FB Twitter

Woodpecker Lodge

Woodpecker Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 39 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


Very relaxing

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay at Rural Roosts,. Stayed with our daughter and grandson this time and the whole family enjoyed their stay.



A good time had

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A excellent place for a relaxing weekend well presented and very clean. fishing was good for time of year (October) will come again in the summer time. very helpful staff



Great stay again our 4th time at Rural Roost

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent relaxing place to stay and fish, very clean accommodation and home from home eg milk, fruit etc on arrival a lovely kind thought.

Kate, Tim, Jane and all other staff very friendly and helpful, we have booked again next year.




we love the place.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th visit and we hope to continue coming. It is so peaceful and just the place to come to relax from the business of life. We had a wonderful time as usual and went to all our favourite place. Long may Katie and Tim provide such a place.



ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to many places over the years but can honestly say Rural Roosts is our favourite. We have just returned from our 3rd visit this year and are hoping to squeeze in another before the weather changes. The lodges are immaculate, everything you could want is provided by Katie, down to small details. The fishermen caught over 40 fish on the top lake, the biggest this visit was 16lb last visit my nephew caught a 20lb. Have already booked for next years bank holidays, can not rate highly enough, it’s perfect!! So quiet, peaceful and idyllic.



Another Rural Roosts hit!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful break at Rural Roosts. Lovely setting and home from home comforts. Good fishing. See you next year!



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is now our sixth visit to rural roosts as ever excellent first class accommodation, peaceful setting, the dogs loved it great fishing. Will be booking again thanks Katie for a great week.



Fantastic location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, accommodation is 5 star. The addition of the enclosed deck was a plus for us, as it enabled our little pup to have more freedom.



Must be doing something right...

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
....as Rural Roost has become second home over the years, we have returned more times than we can remember and will be booking again for next year. Excellant holiday, excellant surroundings. Good place for fishing and relaxing. Bonus of having Lincoln among other places close by to visit.



About our 10th stay,all of which have been really great. You cannot better the best

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What is there to say, we have had 10 years of happy holidays, good fishing and the hosts ensure all is well from day one.



Sublime holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been staying at Rural Roosts for the past seven years and at no time have we ever been disappointed with the facilities or the owner Katie or her staff.
The lodge facilities are second to none, the gardens being well maintained, a peaceful haven for those that require solitude
With out doubt would recommend to any one who appreciate first class accommodation and surroundings.
Mr J Clarkson




Fishing Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Rural Roosts purely for the fishing. The lodge still looks brand new and has a fully equipped kitchen, including a microwave cooker. The welcome pack of tea, coffee, milk, bread and bowl of fruit is a thoughtful touch and Katie’s lemon drizzle cake is “to die for”. The lodge was spotlessly clean and fully prepared on arrival. The rural location ensures complete peace and quiet.
Unfortunately the weather was atrocious, with high winds and heavy rain and this detracted a little from the fishing although we did land 8 Carp from 10 to 14 lb from the Reservoir and 5 bream up to 4lb from the Lodge Lake.




A week at RR

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very comfortable stay in a well equipped lodge. I came for the fishing which was not good and was a big let down for me.I am sure that the Lodge Lake can be better , but I can only review my own experience. The bird life was good and will only get better as the site matures, the hide pond will provide exiting viewing year round.
Glad we chose RR a very interesting site.




Woodpecker lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location made very welcome, very relaxing, welcome pack a wonderful surprise and most welcome.



Another Rural Roosts hit!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying at Rural Roosts for many years now and as always their standard is excellent. Fabulous lodge as always. Great fishing in both lodge lake and resouviour and great location. Back in Sept !!



A very comfortable and restful week. Just what we needed!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to take your dogs. This is important for me. Very quiet location but near enough to visit interesting places. Good places to eat and walk. We can’t wait to come again. The chalet has everything for a very comfortable stay.



Spring break at Rural Roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Rural Roosts and it lived up to all our expectations.
Very relaxed and peaceful surroundings.
Katie (the owner) was very accommodating when our car had to be repaired at the lodge on our last day and gave us continuous access to the lodge after the 10.00am vacation time until we were able to leave.
Delicious lemon drizzle cake in our Welcome Pack on arrival which also included:- tea, coffee, sugar, milk and fruit.
We would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely holiday retreat to anybody.





Another great stay at rural roosts

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time visiting rural roosts and just as good as the first. Thoroughly enjoyed our break away before our first little one joins us next month. Can’t wait to return with our little girl in the future. Such a comfortable stay. Well thought out and equipt with all that you need. We caught plenty of fish while fishing throughout the week. Also visited a few of the local villages and went further a field to Skegness. Can’t wait to come back. Thankyou Katie and Tim and all the staff at rural roosts.



Great relaxing 4days

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The quality and comfort was outstanding. The lodge was very clean and well equipped, my husband likes to fish and he thought the 2 lakes were ideal and well equipped especially when he caught a number of good sized carp. The whole place is peaceful and relaxing, also there are plenty of places to go see or just have walks around the farm. Thank you for such a brilliant place to stay .



Brilliant as always

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything you need here, it’s our second home. Lovely setting and always go home thoroughly relaxed.




