FB Twitter

The Steadings

The Steadings

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 97 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.7
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.6


Situated above the coffee shop, it combines the best aspects of modern living with the unique character of Glengorm and the wild outdoors.

Throughout the flat, attention has been paid to detail: The interior has been inspired by the local surroundings with solid oak, slate, sandstone and leather throughout.

The kitchen has been built for those who are passionate about food. On the doorstep is the Coffee Shop where fresh Glengorm produce from the farm and walled garden are available.

Great property and location.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Sep 2022
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious and well equipped apartment with access to Glengorm Castle. Very comfortable and clean. One or two minor maintenance issues. Overall a romantic hideaway in remote northern Mull

Michael from Bolton stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in September 2022


Magical location

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle is a magical place just ten minutes outside Tobermory. The Castle’s owners are very gracious & welcoming. The accommodation was very comfortable and the on-site shop and cafe an added bonus. The sunsets alone would make a stay worthwhile. Can thoroughly recommend.

Caroline from Toronto stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in September 2022


The Steadings

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely apartment, good location, we had a very happy time at the steadings and would definitely come back.

Stephen from Cramlington stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2022


A great place to explore Mull and all the surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a very comfortable flat. Plenty of room and well equipped kitchen. Very comfortable bed which meant I slept the best ever I have slept for many years, so quiet! If only the weather had been better but you can't book that.

Robin from Kendle stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in August 2022


Spacious and good quality accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally all very nice. Few minor points:
- Front door sticks and bottom pane broken
- Toilet doesn't flush properly
- Internet never worked the whole time I was there. For people that travel but need to be contactable for work this is definitely problematic. I found I had to leave a day early to get a hotel in Glasgow in order to address some work issues which required me to be online.


Ian from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2022


Relaxing stay at The Steadings

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a lovely stay at Glengorm!

We spent the night in the Steadings flat and it was such a lovely space! Having come from staying with my Granny where we had tiny single beds the huge bed, big enough for three, was like sleeping on a cloud!

The welcome we had at the castle from Pam was really friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. The compliments in the flat itself were vast and the whiskey was a very nice touch!

Coffee shop just downstairs was definitely a plus also. Absolutely gorgeous views and definitely no regrets about our booking. Hope to visit again in the future!

Thank you from both of us x




Isobel from Resolven stayed at The Steadings for 1 nights in August 2022


Great stay on the Isle of Mull

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great accommodation and location to visit Mull : highly recommended !

A glass of whisky in the castle was a great experience !


Pertuy from Woluwe Saint Pierre stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in July 2022


A lovely flat in a gorgeous location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I really enjoyed our short stay at The Steadings! The place is spacious, tasteful and inviting. Loved the artwork on display! Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would love to return there!

Eric from Chapel Hill stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in June 2022


2 nights at the Steadings

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying at The Steadings at Glengorm. The apartment was very comfortable and clean. The grounds and location on Mull were absolutely beautiful.

Guest from Marion stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in June 2022


Lovely Spot...

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I had a lovely, extended stay in Steadings in May, 2022. We had seen pictures, but they didn't do justice to this special flat. Set above the original stables to the Castle, we were in the perfect location to enjoy long walks around the Glengorm property and then return to the privacy and comfort of the flat. Loved the fireplace for ambiance, the well outfitted kitchen, heavenly king-sized bed, and deep tub for soaking at the end of the day. Perfect for a couple! The wonderful Glengorm coffee shop is right downstairs, so we certainly took advantage of the temptations offered there every day, as well. Highly recommend...


Caroline from stayed at The Steadings for 14 nights in April 2022


A restful stay in glorious surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 20 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unfortunately we were only able to book The Steadings for 2 nights. We wished it could have been longer. The apartment was very comfortable and the kitchen had all the equipment we needed to self cater. We slept well in the enormous bed. The baronial fireplace, with plenty of logs supplied, gave us a cheerful glow in the evening.

Marjorie had welcomed us to the castle on our arrival and showed us the rooms we also had access to as guests. We enjoyed relaxing in the castle looking out to the gorgeous views across the sea. We read books about whisky and maps of the area in the library with a wee dram in our hand.

The highlight of our stay was a walk on the estate. We live on the edge of a rural village so we are used to the quietness of the countryside but far away from the nearest road, the peaceful surroundings were only interrupted by the songs of the cuckoos and the bleating of the young lambs calling to find their mums. It was a beautiful walk, calm and tranquil which refreshed our souls.

I love Mull. My Gaelic speaking great grandmother was from Tobermory and many generations of my family before her lived on the island so having visited a few times before, staying on the Glengorm Estate was a magical experience. We will most definitely return but hope to stay longer in this understandably popular, very special accomodation.


Alison from Penmark stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in May 2022


Great place

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings provide superb accommodation in a very special location. Great walks begin from the front door. The open log fire is brilliant and the super king size bed is really comfortable. This was our second stay and won’t be our last :)

Michael from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in April 2022


Wonderful Get Away From it All Break

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fabulous five night break here, the location by the castle is amazing, Had a couple of evenings in the Library sampling the whiskey and chatting with fellow guests. Lots of walking around the grounds down to the coastline, watching eagles and otters. The accommodation was lovely, a comfy big bed. Right next door to the coffee shop. Just perfect. Thank you x x

Rachael from Halifax stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in April 2022


Amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had the pleasure of staying at The Steadings for 3 nights.
Fantastic location. Wonderful apartment. Huge comfy bed.


