FB Twitter

Dunara

Dunara

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.5


Dunara Cottage is situated below the castle near the walled garden, facing the sea.

The cottage has been fully refitted with an up to date interior but retains a cosy and traditional feel with an open fire in the sitting room.

The private garden has its own log shed. It is ideal for one or two persons.

And we're back again!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great spot from which to explore the local wildlife, see fantastic views and get close to nature. A bit out of the way, but the advantage is that it's quiet. Small, homely cottage, with everything needed for self-catering - ideal for one or two people. We keep coming back so it must be good.

Mike from Oxford stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in July 2019


Our favourite place

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been many times to Dun Ara and it our absolute favourite place to stay and do self-catering. such a delightful cottage, genuine paintings on the walls, grass all around, and sheep! Gorgeous views and utter peace. The only problem is that it is so popular that you have to book for the next year almost immediately or even during your stay!

Veronica from York stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2019


A Wonderful Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I were overwhelmed with the beauty and peace of Dunara. A cozy, unpretentious cottage with all the modern conveniences. Long hikes. Sheep and cattle in the front yard. What could be better? Worth all the time getting there.

Taylor from New York stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2019


Stay at Dunara

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic stay at Dunara. The Cottage had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean and had an incredibly comfy bed!!
The location is fantastic and the sunsets were amazing. If the garden was totally Dog proof so you could leave the door open it would be perfect !!!


Hayley from Belper stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2019


Paradise on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an amazing week in Dunara Cottage on Mull. The cottage is very private with its own fenced garden and parking area but within easy walking distance of the castle, it’s gardens and the cafe/coffee shop. It is brilliantly decorated, very clean and with a very comfortable king size bed. It has a log burner and we had logs and kindling waiting for us on arrival. The kitchen has everything you need, big fridge, good sized freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble drier. The estate is a fantastic place with stunning sunsets over the coast, amazing bird watching and a real feeling of peace. If you are looking to get away from it all, you will love Dunara and the Glengorm Castle Estate.

Simon from Letchworth Garden City stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in June 2019


Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've stayed at many of the Glengorm Cottages, all of which have been wonderful. Dunara was equally wonderful, with the added bonus of being in the best possible location for me - zero traffic noise, a sea view, walks on the doorstep and a few minutes from the coffee shop. The cottage is extremely comfortable, spacious and practical - including for a stay with dogs.

Diane from Midhurst stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in June 2019


Return visit

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dunara is perfectly located, comfortable and warm. And the Glengorm coffee shop and staff are ace. This was a return visit and we had a wonderful week in glorious Glengorm.

Ellen from Edinburgh stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2019


Delightful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What could be better, beautiful island, stunning situation and views from the windows of our very cosy well equipped cottage, all our creature comforts catered for.
Mull even offered sunshine with occasional rain, but not enough to stop us " doing ".
Two weeks may have been more appropriate to enjoy all to see !! but there is always next time!!
Thank you for a lovely stay.


Douglas from Pickering stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2019


Annual Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although we have stayed for many years in Glengorm, this was the first time we stayed at Dunara - we loved it, the location of the cottage gives you nice views and the cottage itself is perfect for a couple. Well equipped with everything you need and a handy little porch for taking off shoes and cleaning dog paws.

There is a parking space outside the cottage but it can get a little muddy if there is heavy rain however there is also a space a little further up if prefer not to park right outside if the weather makes it difficult.

We loved our stay and have booked again for next year already!


Ross from Coatbridge stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in February 2019


Fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A mixed bag, fantastic location with an abundance of wildlife and walks from the doorstep, it could be a wonderful cottage if it had double glazed windows to cut the drafts out and had comfortable furnishings.

Jude from Wigton stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in February 2019


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage...one of the best we’ve ever stayed in. It is very comfortable . Its position in the grounds of the castle, looking out to sea over green meadows and grazing sheep is incomparable.

Cynthia from Richmond stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2018


Dunara still rocks!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a repeat visit and confirmed our view that Dunara must be one of the nicest and best situated holiday cottages ever. It is also well equipped and warm. The Glengorm staff also all went out of their way to be helpful and pleasant. A wonderful holiday experience.

