FB Twitter

Lephin

Lephin

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 64 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


Lephin Cottage enjoys a very peaceful setting to the east of the castle and is accessed by a short farm track. The cottage has been fitted with a modern kitchen. The sitting room is very cosy with a wood burning stove. The shore is a ten minute walk through the fields with a number of secluded rocky bays to explore.

What an amazing place!

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mull is positively beautiful and there is so much fantastic wildlife. Walk are great. The house was beautifully positioned and very adequate. Thanks for a great stay.

Janet from Whitchurch stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2019


Definitely off the beaten track !

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Glengorm Estate is huge and being able to roam about it is a good reason to stay here . As well as the resident Highland Cows you have a chance of spotting seals, dolphins, mountain hares , Golden eagles maybe even whales and otters . Bring midge repellent for any of the above !
Lephin is pretty remote and down a long unmade track . If you’ve got a car that’s low slung or new you might want to think twice . It’s worth it though . The cottage looks a bit basic from outside but inside is lovely . Very good beds and quality bed linen . Decent shower . And you’ll need both when you’ve been out all day in all the weather that Mull throws at you !
A long way from anywhere . Not the cottage for you if you want to stroll to a pub for tea but you could stroll to the excellent Glengorm Coffee Shop in the daytime .


Sarah from Chippenham stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in June 2019


A beautiful cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my first stay in Lephin cottage after staying in other cottages on the Glengorm estate on prior occasions. All the cottages are gorgeous and Lephin is no exception. The location is perfect - total quiet, no other dwellings nearby and easy walking to beautiful places from the doorstep. The accommodation is totally lovely, including being very practical if with dogs. The only small niggle is the shower, which provides plenty of hot water but has very low pressure. Absolutely everything else is brilliant, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay in Lephin Cottage again.

Diane from Midhurst stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in June 2019


A superb location and a delightful cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love this cottage and it’s location. We stayed here two years ago and when we decided to visit Mull again we never even looked for an alternative.The cottage feels more like a home than a holiday let. It is clean, well equipped and very cosy. Fantastic walks from the door and complete peace and quiet.The Glengorm cafe is well worth a visit. The guided wildlife walks are well worth it, or you can wander at will over large areas of the estate to see world class wildlife. If the opportunity arose we would love to return.

Paul from New Milton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2019


Quality rustic gem

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is properly rural at the end of its rough track. Just the way we like it. The property itself was surprisingly comfortable with excellent furniture, bedding and facilities. Most importantly it had a lovely feel to it, good quality but relaxed. The walks on the estate, especially towards the shore are magical and I recommend the Ranger guided walk to show you what you can look for wildlife wise. A fantastic week had by all.

Matthew from Lewes stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2019


Peaceful Retreat In Stunning Location.

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
WE have stayed many times at the Glengorm Castle Estate and always have a great holiday. The are is superb for Wildlife and handy for Tobermory. The cottages we have had are all very clean and cozy with excellent beds. The owners and the staff we have dealt with over the years are excellent and really go all the way to make your stay a good one. The best recommendation we can offer is we are looking to book again later in the year!

David from Lochearnhead stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in February 2019


Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and location, a few little niggles the mattresses are years past their best and the cottage could probably do with a real deep clean and fresh lick of paint but this didn't effect our holiday at all and we love the cottage and location

Guest from Wigton stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in February 2019


Brilliant location and cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved staying here it was a perfect base for our event which was held very nearly hoping to return again next year for more of the same, we particularly loved the enclosed garden for our dogs the wood burning fire and the enormous comfortable bed. Perfect

Karen from stayed at Lephin for 3 nights in October 2018


Coming Home

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy our stay at Lephin, the location is lovely and we know the island well. The cottage has every thing we need and we have booked again for next year.

J from Moffat stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2018


A week in a beautiful, remote cottage on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage was beautiful, warm, cosy and very comfortable. But it was the first place we stayed where there was no welcome pack of any kind, not even matches for the wood-burning stove which meant another trip down to the excellent Co-op in Tobermory. It wasn't clear whether what provisions there were, like toilet paper, had been provided by the castle or left by previous occupants. It would also be a good idea to warn renters just how rough the long track down to the cottage is.
A bulb blew in the lighting track above the sink in the kitchen and the castle staff promised to bring down a replacement but it never appeared.
A welcome pack is called a welcome pack for good reason. A few things would have made us feel far more welcome. We loved the privacy but we had travelled all the way from Bristol and not even to have a box of matches for the stove was disappointing. It should be made clear to renters exactly what they need to bring with them as it is a 20 minute drive down to the shops of Tobermory.