Guest from Peterborough stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in April 2022


A Great Short Stay at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time - the weather was particularly good for March allowing us to walk along the coast and see some basking seals - an unexpected bonus! The breakfasts at the Castle were excellent and meant we didn't have to worry too much about lunch! In fact we were out and about so much we were very happy to spend the evenings relaxing by the fire (we stayed in the Steadings) with a glass of wine and some excellent local fare!

Colin from Airdrie stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in March 2022


Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed spending Christmas at The Steadings. The location couldn’t be better and coming back to a beautifully appointed, comfortable base after a day’s exploring was the perfect break.

Clare from London stayed at The Steadings for 6 nights in December 2021


It was like a Dream

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly one of the best trips I’ve ever had. The flat was in a great location, was very warm and welcoming and had such a great atmosphere. It was clean and tidy, and really well designed. All the little touches really made a big difference.
Would definitely stay again


Daniel from Livingston stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in October 2021


Home from home, every creature comfort.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the apartment, especially the well equipped kitchen, with full sized fridge and freezer, and the log fire, such a focal point to the living room.
Very comfortable bed, lashings of hot water, only owls to hear at night.
Only four for condition, as we struggled to close the bathroom door, and the bedside lights weren’t bright enough for reading in comfort.


Penelope from Doncaster stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in October 2021


A Beautiful Stay on Mull

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Steadings was a perfect self-catering stay just a few minutes walk from the main lodging at Glengorm Castle. The Glengorm property is a bit of a drive from the main road in Tobermory (15-20 min on one way track) but worth it. The Steadings flat is up a flight of stairs so not wheelchair accessible but otherwise perfect - a beautiful open lounge with wood-burning fireplace and large kitchen, high ceilings, lovely soaking tub and shower room, large king bed in a bedroom with lots of natural morning light. The kitchen has plates, bowls, pots/pans and utensils but not oils, sugar, spices etc. so you do need to bring your own cooking basics. The Glengorm coffee shop is right downstairs/next door and offers some gourmet food items, cold drinks as well as some prepared baked goods, etc. The grounds of Glengorm are expansive and go out to the edge of the sea, we hiked to the standing stones and bathing pool and it was glorious, great to end the day with a bit of whisky tasting in the castle library. Would absolutely stay again.

Shannon from North Berwick stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in October 2021


Welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings is a very comfortable and well located self-catering unit. Great decor and facilities. Loved provision of Netflix, for those rainy days, and very handy for the coffee shop next door. Pleasing welcome at the castle too.

Peter from Uxbridge stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in August 2021


A fabulous place to enjoy Mull

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic apartment offering anything anyone would need to enjoy the Isle of Mull. Great parking opportunities and wonderful to be in the grounds of Glengorm castle to enjoy an evening walk (and to watch the sun set). Kitchen in the apartment has everything you would need and the bed is huge.


Victoria from Cambridge stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2021


Short break on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent 3 very comfortable nights in one of the best self catering serviced apartments we’ve been to. The property was in a quiet private location above a well stocked coffee shop in the grounds of Glengorm castle, affording great walks. The property was equipped to 5* standard with every amenity we could need. Plenty of hot water and an open fire if we needed it, but we didn’t. On arrival the property was spotlessly clean, tea, coffee etc provided and the complimentary whiskey and flowers on the table completed the great impression as we arrived.
Great shower and very comfortable super king bed with crisp white linens. The daily housekeeping was welcomed with really friendly staff. On the one small occasion it stopped raining we were able to sit on the private seating area and enjoy the surroundings. The weather was not kind to us, but having such a great place to shelter made it not matter.
The only down side was that there was no internet access. However sometimes it is a good thing to not be on line for a while.


Sue from Halifax stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2021


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings was immaculate, really comfortable and very peaceful. We loved our breakfasts in the castle. We'll be back!

Stephanie from Poole stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in August 2021


Truly wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our little home for those three nights. We consider ourselves extremely lucky to have stayed in The Steadings when Mull was having a gloriously sunny week. We were able to have all our meals outside on the private patio and watch each sunset on the lawn in front on the castle. All staff members were warmly hospitable and we’ve not stopped talking about our stay since we’ve left! The bed is huge and comfortable, and sleeping in the absolute peace and quiet was heavenly. The self catered apartment comes fully equipped, which we’ve found is quite rare as usually they are missing some important items. We’d love to come back again one day soon! Thank you for a great getaway.

Kathryn from London stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in July 2021


Lovely break in a cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings is a well furnished apartment in the stables of Scottish castle home. Very friendly welcome from Pam. There are public rooms in the castle B&B which you can use, although we didn’t. Loved that the apartment was serviced every day. Lots of free logs to use in the fire - still needed at night in summer! Cafe next door is useful and no nuisance felt from visitors. Some lovely walks and bike rides on the estate. Tobermory is nearby for shops and eating out. Got to Cafe Fish and Am Berlinn at Dervaig. Minor point, dvd is not connected to the tv when we tried to use it, but otherwise good tv reception and WiFi if you want it. Would most definitely recommend as a base to explore beautiful Mull. Really glad we went.