Ellen from Edinburgh stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2018


A cottage with a view

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been here six times now and always enjoy our stay in the Dunara cottage. To be away from it all, that,s the most important message.
We love the view, sheep and cows. From the cottage one can walk in every direction.
Our compliments, there is new tarmac on the narrow road that leads up to the estate!


Bert from Den Haag stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in August 2018


And we're back again!

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's a comfy cottage: just like you'd expect at home. Being so close to the sea and a variety of wildlife is what makes this special; seeing the rabbits, cattle and even a sea eagle from the garden.

The cottage is well-equipped (we've never discovered there's something we need which isn't there) and it's well worth overlooking the little things that aren't quite up to scratch. My partner finds the bed too hard, but we soften it by placing a sleeping bag on the mattress.

We've lost count of the number of times we've been here and have already re-booked for next year. Already looking forward to that first glimpse of Glengorm Castle which tells us we've nearly arrived!


Guest from Oxford stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in July 2018


beautiful cottage at a perfect location

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dunara is a beautiful, well equipped and tastefully furnished cottage. The location north of Glengorm castle is just perfect with stunning views. Definitely a place to come back.

Guenter from Baiern stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in June 2018


Dunara - paradise

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning location, beautiful cottage, amazing scenery.
One word could describe Dunara, paradise.
We will definitely be back.


Lynne from Rotherham stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2018


A wonderfully peaceful bolthole

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location looking out to sea. Perfect size for two and well equipped.
The road leading up to the estate after the turn to Ardmore is rather challenging and has a few concentrated areas of potholes, but well worth it.
The market garden is great.


Gill from Ilkley stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2018


Dunara

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a quite stunning location. Great walks, coastal scenery and wildlife on the doorstep. Tobermory is 15 minutes away by car, and there is a coffee shop/restaurant on site that also sells some groceries and local produce. I spent a week here walking on Mull and Dunara was a quiet and cosy place to return to in the evenings, ideal for one or two people.

David from York stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2018


Beautifully isolated

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here quite a few times now and we are just about to book again, for us it's a welcome break from the rat race. The cottage is isolated so theres no traffic (other than wildlife!) going around near, we have always been lucky enough to spot the Golden Eagles and Sea Eagles that frequent the estate. The cottage has everything needed to hide away from the world for a while.

Deborah from Darlington stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in February 2018


A little piece of heaven, highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dunara is one of those cottages where you immediately relax. It is warm and cosy with amazing views out over the coast and out to sea. I hardly left the Estate because there are so many walks from the door. The wildlife seen from both the cottage and on the walks was brilliant. I would highly recommend a stay at Dunara.

The only faults I found which are minuscule is that the shower curtain rail could do with being changed. The shower itself was absolutely lovely, plenty of hot water and a good strong spray. The other was I found the settee quite uncomfortable and squeaky but that is just me, other people might love it.

All in all I absolutely loved Dunara, I highly recommend it, very clean, everything you need, service was very friendly and so helpful and Ive booked again for next year.


Jude from Wigton stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in February 2018


Feels like home, perfect position to relax.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect location to relax & unwind whilst still having the opportunity to carry out many different activities at your leisure. Can't wait to go back!

Laura from Carlton in Lindrick stayed at Dunara for 8 nights in November 2017


long weekend stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Kitchen and bathroom not cleaned to usual standard. Outside roof tiles missing giving impression of lack of maintenance.

Guest from Duns stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in October 2017


Thank you

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellents holidays, thanks a lot to Glengorm Castle for Dunara cottage. We came back from Mull very happy.

Georges from Rennes stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in October 2017


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to spend a week; very comfortable and a quiet location. We hope to be back for a longer stay soon.

Guest from Chippenham stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2017


Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We much enjoyed our second stay at Dunara. It is very cosy and comfortable. We will come again - but note that it is already booked up for most of next year!

A couple of plumbing matters need to be sorted out, which we briefed Pam about.


Robin from Marlborough stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2017


A Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Everything was as described and the views from the cottage are breathtaking. I would have no hesitation in rebooking if returning to Mull.

Stephen from Manchester stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2017


a lovely stay with stunning views

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely location with stunning views, the cottage was well equipped and comfortable and we had a very enjoyable stay.
Only grumble was that we'd asked if a cot and high chair could be supplied- they were provided but were somewhat dirty and falling apart.