Annie from Bristol stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2018


Another good week at Lephin

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Lephin as we liked it so much the first time. Its very comfortable and cosy. The double bed in the main bedroom is is probably the most comfortable bed we've ever stayed in and the kitchen is very well equipped which made catering easy. We liked the lobby for coats and shoes/boots - every home should have one!

Colin from Woking stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2018


Delightful cottage in a peaceful setting

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving at Lephin was interesting as we had to navigate a pretty bumpy private track to our cottage! It was so lovely to enter the cottage as the heating was on low for us (as the weather had just changed and was much cooler) and there were flowers from the estate on the mantelpiece. Lephin was a very homey relaxed cottage; we never felt we had to be overly precious with it which was a relief with two teenage children! Beds were really comfortable and bedding was lovely white cotton. There’s a good sized shed next to the house which was great for us as we stored our bikes there. Woke to a highland calf a foot away from our kitchen window ( behind a fence by the way if cows make you nervous!) and saw so many birds and wildlife. Glengorm estate is managed beautifully and the staff there (Pam particularly) were incredibly helpful. All in all we had a magical time at Lephin and on Mull generally. Would highland recommend this cottage and would definitely come back.

Sarah from Osmotherley stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2018


a beautiful seculded very well equiped cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
what we enjoyed most apart from the peaceful location were all the animals (next door neighbours being sheep, rabbits highland cattle and deers)

Monika from Homberg stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2018


Lovely cottage in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed a superb week in Lephin cottage. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived because we didn’t think the website did it justice. It was much bigger than we were expecting, the beds were enormous, comfy and had high quality bedding, lovely Mull Soap in the bathroom and the garden was amazing! It was perfect to sit out in and it was dog proof, so we didn’t need to worry about our black lab escaping and chasing sheep.

The best bit for us was the location. We loved the remoteness of it and the fact it’s on a working estate. Our youngest son thought it brilliant he was so near the sheep, lambs, highland cattle and horses. It’s walking distance to the cafe and there are plenty of cycle rides and walks to do from the cottage.
We would definitely like to visit again. The only things that could do with improving - better directions to the cottage would have been appreciated. We ended up on various forestry tracks when trying to find it - our car suffered many scrapes underneath as a result. Also, maybe provide a fan for the upstairs bedroom. It was incredibly hot, it was unusually warm weather, which made the room too hot to sleep in. Our eldest had to sleep in the living room for a few nights.

Apart from these minor points we had an amazing holiday, we loved the cottage and completely fell in love with Mull.


Sarah from Fenny Compton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2018


Comfortable cottage, beautiful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in Lephin, a perfect location for us: not too far from the restaurants and shops of Tobermory, but in a beautiful rural location. Lephin is in the middle of farmland, and down a track, as stated in the description of the cottage. For us it enhanced the rural seclusion we wanted. It was lambing time and we were enchanted by those that took up residence in the garden. Whilst there is no sea view from Lephin, it is only minutes from magnificent ones. Wonderful walks can be taken from the cottage, encompassing dramatic cliffs and seascapes, hills, heaths and forests. Wildlife is plentiful, we saw hen harriers, golden and white tailed eagles amongst others, although sadly no otters this time.
Lephin is warm, with a comfortable sitting room and the large dining kitchen is well equipped. Nice welcome touches were a vase of daffodils on the sitting room mantlepiece and lovely Isle of Mull soap in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, sheets and towels were good quality. Firewood is included and in plentiful supply; you only had to ask if you needed more and it was delivered later that day. All in all, a lovely holiday and we will be back.


Cindy from Hereford stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2018


The Aurora Trip!!

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Lephin for around 10 years now. We love it. So much we have booked again for next year. A perfect base to explore this beautiful island of Mull. The coffee shop is great and we had an elusive Aurora Borealis thrown in for good measure this year. I can’t wait to go back next March.