Michael from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in July 2021


disappointing

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
1.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
The Steadings is situated on top of a coffee shop, the description of the property is very misleading -it states the coffee shop is nearby. During the coffee shops opening hours there is constant noise of customers and the only way to have privacy is to shut the blinds- not the reason we chose to stay in beautiful remote accommodation.
Otherwise the flat is completely as described, very comfortable, well equipped, amazing surroundings ( note no view from flat)
We enjoyed the facilities , whisky in the castle was appreciated. we are sad to leave a negative review but the description of the property should be changed so that future customers are aware of the coffee shops immediate proximity.
We voiced our concerns immediately on arrival and were offered our money back , but as there was no suitable alternative available accommodation anywhere on Mull we stayed. When we were able to find accommodation elsewhere and left a day early this offer was no longer available.


Rachel from Tel Aviv stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in July 2021


Amazing location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic apartment in the castle grounds. Great walks down to the coast, spotting wildlife and longhorned cattle. Enjoyed using castle facilities including pool table and whisky library with great views.

Paul from Ruislip stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in July 2021


Beautiful location lovely accommodation and great hospitality

Review submitted on Sun, 30 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay; such nice accommodation in this Beautiful part of Mull. Being in the castle in the evenings was relaxing too. Great whiskey.
We were made to feel welcome - we’d com again.


Ian from Wigton stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in May 2021


Very comfortable and warm self catering accommodation.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very enjoyable stay at The Steadings. The apartment is comfortable, warm and well equipped. Thank you.

Guest from Northallerton stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in May 2021


Beautiful accommodation & wonderful hospitality

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely self-catering accommodation, beautifully furnished & comfortable, perfect place for a relaxing break. Everything provided that you could need, (only suggestion would be perhaps provide some accurate maps of the surrounding walks in the guest information).Very special location near to the castle, above a great little coffee shop, with a great range of food (including some very welcome ready-meals!). Special mention for the owner's wonderful hospitality, from the complimentary drams to the unexpected dinner, highland hospitality at it's best, (I enjoyed it so much I stayed an extra couple of nights!).

Carol from stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in October 2020


5 star self catering apartment

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only spent one rainy day and night here but can’t imagine being in a more comfortable and stylish accommodation. It was warm, very well appointed and would happily return for a longer stay. We couldn’t fault it at all as every appliance and home comfort was there for us.

Margret from Dundee stayed at The Steadings for 1 nights in October 2020


Fabulous Stay at The Steading, Glengorm Estate

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful relaxing 3 day break staying in The Steading. Tastefully decorated throughout. Extra extra large bed. Jacuzzi bath. Well equipped kitchen. Lovely walks. We had lunch at the Glengorm Coffee shop which was very nice indeed.

Try it - you won’t be disappointed. We will be back for sure.


Wilma from Inverness stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2020


Loved it!

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 5 evenings at the Steadings and absolutely loved it! The space is beautiful and very well kept. The grounds around the castle are superb. Great to explore and catch some amazing sunsets. The little coffee shop beneath the flat has a lovely selection of items to help stock up on food supplies...and they make an exceptional latte! The staff throughout was extraordinary and the breakfast was fantastic! Our only disappointment was that we couldn't stay longer! We'd love to go back for an extended period. A truly magnificent place to stay!!!

Adrienne from stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in July 2020


Very comfortable high-specification apartment in glorious location

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is very attractive, light and modernly furnished. Everything you need for self-catering is present. There is an open fire with a plentiful supply of logs if a fire would lift your spirits. The surroundings are beautiful with some great walks down to the sea through the estate grounds. The gardens of Glengorm Castle are also well-worth a visit.

However, unlike the rooms in the castle there are no views and the Steadings is part of the old stables, tucked away in a small gully near the castle with a cafe and shop located beneath. Whilst we were not disturbed by the cafe or disappointed in the location the website could be more specific as to the exact nature of the Steadings.


Duncan from West Wittering stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in July 2020


Glengorm short holiday break

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best short breaks we have had and to include castle facilities was the icing on the cake. Excellent, helpful ( nothing was too much trouble), interested and engaging attitude of staff. Only one negative was loo seat that moved and does not fit and had to be continually adjusted by hand. In the era of corona virus this was a concern.

Gordon from Kilmarnock stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in July 2020


Beautiful location in Mull

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in a beautiful location . Made to feel very welcome and safe from the moment we arrived. Well equipped and comfortable with a large jacuzzi bath and white robes . Take your own provisions as there are no shops . It’s a 15 minute drive from Tobermory. Fantastic walks in the grounds and very quiet and peaceful.

Mary from Glasgow stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in July 2020


Steadings feedback

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location with plenty of walks available directly from the apartment. The apartment itself was clean and was very well presented. Made for an enjoyable stay.

Mike from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in October 2019


September at Steadings Flat

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptional flat in an idyllic location .First class attention to detail and beautifully furnished throughout. Located in a small courtyard with a delightful coffee shop ,Gallery and Wild life Centre. Kitchen was very well equipped and décor was off a high standard

Guest from stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in September 2019


Just a dream

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All was beautiful: beautiful place, beautiful property, beautiful country! We loved the bathroom, the fireplace, the decoration!