Tranquil Location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place to stay and chill out, especially if you like walking or fishing. Lodge was first class and Katie was always on hand if you needed anything or wanted to know anything. Welcome pack including fruit and a lovely cake was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. Will definitely recommend this place to all our friends and anyone else.



The perfect relaxation break

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd visit to rural roosts, it is a perfect getaway for a relaxing break.
The lodge is in excellent condition and well equipped.
I highly recommend a visit.




Perfect every time.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous as always, came home thoroughly relaxed, lodge lovely and warm and everything you need for your holiday. Roll on March for our next visit.




Amazing

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing place to stay everything you need in the cabin is there nothing is too much trouble I miss it already I’m gutted we have to come home
Thank you for an amazing Christmas we’ll never forget it and we will be back x




Fabulous as always.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic break to recharge our batteries ready for Christmas. Katie and Tim go out of their way to make sure everything is fabulous for your stay. We came home and booked to go back in February, it’s our second home!
We’ve been so lucky over the years to be there for the lambing and actually watch lambs being born. In November’s visit, we were fortunate to visit the barn and see a new calf, which was only a few hours old, our grandchildren loved it.
Thank you Katie and Tim for creating what we call heaven. See you in February.





Bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Haven't stayed here before at this time of year. But the lodge was lovely and warm. Host friendly as always. Clean comfortable very well equipped. Holiday was faultless. Recommend it to anyone.



wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
always a pleasure to go to rural roosts. staff are friendly. its a wonderfully peaceful place clean and comfortable. everything you could wish for



A thoroughly enjoyable weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been coming to Rural Roosts for some years now and have found it the best place to stay among the other localities we have spent time in. The locality is superb and the welcome is very friendly. The complementary provisions are very convenient on arrival. The Friday start day is particularly useful. Altogether an excellent place to relax, in short we love it.!



We had a fabulous few days...

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a nice place. We had a lovely few days at Woodpecker Lodge, we will be back in the future. Location is fantastically peaceful, no good if you like the hussle and bussle of city life....

Lodge was pretty much as described on website, it was clean, warm and comfortable.

All in all, very good indeed.




Great relaxation

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant week away as usual, Tim and Katie go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need.
The log cabin is lovely everything you need is there, really home from home. We visit at least twice a year sometimes three or four and really refreshed when we come home. Lovely setting and pleanty of fishing if you so desire. Roll on November when we will be returning. Thankyou Tim and Katie for creating such a peaceful place.




Holidays

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was about our 10th stay and all have been great. The lodge was great, fishing good and caring owners make it a special place. Cannot be bettered in our opinion



Lovely Lodge in a beautiful remote setting.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful relaxing week in the middle of nowhere. The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped and the view across the lake was lovely to wake up to each morning. Had a problem with the boiler on the second day, cold shower that morning!!! Contacted Katie and by the time we returned to the lodge in the afternoon it was sorted, excellent service.
Had other members of our family staying in another 2 lodges with our grandchildren and they loved the freedom, exploring and the play park. They also did some fishing and managed to catch between them quite a lot of little Perch and Roach etc so they were very happy.
The beautiful city of Lincoln is not far away and a visit there is a must. The Castle and the Cathedral are excellent, we were quite lucky as on the Sunday the Castle had a medieval event on with Jousting, Jesters and Falconer's etc. The waterfront is also a very nice place to visit with pubs and restaurants and a relaxing boat trip up the canal if you so wish. Just beware that the "Steep Hill" is very steep, this goes from near the waterfront up to the Cathedral and Castle. It is well worth the effort if you can make it as there are many quaint shops and tearooms on both sides. If you think the climb will be too much then take the Open Top City Bus Tour, this is a hop on, hop off service and will takes you on a very nice guided tour to the top and back.
Overall an excellent, very relaxing weeks holiday in a beautiful part of rural Lincolnshire, will definitely go back again.




most relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Woodpecker was better than merely "satisfactory", from the solid wooden construction and spacious rooms to the like-new appliances with their manuals. The one drawback, for an American, was the lack of a mixing tap in the washbowl.



Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is not our first holiday here and hope it will not be the last. As always everything was superb. Cannot better such a venue.



Excellent yet again

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th visit to this wonderful venue. Perfect for our needs in that is very quite and peaceful, only 5 mins from a really good eating pub, The Carpenters Arms, fishing just 17 steps from the lodge and the lodge and grounds are always clean and tidy. Katie is on hand for any questions and because it's so good we have have to book now for next year already! Cant recommend the place highly enough if you want some where to chill and let the world just past you by.



holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic place.relaxing and very peaceful. fishing good.loads to do around and about .lodge was excellent couldn't fault anything.that good we've booked for next year would highly recommend



Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We return to Rural Roosts every year and are never disappointed. It is an excellent central location for touring the local areas. Lodges are well maintained and very comfortable. Extra touches like the welcome pack are much appreciated. An all round relaxing holiday with good fishing. Can't wait to see you again in September.



Our fourth visit

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely break. Beautiful, peaceful setting. Walks for the dog. Good fishing. Generous welcome pack and tea, coffee etc provided. Couldn't ask for more.



Weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was really first rate, clean and really well equipped. We loved staying here and the owners could not have done any more to help make our time here terrific. Great countryside to walk in and easy to find. Beds, bedding, bathroom and kitchen were all genuinely great.