Iain from Shipley stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in March 2018


Blissfully peace

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the most wonderful first visit to Mull and Lephin cottage on Glengorm Castle estate. The cottage was nicely decorated and comfy. The heating and lights were on to welcome us and plenty of wood ready for a roaring log fire. The track to the cottage was a shocker with pot holes galore, but it is a working farm so that must be expected. Taken slowly and carefully it was fine. Really being picky maybe a tea cosy would be a nice addition, but really super pleased and can't wait to go back. Wonderful friendly island and wonderful accommodation.

Kathryn from Frome stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in February 2018


Glengorm, Isle of Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend and visit again. The cottage was clean and well looked after.

Jude from Wigton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in February 2018


Fabulous away-from-it-all Christmas break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth stay at Glengorm, third in Lephin, and this was our second Christmas break in the cottage. Peace, quiet, lovely location and a lovely, comfortable cottage. We keep coming back to the estate not only because of the location but because of the extra, personal touches that really make you feel welcome and valued as a visitor. Like arriving to the lights and heating on and a Christmas tree dressed and lit-up, and being able to pre-order our Christmas meat from the estate.
The fenced garden at Lephin is a boon for dogs - our greyhounds loved it, and there are plenty of good walks (and runs) nearby. Mull is quiet at Christmas and the cottage is very much away from-it-all break, which was what we were looking for after a hectic year, however it may not suit everyone. The track to the cottage can also be difficult in bad weather - not for nervous drivers, and you should expect to spend a lot of time in wellies or walking boots!


Sue from Burton-on-trent stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in December 2017


A muddy week!!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We are no strangers to Lephin - we have been staying there for many years now so there is something that brings us back more and more. We love it, the peace, the tranquility, the fabulous walking, the Cafe (although that only lasted a couple of days - winter closing!), the friendly faces to name but a few.

I think that summer must have been a little disappointing this year, as there was more mud than I think we have ever encountered, particularly on the long drive down from the road through the estate. But we kind of expect that. Its a working Estate.


Iain from Bradford stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in October 2017


The cottage exceeded expectations.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage exceeded expectations. It was very comfortable and cosy and for two of us there was plenty of space including a massive bed. The kitchen facilities were excellent and the 'lobby' provided a space to take off dirty boots etc. The small sun room was an excellent bonus.
Since there is a long bumpy track approaching the cottage I would recommend a 4 x 4 vehicle.
We liked the views from the cottage and enjoyed seeing the sheep horses and Highland cattle in the surrounding fields.


Colin from Woking stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2017


Home from home - we always have a lovely time on Mull and the cafe at the castle ig good as well

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been going to Mull for a few years and we can both relax and enjoy the views and the walks- the cottage is excellent

J from Moffat stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2017


A week in August

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, the access track is just that, a track. OK if taken with care, no problems with a SUV.

Chris from Chorley stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2017


Wonderful.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Much appreciated and highly recommended ! Nice cottage and nice location / environment. We had a really enjoyable stay.

Denis from Ifs stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in July 2017


A fantastic week !

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An outstanding stay in a cosy cottage-surrounded by animals in a wonderful nature...the Atlantic on the doorstep.We hope to be back one day....Jacqueline and Dorothee from Switzerland

Jacqueline from Dornach stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2017


Fantastic location

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Usually after a holiday you are ready to go home but we really didn't want to leave Lephin cottage and Mull!

The cottage is really cosy and has lots of charm. The beds are very comfortable and the cottage has everything you need. When you go out into the garden and take in the views, you realise you are somewhere really special! The views are amazing and there are plenty of walks or places to drive to. The castle and coffee shop aren't far to walk to and you can get down to the sea and see the standing stones.

There is an abundance of wildlife and we saw eagles, buzzards, seals and we think a basking shark!

We would recommend a visit to Iona, Ulva, Calgary, Dervaig as well as Tobermory where you can get dinner from the fish and chip van! The cheese farm is alooking a nice place to visit and the coffee shop at Glengorm serves amazing lunches!

Thankyou Glengorm for a wonderful time!


Julie from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2017


Comfy Cottage in stunning setting

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lephin Cottage was lovely. It was very well appointed and comfortable in every way. It might have been nice to have a bit more interaction with Glengorm staff but in a way, we liked the 'hands off' style of the rental. Living on a farm ourselves, we liked the nearness to the cows and sheep, although I was a bit startled one morning at breakfast to meet with the gaze of a Highland steer peering into the kitchen window, as I didn't realize that their fencing allowed for them to be that close to the back of the cottage. Just to be clear, there were no safety concerns and no smells, just audio and visual proximity, which we loved.