Elodie from Meyrin stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in August 2019


Amazing time

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an Amazing time.. the stealing was perfect. .a bonus was the fabulous breakfast. The grounds were fun to explore and the city had some wonderful restaurants and shops.

Deborah from Tacoma stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in August 2019


Magic Place

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt cosy and comfortable in our „Home“. Cherished Lasagne with beef from the Coffee Shop and Fish from Tobermory. Made long walks in the afternoons and sat by the beautiful Open Fire at night. Gorgeous views at the seaside. Very Friendly staff.Special thanks to Belle!!

Sieglinde from Erlangen stayed at The Steadings for 8 nights in August 2019


Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great experience in the Steadings at Glengorm.
The appartement was clean, cosy and with nice little details that made us smile. Absolutely recommendable, we loved it and are already planning a next trip to Glengorm


Adija from Harderwijk stayed at The Steadings for 2 nights in July 2019


Beyond my wildest dreams!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words can't express how pleasant this trip was. A sheer fairytale at best, the service waz beyond impeccable.

Mk from Enterprise stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in May 2019


Steadings

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Property comfortable and clean. Poor access to customer and local information. Sad not to have access to the lovely views from the property. Not very private during the day as property is over the cafe and public centre.

Katharine from Guildford stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2019


Well located and comfortable

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, warm, comfortable, well equipped and with interesting walks from the doorstep. Near to Tobermory for shopping, but great coffee shop downstairs.

Elizabeth from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2019


Family Get together

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second time we have stayed at the Steadings, with other members of the family located in other places on the estate.
It did not disappoint us at all. Everything was comfortable and the huge bed was an experience! The table and the breakfast bar enabled us to set out a jigsaw and still eat comfortably!
As usual the Nelson family and Pam in the office were their usual welcoming selves.


Margot from Whaley Bridge stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in February 2019


The Steadings Flat

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was nice and spacious but perhaps a little 'tired', particularly the kitchen area. The estate manager was extremely helpful in resolving a couple of issues we had and we had a fantastic stay.

Jane from Derby stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in September 2018


Love this place!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 6th visit to Mull & Glengorm together in 12 years and our second stay at the Steadings. We were as happy as always staying here. We visited the coffee shop nearly every day for a cappuccino and/or a light & delicious meal, bought lamb, jam, and salmon there, and made notes of all the ingredients they offer for next time – olive oil, rice, quinoa, milk, eggs, spaghetti sauces, etc. We enjoyed our walks around Glengorm, especially to the nature hide, where we stayed for hours watching white-tailed eagles and buzzards while our waterproofs dried off. Saw two otters in Laorin Bay as well!

The new private sitting area is a lovely place to sit for a wee dram after a hike. We enjoyed fires in the evenings and cooked with Glengorm beef and lamb. When we had a minor issue in the flat we emailed Pam, and she responded quickly. The internet connection is good, the bed is large and comfortable, and it’s quiet. It was our bad luck that Kerry the ranger was on holiday that week, otherwise we would have booked at least one walk with her.

We’re already planning to book for next year and will continue to recommend Glengorm and the Steadings to others. The price is daunting for some, hence our “good” rating for value, but we figure we’re paying a little extra for a quiet, comfortable, private (no kids or dogs) flat right at the coffee shop, which closes at 5:00pm.

Our recommendations for guests:
Go to the Producers Market in Tobermory on Monday and buy Glengorm meat, pies, and produce!
Walk to Dun Ara, the Bathing Pool, the nature hide, Ardmore Point and Bluebell Valley!
Book a guided walk with Kerry!
Don’t be daunted by rain! Bring waterproofs and get out there. Likely the rain will stop at some point long enough for beautiful views and photos.


Elizabeth from Horb stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in September 2018


The Steadings Flat at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here and want to return soon! It was lovely to arrive and find a few unexpected treats had been left for us, and found everything was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed being so close to a great cafe and to the fabulous walks on the estate. Loved the guided walk with the Ranger, a real highlight of our week.

Guest from Chester stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in August 2018


Wildlife and serenity

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully decorated apartment. Fully equipped kitchen, comfy leather sofa, a bed big enough to get lost in and a double ended jacuzzi bath. Who could ask for more.
The estate has a great variety of habitat. We saw red deer walking past the bathroom window, hare and numerous birds, buzzards and eagles on the hills. We even had a visit from a pipestrel bat which must have flown in the window while chasing midges. A fun five minutes watching a family of tiny shrew running around in the dead leaves, almost over our feet, outside one of the derelict farm buildings near the cafe was amazing. Bluebells and wildflowers on the cliff tops. However, due to a disease all the rhodendendron bushes had been ripped out and burned, so there was quite a lot of bear earth around the castle grounds instead of the beautiful red and white flowering shrubbery. I’m sure it will look beautiful again when they grow back.
The cafe/shop in the courtyard below was very handy for supplies and not at all noisy as we had feared. The home made lasagna is one to try.
I’m sure we will be back in years to come to discover more about Glengorm and the Isle of Mull. Thanks to Pam and the team at Glengorm.