Pamella from Peebles stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in August 2017


Wonderful Dunara

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautifully situated and very comfortable and the Glengorm staff could not have been more helpful. Needless to say we have already booked for next year!

Ellen from Edinburgh stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in August 2017


We're back again!

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent weather for our return visit to Dunara. Great, out-of-the-way location. We saw lots of wildlife on the island. Small, well-equipped cottage which is ideal for two people.

Mike from Oxford stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in July 2017


Wonderfull place! One can not believe it exsists.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice cottage in a very quiet setting overlooking the Mull coastline and mountains from Ardnamurchan. The cottage is situated on the Glengorm estate. In case of help or questions one can always contact the castle, which is a safe thought for elderly people.
Very nice walks and wildlife.


Bert from Den Haag stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in June 2017


Extremely relaxing and peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week at Dunara, extremely peaceful and relaxing, enjoyed some lovely walks with lots of wildlife. Coffee Shop was very good.
Cottage is well equipped but could have had thicker curtains in bedroom very light early in the morning, also some simple garden furniture would be useful only an rather dilapidated wooden bench to sit on.
A delight to look out of window and see rabbits and sheep and so many birds.


Andrew from Nottingham stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2017


Another return visit.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another visit to Mull and enjoyable stay at Glengorm. Blessed with great weather so able to take tea and later wine sitting outside Dunara and taking in the great view. We love the cottage but have a few niggles. The fridge does not function very well and needs a hard push to ensure it is closed. There could be more mugs and smaller bowls for cereal or pud. Curtains in bedroom very thin so light all night. Bathroom could do with updating and decent shower in place on non-slip surface. Location is magic so makes up for any slight defects.

Diane from Chirk stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2017


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, lovely cottage. Peaceful, good walking running and cycling routes from the cottage.

Gill from Ilkley stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2017


Everything excellent from start to finish - for "Location" a higher level than "Excellent" needed!!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in the vernacular style but with every modern convenience, in a truly stunning location! To be visited again and again!

Grahame from Dunblane stayed at Dunara for 6 nights in October 2016


Pictures do not do it justice !

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week on the island as per usual. This was the first time we had stayed at Glengorm and we will be staying again ! Great location - close enough to town and perfect for us with the dog with long walks and great views, only thing I would say that needed changing is that there was no signs for the cottage from the castle driveway so it was a little guessing game.

Parking - we were a little concerned as the reviews said you had to walk to the cottage but we had no problem at all, you could drive down the side of the house and park on the gravel drive no problem at all.

Will be staying there again soon next time we are visiting family on Mull.


Rob from Wymeswold stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2016


Dunara review

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just perfect. Brillant location. Beautiful comfortable cottage. Very nice and helpful staff. Highly recommended! Well worth the money.Will go there again, no doubt.

Denis from Ifs stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2016


Comfortable and peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A very comfortable and cosy cottage. Well equipped and very peaceful. The driveway was in poor condition. The bathroom sink did not drain properly and although we asked for it to be sorted, no-one came. We were advised that the quality of the water was not good enough for drinking or brushing teeth. A small amount of bottled water was left for us and we could get more by going to the castle but I felt we should have been given several large bottles to last us the week so that the inconvenience was minimised .

Guest from Linlithgow stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2016


My favourite place of all time

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are return visitors to the Glengorm Castle Estate and the lovely wee cottage of Dunara and have been going there for about 12 years (we were even married there too). The estate and cottages are fabulously equipped and very comfortable.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay again this year and had no problems. Pam has always been great during the booking process and I liked our welcome letter too.

Marjorie & Tom are great owners too and always have time to have a chat when we see them. We'll see you again next year


Ruth from Blaydon On Tyne stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2016


nice hols

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Very quiet and isolated. Have a very nice holiday. Like other reviews new knew we came and were ok. Lucky we had read the reviews. The direction from the castle gate to the cottage needs upgrading and some of the pot holes need filling in, luckily we had a 4by4 had we been in the city car I don't think we would have a dent free bottom to the car. Over all nice place nice holiday


Philip from Norwich stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2016


Holiday at Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage , great view good walks around the grounds , coffee shop well stocked & good food . Didn't see a lot of wildlife but plenty rabbits & lambs . Castle itself was very nice .