Alice from Wilton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2017


Exactly What We Wanted in the Right Place.

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location away from it all. Warm and comfortable accommodation. Fenced ground surrounding the cottage and great dog friendly walks nearby. We shall return.

Alastair from Aberfeldy stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2017


Many happy returns .....

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying in Lephin Cottage on the Glengorm Estate for around 10 years now and we just cannot get enough of it.

The cottage is lovely, wonderfully located, cosy and warm, and everything we need from a holiday let.

The owner and staff at Glengorm are more than helpful and friendly, and very responsive to any queries made.

The coffee shop in the grounds of Glengorm Castle is amazing for food, Gail is a great cook and kept us well fed during our stay, and the meat we sourced at the Castle from the Estate is fantastic - second to none.

All in all, a great holiday, we even had good weather, and the reason why we have already booked our two week break with them next year.


Iain from Shipley stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in March 2017


Beautiful Lephin, the location is unbelievably beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to escape in the most beautiful surroundings and comfortable cottage this is it. Total peace and quiet, views to take your breath away and walks to your hearts content. The estate has it all, from wildlife to glorious susnsets, warmth and comfort. Tobermory isnt far away and the whole of Mull is easy accessible.

Jude from Wigton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in March 2017


A Great Island Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lephin is a traditional highland cottage, attractively furnished and very well equipped. It is in a wonderful location on a working farm, with great walks on the doorstep, but only about fifteen minutes from the shops, pubs and restaurants of Tobermory. Our visit was in the winter, during a period of exceptionally stormy weather, but the cottage was very warm, cozy and welcoming. The extremely bucolic situation might not suit more urban types - it is approached along 600 metres of very rough track, surrounded by fields of sheep and highland cattle, and immediately adjacent to a cow barn. A certain amount of mud and agricultural smells are almost guaranteed, and appropriate country clothing is essential. We liked it a lot and so did our dog.

Guest from Tippenham stayed at Lephin for 10 nights in December 2016


Great Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very difficult to find fault with anything. I am not sure what I was really expecting, BUT Lephin far exceeded our expectations. Great cottage in a great location (we were here for a two day event at Glengorm) and immaculately presented. Customer service before our visit was perfect, but we didn't have any ''customer service'' while we were there - there was no need, I am pretty sure if we did need anything, it would have been dealt with. Would book again in a heartbeat.

Greig from Glasgow stayed at Lephin for 3 nights in December 2016


It was a wonderful place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved staying at this calm and relaxing place! Everything was fine. There is just something about the bathroom. It was not good not to have half warm water, you could either turn on really hot or cold water in the bathroom, that is not so good.

Patricia from Zwickau stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2016


Peaceful family time

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our kids are 7, 10 and 12. They found Glengorm "amazing, beautiful, stunning, nosey neighbours e.g. highland cows, beautiful sunsets, mysterious, wild, outstanding!" Their best day was the trip to Staffa for Fingals cave and Treshnish to see the puffins. Our holiday on Mull was a great chance to switch off the mobile phones and enjoy nature at its best.

Rich from Bangor stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in July 2016


Wonderful stay at Lephin cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous location, just what we were looking for away from everyone. In particular the Superking bed was divine and a lovely bonus, amazingly comfy. Lots of wildlife around without even trying to look for it. Plenty of nice walks around the castle too. Coffee and farm shop stocked with lovely local produce.

Carol from Edinburgh stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely Cottage, Poor Access

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely cottage, very well equipped and comfortable and in an idyllic location BUT the access track is very rough and though it can be passed over with care there are places along the track where a fully loaded car cannot avoid grounding, as ours did. This was especially apparent at the entrance to the track and down the rocky slope near the cottage. The conditions seemed to worsen after heavy rain with potholes appearing.

Alan from Ipswich stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in June 2016


85/100

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Poor access
Fantastic location
Only one loo - otherwise v comfortable
No coat hooks
Friendly and helpful staff
Wonderful holiday
12345678910111213141516171819


Tony from Moreton in Marsh stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2016


Glorious Glengorm!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our umpteenth time back at Lephin Cottage - we try to get at least a week in every year up there. Absolute mind-chill. We love it, everything about it. It is great for dogs and people alike. The Farm and Castle staff are so friendly and helpful, and always stop for a chat. The cottage is cosy, welcoming and warm. Perfect for my family. The Estate is great for walking around - all information about walks on the Estate is available to you at the cottage. The Estate produce is also to be recommended.