Amanda from Worcester stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2018


May Break

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed on Mull every yea,r this was first time staying at The Steadings. It was a lovely setting, very peaceful. The flat was very comfortable, lovely comfy bed too. Nice to have toiletries supplied, nice touch. Temperature of flat was good warm in lounge, cooler in bedroom. We used the new seating area to sit out as had lovely weather. Nice surroundings for walking and wildlife. Some fabulous sunsets up at the castle. A drive of 5-6 miles from Tobermory so not ideal if you want a evening meal with a drink. A few cobwebs on bedroom ceiling and a very noisy microwave but hey ho, minor considering the rest of the flat. Would definitely stay again. Nice coffee shop.

Carole from Buntingford stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2018


Brilliant holiday flat for two

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked a week at Glengorm with friends, renting both The Terrace Flat and The Steadings to accommodate our party. Both flats offer outstanding comfort and quality. What stood out about The Steadings flat are the wonderfully appointed kitchen, bathroom and other rooms that provided for a most comfortable stay. We had the fireplace going every evening, the readily available logs made it very easy. It's a 3-minute walk from the Castle and we didn't mind the fact that there are no sea views from this flat, although other guests might. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the lots of walks on the Castle grounds and around the island. Thank you!

Oliver from Mendham stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2018


Comfortable and warm.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for walks straight from the door and well positioned for walks in North Mull. Great views of Coll and the Small Isles.
Comfortable bed and well equipped kitchen. Cosy and warm.


Liz from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2018


Well Appointed Hideaway (near a coffeeshop!)

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have booked the Steadings several times in the past 10 years and it never disappoints as a place for a couple who like quality beds, kitchen, bathroom - jacuzzi bath - but don't want to be quite in the wilds. This property is close to the castle and reasonable roads.

There is an open fire, logs provided, which depending on the wind direction and skills of the person (!) can be a bit smoky.
You don't need to light it of course but that's part of the fun.

Stuff which doesn't happen is good phone signals and excellent internet but there is a TV and Sky if you must. Things to improve are simple enough. The front door is 'sticky' in its frame - needs a push- and the lock hard to turn

The roads in the estate are pretty uneven in places and require patience unless you just don't care about your suspension

Excellent customer service and superb location for the estate as a whole. Other cottages have better views but Steadings is so good overall its hard to turn down.




Ken from Ryde stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in January 2018


Enjoyable two weeks at Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall an excellent two weeks at Glengorm. Enjoyed the walks and the cafe which was a 10 second walk away. Good location for Tobermory. Some minor quibbles. The sofa and chair were a bit uncomfortable - perhaps their age. Very minor leak in the bathroom sink which didn’t really warrant a call to the owners. These were minor issues. Everything else - bed, heating, kitchen, entertainment system - were fine. No hesitation in recommending.

James from Inverness stayed at The Steadings for 14 nights in September 2017


Comfortable Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment was very well equipped and furnished and very comfortable for two people. Enjoyed the walks on the estate and visits to the coffee shop.

William from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in August 2017


A delightful retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, spacious place to spend some quiet time, surrounded by lush foliage and lots of sky. Light and air from four directions. With a wonderful panoramic view just a couple of minutes walk from the door.

Christopher from Jerusalem stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in August 2017


Great place for couple getaway

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked at short notice - quick response- very helpful .
Said good for cleanliness - only because we went in early and was told the hoovering hadn't been done yet,
Everything else immaculate.
Possibly a stronger shower pressure required.

Really enjoyable stay.



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in August 2017


Quiet and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings at Glengorm was everything we hoped for. It was luxurious, quiet and peaceful and a 3 minute walk from the most glorious view. (Take midge repellent for the sunsets) It is incredibly spacious for 2 people and warm and welcoming on arrival with a lovely welcome letter and treats. The convenience of the coffee shop makes such a difference. One trip to Tobermory was all that was required for the week. We loved the atmosphere of a working estate and the freedom to roam at will. To begin with, we found some of the directions given for the various walks a little confusing, but once you are out there it all makes sense and who wants marker posts in such an unspoilt environment. We watched 3 otters for nearly an hour and saw golden eagles on 2 occasions. Kerry was very helpful with her advice and knowledge. Although other walkers are out there and various groups come to enjoy the environment we barely bumped into anyone else and could always find quiet spots to enjoy. We'd recommend a trip to Lunga to see the puffins and the slow but beautiful drive to Calgary was worth it for the wonderful art gallery and sculpture trail we found there as well as the beach. There is an impressive collection of art on the Steadings walls. Thank you all, a wonderful holiday!

Rosie from Banham, Norwich stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in June 2017


Quiet Luxury

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although more out of the way than we first thought this is a wonderful relaxing place to stay even with the cold wet weather! A car is essential but travel to Tobermory and other places is straight forward. Being so close to the castle and above the coffee shop is an added bonus you can eat or buy the castle produce! If you want to explore Mull and the surrounding islands this is by far and away the best place to stay. There are lovely walks at the castle with the ranger office next to the shop. All the staff are friendly and helpful which makes your stay so much easier.