Margaret from stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2016


Magnificent views from a very nice cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cottage adequately equipped including good internet connection. Superb views from the front garden looking towards Coll and Skye. Excellent coastal walks straight out the front door. We really enjoyed our week on the Glengorm Estate and we will be back.

William from Nottingham stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2016


Eine großartige Zeit in Schottland!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In der ersten Jännerwoche 2016 verbrachten wir eine wunderschöne Zeit auf der Insel Mull in Schottland; das Haus "Dunara" - es gehört zum Anwesen "Glengorm Gastle" ist klein, aber bestens geeignet für 2 Personen und so schottisch, wie man es sich nur wünschen kann. Wir verließen es im Wissen, dass wir gerne wiederkommen werden.

Claudia from Kramsach stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in January 2016


Wonderful as always

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Returning again to this amazing location. This time we were blessed with sunny if cold weather but excellent for walking. We love this place whatever the weather. The new bed was a lovely surprise and it is very comfortable. Also good to have some redecoration. A good supply of dry logs. A few negatives now. The mugs and bowls were chipped which we did report to the office, the toilet seat is still broken, the shower could do with updating and it would be lovely to have some windows replaced. However we will keep coming back. The friendly staff on the estate and the gorgeous lambs add to the beauty.

David from Chirk stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2016


Early Spring at Dunara

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our second stay at Dunara, a comfortable cottage in a perfect location. Peaceful surroundings with walks direct from the front door, and excellent value in the quiet winter months. Again, it felt a little strange to have no contact with anyone running the cottages but overall Dunara provides a week away from it all that it is hard to fault..

Alistair from Bedale stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2016


Glengorm Dunara

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Glengorm estate is absolut amazing. It is one of the best places to go in Scottland.I stay the secend time in Glengorm and it will be not the last time.

Ruth from Langenfeld stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2016


Marvelous relaxing stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean, secluded cottage in castle grounds, wide open views of fantastic scenery across headland to the sea, isolated, peaceful, relaxing with good walks. No sound pollution, no light pollution. Was sorry to come home!

Andrew from Swindon stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in February 2016


A week long stay at Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, very well presented and tastefully decorated in one of the best locations on the island. Perfectly presented with everything you need for a short or longer stay. As regular visitors to Mull we rate Glengorm very highly and will definitely come back to Dunara.

Gary from Duns stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in August 2015


An excellent stay in a beautiful position

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wehave been coming to this cottag eand the estate for 8 years now and it never fails to please. The weather was good, the cottage excellent faciltities and the situation beautiful. We look forward to coming again next year.

Guest from Orton stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in August 2015


Close to nature

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We like the peace and quiet of this cottage. It's close to nature, with daily sightings of highland cattle, rabbits and even swallows nesting in the eaves. There are plenty of walks nearby.

The size of Dunara is suitable for one or two people, but it's got everything you need for a holiday stay, including kitchen 'bits and bobs' such as washing-up liquid and tea-towels. My partner finds the bed a bit on the hard side.

We appreciate the little touches like Isle of Mull soap in the bathroom, flowers in the lounge and chopped logs for the fire.


Guest from Oxford stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in July 2015


Weeks stay in July

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location is superb. Stunning views and close to Tobermory. Cottage is spacious and has a good level of facilities.

We found that not being able to park outside or near the cottage was an issue due to the weather conditions when we arrived and left. Unpacking in the pouring rain wasn't ideal and carrying it up/down a hill. Particularly frustrating when there was a rough track, which if owned by Glengorm could have holes filed and be flattened to provide direct access to cottage.
It would have been nice to have a member of Glengorm put their head in to check we had arrived safely and if we had any questions. We were unable to find the guest information folder and there were no maps available that we could find. I also was disappointed in the lack of a small welcome pack (milk, loaf, tea, coffee sugar). Just something to let you sit down and not have to hunt through packing only to discover you had forgotten something. All other cottages we have stayed in have provided this.
The coffee shop at Glengorm was fantastic. Cakes were out of this world. and staff exceptionally friendly. I bought one of the homemade lasagne and it was lovely. Very filling and exceptionally tasty.