We have already booked two weeks for next year, and are very much looking forward to getting back to Mull, and Glengorm.


Iain from Shipley stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in February 2016


An unbelievably amazing location, the prefect escape

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to escape to a quiet, relaxing and cosy cottage Lephin will give you just that. The cottage is comfortable, spacious. with a lovely grassed area, a small pond and a few trees full of wildlife. The paths and walks along the front of the castle, through the woods and hill tops give amazing views for photography along with the abundant wildlife from Buzzards, Deer, Hares, Sea Eagles and more. The service and welcome is friendly, down to earth and makes you feel at home. An absolute delight to stay.

Jude from Wigton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in February 2016


A great cottage in a brilliant location

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lephin cottage is very well appointed and was a great place to stay for a week. The setting is just as in the pictures, with
great views and walks-White-Tailed Eagles, deer and buzzards all regularly seen. You also get woken by Highland cattle and sheep a few feet from the cottage.
The farm track leading to the cottage is quite rough and took at least 6 minutes to traverse in a normal car -though a price well worth paying for the seclusion and comfort of Lephin.
This is an ideal location for exploring Mull and a great place to come back to afterwards.


Richard from London stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2015


Appreciation of Lephin Cottage (Glengorm)

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Cottage on the beautiful grounds of Glengorm Castle, near a big shed and meadows where cows and horses graze.
The Estate where we can walk is magnificent by the sea, full of wildlife, and provide delicious meat, and fresh vegetables from their own garden. A really enjoyable stay.


Joëlle from Paris stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2015


A wild spot to explore...

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, pretty comfortable, had a wonderful time. Enjoyed the coast, spotting eagles and otters, wildflowers abundant and beautiful, walking great.

Guest from Wolverhampton stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2015


A wonderful week away from it all

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you're looking to get away from it all and have just sheep and Highland cattle for your neighbours then this is absolutely the place for you! A thoroughly excellent, isoltaed location ideal for families that like the outdoors. The cottage itself was brilliantly arranged with an excellent log burning stove in the sitting room the highlight for us.
We'll definitely return!


Guest from London stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2015


Total chill out

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to chill out. Mobile phones don`t work. Log fire,music, good book and a bottle of your favourite. Bliss !!
Every wild animal you can imagine just pass by the door.
Sitting out in the garden with your favourite tipple to watch the sun go down and the deer to appear on the evening horizon is unmissable.
Accomodation is lovely and cosy. You are in a world of your own.
Great place to re charge your batteries.


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2015


Cosy, comfortable property with something for all the family.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cosy, comfortable property with something for all the family - animals for the animal lover, logs to chop for the men, peace and tranquillity with beautiful views for the stressed business women!

Guest from Dunblane stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2015


A wonderful week in a glorious setting

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had many holidays on the west coast of Scotland and this one again did not disappoint. If you like being in the middle of nowhere with Highland cattle & sheep as your only neighbours Lephin is perfect. The cottage was very comfortable and well appointed. We thoroughly enjoyed Mull and our trips to Iona and Ullva.Dinner at Cafe Fish in Tonbermory more than lived up to it's exceptional reputation.

Guest from Moreton-in-marsh stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2014


Great home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage has everything you could need well maybe wifi but that is one of the reasons to be out in the middle of nowhere. One of the best we have stayed in on mull and we will be back again this year and the road down to cottage is fine if driven correctly we have a sports tuned car and it managed no problems at all

Carol from Bridge Of Weir stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in June 2014


Cosy cottage on a magnificent coastal estate.

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lephin Cottage was the perfect place for our family to explore the local area surrounding Glengorm and the northern coast of Mull. Plenty of space for the children to explore, ancient stones and Iron Age forts, lochs and heath country and of course the hairy cows! Our Northern Australian children were besotted. The estate owners are focused on managing the land to protect and restore habitat and balance the farming side of the business. We enjoyed a guided walk with our knowledgeable guide to a bird hide on the property and learnt much about the history of the area, birds, insect, plants and animals. Also on Glengorm is a cafe, art gallery and nature centre. We wanted for nothing and could easily have spent more time here. Ideal if you crave the open spaces but still like the occasional cappuccino.