Iain from Basildon stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in June 2017


Our week at the Steading

Review submitted on Wed, 31 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I had an excellent week on Mull, staying at the Steading. It was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was well equipped and also included was a washer and dryer. The location was lovely and quiet with lots of local hikes on the estate, yet just a 20 minute drive to Tobermory. We would definitely recommend this place!

Lori from Calgary stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2017


Spring holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A delightful flat. Very comfortable and well equipped though the oven was a bit of a challenge as we couldn't work out how to turn it off but that was probably just us! Excellent location for local walks and close enough to Tobermory for shopping and sea trips. We were very satisfied with our choice. Thank you.

G from Morpeth stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in April 2017


Quiet & relaxing winter break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
2nd visit to the Steadings Flat after 5 years and we were very pleased to see it was as good as we remembered. Great out of season quiet location, warm and comfortable plus all the amenities you'd expect including good wifi, immediate hot water and no sticking doors or odd crockery sets. All in all a wonderful place to stay.

Guest from Nottingham stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2017


Great accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a holiday if you like a comfortable base in a remote location. Plenty of walks from the door and near to Tobermory for any shopping.

Liz from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2017


Excellent accommodations in a great spot

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful and well-appointed flat in a great spot for exploring Mull. Highlights include the fireplace, a full kitchen, a large jet tub, a huge and very comfortable king bed, and a washer/dryer. It's a very comfortable and cozy place to come back to after a long day of exploring. It also has Sky tv in the living room and bedroom and wifi, which is nice. The Glengorm grounds are lovely and offer lots of exploring potential. The flat is right next to the Glengorm coffee shop, which offers delicious treats and meals, in addition to staples for preparing your own meals in the flat. It's also an easy 20 minute ride to Tobermory for other shopping/exploring/supplies. I've stayed here twice now and I'm sure I'll be back again!

Melissa from Portland stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2017


Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great, romantic and fun time at the Steadings. Nice and remote but only a 10 minute drive into Tobermoray. Flat itself lovely, great open fire. Plenty of wood. Jacuzzi was amazing. Loved the place, can't wait to come back.

Chris from Glasgow stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in November 2016


Steadings Flat, Glengorm Estate, November 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Steadings flat in early November to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Had a wonderful time. The flat was excellent, great location and lovely inside. We especially loved the log fire.
Would highly recommend this.
Ian & Carol Stewart


Carol from Dundee stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in October 2016


A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Steadings is the most comfortable, quiet and cozy place we have ever stayed. The bed is huge and very comfortable with luxurious pillows and sheets. Everything about the Steadings is five star. The location was ideal in that you have access to the entire estate for walks or hikes depending on how far you would like to walk.
The cafe below has wonderful homemade cakes, soups and so much more, made by the wonderful staff who are so friendly and helpful no matter what your needs may be. We cannot wait for our next visit to the Steadings.


Susan from Peachtree City stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2016


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in super location.
Wifi not reliable dish washer not working. Decorated and fitted out to a high standard. The property was immaculately clean.


Stephanie from Hathersage stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in June 2016


Beautiful location on Mull

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful week at the Steadings on the Glengorm Estate. This was not our first visit, which tells its own story: we love the setup, with the high level of comfort of the accommodation and the fabulous location, in the middle of spectacular scenery. Being close to the temptations of the Glengorm coffee shop is another plus. We had a minor quibble, as some of the white goods (washing machine and, more particularly, the dishwasher) were coming to the end of their ability to function: the dishwasher gave up the ghost entirely by the end. But this did not interfere with our enjoyment of the week: we like the combination of the very comfortable accommodation and the fact that you only need to walk out the door to have access to a truly beautiful corner of Mull. We will be back again.

Peter from Parbold stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2016


Pam replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Rawlinson Thank you for your comments. We have ordered a new dishwasher, and thank you for bringing the washing machine to our attention. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Kind regards Pam

Comfortable, clean and well situated

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well appointed flat with everything you could need for a great holiday. Glengorm acted swiftly to try to get the dishwasher mended for us. Great walks from the door, so no need to use the car.

Liz from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2016


Lovely flat in a great location!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay at Glengorm together, but our first time in the Steadings. It is a lovely flat in a fabulous location - just perfect for a couple wanting some time alone. We bought Glengorm lamb to make stew, and when we discovered there was no pot large enough, we inquired at the coffee shop and they were happy to loan us one! We had leftovers for 2 additional evenings, and the meat was wonderful! (We left our recipe in the drawer!)

The kitchen had everything else we needed (as with all self-catering places, bringing a knife sharpener is a good idea), the bed is enormously comfortable, and the internet worked just fine. We were able to communicate with Pam (office manager) as needed - such as to make a breakfast reservation at the castle one morning. We met Tom (the owner of the estate) at the producer's market in Tobermory (Mondays), and he cheerfully asked us how everything was when we introduced ourselves.

We booked a nature walk with Glengorm's wildlife steward, Steph Cope, which we highly recommend. She's very knowledgeable and we saw parts of Glengorm we hadn't seen before. There was plenty of wood supplied for fires in the evenings, we enjoyed cappuccinos in the coffee shop nearly every day, the meal we had there was delicious and the menu changes frequently, and the fresh flowers they left on the table the day we arrived lasted all week (the bottle of wine did not...).