Guest from East Kilbride stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2015


Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have been to DunAra many times and have booked for two weeks next year, which says it all. We love the location, the views, the privacy of the cottage in its grassy setting with visits from rabbits and birds all the time, Highland cattle from time to time, swallows nesting under our bedroom eaves, the wallkers going past at a distance, the Castle grounds and huge spaces to walk in all over the Estate. Especially the glorious views across the Sound and out to the islands with little boats and CalMac ferries going by. Even the four mile drive towards Tobermory is a delight. The cottage is a pleasure to return from a day out in glorgeously beautiful and unspoilt Mull. It is comfortable and easy to live in. Could go on and !
One or two minor details could be tweaked, we feel: a grab rail by the bath for older people (we had to ask this year for a rubber mat to go in the bath), the posh bedside lights may look good but don't allow a lot of light out for reading by. The WiFi couldn't be made to "work". ( The kitchen IS well-equipped, the cooker easy to use.) The view from the living room windwo by the table at which one eats is somewhat obsured by a large, pretty wild rose bush. Maybe it could be pruned. I could only find two pegs for pegging out small items of washing on the line. However, DunAra is absolutely our Favourite Place to stay in GB! Maybe anywhere!!


Guest from York stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in June 2015


A hidden gem

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage in overwhelming surroundings. Every comfort and an open fire with logs. Very romantic. Good walks from the cottage. There is always the Glengorm Castle to fall back on in case of questions or help.

Guest from Den Haag stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in June 2015


wonderful week

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay in a beautiful, peaceful location. Cottage had everything you could need including a free supply of logs for fire. Walking on the estate superb, excellent coffee shop as well.

Guest from Stocksfield stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2015


Dunara

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Staying at Glengorm, was a first for us, having been self catering at Dervaig for several years previously. We were fairley familier with Glengorm, having walked around the estate and been to the coffee shop several times before.
We both were very happy with the general condition of the cottage, and the facilities. One improvment would be a decent size dining room table, the existing one really is very small to have dinner at. One little gripe would be the time i had to spend getting the vacuum cleaner to work. being totally clogged up.
All in all i have to say our time at Dunara was very enjoyable, the view was from the cottage was second to none. It would have been nice to meet a face from Glengorm, i thought a little personal contact goes a long way to keeping customers happy, but dispite these minor issues we shall be coming again next year.


Guest from Nottingham stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in April 2015


Back at Dunara again

Review submitted on Wed, 20 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Dunara so we must like it. The location is fantastic and enables us to enjoy sea views, wildlife and walking in all directions. It would be nice to be able to park down by the cottage but this is not a major problem. In general the cottage is comfortable and warm with plenty of hot water and good kitchen facilities. If we were to be picky, the curtains are very thin so it is never dark in the bedroom in May and some of the windows could do with replacing with double glazed units.
Good quantity of dry logs means a cosy fire is a bonus.
We love this place and hope to return again next year.


Guest from Chirk stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in May 2015


A great week in a peaceful location.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A comfortable cottage in a fantastic location with wildlife all around. Hardly needed to use the car with so many walks straight from the property. One small point is that some personal contact from the owner(s) or their manager at some point during the week would have been nice. However, the property was clean, well equipped and warm and we would love to stay there again. Well recommended for a relaxing week in beautiful surroundings.

Guest from Hunton stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2015


Very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are regular visitors to Glengorm and we always stay in this cottage. It has a very homly feel and it's well furnished and equipped. The location is great, as soon as you step out of the front door you're faced with brilliant views out to see. This makes it great for going for a walk in the evening to watch the sun set over Coll and Tiree. There are also some really nice walks around other parts of the estate and castle grounds, with the Glengorm coffee shop being just a 5 minute walk away. We will definitely be going back.

Guest from Blaydon On Tyne stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in February 2015


Another Happy Week

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The new furniture, decor and renovations were welcome. Hot water issue was rectified without fuss. Wifi is a handy addition. Plenty of firewood and Glengorm never fails to provide interesting days whatever the weather. THANKS.

