FB Twitter

Ford Hill Cottage

Ford Hill Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Ford Hill is a wonderful three bedroom self-catering cottage situated on the edge of Exmoor National Park and within easy reach of North Devon's golden beaches. This fully renovated cottage is immaculate inside and benefits from its own private games room and a large garden.

A wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just got back from a week at Ford Hill Cottage. The cottage is absolutely stunning with everything you could want. It has been beautifully decorated and is exceptionally clean. The area for barbecuing looks over the huge lawn and is a delightful place to eat an evening meal and chill out with a glass of wine after a day out. We decided to eat in every night as the weather was so fantastic and the cottage was kitted out with everything we could possibly need. Its location was perfect for us - in the middle of beautiful countryside with the sound of sheep and birdsong but near beaches and places to explore. We would definitely go back to the cottage again and wholeheartedly recommend it.



Our stay at Ford Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage to be excellent.
One small point it would be helpful if there was a shelf in the en suite bathroom to put ones toiletries.
Apart from that small point all four of us enjoyed our stay and we will return.




May Bank Holiday break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic experience staying at Ford Hill Cottage. Everything was of high quality and very comfortable and the games room was a brilliant addition for all ages. We would highly recommend this venue to others - a tranquil location in easy reach of fabulous beaches.



Fantastic weekend break!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Condition and cleanliness at Ford Hill Cottage has to be seen to be believed!
Cosy and welcoming in every respect with high end modern appliances throughout.
Location is ideal for exploring North Devon also the nearby Exmoor National Park.
Despite the cottage being a genuine rural retreat precise directions provided by the friendly host meant it was easy to find, really nice touches on arrival included a hamper of delicious treats!
There is a games room as well with a pool table much enjoyed by our sons.
Would absolutely recommend the cottage to anybody wanting to visit the area.




Wonderful well-equipped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Ford Hill Cottage. Communication from Janet was perfect, both before and during the stay. The cottage itself was perfect for us and was well stocked with all the kitchen utensils and things we might need. Having tea and milk there for when we arrived was a lifesaver. Recommendations for local places to eat were all spot on. Would highly recommend this cottage as a base for exploring Devon.



A perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After searching the internet for a cottage we stumbled on this delightful cottage. It worked for all family members; giving the adults free time while the kids hung out in the games room if the weather wasn’t great. We even had a few family nights watching movies and playing games which was one of the things we were keen to do this holiday.
Although remote, it is 20 minutes or more from places you may like to visit and quiet in the evenings if you just want to relax. We all said we slept so well throughout our stay.
The property allowed us to completely relax. With everything to hand we were never left thinking we did not have everything we needed to make a good meal.

The only downside was what that my 6ft,3inch husband had to be careful going through a doorway and on the stairs but there were lots of signs up to remind us. Overall the owners seemed to think of everything that would give holiday makers a comfortable stay.

We would highly recommend this holiday to friends and family.




The best cottage we've ever stayed in

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We do a lot of self catering and this cottage is our favourite. It's beautiful, clean, very quiet, extremely well equipped with top of the range items and comfortable. It's very well located - there are lots of places to visit within a 10-20 min drive. The owner's website is absolutely accurate in every way.



Great stepping off place for Exmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to this property three times before and it never fails to please and the properrty has also been upgraded during this time.
It is a great place from which to visit the wonderful Exmoor and Coombe Martin, Ilfracombe, South Molton and Barnstaple. The last two are great places for shopping good quality local produce, as well as for supermarkets. There are also pubs and restaurants within a short driving distance.




Exceptional cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had never stayed in a cottage before so wasn’t sure what to expect, this cottage was however beyond our expectations.
We were met by Janet who showed us around and explained everything to us. We had a lovely welcome hamper which included wine and bowl of fruit. Kitchen had everything in you could want including coffee machine. Huge garden and barbecue area
The cottage was extremely clean and very homely. Everything was thought about, high quality sheets and towels, toiletries supplied, flowers in the dining room, kitchen extremely well equipped and lovely decor throughout. Travel cot and high chair supplied at no extra cost. Beds were extremely comfortable
Excellent games room and lots of board games and DVDs to keep everyone entertained. WiFi had an excellent signal but phone signal is poor.
Extremely comfortable for 6 people.
It is in a quiet village but very central to lots of great places




Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. Friendly welcome. Fantastic garden and games room to play in. Lovely renovated cottage in excellent condition. Enjoyed by all.



Happy Return

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay and it fully lived up to expectations, also, luckily, with excellent weather. It is a great place to relax with the beautiful back garden for the afternoon and evening and the sheltered front for breakfast in the sun.

It's also in a wonderful position for trips to the magnificent Exmoor with its delightful scenery and magical coastline, and to lovely pubs for drinks or fine food.

The sea at Combe Martin is a short drive away and the market towns of Barnstaple and South Molton are within easy reach for food shopping and other requirements.

We hope to be back again.










Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Keith, glad to hear you had a good time at Ford Hill, the owners really try hard to make the cottage as good as it could be. Thank you for writing a lovely review and please remember to look at www,fordhillcottage.co.uk next time you are looking. Cheers Harry