Detailed instructions for using the cable/TV would be helpful for guests who want to watch TV. Compared to other accommodations on Mull it is a bit pricey, but it is well worth the money.

We will keep returning to Mull, and to Glengorm.


Martin from Horb stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in September 2015


Marvellous Mull

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great atmosphere, comfortable and totally relaxing. We will be back. The equipment in the kitchen was intact and of a good quality, the bathroom felt modern and clean and the crackling fire was a real treat. A very memorable stay.

Jane from London stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in August 2015


Mull visit

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a most enjoyable week at the Steadings on the Isle of Mull. The weather was unexpectedly warm and dry.The Steadings is situated above the Glengorm Coffee Shop, near Glengorm Castle. It is particularly peaceful and is surrounded by beautiful coastal and forest walks. It is situated four miles north of Tobermory. If visiting between June and September, don't forget to bring midge repellent!

Guest from Marlborough stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in June 2015


Our Second (but not last) visit to glengorm

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were so happy to return to Glengorm for our second visit. As seasoned travellers we have to admit that the location and setting comes close to be being in our best top three ever of destinations.

The added bonus of having their own ranger (Steph) was a brilliant addition and she was able to add a bucket load of information on birds and wildlife information with regards to the surroundings and history of the castle. We could have gone out every day with her if we were able.

We had the addition to what we think we bats 'post dusk' on the roof and wondered what they were at first but it sound became a familiar evening sound.

We felt that the apartment was soon in need of a refresh, but still of an exceptional high standard, we will definitely be back although the journey is circa 14 hours, so we will have to think about timing, the concerns of the ferry strike also was a concern!

We will miss Glengorm and Mull immensely!


Guest from Rugby stayed at The Steadings for 14 nights in June 2015


Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's a beautiful flat, really cosy and very tastefully decorated. The artwork is excellent, much better than I've ever seen in a holiday rental.

I loved that they provided wood and had left a fire ready to light when we arrived.

By far the best holiday rental we've stayed in.


Geoff from Woking stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2015


Fabulous flat

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable flat in excellent location for walking on the estate and beyond. Everything provided for warm, comfortable stay. Definitely one to return to.

Liz from Edinburgh stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2015


Fabulous accommodation in unique setting

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a superb property - spacious, very comfortable and well laid out. It has everything. Wonderful artwork too. Best self catering accommodation we have ever had. Plenty of good walks from the door too. Needs better TV connection instructions in the manual as its a bit complicated

Guest from Stone stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in February 2015


A relaxing week away

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Feb 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very quiet and peaceful surroundings. Nothing open, but we were expecting that as we went in off-season. Lovely property, but starting to look a little tired and could do with some freshening up (water stains on ceiling etc). Very well appointed kitchen. Road to castle from Tobermory can be a bit tricky if there is snow or ice. We marked customer service as 'OK' because the flat was not ready when we arrived and they were not expecting us. Overall we were happy, but would probably not be willing to pay the summer rate for this accommodation.

Guest from Greenock stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in January 2015


Didn't require service as as self catering

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Always enjoy staying at the Steadings. Peaceful, quiet and very comfortable within a short walk of wonderful views and short drive of Tobermory. A space to escape.

Ken from Glasgow stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in September 2014


Wonderful location, the Steading tired

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we stayed at The Steading. This time it looked tired and in need of a make over. We have advised Glengorm Castle of our comments to which they have responded in a constructed way. You cannot fault the wonderful location. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.

Guest from Yateley stayed at The Steadings for 14 nights in September 2014


A relaxing stay in a stunning setting

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Having read other reviews we had high expectations for our visit, and our visit didn't disappoint! From the well-equipped kitchen, comfortable living room area, bathroom and bedroom to the added bonus of the coffee shop downstairs. A particular highlight of our stay was the ability, within 2 minutes of leaving the flat, to have wonderful views of mountains and the sea. A great place to stay and relax!

Guest from London stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in August 2014


Elegance in Mull

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Steadings flat, first and lasting impression was of elegance and calm. Clearly much thought went into the furnishings and decor. We thought it was a very well-found flat with a good standard of equipment and facilities. The bed was better than the one we have at home! A few more glasses would have been appreciated but that was only when we had visitors. All in all, we loved it.

Guest from London stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in July 2014


Wonderful flat, marvellous location

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the Steadings was first class. Glengorm Castle is a pretty special place to stay, the views are marvellous, and I only needed accommodation for myself. There was a lovely welcome gift of some wine and fresh flowers, and the place was spotless. The accommodation was of a really high standard - lovely bed and linen, super bathroom and kitchen had everything I wanted. My only niggle was the Wi-Fi - couldn't log on with the castle code, so bought some from BT Fon, but it was very patchy, difficult to log on and frustrating when I was hoping to do some work on the internet. This might be because signal isn't strong on Mull - but something to bear in mind if you are used to constant access.
I did one of the guided walks with the lovely Stephanie, and she was great. Took it at the right pace, incredibly knowledgeable and interesting. Would definitely recommend it, even if we didn't see any otters! I loved being near the coffee shop, would just pop down for a mid morning coffee or when I got in from a day trip, and the staff were friendly and helpful. All in all I couldn't recommend this highly enough, and definitely hope to return to the lovely island and this castle!


