) of a freezer is a positive boon, makes food planning a lot easier especially with dietary restrictions to be considered now.

Just left but looking forward to coming again.




Family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic lodge, exceptionally clean,very comfy beds and hassle free check in. My dog loved the open space and we enjoyed the peace and quiet.



We just Love this place!

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rural Roosts flora and fauna are maturing beautifully. This is our first July break and, although every Lodge appears to be occupied there is very little impact on the quality and quantity of wildlife. Without really trying, we have experienced really close encounters with fox, hare, kestrel and buzzard, with more distant views of badger and barn owlets. And, I have never seen more green woodpeckers in one place. Once again, the accommodation ticks all the boxes and the whole experience has provided such relaxation for people and dog. We have already booked future visits.



Fabulous!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be the seventh or eighth year we have been to Rural Roosts and it never fails to be impressive. The lodge was clean, well maintained and everything was easy. And the lemon drizzle cake is something else. Highly recommended.



The attention to detail is spot on. The fishing is well managed and the fish are in perfect conditio

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We go to four similar types of holiday destinations and this is the one we look forward to the most. The fishing is diverse and the fish are in fabulous condition. Mary loves the fact that the locals are so friendly and welcoming. The wildlife is utterly fascinating with the owls taking centre stage this year. All in all a brilliant holiday.



Fishing holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault the location or the comfort of Lodge the Lodge was beyond my expectation, how clean and it was and the little extras that were provided was unbelievable, will be booking again.



Holiday. Venue

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You cannot improve on perfection. A very peaceful and relaxing site organised by professional and caring people. This was our 10th visit and have enjoyed every one. We will return A Anno Domini permitting. Thoroughly recommend it for fishing and twitching..





Honeymoon

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This booking was a gift for my daughter and her husband for honeymoon. They had a lovely stay and were amazed at the roomy lodge. Fishing was also very good, with several good weight carp being caught. They have already looked at booking for a visit later in the year.



Another relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Rural Roosts about 6 times over the last 4 years now. Each time we have felt very welcome and comfortable. Such a friendly, family run place. We know that Katie and her team are not far away if we ever needed anything (which you really don't as everything has been thought of before you arrive!). We love watching the wildlife (birds nesting in the eves of the lodge and various birds swimming on the lake, rabbits and squirrels going about their business too!). There are plenty of walks around the farm and also the surrounding area without getting in the car. We have already recommended some friends visit, 2 of which are now returning guests themselves! The whole farm is very well maintained throughout the year.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Sat, 08 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Woodpecker Lodge for a week, and it was fabulous. Very comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable, and the lodge was lovely and warm. It is a perfect place to get away from it all, especially after a lockdown. Lovely little shop on-site for essentials, I have to say the lemon drizzle cake is rather good! 2 fabulous places to fish on site, what more could you want. Definitely rebooking for next year!



Never fails to please.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have eagerly anticipated a return to Rural Roosts after Covid rules related cancellations. So wonderful to be back. The place is amazing. If essence of Rural Roosts could be bottled it would be a bestseller for relaxation.



Lovely few days in woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 01 May 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed another midweek break at rural roosts...... unfortunately this time the fishing was well under par....to be fair that might have been weather related ?...... overall though a lovely relaxing stay



Another Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Rural Roosts every year for the last 10 years, always staying in Kingfisher Lodge with our family. My husband and myself had a second holiday booked for October to Spain but had to cancel due to the current times we find ourselves in. We didn’t bother looking for anywhere else we knew that if a lodge was available we would love to go back. We were in luck and Woodpecker Lodge was free. Once again we were not disappointed. The lodge Sleeps four and is spacious, clean, comfortable and fully fitted with everything you need. All precautions needed for Covid 19 have been taken To make sure you feel safe whilst staying in the lodge.



short weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location is excellent so quiet but such a peaceful location is in my opinion spoiled by it not being overseenon a daily basis (we appreciate that due to covid 19 this may be limited ) to kurb certain guests blatenly breaking the rules put in place to help all enjoy their stay dog running loose and fishing rods left unnattended even out of site.