Fiona from Fannie Bay stayed at Lephin for 3 nights in August 2014


A Scottish Gem.

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Its some years since my last stay on Mull at Glengorm and found the peace and beauty still as captivating.Lephin Cottage was far more than I expected and to cap it all the young Highland bulls being got ready next to the cottage for the Salen & Morven show all won prizes.Will definitely be back.

Guest from Droitwich stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in August 2014


Lephin cottage bliss

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the cottage, it suite our family perfectly (children aged 5, 7 and 8). Very secluded, so kids could be as energetic and loud as they liked, and plenty of animal life around us. The cottage is next to a barn which is home to a few horses and Highland bulls, who came over to the fence next to the house each morning and fascinated the kids throughout our stay. A fairly easy walk down to the water for anyone able-bodied, though wellies recommended. We had breakfast in the castle one morning (for an extra charge) which was delicious, but otherwise ate in or had dinner in Tobermory, which is a relatively short drive. Our only quibbles were that the composting instructions were not clear, and a few light bulbs needed changing on arrival, so minor stuff. Lephin is a great base to explore the Glengorm estate, or Mull more generally, for a family or anyone seeking a secluded Hebridean experience. We will be back to Glengorm next year (our 4th).

Guest from London stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2014


Pastoral comfort

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lephin met our pastoral needs. The king size bed was a great surprise. Even the bellowing Highland bull outside our bedroom window added to our fun. Enjoy!

Guest from Fort Worth stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in July 2014


Lephin, Glengorm Castle Estate

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed the peacefulness and the wildlife. The house was very comfortable especially the beds, the pillows were like huge marshmallows. There was adequate utensils and kitchenware. The garden was lovely, a very nice place to sit. We did have a young bullock who liked to do a bit of shouting to the other cows but it was all part of the countryside experience.

The surrounding area on the estate was beautiful with views to die for. I felt like I could have been anywhere in the world looking out to sea over the islands. I hope to return there again in the future.


Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in June 2014


OUR HOLIDAY AT LEPHIN

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had glorious holidays here for many years. Wildlife and fauna all around. We have seen eagles, hen harriers, buzzards, cuckoos, hares, deer etc., all from the cottage. Fantastic walks from the cottage and all round the estate. The only downside is the track from the road to the cottage does need some attention, otherwise everything is first rate and we look forward to returning for many years to come.

Guest from Sunderland stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in May 2014


Home away from home...

Review submitted on Wed, 28 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I have been visiting Glengorm for 14 years....so staying out in Lephin feels like "coming home" by now! Always a joy to arrive, and so hard to leave. Already looking forward to the next visit...

Melora from Maine stayed at Lephin for 21 nights in May 2014


Lephin

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a stunning location. Slightly expensive, but excellent holiday. Facilities better than home, some pieces of furniture getting in need of replacement as cottage is used.

Guest from Chorley stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2014


Easter week break at Lephin @ Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second stay at the Lephin and 3rd on the Glengorm estate.

The Lephin is rustic, clean and tidy but nothing too fancy so you don't need to worry about the kids breaking anything. I like the daily routine of chopping wood and cleaning the fireplace. The kitchen is fine and the table is large enough to sit 6. the rooms are cosy with excellent bed linen. A reasonable shower and plenty of seating in the living room.

Access is via a short lane which is fine if you have plenty of clearance under the car. The cottage is surrounded by fields. The highland cows came right up to the kitchen window. It was lambing season and every day we looked for new lambs. There are some walks straight from the cottage down to the shore. Would recommend sturdy shoes but nothing too taxing. The walk to the shop/cafe is about 20 minutes and serves really nice food. There are further walks from there down to the shore past the standing stones. We saw seals there too.

Would highly recommend staying in the Lephin and on the Glengorm estate in general. The kids loved the walks every day and Tobermoray is about 15 minutes away. Calgary beach is 3/4 hour away and also has some great walks.