Guest from Sheffield stayed at Dunara for 8 nights in February 2015


Perfect location, lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location with views out to sea. Cottage was clean, warm and comfortable. Well equipped everything we needed for our weekend away even cut wood for the fire.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in December 2014


A warm welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Grateful to find lights and heating on when arrived after long trip - felt welcoming. Needed wellies to get to car from cottage some days but great setting and view. Slight niggles with little problems in bathroom eg bath plug off the end of chain and wonky loo seat and outside leaky drainpipes but it was very well equipped. Really enjoyed the peace and quiet and lots of good walks around castle. Had taken supplies but perhaps a little 'welcome pack' would be nice with bread and milk etc, especially as there is a farm shop on sight (open in season) and its a long way to the nearest shop. Cottage was very clean except dust behind bed and the mugs in the kitchen were very tea stained (had to but bottle of bleach before felt could use them ). Everyone I met was very friendly and I would certainly love to go back. A little bit of attention to detail and it would be perfect!

Guest from stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in November 2014


A little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a wonderful location with stunning views out to sea yet sheltered from the weather. It was very comfortable and really well done out with good furnishings. We felt it was home not a rented cottage and can't wait to stay there again.

Guest from Lanark stayed at Dunara for 4 nights in October 2014


Dunara

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a brilliant property for two people. The location could hardly be better, and it was warm and comfortable with plentiful hot water. Some of the sitting room furniture was looking a little tired, but otherwise the cottage was well furnished and nicely decorated with pictures. All together it made our stay in Mull thoroughly enjoyable - we had a complicated breakdown with our car and Pam could not have been more helpful. We will certainly go there again.

Guest from Marlborough stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in September 2014


Dunara at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
If you are after some peace and tranquillity then this place won't disappoint. If you are coming from some distance, then it does take a bit of getting to - we travelled from Newcastle but stayed near Glasgow the night before our crossing. Once you have arrived by ferry at Craignure expect the 21 mile trip to Tobermory to take at least an hour along the, in part, single track roads. If you haven't been to the Scottish Islands before make sure to read the information sent by Castle on the protocols to be observed with regard to passing places. Satnav will help in finding the castle too. It is about 10 -1 5 minutes from Tobermory. Once we arrived at the castle, we had a tiny bit of difficulty in finding 'Dunara' despite having the directions - maybe a sign at the lodge indicating 'Dunara' would help - but that might be just me.

The views from the bedroom window are wonderful - on a clear day the outer Hebrides can be seen - across the Sound of Mull. Highland cattle and sheep roam right up to the garden fence. We saw a large bird circling above the garden one evening - I'd like to think it was a Golden Eagle. The cottage has everything you could want ( we had a three day stay) and the walks on to the coast are excellent - 15 - 20 minutes to the Dunara 'fort' straight from the front door. Don't under-estimate the infrastructure though - and we turned back on a trip to the ferry to Iona at Craignure as we had difficulty getting fuel - the unleaded fuel was out of service at Craignure - but there is another between Craignure and the ferry to Iona but we didn't know that at the time. It is a two - to two and a half hour drive to the Iona ferry from Dunara.

We did have a shorter trip though to Salen and then across the middle of the island to the Ulva Ferry. Some fabulous scenery. However, with all that fabulous scenery it is difficult to stop where you like along the single track roads.

In short the accommodation is super - but make sure you get a full tank at Oban and be patient and courteous driving and look out for the next passing place sign up ahead.


Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in August 2014


A beautiful and peaceful location

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Glengorm for 12 years, staying both in the Castle and in Dunara cottage. Dunara is a lovely place: simple, tastefully decorated and in a beautiful and peaceful location. Tom and Marjorie's team do a great job - especially Pam in the office. We will be back.

Guest from Chelmsford stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in July 2014


The location is everything

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our second stay at Dunara, we love it and hope to visit again in the future. The furniture and fittings are a little tired but really comfortable overall as it has everything a couple will need for their holiday.
We did feel however, that the property could do with a good "bottoming" as it was a bit dusty. We had to clean out the tumble drier before using it and also the inner door on the washing machine is mouldy as it obviously does not get the chance to dry out. One of the under cupboard lights in the kitchen didn't work.
The setting really is what this property is all about, surrounded by wonderful scenery, lots of walks - short or long, are on your doorstep. The views are simply incredible with unbelievable sunsets highlighting the Outer Hebrides on the horizon with the correct conditions. Also lots of wildlife in the immediate area.


