FB Twitter

Kittiwake Cottage

Kittiwake Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Kittiwake Cottage is a stunning two bedroom self-catering property in Braunton, North Devon. The dog friendly cottage has off road car parking and a large private garden stretching down to the stream.

Cosy cottage, fantastic location.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage, well heated, in a great location 10 mins drive from a beautiful beach - Saunton Sands. Braunton was a great village to stay in, lots of lovely restaurants, a great buzz to it.



It’s comfy for two, would be tiny for 4.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This has the potential to be a really lovely
place to escape to for a weekend break, like we have just done. It has been done up beautifully, there’s just a few places where money has been saved that bring it down, in my opinion. The first one rally being the bed. The mattress was awful and the bed is so low that with a squidgy mattress too it felt like an effort to get up - mind you the coastal path could walking possibly has something to do with the struggle too. I’d prefer a proper shower too instead of a waterfall one, but I appreciate that changes the aesthetics of the bathrooms.
It’s all been done beautifully, is well equipped and these two things wouldn’t necessarily stop me from coming back because it was an extremely convenient location with an amazing garden. We were two adults and a Parson Russell and it was the right size for us. I couldn’t imagine it with two more, at least not downstairs.

If it had a more comfy bed, a proper shower head and maybe even a decking off the french doors, instead of garden furniture being on a slopey courtyard, it would be a fabulous little cottage.

I had a bit of an issue with the cleanliness, especially in the current climate and given they supposedly have longer to make it spotless and sanitised but I have raised this separately.




Beautiful cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exactly what we were after, lovely condition with comfy beds and nicely furnished. It is close to Braunton and some really lovely beaches including Saunton Sands. We would highly recommend and would love to visit again.



Great stay at lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Kittiwake cottage, the cottage was the perfect size for us (2 adults, 2 children) and in a fantastic location.

The cottage was very clean on arrival and off road parking is a bonus. Well equipped kitchen which had everything we needed and having two bathrooms was great.

Our children (5 and 2) loved the big garden to play in and there is a river at the end of the garden (very fast running so be aware!).

The location is great, Braunton was great, we ate in At One and SQ. Takeaway fish and chips from
Squires (order online) fantastic - we had it twice!

Visited Saunton Sands, Woolacombe and Croyde beaches - all fantastic and only a short drive from the cottage.

Great week away, location is great and cottage has everything you need! Would highly recommend.




Kittiwake

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous week at kittiwake cottage. Well kitted out cottage. Really comfortable beds. Fantastic location close in Braunton. Will be back.



Wonderful cottage and stay!!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great week in this cottage my 2 children also had a fantastic time.
The cottage was perfect for our needs, clean and comfortable.
There was clear instructions and information regarding what had been carried out to deep clean the cottage prior to our arrival and what we needed to do prior to us leaving.
We would definitely come back again.




Lovely Braunton hideaway

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our week here with our 11 month old.

Saunton Sands is only a short drive away and there are great shops in walking distance for food and other bits a pieces (not to mention Squires fish and chips!). Despite being in the middle of Braunton the cottage is really quiet with a tucked away feel to it.

Everything at the cottage felt clean, fresh and well maintained. Beautifully decorated too.

We can’t wait to return!




Fantastic Holiday Home

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location, well appointed and super comfortable, Kittiwake Cottage is the perfect base from which to explore North Devon. I would highly recommend and would love to return.



Kittiwake cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay at the cottage when we visit my son who lives in North Street himself. It is always very clean and comfortable and suits our needs.



Already planning our next stay at Kittiwake Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kittiwake Cottage surpassed our expectations and we're already looking at dates to stay again. It's in a really great location for trips to Saunton Sands and exploring the Devon coastline and makes the perfect base to come home to after a day out and about. The bedrooms are a perfect size and the en-suite shower rooms are modern and just perfect for our needs. The open plan kitchen, dining and lounge area is really well thought out and was just the prefect size for us. So great that it's dog friendly and our boy absolutely loved the garden. Would definitely recommend this cottage.



Kittawake Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Consistently good ( have had ten visits already). Top quality interior and amazing garden and outside space.



Great stay at Kittiwake Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at this lovely cottage. There was a lovely welcome pack and the house was spotless. A great location to explore north Devon. We will return!



Perfect Bolthole

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous, stylish and perfectly located little cottage. Everything we needed in the cottage. The garden is enormous which was an unexpected bonus. Loved it



Kittiwake

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Kittiwake Cottage and as enjoyable as the first, even though the weather was not very good all week. The cottage has everything you need and the two ensuites are great. The local beaches are amazing and the dog had a lovely time too running on the beach and among the sand dunes. Plenty of places to eat locally. One suggestion I thought would be useful, and only a minor idea, would be a welly rack outside the front door where you could put your boots upside down before stepping into the cottage. This would save a lot of sand from ending up inside the cottage hallway.



Good location, 2 good ensuites

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This really fitted our needs with two walk in showers. The spacious ensuites are lovely with space for toiletries, so often ignored. The cottage is warm and cosy. We slept well. Good off street parking. It felt a safe calm area.
The garden at the rear is a quiet haven to read and relax in. We had great weather.
The cottage is close to the villages lovely restaurants. Several takeaways. Lots places to walk. Tarka trail walk/ ride. Interesting walks at Crow point. The village heritage walk was good plus the friendly locals. Loved Woolacombe and Putborough beaches.
Recycling in Braunton seems unusual but varies everywhere.





our week at kittiwake cottage,Braunton

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were very happy with the location of the cottage.Lovely and quiet but right near the shops and amenities.Just a couple of
things,egg cups would have been useful.The step outside the back door is very steep,so I found that a bit difficult as I have arthritis.I think young children would fall easily---maybe worth putting another step there.The welcome pack was a nice touch! My husband and I ended up in a double bed each as we are both tall and had more room.




two week stay at kittiwake

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A cute little cottage in a great location,providing off road parking which is a bonus in Braunton...



Overhaul required

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Although the cottage has potential to be very nice, the place seems to be neglected. The furniture was shabby, and not as the pictures in the website, there were several lights not working and no replacement bulbs, the oven was dirty, only two wine glasses for four people (and three flutes), one of the tumblers had a large crack in it, the outside furniture and the barbeque were rusty and unusable, the icebox lid in the refrigerator was broken, the small bedroom not suitable for a double, and when we tried to use both showers at the same time they both became unusable. There were other issues, but I think that I've made made my point.



Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Geoff, thanks for your comments although I think you have been extremely harsh. This is the first negative review we have had in 5 years but we have received several 5* reviews. I passed on your comments to the owners and housekeeper who was genuinely upset as they pride themselves on providing a quality product. We will of course look into everything you have raised and make any required repairs. Thanks Harry

Centrally located modern barn conversion.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Mar 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A clean well presented holiday home. Plenty of off street parking with a large enclosed garden. Great location for walking into Braunton. Sauton Sands and Croyde just a short drive away.
The beds were very comfortable, and both bedrooms had lovely on suite bathrooms.
Natasha had kindly left a goodie basket with wine and nibbles, and popped round to check everything was ok. She was easy to contact and very helpful with her responses.
A few points to note. The steps leading to the front door are quite high. No cleaning products other than washing up liquid, and dishwasher tablets. No torch (or candles) if a power cut occurred. Also a torch would be useful for the garden at night especially if you have a dog(s).
A lovely holiday and our dog loved the garden.
Than you.




Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jane and John, thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and so glad you had a good stay at Kittiwake Cottage. I'll pass on your comments about cleaning products and a torch. If you ever want to come back please remember www.kittiwakecottagedevon.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Thanks Harry