Katie replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Ian, I am extremely sorry to hear you say your stay was spoiled by the actions of another guest during your weekend at Rural Roosts. I call and speak to all guests upon arrival, to check they are happy with everything and to let them know they can contact me anytime via phone should they have any questions or concerns, I spoke with you on Friday night shortly after you arrived to welcome you to Woodpecker Lodge. Although we do not live onsite, we live on the surrounding farm so are never far away. One of us attends the site each day to do daily checks of hot tubs etc. but it is impossible with us being farmers for us to be there 24/7. I am sorry you didn't contact me when experiencing these problems, I could have acted quickly by contacting the guest, having a polite word and sorting this out straight away rather than it spoiling your weekend. Kind regards, Katie

Annual visit to Woodpecker

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic as usual and very impressed with attention paid to safety in the present difficult circumstances



Another fantastic break at rural roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th stay at rural roosts and it was as brilliant as always. Tim and Katie had taken all the precautions necessary to make the stay as comfortable and safe as possible in the current climate. We can’t wait to book again next year. Perfect little getaway for all the family. Our little girl absolutely loved it. Thankyou to all the team at rural roosts.



Get away from Covid!

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break, but more than enough to relax us. We love Rural Roosts. Our first time in Woodpecker Lodge and really enjoyed the subtly different view of the site. Impeccable presentation, as usual, but additional virucidal disinfection between lettings. I cannot think of a safer location to socially distance and avoid the dreaded virus.



A lovely restful break would recomend ruralroosts to every one.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice clean and santinised accommodation.nothing to much trouble for Katie.it's well worth the money fishing good.and the inside of the lodge smashing.



Very relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Rural Roosts,. Stayed with our daughter and grandson this time and the whole family enjoyed their stay.



A good time had

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent place for a relaxing weekend well presented and very clean. fishing was good for time of year (October) will come again in the summer time. very helpful staff



Great stay again our 4th time at Rural Roost

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent relaxing place to stay and fish, very clean accommodation and home from home eg milk, fruit etc on arrival a lovely kind thought.

Kate, Tim, Jane and all other staff very friendly and helpful, we have booked again next year.




we love the place.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit and we hope to continue coming. It is so peaceful and just the place to come to relax from the business of life. We had a wonderful time as usual and went to all our favourite place. Long may Katie and Tim provide such a place.



ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to many places over the years but can honestly say Rural Roosts is our favourite. We have just returned from our 3rd visit this year and are hoping to squeeze in another before the weather changes. The lodges are immaculate, everything you could want is provided by Katie, down to small details. The fishermen caught over 40 fish on the top lake, the biggest this visit was 16lb last visit my nephew caught a 20lb. Have already booked for next years bank holidays, can not rate highly enough, it’s perfect!! So quiet, peaceful and idyllic.



Another Rural Roosts hit!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful break at Rural Roosts. Lovely setting and home from home comforts. Good fishing. See you next year!



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is now our sixth visit to rural roosts as ever excellent first class accommodation, peaceful setting, the dogs loved it great fishing. Will be booking again thanks Katie for a great week.



Fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, accommodation is 5 star. The addition of the enclosed deck was a plus for us, as it enabled our little pup to have more freedom.



Must be doing something right...

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
....as Rural Roost has become second home over the years, we have returned more times than we can remember and will be booking again for next year. Excellant holiday, excellant surroundings. Good place for fishing and relaxing. Bonus of having Lincoln among other places close by to visit.



About our 10th stay,all of which have been really great. You cannot better the best

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What is there to say, we have had 10 years of happy holidays, good fishing and the hosts ensure all is well from day one.