Guest from Cambuslang stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in April 2014


A Great little Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a four night stay at Lephin Cottage, the cottage is well appointed and very cosy although the photo on Glengorm web site shows the sea in the background it is not visible from the cottage, it said that it was possible to access the beach via a short walk ( you can view the small cove) it is not possible to access the beach as there are steep cliffs that prohibit access, having said that this did not detract from a very enjoyable stay. The road access we were told was via a farm track and this could do with a little care and maintence especially if you do not drive a 4x4 vehicle, especially before/after the small wooden bridge and there is the chance of grounding your vehicle before crossing a small burn just before the bend approaching the cottage. Around the cottage are sheep and some Highland Bulls and horses along with lots of wild birds which included Wheatear, Redwing, Stone Pipit, Meadow Pipit, Pink Footed Geese and Grey Heron and the info pack did say you may sight Hen Harrier, Eagles and Sparrow Hawk but sadly we did not see any of these around Lephin. Glengorm also advertise that they have a Wild Life Ranger available to take you on various walking tours within the estate we were told that she was not available on one of the advertised days because due to staff shortages she had to work in the Castle Café, this was disappointing as it was the only day that we were able to do it!

Guest from Lossiemouth stayed at Lephin for 4 nights in April 2014


Fabulous cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage in a fantastic location. Plenty of logs ensured maximum cosiness after a day's walking on the varied landscape of the estate. Near enough to Tobermory for the shopping, but far enough away to enjoy the isolation and the great outdoors.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in March 2014


Very Comfortable Cottage in Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Mar 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a beautiful location (although the access road requires a bit of negotiation), the estate is beautiful with lots of opportunity for exploring and some excellent walking from the front door! The cottage was very welcoming, warm and comfortable, we made good use of the log burner and were grateful for the good supply of logs. It was well equipped with everything we needed from corkscrew to tablets for the dishwasher, and a good supply of fluffy towels. The only negative point is in relation to the cleanliness of the property as we felt it could do with a good clean - cobwebs in the bathroom and black dog hair on all the carpets throughout the property, whilst we understand that the property is pet friendly we didn't expect that we would need to vacuum the property on arrival :-(

Overall we had a lovely week that was very relaxing and extremely good value for money, we would certainly return but would probably consider one of the pet free accommodation.


Guest from Dunfermline stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in March 2014


We love this cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this cottage and this was our second visit. Mull is beautiful, Glengorm estate is packed with wildlife and Lephin Cottage is peaceful and comfortable. We will be arranging return visit soon.

Guest from Menstrie stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in March 2014


October Break

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
October 26th 1week.with Daughter and Grandchildren, and dogs.
We had an excellent stay at Lephin despite the awful weather the cottage is comfortable and well equipped with everything provided for. The cottage is warm and cosy especially on the wet days with the wood fire on. Lots of places to walk and very peaceful. The dogs had a ball lots of places to run and explore. Highland cattle outside the window in the morning which the kids loved and horses in the field very friendly.
Some points to look at due to the heavy rain the roof leaks above the fire in the lounge which we collected water in a bucket, the fire is missing a centre grate which would allow better burning and the ash to fall through and a lock on the bathroom door would be good to save embarrassment for those in there we used a log to stop the door from being opened.
The road to Lephin from the main road is awful but in character with the location I had a 4 x 4 High ground clearance but any lower vehicle will have problems maybe something could be done about this but not crucial.
Altogether a very good relaxing week with a lovely warm cottage to return to and the end of every day would certainly return.
Major plus no Internet for a change so no rubbish and calls.


Guest from Benderloch, Near Oban stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in October 2013


Fab location but run down

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2013
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage is in THE most fantastic location with such lovely hosts so it was so sad to find that the building needed quite a bit of maintanence and cleaning.

Guest from Wigtown stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2013


return to mull

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely area to stay. Cottage excellent and very welcoming on arrival as the lights were on and heating making it lovely and warm on a rather unpleasant day weather wise.
Although we didn't use the wood burner much but when we did it smoked a fair bit. It would have helped to have some instructions on use of the controls.
Another minor point. A hook on the bathroom door would be nice - somewhere to hang the dressing- gown.
All in all though an excellent place to stay.


Guest from Chepstow stayed at Lephin for 14 nights in September 2013


Beautiful Mull

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely very well appointed, comfortable cottage in lovely rural, peaceful setting. Logs provided for wood burner very welcome. Delicious cakes/scones at the Castle café. Better way marked walking routes round the estate for independent walkers would be useful. A nice touch would perhaps be some Glengorm jam/Island Bakery biscuits on arrival.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Lephin for 7 nights in September 2013