Guest from Whiley Bay stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in June 2014


Lovely cottage with the very best view!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Dunara, but our third visit to Glengorm. We return every 2 years for 2 weeks because we love living on this amazing farm/estate with such absolutely wonderful people....Marjorie, Tom, Pam, Angus as well as all the staff and coffee house crew. There is a real sense of family life that permeates the property and we have always felt welcomed by everyone who lives and works there.
We can walk out our front door and access some of the most beautiful walks on the island surrounded by sheep and highland cattle. The views are breathtaking and the beautiful sunsets are the perfect ending to our fabulous days of hiking and picnics.
Whether we are having a very active day or are curled up in front of the fire with one of the books from the book shelf, we enjoy it ALL. The kitchen is very well appointed which suits these two foodies perfectly, especially with Glengorm lamb and beef readily available.
We are always saddened by our departure but our spirits are lifted knowing that in 2 short years we shall return to our bonny wee cottage.


Guest from Saco stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in May 2014


Fab relaxing break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best holiday lots of relaxing, great walks with plenty of lunches and afternoon teas at the castle coffee shop and the Tobermory bakery. Gorgeous but only downside was we both gained weight due to the fab cakes. Thank you we will be back again. Xx

Lesley from Thirsk stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in March 2014


An excellent wee cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are return visitors and love staying on the Glengorm Estate. This little cottage is a great way to spend a few days or few weeks chilling & it feels like a home from home. The location is superb and with some fantastic scenery on your doorstep, you can wander around the land/hills to your hearts content (the wildlife hide is a must!). Even if you don't fancy doing much walking, the Glengotm Coffee Shop is a 5 min walk away from the cottage & produces some fine food to sample (another must!).

Marjorie & Tom (& all the staff) on the Glengorm Estate are superb and will do anything to help you. We always look forward to going up to Glengorm & can't wait for next year's trip. Thanks again for a lovely stay Glengorm x


Guest from Blaydon on Tyne stayed at Dunara for 14 nights in March 2014


Four days in mid Februaruy

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, very nicely presented cottage with plenty of space for two. Only drawback was the very muddy track leading to it from the castle - although the weather had been awful (rain) so less likely to be a problem at other times.

Staff, service and meals in the castle were excellent and very friendly.

Overall we had a lovely stay that will remain in the memory a very long while.


Guest from London stayed at Dunara for 4 nights in February 2014


We'll be going back

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's the 5th time we've stayed in Glengorm estate properties- a good indication of how much we enjoy it ! It was our first stay at this particular property. As with the other 2 properties we stayed at, everything was comfortable, clean, cosy and beautifully presented. The cottage is in quiet setting with fantastic views. One morning when out in the garden a sea eagle flew 100yds in front of the cottage, and another evening we could hear one calling from the woods behind the house. Dark winter evenings were just as enjoyable with a log fire, comfy sofas and a good selection of wine we took along. We've not yet visited in the summer as we love the winter breaks and feel we have the place to ourselves.

Guest from Coldstream stayed at Dunara for 7 nights in January 2014


excellent stay for santa cross race!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous cottage, log fire, amazing views... couldn't have asked for anything more for a weekend away on Mull. Pity about the weather but we will be back!

Caroline from Edinburgh stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in December 2013


Great Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Thank you for a great stay. We were pleasantly surprised by Dunara itself and found it to be cosy and well furnished. Could do with a bit of TLC to the outside (eg gutter repairs, fresh paint, garden tidy) but in many ways it just feels a little 'rustic' which is fine. The dishwasher was not working which was a shame but we were amazed by the hot water, water pressure (amazing baths!) and how effective the heaters were, very snuggly! Location and walks from the doorstep are incredible, a real selling point. We were disappointed that the stables/cafe/shop were closed as this was not clear when booking and we were really looking forward to using the facilities. Also a shame not to see inside the castle itself, would have liked to see whether the B&B might have been an option for another visit or for recommending to friends but weren't sure whether we could just wander in so stayed away, a shame.

Guest from Paisley stayed at Dunara for 3 nights in November 2013