Sublime holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been staying at Rural Roosts for the past seven years and at no time have we ever been disappointed with the facilities or the owner Katie or her staff.
The lodge facilities are second to none, the gardens being well maintained, a peaceful haven for those that require solitude
With out doubt would recommend to any one who appreciate first class accommodation and surroundings.
Mr J Clarkson




Fishing Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Rural Roosts purely for the fishing. The lodge still looks brand new and has a fully equipped kitchen, including a microwave cooker. The welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, bread and bowl of fruit is a thoughtful touch and Katie’s lemon drizzle cake is “to die for”. The lodge was spotlessly clean and fully prepared on arrival. The rural location ensures complete peace and quiet.
Unfortunately the weather was atrocious, with high winds and heavy rain and this detracted a little from the fishing although we did land 8 Carp from 10 to 14 lb from the Reservoir and 5 bream up to 4lb from the Lodge Lake.




A week at RR

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very comfortable stay in a well equipped lodge. I came for the fishing which was not good and was a big let down for me.I am sure that the Lodge Lake can be better , but I can only review my own experience. The bird life was good and will only get better as the site matures, the hide pond will provide exiting viewing year round.
Glad we chose RR a very interesting site.




Woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location made very welcome, very relaxing, welcome pack a wonderful surprise and most welcome.



Another Rural Roosts hit!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at Rural Roosts for many years now and as always their standard is excellent. Fabulous lodge as always. Great fishing in both lodge lake and resouviour and great location. Back in Sept !!



A very comfortable and restful week. Just what we needed!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to take your dogs. This is important for me. Very quiet location but near enough to visit interesting places. Good places to eat and walk. We can’t wait to come again. The chalet has everything for a very comfortable stay.



Spring break at Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Rural Roosts and it lived up to all our expectations.
Very relaxed and peaceful surroundings.
Katie (the owner) was very accommodating when our car had to be repaired at the lodge on our last day and gave us continuous access to the lodge after the 10.00am vacation time until we were able to leave.
Delicious lemon drizzle cake in our Welcome Pack on arrival which also included:- tea, coffee, sugar, milk and fruit.
We would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely holiday retreat to anybody.





Another great stay at rural roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time visiting rural roosts and just as good as the first. Thoroughly enjoyed our break away before our first little one joins us next month. Can’t wait to return with our little girl in the future. Such a comfortable stay. Well thought out and equipt with all that you need. We caught plenty of fish while fishing throughout the week. Also visited a few of the local villages and went further a field to Skegness. Can’t wait to come back. Thankyou Katie and Tim and all the staff at rural roosts.



Great relaxing 4days

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quality and comfort was outstanding. The lodge was very clean and well equipped, my husband likes to fish and he thought the 2 lakes were ideal and well equipped especially when he caught a number of good sized carp. The whole place is peaceful and relaxing, also there are plenty of places to go see or just have walks around the farm. Thank you for such a brilliant place to stay .



Brilliant as always

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need here, it’s our second home. Lovely setting and always go home thoroughly relaxed.




Tranquil Location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place to stay and chill out, especially if you like walking or fishing. Lodge was first class and Katie was always on hand if you needed anything or wanted to know anything. Welcome pack including fruit and a lovely cake was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. Will definitely recommend this place to all our friends and anyone else.



The perfect relaxation break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd visit to rural roosts, it is a perfect getaway for a relaxing break.
The lodge is in excellent condition and well equipped.
I highly recommend a visit.




Perfect every time.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous as always, came home thoroughly relaxed, lodge lovely and warm and everything you need for your holiday. Roll on March for our next visit.




Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing place to stay everything you need in the cabin is there nothing is too much trouble I miss it already I’m gutted we have to come home
Thank you for an amazing Christmas we’ll never forget it and we will be back x




Fabulous as always.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic break to recharge our batteries ready for Christmas. Katie and Tim go out of their way to make sure everything is fabulous for your stay. We came home and booked to go back in February, it’s our second home!
We’ve been so lucky over the years to be there for the lambing and actually watch lambs being born. In November’s visit, we were fortunate to visit the barn and see a new calf, which was only a few hours old, our grandchildren loved it.
Thank you Katie and Tim for creating what we call heaven. See you in February.





Bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Haven't stayed here before at this time of year. But the lodge was lovely and warm. Host friendly as always. Clean comfortable very well equipped. Holiday was faultless. Recommend it to anyone.



wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
always a pleasure to go to rural roosts. staff are friendly. its a wonderfully peaceful place clean and comfortable. everything you could wish for



A thoroughly enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Rural Roosts for some years now and have found it the best place to stay among the other localities we have spent time in. The locality is superb and the welcome is very friendly. The complementary provisions are very convenient on arrival. The Friday start day is particularly useful. Altogether an excellent place to relax, in short we love it.!



We had a fabulous few days...

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a nice place. We had a lovely few days at Woodpecker Lodge, we will be back in the future. Location is fantastically peaceful, no good if you like the hussle and bussle of city life....

Lodge was pretty much as described on website, it was clean, warm and comfortable.

All in all, very good indeed.




Great relaxation

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant week away as usual, Tim and Katie go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.
The log cabin is lovely everything you need is there, really home from home. We visit at least twice a year sometimes three or four and really refreshed when we come home. Lovely setting and pleanty of fishing if you so desire. Roll on November when we will be returning. Thankyou Tim and Katie for creating such a peaceful place.




Holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was about our 10th stay and all have been great. The lodge was great, fishing good and caring owners make it a special place. Cannot be bettered in our opinion



Lovely Lodge in a beautiful remote setting.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful relaxing week in the middle of nowhere. The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped and the view across the lake was lovely to wake up to each morning. Had a problem with the boiler on the second day, cold shower that morning!!! Contacted Katie and by the time we returned to the lodge in the afternoon it was sorted, excellent service.
Had other members of our family staying in another 2 lodges with our grandchildren and they loved the freedom, exploring and the play park. They also did some fishing and managed to catch between them quite a lot of little Perch and Roach etc so they were very happy.
The beautiful city of Lincoln is not far away and a visit there is a must. The Castle and the Cathedral are excellent, we were quite lucky as on the Sunday the Castle had a medieval event on with Jousting, Jesters and Falconer's etc. The waterfront is also a very nice place to visit with pubs and restaurants and a relaxing boat trip up the canal if you so wish. Just beware that the "Steep Hill" is very steep, this goes from near the waterfront up to the Cathedral and Castle. It is well worth the effort if you can make it as there are many quaint shops and tearooms on both sides. If you think the climb will be too much then take the Open Top City Bus Tour, this is a hop on, hop off service and will takes you on a very nice guided tour to the top and back.
Overall an excellent, very relaxing weeks holiday in a beautiful part of rural Lincolnshire, will definitely go back again.




most relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Woodpecker was better than merely "satisfactory", from the solid wooden construction and spacious rooms to the like-new appliances with their manuals. The one drawback, for an American, was the lack of a mixing tap in the washbowl.



Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is not our first holiday here and hope it will not be the last. As always everything was superb. Cannot better such a venue.



Excellent yet again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th visit to this wonderful venue. Perfect for our needs in that is very quite and peaceful, only 5 mins from a really good eating pub, The Carpenters Arms, fishing just 17 steps from the lodge and the lodge and grounds are always clean and tidy. Katie is on hand for any questions and because it's so good we have have to book now for next year already! Cant recommend the place highly enough if you want some where to chill and let the world just past you by.



holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic place.relaxing and very peaceful. fishing good.loads to do around and about .lodge was excellent couldn't fault anything.that good we've booked for next year would highly recommend



Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We return to Rural Roosts every year and are never disappointed. It is an excellent central location for touring the local areas. Lodges are well maintained and very comfortable. Extra touches like the welcome pack are much appreciated. An all round relaxing holiday with good fishing. Can't wait to see you again in September.



Our fourth visit

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely break. Beautiful, peaceful setting. Walks for the dog. Good fishing. Generous welcome pack and tea, coffee etc provided. Couldn't ask for more.



Weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was really first rate, clean and really well equipped. We loved staying here and the owners could not have done any more to help make our time here terrific. Great countryside to walk in and easy to find. Beds, bedding, bathroom and kitchen were all genuinely great.