Guest from Manchester stayed at The Steadings for 5 nights in June 2014


Stunning location, high quality accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location wonderful: wildlife, sunsets, views to the isles all in the castle grounds.
If you want peace and tranquility this is the place to go, yet only 4 miles from the bustling centre of Tobermoray
The geography also gives you a choice of weather with the direction you head so we headed for sunshine most days. There are excellent walks for all abilities. But even if you are unfortunate with the weather, the Steadings is such a comfortable retreat it was a pleasure to be in as well as out.
We recommend taking enough time to linger on Iona, and to visit Staffa, as well as Duart Castle.


Guest from stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2014


Self catering at Glengorm Castle estate

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High quality accommodation, ideally suited to our needs. Spacious and airy with very comfortable furnishings. Only thing I would ask is for a few basics such as sugar, salt & pepper and a tea towel.

Guest from stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in May 2014


Hi-tech but tranquil

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved The Steadings - clean, crisp, modern and hi-tech - yet cosy and tranquil. The cafe underneath couldn't be more handy - and the food there is delicious. What a wonderful holiday in a location that is second to none.
Jo and Terry - Norwich


Guest from Liverpool stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in April 2014


Recent Stay-Early Spring

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Apr 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our second time of staying in The Steadings and I am pleased to say that it was even better than the last time.
There was a very nice bottle of French sauvignon awaiting us on arrival which was duly scoffed.
The open log fire is just lovely in the evening and the scent of pine logs is so relaxing
We asked for our bed linen to be given an extra rinse to reduce laundry product odour (we both have allergies) and this was no problem.
The bed is so big that you might wake up and forget that anyone else is there!
The stunningly excellent meat and, when in season, estate grown veg, which is available from the courtyard café downstairs make cooking a must.
This is a cosy flat which overlooks a pleasant courtyard café so there is a bit of a buzz through the day which is nice.The well stocked birdfeeders attract a wonderful group of chaffinches which provide great entertainment.
We enjoyed being able to walk and cycle straight off from the front door.

Booking is straightforward, the website is easy to navigate and the Wildlife Blog about the estate makes staying a more inclusive experience.
Just one small disappointment: the TVs are way too small for this size of flat but the original art work all round the walls is great.
The photo is taken from the Hide at Loch Mingary which we visited when on a guided walk


Guest from Bearsden stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2014


Steadings Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the perfect getaway location with comfort. Very quiet because we were out of season and excellent value for that reason as well. Would plan to get back.

Guest from Dundee stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2014


Very enjoyable apartment, location a little closed in, and poor customer service.

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Mar 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We liked the interior of the apartment; the countryside was superb; the courtyard and surrounding trees made the feel of the place a little dark.
We had a number of small issues with items like shower tray draining and damaged crockery. These were dealt with professionally when we approached the office.
However, apart from these complaints, we had no approach from anyone to check if everything was OK, either on arrival or before we left. We decided to call at the castle on the day of our arrival to let the staff know we had arrived. We introduced ourselves to someone whose name was Tom and we presumed to be the owner. The response from him was at best disinterested, and at worst quite rude. This unfortunately set a very negative tone for us, and focused us on the other little things that were wrong instead of all the positives.
The bottle of wine, welcome letter and other small food gifts were good, but for our taste, a better human contact would have been far superior.
We welcome this opportunity to comment, and would be happy to receive any questions or feedback.


Guest from Lancs stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in March 2014


Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The steadings flat we stayed in was very comfortable with every luxury you could think of included ,peace and solitude at night looking forward to returning in the future

Guest from Lockerbie stayed at The Steadings for 8 nights in February 2014


Honeymoon stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We move dot thenSteadings after getting married in the castle. It is a lovely flat - very comfortable with all modern fit-out. Loved the bath with jacuzzi

Guest from London stayed at The Steadings for 4 nights in February 2014


Honeymoon

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After getting married in the castle we moved to the Steadings. Very lovely and comfortable. Beautiful decor and very modern.would thoroughly recmend..

Gill from London stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in February 2014


A wonderful relaxing week away

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jan 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Steadings is a beautiful, well equipped property in a wonderful location. The kitchen is excellent and had me baking bread just because I could.

A minor gripe: Given all the other kitchen equipment that is provided, a rolling-pin would be a good addition. (I used the bottle from the wine that awaited our arrival; we enjoyed drinking the contents on our first evening.)



Guest from Galashiels stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in December 2013


Absolute Luxury

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Steadings over the New Year Period-it was very relaxing and comfortable. We also used the excellent bakery owned by Glengorm in Tobermory

Guest from Eelgany stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in December 2013


Cyclocross weekend trip

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We return every year to Glengorm for a great weekend if cyclocross racing. The excellent accommodation makes the trip for us and we always remark on how the whole estate is welcoming and friendly

Clare from Glen Muick stayed at The Steadings for 3 nights in December 2013


Excellent spot for a chill out

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nicely presented Steadings accommodation in a quiet spot in the north of Mull. Very well equipped, jacuzzi bath, fabulous huge bed, open fire, no noise or disturbance. The only sounds at night were of the stags during the rut!
Highly recommended.


Guest from Gartocharn stayed at The Steadings for 7 nights in October 2013